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WEBFILE REMINDER
Sales tax fi lers may fi le sales tax returns using the Internet.  This electronic fi ling 
method is identifi ed as Sales Tax WebFile, and will provide you a paperless, safe and 
secure electronic system that allows a sales tax fi ler to fi le sales tax returns from your 
personal computer, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  To register and take advantage of this 
convenient and effi cient method for fi ling your sales tax returns, go to www.nd.gov/tax.  
Click on Sales and Use, then Electronic Filing in the drop-down list.  

If you have WebFile questions, send an e-mail 
to salestax@state.nd.us or call our offi ce at 
701-328-3470. 

TAX SEMINARS AND WORKSHOP 
INFORMATION
Border State “Sales Tax” Seminars
The Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner will again 
participate with the Minnesota and South Dakota 
Departments of Revenue to present joint sales and 
use tax seminars.  These seminars will include 
information on the similarities and differences in 
the states’ sales and use tax laws.  You are invited 
to attend these seminars:

North Dakota/South Dakota Sales Tax Issue Workshop
Aberdeen SD 4/13/2006 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.  Sales Tax
 1:00 p.m. –   3:00 p.m.  Contractors Tax
(Meeting site: Federal Bldg., 115 4th Ave SE, Aberdeen, SD)

Bismarck ND 5/23/2006 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.  Sales Tax
 1:00 p.m. –   3:00 p.m.  Contractors Tax
(Meeting site:  Butler Center for Lifelong Learning, 505 S 7th St, Bismarck, ND)
 
To register for these free workshops online, go to www.state.sd.us/revenue or call the 
South Dakota Department of Revenue toll free at 800-829-9188, or you may contact our 
offi ce for information at 701-328-3475. 

North Dakota/Minnesota Sales Tax Issue Workshop
Fargo ND 4/11/2006  1:00 p.m. – 4:30 pm  
(Meeting site:  West Acres Mall, Fargo, ND – basement meeting room)
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To register for this free workshop, call the Minnesota Department of Revenue at 
651-297-4213 or you may contact our offi ce for information at 701-328-3475. 

Greater North Dakota Chamber of Commerce Workshops
The Greater North Dakota Chamber of Commerce will be sponsoring Business Update 
Workshops across the state in May 2006.  The State Tax Department will join the 
Department of Labor, Job Service North Dakota, and Workforce Safety & Insurance to 
present items of interest.  For more information or to register, see 
www.ndchamber.com, or contact the North Dakota Chamber at 701-222-0929, or e-mail 
ndchamber@ndchamber.com.

SHOP SUPPLIES
Repair persons, service centers, and body shops are retailers of repair parts billed to their 
customers and are responsible for charging sales tax on all itemized repair parts. Repair 
labor, separately stated, is exempt from sales tax.  Repair persons, service centers, and 
body shops are consumers of tape, sandpaper, rags, cleaning supplies, tools, and related 
shop supplies used by them in the repair of tangible personal property. Sales or use tax 
is due and payable upon the purchase of such consumable supplies by repair persons, 
service persons, service centers, and body shops. 

The repair person, service center, and body shop may charge the customer for 
consumable items by itemizing a shop supplies charge or shop materials charge.  
However, these items are not being sold to the customer in a retail transaction and tax 
should not be charged on the shop supplies or shop materials charge. The repair person, 
service center, or body shop should self-assess use tax on the cost of those consumable 
supplies if the repair person has not paid sales tax at the time of purchase. Use tax is self-
assessed by reporting the cost of the untaxed consumable supplies on Line 3 of the sales 
tax return, entitled Items Subject to Use Tax.  

Fabricators and Manufacturers
Tangible personal property that is used or consumed in the fabrication or manufacturing 
process but is not physically incorporated into the fi nished product for sale is subject to 
sales or use tax.

FUEL SURCHARGES
Freight, delivery, and other transportation charges are considered part of the selling price.  
If the sale is taxable, the freight, delivery, and other transportation charges that are part 
of the sale and billed by the seller are also taxable.  If the product being delivered is 
exempt from sales tax, then the freight, delivery, and other transportation charges are also 
exempt.

Fuel surcharges, separately stated by the seller, would represent a delivery or 
transportation charge that would be considered as part of the sale.  If the goods are 
regarded as taxable, the fuel surcharge applied to the sale would also be considered as 
part of the taxable sale and subject to sales tax. 
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SALES OF MEDICAL EQUIPMENT 
The sales and use tax law provides an exemption for prosthetic devices, durable medical 
equipment, and mobility-enhancing equipment. 

“Prosthetic device” means a replacement, corrective, or supportive device worn on or in 
the body to artifi cially replace a missing portion of the body, prevent or correct a physical 
deformity or malfunction, or support a weak or deformed portion of the body. 

“Durable medical equipment” means equipment, not including mobility-enhancing 
equipment, for home use which can withstand repeated use, is primarily used to serve a 
medical purpose, is not useful to a person in the absence of illness or injury, and is not 
worn in or on the body.  
 
“Mobility-enhancing equipment” means equipment, not including durable medical 
equipment, which is primarily and customarily used to provide or increase the ability to 
move from one place to another and which is appropriate for use either at home or in a 
motor vehicle and is not generally used by persons with normal mobility.

If you have question regarding medical equipment, send an e-mail to
salestax@state.nd.us or call our offi ce at 701-328-3470.

RETURNED MERCHANDISE
When taxable merchandise is sold and returned to the seller by a customer who receives 
full credit or an entire refund of the purchase price, the seller shall refund or give credit 
to the customer for the amount of tax previously paid or charged.  If only a portion of 
the purchase price is credited or refunded to the customer, the amount of the tax to be 
credited or refunded to the customer shall be computed based upon the amount of the 
purchase price to be credited or refunded exclusive of the tax.  

Restocking Charge
A restocking charge is a fee charged by the seller to a customer when the customer 
cancels a sale and returns the merchandise, usually to cover the time and expense of 
returning the merchandise to the seller’s resale inventory.  Restocking charges are not 
taxable nor do they reduce the sales tax refunded to the customer. This means the seller 
should not deduct the restocking charge from the sales price of the merchandise and 
calculate the sales tax credit or refund to the customer based on the net amount. 
 

PENALTY & INTEREST 
Sales tax permit holders who fail to fi le sales and use tax returns or pay their sales tax 
within the time allowed by law will be assessed penalty and interest charges.  

Late Tax Return
If the sales and use tax return is not fi led by the due date of the return, the penalty is 5% 
of the state tax or $5.00, whichever is greater.  For each additional month or fraction 
of a month the return is late, an additional penalty of 5% of the state tax is due up to a 
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maximum of 25%.  Interest of 1% per month or fraction of a month will also apply after 
the fi rst month the return is late until the return is fi led.  

Late Tax Payment
If the sales and use tax return has been fi led timely but without payment, the penalty is 
5% of the state tax due or $5.00, whichever is greater for the fi rst month or fraction of 
a month the payment is late.  Interest of 1% per month or fraction of a month will also 
apply after the fi rst month the return is late until payment of tax is paid in full. 

Local Taxes
Penalty and interest is calculated separately, including the minimum penalty, for each 
local tax reported on the sales & use tax return. 

FREQUENT QUESTIONS
Are garden seeds and plants taxable?  
Yes, the retail sales of garden seeds, plants, bulbs, and fertilizer for a personal garden or 
lawn are subject to sales tax.

Are sales to churches taxable?
Yes, the sale of tangible personal property to churches is taxable, except for sales of 
Bibles, hymnals, textbooks, and prayerbooks. 

Are cover charges for amusement or entertainment taxable?
Yes, cover charges for amusement to taverns, lounges, bars, or other places of 
amusement, entertainment, or recreation are subject to sales tax. 

This newsletter is available free of charge on our Web site at www.nd.gov/tax or in hard copy.  We 
offer an e-mail notifi cation service to subscribers as soon as a new issue is placed on our Web site.  
To join the e-mail service, simply visit our Web site and click on “Newsletter Subscription” located in 
the top blue bar at the right side of our home page.

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE
If you have questions regarding sales tax or about correspondence received from our 
offi ce, the following information will be helpful in ensuring that your call or visit to our 
offi ce is completed in a speedy and effi cient manner:
• For Streamlined Sales and Use Tax information and updates on our Web site
 (www.nd.gov/tax), click on Sales and Use, then click on Streamlined Sales & Use on 

the drop down list.  The information includes up-to-date rate and boundary tables.
• If you have general sales tax questions, please call our Sales Tax Compliance Section 

at (701) 328-3470.
• If calling our offi ce about correspondence you have received, please call the number 

that is listed on the correspondence, and have a copy of the correspondence available 
when you call.

• When calling our offi ce, please note the name of the person assisting with your 
question in the event you will have any follow-up questions later. 

• Instead of calling or visiting our offi ce, you may also e-mail us at
 salestax@state.nd.us.
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