

LICENSE APPLICATION FOR INDEPENDENT LICENSEE

NORTH DAKOTA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY SFN 60681 (09-2021)

- The original application must be notarized and submitted two weeks prior to the opening date.
- A fee of \$80.00 must be submitted with application. **No payment will be accepted without a complete application.**

BUSINESS DETAILS

Legal Business Name* Independent Licensee Operating under

*Business names must be registered as a trade name with the Secretary of State's office. For questions, call 701-328-2900 or visit their website at https://sos.nd.gov/.

Applicant Name				
Master License Number		Name of Salon where Suite or Chair is Located		
Business Street Address		City	State	ZIP Code
Business Telephone Number	Personal Telephone Number	Email Address		
Opening Date	Currently Own Suite or Chair	Changing Location (i.e. closing/moving)		
Former Location				

COSMETOLOGY ESTABLISHMENT CHECKLIST

Requirements	Yes	No	Requirements (cont'd)	Yes	No
Sign visible from street			Exhaust fan in work area		
Separate entrance and exit for public			Covered waste containers		
Separate living/sleeping quarters			Wet sanitizer		
Adequate work space			First aid kit		
Carpet in work area					

Restrooms are in a convenient location and have a sink, liquid soap, and disposable towels or air dryer	
Separate supply area (i.e. cabinet/storage) that is not accessible to public	
Separate dispensing area is not accessible to the public	
Enclosed cabinet/container for clean cloth/linen items	

SFN 60681	(09-2021)
Page 2 of 3	. ,

PROVIDE A DRAWING OF SALON FLOOR PLAN

Floor plan MUST show:

- Entrances and exits (label main entrance with "M")
- Reception area
- Restroom(s)
- · Locations of workstations, suites and chairs

- · Locations of supply and dispensing areas
- Location of exhaust fan
- Location(s) of dryers
- Location(s) of sinks

Provide drawing in space below. If more space is needed, attach a separate sheet.

In the past 5 years, have you been charged or convicted of an offense other than a minor traffic violation?

CERTIFICATION/NOTARY SECTION

I hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of North Dakota that the information stated is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

I hereby certify that if a license to operate a cosmetology establishment is issued to me, said establishment will be conducted to in accordance with chapter 43-11 North Dakota statues and the rules and regulations of the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology.

	Date	Affix Notary Stamp
Signed and sworn to before me this		
Signature of Notary Public or Other Authorized Officer		
Commission Expiration Date		

Submit complete application and \$80 fee to:

Signature of Applicant (Independent Licensee) (must sign in front of notary)

ND State Board of Cosmetology 4719 Shelburne St Suite 1 Bismarck, ND 58503

Questions:

Email: bocinfo@nd.gov Call: (701) 224-9800 www.ndcosmetology.com

ENDORSEMENT OF INDEPENDENT LICENSEE BUSINESS

TO BE COMPLETED BY INDEPENDENT LICENSEE

As an independent licensee with the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology, I understand that an Independent Licensee license is a license obtained by a Master Cosmetologist, Master Esthetician, or Master Manicurist to run a separate business within a licensed salon.

I understand that Independent Licensees are not employees of the licensed salon and that I am an independently operated business and am subject to all requirements governed by the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology.

Printed Name	Master License Number	
Signature of Independent Licensee		Date

TO BE COMPLETED BY SALON OWNER

I, as the owner of the salon that this suite or chair is located, understand that the person renting this space is an independently operated business.

I do not control the daily operations of the suite or chair, and have a written contract with the individual regarding the rental agreement.

Independent licensee is not treated as an employee under the terms of the Internal Revenue Service.

As the holder of the salon license, the Independent Licensee is responsible for the sanitation of the salon premises. If an Independent Licensee does not have a valid, current license, that space falls under the salon license and Salon Owner, would therefore be responsible for sanitation of that space.

Salon Owner Name	Name of Salon	Salon License Number
Signature of Salon Owner		Date