MINUTES Content Expert Administrative Rules Draft Conference Call—August 10, 2015 Monday, 1:30 pm Education Standards Office Building, Bismarck, North Dakota

The Education Standards and Practices Board (ESPB) meeting was called to order at 1:30 pm by board chair, Mary Eldredge-Sandbo. Board members who attended via conference call were Kimberly Belgarde, Karen Christensen, Amy Mann, Mike McNeff, Paul Stremick and Gary Thompson. Others who attended via conference call were Mari Fridgen, Laurie Stenehjem, Diane Weber and Janet Welk from ESPB, Gwyn Marback from DPI, Chad Oban and Nick Archuleta from ND United, representatives from the Bismarck Tribune and Channel 12 news.

Board member, Laura Mihalick, was not available for the conference call.

The purpose of the conference call was to review and discuss the new section *67.1-02-04-08* Community expert license for teacher shortages. Since 67.1-02-04-08 is already taken (granted into law but was repealed) the section will be marked as *67.1-02-04-09*.

A motion was made by Karen Christensen to change the license to letter of approval. Second by Paul Stremick. Motion carried. Board members who vote yes were Kimberly Belgarde, Karen Christensen, Mary Eldredge-Sandbo, Amy Mann, Mike McNeff, Paul Stremick and Gary Thompson.

A motion was then made by Gary Thompson stating the letter of approval will be considered for any elementary non-core subjects including but not limited to health, physical education, music and art. Second by Mike McNeff. Motion carried. Board members who voted yes were Kimberly Belgarde, Karen Christensen, Mary Eldredge-Sandbo, Amy Mann, Mike McNeff, Paul Stremick and Gary Thompson.

In accordance with state law, the community expert letter of approval will be considered for any middle school or high school individual that is not a licensed educator, but has a specific area of expertise that is related to the teaching assignment. Mike McNeff made the motion, second by Paul Stemick. Motion carried. Board members who vote yes were Kimberly Belgarde, Karen Christensen, Mary Eldredge-Sandbo, Amy Mann, Mike McNeff, Paul Stremick and Gary Thompson.

August 10, 2015 Page 2

A motion was then made by Karen Christensen approving the definition of the community expert wording. Second by Paul Stremick. Motion carried. Board members who voted yes were Kimberly Belgarde, Karen Christensen, Mary Eldredge-Sandbo, Amy Mann, Mike McNeff, Paul Stremick and Gary Thompson.

A motion was then made by Karen Christensen to hear public comments. Second by Kimberly Belgarde. Motion carried. Board members who agreed were Kimberly Belgarde, Karen Christensen, Mary Eldridge-Sandbo, Amy Mann, Mike McNeff, Paul Stremick and Gary Thompson.

A motion was then made by Mike McNeff to approve the final draft as amended. Second by Paul Stremick. Motion carried. Board members who voted yes were Amy Mann, Mike McNeff, Paul Stremick and Gary Thompson. Board members who voted no were Karen Christensen and Mary Eldridge-Sandbo. Kimberly Belgarde was no longer a part of the conference call.

Chair

Scretary/Executive Director