Baesler Praises North Dakota Presidential Scholar Candidates

Facebook Twitter YouTube Print
For Immediate Release
Contact: Dale Wetzel, Public Information Specialist
Office 701-328-2247
Cell: 701-400-8557
Baesler Praises North Dakota Presidential Scholar Candidates

BISMARCK, N.D., Jan. 25, 2018 – North Dakota School Superintendent Kirsten Baesler said 70 North Dakota high school students have been chosen as potential Presidential Scholars, which is one of the nation’s most prestigious honors for a high school student.

The U.S. Department of Education this week named students from 29 North Dakota public schools and four private schools as candidates for the honor. The students were nominated by Baesler or chosen because of their exceptional performance on the ACT or SAT college entrance exams. From this group, one young man and one young woman will be chosen as North Dakota’s Presidential Scholars for 2018.

Three of the 70 North Dakota candidates were chosen because of demonstrated promise in career and technical education, while another two were picked because of both their academic and CTE potential.

“To be named as a Presidential Scholar candidate is one of the most impressive honors a high school senior can receive,” Baesler said. “These students, along with their parents, relatives, classmates, teachers and administrators, should be proud of these outstanding young people, and should celebrate their achievement.”

Each year, the Department of Education chooses up to 161 high school seniors as Presidential Scholars, including one young woman and one young man from each of the 50 states.

Being chosen as a candidate for the Presidential Scholar award is only the first step in the process. To be considered for the award itself, students must complete an application, which includes essay questions, and submit a transcript, letter of recommendation and other information. The application deadline falls at 5 p.m. Central time on Feb. 27.

Once the applications are received, a review committee evaluates them and names a group of semifinalists, which usually happens in mid-April. The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars then reviews the semifinalists’ applications, and ultimately chooses one male and one female Presidential Scholar for each state.

Presidential Scholars receive an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., in late June to meet with educators and government officials, and receive a medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House. There is no cash scholarship.

The 70 students who are eligible to apply to become a Presidential Scholar are listed below. They are sorted by the high school they attend. Students whose names are italicized were chosen because of potential in career and technical education. Students whose names are in boldface type were chosen because of potential in academics and CTE.

North Dakota Presidential Scholar Candidates 2018
American Christian Academy (1)
Carl C. Johnson, Fargo
Bismarck High School (2)
Nicholas D. Porsborg, Mandan
Sarah L. Vadnais, Bismarck
Bismarck Century High School (2)
Gabriel J. Schettler, Bismarck
Erica J. Solberg, Bismarck
Bismarck Shiloh Christian High School (2)
Jonathan E. Dolbec, Bismarck
Stephanie Jorritsma, Bismarck
Casselton Central Cass High School (1)
Abel W. Nelson, Casselton
Dickinson High School (2)
Dawson J. Dutchak, Dickinson
Kody L. Johnson, Dickinson
Elgin-New Leipzig High School (2)
Samuel I. Dart, Elgin
Taylor A. Roehl, New Leipzig
Fargo Davies High School (10)
Brooke M. Bergen, Fargo
Michelle E. Chadraa, Fargo
Nathan Hale K. De La Garza, Fargo
Braden M. Ehlert, Fargo
Easton R. Hoffman, Fargo
Reilly Q. Mach, Fargo
Nidhi T. Mahale, Fargo
April D. Peterson, Fargo
Carter S. Razink, Fargo
Parker J. Stenseth, Fargo
Fargo North High School (6)
Jack M. Berg, Fargo
Jeffery X. Liu, Fargo
Andrew J. Niehaus, Fargo
Noah G. Ross, Fargo
Isaac S. Spanjer, Fargo
Kyle F. Tekautz, Fargo
Fargo Shanley High School (2)
Cole T. Mathison, Horace
Dina Rabadi, Fargo
Fargo South High School (4)
Bryn R. Brotherson, Fargo
Can F. Green, Fargo
Mari B. Natwick, Fargo
Massimo P. Sassi, Fargo
Grand Forks Central High School (3)
Adrian G. Cummings, Grand Forks
Aysia L. Dukes, Grand Forks
Kacy M. Jiran, Grand Forks
Grand Forks Red River High School (6)
Jackson R. Holm, Grand Forks
Isabel M. Krogh, Grand Forks
Nathan M. Peasland, Grand Forks
Samuel L. Schumacher, Grand Forks
Francine S. Shaft, Grand Forks
Sydney E. Warcup, Grand Forks
Griggs County Central High School (1)
Joelle J. Sherlock, Cooperstown
Hebron High School (1)
Morgan E. Krizan, Hebron
Jamestown High School (2)
Colton D. Carlson, Jamestown
Julia E. Shirley, Jamestown
Kindred High School (2)
Nicholas A. Mathias, Kindred
Brianna D. Maddock, Davenport
Mandan High School (1)
Kathryn R. Slavick, Mandan
Clifford-Galesburg High School (1)
Benjamin L. Berdal, Mayville
Minot High School Magic City Campus (2)
Brody J. Armstrong, Minot
Alyssa C. Ramsey, Minot
New England High School (1)
Braden R. Rayhorn, New England
New Salem High School (1)
Dreyton C. Rud, New Salem
Oakes High School (1)
Marissa R. Diggs, Oakes
Park Christian School,
Moorhead, Minn. (1)
Anna M. Skarphol, Fargo
Park River High School (1)
Jacob J. Ham, Park River
Powers Lake High School (2)
Harley M. Eckert, Powers Lake
Jessica L. Rosencrans, Powers Lake
Stanley Community
Junior-Senior High School (1)
Travis J. Dean, Stanley
Walhalla High School (1)
Suzanne N. Wieler, Walhalla
Watford City High School (1)
Dakota Anne K. Sipe, Watford City
West Fargo High School (2)
Elijah H. Gulland, West Fargo
Raeef L. Rahman, West Fargo
West Fargo Sheyenne High School (3)
Abi M. Kuznia, West Fargo
Victoria L. Moeller, West Fargo
Ashlen A. Wright, West Fargo
Wishek High School (1)
Chase D. Bader, Lehr
Wyndmere High School (1)
Gabriel A. Lothspeich, Wyndmere