nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Disabled American Veteran License Plates

Benefit Category: State
Disabled Veteran License Plate

To be eligible the US Department of Veteran Affairs office must sign a certification letter stating the applicant is 100 percent service related disabled or attesting eligibility under Public Law 663 of the 79th Congress.

The SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title form must be completed, signed, and returned with the certification letter. There is no annual  license fee.

Qualified veterans are eligible for two (excise tax) exempt vehicles licensed with the DAV license plate at a time. Plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a gross weight equal to or exceeding 26,000 lbs.

A surviving spouse CAN NOT retain the DAV plates for their own use.

Disabled American Veteran Mobility Impaired Plates:  To be eligible an applicant must qualify under both the DAV and Mobility Impaired qualifications.

DAV licensed vehicles can park in marked handicap spots in North Dakota.

Exempted
NDCC 39-04-18 (2) (j). Motor vehicles exempt from registration fees - Reciprocal use of state highways by foreign licensed motor vehicles.

j. Motor vehicles not exceeding twenty-six thousand pounds [11793.40 kilograms]

registered gross weight owned and operated by a disabled veteran under the provisions of Public Law 79-663 [38 U.S.C. 3901], a disabled veteran who has a one hundred percent service-connected disability as determined by the department of veterans' affairs, or a disabled veteran who has an extra-schedular rating to include individual unemployability that brings the veteran's total disability rating to one hundred percent as determined by the department of veterans' affairs is entitled to display a distinctive license plate issued by the department. This exemption applies to no more than two such motor vehicles owned by a disabled veteran at any one time.

Visit the ND Department of Transportation FAQ for more information on Disabled American Veteran (DAV) Plates

Discharge Requests

Most Veteran’s benefits require that applicants provide a copy of their Form DD 214 or discharge record, which is evidence of their veteran status. This is an important document and must be safeguarded. In the State of North Dakota separation documents are considered confidential and privileged NDCC 37-18-11 (13). National Guard members may receive a NGB22 and /or NGB23 upon obtaining 20 years of satisfactory service (20 year letter).