## MINUTES – Special Meeting Friday, August 23, 2024 Teams Meeting

The Education Standards and Practices Board (ESPB) meeting was called to order at 8:01am by Board Chair Cory Steiner. Present by video conference were Jenny Bladow, Siri Coleman, Amber Fridley, Dustin Hager, Evan Kritzberger, Sarah Lerud, Cory Steiner, and Superintendent Kristen Baesler.

Board members Angela Nagel and Patti Stedman were absent.

Also present were ESPB Executive Director Rebecca Pitkin, Assistant Director Mari Riehl, and Amy Bigelow from ESPB, Allyson Hicks and Mark Openshaw from Office of Attorney General, and other online guests.

**Holmberg, Raymon –** In October 2023 a federal grand jury indicted Mr. Holmberg with child sex crimes. At a November 2023 special meeting the board voted to suspend Mr. Holmberg's license immediately and if he pled or was found guilty of any charges based on the facts of the case his license would be immediately revoked. Mr. Holmberg signed the settlement agreement issued in November 2023. NDCC 15.1-13-26 stats that the board "shall immediately revoke the teaching license of an individual who has been found guilty of a crime against a child or a sexual offense." A factual determination is needed to determine he pled guilty to these charges. Documentation of this has been provided to the board.

Pursuant to settlement agreement, Assistant Attorney General Allyson Hicks has drafted a proposed order revoking Mr. Holmberg's license. She is asking for a motion to permanently and immediately revoke Mr. Holmberg's license to teach in North Dakota pursuant to the settlement agreement.

Evan Kritzberger made a motion to approve the proposed order. Motion seconded by Dustin Hager. Evan stated it seems very clear that the board would accept the guilty plea and proposed order as presented. Board members who voted in favor were Jenny Bladow, Siri Coleman, Amber Fridley, Dustin Hager, Evan Kritzberger, Sarah Lerud, and Cory Steiner. None opposed. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:06am.

my Steiner

Secretary/Executive Director