nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
ndTax logo
Search
Office of State Tax Commissioner, Ryan Rauschenberger : State of North Dakota
About Tax Dept. | Misc Forms/Pubs | Laws and Regs. | Links | Media Center | Newsletters Subscription
Home  | Frequently Asked Questions | Contact Us Meet the Commissioner | Mission Statement

»
rss for North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner YouTube North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner facebook logo rss for North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
» Admin. and Research
» Alcohol
» Coal
» Corporation Income
» Estate
» Fiduciary
» Financial Institutions
» Fuels
» Income Tax Withholding
» Individual Income
» Oil and Gas Severance
» Property
» Sales and Use
» S Corp and Partnership
» Telecommunications
» Tobacco

» Disaster Relief
» Tax Incentives
» Tax Professionals

Career Opportunities
Frequently Asked Questions
Miscellaneous Tax Forms and Publications

600 E. Boulevard Ave.
  Bismarck, ND 58505-0599
  701.328.7088 phone
  701.328.3700 fax
  877.328.7088 toll-free
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Rick Clayburgh, Tax Commissioner, 701-328-2770
May 9, 2002 Ramona Wanner, Property Tax Division, 701-328-3127

Renter refund filing deadline is May 31st

BISMARCK--- State Tax Commissioner Rick Commissioner today issued a reminder to low-income senior citizens and disabled persons that they may be able to receive a refund for part of the money they paid as rent for their home or apartment. The deadline for filing for the refund is May 31.

“We want to make sure that everyone who is eligible knows about the May 31st deadline,” said Commissioner Clayburgh. The Tax Department offers the refund to renters who are 65 or older or permanently and totally disabled.

Clayburgh said, “We feel it’s important for the Tax Department to remind North Dakota’s citizens about the renter’s refund.” Anyone who has already applied for the renter’s refund does not need to apply again.

A renter’s 2001 income cannot exceed $14,000 and Clayburgh said that if 20 percent of the total amount of rent paid is more than four percent of their 2001 income, they could be eligible for a refund. The maximum refund amount is $240. In addition to the age and income requirements, other conditions need to be met. Clayburgh added that people who qualify for the refund can expect to receive the check within about two weeks of mailing in the application.

“The renter’s refund program has been in place for years,” said Clayburgh. “This is just one of the ways the state is able to return a little more money to the pockets of those who need it most - our low-income, elderly and disabled.” Last year the Tax Department paid 1,417 refunds which totaled more than $178,000 - an average of about $126 per application.

Clayburgh encourages people who think they may qualify to contact the Tax Department in Bismarck at 328-3127, toll-free at 800-638-2901 option 5, or visit the Tax Department’s web site at www.nd.gov/tax  for more information.

Contact Info | FAQ | Disclaimer | Feedback | Privacy Policy | Taxpayer Bill of Rights | Voluntary Disclosure | State Holidays

XHTML Validation Link CSS Validation Link Priority 2 Accessibility Link