STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA
OFFICE OF STATE TAX COMMISSIONER

Cory Fong, Commissioner

To: North Dakota Hotels and Motels
From: Office of State Tax Commissioner, Sales and Special Taxes Division

Subject:  Sales Tax Rate Increase on Hotel, Motel, and Tourist Court Accommodations

Date: June 16,2063 Revised July 2, 2003

The North Dakota Legislative Assembly increased the state sales tax rate from 5 to 6 percent effective July 1,
2003 on the gross receipts from leasing or renting hotel, motel, or tourist court accommodations for periods

of fewer than thirty consecutive days excluding bed and breakfast accommodations. The gross receipts from
leasing or renting bed and breakfast accommodations licensed under North DakotaCentury Code ch. 23-09.1
remain subject to state tax at 5 percent.

The 6 percent rate applies to leasing or renting sleeping rooms at hotels, motels and other tourist court
accommodations. The sales tax rate on rental of conference rooms, banquet rooms, swimming pools and on sales
of meals, beverages, gift shop items, and other tangible personal property remains at the general state sales tax
rate of 5 percent. The 6 percent rate is effective for all reporting periods beginning July 1, 2003 through periods
ending June 30, 2007. The purpose of the rate increase is to generate funds for the promotion of the Lewis and
Clark bicentennial celebration.

Under the new law, retailers leasing or renting sleeping rooms at hotels, motels, and other tourist court
accommodations may be collecting North Dakota sales tax at three different rates (excluding all local taxes).
Leasing or renting sleeping rooms is (effective July 1) subject to 6 percent state sales tax; alcoholic beverage sales
are subject to 7 percent sales tax; and, all other taxable sales of products (e.g. prepared meals, soft drinks, gift
shop items, candy, etc.) are taxed at 5 percent. The additional 1 percent tax that applies to the gross receipts from
leasing or renting sleeping rooms must be reported separately on your sales tax return. Therefore, the following
unique instructions apply to hotel, motel, and tourist court accommodations reporting 6 percent North Dakota
sales tax collections.

Alcoholic beverages: Hotel, motel, and tourist court accommodations that sell alcoholic beverages receive a sales
tax return with two columns of information. Sales of alcoholic beverages are reported in Column A and a tax rate
of 7 percent is multiplied times the sales amount to determine the correct state sales tax.

All other sales: All sales except alcohol, which are taxed at 5 or 6 percent, are reported in Column B of the two-
column return. A tax rate of 5 percent is multiplied times the sales reported in Column A (or in the single column
of a one-column return). The additional 1 percent sales tax collected on 6 percent sales will be reported separately
on the back side of the sales tax return in the Local Option Sales and Use Tax section. Hotel, motel, and tourist
court accommodations that do not sell alcoholic beverages receive a return with one column, which is used to
report all 5 and 6 percent sales.

Additional 1 percent tax: A special line of information will be preprinted in the Local Option Sales and Use Tax
section of your return for the purpose of reporting the additional 1 percent sales tax collected on hotel, motel, and
other tourist court accommodations. This section of the return has six columns labeled A through F. The local
code (Column A) will be identified as 600 and the name/location (Column B) will be listed as “ND Hotel/Motel.”
Report the amount of 1 percent tax due in Columns C and F of the schedule.Columns D and E are not applicable
to the additional 1 percent sales tax collected on hotel, motel, and other tourist court accommodations. Please
note sales are not reported in the Local Option Section of thereturn. The tax reported in Columns C and F will

be equal to 1 percent of your gross receipts from leasing or renting sleeping rooms. Rental of conference rooms,
banquet rooms, and swimming pools and other sales of food, drink, and miscellaneous sundries are not subject to
the 6 percent state tax rate.
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The following example demonstrates how sales taxed at three different rates will be reported. Assume the
following facts for the period July 1 through September 30, 2003:

5% Sales 6% Sales 7% Sales Totals

Restaurant Sales:
Prepared food $5,000 $5,000
Alcoholic beverages $1,000 1,000
Lounge Sales:
Food/soft drinks 1,200 1,200
Alcoholic beverages 3,000 3,000
Gift Shop Sales 800 800
Room Rentals —$80.000 80,000
Total Sales 7,000 80,0000 4,000 91,000
Tax Collected: [
North Dakota 350 4,800 /280 5,430
City - Anytown 70 800 /40 910 D
Total Tax $420 85,600 / $320 $6.340

7,000 + 80,000 \ / 80,000 x 1%
TN AR

Fil in thjs circle if you are no longer in business
 \adentgr your last day of business.

I_ Form  North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner ;
ST - Sales, Use, and Gross Receip

@) O Fillin this circle if this is an amended return.

Norber 123456-55 DueDate  (3tober 31,2003

:ﬁ:ﬁ; September 30, 2003

ABC MOTEL
123 EASY ST
ANYTOWN, ND 12345-6789

1. Total Sales (do not include tax) -~ -~ __. [

3. Ttems Subject to Use Tax - - ________ [

[ LT
2. Total Nontaxable Sales -~ _______ HEEEE
[T
[T]LL]

4. Taxable Balance (Add lines 1 and 3, and subtract line 2)‘ N , .
5. State Tax (Muliply line 4 by the ND tax rate) ______ LT T [218]0].

6. Total State Tax (Add column A and column B on line §)— - - - - _________________

7. Compensation Discount (Multiply line 6 by .015 ($85.00 maximum)) _ _

8. Net State Tax Due (subtract line 7 from line 6) __ - _____________________________ I:\:‘ xD:\:‘-
9. Penalty (See Instructions) (a)‘ ‘ ‘ H ‘ ‘ ‘Dj(b)‘ ‘ ‘ H ‘ ‘ ‘ Dj Dj v~ 0
10. Interest (See INSIUCHIONS) - - -~~~ __________. 1 [TT1]
11. State Tax, Penalty, and Interest —___________________________________________ I:\:‘,, 413[0].[0/0
LOCAL OPTION SALES, USE, & GROSS RECEIPTS TAXES E
To reporl ‘more than ten local opllon taxes, see Instructions. ¢ D Compensation F
Total Local Option Tax ~ Compensation  Allowance Net Local Option Tax Gue
Loca\Cnde ity or County Name/Location (Do Not Enter Sales) Rate _(See i (Column ¢ MBus Colufnn E
6[0]0] [Hotel/Motel J[8ToTo].[oTo]|.[ T ] L1 J[8ToToy[o]o]
0[070] [Anytown J1T1Te].[oTo]|.[ T ] L1 J1]1ToT.[0To]
12. Net Local Option Tax Due — L1 9T170].[0o]0]
13. Total Local Option Penalty and Interest (See Instructions) _ - I, B I
14. Total Due With Return _Make check or money order payable to North Dakota Tax Commissioner_ B 6],[3[4]0].[0]0]

1 declare that this return has been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief | please Do Not Write In This Space
is a true, correct, and complete return.
Taxpayer Signature Date Title

| |10—3 1-03 | Comptroller |

Contact Person (Please Print or Type) Contact Phone Number
|Jane Smith | 123-456-7890 |

Mail to: Office of State Tax Commissioner,
00 E Boulevard Ave., Dept. 127, Bismarck, ND 58505-0553

(.

Rate charts that calculate the total tax for various combined rates (state and local sales, city lodging, and city
lodging and restaurant) are available on our web site at www.nd.gov/tax or by calling the Sales and Special
Taxes Division.

Questions regarding the increased sales tax rate or reporting the additional 1 percent sales tax collected on
leasing or renting sleeping rooms may be addressed to the Office of State Tax Commissioner, Sales and
Special Taxes Division, 600 E. Boulevard Ave. Dept. 127, Bismarck, ND 58505-0599. You may also call us
at 701-328-3470.



