

**DEALER REPORT: OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE (OHV)** AND SNOWMOBILE SAFETY FEE

NORTH DAKOTA PARKS AND RECREATION SFN 14529 (05-2022)

		Quarter Reporting (		Today's D	ate	
Dealer Name		ND Registered Dealer (RD) Number		Telephone Number		
Address		City		State	State ZIP Code	
Date Sold	Name of Purchaser		VIN Number	Off Highway Vehicle (OHV) Snowmobile		Snowmobile

Dealer Representative (print name)	Dealer Representative Signature	Date	

# **REPORT AND REMITTANCE MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THE END OF THE QUARTER**

#### \*Totals below update automatically

Did not sell any units his quarter

Total Number of OHV units sold \_\_\_\_\_x \$5/each = \_\_\_\_ Total Number of Snowmobile units sold \_\_\_\_\_ x \$5/each = \_\_\_\_

MAIL TO:

North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department 604 E Boulevard Ave Dept 750 Bismarck, ND 58505

# OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE AND SNOWMOBILE SAFETY FEE

#### **General Information**

North Dakota law requires Motor Powered Recreational Vehicle Dealers to collect \$5.00 on the sale of any new or used offhighway vehicle (OHV) or snowmobile (N.D.C.C.39-24-03.1, 39-29-01.1, 39-22.3-04). The safety fee applies to any OHV or snowmobile sold in ND regardless of whether the purchaser's residence is in state or out of state and the intended use of the vehicle.

# **Reporting Process**

The Safety Fee Report must be received by the Parks and Recreation Department within 15 days of the end of each quarter. The due dates are as follows:

- 1<sup>st</sup> Quarter (January 1-March 31) DUE: April 15th
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Quarter (April 1-June 30) DUE: July 15th
- 3<sup>rd</sup> Quarter (July 1-September 30) DUE: October 15th
- 4<sup>th</sup> Quarter (October 1-December 31) **DUE: January 15th**

The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department must then forward this report to the North Dakota Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division for compliance review. Failure to submit a report can result in the revocation of a Motor Powered Recreational Vehicle Dealer License.

When no OHVs or snowmobiles are sold in a quarter the dealer must still file a report indicating none were sold. Motor Powered Recreational Vehicle Dealers who do not sell OHVs or snowmobiles can send written notice annually to the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department and then are not required to send in a quarterly report.

## Use of Safety Fees

Once collected, the safety fee is used to fund both OHV and snowmobile youth safety certification courses throughout North Dakota. These courses teach essential riding information to prevent serious and life threatening injuries.

# For More Information

Questions regarding the Off-Highway Vehicle and Snowmobile Safety Fee can be addressed to

North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department 604 E Boulevard Ave Dept 750 Bismarck, ND 58505 Telephone: (701) 328-5357 www.parkrec.nd.gov