State Benefits for Veterans
The Department assists with state benefits such as state educational benefits for dependent of MIA/POWs, tax exemptions for the disabled, job reinstatement and veterans preference in public employment. We also administer a Veterans Aid Loan Program, a Grant Program, and a Transportation Program.
Our goal is to preserve the dignity and self-determination of veterans through awareness and procurement of available benefits that may improve their living conditions and opportunities; we also serve as a focal point for coordination among agencies, both public and private, in all programs and projects affecting veterans and their dependents.
Senate Bill 2145, passed by the 59th Legislative Assembly, provides for payment of adjusted compensation (bonus) for domestic and foreign service. For information on the eligibility requirements and the application, please visit the North Dakota National guard website at www.guard.bismarck.nd.us/benefits/default.asp?ID=302
Disabled Veterans/POWs-North Dakota veterans with a 100 percent, service-related disability and former POWs are eligible for a free annual permit. All other North Dakota veterans with service related disabilities are eligible to receive an annual permit for $20. This program is available to North Dakota residents only, with VA proof of disability or status, or a North Dakota DAV/POW license plate. Note-The Golden Access Passport is issued by the federal Corps of Engineers to any individual who has been medically determined to be blind or permanently disabled for purposes of receiving benefits under Federal law. NDPR Department will not accept the Golden Access as proof for veteran disability discounts.
Veterans Indicator on ND Drivers License
Veterans can request to have an indicator on their North Dakota driver license to show that they are a Veteran of the US military services.
Veterans need to bring a copy of their discharge papers (DD214) to a Veteran Service Officer
The Veteran Service officer will verify the individual qualifies as a Veteran in accordance with NDCC 37-01-40 (2) (see below), complete and sign the SFN 59980 “Verification of Veteran Status for Veteran Indicator on Drivers License” form.
The Veteran will bring this form to the ND Drivers License Site Location (pdf) when he/she renews the driver’s license. If renewal is not due, the $8.00 duplicate fee will be charged.
The driver’s license will have a “V” on the top left corner next to the ND state flag. Sample:
37-01-40(1) Veteran defined - Uniform service dates for wartime veterans.
1. A "veteran" is an individual who has served on continuous federalized active military duty for one hundred eighty days or the full period for which the individual was called or ordered to active military duty for reasons other than training, and who was discharged or released under other than dishonorable conditions. A discharge reflecting "expiration of term of service" or "completion of required service" or words to that effect qualifies the shorter term of service as making the individual a veteran.