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LEGISLATIVE CHANGES TO THE GROSS 
PRODUCTION TAX AND OIL EXTRACTION 
TAX LAWS 
 
The 2001 Legislative Assembly enacted two bills that change 
the provisions of the gross production tax and oil extraction 
tax laws.  HB 1064 relates to the publication of the annual 
gas base rate adjustment, tax payment, computation of tax on 
incorrect returns, time for claiming credits or refunds, and 
date limitations under the gross production and oil extraction 
tax.  SB 2205 revises the trigger price that determines the 
application of oil extraction tax rates and exemptions.  
Changes are described in more detail below. 
 
HB 1064:  PUBLICATION OF GAS BASE RATE 
ADJUSTMENT AND OTHER CHANGES 
 
North Dakota Century Code (N.D.C.C.) § 57-51-02.2 was 
amended to remove the requirement that the annual gas base 
rate adjustment be published as a rule in the North Dakota 
Administrative Code (N.D.A.C.).  The Commissioner is still 
required by statute to send written notice to affected 
producers by June 1 of each year.  Notice is also sent to all 
gas purchasers, is included in all newsletters, is provided in 
mailings to new operators, and is published on the 
Commissioner’s web site at www.ndtaxdepartment.com.   
 
N.D.C.C. § 57-51-05 was amended to clarify that all oil 
produced and sold, either at the time of production or from 
inventory, is subject to tax.  In the administration of the tax, 
returns are filed at the time oil or gas is sold and proceeds are 
distributed thus making funds available for payment of the 
tax.  Inventory volumes are not sold at the time of production 
and tax is not reported and paid until those volumes are sold.  
  
N.D.C.C. §§ 57-51-02.2, 57-51-05, 57-51-09, 57-51-19,        
57-51.1-01, and 57-51.1-03 were amended to remove 
references to effective dates that are no longer necessary to 
the application of the statute.  All of the referenced effective 
dates that were removed have expired and are no longer 
necessary.  
 
The effective date of this legislation is August 1, 2001. 
 
 

SB 2205:  OIL EXTRACTION TAX EXEMPTION 
TRIGGER  
 
Prior to the implementation of this legislation, N.D.C.C. §     
57-51.1-01 included a trigger provision which provided that, 
if the average price of a barrel of crude oil was $33 or more 
for any consecutive five-month period in any year, certain oil 
extraction tax exemptions and rate reductions were no longer 
in effect and the applicable tax rate was 6.5%.  After the 
trigger provision would become effective, if the average price 
was less than $33 for any consecutive five-month period in 
any year, the rate reductions and any remaining exemptions 
would be reinstated. 
 
N.D.C.C. § 57-51.1-01 was amended and reenacted to create 
a definition of “trigger price” to identify the specific price 
used to determine when the exemption trigger takes effect.  
Trigger price means $35.50, which is indexed for inflation 
each year.  By December 31 of each year, the Commissioner 
must compute an indexed trigger price for the following 
calendar year by applying the rate of change in the producer 
price index for industrial commodities for the twelve-month 
period ending June 30 of that year, as published by the 
United States Department of Labor.   
 
The definition of “average price” was amended to mean the 
monthly average of the daily closing price for a barrel of 
West Texas Intermediate Cushing crude oil, as those prices 
appear in the Wall Street Journal, minus $2.50.  In computing 
the monthly average price, the most recent daily closing price 
is considered the daily closing price for those days when the 
market is closed.   
 
For the trigger provision to take effect, the average price of a 
barrel of crude oil must exceed the trigger price for each 
month in any consecutive five-month period.  The applicable 
oil extraction tax exemptions and rate reductions will no 
longer be in effect and the tax rate will be 6.5%.  When the 
average price for a barrel of crude oil is less than the trigger 
price for each month in a consecutive five-month period, the 
rate reductions and any remaining exemptions would be 
reinstated.   
 
The effective date of this legislation is for production 
occurring after June 30, 2001. 
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GAS TAX RATE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2002 
 
In keeping with the provisions of N.D.C.C. § 57-51-02.2, the 
Commissioner has determined that the gas tax rate for the 
fiscal year beginning July 1, 2001, through June 30, 2002, is 
$.0772 per mcf.  The gross production tax on gas produced 
during this time period must be calculated by taking the 
taxable production in mcf times the $.0772 gas tax rate. 
 
The annual average of the gas fuels producer price index was 
calculated at 146.1.  A gas base rate adjustment of 1.9300 
was computed by dividing the annual average price index by 
the denominator specified by statute, (i.e., 146.1 divided by 
75.7).  The gas rate was then computed by multiplying $.04 
times the gas base rate, with the resultant rounded to four 
places after the decimal, (i.e., .04 times 1.9300). 
 
NEW DATABASE SYSTEM 
 
The Commissioner would like to extend his appreciation to 
producers and purchasers for their patience and cooperation 
in implementing the conversion to the new database system.  
As expected, we have experienced some minor bumps along 
the way, but overall we are very pleased with the transition.   
 
The client server database system has been in use for almost 
a year.  Although we continue to fine-tune the system, we 
feel we have achieved major processing improvements.  The 
system provides the resources for real-time storage and 
access to data.  With the database query capabilities, we are 
able to compile statistical data and respond to information 
requests in a timely manner.    
 
PRODUCER WAIVERS  
 
With the implementation of the database system, the 
Commissioner began to grant waivers of the requirement that 
producers file oil and gas reports each month.  In order to 
receive a waiver, the producer must agree to have the 
purchaser submit tax due with their return, in addition to 
other requirements.  To date, a majority of producers have 
taken advantage of the oil and gas waiver opportunity and no 
longer are required to submit a monthly oil or gas report.  
Even though a waiver is granted, it does not apply to the 
Form 5, which is still required to be submitted to the North 
Dakota Industrial Commission each month.  If you are a 
producer and have not submitted a waiver application, the 
Commissioner encourages you to consider doing so.  Waiver 
applications are available on the Commissioner’s home page 
at www.ndtaxdepartment.com, by contacting our office at 
(701) 328-3593, or e-mail at oiltax@state.nd.us. 
 
ELECTRONIC FILING 
 
The Commissioner would like to thank oil and gas 
purchasers for their assistance and cooperation in achieving 
100% participation from them in the electronic filing 
program.  The Commissioner has the authority, by statute, to 
require purchasers to file oil and gas reports electronically.  

With the completion of the new database, the expectation 
was to work with purchasers over a period of several months 
to help them choose an appropriate electronic filing option, 
conduct testing, and ultimately submit reports electronically. 
Purchasers were very receptive to electronic filing, which 
allowed us to complete the process in a fraction of the time 
we anticipated. 
 
The Commissioner would also like to thank producers that 
made the decision to take advantage of electronic filing.  
Even though producers participate on a voluntary basis, 38% 
of the producers that submit reports, do so electronically.  
We encourage producers that do not file electronically to 
consider the advantages of doing so.   
 
Of the original oil and gas reports currently received from 
purchasers and producers, 82% are submitted electronically.  
The most common option chosen to electronically report is 
an Excel spreadsheet as an attachment to an e-mail.  EDI 
(electronic data interchange) is the option used for some of 
the larger reports with the files submitted using an FTP 
connection or attaching to an e-mail. 
 
The Excel spreadsheet, in a format required for electronic 
filing, and the EDI documentation are available on the 
Commissioner’s home page at www.ndtaxdepartment.com, 
by contacting our office at (701) 328-3657 or e-mail 
kschatz@state.nd.us.  
  
Electronic filing provides benefits to both the Commissioner 
and the taxpayer.  With the elimination of the data entry 
function and reduction of other human intervention comes a 
decrease in the number of errors that are experienced.  This 
reduces the need to file amended returns to make corrections 
and decreases the time required for the filing and processing 
functions.  Another important advantage is the reduced cost 
and time involved in filing and processing returns.   
 
ELECTRONIC PAYMENTS 
      
To make the entire oil and gas reporting process paperless, 
several producers and purchasers that file electronically have 
also elected to make their payments electronically.  Some 
producers that continue to file paper reports have also chosen 
to pay electronically.  Electronic payments total 29% of all 
payments received for original oil and gas reports.  
 
The Commissioner allows an ACH (Automated Clearing 
House) credit to be used for submitting tax payments.  An 
ACH credit is originated by contacting your bank and 
providing the Commissioner’s bank routing number, account 
number, the amount of your payment, and the date you wish 
the funds to be transferred.  You will also be required to 
provide addenda record information to insure that the 
payment is properly applied to the related tax report.  
Payments must be initiated by the due date of the report to be 
considered timely.  You will need to check with your 
financial institution to see if there is a charge to initiate these 
transactions. 



When paying multiple returns electronically, an addenda 
record is required for each report being paid.  Two options, 
depending on your internal and financial institution 
capabilities, are available for submitting multiple payments.   
The first option is to use the CCD+ format, which allows one 
addenda record to be attached to an ACH credit.  This 
requires a separate ACH credit, with an attached addenda 
record, to be submitted for each report.  The second option is 
to use the CTX format, which allows several addenda records 
to be attached to a single ACH credit.  One ACH credit for 
the total amount of multiple reports can be submitted because 
of the addenda record capabilities.   
 
You can find the information needed to start making 
payments electronically on the Commissioner’s home page at 
www.ndtaxdepartment.com, by contacting our office at (701) 
328-3657, or e-mail kschatz@state.nd.us.  
 
HOME PAGE 
 
If you have an Internet connection, the Commissioner 
encourages you to take advantage of the abundance of 
information available on the department’s home page at 
www.ndtaxdepartment.com.  Statutes, applications, forms, 
instructions, publications, and other useful information are 
available for several of the tax types.  Many of the forms and 
applications are available in a fill-in format so they can be 
completed on screen and printed.  Information is also 
available on electronic filing and electronic payment options 
offered by the Commissioner.  You can also link to the State 
of North Dakota’s home page at www.discovernd.com, 
where links to the various state agencies are available.  
 
The following is the specific information available from the 
Oil and Gas Tax Section on the home page: 
• Oil and gas tax law and rules. 
• Oil and gas historical overview. 
• Report due date schedule. 
• Schedule of observed State holidays. 
• Frequently asked questions. 
• Notification of gas tax rate adjustment. 
• Newsletters and other publications. 
• Oil and gas reporting instructions. 
! Oil and gas manual and electronic filing Excel 

spreadsheet formats and instructions. 
! EDI (electronic data interchange) formats and 

instructions. 
! Enhanced recovery reports and schedules in Excel 

spreadsheet formats. 
! Oil and gas producer waiver forms and instructions. 
! Pool code, posting code, and gas tax rate tables. 
! EFT (electronic funds transfer) and check payment 

voucher forms and instructions. 
 
You can contact the Oil and Gas Tax Section by e-mailing us 
at oiltax@state.nd.us. 
 
 
 

COMPLIANCE 
 
The compliance portion of the new database system has 
recently been completed.  The compliance program is 
designed to check for discrepancies between the taxpayer’s 
reported sales volumes and the volumes reported to the North 
Dakota Industrial Commission by the operator on their 
monthly Form 5.  In addition, volumes are compared by pool 
and well code to insure proper volumes are reported for the 
specific tax rates.  If a discrepancy is revealed, the error is 
reviewed and, if necessary, a worksheet is mailed to the 
reporting parties requesting them to address the error.  
Resolution of the discrepancy will usually require the tax 
report or the Form 5 to be amended.  
 
Value, royalty, and most well code issues will no longer be 
addressed in conjunction with the compliance program but 
will be assigned to the audit staff for review.   
 
OIL VALUATION 
 
The value of oil for tax and royalty reporting purposes is an 
issue that is prevalent throughout the country.  N.D.C.C. §     
57-51-02 states that tax is levied on the gross value at the 
well for all oil produced, less that portion which is exempt.  
N.D.A.C. § 81-09-02-01 defines gross value at the well to 
mean fair market value at the time of production. 
 
Fair market value includes the value of any consideration 
received from the sale and should be included in determining 
taxable value.  A premium or bonus is considered additional 
consideration and can be a specific dollar per barrel amount 
paid over and above the posted price or can be implied, 
including an incremental value embedded in a signature 
bonus, location differential, or an exchange agreement price 
differential that does not reflect apparent value of the 
respective crudes.  Transportation costs, as defined in 
N.D.C.C. § 57-51-01, may be deducted in determining gross 
value. 
 
Exchange and buy/sell agreements under which a producer 
exchanges oil at one location for oil at another location may 
not represent the fair market value of the production being 
traded, even though the contract may appear to be arm’s-
length.  Fair market value must reflect the total consideration 
received under any agreement.  In the absence of an arm’s- 
length contract, gross value is determined by using the first 
applicable of the three methods given under N.D.C.C. §     
57-51-02.3. 
 
REMINDERS 
 
When submitting a report electronically you will receive an 
acknowledgment via an e-mail reply usually within 24 hours. 
If you do not receive an acknowledgment, you should contact 
this office to inquire if your electronic report was received.   
 
 
 



For reports to be considered timely, the report and the 
payment must both be submitted by the due date.  Checks 
and paper reports must be postmarked by the due date, 
electronic reports must be transmitted by the due date, and 
you must contact your bank to initiate an electronic payment 
by the due date. 
 
To claim an exempt royalty interest, documentation to 
support a claim must be submitted within ninety days after 
the first report is filed on a new property.  
 
Producers are encouraged to review production and reporting 
history and take full advantage of tax incentives by receiving 
certifications from the Industrial Commission.  It is the 
producer’s responsibility to make certain that the 
Commissioner receives a copy of the certification within the 
18-month deadline.  If the 18-month deadline is approaching 
and a producer is not certain that a certification has been 
received by the Commissioner, it is advisable to contact this 
office. 
 
To verify an API number, well code, or other information 
relating to an existing well, call (701) 328-2747 or e-mail 
oiltax@state.nd.us. Any oil producer or purchaser filing a 
report on a particular well for the first time is especially 
encouraged to contact us for information on the well’s 
current tax status. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Each operator of an oil pipeline must file a report showing its 
volume gains and volume losses for the calendar year.  The 
report can be filed in the form of the pipeline’s “over and 
short” reports compiled during the ordinary course of 
business.  These reports are due by the twenty-fifth of 
February following the end of calendar year.   

 
IF YOU NEED ASSISTANCE 
 
If you have additional questions about the oil and gas tax 
requirements, please contact: 
 
Office of State Tax Commissioner 
Kevin Schatz  
Oil and Gas Tax Supervisor 
600 E. Boulevard Ave. 
Bismarck, ND 58501-0599 
Phone: (701) 328-3657 
Fax: (701) 328-1942 
E-mail: kschatz@state.nd.us 
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State Capitol 
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