nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
NDDHS logo
 arrow iconDHS Home arrow iconContact DHS arrow iconSkip Navigation Space

Biographical Information

Christopher D. Jones, Executive Director

North Dakota Department of Human Services

Gov. Doug Burgum appointed Christopher D. Jones Executive Director of the North Dakota Department of Human Services in February 2017.

Jones officially joined the department and the governor's cabinet on March 6, 2017. He brings 19 years of experience in health service operations, strategy, technology and consulting to his role as DHS Executive Director.

Jones was previously a division senior vice president of strategy and business development for Catholic Health Initiatives (CHI), an enterprise with more than $15 billion in annual revenue and over 100 hospitals across 18 states, including CHI St. Alexius Health in Bismarck. Prior to that role, he spent several years as a manager, director and analyst in CHI's Strategy and Business Development function and worked as a consultant for Allina Health System and Vizient.

He earned his master of business administration degree from the University of St. Thomas in Minneapolis, and has undergraduate degrees in health care administration and Scandinavian studies from Concordia College in Moorhead, Minn.

The department Jones leads has a 2019-2021 budget totaling $4.2 billion that includes 2,230 authorized full-time equivalents (full and part-time positions).

The department oversees Medicaid, economic assistance programs including Child Care Assistance, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program; Child Support; Aging Services; Children and Family Services including child protection, family preservation services, foster care, and adoption; Vocational Rehabilitation; Developmental Disabilities Services; the Life Skills and Transition Center, and Behavioral Health Services, which include the Behavioral Health Division, the North Dakota State Hospital, and the eight regional human service centers.


Return to the top of the page Top of page   Go back to the previous page Back to previous page

 Get Adobe Acrobat Reader Tested for W3C WAI AA Accessibility Tested for W3C Well-Formed XHTML Code Tested for W3C Well Formed Cascading Style Sheet Code