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Dear Friend,

 Welcome to the 2010 Edition of North Dakota State and Local Taxes: 
An Overview and Comparative Guide (a.k.a. The Red Book).  

 North Dakota is built on an economy that works.  As a matter of fact, during the 
recent recession, our state’s economy continued to be strong and healthy.  In the past ten 
years, North Dakota has created 40,000 new jobs; wages and incomes continue to increase 
faster than the national average; we have one of the lowest unemployment rates in the 
nation; and we have one of the fastest growing energy sectors in the country, which have led 
to strong growth in all major sectors of our state's economy.

 Much of this success can be attributed to the leadership and the optimistic outlook 
that our state's businesses and employers have in North Dakota's workforce, our business 
culture, and our economy.  Their willingness to invest in North Dakota coupled with the 
foresight and support of our state and local community leaders has resulted in a progressive 
and business-friendly vision that encourages economic growth.  This is evidenced by new 
and expanded developments in value added agricultural processing, bio-fuels, wind energy, 
clean coal technologies, enhanced oil recovery, advanced manufacturing, new research and 
development, and technology-based businesses that are cropping up across North Dakota.

 The Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner plays a key role in this effort.  By reaching out 
and forging stronger working relationships with other government agencies and private 
industry, the department is providing essential education about North Dakota taxes and 
promoting a better understanding of existing tax incentives and the important role they play 
in growing our economy.   And the Red Book has long been a source for this kind of tax 
information.

 The Red Book is designed for anyone who wants to learn more about North Dakota’s 
taxes.  It brings together the tax laws, a historical perspective of those taxes, and combines 
the latest data with comparisons and rankings with other states.  This version contains the 
most recent statistical data available as of December 2010. 

 I am always interested in hearing from you.  Please feel 
free to share with me your suggestions and input concerning 
North Dakota taxes and our department.

Sincerely,

Cory Fong
Tax Commissioner

Greetings from North Dakota 
Tax Commissioner Cory Fong

Cory Fong, 
Tax Commissioner
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REVENUE OVERVIEW

This chapter contains historical comparisons of North Dakota revenue.  General fund information is given, 
as well as trends in collections.  

Sales, Use &
Motor Vehicle

43.4%

Individual
Income Tax

20.8%

Individual
Income Tax

25.1%

Sales, Use &
Motor Vehicle

43.3%

Other
14.3%

InsuranceInsurance
Premium TaxPremium Tax

2.4%2.4%

Cigarette &Cigarette &
Tobacco TaxTobacco Tax

1.7%1.7%

CoalCoal
TaxesTaxes
1.8%1.8%

Oil
Taxes
2.6%

Corporation
Income Tax

8.8%

(PROJECTED)
2009-11 BIENNIUM

$2.965 Billion
2007-09 BIENNIUM

$2.715 Billion

Insurance
Premium Tax

2.2%

Cigarette &
Tobacco Tax

1.5%

Oil
Taxes
2.4%

Corporation
Income Tax

6.1%

Coal
Taxes
1.4%

Comparison of Revenue Sources 
Percent of Total
State General Fund

Comparison of Expenditures
Percent of Total
State General Fund

2009-11 General Fund Appropriations (1)

Total = $3.249 Billion

 Agriculture, Industrial
Development & Promotion

5.5%

Regulatory
1.1%

Natural Resources
2.5%

Public Safety
7.3%

Higher
Education

18.3%

2007-09 General Fund Expenditures By Program
Total = $2.465 Billion

Public Safety
7.4%

Elementary and
Secondary Education

30.7%

Higher
Education

18.7%

Health & HumanHealth & Human
ServicesServices
23.1%23.1%

General Gov't.
8.0%

Natural Resources
1.5%

Regulatory
.6%

Miscellaneous
5.7%

(1) This is the amount appropriated by the 2009 Legislative Assembly.  Actual expenditures will vary from appropriated levels.

SOURCE:  Offi ce of Management and Budget.

Elementary and
Secondary Education

35.4%

General Gov't.
8.3%

 Agriculture, Industrial
Development & Promotion

4.3%

Other
22.2%

Health & Human
Services
21.5%

Transportation
.1%



December 2010
North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner- 2 -

State General Fund Budget by Revenue Sources
1999-01 through 2009-11 Biennia (in Millions)

 REVENUE SOURCES

  1999-01 2001-03 2003-05 2005-07 2007-09

 INTEREST, MINERAL LEASES, TRANSFERS
  - Interest Income 20.832 8.509 6.935 36.507 49.506 42.200
  - Mineral Leasing Fees 9.532 6.441 11.025 13.960 25.307 18.034
  - Bank of ND Profi ts Transfer 50.000 78.700 60.000 60.000 60.000 1.000
  - State Mill Profi ts Transfer 3.000 6.000 5.000 5.000 0.000 9.585
  - Gas Tax Administration Transfer 1.381 1.363 1.396 1.274 1.274 1.288
  - Budget Stabilization Fund Transfer 
  - State Aid Distribution Fund Transfer (1)

  - Other Transfers 5.159 24.370 91.412 88.436 133.277 471.120

 SALES, USE AND MOTOR VEHICLE 722.182 760.211 845.768 967.653 1,176.637 1,312.554

 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX 409.331 396.153 452.547 587.659 681.704 608.717

 CORPORATION INCOME TAX 99.135 88.417 102.927 232.294 239.696 179.075

 OIL TAXES 62.000 62.000 71.000 71.000 71.000 71.000

 COAL TAXES 47.846 46.879 47.197 49.218 49.439 42.688

 CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO TAXES 41.706 39.313 39.477 44.683 45.231 44.881

 INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 39.113 48.990 56.285 52.873 64.389 64.152

 WHOLESALE LIQUOR TAX 10.322 11.156 11.889 12.788 14.077 14.701

 BUSINESS PRIVILEGE TAX/
 FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS TAX 5.465 6.257 4.959 9.702 10.486 6.331

 GAMING TAXES 27.438 27.613 20.851 17.986 20.042 16.165

 LOTTERY    7.269 11.055 11.155

 DEPARTMENTAL FEES & COLLECTIONS 40.816 57.506 61.005 54.024 62.143 63.992

 OTHER (2)    56.457

 TOTAL GENERAL FUND REVENUES 1,595.258 1,669.878 1,953.398 2,317.659 2,715.263 2,978.639

 BEGINNING BALANCE 61.114 62.241 14.790 68.015 295.541 361.844
 REVENUES AND BEGINNING BALANCE 1,656.372 1,732.119 1,968.188 2,385.674 3,010.805 3,340.482

 FUNDS RELATED TO PRIOR BIENNIUM
  CARRY-OVER AND ADJUSTMENTS 10.155 13.996 0 0 17.151 76.384

 REVENUE AVAILABLE DURING BIENNIUM 1,666.527 1,746.115 1,968.188 2,385.674 3,027.955 3,416.866

 GENERAL FUND EXPENDITURES 1,592.975 1,723.561 1,798.211 1,971.375 2,464.792 3,335.749

 TRANSFER TO BUDGET STABILIZATION
  FUND   99.473 100.527 124.937 

 OBLIGATIONS CARRIED OVER TO
  FUTURE PERIODS 11.311 7.764 2.489 18.231 76.384

 UNOBLIGATED ENDING BALANCE 62.241 14.790 68.015 295.541 361.844 81.117 (3)

* Based on the November 2010 revised forecast.  

(1) A portion of sales, use and motor vehicle excise taxes is deposited in the State Aid Distribution Fund (S.A.D.F.) and that revenue is not included 
in this table. As of January 1, 1999, the portion is 40% x 1% ÷ general sales tax rate.  However, during the two biennia shown, the legislature 
transferred funds from the S.A.D.F. to the General Fund as shown in the table. 

(2)  Federal Fiscal Relief payments deposited in the General Fund.
(3) N.D.C.C. § 54-27.2-02 provides that any end of biennium balance in excess of $65.0 million must be transferred to the budget stabilization 

fund, up to a cap of 10.0% of appropriations.  The current balance is $324.9 million.  The actual transfer will be dependent upon the level of 
appropriations authorized by the 2011 Legislature.  Based on the executive budget recommendations for 2011-13, the 2009-11 transfer would be 
less than $10 million.

Projected
2009-11

Biennium*

Biennium Revenues
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2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010

Tax Type 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010

Sales & Use 386.6 398.6 401.6 424.9 441.4 480.6 495.6 556.0 611.6 683.6 684.1

Ind. Income 198.3 213.4 198.9 200.5 214.1 241.3 274.6 318.4 308.9 378.1 304.3

Corp. Income 47.5 51.6 41.6 46.0 40.3 62.7 111.8 120.0 140.7 99.0 87.9

Oil Extraction 21.0 24.8 17.1 22.6 25.6 45.6 61.8 67.2 182.4 185.8 280.6

Gross Production 38.0 46.0 36.5 43.5 47.5 74.0 104.4 118.8 209.4 221.5 302.1
 
Coal Taxes 39.0 39.5 38.2 39.4 40.6 37.7 39.8 40.9 39.0 41.6 37.7

Motor Fuels 111.8 112.7 111.7 115.3 119.9 122.2 134.1 140.0 144.0 144.5 151.7

Other Taxes & Fees 108.9 117.7 121.3 131.2 121.9 135.5 148.0 158.5 165.3 177.7 183.6

Total Net Collections* 951.1 1004.3 966.9 1023.4 1051.3 1199.7 1370.0 1,519.8 1,801.3 1,931.8 2,032.0

Other Taxes & FeesOther Taxes & Fees
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Source of Major State and Local Taxes
2000-2010

  State Individual  Local
 Fiscal Sales & Income Property Sales &
 Year Use Tax Tax Tax Use Tax*
 2000 326,261,978 197,101,325 486,194,264 58,711,263
 2001 340,114,569 213,442,150 509,032,721 66,961,363
 2002 335,598,693 198,922,525 532,629,675 65,368,838
 2003 360,908,220 200,528,205 560,751,909 73,666,551
 2004 368,323,637 214,145,899  586,412,017 68,644,864
 2005 411,553,514 241,319,731 618,065,693 78,761,154
 2006 428,906,406 274,621,741 659,789,376 87,563,544
 2007 485,986,114 318,433,494 706,427,621 92,143,032
 2008 530,283,623 308,889,352 740,540,738 96,566,720
 2009 607,170,311 378,135,463 776,398,475 108,264,455
 2010 603,732,481 304,252,924 678,749,378 119,411,810

* The local sales tax fi gures do not include city occupancy or city restaurant and lodging taxes.

SOURCE:  Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner.
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This chapter provides a comparison of overall tax levels between the states.*  There are a variety of ways 
to rank and compare state taxes.  We have used a number of different sources to give you a broad range of 
research.  Each measurement provides insights, but also has limitations.  Please contact the Offi ce of State 
Tax Commissioner for more information about the various measurements.

SOURCE:  State Government Tax Collections: 2009  www.census.gov/govs/statetax

* The rankings of specifi c types of taxes are found throughout this publication.  Those comparisons are located within the chapter relating to that particular type 
of tax.

STATE COMPARISONS

State vs. Local Tax Collections
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Comparing the 50 States' Combined State/Local Tax Burdens in 2009  
(Measuring Taxes as a Percentage of Income)

Each state's total tax burden (taxes as a percentage of income) is a combination of federal, state, and local tax burdens.  It can 
be instructive to strip out federal taxes and compare just the state and local tax burdens.  Generally, high-income states rise 
because, with their high costs of living and commensurately higher salaries, they are hit harder by the progressive federal 
income tax.  Low-income states that have high state-local tax burdens fall in the ranking when federal taxes are added in.
 State and Local Total Change in
     Ranking After
 Tax  Tax  Adding
 Burden Rank Burden Rank Federal Taxes
Alaska 16.6% 1 Alaska 32.4% 4 3
Wyoming 11.1% 2 Wyoming 26.5% 16 14
Vermont 10.5% 3 Vermont 24.5% 25 22
NORTH DAKOTA 9.4% 4 NORTH DAKOTA 25.5% 20 16
Hawaii 8.7% 5 Hawaii 21.1% 37 32
West Virginia 8.2% 6 West Virginia 19.0% 46 40
Arkansas 8.1% 7 Arkansas 36.0% 3 -4
Delaware 8.0% 8 Delaware 46.8% 1 -7
Minnesota 7.8% 9 Minnesota 38.8% 2 -7
Mississippi 7.3% 10 Mississippi 17.8% 49 39
New Mexico 7.3% 11 New Mexico 19.7% 44 33
Montana 7.3% 12 Montana 19.7% 43 31
Maine 7.2% 13 Maine 19.8% 42 29
Kentucky 7.1% 14 Kentucky 24.0% 26 12
New York 7.1% 15 New York 28.2% 10 -5
Wisconsin 7.0% 16 Wisconsin 25.5% 21 5
Michigan 6.9% 17 Michigan 23.5% 27 10
Indiana 6.9% 18 Indiana 26.3% 17 -1
Connecticut 6.8% 19 Connecticut 30.1% 7 -12
Idaho 6.5% 20 Idaho 20.5% 39 19
California 6.5% 21 California 23.4% 28 7
North Carolina 6.3% 22 North Carolina 25.9% 18 -4
Iowa 6.3% 23 Iowa 22.3% 33 10
Utah 6.3% 24 Utah 22.9% 30 6
Louisiana 6.3% 25 Louisiana 28.1% 11 -14
Oklahoma 6.3% 26 Oklahoma 25.0% 24 -2
Kansas 6.3% 27 Kansas 25.3% 23 -4
New Jersey 6.2% 28 New Jersey 29.8% 8 -20
Pennsylvania 6.0% 29 Pennsylvania 27.4% 12 -17
Rhode Island 6.0% 30 Rhode Island 31.3% 5 -25
Massachusetts 5.9% 31 Massachusetts 27.2% 13 -18
Washington 5.9% 32 Washington 23.4% 29 -3
Ohio 5.9% 33 Ohio 31.2% 6 -27
Nebraska 5.8% 34 Nebraska 29.5% 9 -25
Maryland 5.5% 35 Maryland 21.7% 34 -1
Illinois 5.5% 36 Illinois 27.2% 14 -22
Nevada 5.5% 37 Nevada 19.0% 47 10
Oregon 5.4% 38 Oregon 21.4% 36 -2
Alabama 5.3% 39 Alabama 18.2% 48 9
Arizona 5.2% 40 Arizona 20.1% 41 1
South Carolina 4.9% 41 South Carolina 17.2% 50 9
Tennessee 4.9% 42 Tennessee 25.4% 22 -20
Missouri 4.8% 43 Missouri 25.6% 19 -24
Georgia 4.8% 44 Georgia 22.8% 31 -13
Virginia 4.7% 45 Virginia 21.6% 35 -10
Florida 4.6% 46 Florida 20.3% 40 -6
Texas 4.5% 47 Texas 26.7% 15 -32
South Dakota 4.4% 48 South Dakota 20.7% 38 -10
Colorado 4.2% 49 Colorado 22.7% 32 -17
New Hampshire 3.7% 50 New Hampshire 19.2% 45 -5
   
U.S. Average 6.0%  U.S. Average 25.5%

SOURCE:   State Government Tax Collections: 2009, www.census.gov/govs/statetax, US Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Economic 
Analysis, Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional 
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 Taxes Per Capita and as a Percent of Income, Calendar Year 2009, by State

 Per Per Per  Total Federal State/Local Total Taxes State & Local
 Capita Capita Capita Per Taxes as Taxes as Taxes as as % of Taxes as %
 Total Federal State/Local Capita % of % of % of Income of Income
 Taxes Taxes Taxes Income Income Income Income Rank Rank

United States $9,969 $7,639 $2,329 $39,138 25.5 19.5 6.0 - -
Alabama 6,031 4,267 1,764 33,096 18.2 12.9 5.3 48 39
Alaska 13,787 6,691 7,096 42,603 32.4 15.7 16.6 4 1
Arizona 6,613 4,908 1,706 32,935 20.1 14.9 5.2 41 40
Arkansas 11,490 8,905 2,585 31,946 36.0 27.9 8.1 3 7
California 9,899 7,166 2,733 42,325 23.4 16.9 6.5 28 21
Colorado 9,387 7,659 1,728 41,344 22.7 18.5 4.2 32 49
Connecticut 16,376 12,702 3,675 54,397 30.1 23.3 6.8 7 19
Delaware 18,632 15,461 3,171 39,817 46.8 38.8 8.0 1 8
Florida 7,666 5,942 1,724 37,780 20.3 15.7 4.6 40 46
Georgia 7,688 6,052 1,636 33,786 22.8 17.9 4.8 31 44
Hawaii 8,850 5,210 3,639 42,006 21.1 12.4 8.7 37 5
Idaho 6,489 4,437 2,052 31,632 20.5 14.0 6.5 39 20
Illinois 11,263 8,995 2,267 41,411 27.2 21.7 5.5 14 36
Indiana 8,876 6,556 2,320 33,725 26.3 19.4 6.9 17 18
Iowa 8,178 5,856 2,322 36,751 22.3 15.9 6.3 33 23
Kansas 9,602 7,228 2,375 37,916 25.3 19.1 6.3 23 27
Kentucky 7,666 5,404 2,261 31,883 24.0 16.9 7.1 26 14
Louisiana 9,995 7,766 2,229 35,507 28.1 21.9 6.3 11 25
Maine 7,280 4,633 2,647 36,745 19.8 12.6 7.2 42 13
Maryland 10,460 7,806 2,654 48,285 21.7 16.2 5.5 34 35
Massachusetts 13,589 10,634 2,955 49,875 27.2 21.3 5.9 13 31
Michigan 7,985 5,622 2,363 34,025 23.5 16.5 6.9 27 17
Minnesota 16,105 12,846 3,259 41,552 38.8 30.9 7.8 2 9
Mississippi 5,359 3,152 2,207 30,103 17.8 10.5 7.3 49 10
Missouri 9,129 7,401 1,728 35,676 25.6 20.7 4.8 19 43
Montana 6,711 4,242 2,469 34,004 19.7 12.5 7.3 43 12
Nebraska 11,242 9,015 2,226 38,081 29.5 23.7 5.8 9 34
Nevada 7,315 5,210 2,105 38,578 19.0 13.5 5.5 47 37
New Hampshire 8,207 6,601 1,606 42,831 19.2 15.4 3.7 45 50
New Jersey 15,013 11,891 3,122 50,313 29.8 23.6 6.2 8 28
New Mexico 6,488 4,074 2,414 32,992 19.7 12.4 7.3 44 11
New York 13,227 9,900 3,328 46,957 28.2 21.1 7.1 10 15
North Carolina 8,938 6,753 2,185 34,453 25.9 19.6 6.3 18 22
NORTH DAKOTA 10,093 6,362 3,731 39,530 25.5 16.1 9.4 20 4
Ohio 11,054 8,978 2,075 35,381 31.2 25.4 5.9 6 33
Oklahoma 8,803 6,590 2,213 35,268 25.0 18.7 6.3 24 26
Oregon 7,621 5,681 1,939 35,667 21.4 15.9 5.4 36 38
Pennsylvania 10,844 8,458 2,386 39,578 27.4 21.4 6.0 12 29
Rhode Island 12,816 10,360 2,456 41,003 31.3 25.3 6.0 5 30
South Carolina 5,471 3,904 1,567 31,799 17.2 12.3 4.9 50 41
South Dakota 7,663 6,021 1,643 36,935 20.7 16.3 4.4 38 48
Tennessee 8,655 6,996 1,659 34,089 25.4 20.5 4.9 22 42
Texas 9,737 8,091 1,646 36,484 26.7 22.2 4.5 15 47
Utah 7,074 5,126 1,948 30,875 22.9 16.6 6.3 30 24
Vermont 9,441 5,413 4,028 38,503 24.5 14.1 10.5 25 3
Virginia 9,490 7,434 2,055 43,874 21.6 16.9 4.7 35 45
Washington 9,753 7,291 2,462 41,751 23.4 17.5 5.9 29 32
West Virginia 6,111 3,479 2,631 32,219 19.0 10.8 8.2 46 6
Wisconsin 9,396 6,833 2,562 36,822 25.5 18.6 7.0 21 16
Wyoming 12,127 7,047 5,080 45,705 26.5 15.4 11.1 16 2

SOURCE:   State Government Tax Collections: 2009, www.census.gov/govs/statetax, US Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, 
Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional
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Estimated Burden of Major State & Local Taxes
for a Family of Three - 2009*

$25,000 Gross Family Income

 Tax Type Fargo, ND Billings, MT Minneapolis, Sioux Falls, Cheyenne, Omaha, NE
    MN SD WY

 Income $49 $306 $0 $0 $0 $0
 Property1 $1,176 $1,351 $1,970 $1,344 $1,378 $1,510
 Sales $566 $0 $559 $926 $853 $719
 Auto $168 $242 $238 $148 $163 $193
 Total $1,959 $1,900 $2,768 $2,419 $2,394 $2,422
 % of Income 7.8% 7.6% 11.1% 9.7% 9.6% 9.7%
 National
 rank* 50 51 22 40 41 40

$50,000 Gross Family Income

 Tax Type Fargo, ND Billings, MT Minneapolis, Sioux Falls, Cheyenne, Omaha, NE
    MN SD WY

 Income $489 $1,206 $1,363 $0 $0 $1,032
 Property $1,382 $1,278 $2,530 $1,201 $812 $2,211
 Sales $756 $0 $759 $1,197 $1,098 $934
 Auto $211 $310 $360 $190 $276 $317
 Total $2,838 $2,794 $5,012 $2,588 $2,186 $4,494
 % of Income 5.7% 5.6% 10.0% 5.2% 4.4% 9.0%
 National
 rank* 46 47 16 48 51 23

$100,000 Gross Family Income

 Tax Type Fargo, ND Billings, MT Minneapolis, Sioux Falls, Cheyenne, Omaha, NE
    MN SD WY

 Income $1,673 $4,286 $4,324 $0 $0 $3,941
 Property $2,085 $1,545 $3,161 $1,897 $1,167 $3,159
 Sales $1,685 $0 $1,708 $2,492 $2,279 $2,070
 Auto $431 $824 $869 $350 $902 $891
 Total $5,875 $6,656 $10,061 $4,740 $4,348 $10,061
 % of Income 5.9% 6.7% 10.1% 4.7% 4.3% 10.1%
 National 
 rank* 43 41 13 48 50 14
1 Based on 20 percent of estimated annual rent
* Based on all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
SOURCE:  Tax Rates and Tax Burdens In the District of Columbia - A Nationwide Comparison 2009, Government of the District of Columbia.
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Major Taxes as a Percent of Income
Family of 3 - $50,000 per year

Major Tax Burden for Family of Three
Earning $50,000 per year
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State Taxes by Source - Fiscal Year 2009

  General Individual Corporate  Motor   All  
 Sales & Use Income Income Fuels Licenses Other

Alabama 24.9 % 32.1 % 6.0 % 6.6 % 5.8 % 24.7 %
Alaska -- -- 12.8 0.20 2.7 84.3 
Arizona 50.5 17.4 5.3 7.2 3.6 16.0
Arkansas 37.0 30.0 4.6 6.2 4.4 17.8
California 28.7 43.9 9.4 3.2 8.3 6.5
Colorado 24.5 50.7 3.8 7.1 4.2 9.7
Connecticut 25.5 49.3 3.4 3.8 2.8 15.2
Delaware -- 32.5 7.4 4.1 41.2 14.9
Florida 60.2 -- 5.8 7.0 5.7 21.4
Georgia 33.0 48.5 4.3 5.4 3.0 5.8
Hawaii 52.2 28.4 1.7 2.0 3.1 12.6
Idaho 38.0 37.1 4.5 6.9 8.5 5.1
Illinois 25.5 31.4 9.4 5.0 8.4 20.3
Indiana 41.7 29.0 5.6 5.4 4.7 13.7
Iowa 31.5 38.7 3.8 6.2 9.4 10.4
Kansas 33.3 40.8 5.5 6.3 4.5 9.6
Kentucky 29.3 34.0 4.0 6.5 4.9 21.4
Louisiana 29.6 29.4 6.1 6.0 4.6 24.3
Maine 29.0 39.3 4.1 6.3 7.0 14.3
Maryland 25.5 42.8 5.0 4.9 4.6 17.3
Massachusetts 19.9 54.4 9.2 3.4 3.9 9.3
Michigan 40.2 25.6 2.8 4.2 5.7 21.6
Minnesota 25.5 40.5 4.5 4.4 6.0 19.2
Mississippi 46.5 22.8 5.3 6.5 6.2 12.8
Missouri 29.3 46.1 2.7 6.8 6.2 8.8
Montana -- 34.4 6.8 7.9 12.4 38.6
Nebraska 37.6 40.0 5.0 7.3 4.2 5.9
Nevada 48.2   -- -- 5.4 9.5 37.0
New Hampshire -- 4.6 23.2 6.2 10.7 55.3
New Jersey 30.1 39.2 8.8 2.0 5.2 14.7
New Mexico 38.9 19.2 4.2 3.9 4.4 29.4
New York 17.0 56.7 6.8 0.8 2.4 16.4
North Carolina 24.2 46.6 4.4 7.4 7.1 10.3
NORTH DAKOTA 25.2 15.3 5.4 6.0 5.9 42.3
Ohio 30.6 34.8 2.2 7.2 12.0 13.2
Oklahoma 26.5 31.2 4.2 5.2 12.2 20.8
Oregon -- 73.3 3.5 5.4 11.4 6.5
Pennsylvania 28.3 31.8 5.8 6.7 8.3 19.1
Rhode Island 31.5 37.2 4.2 4.8 3.8 18.7
South Carolina 40.7 32.9 3.1 7.2 6.3 9.8
South Dakota 56.7 -- 3.7 8.8 14.5 16.4
Tennessee 60.9 2.1 7.8 7.8 10.9 10.5
Texas 51.6 -- -- 7.4 16.9 24.1
Utah 32.2 42.8 4.5 6.5 6.6 7.5
Vermont 12.8 21.3 3.5 3.4 3.9 55.2
Virginia 20.8 55.1 3.9 5.5 4.1 10.6
Washington 61.2 -- -- 7.2 5.7 26.0
West Virginia 23.2 32.5 8.8 8.0 4.0 23.5
Wisconsin 28.2 42.9 4.3 6.8 5.7 12.0
Wyoming 35.8 -- -- 2.4 5.5 56.3

U.S. Total 31.9 % 34.4 % 5.6 % 5.0 % 6.9 % 16.2 %

SOURCE:   State Government Tax Collections: 2009, www.census.gov/govs/statetax, 

                    US Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional
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 Total State Tax Collections
 Per Capita - Fiscal Year 2009

  Per Capita Total
Rank State State Tax Collections

 1 Alaska $7,096
 2 Wyoming $5,080
 3 Vermont $4,028
 4 NORTH DAKOTA $3,731
 5 Connecticut $3,675
 6 Hawaii $3,639
 7 New York $3,328
 8 Minnesota $3,259
 9 Delaware $3,171
 10 New Jersey $3,122
 11 Massachusetts $2,955
 12 California $2,733
 13 Maryland $2,654
 14 Maine $2,647
 15 West Virginia $2,631
 16 Arkansas $2,585
 17 Wisconsin $2,562
 18 Montana $2,469
 19 Washington $2,462
 20 Rhode Island $2,456
 21 New Mexico $2,414
 22 Pennsylvania $2,386
 23 Kansas $2,375
 24 Michigan $2,363
 25 Iowa $2,322
 26 Indiana $2,320
 27 Illinois $2,267
 28 Kentucky $2,261
 29 Louisiana $2,229
 30 Nebraska $2,226
 31 Oklahoma $2,213
 32 Mississippi $2,207
 33 North Carolina $2,185
 34 Nevada $2,105
 35 Ohio $2,075
 36 Virginia $2,055
 37 Idaho $2,052
 38 Utah $1,948
 39 Oregon $1,939
 40 Alabama $1,764
 41 Missouri $1,728
 42 Colorado $1,728
 43 Florida $1,724
 44 Arizona $1,706
 45 Tennessee $1,659
 46 Texas $1,646
 47 South Dakota $1,643
 48 Georgia $1,636
 49 New Hampshire $1,606
 50 South Carolina $1,567

  US Average $2,330

SOURCE: US Department of Commerce, Census Bureau.

 Total State Taxes
 Except Severance Taxes
 Per Capita - Fiscal Year 2009

   Total Tax Less
 Rank State Severance Tax

 1 Vermont $4,028
 2 Connecticut $3,675
 3 Hawaii $3,639
 4 New York $3,328
 5 Minnesota $3,250
 6 Delaware $3,171
 7 New Jersey $3,122
 8 Massachusetts $2,955
 9 Wyoming $2,879
 10 California $2,732
 11 Maryland $2,654
 12 Maine $2,647
 13 Arkansas $2,573
 14 Wisconsin $2,562
 15 Washington $2,458
 16 Rhode Island $2,456
 17 NORTH DAKOTA $2,452
 18 West Virginia $2,424
 19 Pennsylvania $2,386
 20 Michigan $2,357
 21 Kansas $2,324
 22 Iowa $2,322
 23 Indiana $2,320
 24 Illinois $2,267
 25 Nebraska $2,224
 26 North Carolina $2,185
 27 Kentucky $2,179
 28 Mississippi $2,168
 29 Montana $2,110
 30 Ohio $2,074
 31 Virginia $2,051
 32 Nevada $2,050
 33 Idaho $2,048
 34 Louisiana $2,027
 35 New Mexico $1,950
 36 Oregon $1,936
 37 Oklahoma $1,924
 38 Utah $1,911
 39 Alabama $1,739
 40 Missouri $1,728
 41 Florida $1,719
 42 Arizona $1,703
 43 Colorado $1,671
 44 Tennessee $1,658
 45 Georgia $1,636
 46 South Dakota $1,633
 47 Alaska $1,610
 48 New Hampshire $1,606
 49 South Carolina $1,567
 50 Texas $1,551

  US Average $2,286

SOURCE:  US Department of Commerce, Census Bureau.
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Tax Freedom Day 2010, by State

   Days Spent 
   Working
State Tax Freedom Day Rank To Pay Taxes
Connecticut April 27 1 117
New Jersey April 25 2 115
New York April 23 3 113
Maryland April 19 4 109
Washington April 15 5 105
Massachusetts April 14 6 104
California April 14 7 104
Minnesota April 13 8 103
Vermont April 13 9 103
Virginia April 13 10 103
Pennsylvania April 13 11 103
Rhode Island April 12 12 102
Wisconsin April 12 13 102
Illinois April 11 14 101
Utah April 11 15 101
Wyoming April 11 16 101
Colorado April 10 17 100
Delaware April 10 18 100
Hawaii April 9 19 99
Oregon April 8 20 98
Michigan April 8 21 98
Idaho April 8 22 98
Ohio April 8 23 98
Georgia April 8 24 98
Kansas April 7 25 97
North Carolina April 7 26 97
Nebraska April 7 27 97
New Hampshire April 6 28 96
Indiana April 6 29 96
Oklahoma April 6 30 96
Florida April 5 31 95
Texas April 5 32 95
Montana April 5 33 95
Maine April 4 34 94
Missouri April 4 35 94
Iowa April 4 36 94
Arizona April 4 37 94
Arkansas April 3 38 93
NORTH DAKOTA April 3 39 93
South Carolina April 3 40 93
Kentucky April 3 41 93
Alabama April 2 42 92
Nevada April 2 43 92
Tennessee April 1 44 91
New Mexico April 1 45 91
West Virginia March 30 46 89
South Dakota March 29 47 88
Mississippi March 28 48 87
Louisiana March 26 49 85
Alaska March 26 50 85
District of Columbia April 15 -- 105

Source:   Tax Foundation, www.taxfoundation.org
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CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO TAXES

CURRENT LAW

Cigarette Tax

Imposition and Rates

The cigarette tax is levied at two different tax rates. 
Cigarettes weighing less than three pounds per thousand 
are taxed at 22 mills per cigarette or 44¢ for a common 
package of 20, and 55¢ for a package of 25. Ciga rettes 
weighing more than three pounds per thousand are taxed 
at 22½ mills per cigarette.  Gray market or repatriated 
cigarettes may not be sold or possessed in North Dakota.  
"Gray market" or "repatriated" cigarettes are those 
cigarettes manufactured and packaged in the U.S. for the 
specifi c purpose of being exported with intent to be sold 
outside the U.S., and are brought back illegally into the 
country and sold.  All cigarettes sold must be in packages 
of 20 or more cigarettes.

Roll-your-own cigarette tobacco is taxed at the cigarette 
rate.  One cigarette equals .09 ounces of roll-your-own 
tobacco.  Sales of bulk roll your own cigarette tobacco are 
converted to taxable cigarettes.  Only tobacco advertised 
as roll your own is taxed at the cigarette rate.

Both wholesalers and dealers must be licensed by 
the Attorney General. Wholesalers pay the tax with 
monthly reports fi led with the Tax Commis sioner. For 
administrative compensation, wholesalers who fi le and pay 
on time may deduct 1½% of the tax due, up to a maximum 
of $100 per month. 

Distribution of Revenue

Three cents of the 44¢ per package are distributed to the 
cities based on population and the remainder goes to the 
State General Fund. Of the 55¢ on the larger packages, 
3¾¢ goes to the cities with the remainder to the State 
General Fund.

Tobacco Products Tax

Imposition and Rates

All tobacco products other than cigarettes and specifi c roll-
your-own tobacco, such as pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, 
snuff and cigars are subject to a tobacco products tax. 

Pipe tobacco and cigars are taxed at 28% of the wholesale 
purchase price.  Snuff is taxed at 60 cents per ounce and 
chewing tobacco taxed at 16 cents per ounce.  The tobacco 
products tax is administered in a manner similar to the 
cigarette tax.  

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the tobacco products tax is placed in the 
State General Fund.

Tribal Cigarette And Tobacco Tax

The Standing Rock Sioux Tribe levies a cigarette and 
tobacco tax on all Native American retailers operating 
on the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation. The tax rates 
are identical to the state tax rates. The Tax Commissioner 
acts as the agent of the tribe to collect the tax. Seventy-
fi ve percent of collections, less a 3% administrative fee, 
is returned to the tribe.  Twenty-fi ve percent plus the 
administrative fee is deposited in the State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1983 Session. 
• The cigarette tax was increased from 6 mills to 9 mills 

per cigarette. This increased the cigarette tax from 12¢ 
to 18¢ per package of 20.

1987 Session.  
• The cigarette tax was increased from 9 to 13½ mills per 

cigarette, or from 18¢ to 27¢ per package of 20. 
• The tobacco products tax was increased from 11% to 

20% of the wholesale purchase price.

1989 Session. 
• The cigarette tax was increased from 13½ to 15 mills 

per cigarette, or from 27¢ to 30¢ per package of 20. 
• The tobacco products tax was increased from 20% to 

25% of the wholesale purchase price.
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1991 Session. 
• The cigarette tax was decreased from 15mills to 14½ 

mills per cigarette, or from 30¢ to 29¢ per pack of 20. 
• The tobacco products tax was decreased from 25% to 

22% of the wholesale purchase price. 
• Cigarette stamp requirements were repealed and 

replaced with monthly reports and payments.
 
1993 Session. 
• The cigarette tax was increased from 14½ to 22 mills 

per cigarette, or from 29¢ to 44¢ per package of 20. 
• The tobacco products tax was increased from 22% to 

28% of the wholesale purchase price.

1993 Agreement. 
• The Tax Commissioner and the Standing Rock Sioux 

Tribe signed an agreement to allow the commissioner to 
act as an agent of the tribe for the collection of a tribal 
cigarette and tobacco tax.

1999 Session.  
• The sale of gray market cigarettes was prohibited, 

taxation of roll-your-own tobacco was moved from 
Other Tobacco Products to taxation as a cigarette and a 
minimum package size was established at 20 cigarettes 
per package.  

• N.D.C.C. § 51-25 was enacted and requires the Tax 
Commissioner to accumulate information on purchases 
of cigarettes from non-participating manufacturers in 
the cigarette Master Settlement Agreement.

2001 Session.  
• The method of taxing snuff and chewing tobacco was 

changed from a percentage of the wholesale price to 
a weight based value.  Snuff is taxed at 60 cents per 
ounce and chewing tobacco is taxed at 16 cents per 
ounce.  

• A change in the defi nition of Other Tobacco Products 
removed cigarette papers from the tobacco products 
tax.  

• Cigars and pipe tobacco remain taxable at 28% of the 
whole purchase price.

2003 Session.  
• The sale of "beedie" cigarettes was banned.  Beedies 

are a product containing tobacco wrapped in a temburni 
leaf.  

• Legislation prohibiting any dealer or distributor from 
knowingly selling or distributing any product not in 
compliance with N.D.C.C. § 51-25-02 was enacted.

2005 Session.  
• New legislation requires vendors selling cigarettes over 

the Internet to register with the Tax Commissioner and 
provide sales and customer information.  

• Internet vendors are also required to verify the age of 
cigarette customers.

2009 Session.  
• Fire safe cigarette legislation, N.D.C.C. § 18-13, to 

be enforced by the State Fire Marshall, was passed 
and requires all cigarette brands to meet fi re safe 
certifi cation to be legally sold in North Dakota.  

• The effective date of the legislation was August 1, 
2010.
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SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

(1) The volume based tax rates were converted to cents per 10 cigars or per ounce for consistency.
(2) Tax rate on cigars varies, based on the selling price. 
(3) Tax rate is adjusted annually by the state, effective July 1st of each year
(4) or 10% of retail price.
(5) Snuff tobacco taxed at 40 cents per ounce.
(6) Little cigars are taxed as cigarettes.
(7) Includes a 60% surtax.

Alabama
 Cigars (2) 3.0¢-40.5¢/10 cigars
 Tobacco/Snuff 1¢-8¢/ounce
Alaska 75% Wholesale Price
Arizona
 Cigars (2) 44.1¢-$2.60/20 cigars
 Tobacco/Snuff 23.8¢/ounce
Arkansas 68% Manufactures  Price
California (3) 41.11% Wholesale Price
Colorado 40% Manufactures Price
Connecticut (5) 27.5% Wholesale Price
Delaware 15% Wholesale Price
Florida (7)

 Tobacco/Snuff 85% Wholesale Price
Georgia
 Little Cigars 2.5¢/10 cigars
 Other Cigars 23% Wholesale Price
 Tobacco 10% Wholesale Price
Hawaii 40% Wholesale Price
 Cigars 50% Wholesale Price
 Tobacco/Snuff 70% Wholesale Price
Idaho 40% Wholesale Price
Illinois 18% Wholesale Price
Indiana 24% Wholesale Price
Iowa (6) 50% Wholesale Price
Kansas 10% Wholesale Price
Kentucky 15% Wholesale Price
Louisiana
 Cigars 8%-20% Manufacture Price
 Tobacco/Snuff 20-33% Manufactures Price
Maine
 Chewing Tob./Snuff 78% Wholesale Price
 Smoking Tob./Cigars 20% Wholesale Price
Maryland 15% Wholesale Price
Massachusettes
 Smokeless Tob. 90% Wholesale Price
 Smoking Tob./Cigars 30% Wholesale Price

Michigan 32% Wholesale Price
Minnesota 70% Wholesale Price
Mississippi 15% Manufactures Price
Missouri 10% Manufactures Price
Montana 50% Wholesale Price
Nebraska 20% Wholesale Price
Nevada 30% Wholesale Price
New Hampshire 48.59% Wholesale Price
New Jersey 30% Wholesale Price
New Mexico 25% Product Value
New York 46% Wholesale Price
North Carolina 12.8% Wholesale Price
NORTH DAKOTA
 Cigars & Tobacco 28% Wholesale Price
 Chew Tobacco/Snuff 16¢-60¢/ounce
Ohio 17% Wholesale Price
Oklahoma
 Cigars (2) 36¢-1.20¢/10 cigars
 Tobacco/Snuff 60%-80% factory list price
Oregon 65% Wholesale Price
Rhode Island 80% Wholesale Price
South Carolina 5% Manufactures Price
South Dakota 35% Wholesale Price
Tennessee 6.6% Wholesale Price
Texas
 Cigars (2) 1¢-15¢/10 cigars
 Tobacco/Snuff $1.10/ounce
Utah 35% Manufactures Price
Virginia 10% Wholesale Price
Vermont (6) 92% Manufactures Price
Washington 75% Wholesale Price
West Virginia 7% Wholesale Price
Wisconsin 71% Manufactures Price
Wyoming (4) 20% Wholesale Price

State Tax Rate/Base (1) State Tax Rate/Base (1)

Comparison of State Tobacco Products Taxes
January 1, 2010
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State Excise Tax Rates on Cigarettes
January 1, 2010

Cents
Per PackState

Cents
Per PackState

Cents
Per PackState

Rhode Island 346
Connecticut 300
New York (1) 275
New Jersey 270
Hawaii (3) 260
Wisconsin 252
Massachusetts 251
Dist. of Columbia 250
Vermont 224
Washington 202.5
Alaska 200
Arizona 200
Maine 200
Maryland 200
Michigan 200
New Hampshire 178
Montana 170

Delaware 160
Pennsylvania 160
South Dakota 153
Texas 141
Iowa 136
Florida (6) 133.9
Ohio 125
Minnesota (4) 123
Oregon 118
Arkansas 115
Oklahoma 103
Indiana 99.5
Illinois (1) 98
New Mexico 91
California 87
Colorado (5) 84
Nevada 80

Kansas 79
Utah 69.5
Mississippi 68
Nebraska 64
Tennessee (1) (2) 62
Kentucky (2) 60
Wyoming 60
Idaho 57
West Virginia 55
North Carolina 45
NORTH DAKOTA 44
Alabama (1) 42.5
Georgia 37
Louisiana 36
Virginia (1) 30
Missouri (1) 17
South Carolina 7
U.S. (median) 118.0

SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

(1) Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of cigarettes in AL, 1¢ to 6¢; IL, 10¢ to 15¢; MO, 4¢ to 7¢; NYC, 1.50¢; 
TN, 1¢; and VA, 2¢ to 15¢.

(2) Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of 0.1¢ per pack in KY and 0.05¢ in TN.
(3) Tax Rate is scheduled to increase to $2.80 per pack effective July 1, 2010 and $3.00 per pack effective July 1, 2011.
(4) Plus an additional 33.0 cent sales tax is added to the wholesale price of a tax stamp (total $1.56).  This rate is determined annually by 

the Department of Revenue.
(5) In addition there will be a 2.9% state sales tax on top of the stated per pack tax rate from 07/01/2009 through 07/01/2011.
(6) Includes a $1 per pack surcharge.

     Cigarette and
 Total Tobacco Tax Cigarette Tax Cigarette Tax Tobacco Tax
Fiscal Year Collections (General Fund) (General Fund) (Cities) (Tribal)

 2000  22,825,622 1,983,222 19,359,086 1,414,712  68,602
 2001  21,777,568 2,040,283 18,299,504 1,339,190  98,591
 2002  21,541,087 2,233,271 17,913,354 1,313,836  80,626
 2003  20,432,947 2,276,308 16,873,241 1,220,881  62,517
 2004  21,134,603 2,297,901 17,477,510 1,284,013  75,179
 2005  21,036,995 2,452,912 17,248,389 1,260,003  75,691
 2006  23,457,650 2,707,489 19,278,592 1,407,166  64,403
 2007  24,210,059 2,864,731 19,832,558 1,449,424  63,346
 2008  24,098,407 3,165,007 19,448,680 1,421,337  63,383
 2009  24,087,542 3,388,878 19,228,206 1,405,152  65,306
 2010  23,848,888 3,976,398 18,454,355 1,353,442  64,693
 2011 est. 23,831,000 4,388,000 18,058,000 1,321,000  64,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner

Cigarette Tax and Tobacco Tax Collections
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COAL TAXES

Coal Severance Tax 
CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rate and Administration

The coal severance tax is imposed on the act of removing 
coal from the earth. The tax is in lieu of both the sales and 
use taxes on coal and the property tax on minerals in the 
earth. The coal severance tax applies to all coal severed for 
sale or industrial purposes, except: coal used for heating 
build ings in the state, coal used by the state or any political 
subdivision of the state, and coal used in agricultural 
commodity processing facilities or to produce steam used 
in agricultural processing facilities in North Dakota or 
adjacent states.

No severance tax may be imposed on coal purchased for 
improvement by coal benefi ciation, which is subsequently 
used in, or used to produce steam that is used in 
agricultural commodity processing facilities in North 
Dakota or adjacent states or any facility owned by the state 
or a political subdivision of the state.

The tax is applied at a fl at rate of 37.5 cents per ton. An 
additional 2-cent per ton tax is levied for the Lignite 
Research Fund.

A 50% reduction in the 37.5-cent tax is allowed for 
coal burned in a cogeneration facility designed to use 
renewable resources to generate 10% or more of its energy 
output.

Counties may grant a partial or complete exemption from 
the counties’ 70% portion of the 37.5-cent tax for coal that 
is shipped out of state.

Payments of the tax are made monthly by the owner or 
operator of the mine.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the 37.5-cent per ton severance tax is 
deposited in the Coal Development Fund and is distributed 
as follows:

• 30% to a permanent, constitutional trust fund 
administered by the Board of University and School 
Lands. The trust fund is used to supply loans to 
school districts for school construction and loans to 
cities, counties and school districts impacted by coal 
development. Invest ment income from the trust fund 
is fi rst used to replace uncollectible loans made from 
the fund, and the balance is deposited in the State 
General Fund. Seventy percent of the tax collected and 
deposited in the permanent trust fund must be deposited 
in the lignite research fund.

• 70% among the coal producing counties ac cording to 
the amount of coal each county produces. Revenue 
allotted to each county is further apportioned as follows: 
40% to the county general fund; 30% to the cities 
within the county; and 30% to the school districts. Also, 
a nonproducing county within 15 miles of a currently 
active coal mine, and a city or school district in that 
county and within 15 miles of the mine, are entitled to 
a share of the coal producing county’s severance tax 
revenue from that particular mine.  The amount of coal 
production on which a county has to share its severance 
tax revenue with another county during a calendar year 
is limited to 3,400,000 tons.

Revenue from the additional 2-cent per ton tax is deposited 
into the Lignite Research Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1975 Session.
• The Legislature fi rst enacted the coal severance tax.
• Set the base rate at 50 cents per ton, increasing 1 cent 

per ton for each three-point increase in the Wholesale 
Price Index.

• Revenue distribution formula for the 1975-1977 
biennium:  30% to State General Fund; 30% to a special 
trust fund administered by the State Land Board; 
35% to a special fund for grants to impacted political 
subdivisions; 5% to coal-producing counties.
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1977 Session.
• Amended the rate to 65 cents per ton, increasing 1 cent 

per ton for every one-point increase in the Wholesale 
Price Index (Producer Price Index).

• Resulted in an increase from 56 cents per ton to 65 
cents per ton, effective July 1, 1977.

• Changed the revenue distribution to:  30% to State 
General Fund; 15% to the trust fund; 35% for grants 
to impacted political subdivisions; and 20% to coal-
producing counties.

1979 Session.
• The base rate became 85 cents per ton, increasing 1 cent 

for every four-point increase in the Wholesale Price 
Index (Producer Price Index).

• Resulted in a decrease from 97 cents per ton to 85 cents 
per ton.

• Provided that if the tipple of an active coal mining 
operation in a county is within 15 miles of another 
county in which no coal is mined, the coal-producing 
county must share its coal severance tax revenue with 
the non-coal-producing county.

1981 Session.
• Created an exemption for coal used by the state or any 

of its political subdivisions.
• Created an exemption for coal used for heating 

buildings within the state.
• Coal used for heating purposes became subject to sales 

tax.

1983 Session.
• Changed fi ling requirements for coal mine owners or 

operators from quarterly to monthly.

1985 Session.
• Created an exemption for coal used in agricultural 

processing or sugar beet refi ning plants within North 
Dakota or adjacent states. 

• Enacted a 50% reduction in tax rate for coal burned 
in a cogeneration facility designed to use renewable 
resources to generate 10% or more of its energy output.

1987 Session.
• Reduced the base rate to 75 cents per ton and eliminated 

the escalator clause.
• Prior to the change, the escalator had resulted in a rate 

of $1.04 per ton.
• Enacted an additional tax of 2 cents per ton for the 

period July 1, 1987, through June 30, 1989, with the 
revenue dedicated to lignite research.

• Changed the distribution of the 75-cent tax to:  State 
General Fund 50%; counties 35%; trust fund 15%; and 
eliminated the share previously allocated for grants to 
impacted political subdivisions.

1989 Session.
 • Made the 2-cent per ton tax for lignite research 

permanent.

1990 Constitutional Amendment.
• Voters in the Primary Election approved a constitutional 

amendment placed on the ballot by the legislature to 
allow up to 50% of the taxes collected and deposited in 
the trust fund during a biennium to be appropriated by 
the legislature for lignite research, development, and 
marketing.

1991 Session.
• Provided for 50% of taxes collected and deposited 

in the trust fund to be appropriated by the legislature 
for lignite research, development, and marketing, in 
accordance with the 1990 constitutional amendment.

1993 Session.
• Limited the amount of coal production on which a coal-

producing county has to share its severance tax with a 
nearby non-producing county.

• Added loans for school construction to uses of the trust 
fund.

• Exempted coal shipped out of state after June 30, 1995, 
and before July 1, 2000, from the state’s 50% portion of 
the tax.

• Provided that counties may grant a partial or complete 
exemption from the county’s 35% portion of the tax.

1994 Constitutional Amendment.
• Voters in the Primary Election approved a constitutional 

amendment placed on the ballot by the legislature 
to allow appropriations from the trust fund for clean 
coal demonstration projects approved by the North 
Dakota Industrial Commission and the United States 
Department of Energy.  [The Department of Energy did 
not approve a clean coal demonstration project in North 
Dakota.]

1995 Session.
• Increased to 70% the portion of taxes collected and 

deposited in the trust fund during a biennium to be 
appropriated by the legislature for lignite research, 
development, and marketing.

1997 Session.
• Effective July 1, 1999, the legislature exempted coal 

burned in coal-fi red boilers in generation stations 
having a total capacity of not more than 210 megawatts, 
within North Dakota or adjacent states, from 50% of the 
75-cent coal severance tax.
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TAXATION OF COAL IN NEIGHBORING STATES
Montana

Montana levies the following taxes on surface mined coal:

• Coal Gross Proceeds Tax

 A statewide 5% yearly fl at tax is imposed on coal gross 
proceeds.  The gross proceeds of coal is determined by 
multiplying the number of tons produced by the contract 
sales price.  One-half of the contract sales price of coal 
sold by a coal producer who extracts less than 50,000 
tons of coal in a calendar year is exempt from taxation.  
This tax is collected by the Department of Revenue.

• Coal Severance Tax

 Imposed on all coal mined in the state.  Producers 
of over 50,000 tons of coal per year pay a quarterly 
severance tax on all production in excess of 20,000 
tons.  Producers of under 50,000 tons per year are 
exempt from the tax.

Tax rates depend on the heat content (BTU's per pound) of 
the coal and the method of extraction.  The value of coal 
to which the severance tax is applied is the contract sales 
price.  Current tax rates:

 Surface Mined Coal

 Under 7,000 BTU's 10% of value
 7,000 BTU's and over 15% of value

Incentives.  Persons producing less than 50,000 tons of 
coal in a year are exempt from severance tax.  Persons 
producing more than 50,000 tons of coal in a year are 
exempt from severance tax on the fi rst 20,000 tons 
produced.  One-half of the contract sales price of coal sold 
by a coal producer who extracts less than 50,000 tons of 
coal in a calendar year is exempt from taxation under the 
gross proceeds tax.

Wyoming

Wyoming levies the following taxes on surface mined 
coal:
• A severance tax of 7% of the mine mouth value to a 

maximum of $.60 per ton.  This is a lower base than is 
used in Montana because Wyoming allows deductions 
for costs, such as crushing and transporta tion to market, 
that occur after the coal has been brought to the mouth 
of the mine.

• A “gross products tax.” It is based on the same taxable 
value as that used for severance tax purposes but is 
collected by the counties and based on applica ble local 
mill rates.  Average county mill rates for tax year 2009 
range from 58.812 mills to 73.958 mills.

Incentives. A maximum severance tax rate of 60 cents per 
ton applies on qualifying coal sales agreements.  The cap 
on coal severance tax only applies to a few coal contracts, 
because most producers pay less than 60 cents at surface 
coal mines.

• A city, school district, or the county commissioners 
of the county in which the coal is mined may grant 
a partial or complete exemption from their share of 
severance tax revenues.

• A political subdivision that has granted an exemption 
from all or part of its share of severance tax revenues 
must be omitted from the allocation or have its 
allocation adjusted to refl ect the reduction it has 
granted.

1999 Session.
 • Repealed the exemption for coal burned in small 

boilers, effective July 1, 2003.  

2001 Session.
• Reduced the 75-cent tax to 37.5 cents per ton.
• Repealed the exemption for coal burned in small 

boilers, effective July 1, 2001.
• Changed the distribution of the 37.5-cent tax to allocate 

30% to the coal development trust fund and 70% to the 
counties.

• Allowed a county to grant a full or partial exemption 
from its 70% share for coal shipped out of state.

2009 Session.
Prohibited imposition of coal severance tax on coal used 
to produce steam that is used in agricultural commodity 
processing facilities in North Dakota or adjacent states or 
any facility owned by the state or a political subdivision of 
the state, or on coal purchased for improvement through 
coal benefi ciation and subsequently used in, or used to 
produce steam that is used in, agricultural commodity 
processing facilities located in North Dakota or adjacent 
states or any facility owned by the state or a political 
subdivision of the state.

Provided that after June 30, 2011, the state treasurer shall 
allocate funds provided by legislative appropriation to 
cities, the county general fund, and school districts within 
a coal-producing county to offset 50% of the loss to the 
county's share of coal severance tax revenue allocated to a 
non-coal-producing county in the previous calendar year.
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North Dakota Taxable Coal Production
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Coal Severance Tax Collections and Distribution

 Total State Land Board  Lignite
Fiscal Year Collections General Fund Trust Fund Counties Research

2000 23,572,353 11,206,459 3,521,932 8,217,841 626,121
2001 23,095,487 10,967,395 3,454,203 8,059,808 614,081
2002 12,850,893 775,794 3,439,110 8,024,591 611,397
2003 12,202,063 0 3,475,271 8,108,966 617,826
2004 12,450,642 0 3,546,069 8,274,161 630,412
2005 11,458,156 0 3,263,399 7,614,597 580,160
2006 12,014,618 0 3,421,885 7,984,398 608,335
2007 11,969,504 0 3,409,036 7,954,417 606,051
2008 11,585,819 0 3,299,759 7,699,437 586,624
2009 12,096,832 0 3,446,299 8,041,364 609,169
2010 11,506,451 0 3,275,586 7,643,033 587,832
2011 est. 11,500,000 0 3,275,317 7,642,405 582,278

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner

County Breakdown - Coal Severance Tax Revenue
 Fiscal Years 1999 and 2009
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Coal Conversion Tax

CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rate and Administration 

The coal conversion facilities privilege tax is imposed on 
the operator of a coal conversion facility for the privilege 
of producing elec tricity or other products from coal 
conversion plants. A coal conversion facility is defi ned as 
(1) an electrical generating plant which has at least one 
unit with a generat ing capacity of 10,000 kilowatts or more 
of electrici ty, (2) a plant other than an electrical generating 
plant which processes or converts coal and uses or is 
designed to use over 500,000 tons of coal per year, or (3) a 
coal benefi ciation plant.

The coal conversion tax is in lieu of property taxes on the 
plant itself, while the land on which the plant is located 
remains subject to property tax. The tax is paid monthly.

Electrical Generating Plants. Electrical generating 
plants, as defi ned above, are subject to two separate levies. 
One levy is .65 mill times 60% of installed capacity 
times the number of hours in the taxable period and the 
other levy is .25 mill per kwh of electricity produced for 
sale. Installed capacity means the rating shown on the 
nameplate assigned to the turbine of the power unit.

Other Coal Conversion Plants. A coal gasifi cation plant 
is subject to a monthly tax measured by 13.5 cents per 
thousand cubic feet of gas produced for sale or 4.1% of 
gross receipts, whichever is greater. Plants converting 
coal to products other than gas are taxed at 4.1% of gross 
receipts. The tax rate for a coal benefi ciation plant is 20 
cents per ton of benefi ciated coal produced for sale or 
1¼% of gross receipts, whichever is greater.

Exemptions

Exemptions to the coal conversion tax are as follows:
• Synthetic natural gas produced in ex cess of 110 million 

cubic feet per day.
• Income from byproducts of a coal gasi fi cation plant to a 

maximum of 20% of gross receipts.
• Revenue derived from the sale and transportation of 

carbon dioxide for use in the enhanced recovery of oil 
or natural gas.

• Benefi ciated coal produced in excess of 80% of plant 
design capacity.

• A coal conversion facility that achieves a 20% capture 
of carbon dioxide emissions during a taxable period 
receives a 20% reduction in the state general fund share 
of the coal conversion tax, and an additional reduction 
of one percent for every additional two percentage 
points of its capture of carbon dioxide emissions, up to 
50% reduction for 80% or more capture.  The reduction 
is available for ten years from the date of fi rst capture or 
from the date the facility is eligible to receive the credit.

• A new or re-powered coal-burning electrical gener ating 
unit is exempt from the State General Fund portion 
of both levies for fi ve years. The county may grant an 
exemption for up to fi ve years from the county’s 15% 
share of the levy on installed capacity.

• All new coal conversion plants other than electrical 
generating plants are exempt from the State General 
Fund portion (85%) of the tax for fi ve years. The county 
may grant a partial or complete exemption from the 
county’s 15% share for up to fi ve years.

Distribution of Revenue

Electrical Generating Plants. The revenue from the .25 
mill levy on production is deposited in the State General 
Fund. The revenue from the .65 mill levy on installed 
capacity is distributed as follows:
• 85% to the State General Fund.  Five percent of all 

funds allocated to the state general fund must be 
allocated to the lignite research fund through July 31, 
2018.

• 15% to the county in which the plant is located. The 
amount distributed to each county is apportioned as 
follows: 40% is deposited in the county general fund; 
30% is divided among all incorporated cities in the 
county according to population; and 30% is divided 
among all school districts in the county on the basis of 
average daily membership.

Other Coal Conversion Plants.  Revenue is distributed as 
follows:
• 85% to the State General Fund.  Five percent of all 

funds allocated to the state general fund must be 
allocated to the lignite research fund through July 31, 
2018.

• 15% to the county in which the plant is located. The 
amount distributed to each county is apportioned as 
follows: 40% is deposited in the county general fund; 
30% is divided among all incorporated cities in the 
county according to population; and 30% is divided 
among all school districts in the county on the basis of 
average daily membership.
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HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1975 Session.
• Enacted the privilege tax on coal conversion facilities.
• Set the tax rate on electrical generating plants at ¼ mill 

per kilowatt hour (kwh) produced for sale.
• Set the tax on all other coal conversion facilities at 2½ 

% of gross receipts or 10 cents per thousand cubic feet 
(mcf) of synthetic natural gas, whichever is greater.

• Made the formula for allocation of coal conversion tax 
revenue dependent on the amount of revenue generated 
from each county.

• As revenue from a county increased, the percentage 
distributed to the State General Fund increased and the 
percentage distributed to the county decreased.

• Apportioned the county share 40% to the county, 15% 
to cities, and 45% to school districts.

1977 Session.
• Changed the revenue distribution formula to 65% to the 

State General Fund and 35% to the county.
• Changed allocation of the county share to 40% to the 

county, 30% to cities, and 30% to school districts.

1983 Session.
• Enacted an additional ¼ mill per kwh tax for electrical 

generating plants, which brought the tax rate on 
electrical generating plants to ½ mill per kwh.

• Dedicated revenue from the ¼ mill increase entirely to 
the State General Fund.

• Changed fi ling requirements from a quarterly basis to 
monthly.

1985 Session.
• Changed the tax rate on coal gasifi cation plants 

constructed before July 1, 1985, from 10 cents to 15 
cents per mcf of gas produced for sale, or 2½ % of 
gross receipts, whichever is greater.

• Changed the defi nition of gross receipts to exclude any 
fi nancial assistance from the federal government.

• Provided a fi ve-year exemption from part or all of the 
tax for coal conversion facilities, other than electrical 
generating plants, that were constructed after July 1, 
1985.

1987 Session.
• Changed the rate on electrical generating plants to one 

¼ mill levy on 60% of installed capacity times the 
number of hours in the taxable period and one ¼ mill 
levy on production.

• Reduced the tax rate on coal gasifi cation plants to 7 
cents per mcf of gas produced for sale or 2½% of gross 
receipts, whichever is greater.

• Exempted synthetic natural gas produced in excess of 
110 million mcf per day.

• Exempted byproducts of a coal gasifi cation plant to a 
maximum of 20% of gross receipts.

• Made the fi ve-year exemption for coal conversion 
facilities other than electrical generating plants effective 
from the date of fi rst taxable production.

• Eliminated the reference to date of construction.

1989 Session.
• Defi ned a coal benefi ciation plant as a coal conversion 

plant.
• Enacted a tax of 20 cents per ton of benefi ciated coal 

or 1¼ % of gross receipts, whichever is greater, on coal 
benefi ciation plants.

• Exempted benefi ciated coal produced in excess of 80% 
of plant design capacity.

1991 Session.
• Created a fi ve-year exemption from part of all of the tax 

for new coal-burning electrical generation plants.

1997 Session.
• Increased the exemption for income from byproducts 

of a coal gasifi cation plant from 20% to 35% from 
January 1, 1997, through December 31, 2000.

• Provided the exemption reverts to 20% after 
December 31, 2000.

• Exempted revenue derived from the sale and 
transportation of carbon dioxide for use in enhanced 
recovery of oil or natural gas, retroactive to January 1, 
1997.

2001 Session.
• Amended the defi nition of a coal conversion facility to 

include an electrical generating plant that has at least 
one single unit with a capacity of 10,000 kwh or more.

• Increased the tax rate on installed capacity to .65 mill 
times 60% of installed capacity times the number of 
hours in the taxable period.

• Changed the distribution of the tax on installed capacity 
to 85% to the State General Fund and 15% to the county 
in which the plant is located.

• Increased the tax rate on synthetic natural gas to $.135 
per mcf.

• Changed the tax rate on gross receipts to 4.1%.
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• For calculation of gross receipts, established ceiling 
prices per mcf of synthetic natural gas, of $4.25 for 
2001 and 2002; $4.35 for 2003; $4.45 for 2004; $4.55 
for 2005; $4.65 for 2006; $4.75 for 2007; $4.86 for 
2008; and $4.97 for 2009.

• Excluded from the defi nition of gross receipts any 
revenue received by the operator of a coal gasifi cation 
plant in excess of the amount per mcf of synthetic 
natural gas established as the ceiling price for each 
calendar year from 2001 through 2009.

• Required the fi rst $41,666.67 received each month 
from a coal conversion facility other than an electrical 
generating plant to be deposited in the State General 
Fund through December 31, 2009.

• Allocated the remainder 85% to the State General Fund 
and 15% to the county in which the plant is located.

• Provided that allocation of the coal conversion tax to 
each county may not be less in each calendar year than 
it was in the immediately preceding calendar year.

• Provided that any county that has a coal conversion 
facility that was not a coal conversion facility before 
January 1, 2002, had to receive for 2002 at least as 
much as that facility paid in property taxes for taxable 
year 2001.

• Provided that for subsequent years the county must 
receive no less than it received in the preceding year.

• Required that all amounts received from that facility 
must be allocated in the same manner property taxes 
were allocated for taxable year 2001.

2005 Session.
• Enacted the Coal Conversion Facility Tax Reduction 

Act that provides a fi ve-year exemption for electrical 
generating plants that complete repowering.

• Defi ned “repowering” as an investment of more than 
$200 million or $1 million per megawatt of installed 
nameplate capacity, whichever is less, in an existing 
power plant that modifi es or replaces the process used 
for converting lignite coal from its natural form into 
electric power.

• In February 2006, the South Central Judicial District 
Court found the Coal Conversion Facility Tax 
Reduction Act unconstitutional.

2007 Session.
• Provided that from July 1, 2007, through June 30, 2009, 

3½ % of funds allocated to the State General Fund 
from the coal conversion tax must be allocated to the 
lignite research fund.  After June 30, 2009, 5% of all 
funds allocated to the State General Fund from the coal 
conversion tax must be allocated to the lignite research 
fund, through July 31, 2018.

• Expressed legislative intent that $500,000 is to be used 
to pay for fees associated with lignite litigation that 
may be brought by the state to protect and promote 
the continued development of lignite resources.  If 
activities associated with the litigation are not initiated 
by January 1, 2009, the $500,000 must be returned to 
the State General Fund.

• Changed statutory references to “lignite” to “coal” 
in legislation enacted in 2005, relating to repowered 
plants, which was found unconstitutional by the South 
Central Judicial District Court.

2009 Session.
• Clarifi ed that the exemption for new or repowered 

electrical generating plants is limited to a new or 
repowered unit of a plant.

• Provided that a coal conversion facility that achieves 
a 20% capture of carbon dioxide emissions during a 
taxable period receives a 20% reduction in the state 
general fund share of the coal conversion tax, and an 
additional reduction of one percent for every additional 
two percentage points of its capture of carbon dioxide 
emissions, up to 50% reduction for 80% or more 
capture.  The reduction is available for ten years from 
the date of fi rst capture or from the date the facility is 
eligible to receive the credit.
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Coal Conversion Tax Collections and Distribution
  Total Distributed to State Distributed to
 Fiscal Year Collections General Fund Counties
 2000 15,387,068 12,490,737 2,896,331
 2001 16,443,620 13,181,432 3,262,188
 2002 25,349,890 22,552,708 2,797,183
 2003 27,246,539 24,342,549 2,903,990
 2004 28,106,144 24,432,816 3,673,328
 2005 26,264,860 22,764,015 3,500,845
 2006 27,784,633 24,042,047 3,742,586
 2007  28,930,510 25,175,816 3,754,693
 2008  27,461,267 23,843,410 3,617,857
 2009  29,543,292 25,595,542 3,947,751
 2010  26,154,150 21,113,869 5,040,281
 2011 est. 26,674,000 21,574,000 5,100,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner
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CORPORATION INCOME TAX

CURRENT LAW

Filing Requirements

Every corporation engaged in business in North Dakota 
or having sources of income in North Dakota must fi le a 
North Dakota corporation income tax return. Most returns 
are due on the 15th day of the fourth month following 
the close of the tax year. Returns fi led by cooperatives 
are due on the 15th day of the ninth month following the 
close of the tax year.  Returns of tax-exempt organizations 
reporting unrelated business taxable income are due on the 
15th day of the fi fth month after the close of the tax year.  
Payment is made with the return.

A corporation is required to pay estimated tax on a 
quarterly basis if:
• the estimated tax due exceeds $5,000, and 
• the previous year’s total tax liability exceeded $5,000.

Starting Point for Calculating Tax 

The starting point for calculation of corporation income 
tax is federal taxable income. North Dakota income tax 
law is perpetually federalized for this starting point.

Apportionable Income 

A corporation’s apportionable income is determined by 
adjusting the corporation’s federal taxable income.

Additions to federal taxable income include:
• All income, franchise or privilege taxes measured by 

income which were deducted on the federal return.
• Interest on state and local obligations (excluding North 

Dakota).
• Special deductions and net operating loss deductions 

taken on the federal return.
• The amount of the U.S. production activities income 

deducted in calculating federal taxable income.

Subtractions from federal taxable income include:
• State income tax refunds.
• Interest from U.S. obligations.
• Nonbusiness income (net of related expenses) from 

sources outside North Dakota.

North Dakota Taxable Income

North Dakota taxable income is that portion of a 
corporation’s apportionable income which is derived from, 
or attributable to, sources within North Dakota.

A corporation whose business activity is conducted solely 
within North Dakota is a nonapportioning corporation.  
North Dakota taxable income is the entire apportionable 
income reduced by any net operating loss carryforward 
attributable to North Dakota sources.

Parent and subsidiary corporations, which operate totally 
within North Dakota and fi le a federal consolidated tax 
return, must fi le a state consolidated corporation income 
tax return using the combined report method.

A corporation whose activity is conducted both within 
and without North Dakota is an apportioning corporation.  
North Dakota taxable income is computed by multiplying 
the apportionable income by an apportionment factor.  This 
amount is reduced by any net operating loss carryforward 
attributable to North Dakota sources, and any applicable 
income exemptions. The apportionment formula includes 
property, payroll and sales factors, and is calculated as 
follows:

   ND Property   +  ND Payroll    +  ND Sales        ÷   3
  Total Property    Total Payroll      Total Sales

Unitary Report and Water’s Edge Election.  A 
unitary combined report is required when two or more 
corporations are conducting a unitary business. A unitary 
business is one in which the activities of two or more 
affi liated corporations depend upon, contribute to, or are 
integrated with each other. The combined report includes 
the total apportionable income of all members of the 
unitary group.  To be included in a combined report, an 
affi liated corporation must have more than 50% of its 
voting stock owned directly or indirectly by a common 
parent, which is also a member of the group.

North Dakota applies the unitary concept on a worldwide 
basis.  In other words, total apportionable income includes 
income of all affi liated companies of the unitary group, 
whether those companies are incorporated within or 
outside the United States.  A corporation may elect to 
apportion its income using the water’s edge approach.  

)( 
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Under such an election, the corporation must comply with 
the following:

1. The election must be made on the return as originally 
fi led.

2. The water’s edge election is binding for fi ve 
consecutive years.

3. A domestic disclosure spreadsheet must be fi led in the 
election year and every third year thereafter provided 
that property, payroll or sales in foreign countries 
exceed $10 million and total assets exceed $250 
million.

4. The water’s edge report must include the income and 
apportionment factors of the water’s edge group, 30% 
of foreign dividends, and 30% of net book income 
from 80/20 corporations. An 80/20 corporation refers 
to an affi liated corporation incorporated in the U.S., 
but having less than 20% of its property and payroll 
assigned to U.S. locations.

Rate Table

Effective for tax years beginning after December 31, 2008, 
North Dakota corporation income tax is determined by 
applying the following rates to North Dakota income:
 TAXABLE INCOME:
 Up to $25,000 .................................. 2.1%
 $25,000 to $50,000 ........................ 5.25%
 Over $50,000 ................................... 6.4%

Corporations electing the water's edge fi ling method are 
subject to an additional 3.5% surtax on North Dakota 
taxable income.

Distribution of Revenue

All revenue from the corporation income tax is deposited 
in the State General Fund.

New or Expanding Business Exemptions

Qualifi cations.  A new or expansion project in a primary 
sector or tourism business may qualify for an income tax 
exemption for up to fi ve years. “Primary sector” refers to 
a business that adds value to a product, process or service 
that produces wealth in North Dakota. "Tourism" refers to 
a tourism-related business that is a destination attraction.  
The exemption is limited to income earned from the 
qualifying project. The project operator is required to fi le 
a state income tax return even though an exemption is 
granted.

Limitations.  A business is not eligible for an exemption 
if:
• The business received a property tax exemption under 

tax increment fi nancing;
• There is an outstanding recorded lien for delinquent 

property, income, sales or use taxes against the project 
operator or principle offi cers; or

• The exemption fosters unfair competition or endangers 
existing business.  

Application Procedures. The business must apply to the 
State Board of Equalization, c/o the Offi ce of State Tax 
Commissioner.
• The application must be fi led within the fi rst year of 

project operations.
• The application is reviewed by the Department of 

Commerce, Division of Economic Development and 
Finance.

• The business must provide notice to competitors as 
prescribed by the State Board.

• The State Board considers the application and any 
testimony at a public meeting and then grants or denies 
the exemption and certifi es the results to the State Tax 
Commissioner.

Business Incentive Agreement. Corporations that receive 
an income tax exemption must enter into a Business 
Incentive Agreement with the State Board of Equalization.

Renaissance Zone Exemptions

North Dakota allows these exemptions under the 
Renaissance Zone Act:
• A fi ve-year business income exemption for purchasing, 

leasing, or making improvement to real property used in 
an existing business.

• A fi ve-year investment income exemption for 
purchasing residential or commercial real property 
solely for investment purposes.

Tax Credits

North Dakota allows corporation income tax credits based 
on:
• A portion of North Dakota wages and salaries, if the 

corporation is a new industry.  A corporation which 
receives a new or expanding business income tax 
exemption does not qualify for this credit (see preceding 
New Business Exemptions).

• Investment in a certifi ed nonprofi t development 
corporation.

• Investment in a qualifi ed North Dakota seed capital 
business.



December 2010
North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner - 27 -

• Investment in a qualifi ed North Dakota agricultural 
commodity processing facility.

• Research and experimental expenditures incurred within 
North Dakota.

• Contributions to nonprofi t private high schools and 
nonprofi t private colleges in the state.

• Installation of geothermal, solar, wind energy or 
biomass devices.

• A portion of North Dakota wages paid to a 
developmentally disabled or chronically mentally ill 
employee.

• Qualifi ed investment in a North Dakota renaissance 
fund organization.

• Investment in historic property preservation or 
renovation in a renaissance zone.

• Direct costs incurred to retrofi t an existing facility or 
adapt a new facility to produce or blend biodiesel fuel, 
or to crush soybeans or canola.

• Direct costs incurred by fuel sellers to adapt or add 
equipment to their facilities to enable the sales of at 
least 2% biodiesel fuel blends.

• Fuel blended by licensed fuel suppliers to contain at 
least 5% biodiesel fuel (a fi ve cent per gallon credit).

• Investment in an angel fund incorporated in North 
Dakota.

• A portion of compensation paid to interns working in 
North Dakota.

• Specifi c costs of extraordinary recruitment to hire 
individuals for hard-to-fi ll positions in North Dakota.

• New investment and new employment in a certifi ed 
microbusiness.

• Contributions to a qualifi ed endowment of a qualifi ed 
nonprofi t organization incorporated or organized in 
North Dakota.

• Payments of part or all of the compensation paid to an 
employee in the National Guard or U.S. Armed Forces 
reserve who is mobilized for federal active duty.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1919 Session. 
• A tax on corporation income was fi rst enacted.  Among 

the deductions allowed was a deduction for taxes paid 
to federal, state, local or foreign governments.

1923 Session.  
• The state’s corporation income tax was revised and 

reenacted with a 3% fl at rate. 

1937 Session. 
• The corporation income tax was changed to a graduated 

rate structure.  
• For tax years after December 31, 1936 corporation 

income tax rates ranged from 3% to 6%.  (See historical 
rate table on page 33.)

1978 Initiated Measure. 
• The initiated measure added a tax bracket for taxable 

income over $25,000.  
• For tax years after December 31, 1977, corporation 

income tax rates ranged from 3% to 8.5%.  (See 
historical rate table on page 33.)

1979 Session. 
• A tax credit for contributions to nonprofi t private high 

schools was created.  
• The 1% business privilege tax on business income 

paid by individuals, estates, trusts, partnerships and 
corporations was repealed.

1981 Session. 
• A tax credit for the installation of a geothermal energy 

device was created.  
• A deduction was created for interest on bonds issued by 

a regional railway authority in North Dakota.  
• For tax years beginning after December 31, 1980, 

corporation income tax rates were reduced.  Rates 
ranged from 2% to 7%.  (See historical rate table on 
page 33.)

1983 Session. 
• Declaration of estimated tax requirements was adopted 

for corporations with estimated taxes of more than 
$5,000.  

• Corporation income tax rates for tax years beginning 
after December 31, 1982, were changed.  Rates ranged 
from 3% to 10.5%.  (See historical rate table on page 
33.)

1985 Session. 
• A tax credit was provided for investments made in a 

North Dakota venture capital corporation.  (Repealed 
effective August 1, 2007 in the 2005 Session.)

1987 Session. 
• Corporations were allowed to choose the water’s edge 

method of apportioning income for tax years beginning 
after December 31, 1988.  

• An alternative minimum tax (AMT) was enacted.  
(Repealed in the 1991 Session.) 
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• A deduction was added for dividends from the Myron 
G. Nelson Fund, Inc., a state established venture capital 
corporation. (This was renamed the North Dakota Small 
Business Investment Company in the 1995 session and, 
in the 2005 Session, was repealed effective August 1, 
2007.)

• Credits were created for research expenditures, for 
investments in the Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc., and for 
North Dakota wages paid to developmentally disabled 
or chronically mentally ill employees. 

• Income tax returns included a provision for optional 
contributions to the nongame wildlife fund.  (Repealed 
in the 1991 Session.) 

• Limitations were removed on the type of business 
qualifying for the new business exemption. The 
exemption was expanded to include service and 
retail industries, as well as assembling, fabricating, 
manufacturing, mixing, processing, storing, 
warehousing, or distributing any agricultural, mineral or 
manufactured product.

1989 Session.  
• A credit was added for investment in a nonprofi t 

development corporation.  
• The alternative minimum tax (AMT) rate was changed 

from 5% to 6%.  A credit was created for the amount the 
alternative minimum tax exceeds regular liability in past 
years.

• The water’s edge election was made binding for fi ve 
years instead of ten.  The water's edge spreadsheet 
requirement was reduced from yearly to the fi rst year 
and every third year thereafter.  

• The centennial tree trust fund was added as an optional 
contribution.  (Repealed in the 1991 Session.)

1991 Session.  
• The AMT was repealed, but the remaining AMT 

credit was allowed to be carried over for up to four 
years.  A deduction was added for certain federal AMT 
disallowed on previous state returns. 

• The legislature approved the Taxpayer Bill of Rights.  
• The income tax exemption for new or expanding 

businesses was decoupled from the property tax 
exemption and was limited to value-added primary 
sector and tourism businesses.

1993 Session.  
• Limited liability companies (LLC), a new form of 

business entity, were legalized.  
• The requirement to fi le informational returns was 

removed for tax exempt organizations and insurance 
companies subject to the insurance premium tax (see 
page 56).  Unrelated taxable income must be reported.  

• A credit was created for alternative fuel equipment 
installed on motor vehicles.  (This credit expired 
December 31, 1997.)

1994 Special Session.  
• Project size limitations were removed as qualifi cations 

for the new or expanding business tax exemption, 
allowing large projects to qualify.

1995 Session.  
• Corporations with parent and subsidiaries operating 

totally in the state were required to fi le a state 
consolidated corporation income tax return using the 
combined report method for tax years beginning after 
December 31, 1994.

1997 Session. 
• The law was changed for a single member LLC.  A 

single member LLC will be treated as a corporation 
for North Dakota purposes if treated as a corporation 
for federal income tax purposes; otherwise it must be 
disregarded as an entity separate from its owner.  If any 
LLC meets the defi nition of a fi nancial institution, as 
defi ned in N.D.C.C. ch. 57-35, it must fi le as a fi nancial 
institution.  

• A corporation may elect to apply an overpayment of 
estimated tax to a specifi c estimated installment other 
than the fi rst quarter's installment. 

• A number of changes were made affecting the interest 
calculation provisions.

1999 Session.  
• The interest rate on refunds was increased from 10% 

per year to 1% per month (or a fraction of a month), 
equalizing the rate of interest on a refund to the rate of 
interest charged on late payments or additional tax due.  

• Cities were provided authority to create "renaissance 
zones."  Various income exemptions and tax credits are 
allowed for investments in approved renaissance zones.

2001 Session.  
• For tax-exempt organizations, the due date to fi le 

returns reporting unrelated business taxable income was 
changed to the 15th day of the fi fth month following the 
tax year end.  

• A change was made to extend the time period to assess 
tax.  When a 25% understatement of taxable income 
or income tax exists, an extension may be entered into 
before the six-year assessment statute expires.

• The tax credit for geothermal, solar or wind energy 
devices was changed.  Property leased in North 
Dakota became eligible.  For devices installed after 
December 31, 2001, the credit is 3% of acquisition 
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and installation cost, in each of the fi rst 5 tax years.  
Passthrough entities' owners claim the entities' credit 
in proportion to the ownership interest.  The credit is 
available for devices installed before January 1, 2011.

• For tax assessments made after December 31, 2000, a 
regulated investment company is allowed a deduction 
for dividends paid to the shareholders or to a fund of a 
regulated investment company.

• For renaissance zones, a change was made to allow 
an exemption for income from property owned or 
leased for either a business or investment purpose.  
The exemption was also extended to qualifying 
rehabilitations of residential or commercial property.  
The tax credit for investing in the preservation or 
renovation of historic property was changed to 25% 
of the investment, not to exceed $250,000.  The credit 
must be claimed in the year the work is completed.  
A December 31, 2004 sunset date for the credit was 
removed.

2003 Session.  
• The deduction for federal income taxes paid was 

eliminated for tax years beginning after December 31, 
2003.  

• Corporation income tax rates changed and ranged from 
2.6% to 7.0%.  Corporations electing the water's edge 
fi ling method are subject to an additional 3.5% surtax 
on North Dakota taxable income.  (See historical rate 
table on page 33.)

• North Dakota net operating losses in tax years 
beginning after December 31, 2002 cannot be carried 
back to a previous tax year.  Such losses can only be 
carried forward.

• Based on a North Dakota Supreme Court ruling, 
the North Dakota domestic dividend exclusion was 
repealed, effective for tax years beginning after 
December 31, 1999.

• A credit was created for costs incurred to retrofi t an 
existing facility or adapt a new facility to produce or 
blend biodiesel fuel.

2005 Session.  
• Two new addition adjustments to federal taxable 

income were authorized effective for taxable years 
beginning after December 31, 2004:

 • U.S. production activities income deducted to 
compute federal taxable income.

 • Extraterritorial income excluded from the 
computation of federal taxable income (for tax years 
2005 and 2006 only).

• The credit for installation of geothermal, solar or wind 
energy devices was modifi ed.  If a corporation eligible 
for the credit is a member of a group of corporations 
fi ling a consolidated North Dakota return using the 

combined reporting method, the credit may be offset 
against the consolidated tax liability (as opposed 
to applying it against just the tax liability of the 
corporation eligible for the credit).  In addition, any 
taxpayer eligible for the credit may carry an unused 
credit forward for fi ve tax years.

• Eligibility for the seed capital and agricultural 
commodity processing facility investment tax credits 
was expanded to include regular corporations, trusts 
and passthrough entities (such as S corporations and 
partnerships).  In the case of a passthrough entity, the 
tax credit must be passed through to the entity's owners 
based on their respective ownership interests.  The tax 
credit must be claimed fi rst in the year in which the 
business received the payment.  Monies being held in 
escrow do not constitute an eligible investment.

• The amount of investment eligible for the seed 
capital investment tax credit was limited to a lifetime 
limit of $500,000 for investments made after 
December 31, 2004, in qualifi ed businesses certifi ed 
after December 31, 2004.  For investments made after 
December 31, 2004, the amount of tax credits allowed 
for all investments in all qualifi ed businesses was 
limited to $2.5 million per calendar year.

• The amount of credit for an investment in an 
agricultural commodity processing facility was limited 
to $50,000 in a tax year.  The total credit a taxpayer is 
eligible for in all tax years was limited to $250,000.  
The number of tax years over which a taxpayer may 
carry forward an unused tax credit was reduced from 
fi fteen to fi ve years.

• A new provision relating to refund claims for taxes 
(other than property taxes) affects tax returns fi led or 
tax payments made after December 31, 2004.  After 
this date, claims for credit or refund based on a claim 
that the tax or the law is unconstitutional must be made 
within 180 days of the due date of the return or payment 
of the tax, whichever occurs fi rst.

• Two new credits related to biodiesel fuel were 
authorized for: 1) fuel sellers who adapt or add 
equipment to their facilities to enable the sales of at 
least 2% biodiesel blends, and 2) licensed fuel suppliers 
who blend fuel containing at least 5% biodiesel fuel.

2007 Session.  
• Changes were made to fi ling requirements for "short 

period" returns, i.e., returns fi led for a tax year that is 
less than 12 months.  Such returns must be fi led by 
the latter of April 15, or the due date prescribed by the 
IRS.  For a short period that is less than 120 days, no 
estimated payment of tax is required.
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• Revisions were made to the following tax credits:
1) Seed capital investment tax credit - The calculation 

of the allowable tax credit was changed to be 45% of 
investments made in a tax year, with no limitation of 
the amount of investment or credit.  The limitation 
on the amount of tax credit that can be used in any 
tax year was changed to $112,500.  (Credits in excess 
of $112,500 may be carried over.)  Angel funds were 
added as eligible for the tax credit.  The credit based 
on the angel fund's investment is passed through to 
the angel fund investors who claim the credit on their 
own respective returns.

2) Agricultural commodity processing facility 
investment tax credit - The calculation of the 
allowable credit was changed to be 30% of 
investments made in a tax year, with no limitation of 
the amount of investment or credit.  The limitation 
on the amount of tax credit that can be used in any 
tax year was changed to $112,500.  The carryover 
period for unused credits was increased to 10 years.  
"Qualifi ed investment" was redefi ned to include 
cash or transfer of interest in real property in North 
Dakota, subject to certain conditions.

3) Credit for research and experimental expenditures - 
The calculation of the credit was changed from the 
prior computation of 8% of the fi rst $1.5 million 
of eligible expenses and 4% of eligible expenses 
above $1.5 million.  For tax years beginning after 
December 31, 2006, the calculation begins with 
25% of the fi rst $100,000 of eligible expenses.  For 
eligible expenses over $100,000 in a tax year, the 
applicable percentage for tax years 2007 through 
2016 varies based on when qualifi ed research in 
North Dakota began.

 For tax years after 2016, for eligible expenses over 
$100,000, the applicable percentage for all taxpayers 
is 8%.

 For taxpayers who began qualifi ed research in North 
Dakota before January 1, 2007, the maximum credit 
allowed in any year is $2 million; any credit over this 
amount is not allowed in any year.

 For tax years after December 31, 2006, credits 
earned by any corporation in a consolidated 
corporation income tax return may be used to reduce 
the aggregate tax liability of all corporations in the 
return.

4) Credit for installation of geothermal, solar or wind 
energy devices - The credit was expanded to include 
devices that use biomass as the renewable energy 
source.  For all eligible devices installed on or after 
January 1, 2007, if ownership of an eligible device is 

sold at the time the installation is completed, and the 
device is fully operational, the tax credit allowed to 
the installer transfers with the device to the purchaser.

• Saleable Tax Credits - The 2007 Legislative Session 
authorized the fi rst saleable tax credits in North Dakota's 
history as follows:

 1. Credit for research and experimental expenditures 
- Subject to certain conditions, a taxpayer may sell, 
transfer, or assign up to $100,000 of unused credit to 
another taxpayer if the selling taxpayer is certifi ed by 
the Department of Commerce.

 2. Credit for installation of biomass, geothermal, 
solar or wind energy devices - Subject to certain 
conditions, for devices installed on or after January 1, 
2007, a taxpayer may sell, transfer or assign an 
unused credit to another taxpayer.  This provision 
was repealed in the 2009 Legislative Session.

The following new tax credits were authorized:
• Angel fund investment tax credit - Corporations may 

receive a credit equal to 45% of the total investments 
made in angel funds in a tax year, up to a maximum 
credit of $45,000 per tax year.  An unused credit in 
the year of the investment may be carried forward 
for up to 4 years.  To qualify, the angel fund must be 
incorporated in North Dakota and be in compliance 
with North Dakota securities laws.  (A taxpayer 
claiming this credit may not also claim an income tax 
credit passed through by an angel fund resulting from 
the angel fund's own investment under the tax credit 
programs for seed capital investment or investment in 
an agricultural commodity processing facility.)

• Internship employment tax credit - Corporations may 
receive a credit equal to 10% of the compensation 
paid to up to 5 interns at a time.  The intern and 
internship must meet certain qualifi cations.  An 
employer is allowed a maximum of $3,000 in credits 
for all taxable years combined.

• Workforce recruitment tax credit - Corporations 
may receive a credit for employing extraordinary 
recruitment methods that result in the hiring of 
employees for hard-to-fi ll positions in North Dakota.  
The credit is equal to 5% of the compensation paid 
during the fi rst 12 consecutive months such an 
employee is hired and is allowed in the fi rst tax year 
following the completion of those twelve months.  
Any unused credit may be carried forward for up 
to 4 years.  To be eligible, the annual salary for the 
position must be at least 125% of North Dakota's 
average wage (as published by Job Service North 
Dakota).  Also, an employer must have used certain 
prescribed recruitment methods for at least six 
months to fi ll the position.
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• Microbusiness income tax credit - A corporation 
is allowed a credit for new investment and new 
employment in a microbusiness in North Dakota 
that creates new income or jobs.  Certain criteria 
must be met to qualify as a microbusiness.  A 
microbusiness must be certifi ed by the Department 
of Commerce and no more than 200 microbusinesses 
may be certifi ed.  The credit is equal to 20% of 
the new investment (increase) in buildings and 
depreciable property and new employment (increased 
compensation for new employees).  An unused credit 
may be carried forward for up to 5 years.

• Property tax relief credit - For tax years 2007 and 
2008 only, corporations which own property in 
North Dakota which is classifi ed as commercial 
property may claim a credit of 10% of the property 
tax or mobile home tax levied on the property, up to 
a maximum of $1,000.  For this credit, this means 
property taxes before any discount and before any 
special assessments.  Unused credit may be carried 
forward for up to 5 years.

• Credit for contributions to a qualifi ed endowment 
- Corporations may claim a credit for making a 
charitable contribution to a qualifi ed endowment of 
a qualifi ed nonprofi t organization in North Dakota.  
The tax credit is equal to 40% of the contributions 
made in a tax year, up to a maximum of $10,000.  
North Dakota taxable income must be increased by 
the amount of the contribution, to the extent that the 
contribution reduced federal taxable income.  An 
unused credit may be carried forward for up to 3 
years.  If a contribution is recovered by a corporation, 
the tax credit allowed for that contribution must be 
added to tax due in the year in which the contribution 
is recovered.

2009 Session.  
• Both the number of taxable income brackets and 

associated tax rates were reduced.  The taxable income 
brackets were reduced from fi ve to three, and tax rates 
were reduced from a range of 2.60% - 6.50%, to 2.10% 
to 6.40%.  See Historical Tax Brackets and Rates on 
page 33.

• A requirement was enacted for tax credits earned after 
December 31, 2008.  A claim for refund based on a 
credit carryback must be fi led within three years of the 
due date, or extended due date, of the return for the tax 
year in which the credit was claimed.

• Changes were made to how North Dakota taxable 
income is computed in certain instances:

 ○ A new deduction from federal taxable income was 
enacted for certain corporations that elect to be an 
IC-DISC (interest-charge domestic international 
sales corporation).  The deduction is available for 
actual distributions if the IC-DISC elects to use 
certain IRS intercompany pricing rules and is owned 
by one or more individuals or passthrough entitites.

 ○ Corporations that own a captive real estate 
investment trust (REIT) must add back to federal 
taxable income the amount of the dividends paid 
deduction allowed to the captive REIT on its federal 
income tax return.

 ○ For cooperatives for taxable years ended after 
April 30, 2009, the cooperative may not be subject 
to the requirement to add back to federal taxable 
income the full federal domestic production activity 
deduction.  If the cooperative elects to pass through 
the deduction to its patrons under IRC § 199, the 
amount passed through is not added back to federal 
taxable income.

• Changes were made to the following tax incentive and 
credit programs:

 ○ Renaissance Zone Program - Qualifying projects 
were expanded to include leasehold improvements 
and rehabilitation of public utility infrastructure.  
A new tax credit was created for non-participating 
property owners who must make required changes 
to utility services or building structure as a result of 
another taxpayer's zone project.

 ○ Credit for Geothermal, Solar, Wind or Biomass 
Energy Device - The sunset date of the credit 
was extended from January 1, 2011 to January 1, 
2015.  The carryover period for unused credits was 
extended depending on the date the device was 
installed.  For devices installed after September 30, 
2008, the carryover period was extended from fi ve 
to ten years.  For a wind energy device only that 
is installed after September 30, 2008, and before 
January 1, 2012, the carryover period was extended 
to 20 years.  The provision for the sale, assignment 
or transfer of credits to an unrelated taxpayer was 
repealed.

 ○ Credit for Biodiesel Fuel Production - The credit 
was expanded to apply to facilities used to crush 
soybeans or canola.

 ○ Credit for Investment in an Angel Fund - 
Clarifi cation was added to the defi nition of an angel 
fund and to the criteria for certifi cation as an angel 
fund.  Additionally, a lifetime maximum of $5 
million in credits was set for all investments made in 
a single angel fund.
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Corporation Income Tax 
Collections

 Fiscal Year Net Collections

 2000 47,528,001
 2001  51,606,853
 2002 41,374,297
 2003 46,027,577
 2004 40,257,083
 2005 62,669,889
 2006 111,789,587
 2007 119,955,748
 2008 140,737,698
 2009 98,958,239
 2010 87,874,592
 2011 est. 91,201,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax 
Commissioner

 ○ A new credit was created based on wages paid or a 
reduction in compensation for employees mobilized 
for National Guard or U.S. Armed Forces reserve 
duty.  The credit is limited to $1,000 per eligible 
employee.  An unused credit may be carried forward 
for up to fi ve tax years.

STATE COMPARISONS

Please note that a comparison of corporation income tax 
obligations would need to consider, in addition to tax rates, 
complex variables such as different state defi nitions of 
taxable income and circumstances of each corporation.
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Historical North Dakota Corporation Income Tax
Brackets and Rates

North Dakota Corporation Income Tax Brackets and Rates
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009
 North Dakota taxable income: over but not over
  $0 $25,000 2.10% of North Dakota taxable income
  $25,000 $50,000 $525 + 5.25% of the amount over $25,000
  $50,000  $1,837.50 + 6.40% of the amount over $50,000
 If a corporation elects to use the water’s edge method to apportion its income, the corporation will be subject to 

an additional 3.5% surtax on its North Dakota taxable income.

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007 and prior to January 1, 2009
 North Dakota taxable income: over but not over
  $0 $3,000 2.60% of North Dakota taxable income
  $3,000 $8,000 $78 + 4.10% of the amount over $3,000
  $8,000 $20,000 $283 + 5.60% of the amount over $8,000
  $20,000 $30,000 $955 + 6.40% of the amount over $20,000
  $30,000  $1,595 + 6.50% of the amount over $30,000
 If a corporation elects to use the water’s edge method to apportion its income, the corporation will be subject to 

an additional 3.5% surtax on its North Dakota taxable income.

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2004 and prior to January 1, 2007
 North Dakota taxable income  over but not over
  $0 $3,000 2.60% of North Dakota taxable income
  $3,000 $8,000 $78 + 4.10% of the amount over $3,000
  $8,000 $20,000 $283 + 5.60% of the amount over $8,000
  $20,000 $30,000 $955 + 6.40% of the amount over $20,000
  $30,000  $1,595 + 7.00% of the amount over $30,000
 If a corporation elects to use the water’s edge method to apportion its income, the corporation will be subject to 

an additional 3.5% surtax on its North Dakota taxable income.

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1983 and prior to January 1, 2004
 North Dakota taxable income  over but not over
  $0 $3,000 3.00% of North Dakota taxable income
  $3,000 $8,000 $90 + 4.50% of the amount over $3,000
  $8,000 $20,000 $315 + 6.00% of the amount over $8,000
  $20,000 $30,000 $1,035 + 7.50% of the amount over $20,000
  $30,000 $50,000 $1,785 + 9.00% of the amount over $30,000
  $50,000  $3,585 + 10.50% of the amount over $50,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1981 and prior to January 1, 1983
 North Dakota taxable income: over but not over
  $0 $3,000 2.00% of North Dakota taxable income
  $3,000 $8,000 $60 + 3.00% of the amount over $3,000
  $8,000 $20,000 $210 + 4.00% of the amount over $8,000
  $20,000 $30,000 $690 + 5.00% of the amount over $20,000
  $30,000 $50,000 $1,190 + 6.00% of the amount over $30,000
  $50,000  $2,390 + 7.00% of the amount over $50,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1978 and prior to January 1, 1981
 North Dakota taxable income: over but not over
  $0 $3,000 3.00% of North Dakota taxable income
  $3,000 $8,000 $90 + 4.00% of the amount over $3,000
  $8,000 $15,000 $290 + 5.00% of the amount over $8,000 
  $15,000 $25,000 $640 + 6.00% of the amount over $15,000
  $25,000  $1,240 + 8.50% of the amount over $25,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1937 and prior to January 1, 1978
 North Dakota taxable income:  over but not over
  $0 $3,000 3.00% of North Dakota taxable income
  $3,000 $8,000 $90 + 4.00% of the amount over $3,000
  $8,000 $15,000 $290 + 5.00% of the amount over $8,000
  $15,000  $640 + 6.00% of the amount over $15,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1923 and prior to January 1, 1937
The state’s corporation income tax rate was 3.0% on North Dakota taxable income.
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Comparison of State Corporation Income Tax Rates
For Tax Year 2008 - As of January 1, 2010

A comparison of tax obligations would also need to consider complex variables such as different state defi nitions of taxable income and circumstances 
of each corporation.
   Tax Rate      Tax Rate (1)

   (percent)      (percent)  Federal
   Corporation   Tax Brackets   Financial Institution Income Tax
 State Lowest  Highest Lowest  Highest Lowest  Highest Deductible

 Alabama  6.5   Flat Rate   6.5  Yes
 Alaska 1.0   9.4 $10,000  $90,000 1.0   9.4 No
* Arizona  6.968   Flat Rate   6.968  No
 Arkansas 1.0  6.5 $3,000  $100,000 1.0  6.5 No
* California  8.84   Flat Rate   10.84  No

 Colorado  4.63   Flat Rate   4.63  No
* Connecticut  7.5   Flat Rate   7.5  No
* Delaware  8.7   Flat Rate  8.7  1.7 No
* Florida  5.5   Flat Rate   5.5  No
 Georgia  6.0   Flat Rate   6.0  No

* Hawaii 4.4  6.4 $25,000  $100,000  7.92  No
* Idaho  7.6   Flat Rate   7.6  No
* Illinois  7.3   Flat Rate   7.3  No
 Indiana  8.5   Flat Rate   8.5  No
* Iowa 6.0  12.0 $25,000  $250,000  5.0  Yes

* Kansas  4.0   Flat Rate   2.25  No
* Kentucky 4.0  6.0 $50,000  $100,000  (1)  No
* Louisiana 4.0  8.0 $25,000  $200,000  (1)  Yes
* Maine 3.5  8.93 $25,000  $250,000  1.0  No
 Maryland  8.25   Flat Rate   8.25  No

* Massachusetts  8.75   Flat Rate   10.0  No
* Michigan  4.95   Flat Rate   (1)  No
* Minnesota  9.8   Flat Rate   9.8  No
 Mississippi 3.0  5.0 $5,000  $10,000 3.0  5.0 No 
* Missouri  6.25   Flat Rate   7.0  Yes

* Montana  6.75   Flat Rate   6.75  No
* Nebraska 5.58  7.81  $100,000   (1)  No
 Nevada  no tax        No
* New Hampshire  8.5   Flat Rate   8.5  No
* New Jersey  9.0   Flat Rate   9.0  No

 New Mexico 4.8  7.6 $500,000  $1,000,000 4.8   7.6 No 
* New York  7.1   Flat Rate   7.1  No
* North Carolina  6.9   Flat Rate   6.9  No
* NORTH DAKOTA 2.1   6.4 $25,000  $50,000  7.0  No
* Ohio          No

 Oklahoma  6.0   Flat Rate   6.0  No
* Oregon 6.6  7.9  $250,000  6.6  7.9 No
* Pennsylvania  9.99   Flat Rate   (1)  No
* Rhode Island  9.0   Flat Rate   9.0  No
* South Carolina  5.0   Flat Rate   4.5  No

* South Dakota  no tax     6.0   0.25 No
 Tennessee  6.5   Flat Rate   6.5  No
* Texas          No
* Utah  5.0   Flat Rate   5.0  No
* Vermont 6.0  8.5 $10,000  $250,000  (1)  No

 Virginia  6.0   Flat Rate   6.0  No
 Washington  no tax        No
* West Virginia  8.5   Flat Rate   8.5  No
 Wisconsin  7.9   Flat Rate   7.9  No
 Wyoming  no tax        No
* District of Columbia  9.975   Flat Rate   9.975  No

* See footnotes on following page.
 Nevada,Washington, South Dakota and Wyoming do not have state corporate income taxes.
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Footnotes for Comparison of State Corporate Income Tax Rates

Arizona  Minimum tax is $50 for corporations and fi nancial institutions.
California  Minimum tax, $800.  Banks and fi nancial corporations, excepting fi nancial S corporations, are subject to a 10.84% tax rate (the 

general corporation rate, plus 2%).  A 3.5% tax rate applies to fi nancial S corporations, and a 1.5% rate applies to all other S corporations.  
A 6.65% alternative minimum tax is imposed.

Connecticut  Or 3.1 mills per dollar of capital stock and surplus (maximum tax $1 million) or $250.  A 10% surcharge is imposed in tax years 
2009 and 2010 for corporations with gross sales of $100 million or more who are not paying the minimum tax.

Delaware  The marginal rate decreases over 4 brackets ranging from $20 to $650 million in taxable income.  Building and loan associations 
are taxed at a fl at 8.7%.

Florida  Or 3.3% Alternative Minimum Tax.  An exemption of $5,000 is allowed.
Hawaii  Capital gains are taxed at 4%.  There is also an alternative tax of 0.5% of gross annual sales.
Idaho  Minimum tax is $20.  An additional tax of $10 is imposed on each return.  Taxpayers under $100,000 or less of gross sales may pay 1% 

on such sales.
Illinois  Includes a 2.5% personal property replacement tax.
Iowa  Fifty percent of the federal income tax is deductible.
Kansas  In addition to the 4% corporate tax income there is a 3.05% surtax on taxable income over $50,000.  The current surtax is reduced to 

3.0% for tax year 2011.  Certain fi nancial institutions pay a privilege tax at a rate of 2.25% of net income, plus a surtax of 2.125% (2.25% 
for trust companies and savings and loan associations) with net income in excess of $25,000.

Kentucky  Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to fi nancial institutions or excise taxes based on income.  
Louisiana  Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to fi nancial institutions or excise taxes based on income.  
Maine  The state franchise tax on fi nancial institutions is either (1) the sum of 1% of the Maine net income of the fi nancial institution for the 

taxable year, plus 8¢ per $1,000 of the institution's Maine assets as of the end of its taxable year, or (2) 39¢ per $1,000 of the institution's 
Maine assets as of the end of its taxable year.

Massachusetts  The current business corporation (fi nancial institution) tax rate is reduced to 8.25% (9.5%) in 2011, and 8.0% (9.0%) in 2012.  
Rate includes 14% surtax, as does the following: an additional tax of $2.60 per $1,000 on taxable tangible property (or net worth allocable 
to state, for intangible property corporations); minimum tax of $456.

Michigan  Michigan Business Tax (MBT) imposed at rate of 4.95% and modifi ed gross receipts tax imposed at rate of 0.8% on receipts of 
$350,000 or more.  Plus a 21.99% surcharge, capped at $6 million per year.  

Minnesota  Plus a 5.8% tax on any Alternative Minimum Taxable Income over the base tax. Applies to corporations and fi nancial institutions.
Missouri   Fifty percent of the federal income tax is deductible.  
Montana  A 7% tax on taxpayers using water's edge combination.  Minimum tax is $50.  Taxpayer with $100,000 or less gross sales within 

state may pay 0.5% on such sales.
Nebraska  Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to fi nancial institutions or excise taxes based on income.  
New Hampshire  Plus a 0.75% tax on the enterprise base (total compensation, interest and dividends paid) for businesses with gross income 

over $150,000 or base over $75,000.  Business profi ts tax is imposed on both corporations and unincorporated associations with gross 
income over $50,000. 

New Jersey  Alternative minimum assessment if applicable or fi xed dollar minimum tax based on gross receipts ranging from $500 to $2,000.  
Small businesses with annual income under $100,000 pay a tax equal to 7.5% of taxable income while businesses with income under 
$50,000 pay a 6.5% tax on income.  A 4% surtax also applies for tax periods ending before 7/1/10.

New York  Alternative minimum tax base of 1.5%; capital tax base of 0.15% per dollar of allocated capital (up to $350,000 for qualifi ed in-
state manufacturers or $10 million for other taxpayers).  Small business taxpayers pay 4.35% to 7.1% depending.  Fixed dollar minimum 
tax ranges from $25 to $5,000 depending on receipts.

North Carolina  For tax years 2009 and 2010, a 3% surcharge applies.  Financial institutions are also subject to a tax equal to $30 per one 
million in assets.

North Dakota  Minimum tax for fi nancial institutions is $50.  Federal income tax is deductible for fi nancial institutions.
Ohio  Ohio no longer levies a tax based on income (except for a particular subset of corporations), but instead imposes a Commercial Activity 

Tax (CAT) equal to $150 for gross receipts sitused to Ohio of between $150,000 and $1 million, plus 0.26% of gross receipts over $1 
million.  Banks continue to pay a franchise tax of 1.3% of net worth.  For those few corporations for whom the franchise tax on net worth 
or net income still applies, a litter tax also applies.

Oregon  Minimum tax is $10 for corporations and fi nancial institutions.  Taxpayers with $100,000 or less in Oregon gross sales and no 
property in the state pay a tax equal to 0.25% of gross sales.  The top rate is scheduled to fall to 7.6% in 2011.

Pennsylvania  Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to fi nancial institutions or excise taxes based on income.
Rhode Island  Minimum tax for corporations is $500.  For banks, the alternative tax is $2.50 per $10,000 of capital stock ($100 minimum).
South Carolina  Savings and Loans are taxed at a 6% rate.
South Dakota  Minimum tax for banks is $500 per location.
Texas  Texas imposes a Franchise Tax, otherwise known as margin tax, imposed on entities with more than $1,000,000 total revenues at rate of 

1%, or 0.5% for entities primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade, on lesser of 70% of total revenues or 100% of gross receipts after 
deductions for either compensation or cost of goods.

Utah  Minimum tax is $100 for corporations and fi nancial institutions.
Vermont  Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to fi nancial institutions or excise taxes based on income.  Minimum tax is $250 for 

corporations.
West Virginia  Current rate is scheduled for reduction, 7.75% after 2011, 7.0% after 2012, 6.5% after 2013.
District of Columbia  Minimum tax is $100.  Includes surtax.
(1)  Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to fi nancial institutions or excise taxes based on income.  Some states have other taxes based upon the value 

of deposits or shares.
SOURCE:  Compiled by FTA from various sources.
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ESTATE TAX

CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Rate
The estate tax is a tax on the value of an estate transferred 
at death.  North Dakota’s estate tax is perpetually 
“federalized”. North Dakota’s defi nition of a deceased 
person’s “taxable estate” is identical to the federal 
defi nition and North Dakota recognizes all federal 
exemptions and deductions.

North Dakota’s estate tax is equivalent to the credit for 
state death taxes allowed on the federal estate tax return 
(or a percentage of that credit equal to the percentage of 
property located in North Dakota). On the federal return, 
the credit for state death taxes is allowed as a credit 
against the federal tax liability. The estate pays the amount 
of this credit to the state. This method of determining 
state estate taxes ensures that estates pay no more in total 
estate taxes than the estate’s federal tax liability. The tax 
is payable without interest for 15 months from the date of 
death.

The estate tax is administered and collected by the Tax 
Commissioner.

Distribution of Revenue
Revenue from the tax is distributed on a quarterly basis by 
the state to the counties and cities in which the property of 
the estate is located.

Federal Legislation
As a result of federal estate tax law changes, the North 
Dakota estate tax that is based on the state death tax 
credit allowable on the federal return has been phased 
out for estates of decedents whose death occurs after 
December 31, 2004.  Future changes to the state or 
federal estate tax laws will determine whether North 
Dakota estate tax is due.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1975 Session.
• The defi nition of taxable estate is based on the federal 

defi nition. The estate tax was determined by subtracting 

the federal tax paid from the federal taxable estate, then 
computing a tax using a tax table established in the new 
law.

1977 Session.
• The legislature allowed the following state exemptions 

and deductions to the value of the federal taxable estate: 
an exemption of $200,000, a deduction for federal 
estate taxes paid, and an exemption for certain gifted 
property. The legisla ture also provided that the tax was 
either the amount of tax credit for state death taxes on 
the federal return, or a tax computed by use of a tax 
table, whichever was greater.

1979 Session.
• The rate table was repealed and the law was amended 

so that the state estate tax is equal to the credit for state 
death taxes on the federal estate tax return.

1991 Session.
• The automatic estate tax lien was repealed.

1997 Session. 
• The requirement for depositories to fi le an inventory of 

the contents of a safe deposit box and for the fi ling of a 
notice of transfer of the decedent's assets was repealed.

1999 Session.
• The requirement for the register of deeds to forward 

copies of death certifi cates and property descriptions 
was repealed.

Estate Tax Collections

 Calendar Year Total Collections

 1999 7,420,920
 2000 6,079,686
 2001 5,237,136
 2002 5,407,080
 2003 7,389,834
 2004 3,173,650
 2005 2,109,496
 2006 1,086,192
 2007 27,801
 2008 87,805
 2009 9,776
SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner
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FINANCIAL INSTITUTION TAX

CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Rates 

The fi nancial institution tax is imposed on banks, trust 
companies, building and loan associations, bank holding 
companies, production credit associations, leasing companies, 
and other fi nancial institutions.

The fi nancial institution tax is imposed on every fi nancial 
institution for the privilege of transacting, or the actual 
transacting of, business in North Dakota and is based upon 
and measured by the fi nancial institution's taxable income.  
If a fi nancial institution conducts business both within and 
without North Dakota, the fi nancial institution must apportion 
its business income to North Dakota according to the 
apportionment provisions.

The tax liability is determined by multiplying North Dakota 
taxable income by seven percent (7%), with a minimum tax 
of fi fty dollars ($50.00).  This amount, less credits allowed 
is divided between the State General Fund and the fi nancial 
institution tax distribution fund.  The net tax payable to the 
State General Fund must be paid on or before April 15 of 
the year following the end of the taxable year.  The net tax 
payable to the fi nancial institution distribution fund must be 
paid on or before January 15 of the second year following the 
end of the taxable year.  Both payments must be made to the 
Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner.

If a fi nancial institution elects and is granted Subchapter 
S corporation status for federal income tax purposes, 
the Subchapter S status is not recognized for fi nancial 
institution tax purposes and the corporation must fi le a 
fi nancial institution tax return and pay the tax.  In this 
case, a shareholder—limited to an individual, estate or 
trust—is allowed an adjustment to income in computing 
the shareholder's North Dakota income tax liability.  The 
adjustment, which is equal to the portion of the income 
passed through to the shareholder and subject to North 
Dakota income tax, prevents the fi nancial institution's income 
from being taxed at the fi nancial institution level and the 
individual, estate or trust level.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1979 Session. 
• The 1% business privilege tax paid by individuals, estates, 

trusts, partnerships and corporations doing business in the 
state was repealed.

1991 Session. 
• A state net operating loss was allowed to be carried 

forward. 
• Out-of-state banks were allowed to acquire a North Dakota 

bank if the acquiring company was in a reciprocating state 
and the Tax Commissioner was authorized to determine a 
fair method of reporting income to North Dakota.  

• Privilege taxes were authorized on North Dakota branches 
if the U.S. Congress authorized interstate branch banking.

1995 Session.  
• Interstate banking, in-state branching, and interstate 

branching were authorized.  A trust company was allowed 
to establish for itself and its subsidiaries places of business 
within or outside North Dakota.

1997 Session.  
• Taxation of banks, trust companies and building or savings 

and loan associations was repealed and replaced with a 
fi nancial institution tax.

1999 Session.  
• Cities were provided authority to create "renaissance 

zones," which allowed opportunities for various income 
exemptions and tax credits for investments in approved 
renaissance zones.

2001 Session.  
• An exemption was provided for income from property 

located in a renaissance zone and owned or leased for 
either a business or investment purpose.  This exemption 
also extended to qualifying rehabilitations of residential 
or commercial property.  The tax credit for investing 
in the preservation or renovation of historic property 
was changed to 25% of the investment, not to exceed 
$250,000.  The credit must be claimed in the year the work 
is completed.  A December 31, 2004 sunset date for the 
credit was removed.
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2003 Session.  
• Financial institutions tax changed to maintain the 

deduction for federal income taxes paid.  The deduction 
had previously been allowed by reference to the income 
tax law.  The change was necessary because the deduction 
was repealed for income tax.  

• For tax years after December 31, 1999, the exclusion for 
the North Dakota domestic dividend was repealed based 
on a North Dakota Supreme Court ruling.

2005 Session.  
• A new fi nancial institution tax credit was created for 

making a contribution to fund a tuition scholarship for 
participation in the Rural Leadership North Dakota 
program conducted through the North Dakota State 
University Extension Service.

• Financial institutions that are members of a unitary group, 
and conduct 100% of their business in North Dakota were 
required to fi le a combined report.

2007 Session.
• Changes were made to fi ling requirements for "short 

period" returns, i.e., returns fi led for a tax year that is less 
than 12 months.  Such returns must be fi led by the later of 
April 15, or the due date prescribed by the IRS.

2009 Session.
• The only change enacted to the fi nancial institution tax law 

was to eliminate obsolete references.

Financial Institution Tax*

 Tax  To To General
 Year Total Counties Fund
 2000 10,800,647 7,714,748 3,085,899
 2001 10,195,583 6,152,158 4,043,425
 2002 10,627,138 6,808,992 3,818,146
 2003 10,241,423 7,135,229 3,106,194
 2004 9,690,881 6,830,163 2,860,718
 2005 15,587,316 10,005,681 5,581,635
 2006 18,575,329 12,558,064 6,017,265
 2007 18,324,871 12,931,382 5,393,489
 2008 12,083,480 6,535,072 5,548,408
* The tax year 2009 collections are not fi nal at the time of printing this publication.
 In general, the tax liability of the fi nancial institution is determined by multiplying North Dakota taxable income by 7%.  This 

amount, which may not be less than $50.00, is divided between the state general fund and the fi nancial institution tax distribution 
fund.  The general fund receives 2/7 of the tax, while the fi nancial institution tax distribution fund receives 5/7 of the tax.

 The tax collected in the fi nancial institution tax distribution fund is distributed to the counties on or before March 1 each year.

Distribution of Financial Institution Tax*
  
 County Percentage County Percentage County Percentage
 Adams 0.2968% Grant 0.3913% Ramsey 2.5621% 
 Barnes 2.2119% Griggs 0.9247% Ransom 1.3457% 
 Benson 0.3919% Hettinger 0.5873% Renville 0.3585% 
 Billings 0.0310% Kidder 0.4219% Richland 2.7733% 
 Bottineau 1.8718% LaMoure 0.7904% Rolette 1.0018% 
 Bowman 1.1325% Logan 0.7964% Sargent 1.3122% 
 Burke 0.4819% McHenry 0.5434% Sheridan 0.2813% 
 Burleigh 6.0739% McIntosh 1.1903% Sioux 0.0054% 
 Cass 19.2636% McKenzie 1.1826% Stark 4.2348% 
 Cavalier 1.6172% McLean 1.3533% Steele 0.5824% 
 Dickey 0.9295% Mercer 1.3538% Stutsman 3.4793% 
 Divide 0.8446% Morton 2.1364% Towner 0.5375% 
 Dunn 0.4347% Mountrail 1.7976% Traill 0.9871% 
 Eddy 0.1709% Nelson 1.0597% Walsh 2.5128% 
 Emmons 1.2017% Oliver 0.1855% Ward 7.5118% 
 Foster 0.9723% Pembina 2.1623% Wells 1.3501% 
 Golden Valley 0.5355% Pierce 1.0727% Williams 4.0541%
 Grand Forks 8.6988% 
 
 * Money in the Financial Institution Tax Distribution Fund is divided among the counties based on these percentages.
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rates and Administration

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax (Gasoline and Gasohol).  A 
motor vehicle fuel tax of 23 cents per gallon is imposed on 
motor vehicle fuel (gasoline and gasohol) sold to retailers 
and consumers. Consumers who paid the tax but used the 
fuel in nonlicensed equipment for agricultural or industrial 
purposes may obtain a partial refund.

Seven cents per gallon is withheld from farmers’ refunds. 
Two cents is deposited into the Agricultural Fuel Tax 
Fund to promote the use of agricultural products, one cent 
is deposited into the Ethanol Production Fund for North 
Dakota ethanol plant incentives, four cents is deposited 
into an Agricultural Research Fund.

One-half cent per gallon is withheld from industrial users’ 
refunds to be deposited into the Agricultural Fuel Tax 
Fund.

The state and political subdivisions may obtain a refund 
of 23 cents per gallon on all motor vehicle fuel used for 
construction, reconstruction, and maintenance of roads and 
highways.

The operator of a licensed emergency medical services 
operation may obtain a refund of 23 cents per gallon on all 
motor vehicle fuel used by the emergency medical services 
operation.

Special Fuels Taxes. Special fuels include diesel, 
kerosene, heating fuel, compressed natural gas (CNG), 
and liquefi ed petroleum gas (LPG) known as propane. 
A  special fuels tax of 23 cents per gallon is imposed on 
all undyed (not red) diesel fuels.  The tax also applies to 
kerosene, CNG, and LPG sold for use in licensed vehicles.

A 4 cents per gallon special fuels excise tax is imposed on 
dyed (red) diesel fuels and kerosene and a 2% special fuels 
excise tax is imposed on LPG sold for uses other than in a 
licensed motor vehicle.  Heating fuels are exempt from tax.  

The 23 cents per gallon and the 4 cents per gallon and the 
2% special fuels excise tax are not refundable. Consumers 
using special fuels for a purpose other than in a licensed 

motor vehicle are urged to purchase dyed (red) diesel fuel 
subject to the 4 cents per gallon special fuels excise tax in 
lieu of the 23 cents per gallon tax.

The operator of a licensed emergency medical services 
operation may obtain a refund of 23 cents per gallon on 
all special fuel used by the emergency medical services 
operation.

Aviation Fuel Tax. The aviation fuel tax is imposed on 
the sale of aviation gasoline and jet fuels at a rate of 8 
cents per gallon. Consumers who qualify for a refund of 
the 8 cents per gallon tax become subject to a 4% excise 
tax on the purchase price of the fuel. The 4% excise tax is 
deducted from the refund claim at the time of refund.

The operator of a licensed emergency medical services 
operation may obtain a refund of 8 cents per gallon on 
all aviation fuel used by the emergency medical services 
operation.

Tribal Tax. The North Dakota portion of the Standing 
Rock Sioux Tribe, the Spirit Lake Tribe, the Three 
Affi liated Tribes, and the Turtle Mountain Band of 
Chippewa passed ordinances imposing Tribal motor 
vehicle fuel and special fuel taxes. The ordinances are 
consistent with North Dakota's state fuel tax laws. The 
initial implementation date for the Standing Rock Sioux 
Tribe was January 1, 1999, for the Spirit Lake Tribe that 
date was November 1, 2006, for the Three Affi liated Tribes 
that date was October 1, 2007, and for the Turtle Mountain 
Band of Chippewa was September 1, 2010.  The amount to 
be distributed to the Tribes and to the state is based on the 
population demographics of the last United States census.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1977 Session. 
• The motor vehicle fuel tax and the special fuels tax 

rates increased from 7 cents to 8 cents per gallon.

1979 Session. 
• The legislature enacted a 4 cents per gallon tax rate for 

alcohol blended fuel.

FUEL TAXES
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1993 Session. 
• The legislature provided for a "triggered" increase in the 

motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax depending 
on the availability of federal highway matching funds.  
Under this provision the rate increased from 17 cents 
to 18 cents per gallon for the period December 1, 1993 
through December 31, 1995.

1995 Session. 
• The legislature continued to "trigger" changes in 

the motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax rates 
depending on the availability of additional federal 
highway matching funds.  The rate increased to 20 
cents per gallon for the period January 1, 1996 through 
December 31, 1997.

1997 Session. 
• The legislature provided for a permanent 20 cents per 

gallon motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax 
through December 31, 1999 and added a provision to 
the special fuels tax chapter allowing the 2% special 
fuels excise tax to be charged on fuel dyed for federal 
motor fuel tax exemption purposes.  

• The legislature also revised refund requirements to 
allow refunds of motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels 
tax to industrial fuel users when the fuel was used in 
nonlicensed equipment on publicly funded projects. 

• An additional 4 cents per gallon is withheld from 
agricultural consumer refund claims for deposit into an 
agricultural research fund, and the amount withheld for 
ethanol production incentives was lowered from 2 cents 
per gallon to 1 cent per gallon.

1999 Session. 
• The legislature reenacted the motor vehicle fuel and 

special fuels tax statutes and increased the taxes to 21 
cents per gallon. 

• The legislature also repealed the refund provisions for 
special fuel taxes and enacted a dyed fuel enforcement 
program.  Dyed diesel fuel may not be used in licensed 
motor vehicles, and in the event of a violation, 
administrative fees may be assessed.

2001 Session. 
• The legislature enacted a decrease in special fuels 

taxes on diesel fuel containing at least 2% biodiesel 
fuel by weight.  The decrease is contingent upon the 
opening of a biodiesel refi ning facility in this state with 
a production capacity of at least 10 million gallons 
biodiesel per year.  If triggered, the tax on undyed diesel 
fuel containing biodiesel is reduced by one and fi ve-
hundreths cents per gallon, and the tax on dyed diesel 
fuel containing biodiesel is reduced to one and nine-
tenths percent.

1983 Session. 
• The motor vehicle fuel tax and the special fuels tax 

rates increased from 8 cents to 13 cents per gallon. 
• The rates were reduced for alcohol blended fuel by 4 

cents per gallon through December 31, 1983; 5 cents 
per gallon for calendar year 1984; 6 cents per gallon 
for calendar year 1985; and 4 cents per gallon from 
January 1, 1986 through June 30, 1992.

1985 Session. 
• The reduction for alcohol blended fuel was amended 

to 8 cents per gallon for July 1, 1985 through June 30, 
1987 and 4 cents per gallon for July 1, 1987 through 
December 31, 1992.

1987 Session. 
• The motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax rates 

increased from 13 cents to 17 cents per gallon.

1989 Session. 
• The motor vehicle fuel tax rate increased from 17 cents 

to 20 cents per gallon and the special fuels tax rate 
increased from 17 cents to 19 cents per gallon. 

• The rate reduction for alcohol blended fuel was 
suspended for July 1, 1989 through June 30, 1991 and 
replaced with an ethanol production subsidy.  

• An additional 1½ cents was withheld from farmers' 
refunds and deposited in the Agricultural Fuel Tax 
Fund. 

• Enabling legislation was passed to allow the director 
of the new Department of Transportation to enter the 
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) for base 
state fuel tax licensing and reporting. The State Tax 
Commissioner retained non-IFTA importer for use tax 
administration.

1989 Referral Election. 
• The tax rate increases passed by the 1989 Legislature 

were rejected in a Special Election.  The tax rates for 
the motor vehicle fuel tax and the special fuels tax 
remained 17 cents per gallon.

1991 Session. 
• An additional 2 cents per gallon was withheld from 

farmers' refunds and deposited in the Highway Tax 
Distribution Fund for incentives to North Dakota 
ethanol plants. 

• The rate reduction for alcohol blended fuel was 
eliminated.
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2005 Session. 
• The legislature provided for an increase in the tax rates 

for both motor vehicle fuel and special fuels from 21 
cents per gallon to 23 cents per gallon. 

• E85 was defi ned and a reduced rate of 1 cent per gallon 
was imposed on all E85 sold in the state until a total of 
1.2 million gallons were sold, at which time the tax rate 
reverted to the 23 cents motor fuel tax rate. 

• A special fuels tax exemption was provided through 
June 30, 2010, for the sale of hydrogen used to fuel an 
internal combustion engine or fuel cell.  

• Provided for motor vehicle and special fuel tax refunds 
to Native Americans and established a refund reserve 
fund for this purpose.

2007 Session.   
• Motor fuel refunds are available for emergency medical 

services.  
• The special fuels excise tax rate for all special fuels, 

except LPG, changed from 2% of the value to 4 cents 
per gallon.  

• The special fuels excise tax rate for heating fuel was 
reduced to 1% for LPG and 2 cents per gallon for all 
other special fuels through June 30, 2009; beginning 
July 1, 2009, heating fuels are exempt from tax.  

• Taxpayers are required to report actual physical 
inventories on a monthly basis.  

• The requirement that tax be listed as a separate item, 
or a statement that the tax is included in the price, on a 
claim for refund was repealed.

2009 Session.   
• Township highway aid funds no longer withheld from 

refunds, townships receive 2.7% of highway funds.  
• Counties, cities, and townships are required to submit 

annual reports providing information on use of revenue 
received for transportation purposes.  

• Refunds are allowed for difference in on-road rates on 
diesel fuel when on-road fuel is used in the refrigeration 
unit on a truck with a separate supply tank.  

• Special fuel tax collected from sale of diesel fuel to 
railroads up to $1.6 million dedicated to a fund to be 
used for crossing safety purposes.  

• Allows cities with a computerized tracking system for 
vehicle fuel use to use off-road fuel and report and pay 
the difference between the off-road fuel and on-road 
fuel rates.

Distribution of Revenue

Tax Types
Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax (23¢ per gallon):
 23¢ Highway Tax Distribution Fund
Withheld from farmers’ refunds (7¢ per gallon):
 2¢ Agricultural  Fuel Tax Fund
 1¢ Ethanol Production Fund
 4¢ Agricultural Research Fund
Withheld from Industrial users’ refunds
 (½¢ per gallon):
 ½¢ Agricultural Fuel Tax Fund
Withheld from state or political subdivision
and emergency medical services' refunds
 (0¢ per gallon)
Special Fuels Tax (23¢ per gallon):
 23¢ Highway Tax Distribution Fund
Withheld from emergency medical services' refunds
(0¢ per gallon)
Special Fuels Excise Tax (4¢ per gallon):
 100% Highway Tax Distribution Fund
Special Fuels Excise Tax - LPG (2% of sales price):
 100% Highway Tax Distribution Fund 
Aviation Fuel Tax (8¢ per gallon):
 8¢ Aeronautics Commission Special Fund
Withheld from refunds:
 4% Aviation fuel excise tax
Withheld from emergency medical services' refunds
(0¢ per gallon):
Aviation Fuel Excise Tax (4% of sales price):
 100% Aeronautics Commission Special Fund

Highway Tax Distribution Fund
• 61.3% allocated to state highway purposes
• 34.5% allocated to the counties and cities
• 2.7% allocated to townships
• 1.5% allocated to public transportation
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 GASOLINE DIESEL FUEL GASOHOL
 Excise Fee/Tax Total Excise Fee/Tax Total Excise Fee/Tax Total Notes

Alabama (1) 16.0 2.0 18.0 19.0  19.0 16.0 2.0 18.0 Inspection fee
Alaska 8.0  8.0 8.0  8.0 8.0  8.0
Arizona 18.0  18.0 18.0  18.0 18.0  18.0  (3)

Arkansas 21.5  21.5 22.5  22.5 21.5  21.5
California  18.0  18.0 18.0  18.0 18.0  18.0 Sales tax applicable
Colorado 22.0  22.0 20.5  20.5 22.0  22.0
Connecticut 25.0  25.0 37.0  37.0 25.0  25.0
Delaware 23.0  23.0 22.0  22.0 23.0  23.0 Plus 0.5% GRT
Florida  (2) 4.0 12.0 16.0 16.0 15.8 31.8 4.0 12.0 16.0 Sales tax added to excise  (2)

Georgia 7.5 9.3 16.8 7.5 10.0 17.5 7.5 9.3 16.8 Sales tax added to excise
Hawaii  (1) 17.0  17.0 17.0  17.0 17.0  17.0 Sales tax applicable
Idaho 25.0 1 26.0 25.0 1 26.0 25.0 1 26.0 Clean water tax (7)

Illinois  (1) 19.0 1.1 20.1 21.5 1.1 22.6 19.0 1.1 20.1 Sales tax add., env. & LUST fee (3)

Indiana 18.0  18.0 16.0  16.0 18.0  18.0 Sales tax applicable (3)

Iowa 21.0  21.0 22.5  22.5 19.0  19.0
Kansas 24.0  24.0 26.0  26.0 24.0  24.0
Kentucky 22.7 1.4 24.1 19.7 1.4 21.1 22.7 1.4 24.1 Environmental fee (4) (3)

Louisiana 20.0  20.0 20.0  20.0 20.0  20.0
Maine 29.5  29.5 30.7  30.7 29.5  29.5 (5)

Maryland 23.5  23.5 24.25  24.25 23.5  23.5
Massachusetts 21.0  21.0 21.0  21.0 21.0  21.0
Michigan 19.0  19.0 15.0  15.0 19.0  19.0 Sales tax applicable
Minnesota 27.1  27.1 27.1  27.1 27.1  27.1
Mississippi 18.0 0.4 18.4 18.0 0.4 18.4 18.0 0.4 18.4 Environmental fee
Missouri 17.0 0.55 17.55 17.0 0.55 17.55 17.0 0.55 17.55 Inspection fee
Montana 27.0  27.0 27.75  27.75 27.0  27.0
Nebraska 26.8 0.9 27.7 26.8 0.3 27.1 26.8 0.9 27.7 Petroleum fee (5)

Nevada  (1) 24.0 0.055 24.055 27.0  27.00 24.0 0.055 24.055 Inspection fee
New Hampshire 18.0 1.625 19.625 18.0 1.625 19.625 18.0 1.625 19.625 Oil discharge cleanup fee
New Jersey 10.5 4.0 14.50 13.5 4.0 17.50 10.5 4.0 14.50 Petroleum fee
New Mexico 17.0 1.875 18.875 21.0 1.875 22.875 17.0 1.875 18.875 Petroleum loading fee
New York 8.0 16.4 24.4 8.0 14.65 22.65 8.0 16.4 24.4 Petro. Tax & Sales tax applicable
North Carolina 30.3 0.25 30.55 30.3 0.25 30.55 30.3 0.25 30.55 (4) Inspection tax
NORTH DAKOTA 23.0  23.0 23.0  23.0 23.0  23.0
Ohio 28.0  28.0 28.0  28.0 28.0  28.0 Plus 3 cents commercial
Oklahoma 16.0 1.0 17.0 13.0 1.0 14.0 16.0 1.0 17.0 Environmental fee
Oregon  (1) 24.0  24.0 24.0  24.0 24.0  24.0
Pennsylvania 12.0 19.2 31.2 12.0 26.1 38.1 12.0 19.2 31.2 Oil franchise tax
Rhode Island 30.0 1 31.0 30.0 1 31.0 30.0 1 31.0 LUST tax
South Carolina 16.0  16.0 16.0  16.0 16.0  16.0
South Dakota  (1) 22.0  22.0 22.0  22.0 20.0  20.0
Tennessee  (1) 20.0 1.4 21.4 17.0 1.4 18.4 20.0 1.4 21.4 Petroleum Tax & Envir. Fee
Texas 20.0  20.0 20.0  20.0 20.0  20.0
Utah 24.5  24.5 24.5  24.5 24.5  24.5
Vermont 19.0 5.5 24.5 25.0 4.0 29.0 19.0 5.5 24.5 Cleanup Fee and Trans. Fee
Virginia  (1) 17.5  17.5 17.5  17.5 17.5  17.5 (6)

Washington  (8) 37.5  37.5 37.5  37.5 37.5  37.5 0.5% privilege tax
West Virginia 20.5 11.7 32.2 20.5 11.7 32.2 20.5 11.7 32.2 Sales tax added to excise
Wisconsin (5) 30.9 2.0 32.9 30.9 2.0 32.9 30.9 2.0 32.9 (5) Petroleum Insp. Fee
Wyoming 13.0 1 14.0 13.0 1 14.0 13.0 1 14.0 License tax
Dist. of Columbia 20.0  20.0 20.0  20.0 20.0  20.0
Federal 18.3 0.1 18.4 24.3 0.1 24.4 13.0 0.1 13.1 (7) LUST tax

State Motor Fuel Tax Rates
January 1, 2010

SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.
(1) Tax rates do not include local option taxes.  In AL, 1-3 cents; HI, 8.8 to 18.0 cents; IL, 5 cents in Chicago and 6 cents in Cook county (gasoline only);
 NV, 4 to 9 cents; OR, 1 to 3 cents; SD and TN, 1 cent; and VA 2%.
(2) Local taxes for gasoline and gasohol vary from 12.6 cents to 18.6 cents.  Plus a 2.2 cent per gallon pollution tax.
(3) Carriers pay an additional surcharge equal to AZ-8 cents, IL-12.3 cents (g) 13.5 cents (d), IN-11 cents, KY-2%(g) 4.7% (d).
(4) Tax rate is based on the average wholesale price and is adjusted quarterly.  The actual rates are: KY, 9%; and NC, 17.5 cents + 7%.
(5) Portion of the rate is adjustable based on maintenance costs, sales volume, cost of fuel to state government, or infl ation.
(6) Large trucks pay an additional 3.5 cents.
(7) Tax rate is reduced by the percentage of ethanol used in blending (reported rate assumes the maximum 10% ethanol).
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Rates

Gaming Taxes.  A gaming tax is levied each quarter on 
the total adjusted gross proceeds from games of chance 
conducted by licensed organizations.  “Adjusted gross 
proceeds” is gross proceeds less prizes, North Dakota pull 
tab and bingo card excise taxes, and federal excise tax.  
The gaming tax rates are:
     
 Adjusted Gross Proceeds  Rate
 Up to $ 200,000   ................................. 5%
 $ 200,000 to $ 400,000   ...................... 10%
 $ 400,000 to $ 600,000   ...................... 15%
 Over $ 600,000   .................................. 20%

In addition, a 3% excise tax is imposed on gross proceeds 
from pull tabs and a 3% excise tax is imposed on gross 
proceeds from bingo card sales.  The Attorney General 
administers the taxes.

Pari-mutuel Taxes.  On the fi rst $11 million wagered a 
pari-mutuel tax is levied upon total wagers placed at live 
and simulcast (off-track betting) race performances as 
follows:
• 2% of total wagers in the pari-mutuel pools for win, 

place and show.
• 2.5% of total wagers in the pari-mutuel pool for other 

wagers combining two or more horses.

In addition, 1.5% of all wagers is deducted for deposit in  
three special funds.

Pari-mutuel taxes on wagering handle in excess of 
$11 million in each biennium, one-sixteenth of one 
percent must be paid to the commission to be deposited 
in the purse fund; one-sixteenth of one percent must be 
paid to the commission to be deposited in the promotion 
fund; one-sixteenth of one percent must be paid to the 
commission to be deposited in the breeders' fund; and one-
sixteenth of one percent must be paid to the state treasurer 
to be deposited in the general fund.

Pari-mutuel taxes and special funds are administered by 
the North Dakota Racing Commission.

Gaming Regulation

Certain organizations which conduct only limited sports 
pools, raffl es, bingo, paddlewheels, twenty-one, or poker 
may be issued a local permit or charity local permit by a 
city or county.

In other instances, organizations must receive a license 
from the Attorney General to conduct games.  The 
maximum number of sites an organization may operate is 
25.  The Attorney General conducts criminal history record 
checks of all potential new employees.  Persons who have 
committed any felony or certain misdemeanor offenses are 
prohibited from being an employee in the gaming industry. 

All net proceeds from games must be disbursed to 
educational, charitable, patriotic, fraternal, religious or 
public-spirited uses.  “Net proceeds” is adjusted gross 
proceeds less allowable expenses and gaming tax. 
"Allowable expenses" per quarter are generally limited 
to 51% of the fi rst $200,000 of adjusted gross proceeds 
and 45% of adjusted gross proceeds over $200,000, plus 
2.5% of gross proceeds of pull tabs and cost of video 
surveillance equipment.

Organizations may conduct games of poker, twenty-
one, punchboards, pull tabs, bingo, raffl es, calcuttas, 
paddlewheels, and sports pools.  Video surveillance 
systems are required at sites where twenty-one wagers 
exceed $2 and gross proceeds from twenty-one activity 
exceed $10,000 per quarter.  Organizations may use 
dispensing devises to conduct pull tabs and have bar 
employees redeem players' winning pull tabs.

Distribution of Revenue

Gaming Taxes. Revenue from the gaming and excise taxes 
is deposited in the State General Fund.  For the 2009-11 
biennium, the legislature appropriated up to $510,000 of 
these taxes for cities and counties for gaming enforcement.

Pari-mutuel Taxes. Revenue from the pari-mutuel tax 
is distributed to the State General Fund.  Revenues from 
the deductions are deposited in special funds used for 
promotion of the racing industry in North Dakota.  These 
funds are the Purse Fund, the Breeders' Fund and the Race 
Promotion Fund.  Unclaimed tickets and breakage are 
retained in the Race Promotion Fund.

GAMING TAXES
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HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1977 Session. 
• Bingo, raffl es, pull tabs, punchboards and sports pools 

were legalized. 
• The gaming tax was established at 3% of adjusted gross 

proceeds.

1979 Session. 
• The gaming tax rate was increased from 3% to 5% of 

adjusted gross proceeds.

1981 Session. 
• The game of twenty-one with a $2 maximum wager was 

legalized.

1983 Session. 
• The tax rate was changed from 5% of adjusted gross 

proceeds to 5% on the fi rst $600,000 of adjusted gross 
proceeds and 20% on adjusted gross proceeds over 
$600,000 per quarter.

1987 Session. 
• The legislature legalized games of poker and on-track 

pari-mutuel wagering.

1989 Session. 
• The game of calcuttas for certain North Dakota sporting 

events was legalized. 
• The maximum wager for the game of twenty-one was 

increased from $2 to $5.  
• Off-track simulcast pari-mutuel betting was legalized.  
• The legislature changed the gaming tax rates on 

adjusted gross proceeds.  
• A 2% excise tax was imposed on pull tab gross 

proceeds.

1991 Session. 
• The game of paddlewheels was legalized with a $2 

maximum wager. 
• Employees of bars were authorized to assist 

organizations that conduct pull tabs using dispensing 
devices.  

• The State Gaming Commission was created.

1993 Session. 
• The excise tax on pull tab gross proceeds was increased 

from 2% to 4.5%. 
• Organizations were required to install a video 

surveillance system at certain sites for the game of 
twenty-one.

1995 Session.  
• The work permit system was replaced by a law that 

enables the Attorney General's Offi ce to conduct 
criminal history record checks of all potential new 
employees of organizations and distributors. 

• Two and one-half percent of gross proceeds of pull 
tabs was added to the allowable expense limit for 
organizations.

1997 Session.  
• For the game paddlewheels, in which prizes are a 

variable multiple of the players' wagers, chips rather 
than paper tickets were authorized to be used.  

• The organizations' allowable expense limit was 
increased for capital expenditures for security or video 
surveillance equipment.  

• The license fee for manufacturers' of pull tabs, paper 
bingo cards, and or dispensing devices was increased to 
$4,000.  

• The Department of Human Services received an 
appropriation of $150,000 to outsource contract for 
compulsive gambling prevention, awareness, crises 
intervention, rehabilitation, and treatment services.

1999 Session.  
• The maximum monthly rent that an organization may 

pay a bar owner for conducting pull tabs or operating a 
dispensing device on a site increased.  

• The attorney general was authorized to require certain 
organizations to make estimated gaming and excise tax 
payments.

2001 Session.  
• Bingo halls and on-site food concessions were restricted 

from operating between the hours of 12 midnight 
Saturday through 12 noon on Sunday.  

• Employees of bars were authorized to sell raffl e tickets 
for organizations that are authorized to conduct games 
at those bars.  

• Manufacturers of paper bingo cards and pull tabs were 
generally required to sell their products to all licensed 
distributors. 

• The wager limit was increased from $5 to $25.

2003 Session.  
• Authority was granted to the Attorney General's Offi ce 

to allow an organization to pay delinquent tax, interest, 
and penalty on an installment plan.  

• The license fee for manufacturers of pull tab dispensing 
devices only was reduced from $4,000 to $1,000.  

• Employees of bars were authorized to provide limited 
assistance to organizations in the conduct of sports 
pools.
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2005 Session. 
• For a raffl e, on not more than one occasion per year a 

licensed organization may, at the request of a winning 
player, exchange a merchandise prize valued at not 
more than $25,000 for a cash prize.

2007 Session.  
• Organizations that conduct bingo are no longer required 

to collect sales tax on bingo cards sold.  The sales tax 
was replaced with a lower 3% excise tax on the gross 
sales of bingo cards. 

• The single cash prize limit for raffl es was increased 
from $1,000 to $4,000 and the total cash prizes in a day 
was increased from $3,000 to $4,000. 

• Also, licensed organizations are allowed, at their 
discretion, to exchange a merchandise prize valued at 

not more than $25,000 for a cash prize on two occasions 
per year.

2009 Session.  
• The excise tax on pull tab gross proceeds was decreased 

from 4.5% to 3%.
• The primary prize limit under a local permit or charity 

local permit was increased from $2,500 to $6,000 
(except that cash prizes under a raffl e are still limited 
to $4,000) which is one-half of the $12,000 prize limit 
allowed per year.

• The 3% bingo excise tax was eliminated for 
organizations operating under a local permit or charity 
local permit..

 State
Fiscal Year General Fund

 2000 7,291,000
 2001 7,041,000
 2002 6,774,000
 2003 6,715,000
 2004 6,483,000
 2005 6,361,000
 2006 6,080,000
 2007 5,963,000
 2008* 7,145,000
 2009* 7,018,000
 2010* 4,900,000

* Includes 3% excise tax on gross sale of bingo cards

Excise Tax Collections
Levied on Gross Proceeds of Pull Tabs

        State
Fiscal Year General Fund
 1999 245,000
 2000 2,971,000
 2001 3,875,000
 2002 3,606,000
 2003 4,461,000
 2004 111,964
 2005 253,268
 2006 44,739
 2007 184,317
 2008 171,159
 2009 73,781
* Horse racing taxes are deposited in the General Fund. 

Several other portions of wagers are distributed to other 
racing-related funds and are not included in the table.

SOURCE:  Attorney General's Offi ce, Gaming Division; and  
North Dakota Racing Commission. 

  Total
Fiscal Year Collections
2000 3,178,000
2001 2,965,000
2002 3,520,000
2003 3,537,000
2004 3,432,000
2005 3,361,000
2006 3,010,000
2007 2,940,000
2008 3,274,000
2009 3,060,000
2010 2,990,000

Pari-mutuel Racing
Tax Collections*

Levied on On- and Off-Track Horse Racing

Pull Tabs
57%

Twenty-One
22%

Bingo
13%

Paddlewheels, 
Raffl es, 

Punchboards, 
Poker, Sports 

Pools, and 
Calcuttas

8.0%

Percentage Breakdown By Game
Total "Gaming" Tax Revenue

Fiscal Year 2010

SOURCE: Attorney General's Offi ce, Gaming Division.

Gaming Tax Collections
Levied on Total Adjusted Gross Proceeds
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CURRENT LAWCURRENT LAW

Individual Income Tax

Filing RequirementsFiling Requirements

Every resident of North Dakota who has a federal income Every resident of North Dakota who has a federal income 
tax fi ling requirement is required to fi le a North Dakota tax fi ling requirement is required to fi le a North Dakota 
income tax return.income tax return.

Every nonresident who has a federal income tax fi ling Every nonresident who has a federal income tax fi ling 
requirement and derives income from North Dakota requirement and derives income from North Dakota 
(except interest and dividends from nonbusiness sources, (except interest and dividends from nonbusiness sources, 
pensions and annuities) is required to fi le a North Dakota pensions and annuities) is required to fi le a North Dakota 
income tax return.  There are exceptions for certain Native income tax return.  There are exceptions for certain Native 
Americans, interstate transportation employees, Minnesota Americans, interstate transportation employees, Minnesota 
and Montana residents, and Montana residents, and military personnel and their and military personnel and their 
spousespouse..

An individual income tax return is due the 15th day of the An individual income tax return is due the 15th day of the 
4th month following the end of the tax year.4th month following the end of the tax year.

Choice of Methods.  Prior to the 2009 tax year, Prior to the 2009 tax year, 
individuals could choose to fi le using Form ND-1 (short individuals could choose to fi le using Form ND-1 (short 
form) or Form ND-2 (long form).  Each had different tax form) or Form ND-2 (long form).  Each had different tax 
rates, deductions, and credits.  Starting with the 2009 tax rates, deductions, and credits.  Starting with the 2009 tax 
year, the method found on Form ND-2 was repealed and year, the method found on Form ND-2 was repealed and 
all individuals are required to fi le using the method found all individuals are required to fi le using the method found 
on Form ND-1.on Form ND-1.

Filing Status.  The same fi ling status (that is, single, The same fi ling status (that is, single, 
married fi ling jointly, head of house hold, etc.) used married fi ling jointly, head of house hold, etc.) used 
for federal purposes must be used when fi ling for state for federal purposes must be used when fi ling for state 
purposes.purposes.

Taxable Income. North Dakota taxable income for 
most individuals will equal federal taxable income. For 
some individuals, North Dakota taxable income must be 
calculated by adjusting federal taxable income by:
• Adding a lump-sum distribution from a qualifi ed • Adding a lump-sum distribution from a qualifi ed 

pension plan reported on Form 4972.pension plan reported on Form 4972.
• Adding a loss from a passthrough entity subject to • Adding a loss from a passthrough entity subject to 

North Dakota’s fi nancial institution tax.North Dakota’s fi nancial institution tax.
• Adding a charitable contribution deducted from federal • Adding a charitable contribution deducted from federal 

taxable income on which the North Dakota planned gift taxable income on which the North Dakota planned gift 
tax credit is based.tax credit is based.

• Subtracting 30% of a net long-term capital gain • Subtracting 30% of a net long-term capital gain 
allocable to North Dakota.allocable to North Dakota.

• Subtracting 30% of a qualifi ed dividend allocable to • Subtracting 30% of a qualifi ed dividend allocable to 
North Dakota.North Dakota.

• Subtracting interest income from U.S. obligations.• Subtracting interest income from U.S. obligations.
• Subtracting exempt income of a Native American.• Subtracting exempt income of a Native American.
• Subtracting retirement, unemployment, and sick pay • Subtracting retirement, unemployment, and sick pay 

benefi ts from the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board.benefi ts from the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board.
• Subtracting income from a passthrough entity subject to • Subtracting income from a passthrough entity subject to 

North Dakota’s fi nancial institution tax.North Dakota’s fi nancial institution tax.
• Subtracting income exempted under the Renaissance • Subtracting income exempted under the Renaissance 

Zone Act.Zone Act.
• Subtracting income exempted under the new or • Subtracting income exempted under the new or 

expanding business exemption.expanding business exemption.
• Subtracting the pay received by a National Guard/• Subtracting the pay received by a National Guard/

Reserve member for service in U.S. armed forces.Reserve member for service in U.S. armed forces.
• Subtracting the pay received by a nonresident for • Subtracting the pay received by a nonresident for 

service in the U.S. armed forces.service in the U.S. armed forces.
• Subtracting up to $10,000 of medical expenses and lost • Subtracting up to $10,000 of medical expenses and lost 

wages for donating a human organ.wages for donating a human organ.
• Subtracting the amount of a taxable signing bonus, • Subtracting the amount of a taxable signing bonus, 

moving expense reimbursement, or nontypical fringe moving expense reimbursement, or nontypical fringe 
benefi ts received for fi lling an employment position benefi ts received for fi lling an employment position 
eligible for the workforce recruitment credit.eligible for the workforce recruitment credit.

• Subtracting up to $5,000 ($10,000, if joint return) of • Subtracting up to $5,000 ($10,000, if joint return) of 
contributions to a North Dakota College SAVE account.contributions to a North Dakota College SAVE account.

Tax Rates. The applicable tax rates depend on the  The applicable tax rates depend on the 
taxpayer’s fi ling status. The tax rates applicable to each taxpayer’s fi ling status. The tax rates applicable to each 
fi ling status for the 2010 tax year are as follows:fi ling status for the 2010 tax year are as follows:

 Single Single
 ND taxable income  Tax rate ND taxable income  Tax rate
 First $ 34,000 First $ 34,000 .................... .................... 1.84%1.84%
 Next $ 48,400 Next $ 48,400 .................... .................... 3.44%3.44%
 Next $ 89,450 Next $ 89,450 .................... .................... 3.81%3.81%
 Next $ 201,800 Next $ 201,800 .................... .................... 4.42%4.42%
 Over $ 373,650 Over $ 373,650 .................... .................... 4.86%4.86%

 Married fi ling jointly or qualifying widow(er) Married fi ling jointly or qualifying widow(er)
 ND taxable income  Tax rate ND taxable income  Tax rate
 First $ 56,850 First $ 56,850 .................... .................... 1.84%1.84%
 Next $ 80,450 Next $ 80,450 .................... .................... 3.44%3.44%
 Next $ 71,950 Next $ 71,950 .................... .................... 3.81%3.81%
 Next $ 164,400 Next $ 164,400 .................... .................... 4.42%4.42%
 Over $ 373,650 Over $ 373,650 .................... .................... 4.86%4.86%

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES
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 Married fi ling separately
 ND taxable income  Tax rate
 First $ 28,425 .................... 1.84%
 Next $ 40,225 .................... 3.44%
 Next $ 35,975 .................... 3.81%
 Next $ 82,200 .................... 4.42%
 Over $ 186,825 .................... 4.86%

 Head of household
 ND taxable income Tax rate
 First $ 45,500 .................... 1.84%
 Next $ 72,100 .................... 3.44%
 Next $ 72,900 .................... 3.81%
 Next $ 183,100 .................... 4.42%
 Over $ 373,650 .................... 4.86%

The income brackets are indexed for infl ation each year. 
A 3-year income averaging method is available for 
calculating the tax on farm income if the taxpayer elects to 
use the federal 3-year income averaging method.

Nonresident Tax Calculation.  Residents and 
nonresidents calculate North Dakota taxable income the 
same way.  For a nonresident, however, the tax calculated 
on North Dakota taxable income (which includes income 
from all sources) is multiplied by a ratio equal to North 
Dakota source income divided by federal adjusted gross 
income (reduced by interest from U.S. obligations and 
nonresident military pay).

Credits. Tax credits are available for:
• Paying income tax to another state (North Dakota 

resident only).
• Paying qualifi ed expenses to care for a qualifi ed family 

member to avoid placement in a long-term care facility.
• Investing in a North Dakota renaissance fund 

organization.
• Preserving or renovating historic property in a North 

Dakota renaissance zone.
• Purchasing or rehabilitating a single-family residence in 

a North Dakota renaissance zone.
• Investing in a qualifi ed seed capital business in North 

Dakota. 
• Investing in a qualifi ed agricultural commodity 

processing facility in North Dakota.
• Making a planned gift to a qualifi ed North Dakota 

nonprofi t organization.
• Blending biodiesel fuel as a wholesaler.
• Adding equipment necessary to sell biodiesel fuel as a 

retailer.
• Providing "marriage penalty" relief for eligible joint 
fi lers.

• Employing eligible college interns in North Dakota.
• Hiring new employees or acquiring new tangible 

personal property by eligible North Dakota business.
• Conducting eligible research activity in North Dakota.
• Investing in an eligible North Dakota angel fund.
• Hiring new employees to fi ll hard-to-fi ll positions in 

North Dakota.
• Owning an interest in a passthrough entity that invests 

in a North Dakota endowment fund.
• Installing a Geothermal Energy Device after 

December 31, 2008 on property owned or leased in 
North Dakota.

• Paying wages to an employee mobilized as a National 
Guard or Reserve member.

• Paying premiums for a long-term care "partnership 
plan" insurance policy.

Optional Contributions. A taxpayer may make a 
contribution to the Watchable Wildlife Fund, the Trees For 
North Dakota Program Trust Fund, or both. A contribution 
will increase a balance due or reduce an overpayment on 
the return.

Payment of Estimated Tax

Individuals are required to pay estimated North Dakota 
income tax if all of the following conditions apply:
1. The individual is required to pay estimated federal 

income tax; AND
2. The individual’s previous year’s net tax liability was 

$500 or greater; AND
3. The individual expects to owe, after subtracting 

withholding, at least $500; AND
4. The individual expects withholding to be less than the 

smaller of:
 a. 90% of current year’s net tax liability or 
 b. 100% of previous year’s net tax liability. (This does 

not apply if the individual moves into North Dakota 
during the previous year.)

Withholding

An employer is required to withhold North Dakota income 
tax from the wages of an employee if federal income tax is 
required to be withheld from such wages. Wages paid by 
farmers and ranchers are exempt from this requirement.

North Dakota withholding is computed using one of the 
following three methods:
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• Method 1: Percentage of Wages
 (Primary Method) 
 This method is similar to the IRS’s Percentage Method 

in Publication 15 (Circular E). It is the method 
recommended for use in all cases.

• Method 2: Percent of Federal Withholding
 (Alternative Method) 
 This method is an alternative to Method 1, the Primary 

Method. The federal income tax withheld from the 
wages is multiplied by a fl at rate determined by the 
Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner.  This method 
generally works for employees with wages under 
$18,000, if single, or $30,000, if married. Use of this 
method for employees with wages over the $18,000 or 
$30,000 level is permitted, but will result in too much 
withholding.

• Method 3: Withholding Tables
 This method is identical to Method 1, the primary 

method, except that no calculations are required. 
Instead, a table is used to look up the withholding 
amount.

Employers must register with the North Dakota Offi ce of 
State Tax Commissioner.  Forms to register for income 
tax withholding, sales and use tax permit, unemployment 
insurance and workers compensation purposes are part of a 
consolidated registration package.

New Jobs Training Program.  Under the New Jobs 
Training Program, a new or expanding primary sector 
business may use income tax withheld from new 
employees to pay for the cost of training the employees.  
Application for the program is made through Job Service 
North Dakota.

Fiduciary Income Tax (Estates and Trusts)

A fi duciary for a resident trust or estate, or a fi duciary for 
a nonresident trust or estate which derives income from 
North Dakota sources, must fi le a North Dakota fi duciary 
income tax return (Form 38) if required to fi le a federal 
fi duciary income tax return.

Tax Rates. The applicable tax rates for the 2010 tax year 
are as follows: 
 ND taxable income Tax rate
 First $ 2,300 ....................1.84%
 Next $ 3,050 ....................3.44%
 Next $ 2,850 ....................3.81%
 Next $ 3,000 ....................4.42%
 Over $ 11,200 ....................4.86%

The requirement for an estate or trust to pay estimated 
North Dakota income tax also follows the same rules 
applicable to individuals.  A benefi ciary of an estate or 
trust may be required to fi le a North Dakota income tax 
return to report the income distributed or distributable to 
the benefi ciary.

A fi duciary income tax return is due the 15th day of the 4th 
month following the end of the tax year.

Distribution of Revenue

All revenue from the individual income tax is deposited in 
the State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

Before 1977.  
• The state’s fi rst income tax law was imposed in 1919. 
• In 1923, it was revised and patterned after federal 

income tax law. 
• Between 1923 and 1977, numerous changes were made 

to the law.

1977 Session.  
• A tax credit for the installation of a solar or wind energy 

device was created.

1978 Initiated Measure.  
• Voters in the 1978 General Election passed a measure 

decreasing individual income tax rates.

1979 Session.  
• The beginning farmer program deductions, a deduction 

for gains from property subject to eminent domain, 
and a credit for contributions to nonprofi t private high 
schools were created.  

• The 1% business privilege tax was repealed for tax 
years after 1980.

1980 Initiated Measure.  
• In the 1980 General Election, voters approved the oil 

extraction tax initiated measure that included an energy 
cost relief credit of up to $100.

1981 Session.  
• The simplifi ed optional short form system was created 

for individuals, on which the tax was determined by 
multiplying the federal income tax liability by a fl at tax 
rate of 7½%.  
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• For long form fi lers, the beginning businessman 
program deductions, a deduction for interest from a 
North Dakota fi nancial institution, and a tax credit for 
installing a geothermal energy device were created.

1983 Session.  
• The energy cost relief credit was repealed.  
• The tax rate on the simplifi ed optional short form was 

increased to 10½%.  
• The tax rates on the long form were increased, ranging 

from 2% on the fi rst $3,000 of taxable income to 9% on 
taxable income over $50,000.

1985 Session.  
• For long form fi lers, a tax credit for investing in a 

venture capital corporation and a deduction for an 
adopted child under the age of 21 were created.

1986 Special Session.  
• General income tax withholding and estimated income 

tax laws were created.  
• The simplifi ed optional short form tax rate was 

increased to 14%.  
• The tax rates on the long form were proportionally 

increased, ranging from 2.67% on the fi rst $3,000 of 
taxable income to 12% on taxable income over $50,000.

1987 Referred Measure.  
• State voters upheld the 1986 Special Session changes 

increasing the tax rates and creating the general 
withholding and estimated tax laws.

1987 Session.  
• A 10% surtax on state income tax liability was created 

for tax year 1987 only.  
• Beginning in 1988, the tax return had to include a line 

for an optional contribution to the nongame wildlife 
fund.  

• For long form fi lers, tax credits were added for 
investment in the Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc., and for 
wages paid to a developmentally disabled or chronically 
mentally ill employee.

1989 Session.  
• On the long form, deductions were created for federal 

retirement benefi ts not previously eligible, for highway 
patrol retirement benefi ts, and for investment in a 
venture capital corporation or the Myron G. Nelson 
Fund, Inc.  

• A credit was created on the long form for an investment 
in a nonprofi t development corporation, and beginning 
in 1989, the tax return had to include a line for an 
optional contribution to the centennial tree program 
trust fund.  Taxpayers must use the same fi ling status 

and the same standard or itemized deductions used for 
federal purposes.  

• North Dakota income tax law was perpetually 
federalized for tax years beginning after December 31, 
1988.  

• The short form tax rate increased to 17%.  
• The long form tax rates were increased proportionately, 

ranging from 3.24% on the fi rst $3,000 of taxable 
income to 14.57% on taxable income over $50,000.

1989 Referral Election.  
• Tax rate increases passed by the 1989 Legislature were 

rejected in a December Special Election.

1991 Session.  
• A deduction was created for distributions from mutual 

funds that hold U.S. government securities.  
• Wages paid by farmers and ranchers were exempted 

from withholding requirements.  
• The North Dakota Taxpayer Bill of Rights was created.  
• The income tax exemption for new or expanding 

businesses was decoupled from the property tax 
exemption and was limited to value-adding primary 
sector and tourism businesses.

1993 Session.  
• Credits were added to the long form for “seed capital 

investment” in a new or expanding business, for long 
term care insurance premiums, and for alternative fuel 
equipment installed on motor vehicles. 

• The New Jobs Training Program was created to 
allow new or expanding businesses to use income tax 
withheld from new employees to pay for the employees’ 
training. 

• Also, a limited liability company form of business 
entity was legalized.

1994 Special Session.  
• The project size limitations were removed as 

qualifi cations for the new or expanding business tax 
exemption.

1995 Session.  
• A deduction was added to the long form for part of the 

gain on sale or exchange of stock of a corporation that 
relocates signifi cant operations to North Dakota. 

• The number of new jobs a business must create to 
qualify for the New Jobs Training Program was 
decreased.  

• The Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc. was changed to 
the Small Business Investment Company, a state 
established limited partnership.  

• Authorized the taxation of a nonresident's income from 
gambling in North Dakota.
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1997 Session.  
• A tax credit for qualifi ed care expenses to avoid the 

placement of a qualifying family member in a long-term 
care facility was created on the long form.  

• An individual who fi les a claim for unemployment 
compensation benefi ts may elect to have federal and 
state income tax withheld from the benefi ts.

1999 Session.  
• The interest rate on refunds was increased from 10% 

per year to 1% per month.

2001 Session.  
• The simplifi ed short form method (on which the tax 

was calculated as a percentage of the federal tax 
liability) was repealed.  It was replaced with a method 
that uses federal taxable income as the starting point 
in calculating North Dakota taxable income, to which 
is applied a set of fi ve tax rates—2.1%, 3.92%, 4.34%, 
5.04%, and 5.54%.  Each rate corresponds to one of fi ve 
income brackets, each of which varies by fi ling status 
(that is, single, married fi ling jointly, head of household, 
etc).  

• The estimated income tax requirements for individuals, 
estates, and trusts were changed to provide that no 
estimated tax has to be paid if the preceding tax year's 
net tax liability is less than $500.  

• The threshold for fi ling an annual withholding return by 
an employer was increased to $500.  

• A credit was created for investing in a North Dakota 
agricultural commodity processing facility.  

• The partnership provisions were changed to exempt 
guaranteed payments of a nonresident partner of a 
professional service partnership for work performed 
outside North Dakota.  

• Changes were made to the Renaissance Zone Act 
provisions, including the addition of rehabilitation work 
as a qualifying transaction.  

• On the long form, the deduction for adopting a child 
under age 21 was increased to $1,750 with a 5-year 
carryforward of an unused amount.

• On the long form, the geothermal, solar, and wind 
energy device credit was allowed for a device installed 
on property leased by the taxpayer.

2003 Session.  
• The seed capital investment tax credit rate was 

increased to 45%, and thresholds on eligible 
investments and credits were increased.  

• A payroll service provider who electronically transmits 
an employer's withholding return and taxes for 
federal purposes must electronically transmit the state 
withholding returns and taxes.  

• The legislature required the Tax Commissioner to 
conduct a tax amnesty program.  

• The new or expanding business income exemption was 
allowed on Form ND-1.  On Form ND-2, the dividend 
deduction was repealed.  

• A deduction was created for compensation that a 
National Guard or Reserve member receives for federal 
active duty service.

2005 Session.  
• The long-term capital gain exclusion on Form ND-1 

was limited to a gain allocable to North Dakota.  
• Lottery winnings were subjected to income tax 

withholding.  
• The geothermal, solar, or wind energy device credit was 

changed to allow a fi ve-year carryforward of an unused 
credit.  

• A deduction of up to $10,000 of medical expenses 
and lost wages related to a human organ donation was 
created.  

• A passthrough entity was required to withhold income 
tax from the distributive shares of income of its 
nonresident individual owners or benefi ciaries.  

• A credit for blending biodiesel fuel by a supplier was 
created.  

• A credit for adding equipment necessary for the retail 
sale of biodiesel fuel was created.  

• The seed capital and ag commodity investment tax 
credit provisions were changed to allow the credits to 
corporations and all passthrough entities and to revise 
various limitation provisions.   

• A credit for planned gifts to qualifi ed North Dakota 
nonprofi t organizations was created.

2007 Session. 
• New income tax credits were created for: (1) Investing 

in a North Dakota angel fund; (2) Employing college 
interns; (3) Employing extraordinary recruitment 
methods to fi ll hard-to-fi ll positions in North Dakota; 
(4) Increasing employment and/or purchasing additional 
tangible personal property in a North Dakota business; 
(5) Filing a joint return by certain married persons; 
and, (6) Owning an interest in a passthrough entity that 
invests in a North Dakota endowment fund. 

• The existing research credit was changed to allow it to 
all taxpayer types, including individuals. 

• The agricultural commodity processing facility and seed 
capital investment tax credit programs were changed to 
broaden and simplify their provisions. 

• The energy device credit provisions were expanded to: 
(1) Include biomass as an energy source; (2) Allow the 
sale, assignment, or transfer of an unused credit under 
certain conditions; and, (3) Allow the transfer of the 
credit under a turnkey arrangement. 
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• The planned gift credit provisions were changed to 
increase the amount of the credit allowed. 

• For the 2007 and 2008 income tax years only, two 
separate credits—one for residential and agricultural 
property and the second for commercial property—were 
created. 

• The family member care credit provisions were changed 
to clarify and simplify them. 

• New deductions were created for: (1) Contributing to 
a North Dakota College SAVE account; (2) Income of 
a Native American derived from reservations where 
not enrolled as a member; and, (3) Certain payments 
received for employment in a position eligible for the 
workforce recruitment credit. 

• The beginning entrepreneur program deductions were 
repealed.

2009 Session.  
• The optional method for computing tax (found on 

Form ND-2) was repealed, as were the deductions and 
tax credits that were available to individuals only if they 
fi led Form ND-2.

• Income tax rates were reduced for individuals, estates, 
and trusts.  Income brackets changed only for indexing, 
but the tax rates for the fi ve brackets were reduced from 
2.1%, 3.92%, 4.34%, 5.04%, and 5.54% to 1.84%, 
3.44%, 3.81%, 4.42%, and 4.86%, respectively.

• New income tax credits were created for: (1) Installing 
a Geothermal Energy Device after December 31, 2008 
on property owned or leased in North Dakota; (2) 
Paying wages to an employee mobilized as a National 
Guard or Reserve member; and (3) Paying premiums 
for a long-term care "partnership plan" insurance policy.

• For the 2009 income tax year only, a credit was created 
for certain taxpayers who were ineligible for the 
property tax relief income tax credit under the 2-year 
program enacted by the 2007 North Dakota Legislature.

• A new deduction was created for qualifi ed dividends 
received during the tax year that are allocable to North 
Dakota.  This deduction is available to individuals, 
estates, and trusts.

• The Renaissance Zone program was changed to: (1) 
Increase the ceiling on the total credits allowed for 
investments made in a renaissance fund organization 
from $5 million to $7.5 million; and, (2) Add a new 
credit for a property owner not participating in a zone 
project who is required to make changes in utility 
services or building structure solely because of changes 
directly resulting from another taxpayer's zone project.

• The law governing the angel fund investment tax 
credit was changed to: (1) Provide a defi nition of what 
constitutes a qualfi ying angel fund; and, (2) Require 
the angel fund to be certifi ed by the North Dakota 
Commerce Department.

• A new ND-EZ form was created for full-year residents 
of North Dakota who have simple returns and choose to 
fi le on paper.  It is a shorter version of Form ND-1 and 
uses the same tax rates to compute the tax due.

Individual Income
Tax Collections

 Fiscal Year Net Collections
 2000 198,287,830
 2001 213,442,150
 2002 198,922,525
 2003 200,528,205
 2004 214,145,899
 2005 241,319,731
 2006 274,621,741
 2007  318,433,494
 2008  308,889,352
 2009  378,135,463
 2010  304,252,924
 2011 est. 307,079,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner
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* Seven states levy no individual income tax: Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, 
Washington and Wyoming.

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.

Per Capita Comparison of Individual Income Tax Collections *
Fiscal Year 2009

 State Rank Per Capita

New York 1 $1,885
Connecticut 2 $1,813
Massachusetts 3 1,608
Oregon 4 $1,420
Minnesota 5 $1,319
New Jersey 6 $1,225
California 7 $1,200
Maryland 8 $1,137
Virginia 9 $1,131
Wisconsin 10 $1,100
Maine 11 $1,040
Hawaii 12 $1,034
Delaware 13 $1,029
North Carolina 14 $1,019
Kansas 15 $969
Rhode Island 16 $913
Iowa 17 $899
Nebraska 18 $892
Colorado 19 $876
Vermont 20 $857
West Virginia 21 $856
Montana 22 $848
Utah 23 $833
Missouri 24 $797
Georgia 25 $794
Arkansas 26 $775
Kentucky 27 $769
Idaho 28 $760
Pennsylvania 29 $758
Ohio 30 $721
Illinois 31 $711
Oklahoma 32 $690
Indiana 33 $672
Louisiana 34 $655
Michigan 35 $604
NORTH DAKOTA 36 $572
Alabama 37 $565
South Carolina 38 $516
Mississippi 39 $503
New Mexico 40 $464
Arizona 41 $297
New Hampshire 42 $74
Tennessee 43 $35
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 Tax Rate Range Number   Federal
 (in percents) of Income Brackets  Personal Exemptions Income Tax 
State Low High Brackets Lowest Highest Single Married Dependents Deductible 

Alabama 2.0 - 5.0  3 500 (b) - 3,000 (b) 1,500  3,000  300  *
Alaska No State Income Tax
Arizona 2.59 - 4.54  5 10,000 (b) - 150,000 (b) 2,100  4,200  2,300
Arkansas (a) 1.0 - 7.0 (e) 6 3,899 (b) - 32,600 (b) 23 (c) 46 (c) 23 (c)
California (a) 1.25 - 9.55 (w) 6 7,300 (b) - 47,900 (b) 98 (c) 196 (c) 98 (c) 
Colorado 4.63    1   Flat rate     None
Connecticut 3.0 - 6.5  3 10,000 (b) - 500,001 (b) 13,000 (f) 26,000 (f) 0
Delaware 2.2 - 6.95  6 5,000  - 60,001  110 (c) 220 (c) 110 (c)
Florida No State Income Tax
Georgia 1.0 - 6.0  6 750 (g) - 7,000 (g) 2,700  5,400  3,000
Hawaii 1.4 - 11.00  12 2,400 (b) - 200,001 (b) 1,040  2,080  1,040
Idaho (a) 1.6 - 7.8  8 1,320 (h) - 26,418 (h) 3,650 (d) 7,300 (d) 3,650 (d)
Illinois 3.0    1   Flat rate   2,000  4,000  2,000
Indiana 3.4    1   Flat rate   1,000  2,000  1,000
Iowa (a) 0.36 - 8.98  9 1,407  - 63,316  40 (c) 80 (c) 40 (c) *
Kansas 3.5 - 6.45  3 15,000 (b) - 30,000 (b) 2,250  4,500  2,250
Kentucky 2.0 - 6.0  6 3,000  - 75,000  20 (c) 40 (c) 20 (c)
Louisiana 2.0 - 6.0  3 12,500 (b) - 50,000 (b) 4,500 (i) 9,000 (i) 1,000 (i) *
Maine (a) 2.0 - 8.5  4 4,949 (b) - 19,750 (b) 2,850  5,700  2,850
Maryland 2.0 - 6.25  8 1,000  - 1,000,001  2,400  4,800  2,400
Massachusetts (a) 5.3    1   Flat rate   4,400  8,800  1,000
Michigan (a) 4.35    1   Flat rate   3,300  6,600  3,300
Minnesota (a) 5.35 - 7.85  3 22,770 (j) - 74,781 (j) 3,650 (d) 7,300 (d) 3,650 (d)
Mississippi 3.0 - 5.0  3 5,000  - 10,000  6,000  12,000  1,500
Missouri 1.5 - 6.0  10 1,000  - 9,000  2,100  4,200  1,200  * (r)
Montana (a) 1.0 - 6.9  7 2,600  - 15,401  2,110  4,220  2,110  * (r)
Nebraska (a) 2.56 - 6.84  4 2,400 (k) - 27,001 (k) 118 (c) 236 (c) 118 (c)
Nevada No State Income Tax
New Hampshire  State Income Tax is Limited to Dividends and Interest Income Only.
New Jersey 1.4 - 10.75  8 20,000 (l) - 1,000,000 (l) 1,000  2,000  1,500
New Mexico 1.7 - 4.9  4 5,500 (m) - 16,000 (m) 3,650 (d) 7,300 (d) 3,650 (d)
New York 4.0 - 8.97  7 8,000 (x) - 500,000 (x) 0  0  1,000
North Carolina 6.0 - 7.75 (n) 3 12,750 (n) - 60,000 (n) 3,650 (d) 7,300 (d) 3,650 (d)
North Dakota (a) 1.84 - 4.86  5 34,000 (o) - 373,650 (o) 3,650 (d) 7,300 (d) 3,650 (d)
Ohio (a) 0.618 - 6.24  9 5,000  - 200,000  1,550 (p) 3,100 (p) 1,550 (p)
Oklahoma 0.5 - 5.50 (q) 7 1,000 (q) - 8,701 (q) 1,000  2,000  1,000
Oregon (a) 5.0 - 11.0  5 2,000 (b) - 250,000 (b) 176 (c) 352 (c) 176 (c) * (r)
Pennsylvania 3.07    1   Flat rate     None
Rhode Island 3.8 - 9.9 (y) 5 33,500 (y) - 372,950 (y) 3,650 (d) 7,300 (d) 3,650 (d)
South Carolina (a) 0.0 - 7.0  6 2,740  - 13,701  3,650 (d) 7,300 (d) 3,650 (d)
South Dakota No State Income Tax
Tennessee  State Income Tax is Limited to Dividends and Interest Income Only.
Texas No State Income Tax
Utah 5.0    1   Flat rate    (t)  (t)  (t)
Vermont (a) 3.55 - 8.95  5 33,950 (u) - 372,951 (u) 3,650 (d) 7,300 (d) 3,650 (d)
Virginia 2.0 - 5.75  4 3,000  - 17,000  930  1,860  930
Washington No State Income Tax
West Virginia 3.0 - 6.5  5 10,000  - 60,000  2,000  4,000  2,000
Wisconsin (a) 4.6 - 7.75  5 10,220 (v) - 225,001 (v) 700  1,400  700
Wyoming No State Income Tax
Dist, of Columbia 4.0 - 8.5  3 10,000  - 40,000  1,675  3,350  1,675
SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators

Comparison of Individual Income Tax Features By State
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Footnotes

(a) 16 states have statutory provision for automatic adjustment of tax brackets, personal exemption or standard deductions to the rate of infl ation.  
Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska and Ohio index the personal exemption amounts only.   

(b) For joint returns, the taxes are twice the tax imposed on half the income.

(c) Tax credits.

(d) These states allow personal exemption or standard deductions as provided in the IRC.

(e) A special tax table is available for low-income taxpayers reducing their tax payments.

(f) Combined personal exemptions and standard deduction.  An additional tax credit is allowed ranging from 75% to 0% based on state adjusted gross 
income.  Exemption amounts are phased out for higher income taxpayers until they are eliminated for households earning over $61,000.

(g) The tax brackets reported  are for single individuals.  For married households, the same rates apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000 to 
$10,000.

(h) For joint returns, the tax is twice the tax imposed on half the income.  A $10 fi ling tax is charged for each return and a $15 credit is allowed for 
each exemption.

(i) Combined personal exemption and standard deduction.

(j) The tax brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married couples fi ling jointly, the same rates apply for income under $33,280 to over 
$132,221.  A 6.4% AMT rate is also applicable.

(k) The tax brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married couples fi ling jointly, the same rates apply for income under $4,800 to over 
$54,000.

(l) The tax brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married couples fi ling jointly, the tax rates range from 1.4% to 10.75% (with 9 income 
brackets) applying to income brackets from $20,000 to over $1 million.

(m) The tax brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married couples fi ling jointly, the same rates apply for income under $8,000 to over 
$24,000.  Married households fi ling separately pay the tax imposed on half the income.

(n) The tax brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married taxpayers, the same rates apply to income brackets ranging from $21,250 to 
$100,000.  Lower exemption amounts allowed for high-income taxpayers.  For tax years 2009 and 2010, a surcharge that equals 2% of total liability 
for taxpayers with income over $60,000 single fi ler ($100,000 joint) and 3% of total liability for income over $150,000 ($250,000)

(o) The tax brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married taxpayers, the same rates apply to income brackets ranging from $56,850 to 
$373,650.  An additional  $300 personal exemption is allowed for joint returns or unmarried head of households. 

(p) Plus an additonal $20 per exemption tax credit.

(q) The rate range reported is for single persons.  For married persons fi ling jointly, the same rates apply to income brackets ranging from $2,000 to 
$15,000.

(r) Deduction is limited to $10,000 for joint returns and $5,000 for individuals in Missouri and Montana, and to $5,600 in Oregon.

(s) Federal Tax Liability prior to the enactment of Economic Growth and Tax Relief Act of 2001.  Or, taxpayers have the option of computing tax 
liability based on a fl at 7.0% (6.5% in 2009) of gross income.

(t) Tax credits are equal to 6% of federal standard/itemized deductions (w/o state taxes paid) and 75% of Federal personal exemption amounts.  The 
credit amount is phased out above $12,000 in income ($24,000 for joint returns).

(u) The tax brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married couples fi ling jointly, the same rates apply for income under $56,700 to over 
$372,950.

(v) The tax brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married taxpayers, the same rates apply to income brackets ranging from $13,620 to 
$300,000.

(w) An additional 1% tax is imposed on taxable income over $1 million.  Tax rates are scheduled to fall by 0.25% after 2011.

(x) The tax brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married taxpayers, the same rates apply to income brackets ranging from $16,000 to 
$500,000.

(y) Or an alternative fl at rate of 6.5%.  Rates reported are for a single fi ler calculated based on a tax of 25% of federal liability using IRC in 2001.  For 
married taxpayers fi ling jointly, the same rates apply to income brackets ranging from $56,700 to $372,950.
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INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX

CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rates and Administration

Every insurance company licensed to do business in North 
Dakota is subject to a premium tax on the gross amount 
of its annual premiums, member ship fees, and policy fees 
received from North Dakota policyholders. The premium 
tax rate is 2% for life insurance, and 1¾% for accident, 
health, property, casualty and surplus lines of insurance. 
A company domiciled in another state may be charged 
retaliatory tax--the tax rate of the home state--if the rate 
in the home state is higher than North Dakota’s applicable 
premium tax rate.

A minimum $200 annual fi ling fee is required provided 
the total tax liability of an entity required to pay tax is less 
than $200.

The insurance premium tax is administered by the State 
Insurance Commissioner and is collected quarterly.

Exemptions and Credits

Gross receipts from annuities and from policies of benevo-
lent and fraternal benefi t companies are exempt. Credits 
against tax due are provided to insurers for the following 
situations:
• Assessment paid as a member of a comprehensive 

health association.
• Examination fees paid to the North Dakota Insurance 

Department.
• Ad valorem taxes on the premises occupied as the 

principal offi ce in the state for over 50% of the year for 
which tax is paid.

• Investments in securities offered by a small business 
investment company created by the Myron G. Nelson 
Fund, Inc.

• Assessment paid to the Life and Health Insurance 
Guaranty Association.

• Insurers making or participating in incentive fund to 
make loans to low-risk businesses for primary sector 
business projects (N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-50).

Distribution of Revenue

Collections are deposited in the State General Fund. 
The legisla ture may appropriate insurance premium tax 
revenue to the Insurance Tax Distribution Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1935 Session.  
• The fi rst general sales tax in North Dakota was enacted 

at a rate of 2%.  The tax base generally consisted of 
all sales to consumers of personal property; sales or 
service of gas, electricity, water and communication; 
and sales of tickets to places of amusement.

Before 1983. 
• Out-of-state insurance companies were subject to a 

2½% premium tax. 
• North Dakota insurance companies were subject to 

corporation income tax, rather than insurance premium 
tax.

1983 Session.
• Insurance companies doing business in the state, 

whether incorporated in North Dakota or any other 
state, became subject to the insurance premium tax and 
exempt from the corporation income tax. 

• The legislature provided for a 2% rate for life 
insurance, ½% for accident and health insurance, and 
1% for property, casualty and other types of insurance.

1987 Session.
• The legislature increased the insurance premium tax 

rate from ½% to 1¼% for accident and health insurance 
and from 1% to 1¼% for property, casualty and other 
insurance. 

• A credit was created for investments in the Myron G. 
Nelson Fund, Inc.1989 Session.
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1989 Session.
• The legislature increased the insurance premium tax 

rate from 1¼% to 1¾% for accident, health, property, 
casualty and other types of insurance.

1991 Session.
• The legislature adopted a $200 annual filing fee for all 

insurance companies.

1997 Session.
• A credit was created for any insurance company making 

or participating in a loan under the North Dakota Low-
Risk Incentive Fund (see N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-50-05.)

1999 Session.
•  The method for calculating a penalty for failure to pay 

tax was changed.

 Insurance Premium Tax 
 Collections Per Capita -
 Fiscal Year 2009

   Per Capita Insurance
 Rank State Premium Taxes

 1 Louisiana $108
 2 Delaware $100
 3 Nevada $90
 4 Vermont $90
 5 South Dakota $78
 6 Hawaii $76
 7 Alaska $75
 8 Maryland $69
 9 Montana $68
 10 Maine $68
 11 Arizona $67
 12 New Mexico $64
 13 Mississippi $64
 14 Minnesota $63
 15 West Virginia $62
 16 New Hampshire $62
 17 Washington $61
 18 New Jersey $58
 19 Pennsylvania $58
 20 Alabama $57
 21 New York $57
 22 California $56
 23 Wyoming $55
 24 North Carolina $54
 25 North Dakota $53
 26 Arkansas $52
 27 Idaho $51
 28 Massachusetts $51
 29 Missouri $49
 30 Kansas $48
 31 Tennessee $47
 32 Utah $47
 33 Rhode Island $46
 34 Texas $46
 35 Connecticut $45
 36 Oklahoma $43
 37 Colorado $39
 38 Ohio $37
 39 Florida $35
 40 Virginia $32
 41 Georgia $32
 42 Iowa $30
 43 Indiana $29
 44 Kentucky $29
 45 Nebraska $28
 46 South Carolina $28
 47 Illinois $26
 48 Michigan $26
 49 Wisconsin $21
 50 Oregon $15
  US Average $48
SOURCE: US Dept. of Commerce, Census Bureau
                   Department.

Insurance Premium Tax
Collections and Disbursements

    Firefi ghter
   Ins. Death
Fiscal Total General Dist. Benefi t
 Year Collections Fund Fund Fund

2000 21,893,086 19,293,086 2,600,000
2001 22,419,513 19,819,513 2,600,000
2002 25,999,204 23,347,204 2,652,000
2003 28,294,823 25,642,823 2,652,000
2004 30,928,373 28,276,373 2,652,000
2005 30,671,102 28,019,102 2,652,000
2006 29,124,817 25,864,809 3,260,005
2007 30,168,197 27,008,197 3,160,000
2008 37,425,426 33,590,426 3,785,000 50,000
2009 34,583,055 30,798,055 3,785,000 0

SOURCE: North Dakota Insurance Department
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LIQUOR AND BEER TAXES

CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Administration

The tax on liquor and beer is a privilege tax imposed on 
all alcoholic beverage wholesalers doing business in North 
Dakota. In addition, microbrew pubs, domestic wineries 
and domestic distilleries pay the taxes on alcoholic 
beverages made by those facilities and sold directly to 
consumers. A pub, winery, or distillery may not engage in 
any wholesaling activities.  The State Tax Commissioner 
administers the tax and licenses wholesalers, microbrew 
pubs, domestic wineries and domestic distilleries.  The tax 
is collected on either a monthly or annual calendar year 
basis.  Licenses are also required for alcoholic beverage 
suppliers shipping product to a North Dakota wholesaler 
and out of state direct suppliers of alcoholic beverages to 
North Dakota consumers.

Exemptions

If the alcohol is used for non-beverage purposes, it is 
exempt from the tax. These exemptions include:
• Denatured alcohol
• Patent, proprietary, medical, pharma ceutical, antiseptic 

and toilet prepara tions
• Flavoring extracts
• Syrups and food products
• Scientifi c chemical and industrial products
• Wines delivered to priests, rabbis and ministers for 

sacramental use

Rates

The amount of the tax is determined by the type of 
beverage and the gallonage sold by a wholesaler. The tax 
rate schedule is as follows:
 Per Wine Gallon
Beer in bulk containers $ .08
Beer in bottles and cans $ .16
Wine (less than 17% alcohol),
  including sparkling wine $ .50
Wine (17% to 24% alcohol) $ .60
Distilled Spirits $ 2.50
Alcohol $ 4.05

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the liquor and beer tax is deposited in the 
State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1967 Session.  
• The alcoholic beverage tax law was rewritten and the 

tax rates were restructured.

1991 Session. 
• Microbrew pubs became subject to the liquor and beer 

tax.

1995 Session. 
• Bonding repealed.

1995 Session. 
• Microbrew pubs became subject to new licensing 

requirements.

1999 Session. 
• Establish penalties for the shipping of out-of-state sales 

of alcoholic beverages from an out-of-state location 
directly to a person in North Dakota who is not a 
wholesaler.

2001 Session. 
• The wholesale alcoholic beverage administration was 

transferred from the state treasurer to the state tax 
commissioner effective July 1, 2001.  

• Effective August 1, 2001, direct shippers of alcoholic 
beverages and farm wineries are required to obtain 
annual licenses and pay the wholesaler and applicable 
retailer taxes to the state tax commissioner.

2003 Session. 
• The alcoholic beverages law was amended to replace 

"farm winery" with "domestic winery."
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2005 Session. 
• Suppliers became subject to new licensing 

requirements.  
• Brand registration requirements were repealed.  
• Thresholds for point-of-sale and dispensing equipment 

provided by wholesalers to retailers were increased. 
• The percentage volume of North Dakota produced 

ingredients that must be included in wine produced by a 
domestic winery was defi ned.

2007 Session.
• Container capacity was defi ned for “bottle or can” and 

bulk sales.  
• The reciprocity with other states with regard to wine 

sales was repealed.  
• Direct shipments to consumers inside or outside of the 

state are allowed by domestic wineries. 
• Domestic winery reporting requirements were defi ned.  

The revocation of a suppliers license is provided for 
failure to comply with reporting requirements.

2009 Session.
• Domestic distilleries required to obtain annual license 

and pay the wholesaler and applicable retailer taxes to 
the State Tax Commissioner.  

• Tax rate on sparkling wine reduced to $.50 per wine 
gallon.  

• Updated obsolete law references for microbrew pubs 
and referenced monthly tax reporting by microbrew 
pubs.

 Liquor and Beer Taxes
 Collections

 Fiscal Year Total Collections
 2000  5,420,486
 2001 5,455,921
 2002 5,493,783
 2003 5,662,052
 2004 5,910,349
 2005 5,979,513
 2006 6,340,589
 2007 6,478,280
 2008 6,959,464
 2009  7,208,645
 2010  7,411,422
 2011 est. 7,333,000

SOURCE: Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner. 
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Comparison of State Tax Rates - Beer
January 1, 2010

* Sales tax is applied to on-premise sales only.

SOURCE: Federation of Tax Administrators, March 2010.

Sales Taxes
AppliedState

State Rate
on Beer

($ per gallon) Other Taxes
Alabama $0.53 Yes  $0.52/gallon local tax
Alaska 1.07 n.a.
Arizona 0.16 Yes
Arkansas 0.23 Yes  3% off- and 10% on-premise tax
California 0.20 Yes
Colorado 0.08 Yes
Connecticut 0.19 Yes
Delaware 0.16 n.a.
Florida 0.48 Yes  $2.67¢/12 ounces on-premise retail tax
Georgia 0.32 Yes  $0.53/gallon local tax
Hawaii 0.93 Yes  $0.54/gallon draft beer
Idaho 0.15 Yes  over 4% - $0.45/gallon
Illinois 0.235 Yes  $0.29/gallon in Chicago and $0.06/gallon in Cook County
Indiana 0.115 Yes
Iowa 0.19 Yes
Kansas 0.18 --  over 3.2% - (8% off- and 10% on-premise), under 3.2% - 4.25% sales tax
Kentucky 0.08 Yes * 11% wholesale tax
Louisiana 0.32 Yes  $0.048/gallon local tax
Maine 0.35 Yes  additional 5% on-premise tax
Maryland 0.09 Yes  $0.2333/gallon in Garrett County
Massachusetts 0.11 Yes * 0.57% on private club sales
Michigan 0.20 Yes 
Minnesota 0.15 --  under 3.2% - $0.077/gallon.  9% sales tax
Mississippi 0.4268 Yes
Missouri 0.06 Yes
Montana 0.14 n.a.
Nebraska 0.31 Yes
Nevada 0.16 Yes
New Hampshire 0.30 n.a.
New Jersey 0.12 Yes
New Mexico 0.41 Yes
New York 0.14 Yes  $0.12/gallon in New York City
North Carolina 0.53 Yes
NORTH DAKOTA 0.16 --  7% state sales tax, bulk beer $0.08/gallon
Ohio 0.18 Yes
Oklahoma 0.40 Yes  under 3.2% - $0.36/gallon; and 13.5% on-premise
Oregon 0.08 n.a.
Pennsylvania 0.08 Yes
Rhode Island 0.10 Yes  $0.04/case wholesale tax
South Carolina 0.77 Yes
South Dakota 0.27 Yes
Tennessee 0.14 Yes  17% wholesale tax
Texas 0.20 Yes  14% - on-premise and $0.05/drink on airline sales
Utah 0.41 Yes  over 3.2% - sold through state store
Vermont 0.265 Yes  6% to 8% alcohol - $0.55; 10% on-premise sales tax
Virginia 0.26 Yes
Washington 0.261 Yes
West Virginia 0.18 Yes
Wisconsin 0.06 Yes
Wyoming 0.02 Yes
District of Columbia 0.09 Yes  8% off- and 10% on-premise sales tax
U.S. (median) $0.190
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Comparison of State Tax Rates - Wine
January 1, 2010

Alabama $1.70  Yes  Over 14% - sold through state store
Alaska 2.50  n.a
Arizona 0.84  Yes
Arkansas 0.75  Yes  under 5% - $0.25/gallon; $0.05/case; and 3% off- and 10% on-premise
California 0.20  Yes  sparkling wine - $0.30/gallon
Colorado 0.28  Yes
Connecticut 0.60  Yes  over 21% and sparkling wine - $1.50/gallon
Delaware 0.97  n.a.
Florida 2.25  Yes  over 17.259% - $3.00/gallon, sparkling wine $3.50/gallon
        $6.67¢/4 ounces on-premise retail tax
Georgia 1.51  Yes  over 14% - $2.54/gallon; $0.83/gallon local tax
Hawaii 1.38  Yes  Sparkling wine - $2.12/gallon and wine coolers - $0.85/gallon
Idaho 0.45  Yes
Illinois 1.39  Yes  over 20% - $8.55/gallon;
        $0.36/gallon in Chicago and ($0.16-$0.30)/gallon in Cook County
Indiana 0.47  Yes  over 21% - $2.68/gallon
Iowa 1.75  Yes  under 5% - $0.19/gallon
Kansas 0.30  No  over 14% - $0.75/gallon; 8% off- and 10% on-premise
Kentucky 0.50  Yes * 11% wholesale
Louisiana 0.11  Yes  14% to 24% - $0.23/gallon, over 24% and sparkling wine - $1.59/gallon
Maine 0.60  Yes  over 15.5%-sold through state stores, sparkling wine - $1.25/gallon
        additional 5% on-premise sales tax
Maryland 0.40  Yes
Massachusetts 0.55  Yes  sparkling wine - $0.70/gallon
Michigan 0.51  Yes  over 16% - $0.76/gallon
Minnesota 0.30  --  14% to 21% - $0.95/gallon, under 24% and sparkling wine - $1.82/gallon; 
        over 24% - $3.52/gallon; $0.01/bottle (except miniatures) and 9% sales tax
Mississippi 0.35  Yes  over 14% and sparkling wine - sold through the state
Missouri 0.30  Yes
Montana 1.06  n.a.  over 16% - sold through state stores; 7% surtax
Nebraska 0.95  Yes  
Nevada 0.70  Yes  14% to 22% - $1.30/gallon, over 22% - $3.60/gallon
New Hampshire see footnote (1) n.a.
New Jersey 0.875  Yes
New Mexico 1.70  Yes  over 14% - $5.68/gallon
New York 0.30  Yes 
North Carolina 0.79  Yes  over 17% - $0.91/gallon
NORTH DAKOTA 0.50  --  over 17% - $0.60/gallon, sparkling wine - $0.50/gallon; 7% state sales tax
Ohio 0.30  Yes  over 14% - $0.98/gallon, vermouth - $1.08/gallon and sparkling wine - $1.48/gallon; 
        an additional $0.2/gallon tax on all wines
Oklahoma 0.72  Yes  over 14% - $1.40/gallon, sparkling wine - $2.08/gallon; $1.00/bottle on-premise
        and 13.5% on-premise
Oregon 0.67  n.a.  over 14% - $0.77/gallon
Pennsylvania see footnote (1) Yes 
Rhode Island 0.60  Yes  sparkling wine - $0.75/gallon
South Carolina 0.90  Yes  $0.18/gallon additional tax
South Dakota 0.93  Yes  14% to 20% - $1.45/gallon; over 21% and sparkling wine - $2.07/gallon; 2% wholesale
        tax
Tennessee 1.21  Yes  $0.15/case and 15% on-premise
Texas 0.20  Yes  over 14% - $0.408/gallon and sparkling wine - $0.516/gallon
        14% on-premise and $0.05/drink on airline sales
Utah see footnote (1) Yes
Vermont 0.55  Yes  over 16% - sold through state store, 10% on-premise sales tax
Virginia 1.51  Yes  under 4% - $0.2565/gallon and over 14% - sold through state store
Washington 0.87  Yes  over 14% - $1.72/gallon
West Virginia 1.00  Yes  5% local tax
Wisconsin 0.25  Yes  over 14% - $0.45/gallon
Wyoming see footnote (1) Yes
District of Columbia 0.30  Yes  8% off- and 9% on-premise sales tax, over 14% - $0.40/gallon and sparkling -
        $0.45/gallon
U.S. (median) 0.67
(1)     All wine sales are through state stores.  Revenue in these states is generated from various taxes, fees and net profi ts.
* Sales tax is applied to on-premise sales only.
SOURCE:  Federation of Tax Administrators, February 2010.
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Alabama see footnote (1) Yes
Alaska $12.80  n.a.  under 21% - $2.50/gallon
Arizona 3.00  Yes
Arkansas   Yes  under 5% - $0.50/gallon, under 21% - $1.00/gallon; $0.20/case and 3% off- 
     14% on-premise retail taxes
California 3.30  Yes  over 50% - $6.60/gallon
Colorado 2.28  Yes
Connecticut 4.50  Yes  under 7% - $2.05/gallon
Delaware 5.46  n.a.  under 25% - $3.64/gallon
Florida 6.50  Yes  under 17.259% - $2.25/gallon, over 55.780% - $9.53/gallon     
     $6.67¢/ounce on-premise retail tax
Georgia 3.79  Yes  $0.83/gallon local tax
Hawaii 5.98  Yes 
Idaho see footnote (1) Yes
Illinois 8.55  Yes  under 20% - $1.39/gallon;        
     $2.68/gallon in Chicago and $2.00/gallon in Cook County
Indiana 2.68  Yes  under 15% - $0.47/gallon
Iowa see footnote (1) Yes
Kansas 2.50  No  8% off- and 10% on-premise retail tax
Kentucky  1.92  Yes * under 6% - $0.25/gallon; $0.05/case and 11% wholesale tax
Louisiana 2.50  Yes  under 6% - $0.32/gallon
Maine see footnote (1) Yes
Maryland 1.50  Yes 
Massachusetts 4.05  Yes  under 15% - $1.10/gallon; over 50% alcohol - $4.05/proof gallon;
     0.57% on private club sales
Michigan see footnote 1) Yes
Minnesota 5.03  --  $0.01/bottle (except miniatures) and 9% sales tax
Mississippi see footnote (1) Yes
Missouri 2.00  Yes
Montana see footnote (1) n.a.
Nebraska 3.75  Yes
Nevada 3.60  Yes  under 14% - $0.70/gallon and under 21% - $1.30/gallon
New Hampshire see footnote (1) n.a.
New Jersey 5.50  Yes
New Mexico 6.06  Yes 
New York 6.44  Yes  under 24% - $2.54/gallon; $1.00/gallon in New York City
North Carolina see footnote (1) Yes  *
NORTH DAKOTA 2.50  --  7% state sales tax
Ohio see footnote (1) Yes
Oklahoma 5.56  Yes  13.5% on-premise
Oregon see footnote (1)  n.a.
Pennsylvania see footnote (1) Yes
Rhode Island 3.75  Yes
South Carolina 2.72  Yes  $5.36/case and 9% surtax; additional 5% on-premise tax
South Dakota 3.93  Yes  under 14% - $0.93/gallon, 2% wholesale tax
Tennessee 4.40  Yes  $0.15/case and 15% on-premise; under 7% - $1.10/gallon
Texas 2.40  Yes  14% on-premise and $0.05/drink on airline sales
Utah see footnote (1) Yes 
Vermont see footnote (1) No  10% on-premise sales tax
Virginia see footnote (1) Yes
Washington  see footnote  (1) Yes *
West Virginia see footnote (1) Yes
Wisconsin 3.25  Yes
Wyoming see footnote (1) Yes

District of Columbia 1.50    Yes  8%  off- and 10% on-premise sales tax
U.S. (median) $3.75 

(1) In 18 states, the government directly controls the sales of distilled spirits.  Revenue in these states is generated from various 
taxes, fees, and net liquor profi ts.

* Sales tax is applied to on-premise sales only.

SOURCE:       Federation of Tax Administrators, February 2010.
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CURRENT LAW

On November 5, 2002, North Dakota citizens approved 
a constitutional amendment that enabled the state to 
participate in multi-state lottery games.  The 2003 
Legislative Assembly passed House Bill No. 1243 that 
became law on April 4, 2003.  This law, Chapter 53-12.1 
of the North Dakota Century Code, created the North 
Dakota Lottery as a division within the Offi ce of Attorney 
General.  The law restricts the Lottery to multi-state online 
games.  The administrative rules, Chapter 10-16 of the 
North Dakota Administrative Code, address general rules, 
retailer, conduct and play, and game rules.

Scope of Operation

The North Dakota Lottery is responsible for administering, 
regulating, enforcing, and promoting the state's lottery.

The Lottery selects and licenses retailers; trains employees 
of retailers to use lottery terminals and sell and redeem 
tickets; develops administrative rules and proposes laws; 
investigates allegations of unlawful activity; assists 
retailers in promoting lottery games; pays high-tier prizes 
to players; ensures that retailers and players comply with 
the lottery law and rules; and provides full accountability 
to the public and Legislature.

Lottery Advisory Commission

The Attorney General and Chairman of the Legislative 
Council appointed a fi ve-member Lottery Advisory 
Commission.  The Commission serves as a policy advisory 
to the Attorney General and director of the Lottery 
and serves as the Audit Committee of the Lottery.  The 
Commission oversees the general operation of the Lottery 
and is consulted on all substantive Lottery policies, 
plans, issues, contracts, timelines, and activities.  The 
Commission meets at least on a quarterly basis.

Product Mix

The North Dakota Lottery conducts the games of 
Powerball®, Hot Lotto®, Wild Card 2®, and 2by2®.  
Powerball was launched on March 25, 2004, Hot Lotto on 
June 24, 2004, Wild Card 2 on September 23, 2004, and 
2by2 on February 2, 2006.  These games have a range of 
minimum jackpots of $22,000 to $20 million, and a range 
of odds of winning on a $1 play of 1:3.59 to 1:35.11.

The Lottery launched a Give-A-Gift Certifi cate service on 
December 1, 2004, to provide players an opportunity to 
purchase lottery gift certifi cates in values of $1, $5, $10, 
and $20 to give as gifts to family members and friends for 
special occasions.  The certifi cates are printed on lottery 
terminals, have no expiration date, and may be redeemed 
for lottery tickets at any Lottery retailer.

The Lottery launched a Subscription service on 
November 1, 2005, to provide players an opportunity to 
prepay and be automatically entered into draws for 13, 26, 
or 52 weeks.  Subscriptions are available for Powerball®, 
Hot Lotto®, Wild Card 2®, and 2by2® and can be applied 
for directly online through the Internet.  Subscriptions 
are a convenience for players who cannot always get to 
a Lottery retailer before every drawing or who travel to 
another state on vacation during winter months or as gifts.

Retailers

As of June 30, 2009, the Lottery had 400 licensed lottery 
retailers located in 126 towns and cities throughout 52 
counties.  

Debt Setoff

The Lottery has established a debt setoff program in 
which a lottery prize of $600 or more is used to setoff 
a delinquent debt owed to any state agency or collected 
through a state agency on behalf of a third party.

NORTH DAKOTA LOTTERY
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 FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009
 

Ticket Sales $ 19,127,290 $ 22,328,353 $ 22,641,454 $ 22,123,185 $ 21,724,891
Total Prizes $ 9,085,551 $ 11,044,222 $ 11,289,566 $ 11,364,206 $ 11,314,963
Retailer Commissions $ 956,365 $ 1,116,458 $ 1,124,773 $ 1,089,323 $ 1,063,243
Retailer Bonuses N/A  $ 41,250 $ 40,000 $ 55,500 $ 40,250

 Transfers 2003-05 Biennium 2005-07 Biennium 2007-09 Biennium

 Compulsive Gambling Fund $ 400,000 $ 400,000 $ 400,000

 State General Fund $ 7,269,005 $ 12,600,000 $ 11,055,000

 Multi-Jurisdictional Drug
 Task Force Grant Fund     $ 845,000

Financial Data

SOURCE:  North Dakota Lottery
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CURRENT LAW

Oil And Gas Gross Production Tax

Imposition and Rates

The oil and gas gross production tax is imposed in lieu of 
property taxes on oil and gas producing properties.

Oil.  A 5% rate is applied to the gross value at the well of 
all oil produced, except royalty interest in oil produced 
from a state, federal or municipal holding and from 
an interest held by an organized Indian tribe. Both the 
producer and purchaser of the oil are required to submit 
reports to the Tax Commissioner on a monthly basis.  The 
reports show the volume and taxable value of sales of the 
production from each well.  The producer remits the tax 
on oil not sold at the well.  The purchaser is primarily 
responsible for remitting the tax on oil bought during 
a production month.  The Tax Commissioner has the 
authority to waive a producer's fi ling requirement if certain 
conditions are met.  Purchasers are required to fi le monthly 
reports electronically.

Gas.  The gross production tax on gas is an annually 
adjusted fl at rate per thousand cubic feet (mcf) of all 
nonexempt gas produced in the state.  The annual 
adjustments are made according to the average producer 
price index for gas fuels.  Rates through June 30, 2011 are 
as follows:

 Time Period Tax Rate
 July 1, 2008 - June 30, 2009 $.1476
 July 1, 2009 - June 30, 2010 $.1831
 July 1, 2010 - June 30, 2011 $.0914

Exempt from the tax is gas used on the lease for 
production purposes and the royalty interest in gas 
produced from a state, federal or municipal holding and 
from an interest held by an organized Indian tribe.

Shallow gas produced during the fi rst 24 months of 
production from and after the fi rst date of sales from a 
shallow gas zone, is exempt from gross production tax.

Gas.
• Gas, that would otherwise be fl ared, is exempt from the 

gross production tax when it is used in a generation unit 
producing electricity for use on site.

Monthly reports to the Tax Commissioner are required 
from both the producer and the purchaser/processor of 
the gas.  The producer remits the tax on unpro cessed gas 
and the purchaser/processor remits the tax on processed 
gas.  The Tax Commissioner has the authority to waive a 
producer's fi ling requirement if certain conditions are met.  
Purchasers/processors are required to fi le monthly reports 
electronically.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the gross production tax is distributed under 
the following formula:  
• One-fi fth is deposited with the State Treasur er.  Of 

this portion, 33 1/3% is allocated to the Oil and Gas 
Impact Grant Fund, up to a maxi mum of $8 million per 
biennium.  The re mainder of this portion is credited to 
the State General Fund.

• Four-fi fths is allocated between the State General Fund 
and the producing county according to the following 
formula:

 Revenue County State
 Up to $2 million 100% 0%
 $2 to $3 million 75% 25%
 $3 to $4 million 50% 50%
 $4 to $18 million 25% 75%
 Over $18 million 10% 90%

Tax revenue distributed to a county is further split with 
45% earmarked for the county general fund, 35% for 
the school districts within the county, and 20% to the 
incorporated cities within the county.  However, an 
allocation to a county that does not levy at least ten mills 
for combined transportation purposes must be credited 
to the State General Fund.  County school allocations are 
split between the school and the County Infrastructure 
Fund based on allocation steps, allocation limits, and the 
county population.  City allocations are limited to $750 per 
person.

OIL AND GAS TAXES
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For allocation of amounts in excess of $5.35 million the 
school share is for deposit in the county infrastructure 
fund.  The county infrastructure fund distributions are 
split with 45% earmarked for the county general fund, 
35% for the benefi t of townships, and 20% to cities that 
have not reached the $750 limit per person cap.  The funds 
for the benefi t of townships is allocated on a grant basis 
by the board of county commissioners on the basis of 
applications submitted by townships and schools for the 
repair or replacement of vehicles due to travel on oil and 
gas impacted roads.  Organized townships are not eligible 
for funds unless they have levied at least 10 mills for 
combined transportation purposes.

Oil Extraction Tax

Imposition and Rates

The oil extraction tax is levied on the extraction of oil 
from the earth.  The tax rate is 6½% of the gross value at 
the well of crude oil.  However, the rate is reduced to 4% 
for oil produced from the following:
• A vertical or horizontal new well, after the appropriate 

exemption expires.
• A workover well after the exemption expires.
• Incremental oil from a qualifying sec ondary or tertiary 

recovery project, after the 5-year or 10-year exemption 
expires.

• Nonincremental oil from a qualifying second ary 
recovery project that has reached an aver age production 
level of at least 25% over normal operations for six 
consecutive months.

• Nonincremental oil from a qualifying tertiary recovery 
project that has reached a production level of at 
least 15% over normal operations for one month and 
continues to be operated as a qualifying project.

A qualifying secondary recovery project is a unit that 
uses water fl ooding and is certifi ed by the North Dakota 
Industrial Commission.  A qualifying tertiary recovery 
project is a unit that uses an enhanced recovery method 
which conforms with federal tax code provisions and is 
certifi ed by the North Dakota Industrial Commission.

The rate is reduced to 2% for the fi rst 75 thousand 
barrels or the fi rst $4.5 million of gross value at the 
well whichever is less during the fi rst 18 months after 
completion of a horizontal well drilled and completed after 
April 30, 2009.  The rate reduction is effective the month 
following a month in which the average price of a barrel 
of crude is less than $55.  The rate reduction becomes 
ineffective the month following a month in which the 
average price of a barrel of crude exceeds $70.

The oil extraction tax is paid monthly with the gross 
production tax on a combined reporting form.

Exemptions

To receive the full benefi t of an exemption, the 4% 
reduced rate, or the 2% reduced rate, a producer must fi le 
the Industrial Commission’s certifi cation of well status 
with the Tax Commissioner within 18 months of the fi rst 
day of eligibility.  If the producer does not fi le within 
the 18-month period, then the exemption or reduced rate 
begins the fi rst day of the month in which the certifi cation 
is received by the Tax Commissioner.

The exemptions to the oil extraction tax are as follows:
• Royalty interest in oil extracted from a state, federal or 

municipal holding and from a Native American holding 
within the boundary of a reserva tion.

• Oil extracted from a certifi ed stripper well property.  A 
stripper well property is property whose average daily 
production during a 12-month period did not exceed 
10 barrels per day for a well of a depth of 6,000 feet or 
less, 15 barrels per day for a well of a depth of more 
than 6,000 feet but not more than 10,000 feet, and 
30 barrels per day for a well of a depth of more than 
10,000 feet.

• Oil produced during the fi rst 15 months of production 
from a vertical new well.  This exemption is sub ject to 
the “trigger” provisions described below.

• Oil produced during the fi rst 24 months of production 
from a horizontal new well.  The exemption is subject 
to the “trigger” provisions described below.

• Oil produced during the fi rst 60 months of production 
from either a vertical new well or a horizontal new well 
drilled and completed on tribal trust land.

• Oil produced from a horizontal reentry well for a 
period of 9 months beginning on the date the well is 
recompleted as a horizontal well.  The exemption is 
subject to the “trigger provisions” described below.

• Oil produced from a two-year inactive well for a period 
of ten years beginning the fi rst day of the month in 
which the Industrial Commission’s certifi cation is 
received by the Tax Commissioner.  The exemption is 
subject to the “trigger provisions” described below.

• Oil produced from a qualifying well that has been 
worked over.  The exemp tion is for a 12-month period 
starting with the fi rst day of the third month after 
completion of the workover project.  A qualifying well 
is a well that has produced less than 50 barrels per day 
during the last six months of continuous pro duction 
before workover.  The well operator must notify the 
Industrial Commission before beginning the project.  
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Project cost must exceed $65,000 or production must 
increase 50% or more in the fi rst two months after 
project completion.  The exemption is subject to the 
“trigger” provisions described below.

• Oil produced from a two-year inactive well for a period 
of ten years after being recompleted or returned to 
production.  The exemption is subject to the "trigger 
provisions" described below.

• Incremental oil from a qualifying sec ondary or tertiary 
recovery project.  The exemption is 5 years for sec ond-
ary recovery projects and 10 years for tertiary recovery 
projects from the date the incremental production 
begins.

“Trigger” Provisions

The reduced rate provisions for new wells,  horizontal 
wells, horizontal reentry wells, two-year inactive wells, 
workover wells, and enhanced recovery wells are 
ineffective if the average price of a barrel of crude oil 
exceeds the trigger price (thirty-fi ve dollars and fi fty cents, 
as indexed for infl ation) for each month in any consecutive 
fi ve-month period.  Except for incremental oil produced 
from enhanced recovery wells, exemptions for the above 
wells also become ineffective if the average price of a 
barrel of crude exceeds the trigger price for the same 
consecutive fi ve-month period.  The reduced rates and 
exemp tions are reinstated if the average price falls below 
the trigger price for each month in any consecutive fi ve-
month period.

The Tax Commissioner has determined that the tax 
incentives subject to the trigger price became ineffective 
for production periods beginning October 1, 2004, and 
until such time as the statutory provisions for reinstatement 
are met.

The trigger price effective for calendar years through 
December 31, 2010 are as follows:

 Time Period Trigger Price
 Jan. 1, 2008 - Dec. 31, 2008 $43.92
 Jan. 1, 2009 - Dec. 31, 2009 $47.66
 Jan. 1, 2010 - Dec. 31, 2010 $46.79

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the oil extraction tax is distributed as 
follows:
• 60% to the State General Fund.
• 20% divided equally between the Common Schools 

Trust Fund and Foundation Aid Stabilization Fund.

• 20% to the Southwest Water Pipeline Sinking Fund 
and to a Resources Trust Fund.  Princi pal and income 
from the Resources Trust Fund may be expended only 
pursuant to legis lative appropriation and are available 
for water and certain energy related projects.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Oil And Gas Gross Production Tax

Signifi cant Changes In Law

1953 Session.  
• The gross production tax was imposed at a rate of 4¼% 

of gross value at the well.

1957 Session.  
• The rate was increased from 4¼% to 5% and the 

revenue distribution formula was adjusted.

1981 Session.  
• The revenue distribution formula was amended.

1983 Session.  
• Monthly rather than quarterly remittance was required, 

and the maximum distributions to the counties was 
increased.

1985 Session.  
• Oil reclaimed from tank bottoms and pit oil material has 

value for tax purposes only if a cash price is paid by the 
oil reclaimer.

1989 Session.  
• The law was changed to specifi cally state the gross 

production tax is a real property tax.  
• The revenue distribution formula was amended, 

effective July 1, 1991 to allocate 33 1/3 % of the fi rst 
one-fi fth portion to the Oil and Gas Impact Grant Fund.

1991 Session.  
• The tax on gas was changed from 5% of gross value to 

an annually adjusted fl at rate per mcf. Procedures were 
provided for determining gross value at the well of oil 
under arm’s length and non-arm’s length contracts. 

• The legislature approved the Taxpayer Bill of Rights.

1993 Session.  
• The interest accrual period was changed on tax refunds 

for periods after June 30, 1993. Interest begins to accrue 
60 days after the due date of the return, after the return 
was fi led, or after the tax was fully paid, whichever 
occurs later. 
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• Tax from undetermined sources will be allocated 
between the State General Fund and the county that 
received the least amount of revenue during the fi scal 
year. 

1997 Session.  
• The periods for assessment or refund run from the due 

date of the original return or the date the original return 
was fi led whichever is later.  The Tax Commissioner has 
two years after an amended return is fi led to audit that 
return and assess any additional tax that is due.  

• The Tax Commissioner has authority to require 
purchasers to fi le monthly reports by electronic data 
interchange or other form of electronic media and can 
waive the producer's requirement to fi le a monthly 
return.  

• Legislation passed that authorized the use of 
alternative methods for signing, subscribing, or 
verifying a return fi led by electronic means, including 
telecommunications.  

• A permanent oil tax trust fund was established for 
the deposit of oil extraction and gross production tax 
revenues, which exceed specifi c amounts in a biennium.

1999 Session.  
• The legislature changed the manner in which 

unallocated oil and gas gross production taxes collected 
from unidentifi ed sources is distributed.  Previously, the 
unallocated taxes were distributed to the county with 
the lowest total gross production tax distribution for the 
fi scal year.  After June 30, 1999, the unallocated taxes 
are distributed to each county in the same proportion as 
total gross production tax allocations for the fi scal year.

2003 Session.  
• An oil and gas research council was created and an oil 

and gas research fund was established with a continuing 
appropriation provided.  

• A temporary exemption from gross production tax was 
provided for gas produced from shallow gas wells with 
an expiration date of June 30, 2007.

2007 Session.
• The expiration date for the gross production tax 

exemption for shallow gas wells was eliminated.  
• The distribution formulas for the county share of 

gross production tax was increased to 100% of the 
fi rst million, 75% of the second million, 50% of the 
third million, and 25% for amounts over $3 million.  A 
county may receive $1 million in addition to the amount 
of the cap if during the fi scal year the county levies a 
total of at least 10 mills for road and bridge purposes.

 

2009 Session.  
• Increased the distribution of GPT to counties and cities.
• Created an infrastructure fund for distribution to 

townships with impact.
• Required counties and townships to levy 10 mills for 

road purposes.
• Required counties and townships to submit annual 

reports providing information on use of revenue 
received for transportation purposes.

• Provided for an exemption from GPT for gas that would 
otherwise be fl ared when it is used in a generation unit 
producing electricity for use on site or for sale.

Oil Extraction Tax

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1980 Initiated Measure.  
• Voters in the 1980 General Election passed an initiated 

measure creating the 6½% oil extraction tax.  
• The revenue distribution formula was: 45% to the State 

General Fund, 45% to schools, and 10% to the trust 
fund.  

• The measure also included an individual income tax 
energy cost relief credit.

1981 Session.  
• The legislature amended the distribution formula.

1983 Session.  
• The distribution formula was changed.  
• Filing requirements were changed from a quarterly to a 

monthly basis.

1987 Session.  
• An exemption for the fi rst 15 months of production 

from a new well (drilled and completed after April 27, 
1987) was provided.  

• The rate was reduced from 6½% to 4% for a new well 
after the 15-month exemption and for production from 
a qualifying secondary or tertiary recovery project well.  
These incentives would be eliminated if the average 
crude oil price is $33 or more per barrel.  

• The legislature repealed the exemption for private 
royalty interest and expanded the stripper well 
defi nition to allow more marginal wells to qualify for 
an exemption.

1989 Session.  
• A 12-month exemption was provided for production 

from a qualifying well after completion of a workover 
project.  This incentive is subject to the “trigger.”
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1991 Session.  
• An exemption was created for incremental oil from a 

qualifying secondary or tertiary recovery project.  
• A June 30, 1995 sunset was placed on certifi cation of 

secondary projects.  After the expiration of the exempt 
period, the incremental oil would be eligible for the 4% 
reduced rate.  The reduced rate incentive is subject to 
the “trigger.”  

• The “trigger” was amended to reinstate the reduced 
rates and exemptions if the average crude oil price falls 
below $33 per barrel. 

1993 Session.  
• The workover exemption was amended to eliminate the 

$30,000 minimum project cost requirement and a 4% 
reduced rate was adopted for oil produced from wells 
that receive the workover exemption after June 30, 
1993.

1995 Session.  
• The stripper well defi nition was broadened from 20 to 

30 barrels per day for wells over 10,000 feet deep.  
• The exemption for a horizontal new well was increased 

from 15 to 24 months and a 9-month exemption was 
created for a horizontal reentry well.  

• A 10-year exemption was created for oil from a 
two-year inactive well.  To get the full benefi t of 
an exemption or the 4% reduced rate, producers 
were given an 18-month period to fi le the Industrial 
Commission’s certifi cation of well status with the Tax 
Commissioner.  

• For secondary recovery projects, the sunset for 
certifi cation was removed. 

• The revenue distribution formula was changed.

1997 Session.  
• A 60-month exemption was created for production from 

a well drilled and completed on an Indian reservation or 
on tribal trust land after July 31, 1997.  

• Previous legislation was amended to keep the current 
distribution factors at the current percentages.

2001 Session.  
• The "trigger" provision for exemptions and rate 

reductions was amended to clarify when the trigger 
was to be become effective.  All rate reductions and 
exemptions subject to the trigger provision become 
ineffective if the average price of a barrel of crude 
oil exceeds the trigger price for each month in any 
consecutive fi ve-month period.  The reduced rates 
and exemptions are reinstated if the average price 
falls below the trigger price for each month in any 
consecutive fi ve-month period.  Average price is defi ned 
as the monthly average of the daily closing price for 

a barrel of west Texas intermediate Cushing crude 
oil minus two dollars and fi fty cents.  Trigger price is 
defi ned as thirty-fi ve dollars and fi fty cents, as indexed 
for infl ation.

2003 Session.  
• An oil and gas research council was created and an oil 

and gas research fund was established with a continuing 
appropriation provided.  

• A temporary exemption from gross production tax was 
provided for gas produced from shallow gas wells with 
an expiration date of June 30, 2007.  

• The two-year inactive well exemption was amended to 
clarify the defi nition of a two-year inactive well and to 
provide an 18 month provision to qualify the well for an 
exemption to be consistent with other oil extraction tax 
exemptions.  

• The work-over well exemption was amended to remove 
the requirement that a notice of intention must be fi led 
before a work-over project is commenced to qualify for 
an exemption.

2005 Session.  
• The legislature provided for a sales and use tax 

exemption for carbon dioxide used for the enhanced 
recovery of oil or natural gas.

2007 Session.
• The legislature provided for an oil extraction tax rate 

reduction to 2% for the fi rst 75 thousand barrels of oil 
produced during the fi rst 18 months after completion 
from a well drilled and completed in the Bakken 
formation after June 30, 2007, and before July 1, 2008.

• The expiration date for the gross production tax 
exemption for shallow gas wells was eliminated.  

• The distribution formulas for the county share of 
gross production tax was increased to 100% of the 
fi rst million, 75% of the second million, 50% of the 
third million, and 25% for amounts over $3 million.  A 
county may receive $1 million in addition to the amount 
of the cap if during the fi scal year the county levies a 
total of at least 10 mills for road and bridge purposes.  

• The Governor, in consultation with the Tax 
Commissioner, is authorized to enter into agreements 
with the Three Affi liated Tribes relating to taxation and 
regulation of oil and gas exploration and production 
within the boundaries of the Fort Berthold Reservation.

2009 Session.
• Provided an incentive with a reduced OET rate of 2% 

for horizontal wells drilled when the average price of oil 
is below $55.

• Rate increased to full rate of 6.5% when average price 
is above $70.
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Oil Extraction Tax

 State General Fund Education Funds Water Pipeline & Trust Fund

 1980 Measure #6 45%  45% 10%
 1981 Session 30%  60% 10%
 1983 Session 90%  10%
 1995 Session:
  FY 1996 and 1997 60%  20% 20%
  After FY 1997 70%  20% 10%
 1997 Session:
  After FY 1997 60%  (1) 20% 20%

 (1) Total oil collections to the State general fund are capped at $71 million per biennium.  All revenue in excess of $71 million is 
transferred at the end of each biennium to the Permanent Oil Trust Fund.

}

Oil and Gas Taxes Distribution Formula Changes

Gross Production Tax

 State Counties Maximum County 

   Oil & Gas    Road   County Population
   Impact Total   and   3,000
  General Grant County  School Bridge General Under to Over
 Increments Fund Fund % Cities Districts Fund Fund 3,000 6,000 6,000

 1957 Session First 1/5:  ........................  100%
  Remaining 4/5:
  1st $200,000 ................  25%   75%
  2nd $200,000 ..............  50%   50% 15% 45% 40%
  3rd $400,000 ...............  75%   25%

 1981 Session First 1/5:  ........................  100% (1)

  Remaining 4/5:           FY-1982
  1st $ Million ................  25%   75%     $3.2 M $3.5 M $4.0 M
  2nd $ Million ..............  50%   50% 20% 35%  45%  FY-1983
  Over $2 Million ..........  75%   25%     $3.8 M $4.0 M  $4.5 M
 1983 Session           $3.9 M $4.1 M $4.6 M

 1989 Session First 1/5: 66 2/3% (3) 33 1/3% (2)   

 2007 Session First 1/5:  ........................  66 2/3% 33 1/3% 

  Remaining 4/5:           FY-1982

  1st $ Million ................  0%   100% 20% 35%  45% $3.9 M $4.1 M $4.6 M (4)

  2nd $ Million ..............  25%   75%
  3rd $ Million ...............  50%   50%
  Over $3 Million ..........  75%   25%
 2009 Session First 1/5:  ........................  66 2/3% 33 1/3% 

  Remaining 4/5:
  1st $2 Million ..............  0%   100% 20% 35%  45%
  $2 - $3 Million ............  25%   75%
  $3 - $4 Million ............  50%   50%
  $4 - $18 Million ..........  75%   25%
  Over $18 Million ........  90%   10%

 (1) For the 1981-83 biennium only, the legislature provided that up to $32 million of the 1/5 State General Fund share be distributed to the Highway 
Tax Distribution Fund and to township road and bridge funds.

 (2) Up to a maximum of $8 million per biennium. The remainder is deposited in the State General Fund.
 (3) Total oil collections to the State general fund are capped at $71 million per biennium.  All revenue in excess of $71 million is transferred at the 

end of each biennium to the Permanent Oil Trust Fund.  

}

}

}
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Oil and Gas Gross Production Tax Revenue

  Total State
 Fiscal Year Net Collections General Fund

 2000 38,041,008 21,062,999
 2001 46,029,027 17,370,366
 2002 36,515,072 20,530,727
 2003  43,477,533 24,985,793
 2004  47,519,075 28,256,440
 2005  74,046,219 49,629,401
 * 2006  104,378,689 45,774,119
 * 2007  118,782,343 -0-
 * 2008  209,457,069 39,309,315
 * 2009  221,462,334 -0-
 * 2010  302,099,211 32,718,333
 * 2011 est. 428,420,000 -0-

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Comparative Statement of Collections

Oil Extraction Tax Revenue

  Total State
 Fiscal Year Net Collections General Fund

 2000 21,023,977 12,321,301
 2001 24,793,997 10,853,065
 2002 17,068,846 10,466,737
 2003  22,618,069 13,587,968
 2004  25,638,914 15,291,025
 2005  45,566,628 27,301,469
 * 2006  61,767,934 25,225,881
 * 2007  67,187,829 -0-
 * 2008  182,366,018 31,691,685
 * 2009  185,814,920 -0-
 * 2010  280,611,437 38,281,667
 * 2011 est. 410,569,000 -0-

* Oil and Gas Gross Production Tax and Oil Extraction Tax revenues have a statutory cap of $71 million in 
distributions to the State General Fund during the 2005-07, 2007-09, and 2009-11 bienniums.  That cap was reached 
in FY 2006, FY 2008, and FY 2010.

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Comparative Statement of Collections
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Fiscal Years

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Comparative Statement of Collections.

North Dakota Oil StatisticsNorth Dakota Oil Statistics
Monthly Production and Tesoro Field Price for Sweet Crude Monthly Production and Tesoro Field Price for Sweet Crude 

2000-20092000-2009

Price

Trends in Oil and Gas Tax Collections

2001

24.8
46.0

Production

17.1
36.5

22.6
43.5

2002 2003

ProductionProduction
MillionMillion
BarrelsBarrels

100100

9090

8080

7070

6060

50 50 

4040

3030

2020

1010

Price Per Barrel
 $100

 $90

 $80

 $70

 $60

 $50

 $40

 $30

 $20

 $10
Calendar Years 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009

Price 25.78 21.00 21.18 25.97 35.83 51.09 57.86 64.36 89.63 52.36

Production 32.7 31.7 30.8 29.2 31.1 35.5 39.9 45.1 62.7 79.7

Gross Production Tax

Oil Extraction Tax  

2004 2005 2006

25.6
47.5

45.6

74.0

61.8

104.4

2007 2008

67.2

188.0

118.8
209.4

2009 2010

Millions
of Dollars

610

560

510

460

410

360

310

260

210

160

110
60
10

185.8

221.5

280.6

302.1



December 2010
North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner - 73 -

Breakdown of the 4%

State General Fund Oil & Gas Counties
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Oil Taxes in the 14 Major Oil Producing States
September 2010

     Annual Production
     (Million Barrels)
 Severance or Local
 Gross Production Ad Valorem Taxes Misc.
State Tax Rate Effective Rate Taxes Total Taxes 2004 2006 2008

Alaska 0% to 15.0% *  0% - 15.0% 332.5 270.5 249.9

California (1)  1%  1% 240 223.4 214.5

Colorado (2) 2% to 5% 4% to 10% 0.14% 7.14% 22.1 23.4 24.1

Kansas  (3) 4.33% 3.67%  8% 33.9 35.7 39.6

Louisiana 3.125% to 12.5% *  3.125% - 12.5% 83.4 73.9 73

Michigan 4% to 6.6% *  6.6% 6.4 5.1 6.2

Mississippi 0% to 6.0% *  0% - 6.0% 17.2 17.4 22.1

Montana (4) .5% to 14.8%   .5% - 14.8% 24.7 36.3 31.5

New Mexico 0% to 3.75% 1.18% 3.34% 4.52% - 8.27% 64.2 59.8 59.4

NORTH DAKOTA(5) 5.0%, 7.0%, 9.0%, *  5% - 11.5% 31.2 39.9 62.8
 or 11.5%

Oklahoma 0% to 7.0% *  7% 62.3 62.8 64.1

South Dakota 4.5%  .24% 4.74% 1.4 1.4 1.7

Texas (6) 0% to 4.6% 4% to 5% ½ cent 4.0% - 10.% plus 392.9 397.2 398  
   per bbl. ½ cent per bbl.

Utah (6) (7) 0%, 3.0% or 5.0% 4% to 5% 0.2% 0% - 5%% + ad valorem 14.6 17.9 22  
    (4%-5%)

Wyoming 2% to 6.0% 6.7%  8.7% - 12.7% 31.6 52.9 52.9

* Severance (or gross production) tax is in lieu of local property taxes on the oil.

(1) California's statutory tax rate is 1% but is subject to increases based on needs to retire voter approved credit.
(2) Colorado has a 2% to 5% severance tax but allows 87½% of local property taxes as a credit against the tax. Since property taxes average 

about 7% this credit generally eliminates the severance tax liability.
(3) Kansas has an 8.0% severance tax but allows a credit of up to 3.67% for property taxes paid on oil properties. The severance tax is based 

on value.  Actual rate paid after credit is 4.33%.
(4) Montana's tax rates vary based on the type of well, when the well was drilled, and whether the taxpayer has a working or non-working 

interest. A portion of the production tax is allocated back to local governments in lieu of property taxes.
(5) North Dakota, has a gross production tax rate of 5% with no exemptions and oil extraction tax rates of 0.0%, 2.0%, 4.0% and 6.5%.
(6) Texas and Utah have property taxes on oil properties but it was not possible for local authorities to estimate an effective percentage rate.
(7) Utah's severance tax is 3% on the fi rst $13 per barrel and 5% on any amount over $13 per barrel.

SOURCE: Survey of states conducted by North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Oil and Gas Section, September 2010.
 Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission and the Dept. of Energy. 
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Alaska

Effective April 2006, the oil and gas production tax system 
in Alaska changed from a tax on the gross proceeds of 
oil and gas production to a tax on the net proceeds of 
oil and gas production.  Originally called the Petroleum 
Profi ts Tax (PPT), the Alaska legislature made several 
additional changes to the production tax in November 
2007, resulting in the Alaska Clear and Equitable Share 
(ACES) production tax.  The tax is calculated on oil and 
gas producing companies operating in Alaska as follows:

In addition to the production tax, oil production is subject 
to two separate surcharges of 4¢ and 1¢ per barrel.  The 
1¢ per barrel is reactivated when the balance in the 
conservation fund it supports falls below $50 million.  The 
1¢ surcharge was reactivated on April 1, 2007.

Oil reserves are not subject to ad valorem property taxes 
in Alaska, but equipment and physical property used in the 
production of oil and gas are, at a rate of 20 mills, or 2% of 
assessed value.

Incentives.  The oil and gas production tax system offers 
several different types of tax credits to be used against 
the production tax liability (see ACES Tax Liability 

OIL TAXES IN OTHER STATES

ACES Tax Liability = [Value - Costs * Tax 
Rate] - Credits

The terms used in the equation are defi ned as follows:

Value = Volume of Oil and Gas Produced x Wellhead 
Value

Costs = Operating Expenditures + Capital 
Expenditures

Tax Rate = 25% + 0.4% for every $1 per barrel 
that this “net income” exceeds $30, up to $92.50 
net per barrel, at which point the tax rate = 50% 
+ 0.1% for every $1 per barrel increase in net 
income, up to a total tax rate of 75%

Credits = (20% x Capital Expenditures)* + (20% 
x Eligible Transition Expenditures)** + Base 
Allowance

* Spread over two years

** Limited to those credits earned while the PPT was 
in effect and could not be used

calculation above).  Most of these credits may be sold 
or transferred, and they do not expire.  For example, the 
ACES tax offers credits for up to 20% of qualifi ed capital 
expenditures against a tax liability in a given period, and 
credits of up to 30% and 40% for certain exploration-
related capital expenditures.  Credit in the amount of 25% 
of a company's net loss for the period may be redeemed 
under the production tax system.  Companies producing 
less than 50,000 barrels of oil equivalent per day are 
eligible for a tax credit in the amount of $12 million 
annually.

California

California levies ad valorem taxes on real property, 
including mineral properties.  Values are determined and 
assessed at the county governmental level.  The statutory 
tax rate is 1%, but is subject to increases based on needs 
to retire voter approved debt.  In fi scal year 2000-2001 the 
rate varied from 1.000 to 1.166%.  Values are based on 
an adjusted acquisition value or the current market value, 
which ever is lower.  Adjustments to acquisition value are 
made for depletion and increases in reserves and added or 
removed improvements.

There are no statewide severance taxes levied in 
California.  Some local municipalities levee a severance 
tax.  A nominal per barrel fee is collected to fund the 
Department of Conservation, Division of Oil, Gas & 
Geothermal Resources.  

Colorado 

Colorado has a 2% to 5% severance tax but allows 87.5% 
of local property taxes as a credit against the tax.  Since 
property taxes average about 7%, this credit generally 
eliminates the severance tax liability.

A conservation tax of 0.14% is administered by the Oil and 
Gas Conservation Commission.

Kansas

Kansas levies an 8% value-based severance tax but all 
oil properties receive a 3.67% credit for property taxes 
paid.  The net severance tax rate for all taxable production 
is 4.33%.  “Minimum production” (stripper) wells are 
exempt but eligibility is based on the depth of the well 
and the spot price of crude oil.  Effective May 1, 2000, 



December 2010
North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner- 76 -

wells under 2,000 feet must have fi ve barrels per day of 
production or less, while deeper wells may have six barrels 
per day or less, depending on the price.  (If the well is 
using waterfl ood, the required barrels per day are adjusted 
to six and seven, respectively.) Stripper status is granted to 
wells with higher daily produc tion in times of lower price.  
All tertiary recovery oil is eligible for an exemption.

Kansas also levies a volume-based 9.1% conservation fee 
administered by the Kansas Corporate Commission.

Incentives.  A “new pool” incentive provision exempts oil 
from newly discovered pools for a period ending two years 
from the date of fi rst production.

A tax exemption is also available for wells that have 
completed production enhancement projects or were new 
discoveries using three-dimensional seismic studies.  The 
tax exemption is good for 7 years but is dependent on the 
price of oil in the previous calendar year.  This exemption 
is 4.33%.  “Minimum production” (stripper) wells are 
exempt but eligibility is based on the depth of the well 
and the spot price of crude oil.  Effective May 1, 2000, 
wells under 2,000 feet must have fi ve barrels per day of 
production or less, while deeper wells may have six barrels 
per day or less, depending on the price.  (If the well is 
using waterfl ood, the required barrels per day are adjusted 
to six and seven, respectively.) Stripper status is granted to 
wells with higher daily produc tion in times of lower price.  
All tertiary recovery oil is eligible for an exemption.

Kansas also levies a volume-based 9.1% conservation fee 
administered by the Kansas Corporate Commission.

Incentives.  A “new pool” incentive provision exempts oil 
from newly discovered pools for a period ending two years 
from the date of fi rst production.

A tax exemption is also available for wells that have 
completed production enhancement projects or were new 
discoveries using three-dimensional seismic studies.  The 
tax exemption is good for 7 years but is dependent on the 
price of oil in the previous calendar year.  This exemption 
is subject to a price trigger.

Louisiana

A 12.5% severance tax is levied in lieu of all other taxes, 
includ ing ad valorem taxes, on the oil and condensate 
production.  Stripper wells (those with production of 
10 barrels per day or less) are taxed at 3.125%, while 
“incapable” wells (those producing between 10 and 25 

barrels per day and having at least a 50% S & W) are taxed 
at 6.25%.  Tertiary recovery wells are exempt from sever-
ance tax until the tertiary project reaches payout.

Louisiana also levies an “oil fi eld site restoration fee” of 
1.5¢ per barrel. The fee is reduced to 0.75¢ per barrel for 
incapable wells and 0.375¢ per barrel for stripper wells.

An "oil spill contingency fee" of 2¢ per barrel is levied on 
crude oil loaded or off loaded at a marine terminal facility 
in Louisiana waters.  This fee is collected and remitted by 
the marine terminal operator.

Incentives.  Oil production from certifi ed deep wells and 
horizontal wells is exempt from severance tax for a period 
of two years or until payout of well costs, whichever 
occurs fi rst. Oil production from certifi ed wells is exempt 
for any month in which the gross value is below $20 per 
barrel.  Oil production from wells certifi ed as inactive 
(being inactive for two or more years or only having 30 
days or less production during the past two years prior to 
being returned to service) shall be exempt from severance 
tax for fi ve years.

Michigan

Michigan levies a severance tax of 6.6% on oil and 5.5% 
on gas based on the gross cash market at the place where 
production was severed from the soil.  Michigan also 
levies an oil and gas maintenance fee that is used for 
monitoring wells.

Incentives.  Michigan offers a reduced rate of 4% for oil 
produced from stripper wells and marginal properties.

Mississippi

Mississippi levies a 6% severance tax on the value of 
production at the mouth of the well.  A maintenance tax of 
4.4¢ per barrel and 0.5¢ per MCF is administered by the 
Oil & Gas Board.

Incentives.  Beginning April 1, 1994, wells that use an 
approved Enhanced Oil Recovery method receive a 3% 
reduced rate.

Montana

Tax rates vary by type of production, by the date the well 
was drilled, and for working interests and non-working 
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interests.  The following is a summary of the tax rates 
effective January 2, 2000.

  Working Non-Working
  Interest Interest

• Primary Recovery Production
 First 12 months   .5% 14.8%
 Pre-1999 Well  12.5% 14.8%
 Post-1999 Well  9% 14.8%

• Stripper Production(1)

 First 1-10 barrels  5.5% 14.8%
 Over 10 barrels  9%
 Stripper well exemption .5% 14.8%
 Stripper well bonus production 6% 14.8%

• Horizontally Drilled Wells
 First 18 months  .5% 14.8%
 Pre-1999 after 18 months 12.5% 14.8%
 Post-1999 after 18 months 9% 14.8%

• Incremental Production (2)

 Secondary Production 8.5% 14.8%
 Tertiary Production  5.8% 14.8%

* Horizontally Recompleted
 First 18 months  5.5% 14.8%
 Pre-1999 after 18 months 12.5% 14.8%
 Post-1999 after 18 months 9% 14.8%

(1) Stripper oil is oil produced from any well that produced 
less than 10 barrels a day for the calendar year immediately 
preceding the current year.

(2) This is the volume of oil in excess of the production decline 
curve as approved by the Board of Oil and Gas Conservation. 

New Mexico

New Mexico levies four tax types on the value of oil.  An 
intergovernmental production tax credit of 75% of the 
lesser of the state tax rate or the Native American tax 
rate on the value of new production severed within the 
boundaries of Native American tribal land is given to each 
tax type.

Severance Tax:  3.75% of value of oil.  Incentives include 
1.875% on qualifi ed enhanced recovery projects, 2.45% 
on qualifi ed workover wells, and variable rates on stripper 
properties.  A 10-year exemption is given to qualifi ed 
production restoration projects.

Most of the incentives (well workover, production 
restoration, and enhanced oil recovery) are tied to posted 
prices of WTI crude and subject to an exemption sunset 
based on a statutory price threshold.  These incentives 

have now been subjected to the sunset provisions through 
April 2005.  Similarly, the stripper incentive has been 
subject to the statutory sunset provisions based on reported 
prices since 2001 and currently the incentive will not apply 
until at least April 2005.

Emergency School Tax:  3.15% of value of oil with 
variable rates on stripper properties.

Conservation Tax:  0.19% of the value of oil.

Ad Valorem Production Tax:  Rates vary and are 
established by producing counties and school districts and 
are effective each September.

A Tribal Capital Improvements Credit of seven-tenths of 
one percent is available for products subject to the oil and 
gas emergency school tax and severed from qualifying 
wells located on Jicarilla Apache tribal land.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Gross Production Tax is a severance tax 
that is in lieu of Ad Valorem Tax and is levied upon the 
production of oil and natural gas produced in Oklahoma.  
The tax dates back to 1910 when the rate was 0.5% of 
the gross value of the product produced.  Today the gross 
production tax rate is a variable rate tax based on the 
monthly average price of both oil and gas as determined by 
the Oklahoma Tax Commission.

Oil

The Gross Production Tax rate on oil is as follows:

• If the average price of Oklahoma oil equals or exceeds 
Seventeen Dollars ($17.00) per barrel, the tax shall be 
seven percent (7%) of the gross value.

• If the average price of Oklahoma oil is less than 
Seventeen Dollars ($17.00) but is equal to or exceeds 
Fourteen Dollars ($14.00) per barrel, then the tax shall 
be four percent (4%) of the gross value.

• If the average price of Oklahoma oil is less than 
Fourteen Dollars ($14.00) per barrel, then the tax shall 
be one percent (1%) of the gross value.

Gas

The Gross Production Tax rate on gas is as follows:

• If the average price of Oklahoma gas equals or exceeds 
Two Dollars and Ten Cents ($2.10) per mcf, the tax 
shall be seven percent (7%) of the gross value.

• If the average price of Oklahoma gas is less than Two 
Dollars and Ten Cents ($2.10) but is equal to or exceeds 
One Dollar and Seventy Five Cents ($1.75) per mcf, 
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then the tax shall be four percent (4%) of the gross 
value.

• If the average price of Oklahoma gas is less than One 
Dollar and Seventy-Five Cents ($1.75) per mcf, then the 
tax shall be one percent (1%) of the gross value.

Oklahoma also levies a Petroleum Excise Tax on the 
production of oil and gas equal to ninety-fi ve one 
thousandths of one percent (.095 of 1%) of the gross value 
of the product.

Gross Production Incentive Rebates.  In an effort to 
sustain the existing production of oil and gas in Oklahoma 
and encourage the drilling of new wells, legislation was 
enacted in 1994 that exempts the Gross Production Tax 
levied on oil and gas produced from certain wells.  The 
exemption is equal to 6/7ths of the 7% Gross Production 
Tax and is rebated back to producers of qualifi ed wells.  
Producers are eligible to fi le claims for refund on a July 
through June fi scal year basis.

Wells qualifying for the exemption are as follows:

• Horizontally Drilled Wells,
• The reestablished production of a well that was non-

productive for one year,
• Production enhancements such as workovers and 

recompletions,
• Wells drilled and completed at a depth of 12,500 feet or 

greater,
• Wells classified as "New Discovery",
• Wells meeting the criteria as being "Economically at 

Risk", and
• Wells that are drilled and completed based on 3-D 

seismic technology.

South Dakota

South Dakota levies a 4.5% oil severance tax and a .24% 
conservation tax.  The tax is determined by multiplying the 
tax rate times the taxable value less any rental or royalty 
payment applicable to the United States or the State of 
South Dakota and its political subdivisions.  The taxable 
value is the posted fi eld price per unit at the point of 
production. 

Texas

Texas levies a 4.6% severance tax on the value of oil 
produced.  This tax is reduced to 2.3% or to 0.00% if the 
oil qualifi es for certain tax incentives.  Oil properties in 
Texas are also subject to normal property taxes and to a
3/16 of a cent per barrel "regulatory tax," as well as a 
regulatory fee of 5/16 of a cent ($0.003125) per barrel for 
report periods prior to September 2001 and 5/8 of a cent 

($0.00625) per barrel for report periods September 2001 
and later.

Incentives.  Oil produced from Enhanced Oil Recovery 
(EOR) projects is taxed at 2.3% of the market value.  Oil 
produced from well bores certifi ed by the Texas Railroad 
Commission as 2-year or 3-year inactive well bores is 
exempt from the tax for 10 years.  Wells that produce an 
average of 7 or less barrels of oil equivalent (BOE) a day 
are eligible for an exemption if the operator implements 
incremental production procedures to increase the 
production.  The production procedure could be primary, 
secondary, or tertiary methods.  If a primary production 
technique is used, it must involve an expenditure of at least 
$5,000.  The incremental production is taxed at 2.3% for 
5 years.  The exemption is active as long as the price of 
oil, according to Comptroller records remains below $25 
per barrel (adjusted to 1997 dollars).  Baseline production 
is taxed at 4.6% of market value.  The exemption is 
suspended if the price reaches $25 or above for three 
consecutive months and will be reinstated if the adjusted 
price falls below $25 per barrel for three consecutive 
months.  Oil from Co-Production projects is taxed at 2.3% 
of market value.  Oil produced from wells certifi ed under 
the Texas Experimental Research and Recovery Activity 
(TERRA) program is exempt from the tax.

Producers are eligible for a production tax credit for crude 
oil from low producing wells ranging from 100% if the 
average price is $22 or less to 0% if the average price is 
more than $30 per barrel.  A certifi ed orphan well put back 
in production is eligible for a 100% exemption from the oil 
production tax and the oilfi eld cleanup fee.  Producers are 
eligible for a tax credit for marginal oil wells when they 
purchase and install enhanced effi ciency equipment that 
reduces energy use by 10%.

Utah

Utah levies a severance tax of 3% on the fi rst $13 per 
barrel and 5% on any amount over $13 per barrel.  This tax 
is in addition to a normal ad valorem tax on the reserves 
and a 0.2% conservation tax.  Stripper wells, defi ned as 
wells that produce 20 barrels per day or less, are exempt 
from the severance tax.

Incentives.  The fi rst six months’ produc tion from any 
new development well and the fi rst 12 months' production 
from any new wildcat well are exempt from the tax.  All 
transportation and processing costs can be deducted 
from value to determine taxable value.  There is a 50% 
tax rate reduction on incremental production achieved 
from any enhanced recovery project.  New workover 
or recompletion projects receive a 20% tax credit, up to 
$30,000 per well.
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Western Oil and Gas Producing States
Average Annual Rig Activity

SOURCE: Hughes rig count (annual average). These states have similar geographical formations and similar technologies are used in 
oil production.
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Wyoming

A severance tax is levied at 6% of the value of the oil 
produced.  Stripper wells and tertiary recovery projects are 
eligible for a reduced tax rate of 4%.  For tertiary projects, 
the reduced rate is good for fi ve years and applies to 
production over an estab lished “base level.”

The tertiary project must have been certifi ed after 
March 31, 2003, and before March 31, 2008, and the 
reduced tertiary rate is no longer allowed in months when 
the price per barrel equals or exceeds $27.50.

An ad valorem tax is levied on the same value as that used 
for severance tax purposes but is collected by the counties 
and based on the applicable local mill rates.  Currently, the 
ad valorem taxes average about 6.7% of the value of the 
oil produced.

Incentives.  Wyoming grants the reduced rate of 2% on 
the fi rst 60 barrels per day from new wells for 24 months 
and all incremental oil from workovers and recompletions. 
New wells must be drilled between July 1, 1993 and 
March 31, 2003. Workovers or recompletions must be 
performed between July 1, 1993 and March 31, 2001. In 
the case of new oil wells, the incentive is canceled if the 
average price of oil is equal to or exceeds $22 per barrel 
for the preceding six (6) month period of time.

Oil produced from previously shut in wells is subject to 
a reduced severance tax rate of 1.5% for fi ve years from 
the date of fi rst renewed production. Wells must have had 
no production for two years prior to January 1, 1995. This 
incentive is canceled if the average price of oil exceeds 
$25 per barrel for six straight months.
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PROPERTY TAXES

CURRENT LAW

LOCALLY ASSESSED PROPERTY

Imposition, Administration and Distribution of 
Revenue

All real property, unless specifi cally exempted, is subject 
to a property tax.  A mobile home used as a residence or 
business is subject to the tax if it is 27 or more feet long or 
is attached to utility services.

The property tax is determined by multiplying the mill rate 
times the taxable value of real property.

The county determines and collects the tax and distributes 
the revenue to the county, cities, townships, school 
districts, and other taxing districts.  The tax is due January 
1 of each year following the year of assessment and is 
payable without penalty until March 1.  A 5% discount is 
allowed for taxes paid in full before February 15.

Mill Rates

Local mill rates are established to meet the revenue 
needs of the taxing district.  Each taxing district prepares 
a proposed budget to determine the money needed to 
provide services.  After public hearings, the elected 
governing bodies adopt fi nal budgets and certify tax 
levies (total property taxes) to the county auditor.  The 
tax levy may not exceed the legal maximum.  The only 
increases allowed without voter or legislative approval are 
for property added to the tax rolls. To determine the mill 
rate, the county auditor divides the total property taxes to 
be collected for each taxing district by the district’s total 
taxable value.

Taxable Value

Residential.  The determination of taxable value begins 
with the true and full value or market value of the property.  
The true and full value of residential property is usually 
established by the local assessor.  The assessed value is 
50% of the true and full value and the taxable value is 9% 
of the assessed value.  

Commercial.  The true and full value of most commercial 
property is estab lished by the local assessor.  The assessed 
value is 50% of the true and full value and the taxable 
value is 10% of the assessed value.  The true and full value 
of railroad, public utility, and airline property is centrally 
determined by the State Board of Equalization (see 
Centrally Assessed Property on page 83).

Agricultural.  The true and full value of agricultural 
property is based on productivity as established through 
computations made by North Dakota State University 
of the capitalized average annual gross return of the 
land.  This information is forwarded to the State Tax 
Commissioner who certifi es to the county directors 
of tax equalization the estimated average true and full 
agricultural value of farm and grazing land in each county.

The county tax directors use the certifi ed estimates of the 
county average agricultural values to determine the average 
value of agricultural lands within each assessment district 
in the county. This estimate is based on the relative value of 
lands for each assessment district compared to the county 
average.  In determining the relative value, the county tax 
directors are to use soil type and soil classifi cation data 
from detailed and general soil surveys.  In determining the 
relative value of each assessment parcel, the local assessor 
applies the following considerations in descending order of 
signifi cance to the assessment determination:

a. Soil type and soil classifi cation data from detailed or 
general soil surveys.

b. The schedule of modifi ers that must be used to adjust 
agricultural property assessments within the county 
as approved by the state supervisor of assessments.

c. Actual use of the property for cropland or 
noncropland purposes by the owner of the parcel.

The assessed value of agricultural land is 50% of the true 
and full value and the taxable value is 10% of the assessed 
value.

Equalization Process.  Equalization is a method required 
by law to adjust assessments so that they are consistent with 
market value or, in the case of agricultural land, the value of 
agricultural productivity.  Local assessments are reviewed 
and equalized by either the Township Board of Equalization 
on the second Monday in April or the City Board of 
Equalization on the second Tuesday in April.  The Board 
of County Commissioners meets within the fi rst ten days 
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of June to equalize among assess ment dis tricts within the 
county.  The State Board of Equalization has the responsi bil-
ity to equalize among counties and assessment districts in a 
county and meets the second Tuesday in August.

Exemptions and Credits

Property tax exemptions and credits are listed below 
according to type of property.

Residential Property.
• Personal property is exempt.
• A property tax exemption of up to fi ve years is available 

for the value added by rehabilitation or remodeling to 
property which is 25 years old or older if the city or 
county approves the exemption.

• Homes owned and occupied by persons who are blind 
or disabled may be eligible for exemption or partial 
exemption from property taxes, subject to annual 
review.

• A geothermal, solar or wind energy system may qualify 
for a fi ve-year exemp tion.

• Qualifying new single-family residences and 
condominiums may be exempt for two years, provided 
the exemption is ap proved by the city or county.  The 
exemption is limited to a maximum of $150,000 of the 
structure’s value.

• New single-family residential property, exclusive of 
land, may be exempt for the taxable year in which 
construction began and the next two taxable years if the 
property remains owned by the builder and unoccupied, 
provided the exemption is approved by the city or 
county.

• A single-family residence located in a Renaissance 
Zone may be exempt for fi ve years provided the city 
approves the exemption.

• Homeowners who are 65 years of age or older or who are 
certifi ed as perma nently and totally disabled regardless of 
age may be entitled to certain prop erty tax credits under 
the homestead property tax credit program. Qualifi  cations 
include an annual income of $26,000 or less (including 
Social Security and pensions) and assets of $75,000 or 
less (excluding the fi rst $100,000 unencumbered value of 
the homestead).  A qualifying homeowner may receive 
a credit to reduce the property’s taxable value by up to 
$4,500.  Applications are fi led with the local assessor.

 ○ In addition, these homeowners may qual ify for a 
special assessment credit which becomes a lien 
on the real prop erty and must be repaid when the 
property is transferred.

• Renters who are 65 years of age or older or who are 
certifi ed as perma nently and totally disabled regardless 
of age and who have an annual income from all sources 

of $26,000 or less may be entitled to rent refunds under 
the homestead property tax credit program.  Those who 
qualify may receive rent refunds of up to $400 if 20% of 
the rent they pay exceeds 4% of their in come.  Renters 
apply to the Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner for this 
refund.

• A disabled veteran with an armed forces service-
connected disability of 50 percent or greater may qualify 
for a property tax credit on the veteran's homestead.  
The percentage of credit is equal to the percentage of 
the veterans disability compensation rating for service 
connected disabilities, and is applied to the fi rst $120,000 
of true and full value of the fi xtures, buildings, and 
improvements of the homestead.

Commercial Property.
• Personal property is exempt.
• A property tax exemption of up to fi ve years and in 

certain cases up to ten years is available to a qualifying 
new or expanding business (see page 82, New Business 
Exemption).

• An exemption of up to fi ve years is available for the 
value added to property by rehabil itation or remodeling 
if the city or county approves the exemption.

• The portion of a building used primari ly for licensed 
day care is exempt if the city or county approves the 
exemp tion.

• Fixtures, buildings, and improvements used primarily 
as an adult care center are exempt upon approval by the 
city or county.

• A geothermal, solar or wind energy system may qualify 
for a fi ve-year exemp tion.

• A cooperative or nonprofi t organization that provides 
water to its members and customers may be eligible for 
an exemp tion for its buildings and struc tures.

• A public parking structure is eligible for an exemption.
• A pollution control improvement is exemp t if the city or 

county approves the exemption.
• A commercial building located in a Renaissance Zone 

may be exempt for fi ve years provided the city approves 
the exemption.

Agricultural Property.
• Personal property is exempt.
• Farm structures are exempt if located on agricultural land 

and used in operations normally associated with farming 
and ranching.  Farm residences are exempt if located on 
10 acres or more of agricultural land, if occupied or used 
by a farmer who normally devotes the major portion of 
time to farming operations, and if the farmer receives not 
less than 50% of annu al net income from these operations 
in any one of the preceding three years.  The residence is 
not eligible if the farmer has received more than $40,000 
of non-farm income in each of the three preceding years.  
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The income require ments apply to the combined income 
of the farmer and spouse.

• A qualifying wetland is exempt if the owner signs an 
agreement to keep the property as wetland.  If the land is 
removed from wetland status, the land owner must repay 
up to ten years of the taxes forgiven.  This exemption is 
available if funds are available for the state to reimburse 
the political subdivisions for all revenue losses.

• State-owned land leased for grazing or pasture purposes 
is exempt.  State-owned land leased for growing crops 
is exempt if payments in lieu of property taxes are made 
by the state.

• The surviving spouse of a farmer who at the time of 
death was an active farmer is eligible for the farm 
residence exemption through the end of the fi fth taxable 
year after the taxable year of death of the deceased 
active farmer.  The farm residence exemption applies 
for as long as the residence is continuously occupied by 
the surviving spouse of an individual who at the time of 
death was a retired farmer.

Other Property.
• Property owned by a governmental unit is exempt.
• Property owned and used exclusively for religious or 

charitable purposes is exempt.
• Property belonging to institutions of public charity, used 

wholly or in part for public charity is exempt.
• Property owned by a religious organization used for 

religious services of the organization or as a residence 
for the minister in charge of services is exempt.  
Property owned by a religious organization may retain 
its exemption if the property is rented to a tax-exempt 
organization and no profi t is realized from the rent.

• Property owned by a lodge, club, asso ciation or like 
organization is exempt if the organization is nonprofi t, 
if the property is used for meeting and for conducting 
business or ceremony, and if food or alcoholic beverages 
are not sold for profi t on the premises.  This property, 
however, is subject to taxation by cities for the cost of 
fi re protection services.

• All property belonging to an education al institution and 
not used for profi t is exempt.

• Property owned by a nonprofi t corpora tion and used 
for promoting athletic and educational needs at a state 
educa tional institution is exempt.

• All land used exclusively for burying grounds or 
cemeteries is exempt.

• Land belonging to a military organiza tion and used as 
a public park or monu ment ground and not for gain is 
exempt.

• Minerals in place in the earth are exempt if, at the time 
of extraction, they are subject to either the oil and gas 
gross production tax or the coal severance tax.

• Property of Native Americans, where the title cannot be 
transferred without the consent of the U.S. Secretary of 
the Interior, is exempt.

• Forested land may be eligible for a reduced property tax 
rate of 50 cents per acre.

• All property, including any possessory interest therein, 
relating to waterworks, mains, water distribution 
systems, sewage systems, and facilities for the collection, 
treatment, purifi cation and disposal in a sanitary manner 
of sewage, leased to the state or any agency or institution 
of the state, or to a private entity, which property is 
operated by, or providing services to, a municipality or 
other political subdivision is exempt.

• All property, including any possessory interest therein, 
belonging to the state or an agency or institution 
of the state leased to a private entity pursuant to 
N.D.C.C. § 54-01-02, which property is operated by, or 
providing services to, the state or its citizens is exempt.

• Property owned by the state and held under a lease and 
any structure, fi xture, or improvement located on that 
property is not taxable to the leaseholder if the structure, 
fi xture, or improvement is used primarily for athletic and 
educational purposes at any state institution of higher 
education.

New Business Exemption

Parameters. Any new or expanding business project may 
be granted a property tax exemption for up to fi ve years. 
Two extensions are available:
• Agricultural processors may be granted a partial or full 

exemption for up to fi ve additional years.
• A project which is located in property leased from a 

governmental entity qualifi es for an exemption for up 
to fi ve additional years upon annual application by the 
project operator.

In addition to or instead of an exemption, local 
governments and any project operator may negotiate 
payments in lieu of property tax for a period of up to 
20 years from the date project operations begin.

Qualifi cations.  A qualifying “project” is any new or 
expanded revenue-producing enterprise.  All buildings, 
structures or improvements used in or necessary to the 
opera tion of the project qualify.  The structure may be the 
project’s building or the project’s quarters within a larger 
build ing.  An exemption may not be granted for land.  
A project is not eligible for an exemption if the project 
received a tax exemption under tax increment fi nancing 
or if the governing body determines the exemption fosters 
unfair competition or endangers exist ing business.
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Application Procedures.  The project operator applies 
to the city governing body if the project is located within 
city bound aries. If the project is located outside city 
boundaries, appli cation is made to the county commission.
• The application for exemption must be made and 

approved before construc tion of a new structure 
begins.  If the project will occupy an existing structure, 
application must be made and approved before the 
structure is occupied.  Application for payments 
in lieu of property tax need not be made prior to 
commencement of construction or occupancy of an 
existing building.

• If the city or county governing body determines there 
are local competitors, the project operator must publish 
two notices in the offi cial newspaper of the city or 
county at least one week apart, and the last notice must 
be published at least 15 days, but not more than 30 days, 
before the city or county considers the application. For 
example, notices published one week apart on May 1 and 
May 8 are appropri ate for a hearing scheduled anytime 
between May 23 and June 7.

• The city or county governing body holds a public 
hearing on the applica tion.

• After the public hearing, the city or county governing 
body acts on the application.

CENTRALLY ASSESSED PROPERTY

Assessment Procedures

Assessments for property tax purposes of railroads, investor-
owned public utilities, and airlines are determined by the 
State Board of Equaliza tion.  The assessed value of centrally 
assessed property is 50% of the true and full value and the 
taxable value is 10% of the assessed value for all centrally 
assessed property except wind turbine electric generation 
units with a nameplate generation capacity of 100 kilowatts 
or more.  Taxable value is 1.5% for units for which a 
purchased power agreement was executed between April 30, 
2005 and January 1, 2006, and construction was begun 
between April 30, 2005, and July 1, 2006, and for a centrally 
assessed wind turbine electric generation unit of 100 
kilowatts or more on which construction is completed after 
June 30, 2006, and before January 1, 2015.  Taxable value 
is 3% for all other units on which construction is completed 
before January 1, 2015.  The taxable value of centrally 
assessed property is subject to property taxes as discussed 
below for each type of property.

Steps in the assessment process are as follows:
1. The company must fi le an annual report with the State 

Tax Commissioner by May 1.

2. The State Tax Commissioner prepares a tentative 
assessment by July 15.

3. Notice of tentative assessment is sent to the company 
ten days prior to the State Board of Equalization 
meeting.

4. The State Board of Equalization meets the fi rst 
Tuesday in August at the Offi ce of State Tax 
Commissioner to receive testimony on the value 
of central ly assessed property and to make the 
assessments.

5. Following the action of the State Board of 
Equalization, the State Tax Commissioner certifi es the 
assessments to the counties.

Airlines

A regularly scheduled airline serving North Dakota cities 
pays a property tax computed by applying the average of 
all mill levies in the municipalities served by regularly 
scheduled airlines against the taxable valuation of an 
airline’s operating real property located in North Dakota.

The Tax Commissioner collects the tax and the State 
Treasurer distributes the revenue to the municipalities 
in which the airline operates.  The revenue is used 
exclusively for airport purposes.

Public Utilities

Centrally assessed public utilities are investor-owned 
power, gas and pipeline companies.  The tax for 
telecommunications carriers is discussed below.  The 
taxable value of a utility’s North Dakota real and personal 
operating property is subject to the mill levies of the taxing 
districts in which the property is located.

The tax is collected by the county and distributed to the 
taxing districts within the county.

A 10-year exemption is allowed for pipelines carrying 
CO2 for use in enhanced recovery of oil or natural gas.  
The state reimburses political subdivisions for the lost tax 
revenue.

A transmission line of 230 kilovolts or larger, and its 
associated transmission substations, initially placed in 
service or substantially expanded on or after October 1, 
2002, is exempt from property taxes for the fi rst taxable 
year.  Subsequent years' taxes must be reduced by 75% for 
the second year, 50% for the third year, and 25% for the 
fourth year.  After the fourth year, the transmission line and 
substations are exempt from property taxes and are subject 
to a tax of $300 per mile.
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Railroads

Railroad operating real property is taxed at the mill rates of 
the taxing districts in which the property of the railroad is 
located. The tax is collected by the county and distributed 
to the various taxing districts within the county.

TAXES PAID IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

Telecommunications Carriers

Telecommunications carriers are assessed a tax of 2½% 
of their adjusted gross receipts by the State Board of 
Equalization.  The gross receipts tax is paid annually to 
the Tax Commissioner.  The state allocates $8.4 million 
annually to the counties for distribution to political 
subdivisions.  Revenue in excess of $8.4 million is 
deposited in the state general fund.

Rural Electric Cooperatives

Effective January 1, 2010, property of rural electric 
cooperatives is subject to generation, distribution, and 
transmission taxes under N.D.C.C. ch. 57-33.2.  The 
taxes are in lieu of property taxes on all property other 
than land, owned and used by a company in the operation 
and conduct of the business of generation or delivery of 
electricity through distribution or transmission lines.

Other companies engaged in electric generation, 
distribution, and transmission may fi le an irrevocable 
election to be taxed under ch. 57-33.2 and exempt from ad 
valorem taxation under ch. 57-06.

Coal Conversion Facilities

The coal conversion tax is in lieu of property taxes on 
investor-owned or cooperative electrical generating plants 
which have at least one unit with a generating capacity 
of 10,000 kilowatts or more of electricity, other coal 
conversion facilities consuming 500,000 tons or more of 
coal per year, or coal benefi ciation plants.  (See page 21.)

Tourism or Concession License Fee

A license fee in lieu of property taxes is payable for state-
owned property leased from the Superintendent of the 
State Historical Board or the Director of State Parks and 
Recreation and used for tourism or concession purposes.  

The fee is set by the superintendent or by the director and 
is at least $1, but not more than 1% of the tenant’s gross 
receipts. The tenant pays the license fee to the county 
treasurer, who deposits the payment into the county 
general fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

Before 1981.  Prior to the 1981 Legislative Session, the 
standard of value was market value, but property was 
assessed at a fraction of its market value.  By law, all real 
property was in one class, but a de facto classifi cation 
system existed.  Limitations were imposed on the number 
of mills which could be levied.

1981 Session.
• Changed the procedures for determining the value 

of property for tax purposes to include methods of 
establishing the true and full value, assessed value, 
and taxable value of property, according to a new 
classifi cation system.

• Placed limits on the dollar amount of change in a levy 
rather than on the number of mills that could be levied.

• Allowed up to a 7% increase in the number of dollars 
levied.

• Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 
homestead credit and renter’s refund from $9,000 to 
$10,000 per year.

1983 Session.  
• Allowed for a 4% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
• Authorized cities and counties to give two-year 

exemptions for new single-family, condominium, or 
townhouse property.

• Increased the new business exemption’s cost and sales 
limitations from $100 million to $150 million.

1985 Session.
• Allowed for a 3% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
• Enacted an exemption for qualifying wetlands, effective 

for tax years beginning after December 31, 1986.
• Increased the maximum qualifying income for 

homestead credit and renter’s refund from $10,000 to 
$12,000 per year.

1987 Session.
• Allowed for a 5% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
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• Removed limitations on the type of business qualifying 
for the new business exemption, in effect, including 
service and retail industries.  Previously, the exemption 
was limited to assembling, fabricating, manufacturing, 
mixing, processing, storing, warehousing, or 
distributing any agricultural, mineral, or manufactured 
product.

1989 Session.
• Allowed for a 5% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
• Enacted an exemption for day care in commercial 

property.
• Expanded the exemption for religious organizations to 

include property rented to a tax-exempt organization.
• Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 

homestead credit and renter’s refund from $12,000 to 
$13,000 per year.

• Repealed the requirement that the State Board of 
Equalization approve the property tax exemption for 
new businesses.

• Excepted property in cities of 3,000 population or less 
from the vacancy requirement in the new business 
exemption law.

• Excluded projects exempt under tax increment fi nancing 
from the new business exemption.

• Extended the allowable property tax exemption to up 
to ten years for new projects located in property leased 
from a governmental entity.

1991 Session.
• Allowed for a 4% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
• Broadened the property tax exemption to include 

expanding businesses.
• Decoupled the property tax exemption from the income 

tax exemption.
• Repealed the vacancy requirement for existing 

buildings.
• Provided a partial exemption for the sixth through tenth 

years for projects that produce or manufacture a product 
from agricultural commodities grown in North Dakota.

• Enacted a ten-year exemption for pipelines carrying 
CO2 to an enhanced recovery project in a North Dakota 
oil fi eld.

• Provided for a license fee in lieu of property taxes 
for certain state-owned property leased for tourism or 
concession purposes.

• Provided for a 50-cents-per-acre property tax rate for 
forested land and several administrative changes.

1993 Session.
• Set the maximum levy increase at 3% for taxes payable 

in 1994 and 2% for taxes payable in 1995.

• Permitted cities and counties to exempt pollution 
control improvements.

• Granted an exemption for state-owned land leased for 
grazing or pasture purposes.

• Granted an exemption for state-owned land leased for 
growing crops if payments in lieu of taxes are made by 
the state.

• Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 
homestead credit and renter’s refund from $13,000 to 
$13,500 per year beginning with the 1995 tax year.

1994 Special Session.
• Removed project size limitations from the new or 

expanding business tax exemption, allowing large 
projects to qualify.

• Changed the extended exemption for agricultural 
processors from a partial exemption to either a partial or 
complete exemption.

• Enabled a local government and any project operator to 
negotiate payments in lieu of property taxes for a period 
of up to 20 years.

1995 Session.
• Allowed for a 2% increase in the number of dollars 

levied for taxes payable in 1996 and 1997.
• Provided that the only increase allowed after 1998 

without voter or legislative approval is for property 
added to the tax rolls.

• Exempted railroad personal property from property 
taxes.

• Required that before a city or county grants a new and 
expanding business exemption or payments in lieu of 
taxes, the affected school districts and townships must 
be consulted.

1997 Session.
• Allowed for a 2% increase in the amount levied to 

match federal funds.
• Required the state water commission to make payments 

in lieu of taxes for land acquired for the Devils Lake 
project.

• Extended the agricultural production data used by 
NDSU for the agricultural land formula to a ten-year 
period for the 2000 assessment.

• Made permanent a 50% expense allowance for 
agricultural revenue from irrigated cropland. 

• Allowed the temporary requirement that school districts 
and townships be consulted before granting a new 
business property tax incentive to expire. 

• Defi ned the income requirement for the farm residence 
exemption as more than 50% from farming activities in 
any one of the preceding three years. 

• Increased allowable nonfarm income to $40,000 during 
each of the preceding three years.
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• Provided that park model trailer owners could pay a 
fee of $20 per year to the motor vehicle department to 
exempt the trailer from taxation as a mobile home for 
tax years 1997 and 1998.

• Increased the maximum general fund tax levy for fi re 
protection districts from 10 to 13 mills.

• Gave the state engineer authority to take remedies when 
man-made objects situated in, on the bed of, or adjacent 
to a navigable lake are, or are imminently likely to be, 
a menace to life or property or public health or safety; 
and to assess costs of action against any property of the 
person responsible. 

• Changed the agricultural property defi nition for 
property platted after March 30, 1981.

• Provided that a pipeline and associated equipment, not 
including land, constructed after 1996 for transportation 
or storage of CO2 for use in enhanced recovery of oil 
or natural gas is tax exempt during construction and 
the fi rst ten full taxable years.  The property is subject 
to assessment by the State Board of Equalization and 
payments in lieu of taxes by the State Treasurer during 
the time it is exempt.

1999 Session.
• Made income and expense statements provided by 

commercial property owners to assessors confi dential.
• Allowed an abatement of property tax for damage to a 

building, mobile home, structure, or other improvement 
caused by natural disaster.

• Increased the income limitation for the homestead credit 
and renter's refund from $13,500 to $14,000.

• Made permanent the $20 permit fee for a park model 
trailer in lieu of the mobile home tax.

• Expanded the farm building exemption to include 
feedlots and buildings used primarily, rather than 
exclusively, for farming purposes.

• Allowed depreciation expense as an addition to net farm 
income for the farm residence exemption.

• Granted the farm residence exemption to beginning 
farmers.

• Established a class of inundated agricultural property 
that is assessed at 10% of the noncropland value.

• Changed the agricultural land valuation formula to 
require inclusion of a production cost factor.

• Made permanent the requirement that school districts 
and townships be included in the negotiations for the 
new business exemption.

• Changed the payments in lieu of taxes for new 
businesses to include existing buildings as well as new 
buildings.

• Extended the period of exemption for remodeling from 
three to fi ve years and allowed an addition to an existing 
building to be exempted as an eligible improvement.

• Changed the tax deed proceedings from a sale of tax 
delinquent property to foreclosure of tax lien.

• Changed the county levy for social security to allow 
up to fi ve mills to be used for county automation and 
telecommunications.

• Increased the levy of a tax for programs and activities 
for senior citizens by a county or city from one to two 
mills.

• Provided that a school district may levy up to 15 
mills for removal or abatement of asbestos in school 
buildings and for providing an alternative education 
program.

2001 Session.
• Required that when the board of county commissioners 

rejects an application for abatement, a written 
explanation of the rationale for the decision must be 
attached to the application and mailed to the applicant.

• Provided that the taxable value of a centrally assessed 
wind turbine electric generation unit with a capacity of 
100 kwh or more is 3% of assessed value.

• Provided that a county offi cer or employee will not 
refund a fee or tax of less than $5.00.

• Provided that a municipality may provide partial or 
complete exemption of residential property, exclusive of 
land, if the property was rehabilitated by an individual 
for the primary place of residence as a renaissance 
zone project.  Provided for exemptions of buildings, 
structures, fi xtures and improvements rehabilitated as a 
zone project for any business or investment purpose.  A 
taxpayer may not be delinquent in payment of any state 
or local tax to benefi t from those provisions.

• Defi ned inundated agricultural land as agricultural 
property containing a minimum of 10 contiguous acres 
if the value exceeds 10% of the average agricultural 
value of noncropland for the county.  Provided the land 
must have been unsuitable for growing crops or grazing 
farm animals for at least two consecutive growing 
seasons, and produced revenue less than the county 
average revenue per acre for noncropland.

• Required a nonprofi t organization to make payments in 
lieu of taxes on property acquired for conservation.

• Provided that a township may defray expenses of 
improvements by special assessment.

2003 Session.
• Provided that land acquired by tax deed must be sold to 

the highest qualifi ed bidder.  Provided that a person is 
unqualifi ed to be the highest bidder for property if the 
person owes delinquent taxes to any county.

• Provided that any privately owned structure, fi xture, or 
improvement located on state-owned land is not exempt 
from special assessments levied for fl ood control 
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purposes if it is used for commercial purposes, unless it 
is primarily used for athletic or educational purposes at 
a state institution of higher learning.

• Exempted from property taxation all property 
including any possessory interest therein, relating to 
any waterworks, mains, and water distribution system, 
or sewage systems and facilities for the collection, 
treatment, purifi cation, and disposal in a sanitary 
manner of sewage, leased to the state or any agency 
or institution of the state, or to a private entity, which 
property is operated by, or providing services to, a 
municipality or other political subdivision.

• Exempted from property taxation any property, 
including any possessory interest therein, belonging to 
the state or any agency or institution of the state, leased 
to a private entity pursuant to N.D.C.C. § 54-01-27, 
which property is operated by, or providing services to, 
the state or its citizens.

• Provided that property owned by the state and held 
under a lease and any structure, fi xture, or improvement 
located on that property is not taxable to the leaseholder 
if the structure, fi xture, or improvement is used 
primarily for athletic and educational purposes at any 
state institution of higher education.

• Provided for one year's exemption and three years of 
graduated tax rates for new or substantially expanded 
investor-owned and cooperative-owned transmission 
lines of 230 kilovolts or larger, and associated 
transmission substations, initially placed in service on 
or after October 1, 2002.  After the fourth year, those 
lines are taxed at $300 per mile.

• Provided that the rate used for capitalization of the 
average annual gross return of agricultural land may not 
be less than 9.5%.

2005 Session.
• Created the North Dakota transmission authority.  

Provided that transmission facilities built under the 
authority are exempt from property taxes for a period 
not to exceed fi ve years.  After the initial period, 
transmission lines of 230 kilovolts or larger and 
associated transmission substations are subject to a per-
mile tax at the full rate and subject to the same manner 
of imposition and allocation as imposed on cooperative-
owned transmission lines.

• Required the county auditor to certify if there is an 
unsatisfi ed lien for homestead credit for special 
assessments against land in a document presented 
for transfer.  Provided that the county recorder may 
not record any deed for property on which the county 
auditor has determined that there is an unsatisfi ed lien 
for homestead credit for special assessments, except for 
a transfer between spouses because of the death of one 
of them.

• Required a recipient to enter into a business incentive 
agreement with each grantor of a business incentive 
granted by the state or a political subdivision.  Provided 
a penalty for a recipient that fails to meet goals.

• Provided that agricultural property includes land on 
which a greenhouse is located if the land is used for a 
nursery or other purpose associated with the operation 
of the greenhouse.  Provided that a greenhouse located 
on agricultural land and used primarily for growing of 
horticultural or nursery products is a farm building or 
improvement.

• Provided that a centrally assessed wind turbine electric 
generation unit with a nameplate generation capacity 
of 100 kilowatts or more, for which a purchased power 
agreement was executed after April 30, 2005, and before 
July 1, 2006, and construction was begun after April 30, 
2005, and before July 1, 2006, must be valued at 1½% 
of assessed value to determine taxable value.

• Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 
homestead credit and renter's refund from $14,000 to 
$14,500.  Increased the maximum amount of taxable 
value credit to $3,038.  Increased the unencumbered 
amount of homestead valuation that may be excluded 
from the asset test for homeowners to $100,000.

• Provided that the rate used for capitalization of the 
average annual gross return of agricultural land may 
not be less than 8.9% for 2005 and 8.3% for subsequent 
years.

• Authorized housing authorities to provide housing for 
persons of moderate income.  Provided that property 
of an authority used for moderate income housing is 
exempt from all taxes except special assessments unless 
specifi cally exempted from a special assessment by the 
political subdivision.

• Provided that in lieu of exemption of a park model 
trailer located in a trailer park or campground, the 
department of transportation shall register the trailer as a 
travel trailer for a registration fee of $20 per year.

2007 Session.
• Provided that a centrally assessed wind turbine electric 

generation unit with a nameplate generation capacity 
of 100 kilowatts or more on which construction is 
completed after June 30, 2006, and before January 1, 
2011, must be valued at 1½% of assessed value to 
determine taxable value.

• Provided that the value of carbon dioxide pipeline 
property for which payments in lieu of taxes are 
required must be excluded from the valuation of 
property in the taxing district for purposes of 
determining the mill rate for the taxing district.

• Created the North Dakota pipeline authority to facilitate 
development of pipeline facilities to support production, 
transportation, and utilization of North Dakota energy-



December 2010
North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner- 88 -

related commodities.  Provided for exemption of 
pipeline property owned by the pipeline authority and 
constructed after 2006, during construction and for the 
fi rst fi ve years of operation.  The property is subject 
to assessment by the State Board of Equalization and 
payments in lieu of taxes by the State Treasurer during 
the time it is exempt.

• Required a resolution by the board of county 
commissioners to use any proceeds of a tax levy in 
excess of the amount needed to match federal funds for 
surfacing or maintenance of roads within the county 
road program for which the levy was originally made, 
or for any new project included in an amended program. 

• Defi ned the uncontested amount of taxes paid under 
protest as the amount that will be payable if the 
application for abatement, adjustment, or refund is 
approved by the board of county commissioners.  
Provided that the uncontested amount of taxes under 
protest may be allocated immediately.

• Provided that an applicant for abatement is limited to 
the relief claimed in the application for abatement.

• Required the county director of tax equalization to use 
soil type and oil classifi cation data from detailed and 
general soil surveys to determine the relative value 
of lands for each assessment district compared to the 
county average value.  

• Required local assessors, in determining the relative 
value of each assessment parcel, to apply the following 
considerations in descending order of signifi cance: soil 
type and soil classifi cation data from the detailed or 
general soil surveys; the schedule of modifi ers approved 
by the state supervisor of assessments and provided by 
the county director of tax equalization; and actual use 
of the property for cropland or noncropland purposes by 
the owner of the parcel.

• Provided 5% of a county’s allocation from the state aid 
distribution fund shall be withheld from any county 
that has not fully implemented use of soil type and soil 
classifi cation data from detailed or general soil surveys 
for any taxable year after 2009, until implementation is 
complete. 

• Required that during the 2007-2008 interim, each 
county that has not fully implemented use of soil type 
and soil classifi cation data from the detailed and general 
soil surveys shall report to the Legislative Council the 
reason for failure to do so and the anticipated date for 
full implementation.

• Provided that unless delinquent taxes, special 
assessments, penalty, interest, and costs on real property 
are paid by October 1 of the second year following 
the year in which taxes became delinquent, the county 
auditor will foreclose on the tax lien and issue a tax 
deed to the county. 

• Provided that an excess levy may be authorized for a 
township up to 100% over and above the basic legal 
limitations.

• Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 
homestead credit and renter’s refund from $14,500 
to $17,500 per year for tax year 2007.  Increased the 
maximum taxable value of the homestead that may be 
exempted to $3,375.

• Required that when any assessor has increased the 
true and full value of any lot or tract of land and 
improvements by more than 10% of the last assessment, 
notice must be delivered or mailed in writing to the 
property owner, or provided to the property owner by 
electronic mail with verifi cation of receipt, not fewer 
than 15 days before the meeting of the local board of 
equalization.  

• Provided that after June 30, 2007, in any school 
district election for approval of unlimited or increased 
levy authority, the ballot must specify the number of 
mills, the percentage increase in dollars levied or that 
unlimited mill levy authority is proposed for approval, 
and the number of taxable years for which that approval 
is to apply.

• Provided that approval of unlimited or increased levy 
authority may not be effective for more than ten taxable 
years.

• Provided that the question of authorizing or 
discontinuing specifi c number of mills authority or 
unlimited taxing authority in any school district must 
be submitted to the electors at the next regular election 
upon resolution of the school board or fi ling of a 
petition signed by 10% of the electors.

• Provided that the property tax statement must include, 
or be accompanied by a separate sheet with, three 
columns showing for the taxable year to which the 
statement applies and the two immediately preceding 
taxable years, the property tax levy in dollars against 
the parcel by the county, school district, and city or 
township.

• Provided for an income tax credit for 2007 and 2008 
of 10% of property taxes or mobile home taxes that 
became due during the income tax taxable year and 
are paid.  See “Historical Overview” under Individual 
Income Tax on page 52 and Corporation Income Tax on 
page 31.

• Provided that mobile home tax statements must 
include three columns showing for the taxable year for 
which the statement applies and the two immediately 
preceding taxable years, the property tax levy in dollars 
against the mobile home by the county, school district, 
and any city or township that levied taxes against the 
mobile home.
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• Required the Legislative Council to study in each 
interim through 2012 the feasibility and desirability of 
property tax reform and providing property tax relief, 
with the goal of reduction of each taxpayer’s annual 
property tax bill to not more than 1.5% of the true and 
full value of the property.

• Provided that a certifi cate from a licensed physician 
or a written determination of disability from the social 
security administration is acceptable proof of permanent 
and total disability for  purposes of the homestead credit 
and renter’s refund.

• Increased the true and full value of improvements 
owned and occupied as a homestead for which a 
paraplegic disabled veteran may receive property tax 
exemption from $80,000 to $120,000.

• Repealed the income test for a disabled veteran with 
50% or greater certifi ed rated service-connected 
disability.  

• Provided that a disabled veteran with a 50% or greater 
certifi ed rated service-connected disability is eligible 
for an exemption equal to the percentage of the disabled 
veteran’s disability applied against the fi rst $120,000 
of true and full value of improvements owned and 
occupied by the disabled veteran as a homestead.

• Provided that after the initial fi ling of a claim for 
exemption, the exemption is automatically renewed 
each year, but the veteran or veteran’s unremarried 
surviving spouse must re-fi le if that person sells the 
property or no longer claims it as a primary place of 
residence, or if the veteran dies or receives a change in 
the percentage of certifi ed rated service-connected 
disability.

• Provided that the disabled veteran’s exemption does 
not apply within a county in which a resolution adopted 
by the board of county commissioners is in effect 
disallowing the exemption for the taxable year.

• Provided that the governing body of a city may 
establish valuations that recognize the supply of vacant 
lots available for sale.

2009 Session.
• Increased the maximum ad valorem exemption for the 

homestead of a blind person to true and full value of 
$160,000 of fi xtures, buildings, and improvements.

• Provided that if the owner of a manufactured home 
records an affi davit of affi xation, the manufactured 
home is considered real property and is assessed with 
the land on which it is located.

• Provided that all oil or gas pipeline property that is 
not exempt from ad valorem taxation is subject to 
assessment by the state board of equalization.

• Provided that the state board of equalization may not 
approve valuation and assessment in any taxing district 
in which the true and full value for residential and 

commercial property exceeds the true and full value for 
those property classifi cations in that taxing district as 
determined by the sales ratio study.

• Extended the date by which a centrally assessed wind 
generation unit with a nameplate generation capacity of 
100 kilowatts or more must be completed to qualify for 
1½ percent taxable valuation rate until January 1, 2015.

• Repealed N.D.C.C. sections 57-02-24 and 57-02-25 
relating to taxation of minerals, the ownership of which 
has been severed from the ownership of the overlying 
land.

• Enacted property tax relief for all North Dakota 
taxpayers by providing mill levy reduction grants to 
school districts and requiring school districts to reduce 
their mill levies.  Terminated authority for school 
districts to have unlimited mill levies effective for 
taxable years after 2015.  Required electors desiring 
levies up to a specifi ed number of mills above 185 mills 
to approve a levy up to a specifi c number of mills, for a 
period not to exceed ten years, by December 31, 2015.

• Provided a state-funded property tax credit to 
reimburse political subdivisions for property tax 
losses experienced because of exemption of qualifying 
disabled veterans' homesteads from property taxes.  
Required a qualifying applicant to furnish to assessment 
offi cials, when requested to do so, any information 
which is believed will support the claim for credit for 
any subsequent year.  Repealed language that permitted 
a county to disallow disabled veterans' exemptions.

• Enacted an exemption for new single-family residential 
property, exclusive of land, for the year in which 
construction began and the next two taxable years, if the 
property remains owned by the builder and unoccupied, 
provided the exemption is approved by the city or 
county.

• Provided that the surviving spouse of a farmer who at 
the time of death was an active farmer is eligible for 
the farm residence exemption through the end of the 
fi fth taxable year after the taxable year of death of the 
deceased active farmer.  The farm residence exemption 
applies for as long as the residence is continuously 
occupied by the surviving spouse of an individual who 
at the time of death was a retired farmer.

• Increased the maximum amount of exemption allowed 
for new single-family, condominium, and townhouse 
property, exclusive of land, to $150,000 for the fi rst 
two taxable years after the taxable year in which 
construction is completed and the residence is owned 
and occupied for the fi rst time, provided the exemption 
is approved by the city or county.

• Increased the maximum mill levy allowed for a soil 
conservation district to 2 mills.
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• Increased the maximum qualifying income for 
applicants for homestead property tax credit to $26,000.  
Increased the maximum exemption under the homestead 
credit program to $4,500 taxable value ($100,000 true 
and full value) of the person's homestead.  Raised the 
asset limitation for qualifying applicants to $75,000 
excluding the fi rst $100,000 unencumbered value of the 
homestead.

• Increased the maximum qualifying income for 
applicants for the renter's property tax refund to $26,000 
and increased the maximum refund to $400.

• Provided that property owned by a nonprofi t entity and 
used exclusively as a cemetery is exempt from special 
assessments.

• Provided that when any assessor has increased the 
true and full value of any lot or tract of land and 
improvements by $3,000 or more and 10% or more 
than the amount of the last assessment, written notice 
must be delivered or mailed to the property owner, or 
provided to the property owner by electronic mail with 
verifi cation of receipts, not fewer than 15 days before 
the meeting of the local board of equalization.

Ad Valorem and Special Property Taxes Levied
Payable in 2006-2010
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 Ad Valorem Property Taxes Special Property Taxes
 Year Total Taxes and   Special Special
 Payable Special Assessments Real Estate (1) Utilities (2) Taxes (3) Assessments
 2006 733,392,572 627,445,014 32,344,362 10,269,176 63,334,020
 2007 785,528,430 673,473,530 32,954,091 10,822,166 68,278,644
 2008 824,964,437 708,732,419 31,808,319 11,433,098 72,990,601
 2009 868,956,479 742,493,930 33,904,544 12,503,127 80,054,878
 2010 774,611,177 643,618,842 35,130,536 14,435,372 81,426,427

(1) Includes tax increments.
(2) Includes taxes on railroad property; electric, gas and heating property (except cooperative and coal conversion); and pipeline 

property.
(3) Includes taxes from mobile homes, rural electric cooperatives, woodlands, and payments in lieu of taxes under N.D.C.C.
 § 40-57.1-03.

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report."  
Transmission line taxes are collected by the State Tax Commissioner and are not included above.

 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
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North Dakota Property Tax System

All property in North Dakota is subject to property tax unless it is specifi cally exempted. Except for a one-mill levy for the State 
Medical Center, property taxes are administered, levied, collected and expended at the local level for the support of schools, 
counties, cities, townships and other local units of government. The State does not levy a property tax for general government 
operations.

The property tax is an "ad valorem" tax, that is, it is based on the value of the property subject to tax. The other element of the 
property tax is the amount of revenue that needs to be raised.
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0.3% - State of North Dakota(4)

$2,176,911

26.4%
Counties(3)

$204,743,613

40.6%
Schools

$314,553,139

2.8% - Miscellaneous Districts2.8% - Miscellaneous Districts(1)(1)

$21,674,149$21,674,149

2.0% - Townships
$15,230,532

General and Special Property Taxes by Taxing Districts
Payable in 2000 - 2010

State & Misc.

Cities

Schools

 Counties

 Year Payable 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
 Schools 274 288 301 317 331 349 372 399 417 435 315
 Cities 121 128 137 144 153 171 173 187 197 210 216
 Counties 119 123 129 137 142 149 159 170 178 188 205
 State & Misc. 24 24 25 27 27 28 29 30 33 36 39

SOURCE:  North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report." 

27.9%
Cities(2)

$216,232,833
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 Percent of Property Taxes by Taxing District
 Levied in 2009 - Payable in 2010

GRAND TOTAL - $774,611,177

(1) Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, rural fi re 
protection districts, hospital district, soil conservation 
districts, rural ambulance districts, recreation service 
districts, Southwest Water Authority and all special 
assessments for rural districts.

(2) Including city park districts, special assessments, and tax 
increments.

(3) Including county park districts, county library, county 
airport, water management districts, vector control, 
unorganized townships and board of county parks.

(4) Constitutional one mill levy for medical center at the 
University of North Dakota.

SOURCE:  North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax 
Commissioner, Property Tax Division, 
"Property Tax Statistical Report." 
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General Property Taxes by County - Payable in 2006-2010

  2006 Total  2007 Total  2008 Total  2009 Total  2010 Total
  Ad Valorem Percent Ad Valorem Percent Ad Valorem Percent Ad Valorem Percent Ad Valorem Percent
 County Property Taxes Change Property Taxes Change Property Taxes Change Property Taxes Change Property Taxes Change

Adams 2,849,899 4.2 2,872,219 0.8 2,881,080 0.3 2,976,053 3.3 2,624,698 -11.8
Barnes 13,006,449 7.2 13,988,767 7.6 13,815,659 -1.2 14,789,365 7.0 13,727,887 -7.2
Benson 4,207,168 4.2 4,489,324 6.7 4,671,291 4.1 4,899,043 4.9 4,119,655 -15.9
Billings 708,361 1.8 749,987 5.9 673,348 -10.2 831,409 23.5 841,990 1.3
Bottineau 7,733,987 5.7 8,164,022 5.6 8,497,958 4.1 9,254,392 8.9 8,188,004 -11.5
Bowman 2,410,615 5.6 2,608,784 8.2 3,064,359 17.5 3,672,691 19.9 3,221,419 -12.3
Burke 2,543,429 3 2,625,609 3.2 2,664,482 1.5 2,771,202 1.8 2,253,599 -16.9
Burleigh 75,189,184 6.8 82,183,660 9.3 86,440,051 5.2 93,841,509 8.6 78,687,327 -16.1
Cass 160,111,503 9.2 173,786,741 8.5 185,184,307 6.6 192,374,309 3.9 166,044,019 -13.7
Cavalier 6,295,726 4.6 6,899,948 9.6 7,079,996 2.6 8,417,423 18.9 7,722,849 -8.3
Dickey 6,035,845 8.5 6,420,789 6.4 6,614,973 3.0 7,109,173 7.5 6,612,606 -7.0
Divide 2,869,787 1.7 2,920,948 1.8 2,797,213 -4.2 2,982,948 6.6 2,746,153 -7.9
Dunn 4,163,603 2.6 4,213,242 1.2 4,257,953 1.1 4,273,671 0.4 3,587,498 -16.1
Eddy 2,675,769 4.2 2,644,943 -1.2 2,729,578 3.2 2,654,309 -2.8 2,283,594 -14.0
Emmons 4,278,121 5.4 4,430,847 3.6 4,696,460 6.0 4,879,084 3.9 4,154,008 -14.9
Foster 4,023,851 -0.8 4,220,290 4.9 4,354,791 3.2 4,533,214 4.1 3,993,441 -11.9
Golden Valley 1,740,429 2 1,796,314 3.2 1,922,637 7.0 1,983,508 3.2 1,578,394 -20.4
Grand Forks 67,910,543 6.2 73,458,194 8.2 78,676,347 7.1 80,567,431 2.4 70,211,733 -12.9
Grant 2,839,060 3 3,012,447 6.1 3,160,288 4.9 3,244,946 2.7 2,891,097 -10.9
Griggs 3,481,082 3.4 3,694,244 6.1 3,749,729 1.5 3,878,777 3.4 3,249,411 -16.2
Hettinger 3,045,246 3.4 3,270,755 7.4 3,505,884 7.2 3,590,757 2.4 3,088,583 -14.0
Kidder 3,246,844 3.6 3,378,315 4.0 3,213,929 -4.9 3,356,469 4.4 3,018,207 -10.1
LaMoure 5,459,978 5.4 5,758,371 5.5 5,840,213 1.4 6,188,010 6.0 5,451,998 -11.9
Logan 2,087,612 2.4 2,231,891 6.9 2,396,395 7.4 2,572,945 7.4 2,251,028 -12.5
McHenry 5,875,339 6.7 6,380,010 8.6 6,735,314 5.6 6,889,650 2.3 5,629,268 -18.3
McIntosh 3,225,455 4.2 3,323,598 3.0 3,528,970 6.2 3,736,548 5.9 3,155,896 -15.5
McKenzie 3,750,757 2.4 3,913,769 4.3 3,808,607 -2.7 4,002,063 5.1 3,310,266 -17.3
McLean 7,012,645 4.1 7,549,468 7.7 7,922,664 4.9 8,589,703 8.4 7,925,796 -7.7
Mercer 6,556,798 6.1 6,815,946 4.0 6,992,218 2.6 7,342,704 5.0 6,161,729 -16.1
Morton 27,069,645 11.6 28,061,273 3.7 29,505,772 5.1 31,738,149 7.6 27,728,112 -12.6
Mountrail 5,477,741 6 6,054,008 10.5 6,210,285 2.6 6,281,791 1.2 5,880,367 -6.4
Nelson 4,364,556 2.4 4,375,901 0.3 4,414,113 0.9 4,469,944 1.3 4,305,145 -3.7
Oliver 1,670,890 9 1,791,381 7.2 2,100,146 17.2 2,327,133 10.8 2,188,603 -6.0
Pembina 10,212,016 3.1 10,637,304 4.2 10,955,808 3.0 11,083,062 1.2 9,340,857 -15.7
Pierce 4,902,987 1.6 5,043,876 2.9 5,038,897 -0.1 5,072,904 0.7 4,291,379 -15.4
Ramsey 10,893,268 5.4 11,508,222 5.6 11,827,297 2.8 12,158,360 2.8 10,543,443 -13.3
Ransom 6,607,588 4.2 6,753,955 2.2 6,860,789 1.6 7,009,777 2.2 6,229,226 -11.1
Renville 2,970,044 -2.7 3,087,512 4.0 3,277,035 6.1 3,370,158 2.8 2,834,486 -15.9
Richland 19,969,815 3.1 20,734,879 3.8 21,490,744 3.6 22,854,848 6.3 19,250,574 -15.8
Rolette 3,728,001 4.2 3,791,782 1.7 3,868,329 2.0 3,872,229 0.1 3,476,151 -10.2
Sargent 6,040,508 7.5 6,458,903 6.9 6,581,767 1.9 6,746,026 2.5 6,151,110 -8.8
Sheridan 2,056,936 4.5 2,103,464 2.3 2,204,370 4.8 2,171,028 -1.5 1,791,483 -17.5
Sioux 678,900 -11.4 759,173 11.8 793,684 4.5 821,663 3.5 680,766 -17.1
Slope 1,123,248 2.5 1,014,570 -9.7 1,080,828 6.5 1,097,354 1.5 908,872 -17.2
Stark 17,207,491 5.9 18,709,133 8.7 20,127,540 7.6 22,435,057 11.5 19,629,026 -12.5
Steele 3,814,357 6.1 3,995,194 4.7 4,171,407 4.4 4,410,480 5.7 4,186,929 -5.1
Stutsman 21,283,299 5.9 22,437,840 5.4 23,000,545 2.5 23,871,028 3.8 21,566,704 -9.7
Towner 3,719,070 -0.3 3,819,700 2.7 4,054,042 6.1 4,035,591 -0.5 3,875,816 -4.0
Traill 9,977,250 9.3 10,684,721 7.1 11,172,238 4.6 11,603,845 3.9 9,754,645 -15.9
Walsh 12,382,781 2.3 13,078,199 5.6 13,108,348 0.2 13,433,739 2.5 12,018,031 -10.5
Ward 46,080,122 10.5 50,167,348 8.9 52,354,626 4.4 53,654,842 2.5 50,650,013 -5.6
Wells 5,762,976 2.4 5,933,766 3.0 6,201,699 4.5 6,353,084 2.4 5,387,885 -15.2
Williams 16,460,801 5.4 17,622,072 7.1 18,263,736 3.6 19,383,080 6.1 17,347,646 -10.5

Total 659,789,374 6.8 706,427,621  740,540,738  776,398,475 4.8 678,749,378 -12.6

SOURCE:  North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner. Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report."
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 Year
 Payable Taxes
 2000  486,194,264
 2001  509,032,721
 2002  532,629,675
 2003  560,751,909
 2004  586,412,017
 2005  618,065,693
 2006  659,789,374
 2007  706,427,621
 2008  740,540,738
 2009  776,398,475
 2010  678,749,378

 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010

 Year Taxable
 Payable Value
 2000 1,233,682,014
 2001 1,298,333,166
 2002 1,364,577,713
 2003 1,427,642,584
 2004 1,468,874,722
 2005 1,534,816,263
 2006 1,642,672,714
 2007 1,777,593,059
 2008 1,888,388,390
 2009 1,990,645,138
 2010 2,125,303,286
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 Year Average
 Payable Mill Rate
 2000 394.10
 2001 392.07
 2002 390.33
 2003 392.78
 2004 399.24
 2005 402.70
 2006 401.66
 2007 397.41
 2008 392.15
 2009 390.02
 2010 319.37
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True and Full Value by Classifi cation
For Taxes Payable in 2000 - 2010

 Year Payable 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
 Agricultural 9.329 9.860 9.890 10.364 10.178 10.103 10.523 11.086 11.247 11.252 11.723
 Residential 9.840 10.069 10.728 11.273 12.099 13.221 14.631 16.197 17.701 19.143 20.355
 Commercial 5.483 5.569 5.973 6.1850 6.470 6.784 7.235 7.921 8.655 9.270 9.828

Residential

Commercial

Billions of Dollars
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Explanation of Terms and Trends

True and full value.  For residential and commercial property 
"true and full value" is the local assessor's estimate of the market 
value of the property. For agricultural property, true and full 
value is based on agricultural production and is typically less 
than its market value or selling price.

Effective Rates.  An annual sales ratio study measures how 
close "true and full values" are to actual selling prices for 
property. The results may be used to calculate an effective tax 
rate for each classifi cation. The effective rate is the total tax 
divided by the total indicated selling price (see table on page 96).

Trends.  During the fi rst 10 years of the past 11 years, mill 
rates were fl uctuating within a narrow range and total taxable 

valuations were increasing (see preceding page). For taxes 
payable in 2010, the statewide average mill rate decreased due 
to the North Dakota Legislature's providing additional funding 
for school districts and requiring reduction of mill rates, while 
values increased. The table above shows how the total true 
and full value for each classifi cation has been increasing at 
an accelerating pace. Agriculture values tend to go up when 
production and commodity prices are increasing. Other property 
values tend to go up when employment is high. Another factor is 
that total values of residential and commercial property include 
a rising number of properties. The number of acres classifi ed as 
agricultural land is down slightly.

Charts in this section show statewide data. Please note that 
values and taxes for individual properties will depend on local 
economic conditions and other factors. The table above includes 
values for taxes payable in 2010.
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Ad Valorem Property Taxes by Classifi cation
Payable in 2000- 2010

Millions of Dollars
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 Year Payable 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
 Residential 196.9 205.3 215.1 229.6 240.4 266.5 292.0 316.4 336.6 357.3 312.2
 Agricultural 146.6 149.0 151.9 158.9 168.1 162.0 168.5 177.2 180.9 183.4 154.2
 Commercial 122.1 130.1 137.2 143.7 147.5 153.5 167.0 179.8 191.2 201.8 177.2
 Central 20.6 24.6 28.5 28.5 30.4 31.9 32.3 33.0 31.8 33.9 35.1
 Total 486.2 509.0 532.6 560.7 586.4 613.9 659.8 706.4 740.5 776.4 678.7

SOURCE:  North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report." 

Commercial

Agricultural

Residential

Centrally Assessed

 Ad Valorem Property Taxes
Percent of Total 
by Classifi cation

 Payable in 2008, 2009, and 2010

 2008  2009  2010
Residential 45.5% 46.0% 46.0%
Agricultural 24.4% 23.6% 22.7%
Commercial 25.8% 26.0% 26.1%
Centrally Assessed 4.3%  4.4%  5.2%

Effective Rates
by Classifi cation

Payable in 2008, 2009, and 2010

 Property Effective Rate

 Classifi cation 2008 2009 2010

 Residential 1.77% 1.87% 1.53%

 Agricultural 1.61% 1.63% 1.32%

 Commercial 2.21% 2.18% 1.80%

 Centrally Assessed* 1.64% 1.64% 1.33%

 Total 1.87% 1.86% 1.71%

*The effective rate on centrally assessed wind turbine electric 
generation units is overstated because of their reduced taxable value 
percentage.  That causes the effective rate on the centrally assessed 
property to be slightly understated.
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Property Taxes on a $100,000 Owner
 Occupied Home in Neighboring States
 Payable in 2010

 SOUTH DAKOTA1 MONTANA2 MINNESOTA3

  Tax  Tax  Tax
 City Amount City Amount City Amount

 Aberdeen $ 1,743 Miles City $ 1,316 Bemidji $ 966

 Rapid City  1,570 Great Falls  870 St. Cloud  954

 Sioux Falls  1,502 Billings  1,065 Minneapolis  1,182

(1) Owner-occupied residences receive a tax reduction of between 23% and 30%.
(2) 39.50% homestead credit for all residential property and phase in of new values over a 6-year period.
(3) After $283 homestead credit.

SOURCE:  Survey by North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division

STATE COMPARISONS

North Dakota's property taxes are relatively moderate 
compared to those in other states, whether measured per 
capita or per $1,000 of personal income.  In recent years, 
property values have increased signifi cantly resulting in 
a corresponding increase in property tax assessments.  In 
response, many states have implemented various property 
tax relief initiatives in an effort to reduce the property tax 
burden.  The tables compare the property taxes on equally 
valued homes in similar size North Dakota cities as well 
as from neighboring states.  Neighboring states' property 
taxes on similarly valued residences appear less than 
North Dakota's because those states provide a homestead 

Property Taxes on an
Owner Occupied Home in North Dakota

Payable in 2010

 $70,000 Home $100,000 Home

 City Tax Amount* City Tax Amount*
 Bowman $954 Bismarck $1,363
 Carrington $1,157 Devils Lake $1,889
 Grafton $1,354 Dickinson $1,464
 Kenmare $833 Fargo $1,628
 Lisbon $1,310 Grand Forks $1,713
 Rugby $1,106 Jamestown $1,921
 Washburn $811 Mandan $1,770
   Minot $1,499
   Valley City $1,641
   Wahpeton $1,806
   West Fargo $1,564
   Williston $1,375
* Calculations assume taxes are paid by February 15, allowing the taxpayer a 5% discount.
SOURCE: Survey by North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, September 2010.

credit for all owner-occupied residential property.  North 
Dakota's homestead credit is available only to elderly and 
disabled persons with limited income.

Rankings (as shown on the following page) based on 
collections offer insight into overall tax levels.  However, 
further analysis is needed to see the details of how state 
tax systems differ. Property taxes may vary by property 
classifi cation and different types of property may be taxed 
or excluded.  Some states, such as Wyoming, use the 
property tax to tax mineral wealth while states like North 
Dakota levy separate severance taxes.  In Alaska, because 
of its oil reserves fund, residents receive annual payments 
of about $1,000 per person.
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Per Capita
State & Local Property Taxes

2008

Rank State Amount
 1 New Mexico $2,608
 2 Connecticut 2,366
 3 New Jersey 2,309
 4 North Carolina 1,999
 5 South Carolina 1,960
 6 Florida 1,953
 7 Virginia 1,892
 8 Michigan 1,769
 9 Indiana 1,649
 10 Maryland 1,637
 11 Georgia 1,632
 12 Wyoming 1,561
 13 Alaska 1,531
 14 California 1,427
 15 Minnesota 1,417
 16 Nevada 1,383
 17 Utah 1,353
 18 Washington 1,341
 19 Kentucky 1,308
 20 Mississippi 1,260
 21 Kansas 1,236
 22 Rhode Island 1,233
 23 Colorado 1,220
 24 New Hampshire 1,217
 25 Nebraska 1,205
 26 Oklahoma 1,176
 27 West Virginia 1,172
 28 Massachusetts 1,160
 29 Ohio 1,144
 30 Pennsylvania 1,113
 31 Iowa 1,080
 32 Tennessee 1,058
 33 Hawaii 1,040
 34 Arizona 1,016
 35 Delaware 1,008
 36 Idaho 968
 37 South Dakota 943
 38 Montana 915
 39 NORTH DAKOTA 839
 40 Vermont 797
 41 Missouri 779
 42 Illinois 764
 43 Texas 742
 44 Wisconsin 680
 45 Louisiana 644
 46 Maine 632
 47 Oregon 573
 48 New York 559
 49 Arkansas 506
 50 Alabama 490

  US $2,316

Per $1,000 of Personal Income
State & Local Property Taxes

2008

 Rank State Amount
 1 New Jersey $53.89
 2 New Mexico 51.83
 3 Virginia 49.17
 4 South Carolina 47.79
 5 Maryland 44.53
 6 Florida 43.67
 7 Connecticut 43.50
 8 Georgia 43.21
 9 North Carolina 42.58
 10 Wyoming 42.40
 11 Minnesota 41.64
 12 Indiana 39.83
 13 Utah 37.09
 14 Nevada 36.33
 15 Alaska 35.90
 16 Michigan 35.47
 17 Nebraska 35.44
 18 Kentucky 34.50
 19 California 33.72
 20 Kansas 33.65
 21 Oklahoma 33.23
 22 Iowa 32.01
 23 New Hampshire 31.54
 24 Pennsylvania 31.20
 25 Rhode Island 31.14
 26 Arizona 30.86
 27 Hawaii 30.77
 28 Washington 30.56
 29 Mississippi 30.32
 30 South Dakota 29.64
 31 Colorado 29.51
 32 Ohio 28.94
 33 Tennessee 28.62
 34 West Virginia 28.07
 35 Missouri 25.88
 36 Vermont 25.80
 37 Montana 25.65
 38 NORTH DAKOTA 24.35
 39 Illinois 24.14
 40 Massachusetts 24.02
 41 Idaho 23.03
 42 Texas 21.76
 43 Wisconsin 21.11
 44 Louisiana 20.21
 45 Maine 17.79
 46 Delaware 17.17
 47 New York 16.95
 48 Oregon 16.25
 49 Arkansas 15.84
 50 Alabama 14.80

  US $50.65

SOURCE:  US Census Bureau, July 7, 2010
US Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, 
Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional

SOURCE:  US Census Bureau, July 7, 2010
US Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, 
Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional
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CURRENT LAW

Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Tax

Imposition and Rates

Sales Tax.  North Dakota imposes a sales tax on the gross 
receipts of retail ers.  The tax is paid by the purchaser and 
collected by the retailer.

The sales tax is levied as follows:
• 3% rate on the gross receipts from retail sales of new 

mobile homes.
• 3% sales tax surcharge on each motor vehicle rental 

contract for a period of fewer than thirty (30) days, 
provided the gross vehicle weight of the motor vehicle 
is ten thousand pounds or less.

• 5% general rate on the gross receipts from retail sales 
of tangible personal property, communication services, 
maga zines and other periodicals sold over the counter, 
cigarettes and tobacco products, and admission to 
recreation activities; from the rental of hotel, motel, and 
bed and breakfast accommodations for periods of less 
than 30 consecutive days; from the leasing of tangible 
personal property; and from the rental of motor vehicles 
for periods less than 30 days.

Use Tax.  The purchase price of tangible personal 
property purchased outside of the state for storage, use 
or consumption within the state is subject to a use tax.  
In addition, tangible personal property not originally 
purchased for use in North Dakota is subject to a use tax 
based upon its fair market value at the time it was brought 
into the state.  Credits are allowed for sales and use taxes 
paid to other states.

The use tax is collected by any retailer who maintains 
in this state, directly or indirectly, an offi ce, distribution 
house, sales house, warehouse, or other place of business 
or has a sales representative operating in this state either 
permanently or temporarily.

Use tax is paid by contractors installing materials in real 
property, including real property owned by government 
and tax-exempt entities.  North Dakota use tax is also 
paid by contrac tors buying materials in North Dakota and 
installing them in other states, unless the materials are 
exempt in the state where installed.

Use tax rates are the same as the sales tax rates listed. 

Local Sales and Use Taxes.  Cities or counties that have 
adopted home rule charters may levy sales and use taxes.  
North Dakota home rule statutes require the North Dakota 
Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner to administer the local 
taxes.  The state pays the revenue collected to the local 
governments on a monthly basis.  Cities and counties with 
a local tax during the 2007-2009 biennium are listed on 
page 109.

Farm Machinery Gross Receipts Tax.  North Dakota 
imposes a 3% gross receipts tax on retail sales of new farm 
machinery and new irrigation equipment used exclusively 
for agricultural purposes.  A person that receives new farm 
machinery or new irrigation equipment for storage use, or 
consumption in North Dakota is also subject to the gross 
receipts tax.  Credits are allowed for similar taxes paid to 
other states.  Used farm machinery and repair parts and 
used irrigation equipment and repair parts used exclusively 
for agricultural purposes are exempt from sales, use and 
gross receipts taxes.  

Alcoholic Beverage Gross Receipts Tax.  North Dakota 
imposes a 7% gross receipts tax on retail sales of alcoholic 
beverages sold for consumption either on or off the 
premises.  A person that receives alcoholic beverages 
for storage use, or consumption in North Dakota is also 
subject to the gross receipts tax.  Credits are allowed for 
similar taxes paid to other states. Alcholic beverages are 
not subject to sales tax. 

Exemptions

Receipts from the sale of tangible personal property for 
the purpose of “resale” or “processing” by the purchaser 
are not subject to the sales, use, or gross receipts tax. In 
addition, receipts from the sale of the following items are 
exempt from sales, use, and gross receipts tax:
• Food and food ingredients for human consumption 

except for prepared food for immediate consumption, 
candy, and soft drinks.

• Food used as samples in grocery stores.
• Commercial fertilizers, fungicides, herbicides, 

adjuvants, feeds, and seeds used for agricultural 
purposes.

• Agricultural by-products used to pro duce steam or 
electricity.

SALES AND USE TAXES
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• Interstate communications (telephone calls, etc.).
• Hotel or motel rooms rented and used by the same 

individual for 30 or more consecu tive days.
• Machinery and equipment that a new or expanding 

plant uses primarily for manufacturing, processing or 
recycling.  The company must get pre-approval or pay 
the tax and apply for a refund.

• Materials used to construct an agricultural processing 
plant.  The company must get pre-approval or pay the 
tax and apply for a refund.

• Computer and telecommunications equipment that is 
an integral part of a new or expanding primary sector 
business other than a manufacturer or recycler.  The 
company must be certifi ed as a primary sector business 
by the Department of Commerce and get pre-approval 
for the exemption or pay the tax and apply for a refund.

• Production equipment and other tangible personal 
property used to construct certain defi ned electrical 
power generating plants.  To qualify, plants must 
produce a specifi ed amount of electricity and use certain 
power sources (coal, wind, and other sources).  Plant 
operators must get pre-approval for the exemption or 
pay the tax and apply for a refund.

• Production equipment and other tangible personal 
property used to repower an existing power plant.  
Repowering means an investment of more than two 
hundred million dollars or one million dollars per 
megawatt of installed nameplate capacity, whichever is 
less.  Environmental upgrade equipment used in power 
plants, repowering existing power plants, oil refi neries, 
or gas processing plants.  Plant operators must get pre-
approval for the exemption or pay the tax and apply for 
a refund.

• Tangible personal property used in compressing, 
processing, gathering, or refi ning gas recovered from 
an oil or gas well or used to construct or expand a gas 
processing facility.  Plant operators must get pre-
approval for the exemption or pay the tax and apply for 
a refund.

• Tangible personal property purchased to construct or 
expand a telecommunications service infrastructure.  
To qualify for the exemption, the property must be 
incorporated into a telecommunications infrastructure 
owned by a telecommunications company.

• Tangible personal property used to construct or expand 
an oil refi nery that has a capacity to process at least fi ve 
thousand barrels of oil a day.  Plant operators must get 
pre-approval for the exemption or pay the tax and apply 
for a refund.

• Used mobile homes.
• Used farm machinery, used irrigation equipment, and 

new and used farm machinery and farm irrigation repair 
parts.

• Newspapers.

• Newsprint and printer’s ink sold to publishers.
• Magazine subscriptions.
• Electricity.
• Water.
• Steam used to process agricultural products.
• Flight simulators or mechanical equip ment used with a 
fl ight simulator.

• Money.
• Lottery tickets and bingo cards.
• Admissions to, or sales made at, an annual church 

supper or bazaar held in a publicly-owned building.
• Admission tickets to state or local fairs.
• Performances of community non-profi t music or 

dramatic arts organi za tions (if proceeds used for 
charitable purposes).

• Film rentals if admissions to view the fi lm are subject to 
sales tax.

• Prescription drugs.
• Artifi cial medical devices.
• Mobility-enhancing equipment for use by physically 

disabled persons.
• Oxygen and anesthesia gases for medical purposes.
• Diabetic and bladder dysfunction sup plies.
• Ostomy devices and supplies.
• Items sold to federal chartered credit unions.
• Items subject to other taxes such as coal, benefi  ciated 

coal, aircraft, motor vehicles, gasoline, and combustible 
fuels.

• Items sold to private non-profi t schools.
• Bibles, hymnals, textbooks, prayerbooks sold to 

nonprofi t religious organi zations.
• Items sold to governmental agencies, including public 

schools.
• Items sold to residents of Montana, including business 

entities where the individual owners are Montana 
residents or they are domestic Montana corporations, if 
the total sales price exceeds $50.

• Items sold to residents of Canada if purchase is over 
$25 (must apply on-line for a refund of tax paid).

• Items sold to a Commerce Authority for use in the 
Authority's infrastructure.

• Items sold on an Indian reservation to an enrolled 
Native American or to the tribal government.

• Goods sold to a hospital or skilled nursing facility, basic 
care or intermediate care facility, assisted living facility, 
or emergency medical service provider.

• Items sold at an auction unless the auctioneer is selling 
retail inventory or consigned goods owned by an 
undisclosed principal.

• Items sold to a charitable organization to be awarded 
as a prize in a raffl e if the winner is subject to tax upon 
receipt.

• CO2 used for enhanced oil recovery.
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• Equipment used to sell biodiesel fuel.
• Hydrogen used to power internal combustion engines or 

fuel cells.
• Natural gas.
• Equipment used to produce and store hydrogen.
• Precious metal bullion with purity not less than .999.

Administration 

Every business making taxable retail sales and every 
business accruing a use tax liability must obtain a North 
Dakota sales and use tax permit from the North Dakota 
Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner.  A consolidated form is 
available to register for a sales and use tax permit, income 
tax withholding, unemployment insurance and workers 
compensation.

Most businesses pay sales, use, and gross receipts taxes 
on a quarterly basis.  However, businesses reporting 
taxable sales and purchases of $333,000 or more during 
the previous calendar year must fi le monthly returns.  
Businesses required to fi le and pay monthly returns are 
allowed to deduct and retain a compensation allowance of 
1½% of the tax due, up to a maximum of $85 per month if 
the returns are fi led on time.  

Whether the tax is paid monthly or quarterly, the tax 
payment and a return reporting all sales and purchases 
are due the last day of the month following the end of the 
reporting period.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue collected from the sales, use, farm machinery 
gross receipts, alcoholic beverage gross receipts, and 
motor vehicle excise taxes is divided between the State 
General Fund and the State Aid Distribution Fund.  The 
formula to determine the State Aid Distribution Fund 
portion is designed to keep the amount constant regardless 
of tax rate changes. The formula is:

 40% (1% ÷  by general sales tax rate) (net collections)

This formula to determine the State Aid Distribution Fund 
currently yields 8% of the net collections.  The distribution 
of the State Aid Distribution Fund portion is 53.7% to 
revenue sharing for counties and 46.3% for cities.

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

Imposition and Rates

The purchase price of any motor vehicle purchased or 
acquired, either within or outside of North Dakota, for use 
on the streets or highways of this state is subject to a motor 
vehicle excise tax if the vehicle is required to be registered 
in North Dakota.

The motor vehicle excise tax is 5% of the purchase price 
(the sale price less any trade-in amount). If the vehicle is 
acquired by means other than purchase, the tax is 5% of 
the fair market value. When a motor vehicle weighing less 
than ten thousand pounds is leased for at least one year, the 
motor vehicle excise tax is 5% of the lease consideration.  
All other leased vehicles are taxed at 5% of the purchase 
price.  North Dakota excise tax is due on the fair market 
value of the motor vehicle when it enters North Dakota to 
be registered for use.  North Dakota allows credit for any 
excise tax paid on a motor vehicle in another state if that 
state allows a reciprocal credit.

The motor vehicle excise tax is in addition to motor 
vehicle registration fees for license plates. The registration 
fees are paid annually to the Department of Transportation.

Exemptions

A motor vehicle is exempt from the motor vehicle excise 
tax if the vehicle is:
• A gift between a husband and wife, parent and child, or 

brother and sister.
• Inherited.
• A motor carrier vehicle.
• Purchased for resale by a licensed dealer.
• Purchased by a disabled veteran.
• Purchased or leased by the federal government, the 

State of North Dakota, or a political subdivision of the 
state.

• A bus purchased by a nonprofi t senior citizens’ or 
handicapped persons’ organization.

• Specially equipped for a disabled per son.
• Owned by an individual and transferred to a partnership 

or corporation.
• Transferred from a partnership without consideration to 

one of the partners when the partnership dissolves.
• Acquired by a private nonprofi t school for the 

transportation of students.
• Purchased by a charitable organization to be awarded as 

a prize in a raffl e and the vehicle will be subject to tax 
when registered.
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• Purchased by the state lottery to be awarded as a prize.
• Transferred between joint tenants in whose names the 

vehicle was previously titled if the vehicle is transferred 
without monetary consideration.

• Owned by a person who has a change of name due to 
marriage, adoption, or court order. 

• Transferred without consideration to or from a person 
within 30 days before the person enters into or is 
discharged from the armed services of the United States 
or while the person is serving in the armed forces of the 
United States.

• Subject to a lien change but only if the registered owner 
has not changed.

• Manufactured by persons for their own use.
• Transferred from a corporation to one of the 

stockholders when a corporation is dissolved.
• Acquired by a nonprofi t county or local historical 

society that is exempt from federal income tax.
• Transferred from a revocable living trust to the spouse, 

child, or sibling of the trustor.
• An ambulance purchased for use by emergency medical 

service operators.
• Purchased by an enrolled Native American that resides 

on a North Dakota reservation.
• Discounts and other incentives offered by vehicle 

manufacturers' are exempt from tax when they reduce 
the amount paid by the purchaser to the seller at the 
time of purchase.

Administration

The motor vehicle excise tax is collected by the 
Department of Transportation.

Distribution of Revenue

Motor vehicle excise tax revenue is credited to the general 
fund.

Music And Dramatico-Musical Composition 
Performing Rights Tax

A 5% tax is levied on the gross receipts from all sales, 
licenses and other dispositions of performing rights in 
music or dramatico-musical compositions. The tax is 
administered by the North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax 
Commissioner and revenue from the tax is placed in the 
State General Fund.

Provider Assessment for Intermediate Care

A quarterly assessment is billed to each licensed North 
Dakota intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded 
(ICFMR).  The assessment is charged for each licensed 
bed at the facility on the fi rst day of each calendar quarter 
and is payable by the last day of each calendar quarter.  
The assessment amount, which is effective each July 1, is 
calculated by the Department of Human Services and may 
not be greater than the following:

[1½% times aggregate annual gross revenues of all ICFMR
as of December 31] ÷

Number of licensed beds as of December 31

The Provider Assessment is administered by the Offi ce of 
State Tax Commissioner and is deposited in the Provider 
Assessment Fund.  The quarterly assessment rate as of 
July 1, 2010 was $1,741 for each licensed bed.

City Lodging Restaurant and Motor Vehicle 
Rental Taxes

Imposition and Rates

The governing body of any city may, by ordinance, impose 
a city tax, not to exceed 2%, upon the receipts from leasing 
or renting hotel and motel accommo dations.  Revenue 
from the tax must be deposited in a city visitors promotion 
fund to be used for tourism promotion.  These funds may 
not be used for capital construction.

A city may impose an additional 1% tax on lodging 
accommodations and on receipts from restaurant sales of 
prepared food or beverages.  Revenue from this tax must 
be deposited in the city visitors promotion capital construc-
tion fund.

A city may also impose by ordinance a tax, not to exceed 
1%, on the gross receipts of retailers on the rental of motor 
vehicles for fewer than thirty days if the motor vehicle is 
either delivered to a renter at an airport or delivered to a 
renter who was picked up at an airport.  Revenue from the 
tax must be deposited in a city visitors promotion fund.

Administration

The North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner 
administers and collects all city motor vehicle rental taxes 
and most city lodging taxes and remits the revenue to the 
cities on a monthly basis.  An administra tive fee of 3% of 
collections is deposited in the State General Fund.  Fargo, 
Grand Forks, Minot and Valley City administer their 
lodging taxes themselves.
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Aircraft Excise Tax

Imposition and Rates

A 5% tax is imposed on the purchase price or market value 
of aircraft regis tered in North Dakota.  The tax applies 
whether the aircraft is purchased in North Dakota or 
outside the state.  If the aircraft is purchased for lease or 
rental, the tax may be imposed on the lease or rental cost 
of the aircraft.

On aircraft designed exclusively for aerial applications of 
agricultural fertilizers, pesticides and other agricultural 
materials, a reduced tax rate of 3% applies to the purchase 
price or rental cost of the aircraft.

Exemptions

An aircraft is exempt from the aircraft excise tax if the 
aircraft is:
• A gift between a husband and wife, parent and child, or 

brother and sister.
• Inherited.
• Purchased for resale by a licensed dealer.
• Purchased by a disabled veteran.
• Purchased or leased by the federal government, the 

State of North Dakota, or a political subdivision of the 
state.

• Owned by an individual and transferred to a partnership 
or corporation.

• Transferred from a partnership without consideration to 
one of the partners when the partnership dissolves.

• Acquired by a private nonprofi t school.
• Transferred between joint tenants in whose names the 

aircraft was previously titled if the aircraft is transferred 
without monetary consideration.

• Owned by a person who has a change of name due to 
marriage, adoption, or court order.

• Subject to a lien change but only if the registered owner 
has not changed.

• Transferred from a corporation to one of the 
stockholders when a corporation is dissolved.

• An air ambulance purchased for use by emergency 
medical service operators.

Administration

The tax is paid by the purchaser to the Director of 
Aeronautics when the aircraft is acquired.  The purchaser 
is required to submit the tax with an “aircraft purchaser’s 
certifi cate” showing a description of the aircraft, the 
names and addresses of the buyers and sellers, and the full 
purchase price of the aircraft.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the tax is deposited in the Aeronautics 
Commission Special Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1935 Session.  
• The fi rst general sales tax in North Dakota was enacted 

at a rate of 2%.  The tax base generally consisted of all 
sales to consumers of personal property; sales or service 
of gas, electricity, water and communication; and sales 
of tickets to places of amusement.

1939 Session.  
• A 2% general use tax was enacted.

1963 Session.  
• The sales and use tax rate increased from 2% to 2¼%.

1965 Referred Measure.  
• The sales tax law was referred and disapproved.  

Consequently, during the period July 1, 1965 to April 1, 
1967 use tax was collected in place of the disapproved 
sales tax.

1967 Session.  
• New sales and use tax laws were enacted imposing a 

3% tax on the same sales transactions that were in effect 
through the 1963 sales tax law.  

• The legislature enacted a separate 3% motor vehicle 
excise tax. 

1969 Session.  
• Sales tax, use tax, and motor vehicle excise tax rates 

were increased from 3% to 4%.  The increase was used 
to replace revenue lost to local governments by the 
repeal of the personal property tax.

• The sales tax base was broadened to include tobacco 
products, alcoholic beverages, and oleomargarine.

1973 Session.  
• Food purchased for off premises consumption was 

exempted from the sales and use tax.

1975 Session.  
• Exemptions were added for sales of artifi cial devices 

for handicapped persons, coal, sales to nursing homes 
and intermediate care facilities, and the sales of certain 
religious books to nonprofi t religious organizations.
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• No change was made in the 3% rate for farm 
machinery, irrigation equipment, and new mobile 
homes.

1987 Session.  
• The legislature increased the general sales and use tax 

rate and the motor vehicle excise tax rate from 5% to 
5½%; the rate on farm machinery, irrigation equipment, 
farm machinery repair parts and new mobile homes 
from 3% to 3½%; and the rate on alcoholic beverages 
from 6% to 6½%.

• The legislature added cable TV services to the tax base.  
[However, in a 1988 referred measure, the cable TV 
provision was rejected and did not take effect.]  

• Exemptions were created for fl ight simulators, annual 
church suppers and bazaars, and adjuvants used with 
farm chemicals.  The legislature required use tax 
collection by those who solicit sales by mail or other 
communication systems.

• Effective July 1, 1989 a portion of the sales, use, and 
motor vehicle excise tax collections was allocated to the 
State Aid Distribution Fund to fi nance revenue sharing 
and personal property tax replacement.  

• Cities were granted authority to impose a 1% lodging 
and restaurant tax. 

1989 Session.  
• The general sales and use tax rate and the motor vehicle 

excise tax rate was increased from 5½% to 6%.  
• The rate on farm machinery, irrigation equipment, farm 

machinery repair parts, and new mobile homes was 
increased from 3½% to 4%; and the rate on alcoholic 
beverages was increased from 6½% to 7%.  

• The legislature created a new rate of 3% on machinery 
and equipment used in manufacturing or in processing 
agricultural products.

• The tax base was broadened to include bingo cards, 
coffee, tea, cocoa, and certain bottled water.  State 
chartered credit unions lost the sales tax exemption on 
items purchased for their own use.  

• The existing exemption for residents of Montana was 
modifi ed and the exemption for residents of Canada 
was replaced with a refund provision.  

• An exemption was created for prepared food given 
away as samples in a grocery store.  

• A portion of sales, use and motor vehicle excise tax 
collections was allocated to the Capital Construction 
Fund. The legislature enacted a controlled substances 
tax.

1989 Referral Election.  
• The general sales and use tax rate and the motor vehicle 

excise tax rate were reduced from 6% to 5%.  

1976 Initiated Measure.  
• An initiated measure reduced the sales and use tax 

rate and the motor vehicle excise tax rate from 4% to 
3%, reduced the rate on farm machinery and irrigation 
equipment from 4% to 2%, and eliminated the tax on 
electricity.

1977 Session.  
• The legislature authorized home rule cities to contract 

with the Tax Commissioner to collect city sales and use 
taxes.

1979 Session.  
• Exemptions to the sales and use tax law were added for 

sales to hospitals and for ostomy devices and supplies.  
• The exemption for devices to aid the handicapped was 

expanded. 

1981 Session.  
• The sales and use tax on water, used mobile homes, and 

magazine subscriptions was eliminated.  
• The tax rate on new mobile homes was reduced from 

3% to 2%.  
• Cities were permitted to levy a 2% city lodging tax.

1983 Session.  
• The general sales and use tax rate and the motor vehicle 

excise tax rate were increased from 3% to 4% and the 
rate for farm machinery, irrigation equipment, and new 
mobile homes was increased from 2% to 3%.  

• The legislature increased the rate for alcoholic 
beverages from 3% to 5%.  

• The requirements for remittance of sales and use tax 
were changed from a quarterly basis to a monthly 
basis for businesses with taxable sales and purchases 
greater than $333,000 in the preceding calendar year.  
Retailers required to fi le on a monthly basis were given 
a deduction for administrative expenses. 

• The tax on aircraft sales was changed from the sales tax 
to a separate aircraft excise tax.

1985 Session.  
• Exemptions for sales of candy, pop and chewing gum 

were repealed.  
• The legislature authorized home rule counties to 

contract with the Tax Commissioner to collect county 
sales and use taxes.  

1986 Special Session.  
• The general sales and use tax rate and the motor vehicle 

excise tax rate was increased from 4% to 5%.  
• The rate on farm machinery repair parts was lowered 

from 4% to 3%, and the rate on alcoholic beverages 
was increased from 5% to 6%.  
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• The rate on farm machinery, irrigation equipment, farm 
machinery repair parts and new mobile homes was 
reduced from 4% to 3%.  

• The rate on alcoholic beverages remained at 7%.

1991 Session.  
• The legislature approved a gradual decrease in the rate 

on natural gas from 5% to 4% on January 1, 1993; to 
3% on January 1, 1994; and to 2% on January 1, 1995.  

• The 3% special rate for manufacturing equipment was 
changed to an exemption and an exemption was created 
for production equipment in coal-burning power plants.  

• The legislature approved the Taxpayer Bill of Rights. 
• The destination of aircraft excise tax revenue was 

changed from the State General Fund to the Aeronautics 
Commission Special Fund. 

• A waste collection surcharge was imposed.

1993 Session.  
• The Capital Construction Fund was repealed.  
• The exemption for manufacturing machinery and 

equipment was clarifi ed and expanded to include 
recycling machinery and equipment.  

• Performances of community non-profi t music or 
dramatic arts organizations held in a public facility 
were exempted.  

• Items purchased by political subdivisions of another 
state were made taxable if the other state also taxes the 
items.  

• A new highway contract privilege tax was established 
at 5% of the gross contract amount for contracts bid 
after July 31, 1993.  This tax terminated December 31, 
1997.

1994 Special Session.  
• Further expanded the manufacturing exemption to 

include machinery and equipment used primarily 
in manufacturing and research and development 
equipment.  

• A new exemption was created for materials used to 
construct an agricultural commodity processing facility.

1995 Session.  
• Tire retreading was made taxable.  
• The tax on controlled substances and the waste 

collection surcharge were repealed.

1997 Session.  
• The legislature approved a sales and use tax of 6¢ per 

million British thermal units (MBTU) on all sales of 
coal, except for coal used for heating buildings or used 
in agricultural processing or sugar beet refi ning plants, 
or coal exempted from the tax imposed by N.D.C.C. 
ch. 57-61.

• An exemption was provided to a political subdivision of 
another state provided a sale to a North Dakota political 
subdivision is treated as an exempt sale in that state.

1999 Session.  
• The legislature changed the 6¢ per million British 

thermal units (MBTU) sales tax rate on coal to 75¢ per 
ton.  

• The sales tax rate on used farm machinery, used 
irrigation equipment, and new and used farm machinery 
repair parts was reduced from 3% to 1½%.  

• The exemption on manufacturing machinery and 
equipment was expanded to include crude oil refi neries 
for the period February 1, 1999 through July 1, 2002.  

• The legislature provided for corporations and LLCs to 
post a cash or surety bond in lieu of personal liability of 
the corporate offi ces, governors or managers.

2001 Session.  
• The 75 cents per ton sales tax on out-of-state coal was 

repealed.  
• The sales tax rate on used farm machinery, used 

irrigation equipment, and new and used farm machinery 
repair parts was changed from 1½% to a complete 
exemption effective July 1, 2002.  

• The exemption for new power plants was expanded to 
include wind-powered electrical generating facilities 
and a new exemption was created for computer and 
telecommunication equipment purchased by new 
or expanding primary sector businesses other than 
manufacturers or recyclers.  

• Sales tax was imposed on all vehicle rentals of less than 
30 days at a rate of 5% and an additional 3% surcharge 
was imposed on vehicles weighing less than ten 
thousand pounds.  

• The rate of penalty applied to delinquent sales tax 
returns was changed to 5% per month up to a maximum 
of 25%.  

• The method of imposing motor vehicle excise tax on 
leased vehicles (cars and light trucks) was changed from 
paying tax on the lessor's purchase price to paying tax 
on the total lease consideration.

2003 Session.  
• The legislature increased the tax rate on the rental 

of hotel, motel, and tourist court accommodations 
(excluding bed and breakfast facilities) from 5% to 6% 
from July 1, 2003 through June 30, 2007.  

• New exemptions were created for purchases made by 
Commerce Authorities, purchases of raffl e prizes made 
by charitable organizations when the prize winner is 
responsible for the tax, and on sales of lottery tickets.  
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• The legislature adopted the Streamlined Sales Tax 
Agreement effective January 1, 2006.  The agreement 
is a cooperative effort between business representatives 
and state tax and revenue departments to modernize 
and simplify sales and use taxes across the country.  
Changes necessary for North Dakota to become 
compliant with the terms of the agreement were passed 
with a January 1, 2006 effective date.

2005 Session.  
• The legislature authorized cities to impose a tax up to 

1% on the rental of motor vehicles for less than 30 days.
• The legislature also reduced the sales tax rate on the 

rental of hotel, motel, and tourist court accommodations 
(excluding bed and breakfast facilities) from 6% to 5% 
and imposed through June 30, 2007 a separate 1% gross 
receipts tax on these accommodations. 

• New exemptions were created for purchases made 
by assisted living facilities and emergency medical 
service providers, purchases of CO2 used for enhanced 
oil recovery, retail purchases of equipment used to 
sell biodiesel fuel, retail purchases of hydrogen to 
power internal combustion engines and fuel cells and 
equipment used to produce and store hydrogen.  

• Exemptions were also created for the portion of a 
bundled telecommunications charge that is attributable 
to nontaxable services, sales of precious metal bullion, 
and purchases after June 30, 2007 of equipment used 
in an environmental upgrade of an oil refi nery or gas 
processing plant.  

• The legislature also fi nalized the changes necessary 
for North Dakota to be in full compliance with the 
Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement and moved the 
effective date of these changes to October 1, 2005.  The 
most signifi cant change was to exempt the sales of farm 
machinery, farm irrigation equipment, and alcoholic 
beverages from sales tax and to impose separate gross 
receipts taxes on these products.

2007 Session.  
• The legislature exempted coal used for heating purposes 

and reduced the tax rate on natural gas from 2% to 1% 
beginning January 1, 2008.  Natural gas became exempt 
from tax effective July 1, 2009.    

• The sales tax exemption available to Native Americans 
was expanded to include members that are enrolled in 
any federally recognized tribe and that reside on the 
reservation where the goods are delivered. 

• The legislature authorized retailers to voluntarily cap 
the amount of local tax collected for a city or county 
that has limited its tax to a maximum amount per 
transaction.  

• New exemptions were authorized for the sale of 
bingo cards, materials purchased and used to gather, 
compress, and process gas and materials used to build 
or expand a gas processing facility or oil refi nery.   

• An exemption was also authorized for materials used to 
construct a new category of electrical generating power 
plants.  

• New motor vehicle excise tax exemptions were 
also approved for ambulances purchased for use 
by emergency medical service operators, vehicles 
purchased by the state lottery to be awarded as a prize, 
and certain purchases of vehicles by disabled veterans. 
In addition, the exemption from motor vehicle excise 
tax for Native Americans was expanded to include 
motor vehicles delivered anywhere within North Dakota 
to an enrolled member of any federally recognized 
tribe if the Native American resides on a North Dakota 
reservation.

2009 Session.  
• The legislature repealed the requirement for permit 

holders that reported more than $333,000 of taxable 
sales or purchases in the previous calendar year to fi le 
the May monthly sales and use tax return at the end of 
each biennium by June 22.    

• Exemption for farm irrigation repair parts. 
• The legislature extended the sales tax exemption on 

production equipment or tangible personal property 
used to construct a wind-powered electrical generation 
facility on construction completed before January 1, 
2015.  

• Effective July 1, 2009, the initial sale of benefi ciated 
coal became exempt from sales tax.   

• Clarifi ed the exemption passed in the 2007 legislature 
to exempt tangible personal property used to compress, 
process, gather, or refi ne gas from both gas and 
oil wells.  The tangible personal property must be 
incorporated into a new or expanded system.  

• Effective July 1, 2009, purchases of tangible 
personal property purchased to construct or expand 
a telecommunications service infrastructure is 
exempt from sales tax.  Telecommunications 
company is defi ned as a person engaged in furnishing 
telecommunications service in North Dakota.

• Native American tribal governments will be exempt 
from sales tax effective July 1, 2009.  Qualifying tribal 
governments are not entities or agencies that exist to 
primarily operate a business enterprise and are still 
taxable.
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 Other Revenue Collections
 Local Option Taxes, Music and Composition

Tax and Provider Assessment Collections

    
Fiscal Local Sales  City City Motor City Restaurant Music and Provider
Year & Use (1) Lodging (2) Vehicle Rental (3) and Lodging Composition Assessment (4)

 2000 58,711,263 898,527  2,006,046 78,211
 2001 66,961,363 978,713  2,226,938 90,050
 2002 65,368,838 957,524  2,223,865 84,901
 2003 73,666,551 1,034,752  2,439,338 89,902
 2004 68,644,864 958,482  2,393,809 91,113 3,129,863
2005 78,761,154 1,095,595  2,725,275 93,875 3,250,759
2006 87,563,544 1,173,548 13,327 2,887,157 46,749 3,781,260
2007 92,143,032 1,339,278 98,422 3,511,966 170,518 3,700,675
2008 96,566,720 1,474,318 92,014 3,663,163 131,470 3,983,220
 2009 108,264,455 1,718,675 100,917 4,075,402 138,342 3,809,126
 2010 119,411,810 1,872,368 110,557 4,289,399 155,923 4,094,197

(1) Collections by the North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner. Collections include Gross Receipts tax.
(2) Amounts are city lodging taxes collected by the North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner.  Devils Lake (effective July 1, 

2003), Fargo, Grand Forks, Minot (effective January 1, 1998), and Valley City (effective April 1, 2000) administer city lodging taxes 
themselves and those collections are not included here.

(3) City motor vehicle rental tax was authorized by the 2005 Legislature.  Currently, Bismarck, Minot and Grand Forks impose this 1% 
tax.

(4) Effective July 1, 2003.
 
SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner.

• The legislature passed with an emergency clause to 
expand the sales tax exemption for residents of Montana 
to include Montana business entities.  Business entities 
that qualify for the exemption are domestic Montana 
corporations or other entities where the owners, 
partners, members are individual Montana residents or 
Montana corporations.

• Effective July 1, 2009, the legislature approved 
all changes required for North Dakota to remain 
in compliance with the streamlined sales use tax 
agreement.

• The streamlined sales tax defi nition of specifi ed digital 
products was adopted by the legislature effective July 1, 
2009.  

• New motor vehicle excise tax exemptions were also 
approved to authorize the Department of Transportation 
to determine the fair market value of a motor vehicle 
leased for one year or more and with an actual weight 
of ten thousand pounds or less for the purposes of 
calculating the amount of motor vehicle excise tax due.
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Sales, Use, Gross Receipts, and Motor Vehicle Excise TaxesSales, Use, Gross Receipts, and Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes
Collections and DisbursementsCollections and Disbursements

TOTAL (Sales, Use, Gross Receipts, and Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes)TOTAL (Sales, Use, Gross Receipts, and Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes)
        To To ToTo
   To State Aid    To State Aid HighwayHighway
 Fiscal All Funds General Distribution Distribution Fiscal All Funds General Distribution Distribution
 Year Total Fund Fund Year Total Fund Fund  (1) (1) FundFund
 2000 386,340,221 355,433,005 30,907,266 2000 386,340,221 355,433,005 30,907,266
 2001 398,639,882 366,748,691 31,891,191 2001 398,639,882 366,748,691 31,891,191
 2002 401,460,878 369,344,008 32,116,870 2002 401,460,878 369,344,008 32,116,870
 2003 424,852,990 390,863,587 33,989,403 2003 424,852,990 390,863,587 33,989,403
 2004 438,530,207 403,447,790 35,082,417 2004 438,530,207 403,447,790 35,082,417
 2005 480,575,627 442,315,674 38,259,953 2005 480,575,627 442,315,674 38,259,953
 2006 495,565,709 456,024,312 39,541,397 2006 495,565,709 456,024,312 39,541,397
 2007 555,981,644 511,629,001 44,352,463 2007 555,981,644 511,629,001 44,352,463
 2008 611,082,615 554,779,839 48,869,266 7,433,510 2008 611,082,615 554,779,839 48,869,266 7,433,510
 2009 683,559,324 621,857,379 54,674,531 7,027,414 2009 683,559,324 621,857,379 54,674,531 7,027,414
 2010 684,133,784 609,730,225 55,911,259 18,492,300 2010 684,133,784 609,730,225 55,911,259 18,492,300
 2011 est. 786,445,000 702,824,000 62,790,000 20,831,000 2011 est. 786,445,000 702,824,000 62,790,000 20,831,000

 Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Taxes Motor Vehicle Excise Tax Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Taxes Motor Vehicle Excise Tax
  Total  State Aid Total  State Aid Highway  Total  State Aid Total  State Aid Highway
 Fiscal Sales and General Distribution Motor Veh. General Distribution  Distribution Fiscal Sales and General Distribution Motor Veh. General Distribution  Distribution
 Year Use Fund Fund  Year Use Fund Fund (1)(1) Taxes Fund Fund Taxes Fund Fund  (1) (1) FundFund
 2000  326,261,970 300,161,047 26,100,973 60,078,251 55,271,958 4,806,293 2000  326,261,970 300,161,047 26,100,973 60,078,251 55,271,958 4,806,293
 2001  340,114,586 312,905,419 27,209,167 58,525,296 53,843,272 4,682,024 2001  340,114,586 312,905,419 27,209,167 58,525,296 53,843,272 4,682,024
 2002  335,504,710 308,664,333 26,840,377 65,956,168 60,679,675 5,276,493 2002  335,504,710 308,664,333 26,840,377 65,956,168 60,679,675 5,276,493
 2003  360,819,598 331,954,030 28,865,568 64,036,392 58,912,557 5,123,835 2003  360,819,598 331,954,030 28,865,568 64,036,392 58,912,557 5,123,835
 2004  368,415,222 338,942,004 29,473,218 70,114,985 64,505,786 5,609,199 2004  368,415,222 338,942,004 29,473,218 70,114,985 64,505,786 5,609,199
 2005  411,553,514 378,815,330 32,738,184 69,022,113 63,500,344 5,521,769 2005  411,553,514 378,815,330 32,738,184 69,022,113 63,500,344 5,521,769
 2006  428,906,406 394,697,753 34,208,653 66,659,303 61,326,559 5,332,744 2006  428,906,406 394,697,753 34,208,653 66,659,303 61,326,559 5,332,744
 2007  485,986,114 447,233,113 38,753,001 69,995,530 64,395,888 5,599,642 2007  485,986,114 447,233,113 38,753,001 69,995,530 64,395,888 5,599,642
 2008  530,283,623 487,878,783 42,404,840 80,798,992 66,901,056 6,464,426 7,433,510 2008  530,283,623 487,878,783 42,404,840 80,798,992 66,901,056 6,464,426 7,433,510
 2009  607,170,311 558,606,901 48,563,410 76,389,013 63,250,478 6,111,121 7,027,414 2009  607,170,311 558,606,901 48,563,410 76,389,013 63,250,478 6,111,121 7,027,414
 2010  603,732,481 554,253,326 49,479,155 80,401,303 55,476,899 6,432,104 18,492,300 2010  603,732,481 554,253,326 49,479,155 80,401,303 55,476,899 6,432,104 18,492,300
 2011 est. 694,295,000 638,751,000 55,544,000 92,150,000 64,073,000 7,246,000 20,831,000 2011 est. 694,295,000 638,751,000 55,544,000 92,150,000 64,073,000 7,246,000 20,831,000

(1)(1) The formula to calculate the State Aid Distribution Fund (S.A.D.F.) is: 40% (1% ÷ general sales tax rate) (net collections  The formula to calculate the State Aid Distribution Fund (S.A.D.F.) is: 40% (1% ÷ general sales tax rate) (net collections 
of sales, use, and motor vehicle excise tax collections).  Revenues deposited in the state aid distribution fund are provided of sales, use, and motor vehicle excise tax collections).  Revenues deposited in the state aid distribution fund are provided 
as a standing and continuing appropriation.as a standing and continuing appropriation.

SOURCE:  North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner and estimates prepared with the Offi ce of Management and SOURCE:  North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner and estimates prepared with the Offi ce of Management and 
Budget.Budget.
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Local Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Taxes
Net Collections Remitted

2007-2009 Biennium

  Start Tax Tax Biennium  Start Tax Tax Biennium
 City Date* FY-2008 FY-2009 Total City Date* FY-2008 FY-2009 Total
Anamoose 1/09 $ 0.00  2,041 $ 2,041
Aneta 1/05   14,975   13,983   28,958
Ashley 4/98  74,960  40,380  115,339
Beach 10/97  113,385  127,502  240,887
Belfi eld 4/95  287,432  367,177  654,609
Berthold 1/96  29,655  47,589  77,244
Beulah 10/03  270,978  324,643  595,621
Bismarck 4/86  11,510,163  12,025,989  23,536,152
Bottineau 10/93  589,993  780,911  1,370,904
Bowman 10/94  292,803  319,134  611,937
Buffalo 1/03  9,695  17,082  26,777
Cando 1/98  126,952  141,136  268,089
Carrington 1/94  287,045  313,506  600,552
Carson 10/02  20,161  17,466  37,627
Casselton 4/98  167,790  192,612  360,402
Cavalier 10/94  238,159  255,985  494,144
Cooperstown 7/96  87,768  122,976  210,744
Crosby 1/93  98,033  109,412  207,445
Devils Lake 7/88  2,241,282  2,425,976  4,667,258
Dickinson 7/90  3,894,303  4,874,957  8,769,260
Drake 7/05  13,343  24,805  38,148
Drayton 10/97  59,390  65,078  124,468
Dunseith 1/05  41,799  52,807  94,605
Edgeley 1/97  121,619  127,918  249,538
Edinburg 4/99  15,831  18,074  33,906
Elgin 4/00  48,085  40,449  88,534
Ellendale 1/95  115,012  104,106  219,117
Enderlin 10/98  108,341  114,904  223,245
Fairmount 4/05  21,891  24,107  45,998
Fargo 4/89  20,475,746  24,368,774  44,844,520
Finley 10/98  56,316  57,647  113,963
Forman 01/09  0.00  10,135  10,135
Fort Ransom 1/00  11,739  14,050  25,789
Gackle 1/06  13,874  17,740  31,614
Garrison 1/96  230,829  229,824  460,653
Glen Ullin 1/07  43,955  41,636  85,591
Glenburn 7/08  0.00  19,122  19,122
Grafton 1/91  878,336  1,168,350  2,046,686
Grand Forks 1/85  15,918,333  16,050,868  31,969,201
Grenora 10/02  10,699  12,658  23,358
Gwinner 4/05  250,477  49,107  299,584
Halliday 7/96  24,523  29,213  53,736
Hankinson 10/97  130,967  91,477  222,444
Hannaford 10/04  10,578  12,393  22,971
Harvey 10/91  150,925  163,567  314,491
Harwood 01/09  0.00  10,221  10,221
Hatton 4/98  52,489  41,609  94,098
Hazelton 10/00  19,381  21,393  40,773
Hazen 4/95  198,981  216,502  415,483
Hettinger 7/96  175,236  154,105  329,341
Hillsboro 10/98  257,137  264,021  521,158
Hoople 1/99  9,102  12,637  21,739
Hope 1/01  67,175  36,398  103,573
Jamestown 7/91  3,693,911  4,035,597  7,729,508
Kenmare 1/93  191,458  278,565  470,023
Killdeer 4/95  131,670  184,284  315,954
Kulm 4/98  39,935  51,790  91,725
Lakota 1/07  41,445  43,963  85,408
LaMoure 1/97  120,653  124,039  244,692

Langdon 1/94  $ 225,441  $ 332,819  $ 558,260
Larimore 1/95  71,941  66,400  138,341
Leonard 4/07  12,949  14,276  27,225
Lidgerwood 10/00  47,290  48,492  95,781
Linton 10/93  137,743  154,848  292,591
Lisbon 7/95  217,558  252,404  469,962
Maddock 10/02  43,836  45,971  89,807
Mandan 4/91  1,464,548  1,480,646  2,945,194
Mapleton 7/07  35,131  55,773  90,905
Mayville 1/97  304,963  305,561  610,524
McClusky 1/96  17,744  18,474  36,218
McVille 1/02  16,436  17,381  33,817
Medora 1/00  325,270  381,074  706,344
Michigan 10/01  28,226  28,881  57,106
Milnor 10/98  52,404  47,011  99,415
Minnewaukan 1/07  15,968  10,236  26,205
Minot 4/86  13,501,984  14,872,013  28,373,997
Minto 4/07  33,509  35,726  69,235
Mohall 10/92  47,887  61,456  109,343
Mott 4/97  97,547  91,153  188,700
Munich 1/99  11,910  11,955  23,865
Napoleon 10/96  53,921  98,303  152,224
Neche 1/04  16,751  29,609  46,359
New England 10/02  60,443  83,856  144,299
New Leipzig 1/99  9,692  9,685  19,377
New Rockford 10/96  108,117  204,089  312,206
New Salem 4/07  69,201  71,779  140,980
Northwood 1/03  181,701  185,344  367,045
Oakes 10/96  261,896  290,788  552,684
Oxbow 1/02  21,341  21,998  43,339
Page 4/05  14,043  15,904  29,947
Park River 1/95  251,867  272,451  524,318
Pembina 1/93  91,742  86,582  178,324
Portland 1/97  53,919  53,317  107,236
Powers Lake 4/97  36,903  39,661  76,564
Reeder 1/03  8,833  7,738  16,571
Regent 1/97  15,172  14,569  29,741
Richardton 10/97  39,840  56,098  95,938
Rolette 1/03  37,474  46,742  84,216
Rolla 1/94  302,868  309,612  612,480
Rugby 1/93  261,537  264,974  526,511
Scranton 4/02  35,432  28,600  64,032
St. John 1/01  22,523  12,933  35,456
Stanley 10/95  153,241  273,321  426,562
Steele 10/96  153,229  100,895  254,124
Strasburg 4/93  23,778  27,110  50,887
Streeter 01/09  0.00  5,215  5,215
Tioga 1/95  171,159  195,675  366,834
Tower City 10/02  13,491  22,481  35,972
Towner 10/98  30,706  33,903  64,609
Turtle Lake 10/00  31,145  30,992  62,136
Underwood 10/06  181,180  160,734  341,914
Valley City 1/92  1,207,716  1,700,709  2,908,426
Velva 1/99  99,845  125,188  225,033
Wahpeton 7/91  1,311,966  1,303,616  2,615,582
Walhalla 10/97  90,781  132,343  223,124
Washburn 10/00  105,960  133,631  239,591
Watford City 10/98  202,362  257,684  460,046
West Fargo 10/94  2,457,358  2,510,619  4,967,977
Williston 7/91  4,617,354  6,081,497  10,698,851
Wilton 10/00  36,521  40,592  77,113
Wimbledon 1/05  14,663  17,257  31,920
Wishek 4/97  99,641  60,416  160,057
Woodworth 01/09  0.00  1,003  1,003

Totals for Cities  $ 93,774,306  104,656,456  198,430,762

Counties
Cass** 10/99  4,940  365  5,305
Steele 4/05  132,453  120,288  252,741 
Walsh 4/01  220,552  235,237  455,789
Williams 10/06  2,434,469  3,162,370  5,596,838
Totals for Counties  $ 2,792,413 $ 3,518,260 $ 6,310,673
Total Local Option
Taxes Paid  $ 96,566,720 $ 108,174,716 $ 204,741,435

SOURCE:  North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner. * The Start Date is the original date the local tax was initiated.
 ** Repealed 4/1/2003
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 Biennial Estimate
 Low High
Exempt Products
Resources
 Gasoline $160,000,000 $200,000,000
 Coal 25,000,000 30,000,000
 Electricity 36,000,000 41,000,000
 Water Through Mains 1,400,000 2,000,000
 Natural Gas 15,000,000 20,000,000

Publishing
 Newspapers $2,500,000 $3,000,000
 Magazine Subscriptions 1,200,000 1,500,000
 Bibles, Hymnals, Prayerbooks
  and Textbooks Purchased by
  Private Schools Less Than $5,000                      
Textbooks Purchased
  by Students 750,000 1,000,000

Medical
 Prescription Drugs $8,800,000 $12,825,000
 Oxygen and Anesthesia Gases 50,000 80,000
 Artifi cial Devices (Hearing
  Aids, Eyeglasses, Limbs) 1,100,000 1,900,000
 Ostomy Devices and Supplies 50,000 80,000
 Diabetic & Bladder Dysfunc-
  tion Supplies 250,000 350,000
 Equipment to Modify
  Articles for Disabled 20,000 40,000
 Sales to Hospitals and
  Nursing Homes 6,250,000 7,250,000

Agricultural
 Commercial Fertilizer (For
  Ag Purposes) $16,000,000 $20,000,000
 Livestock and Poultry 
  Feed 13,500,000 18,000,000
 Seeds for Planting 10,500,000 13,500,000
 Fungicides, Herbicides,
  and Insecticides 14,500,000 19,000,000
Used Farm Machinery and
     Repair Parts 12,000,000 17,000,000

Other
 Money 250,000 350,000
 Grocery Foods 65,000,000 75,000,000

 Exempt Products Total $390,120,000 $483,880,000

Miscellaneous Exemptions
 Rental of Hotel and Motel
  Accommodations $190,000 $290,000
 Film Rental (Movie Theater) 400,000 500,000
 Sales to Residents of Montana 1,000,000 2,000,000
 Sales to Residents of Canada
  (Refund) 1,000,000 2,000,000
 State and Local Fairs 100,000 175,000
 Private and Parochial Schools 500,000 700,000
 Inter-State Telephone 2,000,000 4,000,000
 Cable Television 3,000,000 4,000,000
 Auctions 3,000,000 4,000,000
 Manufacturing & Recycling
  Equipment 25,000,000 30,000,000
 Bingo Cards 3,000,000 4,000,000

Miscellaneous Exemptions Total  $39,190,000 $51,665,000

 Biennial Estimate
 Low High
Exempt Services
 Veterinary Services $1,500,000 $2,000,000
 Financial Services 3,250,000 5,500,000
 Oil and Gas Field Services 15,000,000 20,000,000
 Construction 15,000,000 24,000,000
 Funeral Services 2,000,000 3,000,000
 Miscellaneous Personal Services 600,000 700,000
 Farm Machinery Repair 1,000,000 2,000,000
 Transportation Services 200,000 400,000
 Lawn Care Services 600,000 800,000
 Engineering, Architecture, and
  Surveying 700,000 1,300,000
 Health Services 80,000,000 125,000,000 
Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service 1,200,000 2,000,000
 Beauty and Barber Shops 3,000,000 4,000,000
 Automotive Repair 8,000,000 12,500,000
 Miscellaneous Repair 3,500,000 5,500,000
 Accounting, Auditing and
  Bookkeeping 3,200,000 4,200,000
 Business Services 6,000,000 7,000,000
 Legal Services 7,000,000 9,000,000

Exempt Services Total $151,750,000 $228,900,000

Grand Total All Exemptions $581,060,000 $764,445,000

Partial Exemptions (fi scal effect 
is computed at 2% for new farm 
machinery and mobile homes)

 
 New - Farm Machinery and 
    Repair Parts $9,000,000 $13,000,000
 New Mobile Homes 300,000 500,000 

Total Partial Exemptions $9,300,000 $13,500,000

* Calculations are based on 5% state sales and use tax rate.  All 
amounts are preliminary and subject to change as additional infor-
mation becomes available.

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Research 
Section

North Dakota Sales and Use Tax Exemptions
Estimated Biennial Fiscal Effect *

Sales Taxes $ 3,800,000
Businesses with taxable sales and purchases of $333,000 or more per 
year receive compensation of up to $85 per month for fi ling monthly 
returns.

Cigarette Tax $ 50,000
Wholesalers who fi le and pay on time may deduct up to $100 per 
month. This deduction was originally to compensate for stamping ciga-
rette packages. In 1991 the stamping requirement was repealed, but the 
compensation remains.

SOURCE: North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner,
 

Biennial Filing Deductions
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STATE COMPARISONS

There are 11 states with general state sales tax rates lower 
than North Dakota's 5% rate. However, in comparing 
North Dakota’s sales tax to other states, one must also 
consider the tax base, the goods and services subject to the 
tax, as well as the level of local sales taxes.

Tax Base.  Does a state include groceries, electricity, 
prescription drugs, and services such as legal, business, 
accounting, architecture, lawn care? 

In an effort to lessen the impact of taxes on a family's 
ability to buy necessities, North Dakota exempts groceries, 
residential electricity, and a few other essentials. States 
can also make a sales tax somewhat more progressive by 
taxing goods or services used mostly by upper income 
purchasers.  The charts on the next few pages detail 
specifi c items taxed in each state.

Local Sales Taxes. In addition to a general state sales tax, 
most states allow local subdivisions to levy a sales tax as 
well. In some cases (Colorado, for example), the local rate 
may actually be higher than the state rate. As of September 
2010, 125 cities and 3 counties impose a local tax from 
¼ to 2½%.  However, most local taxes have a refund 
provision that allows the purchaser to obtain a refund of 
the local tax paid on any portion of a purchase greater than 
$2,500.  The most common local rate is 1%.

Example.  A comparison of sales taxes in North Dakota 
and South Dakota provides a good example of the impact 
of different tax bases and local taxes. Because more 
goods and services are taxed in South Dakota, that state's 
4% state sales tax rate generally results in a higher tax 
payment than North Dakota's 5% rate.

 State Sales Tax Rates Comparison
 with the Other 45 States (and D.C.)
 That Levy a Sales Tax
 October 1, 2010

 Number of States

 Rates Lower Rates the Same Rates Higher
 Than N.D. As N.D. Than N.D.

 Other States' Rates Compared to N.D.'s 11 4 30

Note: Out of a possible 168 taxable services, North Dakota taxes only 25 services and does not tax 
groceries or electricity.

 Five states do not levy a sales tax:  Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and 
Oregon

SOURCE:  Survey of states conducted by North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner, Sales 
Tax Section, October 2008.
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 General Sales and Gross Receipts
 Tax Collections Per Capita
 Fiscal Year 2009

   Per Capita General
   Sales and Gross
 Rank State Receipts Taxes

 1 Hawaii $1,901
 2 Wyoming 1,819
 3 Washington 1,506
 4 Florida 1,037
 5 Mississippi 1,025
 6 Nevada 1,016
 7 Tennessee 1,010
 8 Indiana 966
 9 Arkansas 957
 10 Michigan 950
 11 New Jersey 940
 12 New Mexico 939
 13 NORTH DAKOTA 938
 14 Connecticut 935
 15 South Dakota 932
 16 Arizona 860
 17 Texas 849
 18 Nebraska 837
 19 Minnesota 831
 20 Kansas 790
 21 California 784
 22 Idaho 780
 23 Rhode Island 774
 24 Maine 768
 25 Iowa 732
 26 Wisconsin 723
 27 Maryland 676
 28 Pennsylvania 674
 29 Kentucky 662
 30 Louisiana 660
 31 South Carolina 638
 32 Ohio 635
 33 Utah 626
 34 West Virginia 610
 35 Massachusetts 589
 36 Oklahoma 587
 37 Illinois 579
 38 New York 567
 39 Georgia 540
 40 North Carolina 529
 41 Vermont 516
 42 Missouri 506
 43 Alabama 439
 44 Virginia 428
 45 Colorado 423
 46 Alaska n/a
 47 Delaware n/a
 48 Montana n/a
 49 New Hampshire n/a
 50 Oregon n/a
  US Average $743

SOURCE: US Dept. of Commerce, Census Bureau.

 Total Sales and Gross Receipts
 Tax Collections Per Capita
 Fiscal Year 2009

   Per Capita Total
   Sales and Gross
 Rank State Receipts Taxes

 1 Hawaii $ 2,413
 2 Wyoming 2,059
 3 Washington 1,967
 4 Nevada 1,642
 5 Connecticut 1,542
 6 NORTH DAKOTA 1,458
 7 Florida 1,450
 8 Mississippi 1,402
 9 Minnesota 1,398
 10 Indiana 1,379
 11 New Jersey 1,347
 12 South Dakota 1,334
 13 Vermont 1,322
 14 Rhode Island 1,314
 15 Michigan 1,306
 16 Arkansas 1,298
 17 Texas 1,273
 18 Tennessee 1,271
 19 Maine 1,245
 20 New Mexico 1,240
 21 West Virginia 1,224
 22 Pennsylvania 1,198
 23 Wisconsin 1,168
 24 Illinois 1,122
 25 Nebraska 1,121
 26 Arizona 1,120
 27 Louisiana 1,117
 28 Iowa 1,088
 29 Kentucky 1,081
 30 Kansas 1,080
 31 Maryland 1,077
 32 Ohio 1,053
 33 New York 1,036
 34 Idaho 1,018
 35 California 984
 36 North Carolina 899
 37 Massachusetts 895
 38 South Carolina 894
 39 Alabama 893
 40 Utah 861
 41 Oklahoma 857
 42 Missouri 768
 43 Georgia 712
 44 Virginia 699
 45 Colorado 657
 46 New Hampshire 627
 47 Montana 543
 48 Delaware 536
 49 Alaska 350
 50 Oregon 195
  US Average $1,115
Total Sales and Gross Receipts Taxes includes taxes on alcoholic 
beverages, amusements, insurance premiums, motor fuels, pari-mutuels, 
public utilities, tobacco products and other selective sales.

SOURCE:  US Dept. of Commerce, Census Bureau.
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Sales Tax Comparison of Surrounding States and Provinces
Rates in Effect October 1, 2010

      
 NORTH SOUTH
 DAKOTA DAKOTA WYOMING MINNESOTA IOWA MANITOBA SASKATCHEWAN

 GENERAL STATE RATE 5%  4%  4%  6.875%  6%  7% (2) 5% (2)

 MAXIMUM LOCAL RATE 2.5%  2%  3%  1%  1%

 PRODUCTS
 Motor Vehicles (sales or excise tax) 5%  3%  4%  6.5% (49)  (50) 7%  5% (6)
 Natural Gas (sales or utility)   4% (3) 4% (3) (4) 6.875% (5) 6%  7%
 Electricity   4%  4% (3) (4) 6.875% (1) (5) 6%  7%  5%
 Coal   (8) (19) 4%  4% (1)   6%  7%
 City and Rural Water       6.875% (9) 6%
 Newspapers (retail & subscription)   4%        7%
 Magazines (retail) 5%  4%  4%  6.875%  6%  7%
 Magazines (subscriptions)   4%  4%    6%  7%
 Bibles/Textbooks to Religious Groups   4%   (36)   6%  
 Prescription Drugs
 Agricultural Supplies   4% (10) 4% (7)      (31)  (10)
 New Farm Machinery 3% (33) 4%         (31)
 Farm Machinery Parts     4%       (31)
 Alcoholic Beverages 7% (34) 4%  4%  6.875% or 9% (13) 6%  7%   (43)
 Money (gold & silver coins)   4%      6%  7% (15) 5%
 Mobile Homes - - New 3%  3%  4% (11) 6.875% (16) 5% (41) 7% (18)  (44)
 Mobile Homes - - Used   3%     (22)  (45) 7% (18)  (45)
 Grocery Foods   4%   (37)
 Restaurant 5%  4%  4%  6.875%  6%  7%

 MISCELLANEOUS
 Hotel & Motel Accommodation Rental 5% (20) 4%  4%  6.875%  5% (42) 7% (20) 5%
 Film Rental to Theaters & TV Stations     4% 
 Film Rentals (other than to Theatres/TV) 5%  4%  4% (48) 6.875%  6%  7%  5%
 State/Local Fairs/Admission       6.875%      5%
 Inter-State Telephone       6.875%    7%  5%
 Cable Television   4%   (23) 6.875%  6%  7%  5%
 Receipts from Vending Machines 5%  4%  4%  6.875%  6%  7%  5%
 Sales to Private and Parochial Schools     4% (24)     7%  5%
 Sales to Hospitals   4% (12) 4% (24) 6.875% (25) (39)    7% (32)  (46)
 Sales to Nursing Homes   4%  4% (24) 6.875% (25) (39)  6%  7% (32)  (46)

 SERVICES  
  Number of Taxable Services (26) 26  144  58  66  94  N/A  15
 Veterinary Services   4%          5%
 Financial Services    (27)     6%
 Oil & Gas Field Services (non-materials)   4%  4% (35)
 Construction (non-materials)   2% (28)       7%
 Funeral Services   4%
 Miscellaneous Personal Services   4% (29)     6%
 Transportation Services   4% (21) 4% (14)    
 Lawn Care Services    4%    6.875%  6%
 Engineering, Architecture & Surveying   4%        7% (17)  (47)
 Health Services
 Laundry & Dry Cleaning Service   4%  4%  6.875% (40) 6%  7%  5%
 Beauty and Barber Shops   4%      6%
 Farm Machinery Repair     4%    6%   (31)
 Automotive Repair   4%  4%    6%  7%  5%
 Miscellaneous Repair   4%  4%    6%  7%  5%
 Accounting, Auditing & Bookkeeping   4%        7%  5%
 Business Services (consulting, etc.)   4%       (38)
 Legal Services   4%        7%  5%

COMPENSATION TO RETAILERS Yes (30) No No No No Yes (30) Yes



December 2010
North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner - 117 -

Sales Tax Comparison of Surrounding States and Provinces
Footnotes

 (1) Exempt as a fuel for use as boiler fuel in the production of electricity.
 (2) Canada also levies a federal goods and services tax (GST) of 5% in addition to the general provincial sales tax (PST).
 (3) Exempt for agricultural use.
 (4) Exempt if used directly in manufacturing, processing, or agricultural.
 (5) Exempt for agriculture and industrial production of personal property and exempt for residential use during the winter months.
 (6) PST no longer applies to the sale of eligible used light vehicles on which PST has previously been paid in full.  These include cars, sport utilities, light 

vans, and light trucks (one ton and less).
 (7) Exempt if feeds, seeds, roots, bulbs, small plants and fertilizer.
 (8) Coal mined in North Dakota is subject to severance tax and is exempt from sales tax.
 (9) Residential water bills are exempt.
 (10) Some supplies are exempt such as feed and seed, but other agricultural supplies are taxable.
 (11) 70% of price.
 (12) Exempt if hospital is charitable or non-profi t.
 (13) 3.2 beer - 6.5%.  Additional 2.5% on hard liquor, wine, and over 3.2 beer.
 (14) Intra-state passenger transportation services are taxable but inter-state transportation of freight and passengers are exempt in Wyoming.
 (15) Taxable if sold above face value.
 (16) 65% of dealer's cost of new mobile homes is taxed at 6.875% (effective rate is 4.469%).
 (17) Engineering and architectural design services are taxable in Manitoba.  Surveying is exempt.
 (18) A point-of-sale exemption is available on the residential purchase of a mobile, modular or ready-to-move home.  Vendors will apply sales tax, at point of 

sale, at a rate of 4% of the basic selling prices (excluding furniture, appliances, etc.).
 (19) Effective July 1, 2009, the initial sale of benefi ciated coal is exempt.  (Benefi ciated coal is coal that has been processed to remove water and 

contaminants to improve the coal's quality).
 (20) Rooms rented by and for the same individual are exempt if rented for 30 consecutive days in North Dakota.  In Manitoba, hotels and motels rented for 

one continuous month or more are exempt, and rooms in a lodging/rooming/boarding houses with accommodations for less than four tenants is also 
exempt.  Iowa imposes an excise tax of 5%.

 (21) Only passenger Transportation is taxable in South Dakota.
 (22) 65% of dealer's cost of new mobile homes for residential purposes is taxed at 6.875% (effective rate of 4.469%).  Used homes for residential purposes 

are exempt.  New and used homes for non-residential purposes are taxed at 6.875% of sales price.
 (23) While cable service itself is not enumerated as taxable by statute, the rental of equipment (i.e. cable box, remotes, etc.) is taxable.
 (24) Sales to schools, hospitals or nursing homes considered charitable or religious are exempt in Wyoming.
 (25) Any licensed health care facility or a health care professional can purchase goods used in the treatment of a patient tax free. However, only a hospital 

can purchase medical equipment tax free.
 (26) The number of taxable services in the study "Sales Taxation of Services," Federation of Tax Administrators, 2007.
 (27) Real estate commissions are taxable; other fi nancial services are exempt.
 (28) 2% on prime contract.
 (29) Most membership fees are exempt.
 (30) Maximum compensation to retailer in North Dakota is $85 per monthly return (1,020 per year), and in Manitoba, $58 per return.  Vendors with tax 

reported of greater than $3,000 in one period no longer receive compensation in Manitoba.
 (31) Agricultural supplies, farm machinery and farm machinery repair parts can be purchased exempt by a farmer in Manitoba by completing a farm-use 

certifi cate.
 (32) Equipment and supplies designed solely for the use of physically disabled persons or chronic invalids, and drugs dispensed on the prescription of a 

medical practitioner are exempt in Manitoba.
 (33) The 3% rate is a Gross Receipts Tax.
 (34) The 7% rate is a Gross Receipts Tax.
 (35) Oil and gas services rendered at the well site of an oil or gas well in the production casing phase are taxable.  Services rendered in the pre-production 

casing phase and associated with building the location are exempt.
 (36) Purchases made by religious and charitable organizations for fund raising purposes for the conduct of regular religious or charitable functions and 

activities and not in the course of any regular business are exempt from sales/use tax.
 (37) Food for domestic home consumption is sales/use tax exempt while prepared food and foods sold through vending machines remains taxable.
 (38) Investment counseling is taxable at 6%.
 (39) Sales to non-profi t hospitals and nursing homes, as well as to local government hospitals and nursing homes, are exempt.
 (40) Coin-operated washers and dryers are exempt.
 (41) All taxable mobile homes or manufactured housing is subject to a 5% use tax in an amount equal to 20 percent of the mobile home's manufactured 

housing's purchase price (80 percent of the home's or housing's purchase price is exempt from use tax).
 (42) 5% excise tax and if applicable an additional hotel/motel tax which cannot exceed 7% and must be imposed in increments of one or more full percentage 

points.
 (43) 10% Liquor Tax
 (44) New residential at 2.5% and new commercial at 5%.
 (45) Only residential are exempt if tax was previously paid.
 (46) Some exemptions apply.
 (47) Only 30% of certain aspects of Engineering and Architecture are taxable.  Surveying is not taxable.
 (48) Effective July 1, 2010, electronically delivered specifi c digital products, which includes digital audio-video works, digital audio works and digital books, 

where the customer does not receive permanent possession of the product are no longer subject to Wyoming sales tax.  However, these same products 
are taxable if the customer DOES receive permanent possession of the product.

 (49) General Sales & Use tax rate rose to 6.875% effective July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2034 per constitutional amendment.  Increased rate does not apply 
to motor vehicles.

 (50) The sales or lease price of motor vehicles subject to registration is exempt from sales tax.  These vehicles are subject to a one time registration fee equal 
to 5% of the sales or lease price.
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

CURRENT LAW

Imposition

Employers are subject to the North Dakota Unemployment 
Compensation Law if they are subject to the Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act. A fi rm in the private sector is 
subject to the Unemployment Compensation Law if it 
employs one or more workers in each of 20 different 
weeks in a calendar year or has a quarterly payroll of 
$1,500 or more.

The requirements also apply to an employer paying $1,000 
or more in wages for domestic services and an employer 
of agricultural labor employing 10 or more workers in 
20 different weeks within a calendar year or paying cash 
wages of $20,000 or more in any calendar quarter.

A nonprofi t organization having a 501-C-3 exemption 
(a federal income tax exemption covering charitable, 
religious and educational institutions) is subject to the law 
if it employs four or more workers in each of 20 different 
weeks in a calendar year.

Excluded from unemployment compensation coverage are: 
services performed by insurance or real estate salespersons 
paid entirely by commissions, services performed for a 
parent by a child under the age of 18, services performed 
by the parents of the employer, and services performed by 
the wife or husband of the employer. Corporate offi cers 
and certain limited liability company managers with a 25% 
ownership may be excluded by written application.

Employers not otherwise liable under the law may request 
unemployment compensation coverage which, if approved, 
is effective for a minimum of two years.

Taxes

Wage Base. For federal tax purposes, the taxable wage 
base is the fi rst $7,000 of each employee’s wages. For 
state tax purposes, the taxable wage base is 70% of the 
statewide average annual wage. For 2010, the taxable 
wage base used for the North Dakota tax is $24,700.

Rate. The employer pays the entire tax for both federal 
and state unemployment compensation taxes.

A newly liable employer is assigned the tax rate of 1.37% 
for 2010 (90% of the maximum rate in the positive 
account schedule) unless the employer is classifi ed in a 
construction industry. The tax rate for new construction 
employers is 10.00% for 2010 (the maximum rate in the 
negative account schedule). 

For other than newly liable employers, the employer’s 
tax rate is determined by an experience-rating system, 
which establishes the rate on the basis of the employer's 
experience with the unemployment insurance program.

There are two tax rate schedules, Positive Balance and 
Negative Balance. The employer's lifetime reserve 
(contributions paid less benefi ts charged) determines 
which schedule applies. The rate an employer is assigned 
within the respective schedule is determined on the basis 
of the relationship between the employer's last 6-year 
reserve balance (contributions paid less benefi ts charged) 
and his or her 3-year average taxable payroll.  

Employers with a positive reserve - those having paid 
more in contributions than their former employees have 
collected in benefi ts - are assigned a rate in the Positive 
Balance Schedule. For 2010, rates for these employers 
range from 0.20% to 1.52%.

Employers with a negative reserve – those whose former 
employees have collected more in benefi ts than the 
employer has paid in contributions - are assigned a rate in 
the Negative Balance Schedule. For 2010, rates for these 
employers range from 6.32% to 10.00%.

Unemployment Insurance Tax Rates are recalculated each 
year and are effective on January 1 of the following year.

Payments. Taxes are paid quarterly to Job Service North 
Dakota. Certain nonprofi t organizations, government 
agencies, and tribal entities may choose a reimbursement 
method of fi nancing under which they repay Job Service 
only for unemployment benefi ts the state paid out to the 
organization’s former employees.

Reports from employers with more than 24 employees 
must be fi led electronically via a method approved by Job 
Service North Dakota.  These and other employers may 
fi le reports electronically via UI EASY which is accessible 
at Job Service North Dakota's web site: jobsnd.com.
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Benefi ts

An unemployed worker may fi le a claim for benefi ts by 
either internet or telephone. If the claimant has suffi cient 
wage credits in a base period, the claimant’s most recent 
employer and all base period employers are notifi ed 
that a valid claim for benefi ts has been fi led. Employers 
and claimants have the right to appeal all decisions by 
Job Service. Claimants must meet all other eligibility 
requirements during each week for which they wish to 
draw benefi ts.

The minimum weekly benefi t paid to a claimant is $43 per 
week. If the claim computes to be less than that minimum, 
no benefi ts are allowed.

The maximum weekly benefi t cannot exceed 65% of the 
average statewide weekly wage of all covered workers. 
The maximum weekly benefi t is computed annually and 
takes effect on all claims fi led with an effective date on 
or after July 1 of each year. For the period July 4, 2010 
through July 2, 2011, the maximum weekly benefi t amount 
is $442.

Unemployed workers fi ling claims may be disqualifi ed for 
unemployment compensation benefi ts if they voluntarily 
quit their last employment without good cause attributable 
to the employer; were discharged for misconduct 
connected with their last work; failed to apply for or 
accept suitable work; lost employment due to participation 
in a labor dispute; or failed to disclose work and earnings 
during a period of claim fi ling.

Administration

Job Service North Dakota administers the state’s 
unemployment insurance programs.

For more information on North Dakota’s Unemployment 
Compensation Law, contact Job Service North Dakota 
at: PO Box 5507, Bismarck, ND 58506-5507.  You can 
also contact the unemployment insurance area of Job 
Service North Dakota through e-mail at jsuits@nd.gov 
or telephone at 1-800-472-2952 or 701-328-2814.  For 
further information, visit the Job Service North Dakota 
web site at jobsnd.com. Persons who wish to fi le 
claims for unemployment insurance benefi ts may call 
701-328-4995 or go to jobsnd.com and use the UI ICE 
system.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

2005 session.
• Continued the UI tax calculation based on moving 

toward an annually calculated solvency target for the 
UI Trust Fund.  When the target is calculated, the 
tax rate must be set so that one-fi fth of the difference 
between the Trust Fund balance and the target is made 
up during that tax year.  Additionally, the bill requires 
that the amount required to reach required solvency 
is calculated so that the underlying rates necessary to 
raise the revenue to pay benefi ts during that tax year 
be multiplied by a ratio to reach the necessary amount 
or hit the solvency target, whether positive or negative.  
Thus, if the target is higher than the Trust Fund balance, 
the negative balance employers will pay more of the 
amount necessary to move towards solvency than will 
the positive balance employers.

• Created an 8-member Unemployment Insurance 
Advisory Council appointed by the Governor.

• Amended three current sections of Chapter 52-04 (UI 
tax code—Sections 52-04-10; 52-04-11.1[3]; and

 52-04-17) to provide that an employer cannot demand a 
hearing before JSND has rendered a decision.

• Exempted aliens in the country under Section 
101(a))15)(H)(ii)(A) of the Immigration and Nationality 
Act (H2A aliens) from coverage as employees.  In other 
words, farmer-employers will not have to report or pay 
UI taxes on H2A aliens working for them.

• Provided that Job Service is to receive notice of 
school district dissolution and reorganization; and that 
reorganizing or dissolving districts are to set aside 
funds with the county auditor or the North Dakota 
School Boards Association to cover the amount 
calculated by JSND as potential liability for claims of 
the terminating school district.

• Amended statute to prevent SUTA (State 
Unemployment Tax Act) dumping which is the practice 
by which an employer takes steps to manipulate the 
situation so that the employer pays UI taxes, directly 
or indirectly, at a tax rate lower than the employer's 
assigned experience rate.  All employers which have 
North Dakota Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax 
accounts, including employers which are Professional 
Employer Organizations (PEOs).

• The general provisions applicable to all employers are:
 1. If an employer acquires all or part of the business 

or workforce of another employer, and continues 
the same business as the transferring employer, the 
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receiving employer may request the predecessor's 
UI experience rate, unless Job Service (JSND) fi nds 
that the transaction was "solely or primarily" for 
SUTA dumping.

 2. If an employer acquires all or part of the business 
or workforce of another employer, and continues 
the same business as the transferring employer, the 
receiving employer may request the predecessor's 
UI experience rate, unless Job Service (JSND) fi nds 
that the transaction was "solely or primarily" for 
SUTA dumping.

 3. If a person who is not an employer acquires 
the business or workforce of an employer, the 
experience rate of the acquired business may not 
be transferred to the receiving person if JSND fi nds 
that the transfer occurred "solely or primarily" for 
the purpose of SUTA dumping.

 4. If a person knowingly SUTA dumps, in the 
manner listed in 1-3 above, that person is subject 
to assignment of a penalty UI tax rate at least 
2% higher than the currently assigned rate for 
the remainder of the current rate year and for 3 
following rate years.  If a person advises a business 
to SUTA dump that person is subject to a civil 
penalty of up to $25,000.

 5. In addition to the civil penalties, a person who 
knowingly violates, or attempts to violate, the 
section containing the federally-required SUTA 
dumping prohibitions will be guilty of a Class C 
Felony.

• Provisions applicable to PEOs:
 PEOs must furnish the Unemployment Insurance 

program a copy of their contracts with clients within 15 
days after execution, and must report and pay UI taxes 
at their client's rates unless:

 1. The client's UI tax rate at the time of contracting 
was equal to or lower than the PEO's rate; or

 2. The client's rate at the time of contracting was 
higher and the PEO contract requires the client to 
make a voluntary contribution to buy the rate down 
to the PEO rate, and the client actually makes that 
voluntary contribution; or

 3. The client's rate is higher but the differential 
between rates will have a negative quarterly impact 
on the fund of $500 or less.

• Finally, the Bill proposed a Legislative Council study of 
licensure or registration of PEOs.

• Directed a Legislative Council study of the possibility 
of limiting the number of job-attached UI claimants, 
and funding the costs of that action.  JSND is to 
participate in the study.

• Ended the requirement to deduct a portion of Social 
Security retirement benefi ts from Unemployment 
Insurance weekly benefi ts, effective August 1, 2005.

• Appropriated $254,925 in Reed Act funds for the 
WorkFirst reemployment demonstration project 
and authorized the Agency to operate the WorkFirst 
demonstration project and to select a random sample 
of UI claimants to take part in the project, and to 
run the project at fewer than all of its local offi ce 
sites.  Appropriated $535,000 in Reed Act funds for 
UI computer system modernization procurement 
planning and authorized JSND to determine UI system 
modernization requirements, issue an RFP based on 
those requirements, and to make an appropriation 
request to the 60th Legislative Assembly for the funds 
necessary to build the new system.

• Appropriated $20,000 from the General Fund, plus 
another $20,000 in private matching funds to JSND to 
run a "shared work" pilot project from January 1, 2006 
through June 30, 2007.

• Ended the statutory requirement that Job Service be 
subject to a biennial performance audit.

• Allowed Job Service to share UI claimant information 
with the Drivers' License Division of the Department of 
Transportation.

• Repealed the provision requiring Job Service to 
republish the UI statutes after each legislative session.

• Amended current law to provide that base period 
employers' Unemployment Insurance accounts 
would not be charged if the claimant had quit or been 
discharged by that employer either during or after the 
base period.

• Amended subsection 1 of section 52-06-02 to provide 
that if a claimant left employment due to illness or 
injury and pursuant to a doctor's orders, with certain 
other prerequisites, the account of the separating 
employer is not to be charged with the benefi ts paid 
in that circumstance, UNLESS that employer is a 
reimbursing employer.

• Amended subsection 6 of section 52-06-02 which 
currently describes the disqualifi cation from benefi ts 
that is imposed on a student who is "registered for full 
attendance at and is regularly attending" school.

• Removed services performed as a member of 
AmeriCorps from the defi nition of employment, thus 
exempting "wages" paid to those "volunteers" from UI 
taxation.

2007 session.
• Created a statute which requires employers with more 

than 99 employees to fi le contribution and wage reports 
via an electronic method approved by Job Service 
North Dakota.  This section also requires payers making 
payments on behalf of more than one employer to make 
those payments electronically.
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• Enacted legislation that provided for a minimum 
multiplier of 100% for all rates within the negative tax 
rate structure.  The statute impacts negative balance 
employers (those whose benefi t charges have exceeded 
their contributions).  It does not allow these employers 
to share in the benefi t of a reduction in tax rates made 
for the purpose of reducing the amount of money 
retained in the UI Trust Fund.

• Amended a section of Chapter 52-04 (52-04-06.1), 
to exclude “design and engineering” fi rms from the 
calculation of the amount of the required bond or letter 
of credit.  The legislation also modifi ed the formula 
used for calculating the amount of the required bond or 
letter of credit.

• Enacted legislation concerning the calculation of tax 
rates for positive balance employers.  This law provides 
for the assignment of employers paying 60% of the 
wages within the lowest rate category.  Also impacted 
were the calculations to determine the gap between the 
highest positive rate category and the lowest negative 
rate category as well as the calculation to determine the 
tax rates for new employers.

• Amended a section of Chapter 52-04 (52-04-22), to 
provide for use of monies in the Federal Advance 
Interest Repayment (FAIR) fund for the purposes of 
reemployment programs to ensure the integrity of the 
unemployment insurance program in North Dakota.

2009 session.
• Amended subsection 6 of § 52-04-05 and subsection 2 

of § 52-04-06 of the North Dakota Century Code 
to clarify the rounding methodology used by the 
agency in calculations made during the annual tax rate 
setting process.  This amendment refl ected the actual 
calculation processes employed by Job Service North 
Dakota at the time of enactment. 

• Amended subsection 2 of § 52-04-11 of the North 
Dakota Century Code to increase penalties assessed due 
to late submission of wage and contribution reports.  
The minimum penalty was increased from twenty-fi ve 
dollars to fi fty dollars.  The maximum penalty for any 
single report was increased from two hundred and fi fty 
dollars to fi ve hundred dollars.  The minimum penalty 
was doubled for any subsequent delinquent reports that 
occur in the same calendar year.

• Amended subsections 1 and 2 of § 52-06-02 of the 
North Dakota Century Code to establish that wages 
used to overcome a monetary penalty associated with a 
disqualifying separation must be earned after the date 
of fi ling the claim in which the monetary penalty was 
assessed.
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Average North Dakota Employer Tax Rate 
and Unemployment Insurance Tax Revenue

 Average Employer Tax Rates
 Calendar Percent of Percent of Tax
 Year Total Wages Taxable Wages Revenue

 2000 0.69% 1.26% 38,043,573
 2001 0.71% 1.28% 40,413,437
 2002 0.72% 1.31% 41,809,970
 2003 0.87% 1.60% 53,118,506
 2004 0.88% 1.63% 57,502,415
 2005 0.82% 1.51% 57,096,849
 2006 0.73% 1.35% 55,035,648
 2007 0.65% 1.19% 52,373,337
 2008 0.53% 0.99% 47,470,370
 2009 0.58% 1.05% 52,245,056
 2010 (estimate) 0.75% 1.35% 69,348,000

SOURCE:  Job Service North Dakota

 Calendar  Benefi t
 Year  Payments
 2000  38.8
 2001  42.5
 2002  45.5
 2003   44.6
 2004   38.3
 2005   38.5
 2006   40.2
 2007   43.1
 2008   47.3
 2009   96.5
 2010  (estimate)  79.8

SOURCE:  Job Service North Dakota

Unemployment Insurance Benefi t Payments
For A Calendar Year

$ Millions
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition

The intent of the workers' compensation program is 
to take care of injured workers’ medical bills; provide 
wage-loss, impairment and rehabilitation payments; 
and in the case of death, provide monthly payments to 
spouses and dependents.  A properly insured employer 
is immune from lawsuits for an on-the-job injury of 
an employee.  Employers must include all employees, 
except those specifi cally exempted by law, in the workers’ 
compensation insurance program.  Exclusions include 
farm and ranch workers, domestic workers, clergy, 
federal employees, railroad employees, newspaper 
delivery people, and real estate brokers and salespeople 
who operate under a signed contract as an independent 
contractor.  Coverage is optional for employers, resident 
family members under the age of 22, the spouse of an 
employer, and self-employed individuals.

Premiums 

In North Dakota, workers’ compensation insurance is 
fi nanced through premiums paid by employers. These 
premiums are among the lowest in the nation.  Premiums 
for each employer are calculated using payrolls, industry-
based premium rates, and loss history.  Employers report 
their payroll to Workforce Safety & Insurance (WSI) 
on an annual basis, according to the effective date on 
the employer's account.  The amount of payroll used to 
calculate the premium for each worker is limited to 70% 
of the state's average annual wage.  This "wage cap" was 
$24,700 as of July 1, 2010.  Premium rates are set for 142 
industry classifi cations based on industry loss experience.  
Premium costs up to the cap per employee range from 31 
cents per $100 of payroll for radio and television workers 
to $52.30 per $100 of payroll for caisson workers, which 
is one of the highest classifi cations.

There are several new safety initiatives that North Dakota 
employers can utilize to help offset the potential loss of 
premium dividends.  "Putting Safety to Work" programs 
reduce the number of claims and result in lower premiums.  
These programs can reduce a qualifying employer's 
premiums by up to 25%.  Employers who successfully 
take part in WSI's "Safety Management Program" can 
receive a discount of 10% off their premiums.  In addition, 

employers can also receive an additional 15% premium 
reduction by choosing to participate in a variety of safety 
"menu items" that can each provide 5% discounts up to a 
maximum of 15%.  Those menu items include: 1) Drug 
Free Workplace Program, 2) Safety Committee Program, 
3) Certifi ed Safety Management Program, 4) Learning 
Management System (LMS), 5) Safe Driving Program 
and 6) Safe Lift Program.  In addition, through the Safety 
Training & Education Program (STEP), qualifying North 
Dakota associations and employee organizations can 
receive fi nancial assistance to promote safety training 
and education.  STEP grants are available to qualifying 
associations and organizations in amounts ranging from 
$5,000 to $150,000.  Information about the safety discount 
programs and STEP grant programs are available on the 
WSI web site http://www.WorkforceSafety.com.  Certain 
conditions and qualifi cations pertain to all the safety 
discounts and grants.  Employers can also call WSI at 
1-800-777-5033 for more information.

Benefi ts

An injured worker is responsible for fi ling a claim.  They 
must do so within one year of the date of the injury to be 
eligible to receive disability benefi ts for the time they are 
unable to work because of the injury and medical benefi ts 
for the life of the injury.  Any injury/disability must be 
substantiated by medical evidence.  An injured worker's 
medical treatment is monitored through a managed 
care program and is subject to a medical fee schedule. 
WSI reimburses the injured worker for "reasonable and 
necessary" medical treatment.  Wage-loss benefi ts for a 
worker disabled for at least fi ve days are based on 66 2/3% 
of the worker’s gross weekly wage, not to exceed 125% 
of the state’s average weekly wage. On July 1, 2010 the 
state’s maximum weekly benefi t was $853.  Additional 
weekly allowances of $15 are paid on each child under 
age 18 or incapable of self-support, or age 18 to 22 if a 
full-time student.  Workers with medical restrictions are 
evaluat ed through a workability assessment to determine 
ability to return to work and eligibility for rehabilitation 
benefi ts, which may include formalized training.  Workers 
who suffer permanent loss of use of a body part may 
qualify for a lump sum "permanent partial impairment" 
payment.  WSI pays death benefi ts to the survivors of 
workers killed in work-related accidents.  Benefi ts are paid 
to the eligible spouse of the dependents of the deceased 
worker at a rate of two-thirds of a deceased worker's 
gross weekly wage, up to 125% of the state's average 

WORKFORCE SAFETY & INSURANCE
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weekly wage.  They will also be paid $15 per week for 
each dependent child.  Additionally, the surviving spouse 
receives a one-time death benefi t of $2,500, plus $800 for 
each dependent child. There are also scholarships available 
for dependents and spouses.  WSI pays all medical bills 
related to the compensable injury and death of a worker, 
including up to $10,000 for funeral expenses.  Total 
benefi ts may not exceed $300,000 over the lifetime of a 
claim.

Dispute Resolution

The Decision Review Offi ce (DRO) helps workers and 
employers on claims issues and serves as a litigation 
alternative.  Injured workers may appeal WSI decisions 
of benefi t claims by requesting an administrative hearing.  
Subsequent appeals may be made to District Court and 
then on to the Supreme Court.  WSI pays the injured 
worker's attorney fees only if the worker wins the appeal 
and only if the worker sought assistance from the Decision 
Review Offi ce before appealing.

Fraud

A Special Investigations Unit within WSI investigates 
workers, employers, and medical providers suspected of 
committing fraud.  Anonymous tips about suspected fraud 
can be made through a toll-free telephone number, 1-800-
243-3331 or by completing a form through the WSI web 
site at www.WorkforceSafety.com.

Administration

WSI administers the state’s workers compensation 
program.  For more information on Workforce Safety & 
Insurance, write to Workforce Safety & Insurance, 1600 
East Century Avenue, Suite 1, Bismarck, ND 58503-0649, 
call (701)328-3800, or 1-800-777-5033.  Or visit the 
website at www.WorkforceSafety.com.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Signifi cant Changes in Law

1991 Session. 
• The legislature created binding arbitration as an 

alternative dispute resolution process, mandated 
a managed care program and use of a third party 
administrator to monitor injured workers' medical 

care, and mandated that North Dakota Workers' 
Compensation (NDWC) adopt a hospital and medical 
fee schedule. 

• Employers were required to reimburse NDWC up to the 
fi rst $250 of medical expenses for each claim.  

• The wage base for computing the premium was changed 
from $3,600 to 70% of the state’s average annual wage.

1993 Session. 
• The legislature created a system of binding dispute 

resolution for disputes arising out of NDWC's managed 
care program.  

• The legislature approved a risk management program 
which allowed employers a 5% discount on annual 
premiums if they designed and implemented a NDWC 
approved safety program.  

• Suspension of benefi ts was allowed if an employee 
applied for benefi ts in another state for the same injury.  

• An “other states” coverage program was established 
regarding payments of benefi ts to North Dakota-covered 
workers whose injury, disease, or death occurred in 
another state.  

1995 Session. 
• Workers were required to report injuries to their 

employers within seven days.  
• NDWC was allowed to use failure to report an injury as 

a factor in determining claims.  
• Employers with approved risk management programs 

were allowed to choose medical providers.  If a worker 
wants to choose the provider, the worker must notify the 
employer in writing before an injury occurs.  

• The legislature revoked wage-loss and rehabilitation 
benefi ts for workers who do not comply with 
rehabilitation plans.  

• Wage-loss benefi ts were stopped when injured workers 
become eligible for Social Security Retirement benefi ts.  

• Permanent Partial Impairment (PPI) compensation 
was limited to workers with over 15% whole body 
impairments.  

• A workers' adviser program was set up to serve as 
a litigation alternative and to help injured workers' 
compensation process.  

• NDWC was authorized to set up a special fraud unit.  
Fraud involving over $500 was changed from a class A 
misdemeanor to a class C felony.  Attorney fees may no 
longer exceed 20% of the amount a claimant receives 
nor may they be paid by NDWC if the claimant loses.

1996 Referred and Initiated Measures.  
• Voters in the June 1996 primary election upheld the 

changes made by the 1995 legislature.
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1997 Session.  
• The 1997 legislature changed the law to increase certain 

benefi ts, streamline claims processes, enhance system 
effi ciency, further restrict the potential for fraud, reduce 
litigation and adjust earlier reforms.  

• The legislature also placed NDWC within the oversight 
of a board of directors made up of NDWC constituents 
appointed by the Governor.  NDWC continues to be 
managed by an executive director who reports directly 
to the board.  This law also mandated that independent, 
qualitative performance audits be conducted by 
workers' compensation industry experts every two years 
with the results being presented to the legislature. 

1999 Session.  
• The 1999 legislature substantially increased cash 

benefi ts for the severely impaired, increased the 
maximum disability benefi t (making North Dakota's 
maximum benefi t rate one of the highest in the country), 
shortened the eligibility period for supplemental 
benefi ts, and increased the size of scholarships available 
to dependents of workplace fatality victims.  

• Another major piece of 1999 legislation provides 
authority for NDWC to issue grants to high risk 
industries for prevention of workplace accidents.  

• Additionally, the bill allows NDWC to offer dividends, 
deductibles, group insurance and other products that 
give employers direct fi nancial incentives for protecting 
the safety of their workers.

2001 Session.  
• Authorized the construction of a new building in north 

Bismarck to house NDWC and required NDWC to 
include rental space for other state agencies.  

• Provided incentives for employers to hire previously 
injured workers in positions that will accommodate 
the worker's restrictions resulting from a work injury 
(the program was subsequently named, "The Preferred 
Worker Program”).  

• 2001 legislation also prohibited an employer from 
requiring an employee to use accrued personal leave for 
time off work for a work-related disability; increased 
awards for certain impairment; provided that an 
employee may be found guilty of fraud for making false 
statements to get a claim or benefi t paid; and repealed 
the sunset clause on the scholarship fund for children of 
workers killed on the job.

2003 Session.  
• Legislation changed the organization's name to 

Workforce Safety & Insurance (WSI); increased 
lifetime death benefi ts from $197,000 to $250,000; and 
allowed for the limited release of information on the 
status of an employer's account.  

• Legislation also changed the make-up of the WSI Board 
of Directors, shortened the terms from 6 to 4 years and 
made the medical member a voting member and added 
an at-large member.  

• Other legislative changes included removing the 
re-marriage penalty for death benefi t recipients; and 
increasing the amount of money to $50,000 for WSI 
to spend on home and vehicle modifi cations for the 
catastrophically injured.

2005 Session.  
• Legislation provided additional safety incentives and 

established continuing appropriation authority to fund 
safety education, grant and incentive programs from the 
fund's surplus.  

• Also, provided employers an incentive for early claim 
fi ling by waiving the fi rst $250 of medical costs if 
the claim is fi led by midnight on the following WSI 
business day; dedicated $15 million of WSI's fund 
surplus to establish an educational revolving loan fund 
to help injured workers take out college loans for an 
approved education plan when they don't qualify for a 
WSI vocational retraining program.  

• Legislation also increased the amount of the non-
dependency death benefi t from $2,000 to 5% of the 
cap on death benefi ts ($12,500), the cap is currently 
$250,000; provides the option for an injured worker to 
choose to pursue a retraining program or opt for up to 
fi ve years of partial disability benefi ts.

• In addition, legislation changed the defi nition of what 
constitutes when a worker is declared to be Permanently 
and Totally Disabled, thus, moving from a subjective 
defi nition to an objective standard in the law.  

• Legislative changes increased the maximum dollar 
amount for Guardian Scholarships from $3,000 to 
$4,000 per year for up to 5 years for spouses and 
dependent children of a worker who died as a result of 
a compensable work-related injury, and increased the 
maximum amount of scholarships that can be awarded 
annually from $150,000 to $300,000.

2007 Session.
• Legislation provided funds for the purchase or 

adaptation of specially equipped motor vehicles for the 
catastrophically injured, not to exceed $100,000 for 
the life of the claim; provided an alternative Additional 
Benefi t Payable (ABP) calculation for a select group 
of permanent total disability recipients whose injuries 
occurred prior to August 1, 1995.  

• Legislation expanded the population that is potentially 
eligible for death benefi ts to include the surviving 
spouse of the catastrophically injured if the disability 
has continued until the time of death; the death occurs 
more than six years after the date of the injury and the 
death was the direct result of the work injury.
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• Also, expanded the eligibility pool of WSI’s revolving 
loan fund to include surviving spouses and dependent 
children of an injured worker whose death resulted from 
a compensable injury and sets a maximum interest rate 
of 1% below the Bank of North Dakota’s prime interest 
rate.

• Legislation shortened the period for supplementary 
benefi t eligibility from 7 years to 3 years for Permanent 
Total Disability claims subject to 2005 HB 1171 
(Claims fi led after December 31, 2005); and clarifi ed 
the defi nition of Permanent Partial Impairment Awards 
to attempt to prohibit an offset by Social Security and 
makes the award schedule based on a multiplier amount 
rather than weeks. 

• An annual lump-sum infl ationary adjustment was 
provided for long-term temporary partial disability 
cases.

• Legislation also provided that a coordinating 
committee appointed by the Governor and composed 
of representatives of business associations would 
submit a list of three potential candidates for the six 
employer Board positions when there are vacancies.  
The Governor may reject the list of three candidates 
names.  Board members may serve no more than two 
consecutive four year terms.

• Other legislative changes were passed that allowed 
WSI to reveal those employers who are in a delinquent 
or uninsured status; replaced the existing 75% 
experience rate surcharge cap with an unlimited cap; 
and clarifi ed language to accommodate the move from 
documentation-based to results-based risk management 
programs.

2009 Session.
• Raised the maximum disability benefi t from 110% to 

125% of the state's average weekly wage (SAWW).
• Increased the lifetime death benefi t cap from $250,000 

to $300,000 and increased the weekly dependency 
allowance from $10 to $15 per child; burial expenses 
increased from $6,500 to $10,000, one-time payments 
for spouse and dependent children increased from 
$1,200 to $2,500 for spouses and from $400 to $800 per 
dependent child.

• Raised the child dependency allowance from $10 to $15 
per week per child.

• Shortened the waiting period for eligible injured 
workers of supplementary benefi ts (COLAs) for pre-
1/1/2006 total disability claims from 7 to 3 years.

• Provided injured workers payment for "artifi cial 
members" such as eyeglasses, contact lenses, dental 
braces and orthopedic braces if an injury occurs and 
damages those prescriptive devices.

• Allowed WSI to extend an additional 20 weeks to the 
current 104-week limit for those injured workers in 
vocational retraining programs.

• Expanded the categories for injured workers within 
the vocational rehabilitation hierarchy that would be 
eligible for up to two months of job search benefi ts.

• Added a permanent partial impairment schedule award 
for the partial loss of an injured worker's eyesight.

• Provided an injury worker with attorney fees and costs 
for a review of their claim after successfully completing 
their review at the newly named Decision Review 
Offi ce (formerly the Offi ce of Independent Review).  
Attorney fees are capped at $500 and costs are capped 
at $150.

• Provided a surviving spouse to receive for up to six 
months, their decedent's permanent total disability, 
supplementary or additional benefi ts payable benefi ts 
if the injured worker was permanently and totally 
disabled for at least 10 years and was married to the 
surviving spouse for at least 10 years and the surviving 
spouse provided WSI approved home health care for the 
decedent.

• Transparency in grant program—allowed for disclosure 
of employer grant information and reporting of grant 
information.

• Established parameters for when the reserves and 
surpluses fall outside of the 120%-140% range.

• Established that premium rates will be determined 
actuarially.

• The selected statewide average premium rate level 
change may not deviate by more than 5 percentage 
points from the statewide actuarial indicated rate.

• Changed the WSI Offi ce of Independent Review (OIR) 
to Decision Review Offi ce (DRO).

• Provided that a surviving spouse would be eligible to 
receive, for up to 6 months, a decedent's permanent total 
disability, supplementary or additional benefi ts payable 
benefi ts if the injured employee was permanently and 
totally disabled for at least 10 years and was married to 
the surviving spouse for at least 10 years and provided 
WSI approved home health care for the decedent.

• Required the WSI Board to make formal 
recommendations to the Governor regarding premium 
rates, dividends, investment allocations, and legislation.

• Allowed an injured worker to request a change in 
medical providers after 30 days instead of 60 days from 
date of injury.
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Earned Premium
Workforce Safety & Insurance

Fiscal Years

SOURCE:  Workforce Safety & Insurance
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North Dakota Workers
Compensation Premiums
Example of Low (Clerical) and

High (Iron or Steel Construction)

Maximum Per Employee Charge

   Iron or Steel
 Year Clerical Construction
 2000 54.74 4,066.86
 2001 52.70 3,420.40
 2002 53.94 3,500.88
 2003 55.80 3,621.60
 2004 62.90 3,984.90
 2005 75.66 4,386.34
 2006 89.32 4,624.34
 2007 95.85 4,076.82
 2008 112.71 3,940.43
 2009 111.39 3,455.46

SOURCE:  Workforce Safety & Insurance
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  $337.4 $403.7 $418.0 428.8 466.8 386.0 265.6

SOURCE:  Workforce Safety & Insurance
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Workers' Compensation Premium Rate
Per $100 of Payroll

 Rank State Index Rate
 1 Montana 3.33
 2 Alaska 3.10
 3 Illinois 3.05
 4 Oklahoma 2.87
 5 California 2.68
 6 Connecticut 2.55
 7 New Jersey 2.53
 8 Maine 2.52
 10 New Hampshire 2.45
 10 Alabama 2.45
 12 Texas 2.38
 12 South Carolina 2.38
 13 New York 2.34
 14 Pennsylvania 2.32
 15 Kentucky 2.29
 16 Minnesota 2.27
 17 Ohio 2.24
 18 Vermont 2.22
 19 Wisconsin 2.21
 20 Tennessee 2.19
 21 Nevada 2.13
 23 Michigan 2.12
 23 North Carolina 2.12
 24 Georgia 2.08
 25 Louisiana 2.06
 26 Washington 2.04
 28 South Dakota 2.02
 28 Rhode Island 2.02
 29 Idaho 1.98
 30 Nebraska 1.97
 31 Mississippi 1.96
 32 New Mexico 1.91
 33 Missouri 1.90
 34 Delaware 1.85
 35 West Virginia 1.84
 36 Iowa 1.82
 37 Wyoming 1.79
 38 Arizona 1.71
 40 Hawaii 1.70
 40 Florida 1.70
 41 Oregon 1.69
 42 Maryland 1.63
 43 Kansas 1.55
 44 Massachusetts 1.54
 45 Utah 1.46
 47 Colorado 1.39
 47 Virginia 1.39
 48 District of Columbia 1.32
 49 Arkansas 1.18
 50 Indiana 1.16
 51 NORTH DAKOTA 1.02

Notes: Starting with the 2008 study, when two or more states' Index Rate values are the same, they are assigned the same 
ranking.  The index rates refl ect adjustments for the characteristics of each individual state's residual market.  Rates vary 
by classifi cation and insurer in each state.  Actual cost to an employer can be adjusted by the employer's experience rating, 
premium discount, retrospective rating, and dividends.

SOURCE:  Research and Analysis Section, Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services 2010.
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