nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
ndTax logo
Search
Office of State Tax Commissioner, Ryan Rauschenberger : State of North Dakota
About Tax Dept. | Misc Forms/Pubs | Laws and Regs. | Links | Media Center | Newsletters Subscription
Home  | Frequently Asked Questions | Contact Us Meet the Commissioner | Mission Statement

»
rss for North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner YouTube North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner facebook logo rss for North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
» Admin. and Research
» Alcohol
» Coal
» Corporation Income
» Estate
» Fiduciary
» Financial Institutions
» Fuels
» Income Tax Withholding
» Individual Income
» Oil and Gas Severance
» Property
» Sales and Use
» S Corp and Partnership
» Telecommunications
» Tobacco

» Disaster Relief
» Tax Incentives
» Tax Professionals

Career Opportunities
Frequently Asked Questions
Miscellaneous Tax Forms and Publications

600 E. Boulevard Ave.
  Bismarck, ND 58505-0599
  701.328.7088 phone
  701.328.3700 fax
  877.328.7088 toll-free
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Cory Fong, Tax Commissioner, 701.328.2770
Thursday, May 10, 2007

Renter Refund Filing Deadline Is May 31st

BISMARCK, N.D. – State Tax Commissioner Cory Fong today reminded low-income senior citizens and disabled persons that they may be able to receive a refund for part of the money they paid as rent for their home or apartment. The deadline for filing for the refund is May 31, 2007.

“The renters refund is an important program on which many elderly and disabled individuals rely,” said Fong. “It’s important to get the word out about the May 31st deadline so everyone who is eligible can apply for the refund.”

The Tax Department administers the Homestead Credit for Senior Citizens or Disabled Persons, which is available to renters who are 65 or older or permanently and totally disabled.

There are certain additional requirements in order to qualify for the renter refund. For instance, to qualify for the program, a renter’s 2006 income cannot exceed $14,500. If 20 percent of the total amount of rent paid is more than four percent of their 2006 income, they could be eligible for a refund. The maximum refund amount is $240. For example, if a renter pays $200 per month in rent ($2,400 per year) and the renter’s income is $8,000. Twenty percent of $2,400 is $480 and four percent of $8,000 is $320. The difference is $160, to which the renter is entitled. Fong added that people who qualify for the refund can expect to receive the check within about two weeks of mailing in the application.

“The renter’s refund program has been in place for many years,” said Fong. “This is just one of the ways the state is able to help those who need it most - our low-income, elderly and disabled.”

Last year the Tax Department paid 1,273 refunds, which totaled about $182,947, an average of about $144 per application.

Fong encourages people who think they may qualify to call the Tax Department in Bismarck at 701.328.3127, for more information.

# # #

Contact Info | FAQ | Disclaimer | Feedback | Privacy Policy | Taxpayer Bill of Rights | Voluntary Disclosure | State Holidays

XHTML Validation Link CSS Validation Link Priority 2 Accessibility Link