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Changes in the Property Tax Division

There have been some changes within the Property Tax Division of the Offi ce of State Tax 
Commissioner within the last two months.  We have two new faces, one familiar face is no longer there, 
and one familiar face has added two to her family.  

Females continue to dominate the Property Tax Division.  Jolene Vidal, 
formerly of the Burleigh County Tax Director’s Offi ce, joined the Property 
Tax Division on June 7th.  Jolene’s title is property tax specialist and she 
fi lls a new position created within the division.  Ruth Graf, formerly the 
Kidder County Auditor, came to the Property Tax Division on July 26th by 
way of the Offi ce of the North Dakota Secretary of State.  Ruth’s title is 
audit technician and she replaced Ramona Wanner who retired June 30th 
from the Property Tax Division after 36 years of service to the State 
of North Dakota.  Incidentally, Ramona will come back to work in the 
Property Tax Division sometime in August as a temporary employee to train 
Ruth in auditing abstracts.  Sara Meier (formerly Hewson) became mom to 
twin girls on June 24th.  Marcy Dickerson, LuElla Dahme and Judy Brosz 
continue in their respective duties in the Property Tax Division.  

    

2010 State Board of Equalization Meeting 
Scheduled

The North Dakota State Board of Equalization (Board) will meet on 
Tuesday, August 10, 2010, to review and equalize locally assessed real 
property.  The meeting will be held in the Brynhild Haugland Room on the 
ground fl oor of the State Capitol and will begin at 9:30 a.m. CDT.

The Board will determine whether 2010 residential and commercial 
assessments are uniform and equitable throughout the state, and whether 
the average agricultural land value for each county corresponds with the 
average value per acre for each county certifi ed by North Dakota State 
University.  The Board will approve residential and commercial property 

assessments that represent 95 to 100 percent of market value.  By statute, the Board may not approve 
residential and commercial property assessments in any county or major city that exceed 100 percent 
of true and full value as determined by the sales ratio study for that jurisdiction.  The Board will 
approve agricultural land assessments of counties whose average agricultural land value for the county 
represents 95 to 100 percent of the average agricultural land value certifi ed by North Dakota State 
University. 
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The Board will take testimony in alphabetical order, by county, beginning with Cavalier County.  
Individuals who believe the 2010 assessment of their property is inequitable or unfair may appeal to the 
Board.  The State Board of Equalization does not have authority to reduce any individual assessment 
unless the owner fi rst appealed the assessment to the local and county boards of equalization.  The Tax 
Commissioner recommends that individuals who wish to appeal their assessment to the State Board of 
Equalization notify the Board, in writing, of their intent prior to the August 10th meeting.  

The Tax Commissioner’s Offi ce notifi es appropriate assessment offi cials of property owners who 
intend to appeal an assessment to the State Board of Equalization.  Assessment offi cials who believe one 
or more property owners from their jurisdiction may appeal to the 2010 State Board of Equalization will 
want to make preliminary preparations for making a statement to the Board relative to the jurisdiction’s 
investigation and action pertaining to the appeals.  Representatives of counties and/or major cities for 
which real property assessments are not within the allowable tolerance level will need to explain the 
reasons why 2010 assessments are not compliant.

 

Taxation Committee to meet in August

The Taxation Committee of the North Dakota Legislature will meet on Tuesday, August 24, 2010, at 
9:00 a.m. in the Roughrider Room of the State Capitol in Bismarck.

The agenda includes information and testimony on committee studies of mineral production tax and 
economic impact, property tax reform and relief, the equity of the 911 fee structure and funding of 
emergency services communications, potash and uranium mining and taxation issues, and subsidized 
housing property tax status.  

Administration of the Disabled Veteran’s Credit

The 2009 Legislature changed the disabled veteran’s exemption to a credit.  The state reimburses 
political subdivisions for the disabled veteran’s credit like it does for the homeowner’s property tax 
credit.

To qualify for the credit, an applicant must be a disabled veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces with an 
armed forces service-connected disability of 50 percent or greater.  The veteran must have been disabled 
on the assessment date, February 1, 2010, to qualify for the 2010 disabled veteran’s credit.  If the 
disability determination was not in effect until after the assessment date, the veteran is not eligible for 
the credit until 2011.  

The controlling date for qualifying for the disabled veteran’s credit is the date on which the veteran 
was fi rst considered disabled.  For example, if a veteran requested and received a notice in July 2010 
stating that he was considered 80 percent disabled in December 2009, the veteran would be eligible for 
2010 because the disability determination was in effect on or before February 1, 2010.  If the disability 
began February 2, 2010, the veteran would not be eligible for the credit until 2011.

The Department of Veteran’s Affairs provides disabled veterans with documentation showing 
the percentage of the veteran’s disability compensation rating for service-connected disabilities.  
Assessment offi cials must use that percentage amount for purposes of calculating the credit.  
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A qualifying disabled veteran is eligible for a credit applied against the fi rst $120,000 true and full 
valuation of fi xtures, buildings, and improvements of the veteran’s homestead equal to the percentage of 
the veteran’s disability compensation rating for service-connected disabilities. Following is an example 
of calculating the disabled veteran’s credit.

An applicant is a veteran with 60 percent service-connected disability.   The veteran and spouse own a 
residence valued as follows:  land:  $20,000; structure:  $140,000.

    Bldg. T & F Value $ 140,000
    Maximum T & F Credit  120,000
    x Disability %    (60%)  0.60
    Credit  (T & F Value)   $ 72,000

    Total T & F Value $ 160,000  [$20,000 (land) + $140,000 (bldg.)]
    Minus Credit - 72,000
    T & F Value remaining   $ 88,000

Disabled veteran owes property tax based on $88,000 true & full value.

The disabled veteran’s credit is calculated based on the true and full value of the improvements.  For 
reporting purposes, however, on the County Auditor’s Certifi cate of Qualifying Disabled Veterans Tax 
Credit (form VC-1), the North Dakota Tax Commissioner requires assessment offi cials to report the 
valuation attributable to the disabled veterans credit in taxable valuation, not true and full value. 

The provisions of North Dakota Century Code (N.D.C.C.) § 57-02-41 allow for proration of the 
assessment of a property which a qualifying disabled veteran purchases or sells during the year.  For 
example, a disabled veteran purchases a property during the year and the veteran qualifi es for the credit.  
The assessment is prorated for the portion of the year during which the veteran owns and resides in 
the residence.  Similarly, the credit is prorated if a residence in which the veteran resides is sold.  The 
veteran is entitled to the credit on the property for the portion of the year during which the veteran 
owned it, but not for the portion of the year during which the new owner possesses the property.  If a 
veteran changes homesteads during the year, the veteran is entitled to receive the prorated credit on the 
fi rst homestead and a prorated credit on the homestead to which the veteran moves. 

Property Tax Exemption of Single Family Residences

The Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner was asked for its position whether the phrase “single family 
residential property” included condominiums and townhouses as it is used in N.D.C.C. § 57-02-08(42), 
enacted by the 2009 Legislature.  

The Tax Commissioner’s Offi ce published an offi cial Guideline in November 2009 pertaining to this 
exemption.  The Guideline provides that “[S]ingle family residential property includes condominiums 
and townhouses.”  N.D.C.C. § 57-02-08(42) specifi cally allows governing bodies that adopt a resolution 
of this nature to provide limits or conditions to the exemption as they determine necessary.
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Assessor’s Manual

The current Assessor’s Manual consists of a table of contents and fi ve sections.  The Table of Contents 
contains an alphabetical listing of assessment subject matter and reference to the various resources 
within the Assessor’s Manual.  Section 1 contains current assessment laws.  Section 2 contains the 
Property Tax Guidelines.  Section 3 contains Property Tax Forms. Section 4 contains North Dakota 
Administrative Code ch. 81-02.1-02 which pertains to certifi cation of assessment offi cials.  Section 5 
contains residential construction details and appraisal terminology.  Section 6, which contains the cost 
and depreciation tables, is no longer part of the Assessor’s Manual.  Assessment jurisdictions need to 
provide their own cost manuals.   

Most of the contents of the Assessor’s Manual are available on the Tax Department’s web site.  Use 
the following link www.nd.gov/tax/property/pubs/.  Under the heading “PDF Publications” you can 
access the following information:

 Assessor’s Manual – Table of Contents 
 Assessor’s Manual – Laws  (Section 1)
 Assessor’s Manual – Property Tax Guidelines – Index  (Section 2) 
 Assessor’s Manual – Property Tax Forms - Index  (Section 3)

You may access the individual Property Tax Guidelines on the web site at www.nd.gov/tax/property/
pubs/guide/index.html.  You may access some of the Property Tax Forms at www.nd.gov/tax/property/
forms/.  To obtain copies of the balance of the materials included in the Assessor’s Manual, contact the 
Property Tax Division.

Administration of Homestead Credit

An applicant for the homeowner’s property tax credit according to N.D.C.C. § 57-02-08.1 may 
receive a credit on all or a portion of the applicant’s homestead.  The term “homestead” for purposes of 
this credit is defi ned in N.D.C.C. § 47-18-01, in part, as follows:

“. . . land . . . and the dwelling house on that land in which the homestead claimant resides . . ., the 
total not to exceed one hundred thousand dollars in value, over and above liens or encumbrances or 
both. . .  The homestead may not embrace different lots or tracts of land unless the lots or tracts of land 
are contiguous.  For purposes of this section, “contiguous” means two or more tracts of real property 
which share a common point or which would share a common point but for an intervening road or right 
of way.” 

The defi nition of a homestead includes contiguous property up to a maximum unencumbered 
valuation of $100,000.  Valuation of a homestead exceeding $100,000 is considered an asset.  Following 
is an example:

 Market value of the homestead $ 170,000
 Less:  Mortgage remaining - 50,000
 Unencumbered value of homestead $ 120,000
 Maximum allowed for homestead  100,000
 Amount of homestead counted as asset $ 20,000
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For homestead credit purposes, it does not matter what classifi cation the property is as long as it meets 
the defi nition of homestead and the total true and full value of the property does not exceed $100,000.  
For example, a homestead credit applicant may own an apartment building that is classifi ed commercial 
and the applicant lives in one of the apartments.  Depending on the percentage of the applicant’s 
eligibility, up to $100,000 true and full value of that commercial property may be entitled to the credit.  
Another example is a qualifying homestead credit applicant who owns adjacent lots.  The residence 
in which he lives is located on one lot, the lot next to his residence is vacant and the lot next to the 
vacant lot has a commercial building on it.  The applicant owns all three lots, the lots are contiguous so 
the applicant may receive homestead credit applied to the valuation of any or all three of the adjacent 
parcels up to a maximum of $100,000 market value.  An applicant who has a rural homestead with 
adjacent agricultural land may receive credit on not only the residence but also any adjacent agricultural 
land up to $100,000 market value. 

Applicants may deduct certain medical expenses from their income.  Allowable medical expenses 
are those actually paid (not owed) by the applicant and not reimbursed by insurance.  Over the counter 
drugs such as aspirin or pain relievers, even though recommended by doctors are not allowable medical 
expenses unless the applicant has received a prescription from the physician for the medication.  
Applicants may deduct up to $50.00 per night lodging expense while away from home to receive 
medical care in a medical facility related to a hospital, provided the individual’s medical insurance does 
not cover any of that expense.  Meal expenses during that time are not an allowable medical expense, 
except for the cost of meals at a hospital or similar institution may be deducted.  Premiums paid for 
funeral expenses and funeral expenses are not allowable medical expenses for purposes of homestead 
credit applications.  

An applicant qualifi es for homestead credit provided he/she is 65 years of age or permanently and 
totally disabled, owns and resides on the homestead, has income of no more than $26,000, and does not 
have assets exceeding $75,000, excluding the fi rst $100,000 unencumbered value of the homestead.  A 
qualifying applicant having income of $21,500 in the prior year would be eligible for homestead credit 
at 60% of the taxable value of the homestead.  If the true and full value of the applicant’s homestead is 
$125,000, the taxable value is $5,625.  Calculation of the homestead credit amount follows:

   Homestead   Hom. Credit    Maximum  Taxable Value
 Taxable Value   x   Credit  %   =        Amount    Reduction        Remaining
      $5,625                    60%       $3,375      $2,700       $2,925  ($5,625-2,700)

If an applicant fi les an application for homestead credit for 2008, assessment offi cials must consider 
the applicant’s income, medical expenses and assets during 2007.  The maximum income and 
homestead credit amounts allowed were different for 2008 applications than for years 2009 and beyond.  
Applicants must also fi le an application for abatement along with their homestead credit application 
for any prior year and for the current year after completion of the county board of equalization.  For 
example, this month an applicant fi les applications for homestead credit for years 2008, 2009 and 
2010.  The applicant must also fi le applications for abatement for all three years.  The application 
for homestead credit and accompanying abatement application for 2008 must be fi led in the county 
auditor’s offi ce no later than November 1, 2010.  There is no statutory provision to allow reduction 
for homestead credit beyond the years allowed for fi ling an application for abatement according to 
N.D.C.C. § 57-23-04.

The board of county commissioners is the only governing board that needs to act on applications for 
abatement pertaining to homestead credit applications.  The governing body of the township or city 
does not need to notify the homestead credit applicant of a hearing and it is not required to make a 
recommendation on applications for homestead credit.  Applications for abatement fi led for any other 
reason do require hearings and recommendations by the local governing boards.
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Discount for early payment of taxes

North Dakota Century Code § 57-20-09 allows the county treasurer to allow a fi ve percent discount to 
taxpayers who pay all real estate taxes levied on a parcel of real property for the current tax year in full 
on or before February 15th before the tax becomes delinquent.

The discount applies only to real estate taxes.  The discount does not apply to special assessments.  
The discount does not apply to taxpayers who make payments in lieu of taxes as those payments do not 
constitute taxes.  The only exception is in-lieu payments made by Workforce Safety and Insurance for 
its building in Bismarck because of specifi c wording in N.D.C.C. § 65-02-31. 

Reporting of blind persons receiving property tax exemption

North Dakota Century Code § 11-13-18 requires county auditors to report to the director of the 
North Dakota Department of Transportation (DOT) the names of all blind persons for whom a property 
tax exemption is claimed according to N.D.C.C. § 57-02-08(22).  The DOT uses that information to 
determine whether those individuals should be allowed to operate a motor vehicle in North Dakota. 

To complete the report, county auditors obtain the names of blind persons from the applications for 
property tax exemption fi led with assessors according to the provisions of N.D.C.C. § 57-02-08(22).

Evidence of disability for homestead credit and exemption 
applications

Individuals who apply for the homeowner’s property tax credit and renters refund programs as 
permanently and totally disabled persons must provide evidence of their disability upon their initial 
application or whenever requested to do so.  Proof of disability must be established by a certifi cate from 
a licensed physician or a written determination of disability from the social security administration.

The physician’s certifi cate, available on the Tax Department web site: www.nd.gov/tax/property/
forms/physicians-certifi cate.pdf is specifi cally designed  for use with the homestead credit and renter 
refund programs.

Individuals who apply for property tax exemption status as a wheelchair bound individual, paraplegic 
disabled person, a blind person, or any other type of disability need to provide a letter from their 
physician that specifi es the type of disability the individual has.  When individuals make application 
for exemption claiming a specifi c type of disability, the Tax Commissioner’s Offi ce recommends 
assessment offi cials provide applicants with a copy of the statute applicable to their request and 
suggest the applicant obtain their physician’s signed statement certifying the specifi c type of disability.  
Assessment offi cials may then use the physician’s statement regarding the disability to ascertain 
whether the applicant meets the qualifi cations for the exemption requested. 
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Education Calendar

The Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner will offer the following courses through November 2014.

Oct.   25 – 29, 2010  203  Commercial Property Appraisal
May     9 – 13, 2011  102  Principles & Theory of Value
Nov.  14 – 18, 2011  202  Agricultural Land Valuation
May     7 – 11, 2012  303  Teaching Appraisal Techniques
Nov.  19 – 23, 2012  201  Appraisal of Residential Property
May   13 – 17, 2013  101  Tax Administration
Nov.  18 – 22, 2013  203  Commercial Property Appraisal
May   12 – 16, 2014  102  Principles & Theory of Value
Nov.  17 – 21, 2014  202  Agricultural Land Valuation

The Property Tax Education Schedule is available on the department’s web site on the Property, 
Publications page: www.nd.gov/tax/property/pubs under the heading “PDF publications”.

Electronic Newsletter
This newsletter is available free of charge on our web site at www.nd.gov/tax or in hard 
copy.  We offer an e-mail notifi cation service to subscribers as soon as a new issue is 
placed on our web site.  To join the e-mail service, simply visit our web site and click on 
“Newsletters Subscription” located in the top blue bar at the right side of our
home page. 
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