nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
 

Insurance Premium Tax History

2015 Session

  • H.B. 1146 repealed SLIMPACT.
  • SB 2010 and SB 2016 appropriated $16,701,207 to North Dakota Firefighters Association, certified city and rural fire districts and Department of Emergency services for firefighter training stipends.

2013 Session

  • The Legislature, through H.B. 1145, increased the distribution of insurance premium tax revenue to the North Dakota Firefighters Association and the certified city and rural fire districts to $15,336,386.

2011 Session

  • The Surplus Lines Insurance Multistate Compact (SLIMPACT) was enacted to allocate among the states the surplus lines premium tax paid to the insurer’s home state. The compact only becomes effective if 10 states join the compact or states representing more than 40 percent of the surplus lines insurance premium join.

1999 Session

  • The method for calculating a penalty for failure to pay tax was changed.

1997 Session

  • A credit was created for any insurance company making or participating in a loan under the North Dakota Low-Risk Incentive Fund (see N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-50-05).

1991 Session

  • The legislature adopted a $200 annual filing fee for all insurance companies.

1989 Session

  • The legislature increased the insurance premium tax rate from 1.25% to 1.75% for accident, health, property, casualty and other types of insurance.

1987 Session

  • The legislature increased the insurance premium tax rate from 0.5% to 1.25% for accident and health insurance and from 1% to 1.25% for property, casualty and other insurance.
  • A credit was created for investments in the Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc.

1983 Session

  • Insurance companies doing business in the state, whether incorporated in North Dakota or any other state, became subject to the insurance premium tax and exempt from the corporation income tax.
  • The legislature provided for a 2% rate for life insurance, 0.5% for accident and health insurance, and 1% for property, casualty and other types of insurance.

Before 1983

  • Out-of-state insurance companies were subject to a 2.5% premium tax.
  • North Dakota insurance companies were subject to corporation income tax, rather than insurance premium tax.

1935 Session 

  • The first general sales tax in North Dakota was enacted at a rate of 2%.  The tax base generally consisted of all sales to consumers of personal property; sales or service of gas, electricity, water and communication; and sales of tickets to places of amusement.

 

 

 

nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Ryan Rauschenberger
Tax Commissioner
Facebook Icon Twitter Icon You Tube Icon Linked In Icon

Insurance Premium Tax History

2015 Session

  • H.B. 1146 repealed SLIMPACT.
  • SB 2010 and SB 2016 appropriated $16,701,207 to North Dakota Firefighters Association, certified city and rural fire districts and Department of Emergency services for firefighter training stipends.

2013 Session

  • The Legislature, through H.B. 1145, increased the distribution of insurance premium tax revenue to the North Dakota Firefighters Association and the certified city and rural fire districts to $15,336,386.

2011 Session

  • The Surplus Lines Insurance Multistate Compact (SLIMPACT) was enacted to allocate among the states the surplus lines premium tax paid to the insurer’s home state. The compact only becomes effective if 10 states join the compact or states representing more than 40 percent of the surplus lines insurance premium join.

1999 Session

  • The method for calculating a penalty for failure to pay tax was changed.

1997 Session

  • A credit was created for any insurance company making or participating in a loan under the North Dakota Low-Risk Incentive Fund (see N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-50-05).

1991 Session

  • The legislature adopted a $200 annual filing fee for all insurance companies.

1989 Session

  • The legislature increased the insurance premium tax rate from 1.25% to 1.75% for accident, health, property, casualty and other types of insurance.

1987 Session

  • The legislature increased the insurance premium tax rate from 0.5% to 1.25% for accident and health insurance and from 1% to 1.25% for property, casualty and other insurance.
  • A credit was created for investments in the Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc.

1983 Session

  • Insurance companies doing business in the state, whether incorporated in North Dakota or any other state, became subject to the insurance premium tax and exempt from the corporation income tax.
  • The legislature provided for a 2% rate for life insurance, 0.5% for accident and health insurance, and 1% for property, casualty and other types of insurance.

Before 1983

  • Out-of-state insurance companies were subject to a 2.5% premium tax.
  • North Dakota insurance companies were subject to corporation income tax, rather than insurance premium tax.

1935 Session 

  • The first general sales tax in North Dakota was enacted at a rate of 2%.  The tax base generally consisted of all sales to consumers of personal property; sales or service of gas, electricity, water and communication; and sales of tickets to places of amusement.

 

 

 

OK   Cancel