
 

North Dakota Department of Human Services 

Early Childhood Services Division 



Welcome to North Dakota’s  

Child Care Center  

Licensing Orientation  



 
 
 

 Operating a 
successful child care 
business involves 
more than just 
enjoying children   
 

  

 Consider: 
 
◦ Are you organized? 

 
◦ Can you multi-task? 

 
◦ Do you work well with 

others? 

 
◦ Do you have the 

necessary 
qualifications?? 



 Child care center operators and their 
programs must be in compliance with: 

 

◦ ND Century Code, Chapter 50-11.1  

◦ ND Administrative Code, Chapter 75-03-10 

 

 

 



 

 Child Care Center-A child care program licensed to 
provide early childhood services to nineteen or 
more children 

 

 

 

 



• A center director must meet ONE of the following 
qualifications: 

 
A bachelor’s degree in early childhood education;  

 
A bachelor’s degree with at least 24 semester hours in child 

development or related fields and at least 6 months of 
experience in a center of similar setting; 
 

An associate of arts degree in early childhood development 
and at least 6 months of experience; 
 

A teaching certificate in elementary education with at least 
6 months of experience in a child care center; 
 

Certification as a Child Development Associate; 
 



A bachelor’s degree with at least 12 semester hours 
or 15 quarter hours in child development or related 
fields with at least 1 year of experience in a child 
care center; or 

 

Certification from a Montessori training program; 

 

 

 

 



 Who Can Be a Staff Member? 
 

Provider’s own child (ages 12+) may qualify to be a 
staff member 

 

Minimum Age Requirements:  

• 14+ years of age: 

• If under 16 years: 

• Must have written parental consent for employment 

• Employment arrangement must comply with NDCC, 
Chapter 34-07 



 Associate degree in field of early childhood; 

 CDA credential; 

 Certification from a Montessori teacher 
training program; 

 High school diploma or high school 
equivalency with at least 1 year of experience 
in  child care; 



• All Staff Members Must: 
• Be of good physical, cognitive, social, and emotional health to 

provide adequate care and supervision 
 
• Be at least 14 years of age 

 
• Complete Basic Child Care within first three months of 

employment and complete annual approved training hours 
 

• Never place a child in physical/emotional danger  
 

• Be directly supervised by another adult staff member if under 18 
years of age 
 

• Complete the necessary background check information, as 
required by the ND Department of Human Services  
 

 
 



• The Licensed Operator: 
 

• Is ultimately responsible for the health and safety of the 
children in the program 

   

 



 Center Directors and Supervisors: 
 All new directors and supervisors must have a fingerprint 

background check 

 

   Employees 
 If the employee has lived outside of ND and MN within the past 

10 years, he/she must have a fingerprint background check 

 

 If employees have only lived in ND or MN in the past 10 years, 
the operator is required to perform online court searches on the 
employee upon hire and annually thereafter.   (Be sure to check 
all known names.)  
 For ND: www.ndcourts.gov/publicsearch/contactsearch.aspx 

 For MN:  http://pa.courts.state.mn.us/default.aspx 

 

 

http://www.ndcourts.gov/publicsearch/contactsearch.aspx
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 0-18 months = 1 staff member per  4 children 

 18 mos- 3 years  =  1 staff member per  5 children 

 3- 4 years  =  1 staff member per  7 children 

 4- 5 years  =  1 staff member per 10 children 

 5- 6 years  =  1 staff member per 12 children 

 6-12 years =  1 staff member per 18 children 
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Each child 0-18 months is assigned  .25 

Each child 18 mos-3 is assigned   .20 

Each child 3-4 years is assigned   .14 

Each child 4-5 years is assigned   .10 

Each child 5-6 years is assigned   .08 

Each child 6-12 years is assigned   .05 
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  # of Children Points per child   Number of 
      staff required 

0-18 mos ____ x .25 = ____  
18 mos-3 ____    x .20 = ____        Up to 1.34 = 1 
3 years    ____    x .14 = ____         1.35 – 2.34 = 2 
4 years    ____    x .10 = ____        2.35 – 3.34 = 3 
5 years    ____ x .08 = ____       3.35 . . . . . . . 
6-12 yrs   ____    x .05 = ____ 
 
     Total    ____ 
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   0-18 mos  8 Children 

   18 mos-3 years             10 Children 
   3-4 years  14 Children 
   4-5 years  20 Children 
   5-6 years  24 Children 
   6-12 years  36 Children 

 
Group size must be consistent with the age of the majority of children.  

However if there are any infants in the group the maximum group 
size for infants must be followed. 

 
Both staff child ratio and maximum group size must be considered 

when determining the number of staff needed. When a group 
contains the maximum number of children per caregiver per age, 
the group may contain additional older children, as long as the 
proper ratio is maintained. 

 
 



 For each child:  a minimum of 35 square feet of 
indoor space and 75 square feet of outdoor space 
is required 

 Indoor space does not include: 

◦ Bathrooms 

◦ Pantries 

◦ Passageways leading to outdoor exits 

◦ Areas occupied by furniture or appliances that 
children should not play on or under 

◦ Any space that children are not permitted to 
occupy 

 



 Dimensions of the room 

 Existing walls and partitions 

 Exits and doors 

 Windows 

 Bathrooms 

 Existing/permanent furnishings 

 Fire extinguishers 
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• “Application to Be Licensed/Early Childhood Services” Form (SFN 

832). *Fill out both sides.  

  

• Child Care Documentation Record (SFN 343) 

 

• “Authorization for Child Abuse and Neglect Background Check” 

Form (SFN 508) 

 

• Complete Finger Print Background Check at local County Social 

Service Office (by appointment) or at your Regional Human Service 

Center 

 

• Remit the licensing fee to your County Social Service Office 

• $40 annual fee, or $75 for two years 

 



  Schedule and complete a Fire Inspection 
   When? 
   How? 
  

 

  Schedule and complete a Environmental Health 
Inspection  
When? 
How? 

 
  Schedule and complete the Child Care Licensing Study 

When? 
How? 
Note:  Your county early childhood services licenser 

completes the licensing study. 
 



 Required Training (Directors and supervisors, and at least one staff on site at all 
times) 

 CPR Training 

 Must be American Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety 
and Health Institute, ND Safety Council training, MEDIC, or other department 
approved training. 

 

 First Aid Certification 

 Can be American Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety 
and Health Institute, ND Safety Council training, MEDIC OR 

 Approved Online First Aid Training Options 

  **Pro First Aid:   www.profirstaid.com 

   **International CPR Institute:   www.icpri.com  

           (select pediatric first aid) 

   **American Health Care Academy: www.cpraedcourse.com 

 



 Additional Required Training: 
 

“Basic Child Care” Course: 

 Offered online or in DVD format through Child Care Resource and 
Referral 

 Must be completed within first three months of employment for 
supervisors and other staff members 

Continuing Education: 
 All training must be approved through the Growing Futures registry: www.ndgrowingfutures.org 

 CPR and First Aid training do not count toward annual training requirements. 

 Training requirements are prorated if a staff member has not worked for the full year.  

 Training is available through:   

 Local Child Care Associations, Child Care Resource and Referral, NDSU Extension Service, 
and other approved organizations 

 All operators and staff members are encouraged to register with the Growing Futures 
training registry 

 

 

 

http://www.ndgrowingfutures.org/


Position        Hours worked               Required  

             per week           Training 

 

Director       NA   13 hours 

Supervisor                NA                            13 hours 

Caregiver         30-40 hours           13 hours 

Caregiver         20-30 hours                   11 hours 

Caregiver          10-20 hours                      9 hours 

Caregiver       Less than 10 hours               7 hours 

 



Policy Development 
 Hiring Policy: 

 Must be a written policy 

 

 Must describe who they will employ, methods for obtaining references 
and employment histories for potential staff 

 

 Must also describe how provider will deal with criminal history found on 
background checks 

 

 NOTE:  Operator or staff member may not be and may not employ an 
individual who has been found guilty of, pled guilty to, or pled no 
contest to a direct bearing offense listed in NDAC 75-03-10-27. 



Policy Development 
Transportation Policy: 

  Needed if operator will be transporting children 

  Must be a written policy 

  Must specify who will transport 

  Must specify how parent’s permission will be obtained 

  Children must never be left unattended in vehicle 

  Driver must comply with all state and local laws including 

• Liability Insurance 

• Traffic Laws 

• Child Restraint Laws 



 

Policy Development 
Emergency Evacuation & Disaster Plans 

  Must be a written  plan which will include: 
 Emergency procedures, including the availability of emergency food, water, and 

first aid supplies 

 What will be done if parent are unable to pick up their child as a result of an 
emergency 

 What will be done if the program has to close or be relocated 

  Evacuation plan must be posted in a visible location 

    SFN 517 must be completed and submitted to licenser,       
update as necessary. 

   Evacuation drills must be performed in accordance with the  
fire department’s guidelines 

 

 



Policy Development 

  Must develop and maintain written policies/procedures related to: 

Children’s activities, care, enrollment,  

Responsibilities and rights of staff and parents, 

How center will handle accidents and illnesses, emergency care, 
and care for children with special needs 

Methods of discipline used,  

Process for reporting a complaint, suspected licensing violation, 
or suspected child abuse and neglect,  

Policy and procedure for accountability when a normally 
unaccompanied child fails to arrive as expected to the center 

 

Operators must share policies with parents! 

 



Contracts: 
  Develop a contract that outlines the conditions of 

your child care facility 

 

  Contact Child Care Resource and Referral or your 
County Licensing Worker for sample contract ideas 

 

  Review the contract with parents during the pre-
admission visit 

 

 

 

 



 Each Operator Must Develop: 

 A Program that includes activities that foster sound social, intellectual, emotional, and 
physical growth 

 

 A Program that is developed with consideration of parental input 

 A written daily routine must be developed, including:  

 Balance of indoor and outdoor play 

 Quiet and active activities 

 Rest time  

 Meals and snacks 

 

 Adequate resources, materials and toys for all children to be involved 

 

 Program which reflects cultural diversity of the children in care 

 

 Sufficient space for each child’s personal belongings 

 

 Parental Involvement Opportunities. Including:  

 Parental notification of the routine and program activities  

 Parent visit opportunities 

 



 For each enrolled child, the operator must 
have on file: 
  Child Information Sheet (SFN 845) 

  Parent’s Statement on the Health of the Child (SFN 847) 

   Immunization Record  (unless the child is school-age or    

 drop-in) 

     Documentation of verification of identity of each child  (This 

       can be done on the SFN 845)  

 

Using own forms?  Refer to NDAC 75-03-10-22 for items to include 

 

 All records, photos, and information must be 
kept confidential. 

 



 Discipline must be constructive or 
educational in nature. 

 

 Inappropriate types of discipline are defined 
in NDAC 75-03-10-23. 

 

 If inappropriate discipline is used, denial or 
revocation of a license may result.   



 Law defines child care workers as Mandatory 
Reporters of suspected child abuse and 
neglect  

 

 Individuals with knowledge or reasonable 
cause to suspect that a child is abused or 
neglected, shall report the circumstances 

 

 

 



 Reporters of child abuse/neglect issued in 
good faith are immune from any liability per 
NDCC 50-15.1-09 

 

 To report a concern, contact your local 
County Social Service Office 

 

 Concerns can also be filed in writing using 
Suspected Child Abuse/Neglect Report (SFN 
960) and submitted to your local County 
Social Service Office 



  Operators shall ensure that all children are: 
◦ Fed healthy and nutritious meals and snacks  

◦ Receive a sufficient amount of food while in care 

 

 Food Program: 
◦ The CACFP (Child and Adult Care Food Program) is an 

USDA food assistance program designed for child care.  
If you choose to participate, you will receive assistance 
with menu planning and nutrition education.  In 
addition, by serving reimbursable meals, the Food 
Program can provide you financial assistance in 
providing nutritious meals and snacks.   



 

 

 Maintaining a safe and sanitary environment 
is critical to both the children and staff 

 

 



 Hand Washing: 
◦ Children and Staff members must wash hands: 

 Before preparing meal  

 Before eating 

 After diapering and using restroom 

 After any other contact with bodily fluids 

 Always wash with soap and warm water 

 Use clean single use towel, or disposable towel, or 
sanitary hand-drying equipment to dry hands 

 



• Clean tables, chairs, floors, and bathrooms daily 

 

• Garbage must be covered or not accessible to children 

 

• Pets must not be in kitchen &/or eating area during meal 
preparation or service 

 

• Cots and mats must be individually designated, and cleaned 
and sanitized weekly. 

 

 

 

 



 Personal Items (combs, pacifiers, toothbrushes) must be labeled with 
name of child, and stored in a sanitary manner 

 

 The facility, equipment and grounds must be kept clean. 

 

 One flush toilet per 15 children (excluding those not potty-trained), 
separate bathrooms for boys and girls ages 6 and older, and 
partitions in stalls for children ages 6 and older. 

 

 

 

 



 No smoking by anyone in the facility when 
children are present 

 

 Adequate heat, ventilation, humidity, and 
lighting must be provided 

 

 Paint must be lead-free.  If pre-1970, repaint 
surfaces where paint is chipped/peeling 

 

 Facility, equipment, and grounds must be 
properly maintained 



 A fence may be required 

 

 Safety gates are required for elevated areas 

 

 Exit doorways must not be blocked 

 

 Pets must be properly immunized 

 

 



 Water Safety 
◦ Wading Pools:   

 Must be directly supervised 

 Must be cleaned and emptied daily 

 

◦ Swimming Pools 

 Must be approved annually by local health department 

 

 

 



 Infants must sleep: 

Only in a safe crib or pack-and-play  

The mattress must have a sheet  

No soft bedding or toys should be in the crib 

Only one infant blanket may be used 

Note: Infants must be placed on their backs initially when 
going to sleep. 

 

 Infants: 

Need to be rocked, spoken with, sung to, and held    
frequently during the day 

May not be confined to swings, cribs, or other equipment 
for extended periods.  20 minutes is a good guide  



 All infants must be changed promptly when their diapers 
become soiled or wet 

 

 There must be a designated cleanable diapering station 

 

 It is recommended to provide parents a record of the infant’s 
diaper changes 

 

 Infants may not be left unattended while eating 

 

 Bottles may not be propped 

 

 All cries of infants must be investigated 



 Must follow written emergency procedures 

 

 A working flashlight must be available on site  

 

 An approved First Aid Kit must be on hand 

 

 The facility must have a working telephone  

 

 Medications can only be given with written 
permission and written record.  All 
medications must be stored properly 

 



 What is Child Care Assistance? 
◦ It is a financial assistance program to help low 

income eligible families with the cost of child 
care while doing work/school related activities.   

 

 How Does it Work? 
◦ Parent of child applies for the subsidy.  If 

approved, the parent supplies a County Social 
Service Eligibility Worker with needed 
documentation each month.  Payment is then 
issued directly to the child care operator.  

 

 

 
 



 Process: 
◦ Initially:  A facility must complete the W-9, “Request for 

Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification” Form.  
Send to:  ND DHS – Child Care Assistance Program, 600 E 
Boulevard Avenue, Department 325, Bismarck, ND  58505 

 

◦ Each Month:  The operator must complete and sign the 
“Child Care Billing Report” (SFN616)   

 

◦ Each Month:  The parent submits the Child Care Billing 
Report Form with the necessary documentation to their 
County Social Service Eligibility Worker.  Reports are due by 
the 10th of each month   

 

 



 

 

• Eligibility Workers have 10 working days to process the 
paperwork after they have received all necessary documents. 

 

• Payments vary according to a sliding fee schedule and 
maximum allowable payments. 

 

• Payments may vary based on parent income, hours of 
activity/work, and hours a child is in care. 

 

 



Thank you for participating  

in North Dakota’s  

Child Care Center Licensing 

Orientation 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please note that this orientation is an introduction to licensing and is 

not inclusive of all licensing regulations. 
Licensed operators are responsible for understanding and complying with 

NDCC 50-11.1 and N.D.A.C. 75-03-10.  


