Baesler Invites Applications for ND Board of Higher Education

Facebook Twitter YouTube Print
For Immediate Release
Dec. 8, 2016
Contact: Dale Wetzel, Public Information Specialist
Office 701-328-2247
Cell: 701-400-8557
Baesler Invites Applications for ND Board of Higher Education

BISMARCK, N.D., Dec. 8, 2016 – North Dakota School Superintendent Kirsten Baesler said Thursday she is seeking applications for two future vacancies on the State Board of Higher Education.

North Dakotans who would like to serve on the board should apply no later than 5 p.m. Friday, Jan. 6, 2017, Baesler said. Applicants must complete an application form and include a resume and letters of recommendation.

The application form is on the NDDPI website

Completed forms should be returned to the State Superintendent, Department of Public Instruction, 600 E. Boulevard Ave., Dept. 201, Bismarck, N.D., 58505. They also may be emailed to Baesler’s administrative assistant, Lynette Norbeck, at

Baesler is chairwoman of a nominating committee that reviews applications for the Board of Higher Education. The group picks three suggested appointees for each opening and forwards the names to the governor, who decides whom to appoint. The governor’s choices are subject to confirmation by the North Dakota Senate.

Other committee members are Chief Justice Gerald VandeWalle; Nick Archuleta, president of North Dakota United; state Sen. Gary Lee, R-Casselton, the president pro tempore of the North Dakota Senate; and state Rep. Larry Bellew, R-Minot, the speaker of the North Dakota House.

The Board of Higher Education will have two vacancies July 1, when the terms of incumbent board members Kathleen Neset and Kari Reichert end. Neset, who is chairwoman of the board, and Reichert are both eligible to be reappointed to new four-year terms.

The board oversees the North Dakota university system. It has seven voting members who serve four-year terms; one voting student member, who serves a one-year term; and nonvoting representatives of the university system’s faculty and staff, each of whom serve one-year terms.