|FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE||Contact: Andrea Collin, Public Information Officer, 701.328.3039|
|Wednesday, April 23, 2014||Sara Meier, Property Tax Specialist, 701.328.3141|
Low-Income Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons May Qualify for Renter's Refund
BISMARCK, N.D. – Tax Commissioner Ryan Rauschenberger reminded North Dakota residents today that the deadline is approaching for eligible renters to file for a partial refund of their rent. Low income senior citizens and disabled persons may qualify for a refund of part of the rent that they paid for housing in 2013.
"Refunds provided by the Renter's Refund program are important to those individuals who qualify and we don't want anyone to miss the May 31 deadline," said Rauschenberger. "The program is for senior citizens and disabled persons who use a qualifying percentage of their income to pay rent for their home or apartment. Money paid for lot rent by mobile home residents may also qualify for a refund."
The Tax Department administers the Renter's Refund program. Eligibility for the program was significantly expanded by the 2013 legislature and it is now available to renters who meet the following criteria:
- 65 years of age or older or permanently and totally disabled.
- Income does not exceed $42,000 per year.
In addition to the age or disability status, applicants must also meet the criteria for the percentage of income that was paid for rent. If 20 percent of the total rent paid is more than 4 percent of their 2013 income, they may be eligible for a refund.
The following example shows how the formula works:
A renter pays $450 per month in rent ($5,400 per year) and has an income of $18,000. Twenty percent of $5,400 is $1,080. Four percent of $18,000 is $720. The difference is $360, which is the amount of refund the renter is entitled to receive. Note: The maximum amount that can be refunded is $400.
Rauschenberger encourages those who may qualify for the refund to contact the Tax Department at 701.328.3127 or 877.328.7088 (select option 6) for more information. The application form and instructions are available on the Tax Department website at http://www.nd.gov/tax/property/forms/24777.pdf. The form must be received by the Tax Department by May 31, 2014.
Taxpayers can stay up-to-date on North Dakota tax-related matters by visiting the Tax Department's website at www.nd.gov/tax, or connecting with the Tax Department on Facebook and YouTube.
# # #