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State Board of Equalization
Meetings Scheduled

The North Dakota State Board of
Equalization will meet Tuesday,

August 4, 1998, at 9:00 a.m. CDT in the 8th
floor Conference Room of the Office of State
Tax Commissioner to review and take
testimony on 1998 railroad and utility
assessments.

On Tuesday, August 11, 1998, at 8:30 a.m.
CDT the State Board of Equalization (the
Board) will meet in the Pioneer Room of the
State Capitol to consider applications for
income tax exemption of new or expanding
businesses.  At 9:30 a.m. CDT the Board will
review assessments of locally assessed
property beginning with Eddy County.  At
1:30 p.m. CDT the Board will review
telecommunications gross receipts taxes.

The Board has not indicated any change in
its policy of allowing a five percent tolerance
for residential, commercial and agricultural
property.  That means that the Board will not
order a change in residential and commercial
property assessments for any county in which
the median sales ratio for each of those two
classes of property represents between 95
percent and 105 percent of market value.  The
Board will not order a change in agricultural
land assessments of any county for which the
average agricultural value approved by the
County Board of Equalization represents
between 95 percent and 105 percent of the
county average value certified by the Tax
Commissioner to that county.

It would be helpful to the Board if assessment
officials would recommend to individuals who
intend to appeal their assessments to the Board
that they notify the Tax Commissioner
(Secretary of the Board), in writing, of their
intent to appear before the Board.  It would
also be helpful if assessment officials would
notify the State Tax Commissioner’s Office of
individuals who will appeal their assessments
to the Board of Equalization.

Proper Notification of Local
Abatement Hearing Required

Whenever an application for abatement is
filed with the county auditor, the county

auditor sends a copy of the application to the
city auditor or township clerk of the assessment
district in which the property is located.

North Dakota Century Code (N.D.C.C.)
§ 57-23-06 specifies the requirements for
notifying the applicant of the abatement
hearings.  Within ten days of receiving the
application from the county auditor, the city
auditor or township clerk must notify the
applicant of the date, time, and location of the
hearing before the governing body.  The
hearing before the city or township governing
board must be held within 60 days of the date
the notice was mailed and before the city or
township governing board makes a
recommendation regarding the application.

It is very important that the applicant is
notified of the hearing before the local
governing board meets to consider the
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abatement application.  Not only is it required by law but,
it allows the applicant the opportunity to answer questions
and present information to support the applicant’s claim
for a reduction in valuation.  The courts have not ruled
favorably on governing boards' actions when property
owners were not given proper notification as required by
law.

Whenever county auditors receive an application for
abatement for which the local governing board did not
notify the applicant prior to the hearing, the county auditor
should return the application to the city auditor or township
clerk with instructions that the applicant must be notified
of the hearing before the local governing board.  The board
needs to make a recommendation based upon all facts
presented at the hearing.

When determining whether or not to grant an abatement
or refund of tax according to N.D.C.C. § 57-23-04, boards
of county commissioners generally give considerable
weight to the recommendation of the local governing board.
Therefore, it is very important that the local governing
boards allow applicants an opportunity to present
information to support their claim and the assessor an
opportunity to support his/her estimate of value. It would
also be helpful to boards of county commissioners if local
governing boards would provide a written explanation of
the basis for their recommendation.

When county auditors forward abatement applications
to a city auditor or township clerk, the State Supervisor of
Assessments suggests they remind the city auditor or
township clerk of the notification requirement.

State Supervisor Requests Update for
Sales Ratio Study

Now that county directors of tax equalization and class I
city assessors have a breathing spell between the

meetings of the county and state boards of equalization,
the Office of State Tax Commissioner has a project for
them.

The State Supervisor of Assessments asks assessment
officials to update their listing of county codes for the sales
ratio study.  Without a current listing of additions within
assessment jurisdictions, it is difficult to verify and code
information from the Bx schedules.  Assessors and directors
should verify whether the current sales ratio listing of
county codes contains the names of all additions/
subdivisions in the assessment jurisdiction.  Assessment
officials may submit the updated list to Judy Brosz in the
Office of State Tax Commissioner.

Interim Taxation Committee Meets in July

The interim Taxation Committee of the Legislature will
meet in the Roughrider Room of the State Capitol in

Bismarck July 7, 1998, beginning at 9:00 a.m. CDT.

As of the date of this printing, an agenda was not
available.

Telecommunications Gross Receipts Tax
Affects Budgets And Maximum Levy
Worksheets

The 1997 Legislature enacted a gross receipts tax on
two-way telecommunications carriers, effective for

1998.  This tax is in lieu of property tax on
telecommunications property that the State Board of
Equalization used to assess. The Tax Commissioner used
to certify the valuations of  telecommunications companies
and mobile radio companies and the gross receipts taxes
on rural telephone companies to the county auditors each
fall.

A standing appropriation of $8.4 million will be
distributed to all political subdivisions in 1999 in the same
ratio that the 1996 (payable in 1997) telecommunications
company taxes, mobile radio company taxes, and rural
telephone company gross receipts taxes were distributed.
Under the statutory formula, all political subdivisions other
than school districts will receive annually 4.9 percent more
from the new gross receipts tax than they did in 1997 from
property taxes on telecommunications companies and
mobile radio companies; school districts will receive 4.9
percent more than they did in 1997 from the sum of property
taxes on telecommunications companies and mobile radio
companies plus gross receipts taxes on rural telephone
companies.  When preparing budgets, political subdivisions
should account for the revenue they will receive in 1999
from the Telecommunications Gross Receipts Tax.

When preparing maximum levy worksheets for the 1998
levies, county auditors should adjust the base year taxes
by including telecommunications company and mobile
radio company values in “taxable value of property assessed
in the base year but not assessed in the current year.”  The
amount of property tax needed to meet budgetary
requirements is reduced because of  the expected revenue
from the Telecommunications Gross Receipts Tax.
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Tax Commissioner’s Office Clarifies
Property Tax Exemption

The Office of State Tax Commissioner was requested
to clarify whether the resolution to allow exemption

of a new single family residential property must be passed
prior to commencement of construction or prior to
assessment of the improvements.

North Dakota Century Code § 57-02-08(35) specifically
provides for exemption of new single family residences.
The North Dakota Attorney General stated in Opinion
86-10 that the legislative intent in enacting this exemption
was to stimulate the construction industry.

We took the position that, because the statute specifically
provides for exemption of new residences and the
legislative intent of the exemption was to stimulate new
construction, the governing board must pass the resolution
prior to construction.

The resolution may be amended to limit the exemption,
not expand it.  Therefore, the resolution cannot be amended
to allow exemption of residences built prior to the date
that the original resolution was passed.

Assessment Problem

A parsonage was offered for sale by bids as of the
assessment date (February 1) but was not  sold until a

later date.  An officer of the church filed an application for
exemption for the year.  Is the property eligible for
exemption according to N.D.C.C. § 57-02-08(7) or (9) for
any part of the year?

Assessors must list and value all taxable property
according to its value on February 1 each year.  N.D.C.C.
§ 57-02-11.  The assessor must first determine whether the
property qualifies for an exemption. Both N.D.C.C.
§§ 57-02-08(7) and (9) require that, to qualify for property
tax exemption, the property must be owned by a religious
organization and used or intended and ordinarily used as a
parsonage or residence of the minister in charge of church
services.  The Office of State Tax Commissioner takes the
position that, if the owner is actively trying to sell the
property as of the assessment date, e.g., lists the property
with a realtor or advertises the property in the newspaper,
the owner demonstrates that owner does not intend to use
the residence as a parsonage.  The assessor should assess
the property.

County Auditor Required to Notify
Public of County Board of Equalization
Meeting

North Dakota Century Code § 57-23-02 requires county
auditors to publish a notice of the meetings of the

township and city boards of equalization.  This statute,
however, is silent regarding the county auditor ’s
responsibility to publish the meeting date of the county
board of equalization.  North Dakota Century Code ch.
57-12, pertaining to the county board of equalization, is
also silent regarding public notification of the meeting date.

North Dakota Century Code 11-11-05 provides that the
chairman of the board of county commissioners, or a
majority of the members of the board, may call a special
meeting of the board by publishing a notice in the official
newspaper of the county or by giving notice, in writing, to
all members of the board.  Because the county board of
equalization meeting is required by law (N.D.C.C.
ch. 57-12), it does not qualify as a special meeting
according to N.D.C.C. § 11-11-05.

However, N.D.C.C. § 44-04-20, known as the open
records law, provides that public notice must be given of
all meetings of a public entity.  Subsection 1 of N.D.C.C.
§ 44-04-20 provides that, unless otherwise specified by
law, resolution, or ordinance, the notices do not need to
be published.  Subsection 4 of N.D.C.C. § 44-04-20
provides that the notice must be posted at the principal
office of the governing body holding the meeting and at
the location of the meeting on the day of the meeting.  The
notice regarding a meeting of the board of county
commissioners must also be filed in the office of the county
auditor.

As a matter of public service, county auditors could
include the meeting date and location of the county board
of equalization in the notice required by N.D.C.C.
§ 57-23-02.

Mobile Home Moving Permit

Before a mobile home owner may move a mobile home
from its existing location, the owner must obtain a

moving permit from the county director of tax equalization.
Before the tax director may issue a moving permit, the
owner must pay the full amount of taxes, penalties and
interest levied against the mobile home for the year.
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For example, a mobile home owner paid the first half of
the mobile home tax for the current year and in June
requests a moving permit from the tax director. There is
no statutory provision that allows the owner to obtain a
moving permit by paying only part of the mobile home tax
for the year.  To receive a mobile home moving permit, the
owner must pay the entire amount of tax levied against the
mobile home for the current year as well as any taxes levied
for prior years plus penalties and interest due.  The mobile
home tax is levied and payable on January 10th of each
year.  Therefore, the full year’s mobile home tax must be
paid in order to obtain a moving permit.

1998 NCRAAO Conference A Success

Congratulations to all the assessment officials who
worked so hard to make the NCRAAO Conference

such a success.  The educational sessions consisted of good
topics and the Conference was well attended by North
Dakota assessment personnel.  The Conference provides a
good opportunity to attend quality education and network
with other assessment officials and personnel.

The State Supervisor of Assessments will allow
continuing education credit to participants who attended
the educational sessions.  Assessment personnel should
send copies of certificates for the sessions they attended
to the Property Tax Division.  Individuals who are not yet
certified as County Director of Tax Equalization may
submit their certificates for recognition of attendance.

E-Mail Addresses Wanted

E-mail is a fast and cost-effective means of
communicating between offices.  The Office of State

Tax Commissioner would like to compile a list of e-mail
addresses for the following offices:

City Assessors
County Directors of Tax Equalization
County Auditors
County Treasurers
County Registers of Deeds

If your office has an E-mail address, please
send  it  to LuElla Wedge on the internet at
msmail.lw143@ranch.state.nd.us.  Addresses received by
August 15 will be compiled into a list and made available
upon request.

Need Assistance?
Please direct property tax questions or concerns to:

Office of State Tax Commissioner
Property Tax Division
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0599
Phone: (701)328-3127
Toll free within state: 1-800-638-2901, option 5
Fax: (701)328-3700
E-mail: msmail.bh758@ranch.state.nd.us
Website: http://www.state.nd.us/taxdpt

County Treasurers Must Distribute Taxes
Monthly

The ND Attorney General recently responded to a
question whether county treasurers may hold property

taxes collected in December but not due until January and
then distribute those taxes to the political subdivisions in
February.

North Dakota Century Code §§ 11-14-10 and 11-14-16
require the county treasurer to distribute by the tenth
working day of each calendar month to the political
subdivisions all taxes and money received
and required to be distributed.

The Attorney General stated that the statutes are based
on actual receipt of taxes levied and collected.  Therefore,
county treasurers cannot wait for prepaid property taxes
to become due.  They must distribute to the appropriate
political subdivisions on or before the tenth working day
of each calendar month taxes levied and collected according
to N.D.C.C. §§ 11-14-10 and 11-14-16.

Abstract of Exempt Property Not
Required for 1998

A few county directors of tax equalization have
contacted the Property Tax Division to inquire

whether they need to submit an abstract of exempt property
this year.

Relax.  The first abstract of exempt property is not due
until 1999.  The only property required to be listed on that
abstract is property exempt by discretion of the local
governing body or owned by a charitable organization and
used for the charitable purpose for which it was organized.












