nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
NDDHS logo
 arrow iconDHS Home arrow iconContact DHS arrow iconSkip Navigation Space
Space
Space
Space
Space
Space
Space
Space
Space
Space
Space
Space
Space
Space

Criminal Background Checks

Guardianship

Three forms are required for fingerprint-based criminal background checks for individuals seeking to be appointed a legal guardian. PLEASE NOTE: Not all forms are compatible with Mac programs.

INSTRUCTIONS: How to Complete Forms and Submit a Fingerprint-based Criminal Background Check

FORM 1 - Personal Authorization for Criminal History Record Information Inquiry (SFN 829) THIS FORM MUST BE TYPED.

FORM 2 - Criminal History Record Check Request Form (SFN 60688) THIS FORM MUST BE TYPED; SIGNATURE MUST BE HANDWRITTEN.

FORM 3 - Fingerprint Identity Verification (SFN 836) PRINT BLANK FORM

All fees for guardianship background checks, with the requesting agency being Juvenile Court, must be paid by the applicant. This includes fees assessed by other states or tribal court/child welfare agencies. All fees must be paid with a check or money order payable to ND Department of Human Services. Current background check fee is $41.25. Spirit Lake Nation - $30, Standing Rock Sioux - $25, Three Affiliated Tribes $10, Turtle Mountain Band Chippewa - $10, Sisseton-Wahpeton - $20

If you have lived outside of North Dakota during the past five years, click on each state you have lived in (below) to see if you need to:

  • Complete additional out-of-state authorization forms for each state you have lived in,
  • Provide a copy of a valid photo ID or a copy of your social security card, and/or
  • Provide an extra set of fingerprint cards (must obtained from a law enforcement agency or an authorized third-party fingerprinting agency)

If any of the above are required, they must be mailed to the Bismarck office. Please DO NOT send anything directly to other states.

Select from the list below. PLEASE READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY!

Alabama Georgia Maine Nevada Pennsylvania Washington
Alaska Hawaii Maryland New Hampshire Rhode Island Washington, D.C.
Arizona Idaho Massachusetts New Jersey South Carolina West Virginia
Arkansas Illinois Michigan New Mexico South Dakota Wisconsin
California Indiana Minnesota New York Tennessee Wyoming
Colorado Iowa Mississippi North Carolina Texas  
Connecticut Kansas Missouri Ohio Utah  
Delaware Kentucky Montana Oklahoma Vermont  
Florida Louisiana Nebraska Oregon Virginia  

Alabama

The signature on the form below must be witnessed.

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

Complete the form below - notary not necessary. Due to their requirements, a 2nd form will be generated by the CBCU and it will be emailed directly to you. The online generated form DOES require a notary. Mail the completed form to the CBCU. Please Do NOT mail it to Arkansas.

California

  • $15 processing fee (make payable to ND DHS)
  • No forms are required.

Colorado

The form below must be typed. Photo ID required.

Connecticut

Delaware

Complete Part 1 before printing the form for signature and date.

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

The signature on the form below must be notarized.

Illinois

Indiana

  • Online form required. You will receive email instructions upon the department initiating a registry search.

Iowa

  • No forms are required.

Kansas

Kentucky

  • Copy of valid photo ID is required.

Louisiana

The form below requires a photo ID.

Maine

Complete only if you are 18 yrs old or older. This form CANNOT BE TYPED. In addition, add $15 processing fee (make checks payable to ND DHS) to adoption and guardianship.

Maryland

The form below must be typed. The signature must be notarized.

Massachusetts

  • No forms are required.

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

  • Online form required. You will receive email instructions upon the department initiating a registry search.

Missouri

  • No additional form required.

Montana

The signature on the form below must be notarized.

Nebraska

The signature on the form below must be notarized. If the applicant is not 20 years old or older, the applicant's parent or guardian must sign the form.

Nevada

The form below requires a photo ID – DO NOT NOTARIZE.

New Hampshire

The signature on the form below must be notarized.

New Jersey

New Mexico

The form below must be typed. The signature must be notarized.

New York

The signature on the form below must be notarized.

North Carolina

Ohio

The form below must be typed. It requires a copy of a valid photo ID and a copy of the applicant's social security card. Results will be mailed to the applicant. The applicant must forward them to the Criminal Background Check Unit in Bismarck.

Oklahoma

  • Does not maintain a public registry.

Oregon

The form below must be typed.

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

  • No forms are required.

South Carolina

You will receive email instructions after the department receives your background check request.

South Dakota

  • No forms are required.

Tennessee

  • No forms are required.

Texas

The signature on the form below must be notarized.

Utah

The form below requires a photo ID.

Vermont

  • No forms are required.

Virginia

The signature on the form below must be notarized. The form must be printed 2-SIDED (on one sheet of paper).

Washington

The form below must be typed.

Washington, D.C./District of Columbia

The signature on the form below must be notarized. The form requires full 18 years of address history.

West Virginia

Wisconsin

This form requires a witness signature.

Wyoming

  • Instructions will be emailed to the applicant.

 

Contact Information

Criminal Background Check Unit
600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 325
Bismarck ND 58505-0250
Phone: (701) 328-7575
Toll Free: (800) 472-2622
711 (TTY)
Fax: (701) 328-0358
Email: dhscfscbc@nd.gov

 

Return to the top of the page Top of page   Go back to the previous page Back to previous page

   

 Get Adobe Acrobat Reader Tested for W3C WAI AA Accessibility Tested for W3C Well-Formed XHTML Code Tested for W3C Well Formed Cascading Style Sheet Code