Math Leadership Team

Facebook Twitter YouTube Print

The Math Leadership Team started as a cross-state project initiated by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). This project brought teacher leaders from Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Iowa together to network, collaborate, and create resources for each state. This collaborative group, along with CCSSO, identified some areas that could help the states in the implementation of their standards. 
The group began working on mathematics modules that will be presented and distributed throughout the state when completed. These modules consist of: Collaborative Grouping, Discourse, Effective Questioning, Mindset, Strategies for Modifying Tasks, Using Assessment, and Using Real-World Context. The work that the collaborative team has done is based in part on the book: Principles to Actions: Ensuring Mathematical Success for All from National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM).
The North Dakota team consists of: William Martin, Cathy Williams, Nathan Welstad, Tammy Meyer, Lynn Mitzel, Rhonda Grindy, and Rick Wilson. These individuals represent higher education, secondary schools, and REAs across the state.

The Cross State Collaborative Math Modules are available for North Dakota educators to use and will be shared through a variety of professional development partnerships throughout North Dakota.