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Greetings from the Commissioner

Dear Friend,

I am pleased to provide you with the 2006 Edition of North Dakota
State and Local Taxes: An Overview and Comparative Guide (a.k.a.
The Red Book). The publication is designed for anyone who wants to Cory Fong,
learn more about North Dakota’s taxes. It brings together the tax laws, Tax Commissioner

a historical perspective of those taxes, and combines the latest data with
comparisons and rankings with other states.

North Dakota is experiencing record levels of growth in the economy and in tax
collections. In 2006 Forbes ranked North Dakota as 13th of all 50 states in their survey of
The Best States for Business. It is easy to see why. Through the vision, leadership, and
commitment of state officials and industry leaders, North Dakota has created a progressive and
business-friendly environment. This is evidenced by recent developments that have helped
to diversify our state into new and interesting endeavors, such as biodiesel, wind energy, and
technology.

The Office of State Tax Commissioner is steadfast in its commitment to ensuring that
North Dakota’s tax law administration is as fair and burden-free as possible. And, one of our
top priorities continues to be providing the best customer service possible.

Efficient use of technology has provided the department with many opportunities to
improve our longstanding commitment to providing quality customer service. We continue to
search for the most cost efficient ways to meet our collection responsibilities and provide the
best service possible to taxpayers, tax practitioners, and the public.

I am proud of the accomplishments of the department and equally proud of the
department’s employees who work hard every day to maintain the highest standards of
performance and integrity.

I am always interested in hearing from you. Please feel free to share with me your
suggestions and input concerning North Dakota taxes and our department.

Sincerely,

Cory Fong
Tax Commissioner
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REVENUE OVERVIEW

This chapter contains historical comparisons of North Dakota revenue. General fund information is given,
as well as trends in collections.

Comparison of Revenue Sources

Percent of Total
State General Fund

(PROJECTED)
2003-05 BIENNIUM 2005-07 BIENNIUM
; $1.953 Billion $2.193 Billion
nsurance
Premium Tax Insurance
2.9% Premium Tax
2.4%
Cigarette & Other = -
Tobacco Tax 17.3% % fggﬁg‘ﬁi
2.0% Sales, Use & 2 1% [/ Sales, Use &
Coal Motor Vehicle - Motor Vehicle
oa Coal 0
Tax;:s 43.3% Ta(;céels 44.0%
2.4% 2.2%
Oil Individual oif Individual
Taxes Income Tax o x’es Income Tax
3.6% 23.2% 300, 25.1%
Corporation -
Income Tax Corporation
5.3% Income Tax

7.6%

Comparison of Expenditures

Percent of Total
State General Fund

2003-05 General Fund Expenditures By Program

2005-07 General Fund Appropriations
Total = $1.798 Billion

Total = $1.989 Billion

Elementary and
Secondary Education
33.4%

General Gov't.
8.2%

Agriculture, Industrial
Development & Promotion
4.1%

General Gov't.
8.5%

Elementary and - -
Public Safety . Agriculture, Industrial
6.6% — Second;l’g Olizucatlon Development & Promotion
Natural Resources N

4.1%

9 Pe———— X
) —— Public Safety Higher
Regulatory Health & Human Higher 72% Biteaem
1% Services Eiteaten Health & Human 19.5%
Miscellaneous 23.4% 20.1% Natural Resources Services
5% 9% 25.4%
Regulatory
1.1%

(@ This is the amount appropriated by the 2005 Legislative Assembly. Actual expenditures will vary from appropriated levels.

SOURCE: Office of Management and Budget.
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State General Fund Budget by Revenue Sources
1995-97 through 2005-07 Biennia (in Millions)

Biennium Revenues Projected
REVENUE SOURCES 2005-07
1995-97 1997-99 1999-01 2001-03 2003-05 Biennium
INTEREST, MINERAL LEASES, TRANSFERS
- Interest Income 15.555 19.014 20.832 8.509 6.935 25.158
- Mineral Leasing Fees 5.630 7.258 9.532 6.441 11.025 13.430
- Bank of ND Profits Transfer 50.215 29.600 50.000 78.700 60.000 60.000
- State Mill Profits Transfer 1.000 3.000 3.000 6.000 5.000 5.000
- Gas Tax Administration Transfer 1.072 1.129 1.381 1.363 1.396 1.400
- Budget Stabilization Fund Transfer
- State Aid Distribution Fund Transfer ® 21.980 28.017
- Other Transfers 3.000 8.697 5.159 24.370 91.412 88.216
SALES, USE AND MOTOR VEHICLE 605.471 664.365 722.182 760.211 845.768 964.195
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX 315.516 358.288 409.331 396.153 452.547 550.524
CORPORATION INCOME TAX 99.348 123.420 99.135 88.417 102.927 166.680
OIL TAXES 55.030 43.677 62.000 62.000 71.000 71.000
COAL TAXES 46.310 46.383 47.846 46.879 47.197 48.522
CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO TAXES 45.030 44.091 41.706 39.313 39.477 45.191
INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 36.969 33.133 39.113 48.990 56.285 52.246
WHOLESALE LIQUOR TAX 10.339 11.140 10.322 11.156 11.889 12.586
BUSINESS PRIVILEGE TAX/
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS TAX 3.854 6.494 5.465 6.257 4.959 7.372
GAMING TAXES 22.848 22.802 27.438 27.613 20.851 18.654
LOTTERY 7.269 12.000
DEPARTMENTAL FEES & COLLECTIONS 28.737 32.997 40.816 57.506 61.005 50.727
OTHER 56.457
TOTAL GENERAL FUND REVENUES 1,381.369 1,483.505 1,595.258 1,669.878 1,953.398 2,192.900
BEGINNING BALANCE 31.151 65.000 61.114 62.241 14.790 68.563
REVENUES AND BEGINNING BALANCE 1,412.520 1,548.505 1,656.372 1,732.119 1,968.188 2,261.463
FUNDS RELATED TO PRIOR BIENNIUM
CARRY-OVER AND ADJUSTMENTS 5.527 8.172 10.155 13.996 0 0
REVENUE AVAILABLE DURING BIENNIUM 1,418.047 1,556.677 1,666.527 1,746.115 1,968.188 2,261.463
GENERAL FUND EXPENDITURES 1,328.655 1,485.463 1,592.975 1,723.561 1,798.211 1,989.453
TRANSFER TO BUDGET STABILIZATION
FUND 99.473
OBLIGATIONS CARRIED OVER TO
FUTURE PERIODS 8.482 7.275 11.311 7.764 1.941
UNOBLIGATED ENDING BALANCE 82.117® 61.114 62.241 14.790 68.563 272.010

(O]

2)

3)

A portion of sales, use and motor vehicle excise taxes is deposited in the State Aid Distribution Fund (S.A.D.F.) and that revenue is not included
in this table. As of January 1, 1999, the portion is 40% x 1% =+ general sales tax rate. However, during the two biennia shown, the legislature
transferred funds from the S.A.D.F. to the General Fund as shown in the table.

House Bill 1015 provided that any amount in the general fund over $65 million be transferred to the Bank of North Dakota. Seventeen million
($17 million) was transferred to the Bank of North Dakota, leaving an ending fund balance of $65 million.

Federal Fiscal Relief payments deposited in the General Fund.

November 2006
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Office of State Tax Commissioner Net Collections|
Fiscal Years 1996-2006

1400
1200
1000

§

= 800

o

=

o
£ 600 7
E
400
200
0

1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006
ﬁ Other Taxes & Fees |:| Gross Production E Individual Income
I:l Motor Fuels [|:|] Oil Extraction . Sales & Use
Coal Taxes . Corporate Income
Tax Type 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006
Sales & Use 329.1 3589 3632 3832 386.6 398.6 401.6 4249 4414 480.6 495.6
Ind. Income 152.1 163.7 177.9 181.4 198.3 2134 1989 200.5 214.1 2413 274.6
Corp. Income 49.0 50.3 65.5 57.9 47.5 51.6 41.6 46.0 40.3 62.7 111.8
QOil Extraction 16.5 19.1 15.3 12.1 21.0 24.8 17.1 22.6 25.6 45.6 61.8
Gross Production 26.9 34.8 29.5 22.7 38.0 46.0 36.5 435 47.5 74.0 104.4
Coal Taxes 37.9 37.6 373 38.3 39.0 39.5 38.2 394 40.6 37.7 39.8
Motor Fuels 96.0 103.7 105.1 103.1 111.8 112.7 111.7 115.3 119.9 122.2 134.1
Other Taxes & Fees 75.6 82.4 86.0 106.9 108.9 117.7 1213 131.2 121.9 135.5 148.0
Total Net Collections* 783.2 850.5 879.8 9054 951.1 10043 9669 10234 1051.3 1199.7 1370.0
*Totals may not sum due to rounding
SOURCE: Office of State Tax Commissioner
November 2006 _ 3 _
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Millions

700

600

500

400

300

200

100

Source of Major State and Local Taxes
1996-2006

%

Fiscal
Year
1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006

State Sales & Use

"

Individual

_—

e

State
Sales &
Use Tax

280,319,012
307,583,834
308,636,871
331,027,859
326,261,978
340,114,569
335,598,693
360,908,220
368,323,637
411,553,514
428,906,406

Major State Sources

Individual
Income
Tax
152,087,864
163,732,247
177,904,251
181,389,034
197,101,325
213,442,150
198,922,525
200,528,205
214,145,899
241,319,731
274,621,741

Property

"

Local Sales & Use

_—

s

Property
Tax
408,353,215
427,677,147
447,582,274
465,203,396
486,194,264
509,032,721
532,629,675
560,751,909
586,412,017
618,065,693
659,789,376

Major Local Sources

Local
Sales &
Use Tax

36,534,413
45,184,127
48,929,646
54, 058,001
58,711,263
66,961,363
65,368,838
73,666,551
68,644,864
78,761,154
87,563,544

* The local sales tax figures do not include city occupancy or city restaurant and lodging taxes.

SOURCE: Office of State Tax Commissioner.
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STATE COMPARISONS

This chapter provides a comparison of overall tax levels between the states.* There are a variety of ways
to rank and compare state taxes. We have used a number of different sources to give you a broad range of
research. Each measurement provides insights, but also has limitations. Please contact the Office of State
Tax Commissioner for more information about the various measurements.

State vs. Local Tax Collections
Regional Comparison - 2003-04

US Avg || l | 8] | | | (2] 7
WY || [67] | | B3] J
) H_‘_\s‘ﬂ_r | | 471 )
ND || 651 | E
NE || 58] | ‘ | [2] ]
MT || (671 | 33 J
MN H_lg_‘.%’_r | 247

0 20 40 50 80 100
percent
[] State [] Local

SOURCE: US Bureau of Census. "Government Finance"

* The rankings of specific types of taxes are found throughout this publication. Those comparisons are located within the chapter relating to that particular type
of tax.

November 2006 - 5 -
North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner



(Measuring Taxes as a Percentage of Income)

Comparing the 50 States' Combined State/Local Tax Burdens in 2006 '|

Each state's total tax burden (taxes as a percentage of income) is a combination of federal, state, and local tax burdens. It can
be instructive to strip out federal taxes and compare just the state and local tax burdens. Generally, high-income states rise
because, with their high costs of living and commensurately higher salaries, they are hit harder by the progressive federal
income tax. Low-income states that have high state-local tax burdens fall in the ranking when federal taxes are added in.

State and Local Total Change in
Ranking After
Tax Tax Adding
Burden Rank Burden Rank Federal Taxes

Maine 13.5% 1 Maine 33.1% 7 -6
New York 12.9% 2 New York 35.1% 2 0
Ohio 12.0% 3 Ohio 31.3% 16 -13
Minnesota 11.9% 4 Minnesota 33.6% 5 -1
Hawaii 11.7% 5 Hawaii 31.2% 17 -12
Nebraska 11.6% 6 Nebraska 30.9% 22 -16
Wisconsin 11.6% 7 Wisconsin 32.2% 12 -5
Rhode Island 11.5% 8 Rhode Island 33.0% 8 0
Connecticut 11.3% 9 Connecticut 35.9% 1 8
Vermont 11.1% 10 Vermont 31.3% 15 -5
Louisiana 11.0% 11 Louisiana 29.2% 37 -26
Indiana 11.0% 12 Indiana 30.7% 24 -12
Washington 10.9% 13 Washington 33.7% 4 9
Illinois 10.9% 14 Illinois 32.7% 10 4
California 10.9% 15 California 32.7% 9 6
Michigan 10.8% 16 Michigan 31.1% 19 -3
New Jersey 10.8% 17 New Jersey 34.3% 3 14
Kansas 10.7% 18 Kansas 30.5% 26 -8
Maryland 10.7% 19 Maryland 32.0% 13 6
Kentucky 10.7% 20 Kentucky 29.8% 31 -11
West Virginia 10.6% 21 West Virginia 29.1% 41 -20
Utah 10.5% 22 Utah 29.5% 34 -12
North Carolina 10.5% 23 North Carolina 30.3% 27 -4
Pennsylvania 10.4% 24 Pennsylvania 31.2% 8 16
Georgia 10.4% 25 Georgia 30.6% 25 0
Towa 10.4% 26 Towa 29.4% 36 -10
Arkansas 10.3% 27 Arkansas 29.1% 40 -13
Massachusetts 10.3% 28 Massachusetts 33.4% 6 22
Mississippi 10.2% 29 Mississippi 28.0% 48 -19
South Carolina 10.2% 30 South Carolina 29.2% 38 -8
Idaho 10.2% 31 Idaho 29.0% 42 -11
Arizona 10.1% 32 Arizona 29.9% 29 3
Wyoming 10.1% 33 Wyoming 32.4% 11 22
Missouri 9.9% 34 Missouri 29.4% 35 -1
Oregon 9.9% 35 Oregon 30.2% 28 7
New Mexico 9.9% 36 New Mexico 28.5% 45 -9
NORTH DAKOTA 9.8% 37 NORTH DAKOTA 29.8% 30 7
Colorado 9.8% 38 Colorado 30.7% 23 15
Florida 9.7% 39 Florida 31.0% 21 18
Oklahoma 9.6% 40 Oklahoma 28.2% 47 -7
Virginia 9.5% 41 Virginia 31.1% 20 21
Montana 9.5% 42 Montana 29.0% 43 -1
Nevada 9.5% 43 Nevada 31.6% 14 29
Texas 9.4% 44 Texas 29.7% 32 12
South Dakota 9.2% 45 South Dakota 28.9% 44 1
Alabama 8.8% 46 Alabama 27.5% 50 -4
Tennessee 8.8% 47 Tennessee 28.2% 46 1
Delaware 8.4% 48 Delaware 29.7% 33 15
New Hampshire 7.3% 49 New Hampshire 29.2% 39 10
Alaska 6.6% 50 Alaska 27.9% 49 1
District of Columbia 12.8% - District of Columbia 35.1% - -
U.S. Average 10.6% U.S. Average 31.6%

Source: Bureau of Economic Analysis & Tax Foundation Calculations
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Taxes Per Capita and as a Percent of Income, Calendar Year 2006, by State

S— |

Per Per Per Total Federal State/Local Total Taxes State & Local

Capita Capita Capita Per Taxes as Taxes as Taxes as as % of Taxes as %

Total Federal State/Local Capita % of % of % of Income of Income

Taxes Taxes Taxes Income Income Income Income Rank Rank
United States $12,122 $8,050 $4,072 $38,376 31.6 21.0 10.6 - -
Alabama 8,977 6,096 2,881 32,599 27.5 18.7 8.8 50 46
Alaska 11,019 8,420 2,598 39,499 27.9 21.3 6.6 49 50
Arizona 9,919 6,569 3,350 33,156 29.9 19.8 10.1 29 32
Arkansas 8,742 5,654 3,088 29,999 29.1 18.8 10.3 40 27
California 13,433 8,982 4,451 41,022 32.7 21.9 10.9 9 15
Colorado 12,877 8,779 4,098 41,987 30.7 20.9 9.8 23 38
Connecticut 19,097 13,079 6,018 53,152 359 24.6 11.3 1 9
Delaware 12,155 8,729 3,426 40,964 29.7 21.3 8.4 33 48
Florida 11,385 7,820 3,566 36,734 31.0 21.3 9.7 21 39
Georgia 10,496 6,932 3,564 34,327 30.6 20.2 10.4 25 25
Hawaii 11,952 7,455 4,496 38,269 31.2 19.5 11.7 17 5
Idaho 8,995 5,835 3,159 31,031 29.0 18.8 10.2 42 31
Illinois 13,045 8,710 4,355 39,902 32.7 21.8 10.9 10 14
Indiana 10,622 6,825 3,796 34,647 30.7 19.7 11.0 24 12
Towa 10,518 6,809 3,709 35,807 294 19.0 10.4 36 26
Kansas 11,030 7,144 3,885 36,209 30.5 19.7 10.7 26 18
Kentucky 9,425 6,043 3,383 31,639 29.8 19.1 10.7 31 20
Louisiana 9,162 5,699 3,463 31,358 29.2 18.2 11.0 37 11
Maine 11,562 6,843 4,719 34,935 33.1 19.6 13.5 7 1
Maryland 14,898 9,902 4,996 46,562 32.0 21.3 10.7 13 19
Massachusetts 16,427 11,380 5,047 49,203 33.4 23.1 10.3 6 28
Michigan 11,431 7,467 3,965 36,751 31.1 20.3 10.8 19 16
Minnesota 13,890 8,960 4,930 41,363 33.6 21.7 11.9 5 4
Mississippi 28,591 5,068 2,924 28,591 28.0 17.7 10.2 48 29
Missouri 10,409 6,899 3,509 35,408 29.4 19.5 9.9 35 34
Montana 9,479 6,371 3,108 32,719 29.0 19.5 9.5 43 42
Nebraska 11,419 7,122 4,294 36,999 30.9 19.2 11.6 22 6
Nevada 12,542 8,794 3,758 39,683 31.6 22.1 9.5 14 43
New Hampshire 12,464 9,328 3,136 42,707 29.2 21.8 7.3 39 49
New Jersey 16,667 11,433 5,234 48,590 343 235 10.8 3 17
New Mexico 8,747 5,717 3,031 30,642 28.5 18.7 9.9 45 36
New York 15,632 9,899 5,734 44,571 35.1 222 12.9 2 2
North Carolina 10,220 6,694 3,526 33,732 30.3 19.8 10.5 27 23
NORTH DAKOTA 10,379 6,957 3,421 34,808 29.8 20.0 9.8 30 37
Ohio 11,271 6,939 3,421 36,054 31.3 19.2 12.0 16 3
Oklahoma 9,221 6,092 3,129 32,661 28.2 18.7 9.6 47 40
Oregon 10,659 7,167 3,492 35,300 30.2 20.3 9.9 28 35
Pennsylvania 12,118 8,061 4,057 38,849 31.2 20.7 10.4 8 24
Rhode Island 13,308 8,679 4,629 40,331 33.0 21.5 11.5 8 8
South Carolina 9,195 5,982 3,213 31,480 29.2 19.0 10.2 38 30
South Dakota 10,000 6,824 3,177 34,647 28.9 19.7 9.2 44 45
Tennessee 9,764 6,785 2,979 34,568 28.2 19.6 8.8 46 47
Texas 10,665 7,297 3,368 35,913 29.7 20.3 9.4 32 44
Utah 9,127 5,866 3,261 30,917 29.5 19.0 10.5 34 22
Vermont 11,600 7,482 4,118 37,025 31.3 20.2 11.1 15 10
Virginia 13,247 9,191 4,056 42,642 31.1 21.6 9.5 20 41
Washington 13,387 9,053 4,334 39,705 33.7 22.8 10.9 4 13
West Virginia 8,823 5,011 3,212 30,317 29.1 18.5 10.6 41 21
Wisconsin 11,950 7,661 4,289 37,115 322 20.6 11.6 12 7
Wyoming 13,251 9,131 4,120 40,912 324 22.3 10.1 11 33
Dist. of Columbia 22,132 14,040 8,092 63,044 35.1 22.3 12.8 -- --

Note: Totals may not sum due to rounding.

SOURCE: Bureau of Economic Analysis and Tax Foundation calculations
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Estimated Burden of Major State & Local Taxes
for a Family of Three - 2005

$25,000 Gross Family Income

Tax Type | Fargo, ND | Billings, MT | Minneapolis, | Sioux Falls, | Cheyenne, | Omaha, NE
MN SD WY
Income $114 $238 $308 $0 $0 $246
Property $1,176 $1,351 $1,970 $1,344 $1,378 $1,510
Sales $597 $0 $568 $814 $792 $673
Auto $184 $245 $216 $168 $167 $211
Total $2,071 $1,834 $3,062 $2,326 $2,337 $2,639
% of Income 8.3% 7.3% 12.2% 9.3% 9.3% 10.6.%
National
rank 50 51 15 46 44 33
$50,000 Gross Family Income
Tax Type |Fargo, ND | Billings, MT | Minneapolis, [ Sioux Falls, | Cheyenne, | Omaha, NE
MN SD WY
Income $496 $860 $1,083 $0 $0 $869
Property $1,766 $1,736 $2,558 $2,032 $870 $2,256
Sales $819 $0 $772 $1,077 $1,051 $908
Auto $219 $321 $233 $201 $287 $352
Total $3,300 $2,917 $4,646 $3,311 $2,208 $4,385
% of Income 6.6% 5.8% 9.3% 6.6% 4.4% 8.8%
National
rank 41 47 18 40 50 24
$100,000 Gross Family Income
Tax Type [Fargo, ND |Billings, MT | Minneapolis, | Sioux Falls, | Cheyenne, | Omaha, NE
MN SD WY
Income $1,801 $3,966 $4,227 $0 $0 $3,808
Property $2,664 $2,100 $3,195 $3,210 $1,249 $3,188
Sales $1,426 $0 $1,352 $1,827 $1,774 $1,638
Auto $407 $799 $451 §393 $698 $817
Total $6,298 $6,865 $9,226 $5,430 $3,721 $9.,451
% of Income 6.3% 6.9% 9.2% 5.4% 3.7% 9.5%
National
rank 43 41 26 46 50 18

SOURCE: Tax Rates and Tax Burdens In the District of Columbia - A Nationwide Comparison 2005, Government of the District of Columbia.
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Family of 3 - $50,000 per year

Major Taxes as a Percent of Income }

percent of income going to taxes

Fargo Billings Minneapolis Sioux Falls Cheyenne  Omaha US Average®
6.6% 5.8% 9.3% 6.6% 4.4% 8.8% 8.8%*

I:' Income . Property I:' Sales I:l Auto

SOURCE: Tax Rates and Tax Burdens in the District of Columbia - A Nationwide Comparison 2005, Government of
the District of Columbia

Major Tax Burden for Family of Three
Earning $50,000 per year

Thousands

Fargo Billings  Minneapolis Sioux Falls Cheyenne Omaha US Average®
$3,300 $2,917 $4,646 $3,311 $2,208 $4,385 $4,379%

I:I Income . Property I:I Sales |:| Auto

* Amounts may not add due to rounding.
() Based on cities actually leving tax

SOURCE: Tax Rates and Tax Burdens in the District of Columbia - A Nationwide Comparison 2005, Government of the District of
Columbia
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_State Taxes by Source - Fiscal Year 2005

General Individual Corporate Motor All

Sales & Use Income Income Fuels Licenses Other
Alabama 254 % 349 % 4.7 % 7.4 % 5.7 % 21.8%
Alaska -- -- 24.7 3.7 6.8 64.8
Arizona 50.6 24.7 4.1 7.4 32 10.1
Arkansas 38.1 29.6 32 8.2 4.7 16.2
California 30.6 42.5 6.9 42 7.3 8.4
Colorado 27.5 50.2 3.0 8.2 4.0 7.1
Connecticut 33.7 40.8 1.7 4.7 4.5 14.7
Delaware - 33.0 11.6 5.0 35.9 14.6
Florida 58.1 -- 4.9 7.3 6.3 23.5
Georgia 35.1 47.1 4.1 4.7 3.6 5.4
Hawaii 47.1 32.5 1.5 2.3 33 13.3
Idaho 35.0 37.1 34 9.4 9.8 5.3
Illinois 28.6 30.9 9.2 6.1 8.5 16.7
Indiana 38.0 354 6.7 6.7 3.0 10.2
Towa 349 353 1.8 6.9 10.4 10.8
Kansas 374 38.6 2.5 7.8 4.8 8.9
Kentucky 29.0 33.6 3.8 5.8 6.8 21.1
Louisiana 31.7 24.2 3.6 7.6 7.0 259
Maine 31.8 40.8 2.9 7.3 5.7 11.4
Maryland 24.9 43.5 33 6.5 4.0 17.8
Massachusetts 24.9 534 5.5 4.5 3.4 8.3
Michigan 35.6 28.0 9.4 5.0 5.9 16.0
Minnesota 28.9 42.1 42 4.8 6.7 13.3
Mississippi 49.5 20.8 4.1 8.7 6.4 10.5
Missouri 329 41.7 3.5 8.0 54 8.6
Montana -- 359 4.7 13.3 13.8 323
Nebraska 35.7 38.5 3.6 10.3 6.5 5.3
Nevada 52.5 -- -- 6.7 11.1 29.7
New Hampshire - 3.8 20.0 6.4 9.1 60.7
New Jersey 32.7 37.3 6.0 2.9 5.2 15.9
New Mexico 36.9 27.1 34 5.5 4.7 22.4
New York 19.9 59.1 5.2 1.1 2.4 12.2
North Carolina 20.7 46.8 43 7.8 5.7 14.8
NORTH DAKOTA 30.0 17.9 4.5 9.9 9.2 28.5
Ohio 32.6 42.5 3.9 7.0 8.0 6.1
Oklahoma 253 37.8 2.9 6.8 13.6 13.7
Oregon - 71.5 3.8 7.8 9.7 7.3
Pennsylvania 33.1 30.4 5.4 7.9 9.4 13.7
Rhode Island 344 38.7 1.3 6.1 43 15.1
South Carolina 40.6 34.0 3.8 7.2 54 9.1
South Dakota 53.6 -- 42 12.6 13.6 16.0
Tennessee 60.0 1.9 6.5 10.4 10.7 10.6
Texas 50.8 -- - 9.9 13.2 26.1
Utah 38.2 40.9 2.8 8.6 3.8 5.7
Vermont 14.0 24 .4 2.4 5.6 4.5 49.0
Virginia 21.9 52.5 2.4 6.6 42 12.3
Washington 62.6 -- - 5.9 5.0 26.5
West Virginia 27.1 29.1 6.2 8.4 4.9 242
Wisconsin 31.3 42.1 44 8.1 5.5 8.6
Wyoming 40.7 -- - 6.9 8.7 43.7
U.S. Total 33.5% 34.7% 4.9 % 6.0 % 6.6 % 143 %

SOURCE: Tax Foundation, based on data from the Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.

_ ] 0 _ November 2006

North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner



Total State Tax Collections
Per Capita - Fiscal Year 2005

Per Capita Total
Rank State State Tax Collections

1 Vermont $3,600
2 Hawaii $3,478
3 Wyoming $3,418
4 Connecticut $3,300
5 Delaware $3,229
6 Minnesota $3,094
7 Massachusetts $2.815
8 Alaska $2,799
9 California $2,724
10 New Jersey $2,631
11 New York $2,607
12 Rhode Island $2,443
13 Wisconsin $2,430
14 Maryland $2,410
15 West Virginia $2,367
16 Washington $2,360
17 Arkansas $2,358
18 Michigan $2,324
19 Maine $2,323
20 New Mexico $2.319
21 NORTH DAKOTA $2.203
22 Pennsylvania $2,193
23 Kentucky $2,179
24 Nebraska $2,158
25 North Carolina $2,147
26 Virginia $2,104
27 Ohio $2,094
28 Nevada $2,075
29 Illinois $2,069
30 Idaho $2,054
31 Indiana $2,049
32 Kansas $2,040
33 Montana $2,004
34 Towa $1,939
35 Oklahoma $1,933
36 Louisiana $1,910
37 Florida $1,905
38 Utah $1,897
39 Mississippi $1,860
40 Arizona $1,854
41 Oregon $1,791
42 Georgia $1,728
43 South Carolina $1,720
44 Alabama $1,711
45 Tennessee $1,678
46 Missouri $1,645
47 Colorado $1,640
48 New Hampshire $1,544
49 Texas $1,434
50 South Dakota $1,430
US Average $2,190

SOURCE: US Department of Commerce, Census Bureau.

Total State Taxes

Except Severance Taxes
Per Capita - Fiscal Year 2005

Total Tax Less
Rank State Severance Tax

1 Vermont $3,600
2 Hawaii $3,478
3 Connecticut $3,300
4 Delaware $3,229
5 Minnesota $3,088
6 Massachusetts $2,815
7 California $2,724
8 New Jersey $2,631
9 New York $2,607
10 Rhode Island $2,443
11 Wisconsin $2,429
12 Maryland $2,410
13 Washington $2,353
14 Arkansas $2,351
15 Maine $2,323
16 Michigan $2,318
17 West Virginia $2,198
18 Pennsylvania $2,193
19 Nebraska $2,157
20 North Carolina $2,146
21 Kentucky $2,124
22 Virginia $2,103
23 Ohio $2,093
24 Illinois $2,069
25 Nevada $2,058
26 Idaho $2,052
27 Indiana $2,049
28 Kansas $1,997
29 New Mexico $1,950
30 lowa $1,939
31 Florida $1,902
32 Utah $1,868
33 Arizona $1,849
34 Mississippi $1,837
35 Wyoming $1,835
36 Montana $1,810
37 NORTH DAKOTA $1,791
38 Oregon $1,788
39 Louisiana $1,752
40 Georgia $1,728
41 South Carolina $1,720
42 Oklahoma $1,718
43 Alabama $1,679
44 Tennessee $1,678
45 Missouri $1,645
46 Colorado $1,608
47 New Hampshire $1,544
48 South Dakota $1,427
49 Alaska $1,405
50 Texas $1,331
US Average $2,162

SOURCE: US Department of Commerce, Census Bureau.
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Tax Freedom Day 2006, by State ]

Average number of days spent working to pay:

State/
Total Federal Local
State Tax Freedom Day Rank Taxes Taxes Taxes
Connecticut May 12 1 132 90 42
New York May 9 2 129 82 47
New Jersey May 6 3 126 86 40
Washington May 4 4 124 84 40
Minnesota May 3 5 123 79 44
Massachusetts May 2 6 122 84 38
Maine May 1 7 121 71 50
Rhode Island May 1 8 121 79 42
California April 30 9 120 80 40
Illinois April 30 10 120 80 40
Wyoming April 29 11 119 82 37
Wisconsin April 28 12 118 75 43
Maryland April 27 13 117 77 40
Nevada April 26 14 116 81 35
Vermont April 25 15 115 74 41
Ohio April 25 16 115 71 44
Hawaii April 24 17 114 71 43
Pennsylvania April 24 18 114 75 39
Michigan April 24 19 114 74 40
Virginia April 24 20 114 79 35
Florida April 24 21 114 78 36
Nebraska April 23 22 113 70 43
Colorado April 22 23 112 76 36
Indiana April 22 24 112 72 40
Georgia April 22 25 112 74 38
Kansas April 22 26 112 72 40
North Carolina April 21 27 111 72 39
Oregon April 21 28 111 74 37
Arizona April 20 29 110 73 37
NORTH DAKOTA April 19 30 109 73 36
Kentucky April 19 31 109 69 40
Texas April 19 32 109 74 35
Delaware April 19 33 109 78 31
Utah April 18 34 108 69 39
Missouri April 18 35 108 71 37
Iowa April 18 36 108 70 38
Louisiana April 17 37 107 66 41
South Carolina April 17 38 107 69 38
New Hampshire April 17 39 107 80 27
Arkansas April 17 40 107 69 38
West Virginia April 17 41 107 68 39
Idaho April 16 42 106 68 38
Montana April 16 43 106 71 35
South Dakota April 16 44 106 72 34
New Mexico April 15 45 105 68 37
Tennessee April 14 46 104 72 32
Oklahoma April 14 47 104 69 35
Mississippi April 13 48 103 65 38
Alaska April 12 49 102 77 25
Alabama April 11 50 101 68 33
District of Columbia May 9 -- 129 82 47
SOURCE: Tax Foundation
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES

CURRENT LAW

Individual Income Tax
Filing Requirements

Every resident of North Dakota who has a federal income
tax filing requirement is required to file a North Dakota
income tax return.

Every nonresident who has a federal income tax filing
requirement and derives income from North Dakota
(except interest and dividends from nonbusiness sources,
pensions and annuities) is required to file a North Dakota
income tax return. There are exceptions for certain Native
Americans, interstate transportation employees, and
Minnesota and Montana residents.

An individual income tax return is due April 15.
Choice of Methods

Two filing methods are available to individuals:
*  Main method (on Form ND-1)
* Optional method (on Form ND-2)

The same filing status (that is, single, married filing jointly,
head of household, etc.) used for federal purposes must be
used when filing for state purposes.

Main Method (Form ND-1)

Approximately 97% of all individuals who file a

North Dakota income tax return use the main method,
Form ND-1. The main method usually yields a lower tax
liability than the optional method [See Optional Method
(Form ND-2) later.]

Taxable Income. Under the main method, North Dakota

taxable income for most individuals will equal federal

taxable income. For some individuals, North Dakota

taxable income must be calculated by adjusting federal

taxable income by:

* Adding a lump-sum distribution from a qualified
pension plan reported on Form 4972.

* Adding a loss from a passthrough entity subject to
North Dakota’s financial institution tax.

» Subtracting 30% of a net long-term capital gain
allocable to North Dakota.

» Subtracting interest income from U.S. obligations.

» Subtracting exempt income of a Native American.

» Subtracting retirement, unemployment, and sick pay
benefits from the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board.

» Subtracting income from a passthrough entity subject to
North Dakota’s financial institution tax.

» Subtracting income exempted under the Renaissance
Zone Act.

* Subtracting income exempted under the new or
expanding business exemption.

» Subtracting the pay received by a National Guard/
Reserve member for service in U.S. armed forces.

» Subtracting the pay received by a nonresident for
service in the U.S. armed forces.

* Subtracting up to $10,000 of medical expenses and lost
wages for donating a human organ.

Tax Rates. Under the main method, the applicable tax
rates depend on the taxpayer’s filing status. The tax rates
applicable to each filing status for the 2006 tax year are as
follows:

Single

ND taxable income Tax rate
First  $ 30,650 .....ccceeueene.n. 2.1%
Next $ 43,550 ... 3.92%
Next $ 80,600 .................... 4.34%
Next $ 181,750 .cccevreennn. 5.04%
Over $ 336,550 ..cccuvvuennnnen. 5.54%

Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)

ND taxable income Tax rate
First $ 51,200 .....ccccveennne. 2.1%
Next $ 72,500 ... 3.92%
Next $§ 64,750 .cceennne. 4.34%
Next $ 148,100 ..o 5.04%
Over $ 336,550 .....ccccueuneeee. 5.54%
Married filing separately

ND taxable income Tax rate
First $§ 25,600 ......ccccccee... 2.1%
Next $ 36,250 ..cccceennnn. 3.92%
Next $§ 32,375 .. 4.34%
Next $ 74,050 .ccoveeeennnn. 5.04%
Over $ 168275 ..ccceennne. 5.54%

November 2006
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Head of household

ND taxable income Tax rate
First $ 41,050.....ccccccveennn..... 2.1%
Next $§  64,950.......ccne....... 3.92%
Next $§  65,650.....ccccue...... 4.34%
Next $ 164,900.................... 5.04%
Over $ 336,550......cccccenn.. 5.54%

The income brackets are indexed for inflation each year.
A 3-year income averaging method is available for

calculating the tax on farm income if the taxpayer elects to

use the federal 3-year income averaging method.

Nonresident Tax Calculation. Under the main method,
residents and nonresidents calculate North Dakota taxable
income the same way. For a nonresident, however, the
tax calculated on North Dakota taxable income (which
includes income from all sources) is multiplied by a ratio
equal to North Dakota source income divided by federal
adjusted gross income (reduced by interest from U.S.
obligations and nonresident's military pay).

Credits. Tax credits are available under the main method

for:

* Paying income tax to another state (North Dakota
resident only).

* Paying qualified expenses to care for a qualified family

member to avoid placement in a long-term care facility.

* Investing in a North Dakota renaissance fund
organization.

* Preserving or renovating historic property in a North
Dakota renaissance zone.

* Purchasing or rehabilitating a single-family residence in

a North Dakota renaissance zone.

* Investing in a qualified seed capital business in North
Dakota.

* Investing in a qualified agricultural commodity
processing facility in North Dakota.

* Making a planned gift to a qualified North Dakota
nonprofit organization.

* Blending biodiesel fuel as a wholesaler.

* Adding equipment necessary to sell biodiesel fuel as a
retailer.

Optional Contributions. A taxpayer may make a

contribution to the Watchable Wildlife Fund, the Trees For
North Dakota Program Trust Fund, or both. A contribution

will increase a balance due or reduce an overpayment on
the return.

Optional Method (Form ND-2)

Only about 3% of all individuals who file a North Dakota
income tax return use the optional method, Form ND-2.
This method generally yields a higher tax than the main
method. There are a number of special deductions and
credits allowed only under the optional method that may
benefit the taxpayer. In most cases, these are not enough
to offset the higher tax rates that apply under this method.
It is recommended that taxpayers compare the tax under
the main and optional methods to see which one yields the
lowest tax.

Taxable Income. Under the optional method, North
Dakota taxable income is calculated by adjusting federal
taxable income by:

Adding interest income earned on state and local
government obligations (except North Dakota).

Adding state and local income taxes deducted on the
federal return.

Adding a lump sum distribution from a qualified
pension plan reported on Form 4972.

Adding a loss from a passthrough entity subject to
North Dakota's financial institution tax.

Subtracting state and local income tax refunds included
in income on the federal return.

Subtracting federal income taxes paid.

Subtracting $300 if the filing status is married filing
jointly, head of household, or surviving spouse.
Subtracting $1,750 for an adopted child under the age
of 21 in the year the adoption becomes final.
Subtracting up to $1,000 of the costs of adopting a child
under the age of 21 who is mentally retarded or is blind
or disabled as determined under the Social Security Act
in the year the adoption becomes final.

Subtracting $750 for an adopted child under the age of
21 who is mentally retarded or is blind or disabled as
determined under the Social Security Act.

Subtracting medical expenses not allowed on the federal
return due to the 7.5% limitation.

Subtracting retirement, unemployment, and sick pay
benefits from the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board.
Subtracting up to $5,000 of military retirement benefits;
federal retirement benefits; and North Dakota firefighter,
police and highway patrol retirement benefits.
Subtracting interest from U.S. obligations.

Subtracting up to $300 of interest ($600 if joint return)
from North Dakota financial institutions.

Subtracting the gain on the sale or exchange of stock

of an eligible corporation that relocates significant
operations to North Dakota and generates new wealth in
the state.
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+ Subtracting up to $5,000 ($10,000 if joint return)
of an investment in a North Dakota venture capital
corporation.

* Subtracting income exempted under the new or
expanding business exemption.

« Subtracting income from the sale or lease of a business
under the Beginning Entrepreneur Program.

« Subtracting income from the sale or lease of farmland
under the Beginning Farmer Program.

« Subtracting exempt income of a Native American.

» Subtracting a gain recognized on property subject to
eminent domain sale or transfer.

* Subtracting income from a passthrough entity subject to
North Dakota's financial institution tax.

* Subtracting income exempted under the Renaissance
Zone Act.

+ Subtracting up to $1,000 of pay received for service in
the U.S. armed forces.

+ Subtracting up to $300 per month of pay received for
overseas service in the U.S. armed forces.

* Subtracting the pay received by a National Guard/
Reserve member for service in U.S. armed forces.

* Subtracting the pay received by a nonresident for
service in the U.S. armed forces.

 Subtracting up to $10,000 of medical expenses and lost
wages for donating a human organ.

Tax Rates. On the optional method form, the following tax
rates apply regardless of the taxpayer’s filing status.

ND taxable income Tax rate
First $ 3,000.....cccceuennne 2.67%
Next $ 2,000......c..cccuveen... 4.00%
Next $ 3,000.....ccccceennne 5.33%
Next $ 7,000......cccciienn. 6.67%
Next $ 10,000.................... 8.00%
Next $ 10,000.................... 9.33%
Next $ 15,000.................. 10.67%
Over $ 50,000.................. 12.00%

Nonresident Tax Calculation. Under the optional method,
a nonresident calculates North Dakota taxable income by
including only the items of income and loss sourced in
North Dakota. The personal and dependency exemptions,
and the standard deduction or itemized deductions,
claimed for federal tax purposes are multiplied by a ratio
equal to North Dakota source income divided by federal
adjusted gross income.

Credits. Tax credits are available under the optional

method for:

* Paying income tax to another state (North Dakota
resident only).

» Paying qualified expenses to care for a qualified family
member to avoid placement in a long-term care facility.

+ Investing in a North Dakota renaissance fund
organization.

» Preserving or renovating historic property in a North
Dakota renaissance zone.

» Purchasing or rehabilitating a single-family residence in
a North Dakota renaissance zone.

+ Investing in a qualified seed capital business in North
Dakota.

 Investing in a qualified agricultural commodity
processing facility in North Dakota.

+ Contributing to a qualifying nonprofit private high
school or college in North Dakota.

» Paying premiums for a long-term care insurance policy.

* Installing a geothermal, solar, or wind energy device on
property owned or leased in North Dakota.

* Investing in a North Dakota venture capital corporation.

 Investing in the North Dakota Small Business
Investment Company.

» Investing in a certified nonprofit development
corporation.

» Paying wages to a developmentally disabled or
chronically mentally ill employee.

» Making a planned gift to a qualified North Dakota
nonprofit organization.

» Blending biodiesel fuel as a wholesaler.

* Adding equipment necessary to sell biodiesel fuel as a
retailer.

Optional Contributions. A taxpayer may make a
contribution to the Watchable Wildlife Fund, the Trees for

North Dakota Program Trust Fund, or both. A contribution
will increase a balance due or reduce an overpayment on
the return.

Payment of Estimated Tax

Individuals are required to pay estimated North Dakota
income tax if all of the following conditions apply:
1. The individual is required to pay estimated federal
income tax; AND
2. The individual’s previous year’s net tax liability was
$500 or greater; AND
3. The individual expects to owe, after subtracting
withholding, at least $500; AND
4. The individual expects withholding to be less than the
smaller of:
a. 90% of current year’s net tax liability or
b. 100% of previous year’s net tax liability. (This does
not apply if the individual moves into North Dakota
during the previous year.)
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Withholding

An employer is required to withhold North Dakota income
tax from the wages of an employee if federal income tax
is required to be withheld from such wages. Wages paid
by farmers and ranchers are exempt from North Dakota
withholding requirements.

North Dakota withholding is computed using one of the
following three methods:

* Method 1: Percentage of Wages
(Primary Method)
This method is similar to the IRS’s Percentage Method
in Publication 15 (Circular E). It is the method
recommended for use in all cases.

e Method 2: Percent of Federal Withholding
(Alternative Method)
This method is an alternative to Method 1, the Primary
Method. The federal income tax withheld from the
wages is multiplied by a flat rate determined by the
Office of State Tax Commissioner. This method
generally works for employees with wages under
$18,000, if single, or $30,000, if married. Use of this
method for employees with wages over the $18,000
or $30,000 level is permitted, but it will result in over
withholding.

* Method 3: Withholding Tables
This method is identical to Method 1, the primary
method, except that no calculations are required.
Instead, a table is used to look up the withholding
amount.

Employers must register with the North Dakota Office of
State Tax Commissioner. Forms to register for income

tax withholding, sales and use tax permit, unemployment
insurance and workers compensation purposes are part of a
consolidated registration package.

New Jobs Training Program. Under the New Jobs
Training Program, a new or expanding primary sector
business may use income tax withheld from new
employees to pay for the cost of training the employees.
Application for the program is made through Job Service
North Dakota.

Fiduciary Income Tax (Estates and Trusts)

A fiduciary for a resident trust or estate, or a fiduciary for
a nonresident trust or estate which derives income from
North Dakota sources, must file a North Dakota fiduciary
income tax return if required to file a federal fiduciary
income tax return.

Two filing methods are available on the fiduciary income
tax return: the Main Method and the Optional Method,
which are the same as the two methods for individual
income tax.

Tax Rates. Under the main method, the applicable tax
rates for the 2006 tax year are as follows:

ND taxable income Tax rate
First $ 2,050, 2.10%
Next $ 2,800....cccciiinnn.. 3.92%
Next $ 2,550 i 4.34%
Next $ 2,650, 5.04%
Over $§ 10,050........cce........ 5.54%

Under the optional method, the tax rates and corresponding
taxable income brackets are the same as those under the
optional method (Form ND-2) for individuals.

The requirement for an estate or trust to pay estimated
North Dakota income tax also follows the same rules
applicable to individuals. A beneficiary of an estate or
trust may be required to file a North Dakota income tax
return to report the income distributed or distributable to
the beneficiary.

A fiduciary income tax return is due April 15.
Distribution of Revenue

All revenue from the individual income tax is deposited in
the State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

Before 1977. The state’s first income tax law was imposed
in 1919. In 1923, it was revised and patterned after federal
income tax law. Between 1923 and 1977, numerous
changes were made to the law.

1977 Session. A tax credit for the installation of a solar or
wind energy device was created.

1978 Initiated Measure. Voters in the 1978 General
Election passed a measure decreasing individual income
tax rates.

1979 Session. The beginning farmer program deductions,
a deduction for gains from property subject to eminent
domain, and a credit for contributions to nonprofit private

- 16 -

November 2006
North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner



high schools were created. The 1% business privilege tax
was repealed for tax years after 1980.

1980 Initiated Measure. In the 1980 General Election,
voters approved the oil extraction tax initiated measure
that included an energy cost relief credit of up to $100.

1981 Session. The simplified optional short form

system was created for individuals, on which the tax

was determined by multiplying the federal income tax
liability by a flat tax rate of 7%42%. For long form filers, the
beginning businessman program deductions, a deduction
for interest from a North Dakota financial institution, and
a tax credit for installing a geothermal energy device were
created.

1983 Session. The energy cost relief credit was repealed.
The tax rate on the simplified optional short form was
increased to 10%2%. The tax rates on the long form were
increased, ranging from 2% on the first $3,000 of taxable
income to 9% on taxable income over $50,000.

1985 Session. For long form filers, a tax credit for
investing in a venture capital corporation and a deduction
for an adopted child under the age of 21 were created.

1986 Special Session. General income tax withholding
and estimated income tax laws were created. The
simplified optional short form tax rate was increased to
14%. The tax rates on the long form were proportionally
increased, ranging from 2.67% on the first $3,000 of
taxable income to 12% on taxable income over $50,000.

1987 Referred Measure. State voters upheld the 1986
Special Session changes increasing the tax rates and
creating the general withholding and estimated tax laws.

1987 Session. A 10% surtax on state income tax liability
was created for tax year 1987 only. Beginning in 1988, the
tax return had to include a line for an optional contribution
to the nongame wildlife fund. For long form filers, tax
credits were added for investment in the Myron G. Nelson
Fund, Inc., and for wages paid to a developmentally
disabled or chronically mentally ill employee.

1989 Session. On the long form, deductions were created
for federal retirement benefits not previously eligible, for
highway patrol retirement benefits, and for investment

in a venture capital corporation or the Myron G. Nelson
Fund, Inc. A credit was created on the long form for an
investment in a nonprofit development corporation, and
beginning in 1989, the tax return had to include a line for
an optional contribution to the centennial tree program
trust fund. Taxpayers must use the same filing status and

the same standard or itemized deductions used for federal
purposes. North Dakota income tax law was perpetually
federalized for tax years beginning after December 31,
1988. The short form tax rate increased to 17%. The long
form tax rates were increased proportionately, ranging
from 3.24% on the first $3,000 of taxable income to
14.57% on taxable income over $50,000.

1989 Referral Election. Tax rate increases passed by
the 1989 Legislature were rejected in a December Special
Election.

1991 Session. A deduction was created for distributions
from mutual funds that hold U.S. government securities.
Wages paid by farmers and ranchers were exempted from
withholding requirements. The North Dakota Taxpayer
Bill of Rights was created. The income tax exemption
for new or expanding businesses was decoupled from the
property tax exemption and was limited to value-adding
primary sector and tourism businesses.

1993 Session. Credits were added to the long form for
“seed capital investment” in a new or expanding business,
for long term care insurance premiums, and for alternative
fuel equipment installed on motor vehicles. The New

Jobs Training Program was created to allow new or
expanding businesses to use income tax withheld from
new employees to pay for the employees’ training. Also,

a limited liability company form of business entity was
legalized.

1994 Special Session. The project size limitations were
removed as qualifications for the new or expanding
business tax exemption.

1995 Session. A deduction was added to the long form

for part of the gain on sale or exchange of stock of a
corporation that relocates significant operations to North
Dakota. The number of new jobs a business must create to
qualify for the New Jobs Training Program was decreased.
The Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc. was changed to the Small
Business Investment Company, a state established limited
partnership. Authorized the taxation of a nonresident's
income from gambling in North Dakota.

1997 Session. A tax credit for qualified care expenses

to avoid the placement of a qualifying family member

in a long-term care facility was created on the long

form. An individual who files a claim for unemployment
compensation benefits may elect to have federal and state
income tax withheld from the benefits.

1999 Session. The interest rate on refunds was increased
from 10% per year to 1% per month.
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2001 Session. The simplified short form method (on
which the tax was calculated as a percentage of the federal
tax liability) was repealed. It was replaced with a method
that uses federal taxable income as the starting point in
calculating North Dakota taxable income, to which is
applied a set of five tax rates—2.1%, 3.92%, 4.34%, 5.04%,
and 5.54%. Each rate corresponds to one of five income
brackets, each of which varies by filing status (that is,
single, married filing jointly, head of household, etc).

The estimated income tax requirements for individuals,
estates, and trusts were changed to provide that no
estimated tax has to be paid if the preceding tax year's net
tax liability is less than $500. The threshold for filing an
annual withholding return by an employer was increased
to $500. A credit was created for investing in a North
Dakota agricultural commodity processing facility. The
partnership provisions were changed to exempt guaranteed
payments of a nonresident partner of a professional
service partnership for work performed outside North
Dakota. Changes were made to the Renaissance Zone Act
provisions, including the addition of rehabilitation work as
a qualifying transaction. On the long form, the deduction
for adopting a child under age 21 was increased to $1,750
with a 5-year carryforward of an unused amount, and

the geothermal, solar, and wind energy device credit was
allowed for a device installed on property leased by the
taxpayer.

2003 Session. The seed capital investment tax credit
rate was increased to 45%, and thresholds on eligible

investments and credits were increased. A payroll service
provider who electronically transmits an employer's
withholding return and taxes for federal purposes must
electronically transmit the state withholding returns and
taxes. The legislature required the Tax Commissioner to
conduct a tax amnesty program. The new or expanding
business income exemption was allowed on Form ND-1.
On Form ND-2, the dividend deduction was repealed. A
deduction was created for compensation that a National
Guard or Reserve member receives for federal active duty
service.

2005 Session. The long-term capital gain exclusion

on Form ND-1 was limited to a gain allocable to North
Dakota. Lottery winnings are subjected to income tax
withholding. The geothermal, solar, or wind energy device
credit is changed to allow a five-year carryforward of an
unused credit. A deduction of up to $10,000 of medical
expenses and lost wages related to a human organ donation
is created. A passthrough entity is required to withhold
income tax from the distributive shares of income of its
nonresident individual owners or beneficiaries. A credit
for blending biodiesel fuel by a supplier is created. A
credit for adding equipment necessary for the retail sale

of biodiesel fuel is created. The seed capital and ag
commodity investment tax credit provisions were changed
to allow the credits to corporations and all passthrough
entities and to revise various limitation provisions. A
credit for planned gifts to qualified North Dakota nonprofit
organizations was created.

Individual Income Tax Collections _I

Fiscal Year
1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006
2007 est.

Net Collections
152,087,864
163,732,247
177,904,251
181,389,034
198,287,830
213,442,150
198,922,525
200,528,205
214,145,899
241,319,731
274,621,741
278,045,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
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Fiscal Year 2005

Per Capita Comparison of Individual Income Tax Collections *

State . Rank Per Capita
Massachusetts 1 $1,514
New York 2 $1,459
Connecticut 3 1,434
Oregon 4 $1.291 J
Minnesota 5 $1,235 |
California 6 $1,190 |
Virginia 7 $1.104 H
Hawaii 8 $1.084 |
Delaware 9 $1,046 |
Maryland 10 $1,011 |
Wisconsin 11 $987 I
Maine 12 $983
North Carolina 13 $971 J
New Jersey 14 $943 |
Rhode Island 15 $928 )

Ohio 16 $823 |
Colorado 17 $808
Georgia 18 $807
Vermont 19 $803 |
Nebraska 20 $792 |
Utah 21 $780 I
Montana 22 $762

Towa 23 $760

Kansas |24 $747 )
Idaho 25 $728

Kentucky 26 $728

Oklahoma 27 $696

Missouri 28 $692 |
Arkansas 29 $675 I
Indiana 30 $672

Pennsylvania 31 $666 |

West Virginia 32 $645 |

South Carolina 33 $633 |
Ilinois 34 $622 |
Michigan 35 $604 Il

New Mexico 36 $563 |

Alabama 37 $556

Louisiana 38 $529 |

Arizona 39  $480 |

Mississippi 40 $402 |

NORTH DAKOTA| 41 $380 J

New Hampshire ]JJ 42 $52

Tennessee 43 $26

* Seven states levy no individual income tax: Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas,
Washington and Wyoming.

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.
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Comparison of Individual Income Tax Features By State
Information available as of August 1, 2006*

Standard Deduction® Exemptions® Marginal Tax Rates®
Starting Federal Tax Filing
State Point® Single Joint Personal Dependent Deduction® Status® Low High (No. of brackets)
Alabama State $2,000 $4,000 $1,500 $300 Yes State 2.00% " 5.00% over $3,000 " (3)
Alaska - - - - - - - No income tax
Arizona FAGI 4,050 8,100 2,100 2,300 No State 2.73%"  4.79% over $150,000 ! (5)
Arkansas State 2,000’ 4,000’ 21 KL 21K No State 1.00% 7.00% over $29,200 MN (6)
California FAGI 3,254 6,508 87KL 272Kk No SAF 1.00% " 9.30% over $41,476 *1© (6)
Colorado FTI SAF SAF SAF SAF No SAF 4.63% of FTI
Connecticut FAGI 0 0 12,6257 0 No SAF 3.00% "2 5.00% over $10,000 "2 (2)
Delaware FAGI 3,250 6,500 110" 110" No State 2.20% 5.95% over $60,000 (6)
Florida - - - - - - - No income tax
Georgia FAGI 2,300 3,000 2,700 2,700 No SAF 1.00%*  6.00% over $7,000 * (6)
Hawaii FTI 1,500 1,900 1,040 1,040 No State 1.40% " 7.60% over $40,000 M (7)
Idaho FTI SAF SAF SAF SAF No SAF 1.60% " 7.80% over $23,178 "M (8)
Illinois FAGI 0 0 2,000 2,000 No SAF 3.00% of FAGI
Indiana FAGI 0 0 1,000 2,500 No SAF 3.40% of FAGI
Towa FAGI 1,610! 3,970! 40" 40" Yes State 0.36% 8.98% over $58,500 ' (9)
Kansas FAGI 3,000 6,000 2,250 2,250 No SAF 3.50% " 6.45% over $30,000 " (3)
Kentucky FAGI 1,970 1,970 20% 20% No State 2.00% 6.00% over $75,000 (6)
Louisiana FAGI 0% 0% 4,500 1,000 Yes SAF 2.00% " 6.00% over $25,000 " (3)
Maine FAGI 5,150 8,600 2,850 2,850 No SAF 2.00%*  8.50% over $18,250 '* (4)
Maryland FAGI 2,000" 4,000" 2,400 2,400 No SAF 2.00% 4.75% over $3,000 (4)
Massachusetts FAGI 0 0 3,850% 1,000% No State 5.30% of MA taxable income Y
Michigan FAGI 0 0 3,300% 3,300% No State 3.90% of FAGI
Minnesota FTI SAF SAF SAF SAF No SAF 5.35%®  7.85% over $67,360 '* (3)
Mississippi State 2,300 4,600 6,000 1,500 No State 3.00% 5.00% over $10,000 (3)
Missouri FAGI 5,150 10,300 2,100 1,200 Yes SAF 1.50% 6.00% over $9,000 (10)
Montana FAGI 3,560 7,120%Y 1,900% 1,900% Yes State 1.00% 11.00% over $77,800 ™ (10)
Nebraska FAGI 5,150 10,300V 103 %X 103 %X No SAF 2.56%%  6.84% over $27,000 ® (4)
Nevada - - - - - - - No income tax
New Hampshire State 0 0 2,400 0 No State 5.00% of NH taxable income ¥
New Jersey State 0 0 1,000 1,500 No SAF 1.40% 8.97% over $500,000 (6)
New Mexico FAGI 5,150 10,300 3,300 3,300 No SAF 1.70% % 5.70% over $16,000 *M (4)
New York FAGI 7,500 15,000 0 1,000 No SAF 4.00% "  6.85% over $20,000 H (5)
North Carolina  FTI 3,0007 6,0007 2,500% 2,500% No SAF 6.00% " 8.25% over $120,000 ® (4)
North Dakota FTI SAF SAF SAF SAF No SAF 2.10% 5.54% over $336,550 M (5)
Ohio FAGI 0 0 1,350%A4 1,350% No SAF 0.681%  6.87% over $200,000 (9)
Oklahoma FAGI 2,000 3,000 1,000 1,000 Yes SAF 0.50% " 6.25% over $10,500 *M (8)
Oregon FAGI 1,770 3,545 154+ 154" Yes State 5.00% " 9.00% over $6,850 ' (3)
Pennsylvania State 0 0 0 0 No State 3.07% of PA taxable income
Rhode Island FTI SAF SAF SAF SAF No SAF 3.75% 9.90% over $336,550 ' (5)
South Carolina ~ FTI SAF SAF SAF SAF No SAF 2.50% 7.00% over $12,850 1EBM (6)
South Dakota - - - - - - - No income tax
Tennessee State 0 0 0 0 No State 6.00% of TN taxable income ““
Texas - - - - - - - No income tax
-20 - November 2006
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Standard Deduction® Exemptions® Marginal Tax RatesP”

Starting Federal Tax Filing
State Point* Single Joint Personal Dependent Deductionf Status® Low High (No. of brackets)
Utah FTI SAF SAF 2,475P0 2,475 Yes SAF 2.30%"  7.00% over $4,313 1 (6)
Vermont FTI SAF SAF SAF SAF No SAF 3.60% 9.5% over $336,550 -M (5)
Virginia FAGI 3,000 6,000 900 900 No State 2.00% 5.75% over $17,000 (4)
Washington - - - - - - - No income tax
West Virginia FAGI 0 0 2,000 2,000 No State 3.00% 6.5% over $60,000 (5)
Wisconsin FAGI 8,170 14,710"FF 700 700 No State 4.60% "% 6.75% over $137,410 MR (4)
Wyoming - - - - - - - No income tax
District of
Columbia FAGI 2,500 2,500 1,500 1,500 No State 4.50% 8.70% over $40,000 (3)

Information in this table generally applies to the 2006 tax year. However, some information may be tax year 2005 information due to unavailability of updated information
at the time this table was printed. Also, the information in this table is only intended to provide a glimpse at some of the major features of the states' individual income
tax systems. For complete details, exceptions to the general rules, and the most up-to-date information, contact the appropriate state tax agency or check their web site.
To access state tax agency web sites, go to www.taxadmin.org/fla/link/.

SAF ("same as federal") indicates the state's starting point automatically includes the federal standard deduction, as indexed for inflation.

SAF ("same as federal") indicates the state's starting point automatically includes the federal exemption amount, as indexed for inflation.

Only the low and high marginal tax rates are shown. The total number of different tax rate brackets is shown in parentheses following the high marginal rate. Unless
indicated otherwise, the tax rates and income brackets are the same for single persons (except head of household) and married persons filing a joint return.

The starting point indicates where the state begins the tax calculation. This amount may be adjusted up or down depending on each state's tax policy. The abbreviations
mean the following: FAGI=federal adjusted gross income; FTI=federal taxable income; State=defined by state law.

Indicates whether the federal income tax is allowed to be deducted in calculating the state's taxable income.

SAF ("same as federal") indicates the federal filing status (that is, single, married filing jointly, head of household, or married filing separately) must be used for state
purposes. "State" indicates that, in the case of married persons, either a joint or separate returns may be filed for state purposes regardless of the filing status used for
federal tax purposes, which may be an important choice depending on the applicable tax rates.

" The amount of income in each bracket is doubled for married persons filing a joint return.

! Tax brackets are indexed for inflation.

! Standard deduction amount is indexed for inflation.

K Exemption amount is indexed for inflation.

L 1In lieu of a deduction from income, a tax credit is allowed, which reduces the tax dollar-for-dollar.

M Indicates that the state provides a break for capital gains in the form of an exclusion, lower tax rate, or tax credit that is generally available to all taxpayers.

N A special low-income tax rate schedule applies for single filers with gross income over $7,700 but less than $11,400, and for married persons filing jointly with gross
income over $15,500 but less than $16,200.

O On taxable income over $1 million, a 1% surcharge is added.

P This is a single exemption amount that applies to the return. It is reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000 of state adjusted gross income over $25,250. In the case of married
persons filing jointly, the exemption amount that applies is $24,000, which must be reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000 of state adjusted gross income over $48.000.

@ The calculated tax is reduced by a general tax credit ranging from 1%-75% of the tax for single filers with adjusted gross income below $55,000 and for married persons
filing jointly with adjusted gross income below $100,500.

R Amount of income in each bracket differs for married persons filing jointly. Following is the high tax rate bracket in the case of married persons filing jointly:
GA-6% over $10,000; ME-8.5% over $36,550; MN-7.85% over $119,100; NE-6.84% over $46,750; NM-5.3% over $24,000; NC-8.25% over $200,000; OK-6.25%
over $15,000; and WI-6.75% over $183,210.

S The standard deduction and exemption amounts are combined (the total of which is shown in the column for exemptions).

T The standard deduction is 15% of income with a minimum of $1,500 and a maximum of $2,000 for single filers; $3,000 and $4,000, respectively, for married persons
filing jointly.

U A 12% tax rate applies to short-term capital gains, long-and short-term capital gains on collectibles, and pre-1996 installment sales classified as capital gain income for
state purposes.

V' Single filer: Greater of $1,580 or 20% of adjusted gross income, up to a maximum of $3,560. Married persons filing jointly: Greater of $3,160 or 20% of adjusted
gross income, up to a maximum of $7,120.

V' Begins to phase out when adjusted gross income reaches the same adjusted gross income amount for phaseout of federal itemized deductions.

X The exemption credit begins to phase out at adjusted gross income over $73,000 for single filers and $122,000 for married persons filing jointly.

Y New Hampshire has a limited income tax that only applies to interest and dividend income.

% The starting point is federal taxable income; however, the state does not recognize increases in the federal standard deduction or the federal exemption amount due to
indexing. The difference between the federal amounts and the amounts allowed by the state (which are shown in the table) must be added back to federal taxable income
in calculating the state's taxable income. In addition, the exemption amount begins to phase out for adjusted gross income over $60,000 for single filers and $100,000
for married persons filing jointly.

AATn addition to the exemption amount, a tax credit of $20 per exemption is allowed.

B In the case of business income derived from a partnership or other passthrough entity, the taxpayer may elect to use a 6.5% tax rate in lieu of the high tax rate of 7%.

¢ Tennessee has a limited income tax that only applies to interest and dividend income. The first $1,250 of income is exempted from tax.

PD The starting point is federal taxable income; however, the state only recognizes 75% of the federal exemption amount (which is the amount shown in the table). Twenty-
five percent of the federal exemption amount must be added back to federal taxable income in calculating the state's taxable income.

FE The standard deduction phases out for single filers with state income between $0-80,000, and for married persons filing jointly with state income between
$0-$90,895.
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CORPORATION INCOME TAX

CURRENT LAW
Filing Requirements

Every corporation engaged in business in North Dakota

or having sources of income in North Dakota must file a
North Dakota corporation income tax return. Most returns
are due on the 15th day of the fourth month following

the close of the tax year. Returns filed by cooperatives

are due on the 15th day of the ninth month following the
close of the tax year. Returns of tax-exempt organizations
reporting unrelated business taxable income are due on the
15th day of the fifth month after the close of the tax year.
Payment is made with the return.

A corporation is required to pay estimated tax on a
quarterly basis if:

« the estimated tax due exceeds $5,000, and

* the previous year’s total tax liability exceeded $5,000.

Starting Point for Calculating Tax

The starting point for calculation of corporation income
tax is federal taxable income. North Dakota income tax
law is perpetually federalized for this starting point.

Apportionable Income

A corporation’s apportionable income is determined by
adjusting the corporation’s federal taxable income.

Additions to federal taxable income include:

* All income, franchise or privilege taxes measured by
income which were deducted on the federal return.

* North Dakota depreciation adjustments.

 Interest on state and local obligations (excluding North
Dakota).

* Special deductions and net operating loss deductions
taken on the federal return.

* Federal safe harbor lease adjustments.

* The amount of the U.S. production activities income
deducted in calculating federal taxable income.

* The amount of extraterritorial income excluded from
federal taxable income (for tax years 2005 and 2006
only).

Subtractions from federal taxable income include:

+ State income tax refunds.

* Interest from U.S. obligations.

* North Dakota depreciation adjustments.

* Nonbusiness income (net of related expenses) from
sources outside North Dakota.

» Federal safe harbor lease adjustments.

North Dakota Taxable Income

North Dakota taxable income is that portion of a
corporation’s apportionable income which is derived from,
or attributable to, sources within North Dakota.

A corporation whose business activity is conducted solely
within North Dakota is a nonapportioning corporation.
North Dakota taxable income is the entire apportionable
income reduced by any net operating loss carryforward
attributable to North Dakota sources.

Parent and subsidiary corporations, which operate totally
within North Dakota and file a federal consolidated tax
return, must file a state consolidated corporation income
tax return using the combined report method.

A corporation whose activity is conducted both within

and without North Dakota is an apportioning corporation.
North Dakota taxable income is computed by multiplying
the apportionable income by an apportionment factor. This
amount is reduced by any net operating loss carryforward
attributable to North Dakota sources, by any applicable
income exemptions and by any recapture of previously
disallowed federal alternative minimum tax. The
apportionment formula includes property, payroll and sales
factors, and is calculated as follows:

(ND Property + ND Payroll

+ ND Sales ) =3
Total Property  Total Payroll

Total Sales

Unitary Report and Water’s Edge Election. A
unitary combined report is required when two or more

corporations are conducting a unitary business. A unitary
business is one in which the activities of two or more
affiliated corporations depend upon, contribute to, or are
integrated with each other. The combined report includes
the total apportionable income of all members of the
unitary group. To be included in a combined report, an
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affiliated corporation must have more than 50% of its
voting stock owned directly or indirectly by a common
parent, which is also a member of the group.

North Dakota applies the unitary concept on a worldwide
basis. In other words, total apportionable income includes
income of all affiliated companies of the unitary group,
whether those companies are incorporated within or
outside the United States. A corporation may elect to
apportion its income using the water’s edge approach.
Under such an election, the corporation must comply with
the following:

1. The election must be made on the return as originally
filed.

2. Federal taxes may not be deducted.

3. The water’s edge election is binding for five
consecutive years.

4. A domestic disclosure spreadsheet must be filed in the
election year and every third year thereafter provided
that property, payroll or sales in foreign countries
exceed $10 million and total assets exceed $250
million.

5. The water’s edge report must include the income and
apportionment factors of the water’s edge group, 30%
of foreign dividends, and 30% of net book income
from 80/20 corporations. An 80/20 corporation refers
to an affiliated corporation incorporated in the U.S.,
but having less than 20% of its property and payroll
assigned to U.S. locations.

Rate Table

Effective for tax years beginning after December 31, 2003,
North Dakota corporation income tax is determined by
applying the following rates to North Dakota income:

TAXABLE INCOME:

Up t0 $3,000 ..o 2.6%
§ 3,000 to $ 8,000.................. 4.1%
$ 8,000 to $ 20,000..................... 5.6%
§ 20,000 to $ 30,000..................... 6.4%
Over $30,000 ......ccooreirneiiriceeen, 7.0%

Corporations electing the water's edge filing method are
subject to an additional 3.5% surtax on North Dakota
taxable income.

Effective for taxable years beginning after December 31,
2000, the rate applied to North Dakota income over
$30,000 will decrease to 6.5%.

Tax Credits

North Dakota allows corporation income tax credits for:

» A portion of North Dakota wages and salaries, if the
corporation is a new industry. A corporation which
receives a new or expanding business income tax
exemption does not qualify for this credit (see New
Business Exemptions below).

* Investment in a North Dakota venture capital

corporation.

Investment in the Small Business Investment Company,

a limited partnership established by the State of North

Dakota.

» Investment in a certified nonprofit development
corporation.

* Investment in a qualified North Dakota seed capital
business.

* Investment in a qualified North Dakota agricultural
commodity processing facility.

* Research and experimental expenditures incurred within
North Dakota.

+ Contributions to nonprofit private high schools and
nonprofit private colleges in the state.

* Installation of geothermal, solar or wind energy devices.

» A portion of North Dakota wages paid to a
developmentally disabled or chronically mentally ill
employee.

* Qualified investment in a North Dakota renaissance
fund organization.

* Investment in historic property preservation or
renovation in a renaissance zone.

 Direct costs incurred to retrofit an existing facility or

adapt a new facility to produce or blend biodiesel fuel.

Direct costs incurred by fuel sellers to adapt or add

equipment to their facilities to enable the sales of at

least 2% biodiesel fuel blends.

» Afive cent per gallon credit, for licensed fuel suppliers
who blend fuel containing at least 5% biodiesel fuel.

New Business Exemptions

Qualifications. A new or expansion project in a primary
sector or tourism business may qualify for an income tax
exemption for up to five years. “Primary sector” refers to
a business that adds value to a product, process or service
that produces wealth in North Dakota. "Tourism" refers to
a tourism-related business that is a destination attraction.
The exemption is limited to income earned from the
qualifying project. The project operator is required to file
a state income tax return even though an exemption is
granted.
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Limitations. A business is not eligible for an exemption

if:

* The business received a property tax exemption under
tax increment financing;

e There is an outstanding recorded lien for delinquent
property, income, sales or use taxes against the project
operator or principle officers; or

* The exemption fosters unfair competition or endangers
existing business.

Application Procedures. The business must apply to the
State Board of Equalization, c/o the Office of State Tax
Commissioner.

* The application must be filed during the first year of
project operations.

* The application is reviewed by the Department of
Commerce, Division of Economic Development and
Finance.

* The business must provide notice to competitors as
prescribed by the State Board.

* The State Board considers the application and any
testimony at a public meeting and then grants or denies
the exemption and certifies the results to the State Tax
Commissioner.

Business Incentive Agreement. Corporations that receive
an income tax exemption must enter into a Business

Incentive Agreement with the State Board of Equalization.
Renaissance Zone Exemptions

North Dakota allows these exemptions under the

Renaissance Zone Act:

* A five-year business income exemption for purchasing,
leasing, or making improvement to real property used in
an existing business.

* Afive-year investment income exemption for
purchasing residential or commercial real property
solely for investment purposes.

Distribution of Revenue

All revenue from the corporation income tax is deposited
in the State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1919 Session. A tax on corporation income was
first enacted. Among the deductions allowed was a

deduction for taxes paid to federal, state, local or foreign
governments.

1923 Session. The state’s corporation income tax was
revised and reenacted with a 3% flat rate.

1937 Session. The corporation income tax was changed

to a graduated rate structure. For tax years ending
December 31, 1936 and after, corporation income tax rates
were:

TAXABLE INCOME:

Up t0 $3,000 ..o 3.0%
$ 3,000 to $ 8,000........cccccn.e. 4.0%
$ 8,000 to $ 15,000.......cccccocun..e. 5.0%
Over $15,000 ....c.ccoveivineeincccnne 6.0%

1978 Initiated Measure. The initiated measure added a
tax bracket for taxable income over $25,000. For tax years
after December 31, 1977, corporation income tax rates
were:

TAXABLE INCOME

Up t0 $3,000 ....ooovieeieeieieieieiceee 3.0%
$ 3,000 to $ 8,000..................... 4.0%
$ 8,000 to $ 15,000..................... 5.0%
$ 15,000 to $ 25,000..................... 6.0%
Over $25,000 .......ccoeveeeiecieeeeeeenne 8.5%

1979 Session. A tax credit for contributions to nonprofit
private high schools was created. The 1% business
privilege tax on business income paid by individuals,
estates, trusts, partnerships and corporations was repealed.

1981 Session. A tax credit for the installation of a
geothermal energy device was created. A deduction was
created for interest on bonds issued by a regional railway
authority in North Dakota. For tax years beginning after
December 31, 1980, corporation income tax rates were
reduced to:

TAXABLE INCOME:

Up t0 $3,000 ..o 2.0%
$ 3,000 to $ 8,000..........cc....... 3.0%
$ 8,000 to $ 20,000..................... 4.0%
$ 20,000 to $ 30,000..................... 5.0%
$ 30,000 to $ 50,000..................... 6.0%
Over $50,000 ......ccoveivineerinerccnnen. 7.0%

1983 Session. Declaration of estimated tax requirements
was adopted for corporations with estimated taxes of more
than $5,000. Corporation income tax rates for tax years
beginning after December 31, 1982, were increased to the
following:
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TAXABLE INCOME:

Up t0 $3,000 ..o, 3.0%
§ 3,000 to $ 8,000.........cc...... 4.5%
$ 8,000 to $ 20,000.................. 6.0%
§ 20,000 to $ 30,000..................... 7.5%
$ 30,000 to $ 50,000..................... 9.0%
Over $50,000 ......ccoeveineininerennen. 10.5%

1985 Session. A tax credit was provided for investments
made in a North Dakota venture capital corporation.

1987 Session. Corporations were allowed to choose the
water’s edge method of apportioning income for tax
years beginning after December 31, 1988. An alternative
minimum tax was enacted. A deduction was added for
dividends from the Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc., a state
established venture capital corporation. Credits were
created for research expenditures, for investments in

the Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc., and for North Dakota
wages paid to developmentally disabled or chronically
mentally ill employees. Income tax returns included

a provision for optional contributions to the nongame
wildlife fund. Limitations were removed on the type of
business qualifying for the new business exemption. The
exemption had been limited to assembling, fabricating,
manufacturing, mixing, processing, storing, warehousing,
or distributing any agricultural, mineral or manufactured
product. In effect, qualifications were expanded to include
service and retail industries.

1989 Session. A credit was added for investment in

a nonprofit development corporation. The alternative
minimum tax (AMT) rate was changed from 5% to 6%. A
credit was created for the amount the alternative minimum
tax exceeds regular liability in past years. The water’s
edge election was made binding for five years instead

of ten. The spreadsheet requirement was reduced from
yearly to the first year and every third year thereafter.

The centennial tree trust fund was added as an optional
contribution.

1991 Session. The AMT was repealed and the remain-
ing AMT credit was allowed to be carried over for up to
four years. A deduction was added for certain federal
AMT disallowed on previous state returns. Requirements
that corporation income tax returns provide for optional
contributions to funds for wildlife and centennial trees
were repealed. The legislature approved the Taxpayer
Bill of Rights. The income tax exemption for new or
expanding businesses was decoupled from the property tax
exemption and was limited to value-added primary sector
and tourism businesses.

1993 Session. Limited liability companies (LLC), a new
form of business entity, were legalized. The requirement
to file informational returns was removed for tax exempt
organizations and insurance companies subject to the
insurance premium tax (see page 96). Unrelated taxable
income must be reported. A credit was created for
alternative fuel equipment installed on motor vehicles.

1994 Special Session. Project size limitations were
removed as qualifications for the new or expanding
business tax exemption, allowing large projects to qualify.

1995 Session. The Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc. was
changed to the North Dakota Small Business Investment
Company, a limited partnership. The tax credit provisions
did not change. Corporations with parent and subsidiaries
operating totally in the state were required to file a state
consolidated corporation income tax return using the
combined report method for tax years beginning after
December 31, 1994.

1997 Session. The law was changed for a single
member LLC. A single member LLC will be treated as
a corporation for North Dakota purposes if treated as a
corporation for federal income tax purposes; otherwise
it must be disregarded as an entity separate from its
owner. If any LLC meets the definition of a financial
institution, as defined in N.D.C.C. ch. 57-35, it must file
as a financial institution. A corporation may elect to apply
an overpayment of estimated tax to a specific estimated
installment other than the first quarter's installment.

A number of changes were made affecting the interest
calculation provisions.

1999 Session. The interest rate on refunds was increased
from 10% per year to 1% per month (or a fraction of a
month), equalizing the rate of interest on a refund to the
rate of interest charged on late payments or additional tax
due. Cities were provided authority to create "renaissance
zones." Various income exemptions and tax credits are
allowed for investments in an approved renaissance zone.

2001 Session. For tax-exempt organizations, the due date
to file returns reporting unrelated business taxable income
was changed to the 15th day of the fifth month following
the tax year end. A change was made to extend the time
period to assess tax. When a 25% understatement of
taxable income or income tax exists, an extension may be
entered into before the six-year assessment statute expires.

The tax credit for geothermal, solar or wind energy devices
was changed. Property leased in North Dakota became
eligible. For devices installed after December 31, 2001,
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the credit is 3% of acquisition and installation cost, in
each of the first 5 tax years. Passthrough entities' owners
claim the entities' credit in proportion to the ownership
interest. The credit is available for devices installed before
January 1, 2011

For tax assessments made after December 31, 2000, a
regulated investment company is allowed a deduction
for dividends paid to the shareholders or to a fund of a
regulated investment company.

For renaissance zones, a change was made to allow an
exemption for income from property owned or leased for
either a business or investment purpose. The exemption
was also extended to qualifying rehabilitations of
residential or commercial property. The tax credit for
investing in the preservation or renovation of historic
property was changed to 25% of the investment, not to
exceed $250,000. The credit must be claimed in the year
the work is completed. A December 31, 2004 sunset date
for the credit was removed.

2003 Session. The deduction for federal income taxes
paid was eliminated for tax years beginning after
December 31, 2003. In conjunction, corporation income
tax rates became:

TAXABLE INCOME:

Up t0 $3,000 ..o 2.6%
§ 3,000 to $ 8,000............... 4.1%
$ 8,000 to $ 20,000..................... 5.6%
$ 20,000 to $ 30,000..................... 6.4%
Over $30,000 ......ccoveenneinnreinnen. 7.0%

Corporations electing the water's edge filing method are
subject to an additional 3.5% surtax on North Dakota
taxable income.

North Dakota net operating losses in tax years beginning
after December 31, 2002 cannot be carried back to

a previous tax year. Such losses can only be carried
forward.

Based on a North Dakota Supreme Court ruling, the
North Dakota domestic dividend exclusion was repealed,
effective for tax years beginning after December 31, 1999.

A credit was created for costs incurred to retrofit an
existing facility or adapt a new facility to produce or blend
biodiesel fuel.

2005 Session. Two new addition adjustments to federal
taxable income were authorized effective for taxable years
beginning after December 31, 2004:

* U.S. production activities income deducted to
compute federal taxable income.

 Extraterritorial income excluded from the
computation of federal taxable income (for tax years
2005 and 2006 only).

For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2006,
the top tax rate (for taxable income over $30,000) will be
reduced to 6.5%.

The credit for installation of geothermal, solar or wind
energy devices was modified. If a corporation eligible for
the credit is a member of a group of corporations filing

a consolidated North Dakota return using the combined
reporting method, the credit may be offset against the
consolidated tax liability (as opposed to applying it against
just the tax liability of the corporation eligible for the
credit). In addition, any taxpayer eligible for the credit
may carry an unused credit forward for five tax years.

Eligibility for the seed capital and agricultural commodity
processing facility investment tax credits was expanded
to include regular corporations, trusts and passthrough
entities (such as S corporations and partnerships). In the
case of a passthrough entity, the tax credit must be passed
through to the entity's owners based on their respective
ownership interests. The tax credit must be claimed first
in the year in which the business received the payment.
Monies being held in escrow do not constitute an eligible
investment.

The amount of investment eligible for the seed capital
investment tax credit was limited to a lifetime limit of
$500,000 for investments made after December 31,
2004, in qualified businesses certified after December 31,
2004. For investments made after December 31, 2004,
the amount of tax credits allowed for all investments in
all qualified businesses was limited to $2.5 million per
calendar year.

The amount of credit for an investment in an agricultural
commodity processing facility was limited to $50,000 in a
tax year. The total credit a taxpayer is eligible for in all tax
years was limited to $250,000. The number of tax years
over which a taxpayer may carry forward an unused tax
credit was reduced from fifteen to five years.

The credits for investment in a North Dakota venture
capital corporation and in the North Dakota Small
Business Investment Company were repealed, effective
August 1, 2007.
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A new provision relating to refund claims for taxes STATE COMPARISONS

(other than property taxes) affects tax returns filed or tax
payments made after December 31, 2004. After this date,
claims for credit or refund based on a claim that the tax or
the law is unconstitutional must be made within 180 days
of the due date of the return or payment of the tax,
whichever occurs first.

Please note that a comparison of corporation income tax
obligations would need to consider, in addition to tax rates,
complex variables such as different state definitions of
taxable income and circumstances of each corporation.

Two new credits related to biodiesel fuel were authorized:

* Fuel sellers who adapt or add equipment to their Co rpo ration Income Tax
facilities to enable the sales of at least 2% biodiesel

fuel blends may claim a credit equal to 10% per year I Collections

for 5 years of the seller's direct costs incurred for

the adaption or installation of the equipment. The Fiscal Year Net Collections

credit is first allowed in the year the facility begins

selling the fuel. Any credit in excess of the current 1996 49,047,417

tax year's liability may be carried forward for five 1997 50,300,520
1998 65,543,025

taxable years. The cumulative credit for all tax years
is limited to $50,000. 1999 57,877,194

» Licensed fuel suppliers who blend fuel containing 2000 47,528,001
at least 5% biodiesel fuel are entitled to a credit of 2001 51,606,853

5 cents per gallon of blended fuel. Any credit in 2002 41,374,297
excess of the current year's liability may be carried 2003 46,027,577
forward for five taxable years. 2004 40,257,083
2005 62,669,889

2006 111,789,587

2007 est. 68,530,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax
Commissioner
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Comparison of State Corporation Income Tax Rates
For Tax Year 2006 - As of January 1, 2006

A comparison of tax obligations would also need to consider complex variables such as different state definitions of taxable income and circumstances
of each corporation.
Income Brackets Tax Rate Is Federal
Tax Rate - Corporations Lowest Highest Financial Inst. Income Tax
State Lowest Highest (Up To) (Over) m Deductible?
Alabama 6.5% Flat Rate 6.5% Yes
Alaska 1.0% 9.4% $10,000 $90,000 1.0% 9.4% No
* Arizona 6.968% Flat Rate 6.968% No
Arkansas 1.0% 6.5% $3,000 $100,000 1.0% 6.5% No
* California 8.84% Flat Rate 10.84% No
Colorado 4.63% Flat Rate 4.63% No
* Connecticut 7.5% Flat Rate 7.5% No
* Delaware 8.7% Flat Rate 1.7% 8.7% No
* Florida 5.5% Flat Rate 5.5% No
Georgia 6.0% Flat Rate 6.0% No
* Hawaii 4.4% 6.4% $25,000 $100,000 7.92% No
* Idaho 7.6% Flat Rate 7.6% No
* Illinois 7.3% Flat Rate 7.3% No
Indiana 8.5% Flat Rate 8.5% No
* Jowa 6.0% 12.0% $25,000 $250,000 5.0% Yes-50%
* Kansas 4.0% Flat Rate 2.25% No
* Kentucky 4.0% 7.0% $50,000 $100,000 No
* Louisiana 4.0% 8.0% $25,000 $200,000 Yes
* Maine 3.5% 8.93% $25,000 $250,000 1.0% No
Maryland 7.0% Flat Rate 7.0% No
* Massachusetts 9.5% Flat Rate 10.5% No
* Michigan 1.9% Flat Rate No
* Minnesota 9.8% Flat Rate 9.8% No
Mississippi 3.0% 5.0% $5,000 $10,000 3.0% 5.0% No
* Missouri 6.25% Flat Rate 7.0% Yes-50%
* Montana 6.75% Flat Rate 6.75% No
* Nebraska 5.58% 7.81% $50,000 No
Nevada no tax
* New Hampshire 8.5% Flat Rate 8.5% No
* New Jersey 9.0% Flat Rate 9.0% No
New Mexico 4.8% 7.6% $500,000  $1,000,000 4.8% 7.6% No
* New York 7.5% Flat Rate 7.5% No
* North Carolina 6.9% Flat Rate 6.9% No
* NORTH DAKOTA 2.6% 7.0% $3,000 $30,000 7.0% No
* Ohio 5.1% 8.5% $50,000 No
Oklahoma 6.0% Flat Rate 6.0% No
* Oregon 6.6% Flat Rate 6.6% No
* Pennsylvania 9.99% Flat Rate No
* Rhode Island 9.0% Flat Rate 9.0% No
* South Carolina 5.0% Flat Rate 4.5% No
* South Dakota no tax 0.25% - 6.0% No
Tennessee 6.5% Flat Rate 6.5% No
* Texas 4.5% Flat Rate No
* Utah 5.0% Flat Rate 5.0% No
* Vermont 7.0% 8.9% $10,000 $250,000 No
* Virginia 6.0% Flat Rate 6.0% No
Washington no tax
West Virginia 9.0% Flat Rate 9.0% No
Wisconsin 7.9% Flat Rate 7.9% No
Wyoming no tax
* District of Columbia 9.975% Flat Rate 9.975% No

* See footnotes on following page.

Nevada,Washington and Wyoming do not have state corporate income taxes.
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Comparison of State Corporation Income Tax Rates
Footnotes

Arizona Minimum tax, $50.
California Minimum Tax is $800. Tax rate on S-corporations is 1.5% (3.5% for banks).

Connecticut Or 3.1 mills per dollar of capital stock and surplus (maximum tax $1 million) or $250. A 25% surcharge applies to corporations
with liability greater than $250.

Delaware For banks, the marginal rate decreases over 4 brackets ranging from $20 to $650 million in taxable income. Building and loan
associations are taxed at a flat 8.7%.

District of Columbia Minimum tax, $100. Includes surtax.

Florida Or alternative minimum tax, 3.3%. An exemption of $5,000 is allowed.

Hawaii Capital gains are taxed at 4%. There also is an alternative tax of 0.5% of gross annual sales.

Idaho Minimum tax, $20. Additional $10 tax on each return.

Hlinois Includes a 2.5% personal property replacement tax.

Iowa Allows deduction of 50% of federal income taxes.

Kansas Plus 3.35% surtax is imposed on taxable income in excess of $50,000. (2.125% for banks on taxable income in excess of $25,000).

Kentucky Minimum tax of $175. Or, the alternative minimum tax equal to 0.095% of gross sales in the state or 0.75% of state gross profits.
Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to financial institutions or excise taxes based on income.

Louisiana Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to financial institutions or excise taxes based on income.

Maine Or the Maine alternative minimum tax.

Massachusetts Rate includes a 14% surtax, as does the following: an additional tax of $7.00 per $1,000 on taxable tangible property (or net
worth allocable to state, for intangible property corporations); minimum tax of $456.00.

Michigan Michigan imposes a single business tax (sometimes described as a business activity tax or value added tax) of 1.9% of the sum of
federal taxable income of the business, compensation paid to employees, dividends, interest, royalty paid and other items.

Minnesota An additional tax equal to 5.8% on any alternative minimum taxable income over the base tax.

Missouri 50% of federal income tax is deductible.

Montana Corporations electing to use water's edge combination are taxed at 7%. Minimum tax, $50.

Nebraska Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to financial institutions or excise taxes based on income.

New Hampshire Plus a .50% tax on the enterprise base (total compensation, interest and dividends paid). Business profits tax imposed on
both corporations and unincorporated associations.

New Jersey The rate reported in the table is the corporation business franchise tax rate. The minimum tax is $500. An Alternative Minimum
Assessment based on Gross Receipts applies if greater than corporate franchise tax. Corporations not subject to the franchise tax are
subject to a 7.25% income tax. Banking and financial corporations are subject to the franchise tax. Corporations with net income under
$100,000 are taxed at 6.5%. The tax on S-corporations is being phased out through 2007. The tax rate on a New Jersey S-corporation
that has entire net income not subject to federal corporate income tax in excess of $100,000 will remain at 1.33% for privilege periods
ending on or before June 30, 2006. The rate will be 0.67% for privilege periods ending on or after July 1, 2006, but on or before June
30, 2007; and there will be no tax imposed for privilege periods ending on or after July 1, 2007. The tax on S-corporations with entire
net income not subject to federal corporate income tax of $100,000 or less is eliminated for privilege periods ending on or after July 1,
2007.

New York Or 1.78 mills per dollar of capital (up to $350,000); or a 2.5% alternative minimum tax; or a minimum tax of $10,000 to $100
depending on payroll size; if any of these is greater than the tax computed on net income. Small corporations with income under
$290,000 are subject to lower rates of tax on net income. An additional tax of 0.9 mills per dollar of subsidiary capital is imposed
on corporations. For banks the alternative bases of tax are 3% of alternative net income; or up to 1/50th mill of taxable assets; or a
minimum tax of $250.

North Carolina Financial institutions are also subject to a tax equal to $30 per one million in assets.

North Dakoeta Minimum tax for financial institutions is $50 in North Dakota; they may deduct federal income tax. Corporations electing the
water's edge method pay an additional 3.5% surtax on North Dakota taxable income. For tax years beginning after December 31, 2006,
the top rate drops to 6.5%.

Ohio Rates shown are for the Franchise tax, which is being phased out through 2010 and replaced with the CAT. Current rates apply to 80%
of the liability, or 80% of 4 mills time the value of the taxpayer's issued and outstanding share of stock with a maximum payment of
$150,000; or $50 to $1,000 minimum tax, depending on worldwide gross receipts. The Commercial Activity Tax (CAT) equals $150
for gross receipts between $150,000 and $1 million, plus 0.26% of gross receipts over $1 million. The CAT applies to 23% of receipts
through March 31, and 40% for the remainder of the year. Banks will pay the Franchise tax. An additional litter tax is imposed equal to
0.11% on the first $50,000 of taxable income, 0.22% on income over $50,000; or 0.14 mills on net worth.

Oregon Minimum tax, $10.

Pennsylvania Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to financial institutions or excise taxes based on income.

Rhode Island Minimum tax is $250. For banks, the alternative tax is $2.50 per $10,000 of capital stock ($100 minimum).

South Carolina Savings and Loans are taxed at a 6% rate.

South Dakota Minimum tax for banks, $200 per location.

Texas Imposes a franchise tax of 4.5% of earned surplus or 2.5% of net worth.

Utah Minimum tax, $100.

Vermont Tax rate scheduled to decrease for tax years beginning after 2006. The top rate will decrease to 8.5% for income over $25,000, with
only three income brackets. Minimum tax of $250. Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to financial institutions or excess
taxes based on income.

Virginia State and national banks subject to the state's franchise tax on net capital is exempt from the income tax.

SOURCE: Federation of Tax Administrators.
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SALES AND USE TAXES

CURRENT LAW

Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Tax

Imposition and Rates

Sales Tax. North Dakota imposes a sales tax on the gross
receipts of retailers. The tax is paid by the purchaser and
collected by the retailer.

The sales tax is levied as follows:

* 2% rate on the gross receipts from retail sales of natural
gas.

* 3% rate on the gross receipts from retail sales of new
mobile homes.

* 3% sales tax surcharge on each motor vehicle rental
contract for a period of fewer than thirty (30) days,
provided the gross vehicle weight of the motor vehicle
is ten thousand pounds or less.

* 5% general rate on the gross receipts from retail sales
of tangible personal property, communication services,
magazines and other periodicals sold over the counter,
cigarettes and tobacco products, and admission tickets
for recreation activities; from the rental of hotel, motel,
and bed and breakfast accommodations for periods
of less than 30 consecutive days; from the leasing of
tangible personal property; and from the rental of motor
vehicles for periods less than 30 days.

Use Tax. The purchase price of tangible personal
property purchased outside of the state for storage, use

or consumption within the state is subject to a use tax.

In addition, tangible personal property not originally
purchased for use in North Dakota is subject to a use tax
based upon its fair market value at the time it was brought
into the state. Credits are allowed for sales and use taxes
paid to other states.

The use tax is collected by any retailer who maintains

in this state, directly or indirectly, an office, distribution
house, sales house, warehouse, or other place of business
or has a sales representative operating in this state either
permanently or temporarily.

Use tax is paid by contractors installing materials in real
property, including real property owned by government

and tax-exempt entities. North Dakota use tax is also
paid by contractors buying materials in North Dakota and
installing them in other states, except Montana.

Use tax rates are the same as the sales tax rates listed.

Local Sales and Use Taxes. Cities or counties that have
adopted home rule charters may levy sales and use taxes.
North Dakota home rule statutes require the North Dakota
Office of State Tax Commissioner to administer the local
taxes. The state pays the revenue collected to the local
governments on a monthly basis. Cities and counties with
a local tax during the 2003-2005 biennium are listed on
page 39.

Farm Machinery Gross Receipts Tax. North Dakota
imposes a 3% gross receipts tax on retail sales of new farm

machinery and new irrigation equipment used exclusively
for agricultural purposes. A person that receives new farm
machinery or new irrigation equipment for storage use, or
consumption in North Dakota is also subject to the gross
receipts tax. Credits are allowed for similar taxes paid

to other states. Used farm machinery and used irrigation
equipment used exclusively for agricultural purposes are
exempt from sales, use and gross receipts taxes. Farm
machinery is not subject to sales tax.

Alcoholic Beverage Gross Receipts Tax. North Dakota
imposes a 7% gross receipts tax on retail sales of alcoholic

beverages sold for consumption either on or off the
premises. A person that receives alcoholic beverages
for storage use, or consumption in North Dakota is also
subject to the gross receipts tax. Credits are allowed for
similar taxes paid to other states. Alcholic beverages are
not subject to sales tax.

Lodging Gross Receipts Tax. North Dakota imposes a
1% gross receipts tax through June 30, 2007, on the rental

of hotel and motel accommodations for periods of less
than 30 consecutive days. The gross receipts tax is in
addition to the state sales tax and does not apply to bed and
breakfast accommodations.

Exemptions

Receipts from the sale of tangible personal property for
the purpose of “resale” or “processing” by the purchaser
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are not subject to the sales, use, or gross receipts tax. In
addition, receipts from the sale of the following items are

Admission tickets to state or local fairs.
Performances of community non-profit music or

exempt from sales, use, and gross receipts tax:

Food and food ingredients for human consumption
except for prepared food for immediate consumption,
candy, and soft drinks.

Food used as samples in grocery stores.

Commercial fertilizers, fungicides, herbicides,
adjuvants, feeds, and seeds used for agricultural
purposes.

Agricultural by-products used to produce steam or
electricity.

Interstate communications (telephone calls, etc.).
Hotel or motel rooms rented by or for same individual
for 30 or more consecutive days.

Machinery and equipment that a new or expanding
plant uses primarily for manufacturing, processing or
recycling (the company must get pre-approval or pay
the tax and apply for a refund).

Materials used to construct an agricultural processing
plant (the company must get pre-approval or pay the tax
and apply for a refund).

Computer and telecommunications equipment that is
an integral part of a new or expanding primary sector
business other than a manufacturer or recycler (the
company must be certified as a primary sector business
by the Department of Commerce and get pre-approval
for the exemption or pay the tax and apply for a refund).
Production equipment in a large coal-burning

power plant and tangible personal property used in
construction of the plant.

Production equipment in a wind-powered electrical
generating facility constructed before January 1, 2011
and with a nameplate capacity of at least one hundred
kilowatts and other tangible personal property used in
construction of the facility (the plant operator must get
pre-approval or pay the tax and apply for a refund).
Used mobile homes.

Used farm machinery, used irrigation equipment, and
new and used farm machinery repair parts.
Newspapers.

Newsprint and printer’s ink sold to publishers.
Magazine subscriptions.

Electricity.

Water.

Steam used to process agricultural products.

Flight simulators or mechanical equipment used with a
flight simulator.

Money.

Lottery tickets.

Admissions to, or sales made at, an annual church
supper or bazaar held in a publicly-owned building.

dramatic arts organizations (if proceeds used for
charitable purposes).

» Film rentals if admissions to view the film are subject to
sales tax.

* Prescription drugs.

* Artificial medical devices.

* Mobility-enhancing equipment for use by physically
disabled persons.

* Oxygen and anesthesia gases for medical purposes.

 Diabetic and bladder dysfunction supplies.

* Ostomy devices and supplies.

+ Items sold to federal chartered credit unions.

» Items subject to other taxes such as coal (if not used
for heating), beneficiated coal, aircraft, motor vehicles,
gasoline, and combustible fuels.

 Items sold to private non-profit schools.

» Bibles, hymnals, textbooks, prayerbooks sold to
nonprofit religious organizations.

+ Items sold to governmental agencies, including public
schools.

 Items sold to residents of Montana if the total sales
price exceeds $50.

» Items sold to residents of Canada if purchase is over
$25 (must apply for a refund of tax paid).

 Items sold to a Commerce Authority for use in the
Authority's infrastructure.

 Items sold on an Indian reservation to an enrolled
Native American or to the tribal government.

* Goods sold to a hospital or skilled nursing, basic care
or intermediate care facility, assisted living facility, or
emergency medical service provider.

 Items sold at an auction unless the auctioneer is selling
retail inventory or consigned goods owned by an
undisclosed principal.

» Items sold to a charitable organization to be awarded
as a prize in a raffle if the winner is subject to tax upon
receipt.

 CO, used for enhanced oil recovery.

» Equipment used to sell biodiesel fuel.

* Hydrogen used to power internal combustion engines or
fuel cells.

» Equipment used to produce and store hydrogen.

» Precious metal bullion with purity not less than .999.

Administration

Every business making taxable retail sales and every
business accruing a use tax liability must obtain a North
Dakota sales and use tax permit from the North Dakota
Office of State Tax Commissioner. A consolidated form is
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available to register for a sales and use tax permit, income
tax withholding, unemployment insurance and workers
compensation.

Most businesses pay sales, use, and gross receipts taxes
on a quarterly basis. However, businesses reporting
taxable sales and purchases of $333,000 or more during
the previous calendar year must file monthly returns.
Businesses required to file and pay monthly returns are
allowed to deduct and retain a compensation allowance of
1%% of the tax due, up to a maximum of $85 per month if
the returns are filed on time.

Whether the tax is paid monthly or quarterly, the tax
payment and a return reporting all sales and purchases
are due the last day of the month following the end of the
reporting period. In odd-numbered years, monthly returns
for May are due June 22.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue collected from the sales, use, farm machinery
gross receipts, alcoholic beverage gross receipts, and
motor vehicle excise taxes is divided between the State
General Fund and the State Aid Distribution Fund. The
formula to determine the State Aid Distribution Fund
portion is designed to keep the amount constant regardless
of tax rate changes. The formula is:

40% (1% = by general sales tax rate) (net collections)

This formula to determine the State Aid Distribution Fund
currently yields 8% of the net collections. The distribution
of the State Aid Distribution Fund portion is 53.7% to
revenue sharing for counties and 46.3% for cities.

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

Imposition and Rates

The purchase price of any motor vehicle purchased or
acquired, either within or outside of North Dakota, for use
on the streets or highways of this state is subject to a motor
vehicle excise tax if the vehicle is required to be registered
in North Dakota.

The motor vehicle excise tax is 5% of the purchase price
(the sale price less any trade-in amount). If the vehicle is
acquired by means other than purchase, the tax is 5% of
the fair market value. When a motor vehicle weighing less
than ten thousand pounds is leased for at least one year, the

motor vehicle excise tax is 5% of the lease consideration.
All other leased vehicles are taxed at 5% of the purchase
price. North Dakota allows credit for any excise tax paid
on a motor vehicle in another state if that state allows a
reciprocal credit.

The motor vehicle excise tax is in addition to motor
vehicle registration fees for license plates. The registration
fees are paid annually to the Department of Transportation.

Exemptions

A motor vehicle is exempt from the motor vehicle excise

tax if the vehicle is:

» A gift between a husband and wife, parent and child or
brother and sister.

 Inherited.

* A motor carrier vehicle.

» Purchased for resale by a licensed dealer.

* Purchased by a disabled veteran.

» Purchased or leased by the State of North Dakota or a
political subdivision of the state.

* A bus purchased by a nonprofit senior citizens’ or
handicapped persons’ organization.

» Specially equipped for a disabled person.

* Owned by an individual and transferred to a partnership
or corporation.

» Transferred from a partnership to one of the partners
when the partnership dissolves.

* Acquired by a private nonprofit school for the
transportation of students.

* Purchased by a charitable organization to be awarded as
a prize in a raffle and the vehicle will be subject to tax
when requested.

» Transferred between joint tenants in whose names the
vehicle was previously titled if the vehicle is transferred
without monetary considerations.

* Owned by a person who has a change of name due to
marriage, adoption, or court order.

» Transferred without consideration to or from a person
within 30 days before the person enters into or is
discharged from the armed services of the United States
or while the person is serving in the armed forces of the
United States.

* Subject to a lien change but only if the registered owner
has not changed.

* Brought into North Dakota by a nonresident moving
into the state and establishing residence in the state,
and if the vehicle was not expressly purchased for use
within North Dakota.

* Manufactured by persons for their own use.
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e Transferred from a corporation to one of the
stockholders when a corporation is dissolved.

* Acquired by a nonprofit county or local historical
society that is exempt from federal income tax.

* Transferred from a revocable living trust to the spouse,
child, or sibling of the trustor.

Administration

The motor vehicle excise tax is collected by the
Department of Transportation.

Distribution of Revenue

Motor vehicle excise tax revenue is credited to the general
fund.

Music And Dramatico-Musical Composition
Performing Rights Tax

A 5% tax is levied on the gross receipts from all sales,
licenses and other dispositions of performing rights in
music or dramatico-musical compositions. The tax is
administered by the North Dakota Office of State Tax
Commissioner and revenue from the tax is placed in the
State General Fund.

Provider Assessment for Intermediate Care

Beginning July 1, 2003, a quarterly assessment is billed
to each licensed North Dakota intermediate care facility
for the mentally retarded (ICFMR). The assessment is
charged for each licensed bed at the facility on the first
day of each calendar quarter and is payable by the last day
of each calendar quarter. The assessment amount, which
is effective each July 1, is calculated by the Department
of Human Services and may not be greater than the
following:

[172% times aggregate annual gross revenues of all ICFMR
as of December 31] +
Number of licensed beds as of December 31

The Provider Assessment is administered by the Office of
State Tax Commissioner and is deposited in the Provider
Assessment Fund. The quarterly assessment rate as of
July 1, 2005 was $1,225 for each licensed bed.

City Lodging Restaurant and Motor Vehicle

Rental Taxes

Imposition and Rates

The governing body of any city may, by ordinance, impose
a city tax, not to exceed 2%, upon the receipts from leasing
or renting hotel and motel accommodations. Revenue
from the tax must be deposited in a city visitors promotion
fund to be used for tourism promotion. These funds may
not be used for capital construction.

A city may impose an additional 1% tax on lodging
accommodations and on receipts from restaurant sales of
prepared food or beverages. Revenue from this tax must
be deposited in the city visitors promotion capital construc-
tion fund.

A city may also impose by ordinance a tax, not to exceed
1%, on the gross receipts of retailers on the rental of motor
vehicles for fewer than thirty days if the motor vehicle is
either delivered to a renter at an airport or delivered to a
renter who was picked up at an airport. Revenue from the
tax must be deposited in a city visitors promotion fund.

Administration

The North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
administers and collects all city motor vehicle rental taxes
and most city lodging taxes and remits the revenue to the
cities on a monthly basis. An administrative fee of 3% of
collections is deposited in the State General Fund. Fargo,
Grand Forks, Minot and Valley City administer their
lodging taxes themselves.

Aircraft Excise Tax
Imposition and Rates

A 5% tax is imposed on the purchase price or market value
of aircraft registered in North Dakota. The tax applies
whether the aircraft is purchased in North Dakota or
outside the state. If the aircraft is purchased for lease or
rental, the tax may be imposed on the lease or rental cost
of the aircratft.

On aircraft designed exclusively for aerial applications of
agricultural fertilizers, pesticides and other agricultural
materials, a reduced tax rate of 3% applies to the purchase
price or rental cost of the aircratft.
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Exemptions

Exemptions to the aircraft excise tax are identical to motor
vehicle excise tax exemptions.

Administration

The tax is paid by the purchaser to the Director of
Aeronautics when the aircraft is acquired. The purchaser
is required to submit the tax with an “aircraft purchaser’s
certificate” showing a description of the aircraft, the
names and addresses of the buyers and sellers, and the full
purchase price of the aircraft.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the tax is deposited in the Aeronautics
Commission Special Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1935 Session. The first general sales tax in North Dakota
was enacted at a rate of 2%. The tax base generally
consisted of all sales to consumers of personal property;
sales or service of gas, electricity, water and communica-
tion; and sales of tickets to places of amusement.

1939 Session. A 2% general use tax was enacted.

1963 Session. The sales and use tax rate increased from
2% to 2Y4%.

1965 Referred Measure. The sales tax law was referred

and disapproved. Consequently, during the period July 1,
1965 to April 1, 1967 use tax was collected in place of the
disapproved sales tax.

1967 Session. New sales and use tax laws were enacted
imposing a 3% tax on the same sales transactions that were
in effect through the 1963 sales tax law. The legislature
enacted a separate 3% motor vehicle excise tax.

1969 Session. Sales tax, use tax, and motor vehicle excise
tax rates were increased from 3% to 4%. The increase
was used to replace revenue lost to local governments by
the repeal of the personal property tax. The sales tax base
was broadened to include tobacco products, alcoholic
beverages, and oleomargarine.

1973 Session. Food purchased for off premises
consumption was exempted from the sales and use tax.

1975 Session. Exemptions were added for sales of
artificial devices for handicapped persons, coal, sales to
nursing homes and intermediate care facilities, and the
sales of certain religious books to nonprofit religious
organizations.

1976 Initiated Measure. An initiated measure reduced
the sales and use tax rate and the motor vehicle excise tax
rate from 4% to 3%, reduced the rate on farm machinery
and irrigation equipment from 4% to 2%, and eliminated
the tax on electricity.

1977 Session. The legislature authorized home rule cities
to contract with the Tax Commissioner to collect city sales
and use taxes.

1979 Session. Exemptions to the sales and use tax law
were added for sales to hospitals and for ostomy devices
and supplies. The exemption for devices to aid the
handicapped was expanded.

1981 Session. The sales and use tax on water, used mobile
homes, and magazine subscriptions was eliminated. The
tax rate on new mobile homes was reduced from 3% to
2%. Cities were permitted to levy a 2% city lodging tax.

1983 Session. The general sales and use tax rate and the
motor vehicle excise tax rate were increased from 3% to
4% and the rate for farm machinery, irrigation equipment,
and new mobile homes was increased from 2% to 3%.
The legislature increased the rate for alcoholic beverages
from 3% to 5%. The requirements for remittance of
sales and use tax were changed from a quarterly basis

to a monthly basis for businesses with taxable sales and
purchases greater than $333,000 in the preceding calendar
year. Retailers required to file on a monthly basis were
given a deduction for administrative expenses. The tax on
aircraft sales was changed from the sales tax to a separate
aircraft excise tax.

1985 Session. Exemptions for sales of candy, pop and
chewing gum were repealed. The legislature authorized
home rule counties to contract with the Tax Commissioner
to collect county sales and use taxes.

1986 Special Session. The general sales and use tax
rate and the motor vehicle excise tax rate was increased
from 4% to 5%. The rate on farm machinery repair parts
was lowered from 4% to 3%, and the rate on alcoholic
beverages was increased from 5% to 6%. No change
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was made in the 3% rate for farm machinery, irrigation
equipment, and new mobile homes.

1987 Session. The legislature increased the general sales
and use tax rate and the motor vehicle excise tax rate from
5% to 5%2%; the rate on farm machinery, irrigation equip-
ment, farm machinery repair parts and new mobile homes
from 3% to 3'42%; and the rate on alcoholic beverages
from 6% to 6%2%.

The legislature added cable TV services to the tax

base. [However, in a 1988 referred measure, the cable
TV provision was rejected and did not take effect.]
Exemptions were created for flight simulators, annual
church suppers and bazaars, and adjuvants used with farm
chemicals. The legislature required use tax collection by
those who solicit sales by mail or other communication
systems.

Effective July 1, 1989 a portion of the sales, use, and
motor vehicle excise tax collections was allocated to the
State Aid Distribution Fund to finance revenue sharing and
personal property tax replacement. Cities were granted
authority to impose a 1% lodging and restaurant tax.

1989 Session. The general sales and use tax rate and
the motor vehicle excise tax rate was increased from
5%% to 6%. The rate on farm machinery, irrigation
equipment, farm machinery repair parts, and new mobile
homes was increased from 3%% to 4%; and the rate on
alcoholic beverages was increased from 6%2% to 7%.
The legislature created a new rate of 3% on machinery
and equipment used in manufacturing or in processing
agricultural products.

The tax base was broadened to include bingo cards, coffee,
tea, cocoa, and certain bottled water. State chartered credit
unions lost the sales tax exemption on items purchased

for their own use. The existing exemption for residents

of Montana was modified and the exemption for residents
of Canada was replaced with a refund provision. An
exemption was created for prepared food given away as
samples in a grocery store. A portion of sales, use and
motor vehicle excise tax collections was allocated to the
Capital Construction Fund. The legislature enacted a
controlled substances tax.

1989 Referral Election. The general sales and use tax
rate and the motor vehicle excise tax rate were reduced
from 6% to 5%. The rate on farm machinery, irrigation
equipment, farm machinery repair parts and new mobile

homes was reduced from 4% to 3%. The rate on alcoholic
beverages remained at 7%.

1991 Session. The legislature approved a gradual decrease
in the rate on natural gas from 5% to 4% on January 1,
1993; to 3% on January 1, 1994; and to 2% on January 1,
1995. The 3% special rate for manufacturing equipment
was changed to an exemption and an exemption was
created for production equipment in coal-burning power
plants. The legislature approved the Taxpayer Bill of
Rights. The destination of aircraft excise tax revenue was
changed from the State General Fund to the Aeronautics
Commission Special Fund. A waste collection surcharge
was imposed.

1993 Session. The Capital Construction Fund was
repealed. The exemption for manufacturing machinery
and equipment was clarified and expanded to include
recycling machinery and equipment. Performances of
community non-profit music or dramatic arts organiza-
tions held in a public facility were exempted. Items
purchased by political subdivisions of another state were
made taxable if the other state also taxes the items. A new
highway contract privilege tax was established at 5% of
the gross contract amount for contracts bid after July 31,
1993. This tax terminated December 31, 1997.

1994 Special Session. Qualifications for the
manufacturing exemption include any machinery and
equipment used primarily in the manufacturing operation
from receipt of raw materials to any process before final
transportation from the site. The exemption was expanded
to include research and development equipment. A new
exemption was created for materials used to construct an
agricultural commodity processing facility.

1995 Session. Tire retreading was made taxable. The
tax on controlled substances and the waste collection
surcharge were repealed.

1997 Session. The legislature approved a sales and

use tax of 6¢ per million British thermal units (MBTU)
on all sales of coal, except for coal used for heating
buildings or used in agricultural processing or sugar beet
refining plants, or coal exempted from the tax imposed by
N.D.C.C. ch. 57-61.

An exemption was provided to a political subdivision of
another state provided a sale to a North Dakota political
subdivision is treated as an exempt sale in that state.
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1999 Session. The legislature changed the 6¢ per million
British thermal units (MBTU) sales tax rate on coal to 75¢
per ton. The sales tax rate on used farm machinery, used
irrigation equipment, and new and used farm machinery
repair parts was reduced from 3% to 1/2%. The exemption
on manufacturing machinery and equipment was expanded
to include crude oil refineries for the period February 1,
1999 through July 1, 2002. The legislature provided for
corporations and LLCs to post a cash or surety bond in
lieu of personal liability of the corporate offices, governors
or managers.

2001 Session. The 75 cents per ton sales tax on out-
of-state coal was repealed. The sales tax rate on used
farm machinery, used irrigation equipment, and new

and used farm machinery repair parts was changed from
12% to a complete exemption effective July 1, 2002.
The exemption for new power plants was expanded to
include wind-powered electrical generating facilities

and a new exemption was created for computer and
telecommunication equipment purchased by new

or expanding primary sector businesses other than
manufacturers or recyclers. Sales tax was imposed

on all vehicle rentals of less than 30 days at a rate of

5% and an additional 3% surcharge was imposed on
vehicles weighing less than ten thousand pounds. The
rate of penalty applied to delinquent sales tax returns was
changed to 5% per month up to a maximum of 25%. The
method of imposing motor vehicle excise tax on leased
vehicles (cars and light trucks) was changed from paying
tax on the lessor's purchase price to paying tax on the total
lease consideration.

2003 Session. The legislature increased the tax rate on the
rental of hotel, motel, and tourist court accommodations
(excluding bed and breakfast facilities) from 5 to 6
percent from July 1, 2003 through June 30, 2007.

New exemptions were created for purchases made by

Commerce Authorities, purchases of raftle prizes made

by charitable organizations when the prize winner is
responsible for the tax, and on sales of lottery tickets. The
legislature adopted the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement
effective January 1, 2006. The agreement is a cooperative
effort between business representatives and state tax and
revenue departments to modernize and simplify sales

and use taxes across the country. Changes necessary for
North Dakota to become compliant with the terms of the
agreement were passed with a January 1, 2006 effective
date.

2005 Session. The legislature authorized cities to impose
a tax up to 1% on the rental of motor vehicles for less
than 30 days; the legislature also reduced the sales

tax rate on the rental of hotel, motel, and tourist court
accommodations (excluding bed and breakfast facilities)
from 6% to 5% and imposed through June 30, 2007 a
separate 1% gross receipts tax on these accommodations;
new exemptions were created for purchases made by
assisted living facilities and emergency medical service
providers, purchases of CO, used for enhanced oil
recovery, retail purchases of equipment used to sell
biodiesel fuel, retail purchases of hydrogen to power
internal combustion engines and fuel cells and equipment
used to produce and store hydrogen. Exemptions were also
created for the portion of a bundled telecommunications
charge that is attributable to nontaxable services, sales

of precious metal bullion, and purchases after June 30,
2007 of equipment used in an environmental upgrade of
an oil refinery or gas processing plant. The legislature
also finalized the changes necessary for North Dakota

to be in full compliance with the Streamlined Sales Tax
Agreement and moved the effective date of these changes
to October 1, 2005. The most significant change was

to exempt the sales of farm machinery, farm irrigation
equipment, and alcoholic beverages from sales tax and to
impose separate gross receipts taxes on these products.
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Sales, Use, Gross Receipts, and Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes
Collections and Disbursements

TOTAL (Sales, Use, Gross Receipts, and Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes)

To
To State Aid
Fiscal All Funds General Distribution
Year Total Fund Fund
1996 329,134,892 299,638,706 39,496,187
1997 358,900,354 315,832,932 43,067,422
1998 363,158,056 319,584,864 43,573,192
1999 383,116,174 344,780,052 38,336,122
2000 386,340,221 355,433,005 30,907,266
2001 398,639,882 366,748,691 31,891,191
2002 401,460,878 369,344,008 32,116,870
2003 424,852,990 390,863,587 33,989,403
2004 438,530,207 403,447,790 35,082,417
2005 480,575,627 442,315,674 38,259,953
2006 495,565,709 456,024,312 39,541,397
2007 (est.) 552,233,000 508,170,000 44,063,000
Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Taxes Motor Vehicle Excise Tax
Total State Aid Total State Aid
Fiscal Sales and General Distribution Motor Veh. General Distribution
Year Use Fund Fund Taxes Fund Fund
1996 280,319,012 246,680,731 33,638,282 48,815,880 42,957,975 5,857,905
1997 307,553,834 270,647,374 36,906,460 51,346,520 45,185,558 6,160,962
1998 308,636,871 271,606,221 37,030,650 54,521,185 47,978,643 6,542,542
1999 331,027,858 297,895,606 33,132,252 52,088,316 46,884,446 5,203,870
2000 326,261,970 300,161,047 26,100,973 60,078,251 55,271,958 4,806,293
2001 340,114,586 312,905,419 27,209,167 58,525,296 53,843,272 4,682,024
2002 335,504,710 308,664,333 26,840,377 65,956,168 60,679,675 5,276,493
2003 360,819,598 331,954,030 28,865,568 64,036,392 58,912,557 5,123,835
2004 368,415,222 338,942,004 29,473,218 70,114,985 64,505,786 5,609,199
2005 411,553,514 378,815,330 32,738,184 69,022,113 63,500,344 5,521,769
2006 428,906,406 394,697,753 34,208,653 66,659,303 61,326,559 5,332,744
2007 (est.) 488,340,000 449,388,000 38,952,000 63,893,000 58,782,000 5,111,000

" The formula to calculate the State Aid Distribution Fund (S.A.D.F.) is: 40% (1% + general sales tax rate) (net collections of sales, use, and motor

vehicle excise tax collections). Revenues deposited in the state aid distribution fund are provided as a standing and continuing appropriation.

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner and estimates prepared with the Office of Management and Budget.
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Other Revenue Collections
Local Option Taxes, Music and Composition
Tax and Provider Assessment Collections

Fiscal Local Sales City City Restaurant Music and Provider
Year & Use @ Lodging @ and Lodging Composition Assessment @
1996 36,534,413 1,004,066 1,644,024 65,222

1997 45,184,127 1,082,847 1,853,999 77,233

1998 48,929,646 1,023,667 1,910,488 74,424

1999 54,058,001 923,479 2,064,346 82,456

2000 58,711,263 898,527 2,006,046 78,211

2001 66,961,363 978,713 2,226,938 90,050

2002 65,368,838 957,524 2,223,865 84,901

2003 73,666,551 1,034,752 2,439,338 89,902

2004 68,644,864 958,482 2,393,809 91,113 3,129,863
2005 78,761,154 1,095,595 2,725,275 93,875 3,250,759
2006 87,563,544 1,178,716 2,916,087 46,749 3,781,260

M Collections by the North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner. Collections include Gross Receipts tax.

@ Amounts are city lodging taxes collected by the North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner. Devils Lake
(effective July 1, 2003), Fargo, Grand Forks, Minot (effective January 1, 1998), and Valley City (effective April 1,
2000) administer city lodging taxes themselves and those collections are not included here.

& Effective July 1, 2003.

SOURCE:

North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner.
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ollections Remitted

Local Sales, Hse and Gross Receipts Taxes|]
et
2003-2005 Biennium

Start Tax Tax Biennium Start Tax Tax Biennium
City Date FY-2004 FY-2005 Total City Date FY-2004 FY-2005 Total
Aneta 1/05 .00 2,570 2,570 | Linton 10/93 63,198 64,031 127,230
Ashley 4/98 37,921 41,945 79,866 | Lisbon 7/95 158,376 177,612 335,988
Beach 10/97 79,093 85,751 164,845 | Maddock 10/02 31,073 32,878 63,951
Belfield 4/95 72,329 81,360 153,689 | Mandan 4/91 1,139,797 1,216,071 2,355,868
Berthold 1/96 20,789 21,574 42,363 | Mayville 1/97 236,029 302,925 538,954
Beulah 10/03 133,689 241,828 375,517 [ McClusky 1/96 17,628 17,855 35,483
Bismarck 4/86 8,505,073 9,184,287 17,689,360 | McVille 1/02 14,254 16,052 30,306
Bottineau 10/93 415,676 407,404 823,081 | Medora 1/00 263,151 292,723 555,874
Bowman 10/94 162,136 171,519 333,655 | Michigan 10/01 17,311 22,665 39,976
Buffalo 1/03 13,201 17,218 30,419 | Milnor 10/98 32,020 36,618 70,638
Cando 1/98 60,569 65,346 125,915 | Minot 1/98 9,791,161 10,815,985 20,607,146
Carrington 1/94 217,040 239,159 456,199 | Mohall 10/92 40,654 45,436 86,090
Carson 10/02 11,783 13,484 25,268 | Mott 4/97 56,652 73,624 130,277
Casselton 4/98 92,876 124,285 217,162 | Munich 1/99 9,100 8,414 17,514
Cavalier 10/94 203,515 214,308 417,823 | Napoleon 10/96 44,974 46,140 91,114
Cooperstown 7/96 82,461 84,920 167,381 | Neche 1/04 2,584 12,087 14,671
Crosby 1/93 64,392 70,548 134,941 | New England | 10/02 31,206 32,220 63,426
Devils Lake 1/97 1,461,412 1,615,545 3,076,957 § New Leipzig 1/99 10,135 9,585 19,720
Dickinson 7/90 2,839,554 3,127,625 5,967,179 | New Rockford | 10/96 83,791 90,967 174,758
Drayton 10/97 46,657 49,520 96,177 | Northwood 1/03 52,610 65,606 118,216
Dunseith 1/05 .00 9,905 9,905 | Oakes 10/96 181,681 223,836 405,517
Edgeley 1/97 44,253 44,942 89,195 | Oxbow 1/02 17,742 18,828 36,569
Edinburg 4/99 14,508 15,006 29,514 | Page 4/05 .00 435 435
Elgin 4/00 35,748 31,042 66,790 | Park River 1/95 103,152 157,940 261,092
Ellendale 1/95 71,375 81,909 153,284 | Pembina 1/93 52,480 76,397 128,877
Enderlin 10/98 71,720 83,560 155,280 | Portland 1/97 40,330 43,401 83,731
Fairmount 4/05 .00 7,096 7,096 | Powers Lake 4/97 20,570 21,556 42,126
Fargo 7/92 15,562,872 19,980,348 35,543,220 | Reeder 1/03 7,720 7,168 14,889
Finley 10/98 45,094 53,786 98,880 | Regent 1/97 11,721 12,546 24,267
Fort Ransom 1/00 8,632 7,369 16,001 | Richardton 1/97 22,208 25,920 48,128
Garrison 1/96 83,221 90,901 174,123 J Rolette 1/03 30,363 31,270 61,633
Grafton 1/91 342,860 355,685 698,545 | Rolla 1/94 212,407 254,501 466,907
Grand Forks 4/96 12,715,742 14,152,146 26,867,888 | Rugby 1/93 227,492 244,761 472,253
Grenora 10/02 8,669 8,574 17,244 | Scranton 4/02 19,672 20,124 39,795
Gwinner 4/05 .00 21,207 21,207 | St. John 1/01 8,970 9,557 18,527
Halliday 7/96 8,717 12,513 21,230 § Stanley 10/95 84,247 90,979 175,226
Hankinson 10/97 43,025 44,922 87,947 | Steele 10/96 57,620 61,294 118,914
Hannaford 10/04 .00 4,927 4,927 | Strasburg 4/93 19,249 21,956 41,205
Harvey 10/91 130,652 144,676 275,328 | Tioga 1/95 58,912 67,357 126,269
Hatton 4/98 29,890 33,127 63,016 | Tower City 10/02 14,712 17,624 32,336
Hazelton 10/00 17,169 18, 915 36,084 | Towner 10/98 25,116 26,666 51,782
Hazen 4/95 125,042 144,535 269,577 | Turtle Lake 10/00 22,551 24,662 47,213
Hettinger 7/96 119,296 121,005 240,301 | Valley City 1/92 741,339 836,772 1,578,111
Hillsboro 10/98 187,337 211,314 398,652 | Velva 1/99 41,070 48,940 90,010
Hoople 1/99 9,984 12,128 22,112 | Wahpeton 7/91 1,105,774 1,087,163 2,192,937
Hope 1/01 31,576 40,496 72,073 | Walhalla 10/97 59,395 67,748 127,143
Jamestown 7/91 3,052,205 3,358,042 6,410,247 | Washburn 10/00 77,471 81,927 159,398
Kenmare 1/93 77,888 103,023 180,911 | Watford City 10/98 116,355 131,161 247,516
Killdeer 4/95 51,769 59,007 110,776 | West Fargo 10/94 1,997,170 2,232,349 4,320,519
Kulm 4/98 17,706 18,041 35,748 | Williston 7/91 2,476,990 2,901,892 5,378,883
LaMoure 1/97 60,613 86,629 147,243 | Wilton 10/00 28,248 27,281 55,528
Langdon 1/94 161,645 169,201 330,846 | Wimbledon 1/05 .00 3,739 3,739
Larimore 1/95 51,416 54,958 106,374 | Wishek 4/97 55,726 62,086 117,812
Lidgerwood 10/00 39,699 42,876 82,575
Counties Totals for Cities $ 67,774,649 77,896,337 145,670,986
Cass ® (19 10/99 78,178 37,643 115,821
Walsh 4/01 156,818 178,115 334,933
Steele 4/05 .00 8,649 8,649
Totals for Counties $ 234,996 |$ 224,407 | $ 459,403
Total Local Option
Taxes Paid $ 68,009,644 | $ 78,120,745 | $ 146,130,389

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner.
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Taxable Sales and Purchases

Percentage by Business Classification
Calendar Years 1996 and 2005

Wholesale
Trade
18.8%

Transportation

Wholesale Communications
Trade & Public Utilities
21.4% Services 7.7%

9.8%

X Transportation
Services Communications

All Others 9.8%

Public Utilities

o,
0.6% 10.2%
Mining & . Mining &
. . Manufacturing . .
oil Ey;t;actlon | 4.6% oil El)f;l;zctlon Manufagturing
o Construction c . 4.5% All Others
2.9% onstruction 0.7%

3.1%

Trends in Taxable Sales and Purchases

Billions
of Dollars
9 8.567

1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005

Calendar Years

_ 40 _ November 2006
North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner



North Dakota Sales and Use Tax Exemptions
Estimated Biennial Fiscal Effect *

Exempt Products
Resources

Gasoline

Coal

Electricity

Water Through Mains

Publishing
Newspapers
Magazine Subscriptions
Bibles, Hymnals, Prayerbooks
and Textbooks Purchased by
Private Schools
Textbooks Purchased
by Students

Medical

Prescription Drugs

Oxygen and Anesthesia Gases

Artificial Devices (Hearing
Aids, Eyeglasses, Limbs)

Ostomy Devices and Supplies

Diabetic & Bladder Dysfunc-
tion Supplies

Equipment to Modify
Articles for Disabled

Sales to Hospitals and
Nursing Homes

Agricultural
Commercial Fertilizer (For
Ag Purposes)
Livestock and Poultry
Feed
Seeds for Planting
Fungicides, Herbicides,
and Insecticides
Used Farm Machinery and
Repair Parts

Other
Money
Grocery Foods

Exempt Products Total

Miscellaneous Exemptions

Rental of Hotel and Motel
Accommodations

Film Rental (Movie Theater)

Sales to Residents of Montana

Sales to Residents of Canada
(Refund)

State and Local Fairs

Private and Parochial Schools

Inter-State Telephone

Cable Television

Auctions

Manufacturing & Recycling
Equipment

Miscellaneous Exemptions Total

Biennial Estimate

Low High
$80,000,000 $100,000,000
25,000,000 30,000,000
36,000,000 41,000,000
1,400,000 2,000,000
$2,500,000 $3,000,000
1,200,000 1,500,000
Less Than $5,000
750,000 1,000,000
$8,800,000 $12,825,000
50,000 80,000
1,100,000 1,900,000
50,000 80,000
250,000 350,000
20,000 40,000
6,250,000 7,250,000
$15,000,000 $19,000,000
13,500,000 18,000,000
10,500,000 13,500,000
14,500,000 19,000,000
12,000,000 17,000,000
250,000 350,000
60,000,000 70,000,000
$289,120,000  $357,875,000
$190,000 $290,000
400,000 500,000
3,000,000 4,000,000
600,000 900,000
100,000 175,000
500,000 700,000
2,000,000 4,000,000
3,000,000 4,000,000
3,000,000 4,000,000
12,000,000 16,000,000
$24,790,000 $34,565,000

Biennial Estimate

Low High
Exempt Services
Veterinary Services $1,500,000 $2,000,000
Financial Services 3,250,000 5,500,000
Oil and Gas Field Services 10,000,000 15,000,000
Construction 15,000,000 24,000,000
Funeral Services 2,000,000 3,000,000
Miscellaneous Personal Services 600,000 700,000
Farm Machinery Repair 1,000,000 2,000,000
Transportation Services 200,000 400,000
Lawn Care Services 600,000 800,000
Engineering, Architecture, and
Surveying 700,000 1,300,000
Health Services 80,000,000 125,000,000
Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service 1,200,000 2,000,000
Beauty and Barber Shops 3,000,000 4,000,000
Automotive Repair 8,000,000 12,500,000
Miscellaneous Repair 3,500,000 5,500,000
Accounting, Auditing and
Bookkeeping 3,200,000 4,200,000
Business Services 6,000,000 7,000,000
Legal Services 7,000,000 9,000,000
Exempt Services Total $146,750,000 $223,900,000
Grand Total All Exemptions $460,660,000 $616,340,000
Partial Exemptions (fiscal effect
is computed at 2% for new farm
machinery and mobile homes; 3%
for natural gas)
New - Farm Machinery and
Repair Parts $9,000,000 $13,000,000
New Mobile Homes 300,000 500,000
Natural Gas 10,000,000 14,000,000
Total Partial Exemptions $19,300,000 $27,500,000

*  Calculations are based on 5% state sales and use tax rate. All
amounts are preliminary and subject to change as additional infor-

mation becomes available.

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Research

Section

Biennial Filing Deductions ||

Sales Taxes

$ 3,800,000

Businesses with taxable sales and purchases of $333,000 or more per
year receive compensation of up to $85 per month for filing monthly

returns.

Cigarette Tax $

50,000

Wholesalers who file and pay on time may deduct up to $100 per
month. This deduction was originally to compensate for stamping ciga-
rette packages. In 1991 the stamping requirement was repealed, but the

compensation remains.

SOURCE:

North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner,

November 2006
North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
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STATE COMPARISONS

There are 13 states with general state sales tax rates lower
than North Dakota's 5% rate. However, in comparing
North Dakota’s sales tax to other states, one must also
consider the tax base, the goods and services subject to the
tax, as well as the level of local sales taxes.

Tax Base. Does a state include groceries, electricity,
prescription drugs, and services such as legal, business,
accounting, architecture, lawn care?

In an effort to lessen the impact of taxes on a family's
ability to buy necessities, North Dakota exempts groceries,
residential electricity, and a few other essentials. States
can also make a sales tax somewhat more progressive by
taxing goods or services used mostly by upper income
purchasers. The charts on the next few pages detail
specific items taxed in each state.

Local Sales Taxes. In addition to a general state sales tax,
most states allow local subdivisions to levy a sales tax as
well. In some cases (Colorado, for example), the local rate
may actually be higher than the state rate. As of September
2006, 109 cities and 2 counties impose a local tax from %4
to 2% percent. However, most local taxes have a refund
provision that allows the purchaser to obtain a refund of
the local tax paid on any portion of a purchase greater than
$2,500. The most common local rate is 1 percent.

Example. A comparison of sales taxes in North Dakota
and South Dakota provides a good example of the impact
of different tax bases and local taxes. Because more
goods and services are taxed in South Dakota, that state's
4% state sales tax rate generally results in a higher tax
payment than North Dakota's 5% rate.

State Sales Tax Rates Comparison
with the Other 45 States (and D.C.)

That Levy a Sales Tax
October 1, 2006

Number of States
Rates Lower [Rates the Same | Rates Higher
Than N.D. As N.D. Than N.D.
Other States' Rates Compared to N.D.'s 13 7 25

Note: Out of a possible 168 taxable services, North Dakota taxes only 25 services and does not tax

groceries or electricity.

SOURCE: Survey of states conducted by North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Sales

Tax Section, October 2006.
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Total Sales and Gross Receipts
Tax Collections Per Capita
Fiscal Year 2005

Per Capita Total
Sales and Gross

Rank State Receipts Taxes
1 Hawaii $2,156
2 Washington 1,852
3 Nevada 1,630
4 Connecticut 1,461
5 Florida 1,433
6 Minnesota 1,294
7 Tennessee 1,282
8 Rhode Island 1,281
9 Wyoming 1,261

10 Vermont 1,249
11 Arkansas 1,244
12 Mississippi 1,206
13 West Virginia 1,186
14 New Jersey 1,167
15 South Dakota 1,165
16 Indiana 1,147
17 Michigan 1,140
18 Texas 1,131
19 Arizona 1,128
20 New Mexico 1,126
21 Nebraska 1,122
22 NORTH DAKOTA 1,114
23 Wisconsin 1,100
24 Pennsylvania 1,064
25 Idaho 1,051
26 Illinois 1,046
27 California 1,043
28 Maine 1,030
29 Kentucky 1,019
30 Louisiana 1,014
31 Kansas 1,012
32 Ohio 972
33 Maryland 943
34 Utah 943
35 South Carolina 913
36 Massachusetts 904
37 Towa 886
38 North Carolina 877
39 Alabama 875
40 New York 839
41 Missouri 793
42 Georgia 768
43 Virginia 724
44 Oklahoma 705
45 Colorado 655
46 New Hampshire 538
47 Montana 486
48 Delaware 471
49 Alaska 299
50 Oregon 192

US Average $1,051

* Total Sales and Gross Receipts Taxes includes taxes on alcoholic
beverages, amusements, insurance premiums, motor fuels, parimutuels,
public utilities, tobacco products and other selective sales.

SOURCE: US Dept. of Commerce, Census Bureau.

General Sales and Gross Receipts
Tax Collections Per Capita
Fiscal Year 2005

Rank

O 0NN Nk~ W —

Per Capita General

State

Hawaii
Washington
Florida
Tennessee
Wyoming
Nevada
Connecticut
Arkansas
Mississippi
Arizona
Nebraska
California
Minnesota
New Mexico
South Dakota
Michigan
Indiana
Idaho

Rhode Island
New Jersey
Wisconsin
Kansas

Ohio

Texas

Maine

Utah

South Carolina
Pennsylvania
NORTH DAKOTA
Louisiana
Kentucky
Massachusetts
West Virginia
Georgia

Towa

New York
Illinois

North Carolina
Missouri
Maryland
Vermont
Oklahoma
Alabama
Colorado
Virginia
Alaska
Delaware
Montana
New Hampshire
Oregon

US Average

Sales and Gross
Receipts Taxes

$1,676
1,455
1,071
1,026
1,026
934
931
926
886
877
862
829
819
807
801
798
797
790
784
752
730
725
715
715
707
692
682
649
644
632
622
608
603
585
580
571
564
530
524
516
499
468
446
429
409
n/a
n/a
n/a
n/a
n/a
$717

SOURCE: US Dept. of Commerce, Census Bureau.

November 2006
North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
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1 S
NN -
I b Comparison of State Sales Tax Rates
IR Tax Rates in Effect October 1, 2006
(12) DIRECT MANUFACTURING USE
General Highest Natural Taxable
State Local Grocery Farm Electricity Gas Water Services Natural
States Rate Rate Foods Alcohol Machinery (non-mfg. use) (non-mfg. use) (Utilities) of 164 Consumables Gas Electricity Machinery
Alabama 4.0% 5.0% 4.0% 4.0% 1.5% 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 36 4.0% 4.0% (19) | 4.0% 19) | 1.5%
Alaska* N/A 7.0% N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 1 N/A N/A N/A N/A
Arizona® 5.6% 3.5% (53) 5.6% 5.6% 5.6% 5.6% 58 5.6% 5.6%
Arkansas 6.0% 3.5% 6.0% 6.0% 6.0% 6.0% 6.0% 72
California 6.25% 2.0% 6.25% 1.250% .00022 cents _ (5) Varies 23 6.25% Varies (5) | 00022 cents (5) | 6.25%
Colorado 2.9% 5.0% 2.9% 2.9% ©) | 2.9% (6) 14 2.9% 2.9%
Connecticut 6.0% 6.0% @ | 6.0% ©) ()| 6.0% 6) (7) (16) 80 6.0% (1) (15) (22) (15) (22) (1) (22)
District of Columbia 5.75% 9%/10%  (13) 68 5.75% 5.75%
Delaware* N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 143 N/A N/A N/A N/A
Florida 6.0% 1.5% 6.0% 7.0% 6.0% (6) 62 6.0% 6.0% (14)
Georgia 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 36 4.0% 4.0% 29) | 4.0%
Hawaii 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 158 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 4.0%
Idaho 6.0% 3.0% 5.0% 5.0% ) 30
Tlinois 6.25% 3.0% 1.0% 6.25% ) ) 17
Indiana 6.0% 6.0% 6.0% 6.0% 6.0% 23
Towa 5.0% 1.0% 5.0% 5.0% (32) 5.0% 32) 5.0% 93
Kansas 5.3% 2.75% 5.3% 53% © @D | 53% © @D | 53% ©6) (7) 71 )
Kentucky 6.0% (54) 6.0% © | 6.0% ©) | 6.0% () 27 6.0% 20) | 6.0% (20) (14)
Louisiana 4.0% 7.0% 4.0% 4.0% (49) (35) (35) 55 4.0% 3.3% 3.3%
Maine 5.0% 5.0% (41) @] 5.0% (42) 5.0% )] 5.0% (6) 24 a7
Maryland 5.0% 5.0% 5% ©) | 5.0% ©) | 5.0% ) 39
Massachusetts 5.0% 50% (6)21)(@3) | 5.0% (6) 21) (43) | 5.0% (6) (21) (43) 19 (21) (43) (21) 43)
Michigan 6.0% 6.0% @ | 6.0% ® | 6.0% ®) 26 (18) (10)
Minnesota 6.5% 1.0% (24) 6.5% © @D | 65% © @D | 6.5% (©6) 67 (14)
Mississippi 7.0% 0.25% 7.0% 7.0% (25) | 7.0% (6) 7.0% ©) ] 7.0% (6) 74 7.0% 1.5% 1.5% 1.5%
Missouri 4225% | 4.5% 1.225% 4.225% 27 6) (11) 6) (11) 6) (11) 27 4.225% 4.225% 4.225% 23) (14)
Montana* N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 19 N/A N/A N/A N/A
Nebraska 5.5% 1.5% 5.5% 5.5% 5.5% 5.5% 76 5.5% 5.5% 22) ]| 5.5% 22)| 5.5%
Nevada 6.5% 7.75% 6.5% 6.5% 15 6.5% 6.5%
New Hampshire* N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 9 N/A N/A N/A N/A
New Jersey 7.0% 9.0% (30) 6.0% (31) 6.0% 6.0% 55 6.0% 6.0% 6.0%
New Mexico 5.0% 2.875% 5.0% 2.5% 5.0% 5.0% 5.0% 151 5.0% 5.0% 5.0% 5.0%
New York 4.0% 5.5% 4.0% 4.0% ©6) | 4.0% (6) 74
North Carolina 4.5% (65)| 3.0% 2.0% 7.0% (66) 3.0% 450%  (35)(65) | 4.50%  (56)(65) 29 26) | 2.83% 33) | 2.83% (33) (26)
NORTH DAKOTA 5.0% 2.5% 7.0% (50) | 3.0% (51 2.0% 25 5.0% 2.0% 14
Ohio 5.5% 2.0% 5.0% 5.0% (4) 5.0% (28) 66
Oklahoma 4.5% 5.0% 4.5% 4.5% 4.5% © | 45% ©6) 32
Oregon* N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 0 N/A N/A N/A N/A
Pennsylvania 6.0% 1.0% 6.0% (34) @ | 6.0% ©6) | 6.0% ©) | 6.0% (©6) 55
Rhode Island 7.0% 7.0% @4 | 7.0% (6) 7.0% )] 7.0% (6) 29
South Carolina 5.0% (57)| 2.0% 5.0% (58) ] 5.0% 5.0% ©) | 5.0% ©) | 5.0% (59) 34 (18)
South Dakota 4.0% 2.0% 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% (64) | 4.0% 4.0% (7| 4.0% (6) 144 4.0% 4.0% 4.0% 4.0%
Tennessee 7.0% 2.75% 6.0% 7.0% Varies ©) Varies @ | 7.0% 67 1.5% 1.5%
Texas 6.25% 2.0% 6.25% (45) 6.25% (6) 6.25% (6) 79
Utah 4.75% 1.0% 2.75% (60) | 4.75% (47) 2.0% (46) 2.0% (46) 58 4.75%
Vermont 6.0% 1.0% 37) 6.0% 6.0% 29
Virginia 4.0% 1.0% 1.5% 4.0% (61) (38) (38) (38) 18 (38) (38)
Washington 6.5% 2.4% 6.5% ©62) | 6.5% (39) (39) 39| 155 6.5% (39) (39)
West Virginia 6.0% 5.0% 6.0% 110 6.0%
Wisconsin 5.0% 0.6% 5.0% @ | 50% M| 50% 527 70 5.0% 5.0% 18y | 5.0% 18) | 5.0% (18)
Wyoming 4.0% 2.0% ©3)] 4.0% 4.0% | 40% (7 61 4.0% (44) (44) (48)

* This state does not impose a sales tax.
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Comparison of State Sales Tax Rates - - - Footnotes

Provides full exemption from manufacturing. Connecticut has a broader overlapping partial
(50%) exemption from materials, tools, fuel, machinery and equipment used in fabricating and
processing.

Electricity used to power manufacturing equipment is exempt.

Arizona is a Transaction Privilege Tax state, not a Sales Tax state.

Farm machinery is exempt from sales and use taxes if the purchaser is engaged in farming as a
business enterprise.

In some states the tax is called a "utility tax" rather than a sales tax. In California the tax is an
energy resources surcharge paid by consumers. In the District of Columbia, the tax is a gross
receipts tax.

Residential use is exempt.

Agricultural use is exempt.

In Michigan, the tax rate is 4% on electricity and natural gas used for home heating.
Residential use is exempt, commercial is 7%, industrial 1.5%.

Exemption is based on percentage used in manufacturing.

Hotels and motels are exempt.

The number of taxable services is out of a possible 164 services covered in the study, "Sales
Taxation of Services," Federation of Tax Administrators, 2004.

9% for liquor sold for off-premise consumption and 10% for liquor sold for consumption on the
premises.

The exemption is generally for machinery and equipment used for new or expanding production.

States have different definitions and qualifications.

Materials, tools and fuel used in the actual fabrication of a product for sale, in an agricultural
production process, or in the fishing industry are exempt.

Exempt when delivered to customers through mains, lines, pipes or bottles.

Exempt if consumed within 1 year.

Exempt when used in actual production process.

Exempt if separately metered and used in electrothermal or electrolytic process manufacturing.
Amounts over 3% of production costs are exempt.

Exempt for business qualifying for "small business" status.

Exempt if more than 50% is used in manufacturing.

May apply for exemption, if electricity cost is greater than 10% of production costs.

3.2% beer is taxed at 6.5%. Over 3.2% beer and hard liquor is taxed at a 6.5% sales tax rate and
2.5% gross receipts tax.

Farm machinery is taxed at 1% for farm tractors, 3% for listed farm implements, and 7% for
nonlisted farm items.

Effective 1/1/06, sales of machinery and consumables to manufacturers are exempt from sales
tax but subject to a 1% privilege tax with a maximum tax of $80.00 per article.

Exempt if used exclusively for agricultural purposes, used on land that is owned or leased to
produce farm products, and used directly in production of farm products.

If sold by public utility then it is exempt. If sold by non-public utility then taxed at 5%.
Natural gas directly used to produce electricity is exempt from the 4% State Tax.

This is the Atlantic City Luxury Sales Tax which is imposed on specific taxable retail sales
within Atlantic City.

Alcoholic beverages are also subject to an additional 3% Atlantic City Luxury Sales Tax on
sales within Atlantic City.

The sale, furnishing, or service of metered gas and electricity on or after January 1, 2006, or if
the sale, furnishing, or service of fuel for purposes of residential energy and the delivery of the
fuel occur on or after January 1, 2006, the rate of state tax is 0% of the gross receipts.

Based on prior year megawatt hours. 0-900,000 = 2.83%. Over 900,000 hours = .17%
Pennsylvania imposes 6% sales tax on alcohol purchased from the Liquor Control Board or
beer distributors/wholesalers. No tax is levied on retail sales of alcohol from eating/drinking
establishments.

Sales of electricity and natural gas for non-residential use is subject to the suspended rate or
3.8% (effective through 6/30/09.)

(36)  Only three cities have this high rate. Weighted average of 1.45% is more representative.

(37)  Wine is subject to 6% sales tax. Other alcoholic beverages are not, however all alcoholic
beverages are subject to 10% restaurant and lodging tax if purchased at a bar or restaurant.

(38)  Virginia has a three-tier tax rate system called a consumption tax for gas and electricity. This
is paid by the consumer. The rate goes down as usage goes up.

(39)  There is a public utility tax levied on the provider, not a sales tax.

(40)  Effective July 1, 2004, 5% of the price of manufacturing machinery and equipment will be
excluded from state sales tax. The phase-out continues until fully exempt beginning July 1,
2010.

(41)  Taxed at 7% if served at a restaurant.

(42)  First 750 kilowatt hours are exempt.

(43)  Industrial use is exempt.

(44)  Sales of tangible personal property to a person engaged in the business of manufacturing,
processing or compounding when the tangible personal property purchased becomes an
ingredient or component of the tangible personal property manufactured, processed or
compounded for sale or use and sales of containers, labels or shipping cases used for the
tangible personal property so manufactured, processed or compounded. This subparagraph
shall apply to chemicals and catalysts used directly in manufacturing, processing or
compounding which are consumed or destroyed during that process. W. S. 39-15-
105(a)(iii)(A).

(45)  Mixed drinks sold at retail establishments are subject to a 14% gross receipts tax.

(46)  Commercial electric and gas utility rate is 4.75%.

(47)  Wine and liquor also subject to a 13% excise tax to pay for school lunches.

(48)  Effective July 1, 2004. Machinery must be purchased by a manufacturer classified under
NAICS code sector 31-33, does not include non-capitalized machinery except machinery
expensed under Section 179 of the IRS Code, and must be executed in the case of a lease and
in the case of a sale on or after July 1, 2004.

(49)  The first $50,000 of the sales price on certain farm equipment is exempt from the state sales
tax.

(50) 7% Alcohol tax is a gross receipts tax.

(51) 3% Farm Machinery tax is a gross receipts tax.

(52) Residential heating use is exempt in the months of November through April.

(53)  The highest general privilege tax rate is 3.5%. Several cities have higher rates imposed on
certain industries.

(54) 6% Sales tax only applies to on-premises consumption.

(55)  Piped natural gas is exempt from sales tax and subject to the piped natural gas tax. Sales of
natural gas not piped is taxable at the general rate.

(56)  Water delivered by or through mainlines or pipes for either commercial or domestic use or
consumption is exempt. Sales of water not delivered by or through main lines or pipes is
taxable at the general rate.

(57) 6% effective June 2007.

(58)  Effective October 1, 2006, rate will be 3% if food can be purchased with USDA food coupon.

(59)  Water sold by public utilities are exempt if rates and charges are of the kind determined by
the PSC of water sold by nonprofit corporations organized pursuant to Chapter 36 of Title 33
South Carolina Code of Laws.

(60)  Will take effect on January 1, 2007.

(61)  Exempt if used in agricultural production for market.

(62)  Sales tax applies to sales of beer and wine only.

(63)  Effective July 1, 2006 food for domestic home consumption is sales/use tax exempt while
prepared food remains taxable.

(64)  Farm machinery is no longer a sales tax, it is a 4% excise tax.

(65)  4.25% effective December 1, 2006.

(66)  6.25% effective December 1, 2006.

SOURCE: Survey of states conducted by North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Sales Tax

Section, October 2006.



Rates in Effect October 1, 2006

Sales Tax Comparison of Surrounding States and Provinces

(2 (2
NORTH SOUTH
DAKOTA | DAKOTA |WYOMING | MINNESOTA IOWA | MANITOBA [SASKATCHEWAN

GENERAL STATE RATE 5% 4% 4% 6.5% 5% 7% 7%
MAXIMUM LOCAL RATE 2.5% 2% 2% 1% 1%

PRODUCTS

Motor Vehicles (sales or excise tax) 5% 3% 4% 6.5% 7% 7%

Natural Gas (sales or utility) 2% 4% 3)| 4% @ | 6.5% S)| 5% (©)] 7% 31)

Electricity 4% 4% @] 6.5% S| 3% (©)| 7% 31 7% “4)
Coal 5% ®) | 4% 4% @ (1) 5%

City and Rural Water 6.5% 9| 5%

Newspapers (retail & subscription) 4% 7%

Magazines (retail) 5% 4% 4% 6.5% 5% 7%

Magazines (subscriptions) 4% 4% 5% 7%

Bibles/Textbooks to Religious Groups 4% (39) 5%

Prescription Drugs

Agricultural Supplies 4% 7) (32) (10)
New Farm Machinery 3% (35 | 4% (32)

Farm Machinery Parts 4% (32)

Alcoholic Beverages 7%  (36) | 4% 4% 6.5%o0r9% (13)| 5% 7% 10%

Money (gold & silver coins) 4% 5% 7% (15) 7% (15)
Mobile Homes - - New 3% 3% 4% (1) | 6.5% 16) | 5% (17| 7% (18) 3.5% (19)
Mobile Homes - - Used 3% 42)| 7% (18) (19)
Grocery Foods 4% (40)

Restaurant 5% 4% 4% 6.5% 5% 7%

MISCELLANEOUS

Hotel & Motel Accommodation Rental 5% (20) | 4% 4% 6.5% 5% (20)| 7% (20) 7%

Film Rental to Theaters & TV Stations 4%

Film Rentals (other than to Theatres/TV) 5% 4% 4% 6.5% 5% 7% 7%

State/Local Fairs/Admission 6.5%

Inter-State Telephone 6.5% 7% 7%

Cable Television 4% 6.5% 5% 7% 7%

Receipts from Vending Machines 5% 4% 37| 4% 6.5% 5% 7% (36) 7% (23)
Sales to Private and Parochial Schools 4% (24) 7% 7%

Sales to Hospitals 4%  (12) | 4% 24)| 6.5% (25) 7% (33) 7%

Sales to Nursing Homes 4% 4% 24)| 6.5% 251 5% 7% (33) 7%
SERVICES (26)

Number of Taxable Services (26) 25 144 61 67 94 N/A N/A
Veterinary Services 4% 7%

Financial Services 4%  (27) 5%

Oil & Gas Field Services (non-materials) 4% 4%

Construction (non-materials) 2%  (28) (34)

Funeral Services 4%

Miscellaneous Personal Services 4%  (29) 5%

Transportation Services 4% 2D | 4% (14) 5% (14)

Lawn Care Services 4% 6.5% 5%

Engineering, Architecture & Surveying 4% (22) (22)
Health Services

Laundry & Dry Cleaning Service 4% 4% 6.5% 5% 7% 7%

Beauty and Barber Shops 4% 5%

Farm Machinery Repair 4% 5% (32)

Automotive Repair 4% 4% 5% 7% 7%
Miscellaneous Repair 4% 4% 5% 7% 7%
Accounting, Auditing & Bookkeeping 4% 7% 7%

Business Services (consulting, etc.) 4% 41)

Legal Services 4% 7% 7%
COMPENSATION TO RETAILERS Yes (30) Yes (39) No No No Yes (30) Yes
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Sales Tax Comparison of Surrounding States and Provinces

Footnotes
(1) Exempt as a fuel for use as boiler fuel in the production of electricity.
(2) Canada also levies a federal goods and services tax (GST) of 7% in addition to the general provincial sales tax (PST).
(3) Exempt for agricultural use.
(4) Exempt if used directly in manufacturing, processing, or agricultural.
(5) Exempt for agriculture and industrial production of personal property and exempt for residential use during the winter months.
(6) Exempt if used in manufacturing.
(7) Exempt if feeds, seeds, roots, bulbs, small plants & fertilizer.
(8) Coal mined in North Dakota is subject to severance tax and is exempt from sales tax. Coal mined outside North Dakota and coal used for
heating buildings is subject to sales tax.
(9) Residential water bills are exempt.

(10) Exempt if primary function is for agriculture; multi use products are taxable.

(11)  Seventy percent of price.

(12) Exempt if hospital is charitable or non-profit.

(13) Beer with alcohol content of 3.2% is taxed at 6.5%. Beer with alcohol content over 3.2%, hard liquor, and wine are taxed at 9%.

(14) Limo services are taxable. (Intra and Inter-state Transportation Services are exempt in Wyoming).

(15) Taxable if sold above face value.

(16) Sixty-five percent of dealer's cost of new mobile homes is taxed at 6.5% (effective rate is 4.225%)).

(17)  Sixty percent of the purchase price is subject to a use tax.

(18) Effective April 1, 2006 a point-of-sale exemption is available on the residential purchase of a mobile, modular or ready-to-move home.
Vendors will apply sales tax, at point of sale, at a rate of 4% of the basic selling prices (excluding furniture, appliances, etc.).

(19) New residential mobile homes are taxed at 3.5%. Used residential mobile homes are exempt if previously used in Saskatchewan. New and
used non-residential mobile homes are taxed at 7%.

(20) Rooms rented by and for same individual are exempt if rented 30 consecutive days (in North Dakota) or 31 consecutive days (in lowa). In
Manitoba, hotels and motels rented for one continuous month or more are exempt, and rooms in a lodging/rooming boarding houses with
accommodations for less than four tenants is also exempt.

(21)  Only passenger Transportation is taxable in South Dakota.

(22) A percentage of design fees are taxable. For Architects, a percentage of Phase 11, III, IV or V is taxable. For Engineers, a percentage of
Category 111 is taxable [Category III: Design, in the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of the Province of Manitoba
(APEGM) Categories of Services]

(23) Vending machine receipts for taxable items are taxable. Pop and candy are not taxable items.

(24) Sales to schools, hospitals or nursing homes considered charitable or religious are exempt on Wyoming.

(25) Any licensed health care facility or a health care professional can purchase goods used in the treatment of a patient tax free. However, only
a hospital can purchase medical equipment tax free.

(26) The number of taxable services in the study "Sales Taxation of Services," Federation of Tax Administrators, 2004.

(27) Real estate commissions are taxable; other financial services are exempt.

(28) Two percent on prime contract.

(29) Most membership fees are exempt.

(30) Maximum compensation to retailer in North Dakota is $85 per monthly return ($1,020 per year), and in Manitoba, $58 per return. Effective
July 1, 2004, vendors with tax reported of greater than $3,000 in one period no longer receive compensation.

(31) Natural gas (sales or utility), electricity and coal are not subject to Manitoba's sales tax, however tax of 7% is applicable. There is an
exemption from revenue tax on electricity and natural gas used for heating residential dwellings, farm buildings and grain dryers, and for
domestic purchases of coal.

(32) Agricultural supplies, farm machinery and farm machinery parts can be purchased exempt by a farmer in Manitoba by completing a farm-
use certificate.

(33) Equipment and supplies designed solely for the use of physically disabled persons or chronic invalids, and drugs dispensed on the
prescription of a medical practitioner are tax exempt in Manitoba.

(34) Effective October 1, 2002, mechanical and electrical contracts are subject to 7% tax on the full selling price including materials and labor.

(35) The 3% rate is a Gross Receipts Tax.

(36) The 7% rate is a Gross Receipts Tax.

(37) No tax is payable on the receipts of a vending machine where the vending machine accepts only a single $0.25 coin as the total
consideration for the purchase. Vending machine operators (that operate vending machines of this sort) are required to pay sales tax on the
goods that are available for sale through these vending machines.

(38)  One and one-half percent of tax up to a maximum of $70 per period but will not go into effect until the Streamlined Sales Tax Fund for
South Dakota reaches $10 million.

(39) Exempt per prior approval.

(40) Effective July 1, 2006, food for domestic home consumption is sales/use tax exempt.

(41) Investment counseling is taxable at 5%.

(42) Exempt if previously taxed.
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OIL AND GAS TAXES

CURRENT LAW

Qil And Gas Gross Production Tax

Imposition and Rates

The oil and gas gross production tax is imposed in lieu of
property taxes on oil and gas producing properties.

Qil. A 5% rate is applied to the gross value at the well of
all oil produced, except royalty interest in oil produced
from a state, federal or municipal holding and from

a Native American holding within the boundary of a
reservation. Both the producer and purchaser of the oil
are required to submit reports to the Tax Commissioner
on a monthly basis. The reports show the volume and
taxable value of sales of the production from each well.
The producer remits the tax on oil not sold at the well.
The purchaser is primarily responsible for remitting the
tax on oil bought during a production month. The Tax
Commissioner has the authority to waive a producer's
filing requirement if certain conditions are met. Purchasers
are required to file monthly reports electronically.

Gas. The gross production tax on gas is an annually
adjusted flat rate per thousand cubic feet (mcf) of all
nonexempt gas produced in the state. The annual
adjustments are made according to the average producer
price index for gas fuels. Rates through June 30, 2007 are
as follows:

Time Period Tax Rate
July 1, 2002 - June 30, 2003 $.0824
July 1, 2003 - June 30, 2004 $.0615
July 1, 2004 - June 30, 2005 $.1037
July 1, 2005 - June 30, 2006 $.1215
July 1, 2006 - June 30, 2007 $.1640

Exempt from the tax is gas used on the lease for
production purposes and the royalty interest in gas
produced from a state, federal or municipal holding and
from a Native American holding within the boundary of a
reservation.

Shallow gas produced during the first 24 months of
production from and after the first date of sales from a
shallow gas zone after June 30, 2003, is exempt from gross
production tax. This exemption is ineffective for gas wells
completed or recompleted after June 30, 2007.

Monthly reports to the Tax Commissioner are required
from both the producer and the purchaser/processor of
the gas. The producer remits the tax on unprocessed gas
and the purchaser/processor remits the tax on processed
gas. The Tax Commissioner has the authority to waive a
producer's filing requirement if certain conditions are met.
Purchasers/processors are required to file monthly reports
electronically.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the gross production tax is distributed under

the following formula:

*  One-fifth is deposited with the State Treasurer. Of
this portion, 33 1/3% is allocated to the Oil and Gas
Impact Grant Fund, up to a maximum of $5 million
per biennium. The remainder of this portion is
credited to the State General Fund.

»  Four-fifths is allocated between the State General
Fund and the producing county according to the
following formula:

Revenue County State
Up to $1 million 75% 25%
$1 to $2 million 50% 50%
Over $2 million 25% 75%

However, the amount any one county can receive per fiscal
year is limited according to population as follows:

Maximum Distribution
$ 3.9 million
4.1 million
4.6 million

Population
Up to 3,000

3,000 to 6,000
6,000 or more

Tax revenue distributed to a county is further split with
45% earmarked for the county general fund, 35% for the
school districts within the county, and 20% to incorporated
cities within the county.
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0Qil Extraction Tax .

Imposition and Rates

The oil extraction tax is levied on the extraction of oil

from the earth. The tax rate is 6%2% of the gross value at

the well of crude oil. However, the rate is reduced to 4%

for oil produced from the following:

* A vertical or horizontal new well, after the appropriate
exemption expires.

* A workover well after the exemption expires.

* Incremental oil from a qualifying secondary or tertiary
recovery project, after the 5-year or 10-year exemption
expires.

* Nonincremental oil from a qualifying secondary
recovery project that has reached an average production
level of at least 25% over normal operations for six
consecutive months.

* Nonincremental oil from a qualifying tertiary recovery
project that has reached a production level of at
least 15% over normal operations for one month and
continues to be operated as a qualifying project.

A qualifying secondary recovery project is a unit that
uses water flooding and is certified by the North Dakota
Industrial Commission. A qualifying fertiary recovery
project is a unit that uses an enhanced recovery method
which conforms with federal tax code provisions and is
certified by the North Dakota Industrial Commission.

The oil extraction tax is paid monthly with the gross
production tax on a combined reporting form.

Exemptions

To receive the full benefit of an exemption or the

4% reduced rate, a producer must file the Industrial
Commission’s certification of well status with the .
Tax Commissioner within 18 months of the first day

of eligibility. If the producer does not file within the

18-month period, then the exemption or reduced rate

begins the first day of the month in which the certification .
is received by the Tax Commissioner.

The exemptions to the oil extraction tax are as follows:

* Royalty interest in oil extracted from a state, federal or
municipal holding and from a Native American holding
within the boundary of a reservation.

Oil extracted from a certified stripper well property. A
stripper well property is property whose average daily
production during a 12-month period did not exceed

10 barrels per day for a well of a depth of 6,000 feet or
less, 15 barrels per day for a well of a depth of more
than 6,000 feet but not more than 10,000 feet, and

30 barrels per day for a well of a depth of more than
10,000 feet.

Oil produced during the first 15 months of production
from a vertical new well. This exemption is subject to
the “trigger” provisions described below.

Oil produced during the first 24 months of production
from a horizontal new well. The exemption is subject
to the “trigger” provisions described below.

Oil produced during the first 60 months of production
from either a vertical new well or a horizontal new well
drilled and completed on tribal trust land.

Oil produced from a horizontal reentry well for a
period of 9 months beginning on the date the well is
recompleted as a horizontal well. The exemption is
subject to the “trigger provisions” described below.

Oil produced from a two-year inactive well for a period
of ten years beginning the first day of the month in
which the Industrial Commission’s certification is
received by the Tax Commissioner. The exemption is
subject to the “trigger provisions” described below.

Oil produced from a qualifying well that has been
worked over. The exemption is for a 12-month period
starting with the first day of the third month after
completion of the workover project. A qualifying well
is a well that has produced less than 50 barrels per day
during the last six months of continuous production
before workover. The well operator must notify the
Industrial Commission before beginning the project.
Project cost must exceed $65,000 or production must
increase 50% or more in the first two months after
project completion. The exemption is subject to the
“trigger” provisions described below.

Oil produced from a two-year inactive well for a period
of ten years after being recompleted or returned to
production. The exemption is subject to the "trigger
provisions" described below.

Incremental oil from a qualifying secondary or tertiary
recovery project. The exemption is 5 years for second-
ary recovery projects and 10 years for tertiary recovery
projects from the date the incremental production
begins.
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“Trigger” Provisions

The reduced rate provisions for new wells, horizontal
wells, horizontal reentry wells, two-year inactive wells,
workover wells, and enhanced recovery wells are
ineffective if the average price of a barrel of crude oil
exceeds the trigger price (thirty-five dollars and fifty cents,
as indexed for inflation) for each month in any consecutive
five-month period. Except for incremental oil produced
from enhanced recovery wells, exemptions for the above
wells also become ineffective if the average price of a
barrel of crude exceeds the trigger price for the same
consecutive five-month period. The reduced rates and
exemptions are reinstated if the average price falls below
the trigger price for each months in any consecutive five-
month period.

Following the statutory guidelines, the Tax Commissioner
has determined that the trigger price for calendar year 2004
is $35.11, and the average prices for the five-month period
of May 2004 through September 2004 were:

May
$37.58

September
$43.21

August
$42.48

June July
$35.63  $38.20

Based on these prices, the Tax Commissioner has
determined that the tax incentives subject to the trigger
price became ineffective for production periods beginning
October 1, 2004, and until such time as the statutory
provisions for reinstatement are met.

The trigger price effective for calendar years through
December 31, 2007 are as follows:

Time Period Trigger Price

Jan. 1, 2004 - Dec. 31, 2004 $35.11
Jan. 1, 2005 - Dec. 31, 2005 $36.48
Jan. 1, 2006 - Dec. 31, 2006 $39.36

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the oil extraction tax is distributed as

follows:

* 60% to the State General Fund.

* 20% divided equally between the Common Schools
Trust Fund and Foundation Aid Stabilization Fund.

* 20% to the Southwest Water Pipeline Sinking Fund
and to a Resources Trust Fund. Principal and income
from the Resources Trust Fund may be expended only
pursuant to legislative appropriation and are available
for water and certain energy related projects.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

0il And Gas Gross Production Tax

Significant Changes In Law

1953 Session. The gross production tax was imposed at a
rate of 4%4% of gross value at the well.

1957 Session. The rate was increased from 4% to 5%
and the revenue distribution formula was adjusted.

1981 Session. The revenue distribution formula was
amended.

1983 Session. Monthly rather than quarterly remittance
was required, and the maximum distributions to the coun-
ties was increased.

1985 Session. Oil reclaimed from tank bottoms and pit oil
material has value for tax purposes only if a cash price is
paid by the oil reclaimer.

1989 Session. The law was changed to specifically
state the gross production tax is a real property tax. The
revenue distribution formula was amended, effective
July 1, 1991 to allocate 33 1/3 % of the first one-fifth
portion to the Oil and Gas Impact Grant Fund.

1991 Session. The tax on gas was changed from 5%

of gross value to an annually adjusted flat rate per mcf.
Procedures were provided for determining gross value at
the well of oil under arm’s length and non-arm’s length
contracts. The legislature approved the Taxpayer Bill of
Rights.

1993 Session. The interest accrual period was changed on
tax refunds for periods after June 30, 1993. Interest begins
to accrue 60 days after the due date of the return, after the
return was filed, or after the tax was fully paid, whichever
occurs later. Tax from undetermined sources will be
allocated between the State General Fund and the county
that received the least amount of revenue during the fiscal

year.

1997 Session. The periods for assessment or refund

run from the due date of the original return or the date
the original return was filed whichever is later. The Tax
Commissioner has two years after an amended return is
filed to audit that return and assess any additional tax that
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is due. The Tax Commissioner has authority to require
purchasers to file monthly reports by electronic data
interchange or other form of electronic media and can
waive the producer's requirement to file a monthly return.
Authorized the use of alternative methods for signing,
subscribing, or verifying a return filed by electronic means,
including telecommunications. A permanent oil tax trust
fund was established for the deposit of oil extraction

and gross production tax revenues which exceed specific
amounts in a biennium.

1999 Session. The legislature changed the manner in
which unallocated oil and gas gross production taxes
collected from unidentified sources is distributed.
Previously, the unallocated taxes were distributed to

the county with the lowest total gross production tax
distribution for the fiscal year. After June 30, 1999, the
unallocated taxes will be distributed to each county in the
same proportion as total gross production tax allocations
for the fiscal year.

Qil Extraction Tax

Significant Changes in Law

1980 Initiated Measure. Voters in the 1980 General
Election passed an initiated measure creating the 6%

oil extraction tax. The revenue distribution formula was:
45% to the State General Fund, 45% to schools, and 10%
to the trust fund. The measure also included an individual
income tax energy cost relief credit.

1981 Session. The legislature amended the distribution
formula.

1983 Session. The distribution formula was changed.
Filing requirements were changed from a quarterly to a
monthly basis.

1987 Session. An exemption for the first 15 months of
production from a new well (drilled and completed after
April 27, 1987) was provided. The rate was reduced from
6% to 4% for a new well after the 15-month exemption
and for production from a qualifying secondary or

tertiary recovery project well. These incentives would be
eliminated if the average crude oil price is $33 or more per
barrel. The legislature repealed the exemption for private
royalty interest and expanded the stripper well definition
to allow more marginal wells to qualify for an exemption.

1989 Session. A 12-month exemption was provided for
production from a qualifying well after completion of a
workover project. This incentive is subject to the “trigger.”

1991 Session. An exemption was created for incremental
oil from a qualifying secondary or tertiary recovery
project. A June 30, 1995 sunset was placed on certification
of secondary projects. After the expiration of the exempt
period, the incremental oil would be eligible for the 4%
reduced rate. The reduced rate incentive is subject to the
“trigger.” The “trigger” was amended to reinstate the
reduced rates and exemptions if the average crude oil price
falls below $33 per barrel.

1993 Session. The workover exemption was amended to
eliminate the $30,000 minimum project cost requirement
and a 4% reduced rate was adopted for oil produced from
wells which receive the workover exemption after June 30,
1993.

1995 Session. The stripper well definition was broadened
from 20 to 30 barrels per day for wells over 10,000 feet
deep. The exemption for a horizontal new well was
increased from 15 to 24 months and a 9-month exemption
was created for a horizontal reentry well. A 10-year
exemption was created for oil from a two-year inactive
well. To get the full benefit of an exemption or the 4%
reduced rate, producers were given an 18-month period to
file the Industrial Commission’s certification of well status
with the Tax Commissioner. For secondary recovery
projects, the sunset for certification was removed. The
revenue distribution formula was changed.

1997 Session. A 60-month exemption was created for
production from a well drilled and completed on an Indian
reservation or on tribal trust land after July 31, 1997.
Previous legislation was amended to keep the current
distribution factors at the current percentages.

2001 Session. The "trigger" provision for exemptions
and rate reductions was amended to clarify when the
trigger was to be become effective. All rate reductions
and exemptions subject to the trigger provision become
ineffective if the average price of a barrel of crude

oil exceeds the trigger price for each month in any
consecutive five-month period. The reduced rates and
exemptions are reinstated if the average price falls below
the trigger price for each month in any consecutive five-
month period. Average price is defined as the monthly
average of the daily closing price for a barrel of west
Texas intermediate Cushing crude oil minus two dollars
and fifty cents. Trigger price is defined as thirty-five
dollars and fifty cents, as indexed for inflation.
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2003 Session. An oil and gas research council was
created and an oil and gas research fund was established
with a continuing appropriation provided. A temporary
exemption from gross production tax was provided for gas
produced from shallow gas wells with an expiration date
of June 30, 2007. The two-year inactive well exemption
was amended to clarify the definition of a two-year
inactive well and to provide an 18 month provision to
qualify the well for an exemption to be consistent with

other oil extraction tax exemptions. The work-over well
exemption was amended to remove the requirement that a
notice of intention must be filed before a work-over project
is commenced to qualify for an exemption.

2005 Session. The legislature provided for a sales and use
tax exemption for carbon dioxide used for the enhanced
recovery of oil or natural gas.

Oil and Gas Taxes Distribution Formula Changes

S—

Gross Production Tax

State Counties Maximum County
Amount
Oil & Gas Road County Population
Impact Total and 3,000
General Grant County School ~ Bridge General | Under to Over
Increments Fund Fund % Cities  Districts  Fund Fund 3,000 6,000 6,000
1957 Session First 1/5: oo 100%
Remaining 4/5:
1st $200,000.... 25% 75%
2nd $200,000 .. 50% 50% 15% 45% 40%
3rd $400,000... 75% 25%
1981 Session First 1/5: oo 100%
Remaining 4/5: FY-1982
Ist $ Million................ 25% 75% $32M $35M $40M
2nd $ Million .............. 50% 50% 20% 35% 45% FY-1983
Over $2 Million .......... 75% 25% $3.8M $4.0M $45M
1983 Session $3OM S$41M $46M
1989 Session First 1/5: 66 2/3% © 331/3% @

@ For the 1981-83 biennium only, the legislature provided that up to $32 million of the 1/5 State General Fund share be distributed to the Highway Tax Distribution
Fund and to township road and bridge funds.

@ Up to a maximum of $5 million per biennium. The remainder is deposited in the State General Fund.

@ Total oil collections to the State general fund are capped at $71 million per biennium. All revenue in excess of $71 million is transferred at the end of each biennium
to the Permanent Oil Trust Fund.

Oil Extraction Tax

State General Fund Education Funds Water Pipeline & Trust Fund

1980 Measure #6 45% 45% 10%
1981 Session 30% 60% 10%
1983 Session 90% 10%
1995 Session:

FY 1996 and 1997 60% 20% 20%

After FY 1997 70% 20% 10%
1997 Session:

After FY 1997 60% O 20% 20%

(

Total oil collections to the State general fund are capped at $71 million per biennium. All revenue in excess of $71 million is transferred at the end of each biennium
to the Permanent Oil Trust Fund.
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Oil and Gas Gross Production Tax Revenue

Fiscal Year

1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
*2006
*2007 est.

Total

Net Collections

26,905,996
34,772,117
29,521,309
22,705,995
38,041,008
46,029,027
36,515,072
43,477,533
47,519,075
74,046,219
104,378,689
116,789,000

State

General Fund

13,550,184
19,054,995
15,744,740
11,228,673
21,062,999
17,370,366
20,530,727
24,985,793
28,256,440
49,629,401
45,774,119

-0-

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Comparative Statement of Collections

* Oil and Gas Gross Production tax and oil extraction taxes revenues have a statutory cap of $71 million in
distributions to the State General Fund during the 2005-07 biennium. That cap was reached in FY 2006.

Oil Extraction Tax Revenue

— |

Fiscal Year

1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
*2006
*2007 est.

Total

Net Collections

16,467,484
19,079,936
15,328,212
12,074,588
21,023,977
24,793,997
17,068,846
22,618,069
25,638,914
45,566,628
61,767,934
121,874,000

State

General Fund

10,446,662
11,540,993
9,373,218
7,329,895
12,321,301
10,853,065
10,466,737
13,587,968
15,291,025
27,301,469
25,225,881
-0-

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Comparative Statement of Collections
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Trends in Oil and Gas Tax Collections

S—

Millions
of Dollars
180 . Gross Production Tax
,_l + -
160 | Oil Extraction Tax 613
140
120
100 45.6
104.4
80
60 [24.8] 227 74.0
19.1 17.1
40
12.1 36.5 47.5
34.8 205 38.0 43.5
20 - 22.7
0 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006
Fiscal Years
SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Comparative Statement of Collections.
North Dakota Oil Statistics
Monthly Production and Tesoro Field Price for Sweet Crude
P . 1996-2005
roduction .
Million
Barrels Price
60 $60
50 /’ $50
/ 40
40 Production $
30 $30
20 $20
10 $10
0 $0
Calendar Years 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005
Price h g 19.42 17.43 10.47 15.09 25.78 21.00 21.18 25.97 35.83 51.09
Production 323 35.8 35.6 329 32.7 31.7 30.8 29.2 31.1 35.5
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Oil Taxes in the 14 Major Oil Producing States
September 2006

Annual Production
(Million Barrels)
Severance or Local
Gross Production | Ad Valorem Taxes | Misc.
State Tax Rate Effective Rate Taxes Total Taxes 2000 2002 2004
Alaska O 0% to 15.0% * 0% - 15.0% 355.2 3593 332.5
California 1% 1% 271.1 258 240
Colorado 2% to 5% 4% to 10% 0.14% 7.14% 18.5 17.7 22.1
Kansas © 4.33% 3.67% 8% 34.5 32.7 339
Louisiana 3.125% to 12.5% * 3.125% - 12.5% 105.4 93.5 83.4
Michigan 4% t0 6.6% * 6.6% 7.9 7.2 6.4
Mississippi 0% to 6.0% * 0% - 6.0% 19.8 18 17.2
Montana ® 0.76% to 15.06% 0.76% - 15.06% 154 16.9 24.7
New Mexico 0% to 3.75% 1.18% 3.34% 4.52% -8.27% 67.2 67 64.2
NORTH DAKOTA® | 5.0%, 9.0%, or 11.5% * 5% -11.5% 32.7 31 31.2
Oklahoma 0% to 7.0% * 7% 70.0 66.6 62.5
South Dakota 4.5% .24% 4.74% 1.2 1.2 1.4
Texas @ 0% to 4.6% 4% to 5% 5 cent 4.0% - 10.% plus 443 .4 412 392.9
per bbl. Y cent per bbl.
Utah @ © 0%, 3.0% or 5.0% 4% to 5% 0.2% 0% - 5%% + ad valorem 15.6 13.7 14.6
(4%-5%)
Wyoming 2% to0 6.0% 6.7% 8.7% - 12.7% 60.7 54.7 51.6

*  Severance (or gross production) tax is in lieu of local property taxes on the oil.

M Alaska's nominal rate of 15.0% (12.25% for the first five years for new fields) is reduced for each field by an "economic limit factor"
determined by the field's total average daily production and its average daily production per well. Lower production fields have lower
rates.

@ Montana's tax rates vary based on the type of well, when the well was drilled, and whether the taxpayer has a working or non-working
interest. A portion of the production tax is allocated back to local governments in lieu of property taxes.

®  Texas and Utah have property taxes on oil properties but it was not possible for local authorities to estimate an effective percentage
rate.

North Dakota, has a gross production tax rate of 5% with no exemptions and oil extraction tax rates of 0.0%, 4.0% and 6.5%.

) Kansas has an 8.0% severance tax but allows a credit of up to 3.67% for property taxes paid on oil properties. The severance tax is based
on value. Actual rate paid after credit is 4.33%.

©  Utah's severance tax is 3% on the first $13 per barrel and 5% on any amount over $13 per barrel.

™ Colorado has a 2% to 5% severance tax but allows 87/2% of local property taxes as a credit against the tax. Since property taxes average
about 7% this credit generally eliminates the severance tax liability.

SOURCE: Survey of states conducted by North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Oil and Gas Section, September 2006.
Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission and the Dept. of Energy.
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OIL TAXES IN OTHER STATES

Alaska

Alaska's nominal oil severance tax rate is 15%. Each field,
however, has what is termed an “Economic Limit Factor”
(ELF) which is determined as follows:

(1-[PEL/TP]) exp ([150,000/TP/Days)] exp [460 X WD)/
PEL))

where:

PEL = the monthly production rate at the economic limit;

TP = the total production during the month for which the
tax is to be paid;

WD = the total number of well days in the month for
which tax is to be paid,

Days = the number of days in the month for which the tax is
to be paid; and

exp = exponent.

The ELF is taken times 15% to determine the effective
percentage applied to the production value from the

field. For example, a field with an average total daily

field production of 100,000 barrels and an average daily
production of 1,200 barrels per well would have an ELF of
.75 1862 and an effective severance tax rate of 8.78%.

A minimum tax of 80¢ per barrel on API 27° oil times the
ELF can come into play in times when the price is very
low. It is adjusted for each degree difference by $.005/bbl.

Incentives. For the first five years of commercial
production, the effective rate is determined by taking the
ELF times a nominal rate of 12.25% rather than 15%.
Currently, the average nominal rate for oil produced on
the North Slope is 14.3% with an average ELF of 0.63,
yielding an average effective rate of about 8.98%.

Oil reserves are not subject to ad valorem property taxes
in Alaska. Effective in 1994, producers are subject to

two separate surcharges of 2¢ and 3¢ per barrel. The

2¢ surcharge was suspended in April 1995, when the
conservation fund it supports reached $50 million. The 2¢
surcharge will be reimposed when the fund drops below
$50 million.

California

California levies ad valorem taxes on real property,
including mineral properties. Values are determined and
assessed at the county governmental level. The statutory
tax rate is 1%, but is subject to increases based on needs
to retire voter approved debt. In fiscal year 2000-2001 the
rate varied from 1.000 to 1.166 percent. Values are based
on an adjusted acquisition value or the current market
value, which ever is lower. Adjustments to acquisition
value are made for depletion and increases in reserves and
added or removed improvements.

There are no statewide severance taxes levied in
California. Some local municipalities levee a severance
tax. A nominal per barrel fee is collected to fund the
Department of Conservation, Division of Oil, Gas &
Geothermal Resources. For fiscal year 2006-2007 the fee
was $0.061889 per barrel of oil or ten thousand cubic feet
of gas.

Colorado

Colorado has a 2% to 5% severance tax but allows 87.5%
of local property taxes as a credit against the tax. Since
property taxes average about 7%, this credit generally
eliminates the severance tax liability.

A conservation tax of 0.14% is administered by the Oil and
Gas Conservation Commission.

Kansas

Kansas levies an 8% value-based severance tax but all

oil properties receive a 3.67% credit for property taxes
paid. The net severance tax rate for all taxable production
is 4.33%. “Minimum production” (stripper) wells are
exempt but eligibility is based on the depth of the well
and the spot price of crude oil. Effective May 1, 2000,
wells under 2,000 feet must have five barrels per day of
production or less, while deeper wells may have six barrels
per day or less, depending on the price. (If the well is
using waterflood, the required barrels per day are adjusted
to six and seven, respectively.) Stripper status is granted to
wells with higher daily production in times of lower price.
All tertiary recovery oil is eligible for an exemption.
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Kansas also levies a volume-based 5.47% conservation fee
administered by the Kansas Corporate Commission.

Incentives. A “new pool” incentive provision exempts oil
from newly discovered pools for a period ending two years
after the pool was discovered.

A tax exemption is also available for wells that have
completed production enhancement projects or were new
discoveries using three-dimensional seismic studies. The
tax exemption is good for 7 years but is dependent on the
price of oil in the previous calendar year.

Louisiana

A 12.5% severance tax is levied in lieu of all other taxes,
including ad valorem taxes, on the oil and condensate
production. Stripper wells (those with production of

10 barrels per day or less) are taxed at 3.125%, while
“incapable” wells (those producing between 10 and 25
barrels per day and having at least a 50% S & W) are taxed
at 6.25%. Tertiary recovery wells are exempt from sever-
ance tax until the tertiary project reaches payout.

Louisiana also levies an “oil field site restoration fee” of
1¢ per barrel. The fee is reduced to 0.5¢ per barrel for
incapable wells and 0.25¢ per barrel for stripper wells.

An "oil spill contingency fee" of 2¢ per barrel is levied on
crude oil loaded or off loaded at a marine terminal facility
in Louisiana waters. This fee is collected and remitted by
the marine terminal operator.

Incentives. Oil production from certified deep wells and
horizontal wells is exempt from severance tax for a period
of two years or until payout of well costs, whichever
occurs first. Oil production from certified wells is exempt
for any month in which the gross value is below $20 per
barrel.

Michigan

Michigan levies a severance tax of 6.6% on oil and 5.5%
on gas based on the gross cash market at the place where
production was severed from the soil. Michigan also
levies an oil and gas maintenance fee that is used for
monitoring wells. This fee changes from year to year and
is .34% for fiscal year ending September 30, 2002.

Incentives. Michigan offers a reduced rate of 4% for oil
produced from stripper wells and marginal properties.

Mississippi

Mississippi levies a 6% severance tax on the value of
production at the mouth of the well. A maintenance tax of
4.4¢ per barrel is administered by the Oil & Gas Board.

Incentives. Beginning April 1, 1994, wells that use an
approved Enhanced Oil Recovery method receive a 3%
reduced rate.

Montana

Tax rates vary by type of production, by the date the well
was drilled, and for working interests and non-working
interests. The following is a summary of the tax rates
effective January 2, 2000.

Working Non-Working
Interest Interest
* Primary Recovery Production
First 12 months 0.76% 15.06%
Pre-1999 Well 12.76% 15.06%
Post-1999 Well 9.26% 15.06%
» Stripper Production”
Pre-1999 Wells
First 1-10 barrels 5.76% 15.06%
Over 10 barrels 9.26% 15.06%
Stripper well exemption 0.76% 15.06%
» Horizontally Drilled Wells
First 18 months 0.76% 15.06%
Pre-1999 after 18 months 12.76% 15.06%
Post-1999 after 18 months 9.26% 15.06%
 Incremental Production ?
Secondary Production 8.76% 15.06%
Tertiary Production 6.06% 15.06%
* Horizontally Recompleted
First 18 months 5.76% 15.06%
Pre-1999 after 18 months  12.76% 15.06%
Post-1999 after 18 months  9.26% 15.06%

(1

Stripper oil is oil produced from any well that produced
less than 10 barrels a day for the calendar year immediately
preceding the current year.

@

This is the volume of oil in excess of the production decline
curve as approved by the Board of Oil and Gas Conservation.
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New Mexico

New Mexico levies four tax types on the value of oil. An
intergovernmental production tax credit of 75% of the
lesser of the state tax rate or the Native American tax

rate on the value of new production severed within the
boundaries of Native American tribal land is given to each
tax type.

Severance Tax: 3.75% of value of oil. Incentives include
1.875% on qualified enhanced recovery projects, 2.45%
on qualified workover wells, and variable rates on stripper
properties. A 10-year exemption is given to qualified
production restoration projects.

Most of the incentives (well workover, production
restoration, and enhanced oil recovery) are tied to posted
prices of WTI crude and subject to an exemption sunset
based on a statutory price threshold. These incentives
have now been subjected to the sunset provisions through
April 2005. Similarly, the stripper incentive has been
subject to the statutory sunset provisions based on reported
prices since 2001 and currently the incentive will not apply
until at least April 2005.

Emergency School Tax: 3.15% of value of oil with
variable rates on stripper properties.

Conservation Tax: 0.19% of the value of oil.

Ad Valorem Production Tax: Rates vary and are
established by producing counties and school districts and
are effective each September.

A Tribal Capital Improvements Credit of seven-tenths of
one percent is available for products subject to the oil and
gas emergency school tax and severed from qualifying
wells located on Jicarilla Apache tribal land.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Gross Production Tax is a severance tax

that is in lieu of Ad Valorem Tax and is levied upon the
production of oil and natural gas produced in Oklahoma.
The tax dates back to 1910 when the rate was 0.5% of

the gross value of the product produced. Today the gross
production tax rate is a variable rate tax based on the
monthly average price of both oil and gas as determined by
the Oklahoma Tax Commission.

Oil
The Gross Production Tax rate on oil is as follows:

 If the average price of Oklahoma oil equals or exceeds
Seventeen Dollars ($17.00) per barrel, the tax shall be
seven percent (7%) of the gross value.

 If the average price of Oklahoma oil is less than
Seventeen Dollars ($17.00) but is equal to or exceeds
Fourteen Dollars ($14.00) per barrel, then the tax shall
be four percent (4%) of the gross value.

 If the average price of Oklahoma oil is less than
Fourteen Dollars ($14.00) per barrel, then the tax shall
be one percent (1%) of the gross value.

Gas
The Gross Production Tax rate on gas is as follows:

 If the average price of Oklahoma gas equals or exceeds
Two Dollars and Ten Cents ($2.10) per mcf, the tax
shall be seven percent (7%) of the gross value.

 If the average price of Oklahoma gas is less than Two
Dollars and Ten Cents ($2.10) but is equal to or exceeds
One Dollar and Seventy Five Cents ($1.75) per mcf,
then the tax shall be four percent (4%) of the gross
value.

 If the average price of Oklahoma gas is less than One
Dollar and Seventy-Five Cents ($1.75) per mcf, then the
tax shall be one percent (1%) of the gross value.

Oklahoma also levies a Petroleum Excise Tax on the
production of oil and gas equal to ninety-five one
thousandths of one percent (.095 of 1%) of the gross value
of the product.

Gross Production Incentive Rebates. In an effort to
sustain the existing production of oil and gas in Oklahoma
and encourage the drilling of new wells, legislation was
enacted in 1994 that exempts the Gross Production Tax
levied on oil and gas produced from certain wells. The
exemption is equal to 6/7ths of the 7% Gross Production
Tax and is rebated back to producers of qualified wells.
Producers are eligible to file claims for refund on a July
through June fiscal year basis.

Wells qualifying for the exemption are as follows:
» Horizontally Drilled Wells,

* The reestablished production of a well that was non-
productive for one year,
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¢ Production enhancements such as workovers and
recompletions,

*  Wells drilled and completed at a depth of 12,500 feet or
greater,

*  Wells classified as "New Discovery",

*  Wells meeting the criteria as being "Economically at
Risk", and

*  Wells that are drilled and completed based on 3-D
seismic technology.

South Dakota

South Dakota levies a 4.5% oil severance tax and a .24%
conservation tax. The tax is determined by multiplying
the tax rate times the taxable value less an rental or royalty
payment applicable to the United States or the State of
South Dakota and its political subdivisions. The taxable
value is the posted field price per unit at the point of
production.

Texas

Texas levies a 4.6% severance tax on the value of oil
produced. This tax is reduced to 2.3% or to 0.00% if the
oil qualifies for certain tax incentives. Oil properties in
Texas are also subject to normal property taxes and to a
3/16 of a cent per barrel "regulatory tax," as well as a
regulatory fee of 5/16 of a cent ($0.003125) per barrel for
report periods prior to September 2001 and 5/8 of a cent
($0.00625) per barrel for report periods September 2001
and later.

Incentives. Oil produced from Enhanced Oil Recovery
(EOR) projects is taxed at 2.3% of the market value. Oil
produced from well bores certified by the Texas Railroad
Commission as 2-year or 3-year inactive well bores is
exempt from the tax for 10 years. Wells that produce an
average of 7 or less barrels of oil equivalent (BOE) a day
are eligible for an exemption if the operator implements
incremental production procedures to increase the
production. The production procedure could be primary,
secondary, or tertiary methods. If a primary production
technique is used, it must involve an expenditure of at least
$5,000. The incremental production is taxed at 2.3% for
5 years. The exemption is active as long as the price of
oil, according to Comptroller records remains below $25
per barrel (adjusted to 1997 dollars). Baseline production
is taxed at 4.6% of market value. The exemption is

suspended if the price reaches $25 or above for three
consecutive months and will be reinstated if the adjusted
price falls below $25 per barrel for three consecutive
months. Oil from Co-Production projects is taxed at 2.3%
of market value. Oil producd from wells certified under
the Texas Experimental Research and Recovery Activity
(TERRA) program is exempt from the tax.

Producers are eligible for a production tax credit for crude
oil from low producing wells ranging from 100% if the
average price is $22 or less to 0% if the average price is
more than $30 per barrel. A certified orphan well put back
in production is eligible for a 100% exemption from the oil
production tax and the oilfield cleanup fee. Producers are
eligible for a tax credit for marginal oil wells when they
purchase and install enhanced efficiency equipment that
reduces energy use by 10 percent.

Utah

Utah levies a severance tax of 3% on the first $13 per
barrel and 5% on any amount over $13 per barrel. This tax
is in addition to a normal ad valorem tax on the reserves
and a 0.2% conservation tax. Stripper wells, defined as
wells that produce 20 barrels per day or less, are exempt
from the severance tax.

Incentives. Utah allows an annual exemption of $50,000.
In addition, the first six months’ production from any new
development well and the first 12 months’ production

from any new development well and the first 12 months'
production from any new wildcat well are exempt from

the tax. All transportation and processing costs can be
deducted from value to determine taxable value. There is a
50% tax rate reduction on incremental production achieved
from any enhanced recovery project. New workover

or recompletion projects receive a 20% tax credit, up to
$30,000 per well.

Wyoming

A severance tax is levied at 6% of the value of the oil
produced. Stripper wells and tertiary recovery projects are
eligible for a reduced tax rate of 4%. For tertiary projects,
the reduced rate is good for five years and applies to
production over an established “base level.”

The tertiary project must have been certified after

March 31, 2003, and before March 31, 2008, and the
reduced tertiary rate is no longer allowed in months when
the price per barrel equals or exceeds $27.50.
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An ad valorem tax is levied on the same value as that used
for severance tax purposes but is collected by the counties
and based on the applicable local mill rates. Currently, the
ad valorem taxes average about 6.7% of the value of the
oil produced.

Incentives. Wyoming grants the reduced rate of 2% on
the first 60 barrels per day from new wells for 24 months
and all incremental oil from workovers and recompletions.
New wells must be drilled between July 1, 1993 and

March 31, 2003. Workovers or recompletions must be
performed between July 1, 1993 and March 31, 2001. In
the case of new oil wells, the incentive is canceled if the
average price of oil is equal to or exceeds $22 per barrel
for the preceding six (6) month period of time.

Oil produced from previously shut in wells is subject to

a reduced severance tax rate of 1.5% for five years from
the date of first renewed production. Wells must have had
no production for two years prior to January 1, 1995. This
incentive is canceled if the average price of oil exceeds
$25 per barrel for six straight months.

Western Oil and Gas Producing States
Average Annual Rig Activity
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SOURCE: Hughes rig count (annual average). These states have similar geographical formations and similar technologies are used in oil

production.
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COAL TAXES

Coal Severance Tax

CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rate and Administration

The coal severance tax is imposed on the act of removing
coal from the earth. The tax is in lieu of both the sales and
use taxes on coal and the property tax on minerals in the
earth. The coal severance tax applies to all coal severed for
sale or industrial purposes, except: coal used for heating
buildings in the state, coal used by the state or any political
subdivision of the state, and coal used in agricultural
processing and sugar beet refining plants in the state or
adjacent states.

The tax is applied at a flat rate of 37.5 cents per ton. An
additional 2-cent per ton tax is levied for the Lignite
Research Fund.

A 50% reduction in the 37.5-cent tax is allowed for

coal burned in a cogeneration facility designed to use
renewable resources to generate 10% or more of its energy
output.

Counties may grant a partial or complete exemption from
the counties’ 70% portion of the 37.5-cent tax for coal that
is shipped out of state.

Payments of the tax are made monthly by the owner or
operator of the mine.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the 37.5-cent per ton severance tax is
deposited in the Coal Development Fund and is distributed
as follows:

* 30% to a permanent, constitutional trust fund
administered by the Board of University and School
Lands. The trust fund is used to supply loans to
school districts for school construction and loans to
cities, counties and school districts impacted by coal
development. Investment income from the trust fund
is first used to replace uncollectible loans made from
the fund, and the balance is deposited in the State
General Fund. Seventy percent of the tax collected and
deposited in the permanent trust fund must be deposited
in the lignite research fund.

* 70% among the coal producing counties according to
the amount of coal each county produces. Revenue
allotted to each county is further apportioned as follows:
40% to the county general fund; 30% to the cities
within the county; and 30% to the school districts. Also,
a nonproducing county within 15 miles of a currently
active coal mine, and a city or school district in that
county and within 15 miles of the mine, are entitled to
a share of the coal producing county’s severance tax
revenue from that particular mine. The amount of coal
production on which a county has to share its severance
tax revenue with another county during a calendar year
is limited to 3,400,000 tons.

Revenue from the additional 2-cent per ton tax is deposited
into the Lignite Research Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1975 Session. The legislature first enacted the severance
tax on coal mined in the state at a base rate of 50 cents
per ton and increasing 1 cent per ton for each three-point
increase in the Wholesale Price Index. The revenue
distribution formula during the 1975-77 biennium was as
follows: 30% to the State General Fund, 30% to a special
trust fund administered by the State Land Board, 35% to a
special fund for grants to impacted political subdivisions,
and 5% to coal producing counties.

1977 Session. The rate was amended to 65 cents per

ton and the escalator clause was modified increasing

the rate 1 cent per ton for every one-point increase in

the Wholesale Price Index (Producer Price Index). This
change resulted in an increase in the rate from 56 cents per
ton to 65 cents per ton, effective July 1, 1977. The share of
revenue allocated to coal producing counties was increased
from 5% to 20%, while the portion allocated to the trust
fund was decreased from 30% to 15%. The State General
Fund share remained 30% and the allocation for grants to
impacted political subdivisions remained 35%.
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1979 Session. The base rate became 85 cents per ton and
the escalator was amended to provide for a 1-cent increase
for every four-point increase in the Wholesale Price Index
(Producer Price Index). This modification resulted in a
reduction in the coal severance tax from 97 cents per ton to
85 cents per ton.

1981 Session. Exemptions were created for coal used by
the state or any of its political subdivisions and for coal
used for heating buildings within the state. As a result, coal
used for heating purposes became subject to sales tax.

1983 Session. Filing requirements for coal mine owners
or operators were changed from a quarterly to a monthly
basis.

1985 Session. An exemption was created for coal used in
agricultural processing or sugar beet refining plants within
North Dakota or in adjacent states. A 50% reduction in
the tax rate was created for coal burned in a cogeneration
facility designed to use renewable resources to generate
10% or more of its energy output.

1987 Session. The base rate was reduced to 75 cents
per ton and the escalator clause was eliminated. Prior to
the change, the escalator had resulted in a rate of $1.04
per ton. In addition, for the period July 1, 1987, through
June 30, 1989, the legislature enacted an additional tax
of 2 cents per ton and dedicated the revenue for lignite
research. Distribution of the 75 cent tax was changed as
follows: the State General Fund portion was increased
from 30% to 50%, the counties’ share was increased
from 20% to 35%, the trust fund allocation remained at
15%, and the 35% share previously allocated for grants to
impacted political subdivisions was eliminated.

1989 Session. The 2-cent per ton tax for lignite research
was made a permanent tax.

1990 Constitutional Amendment. Voters in the Primary
Election approved a constitutional amendment placed on
the ballot by the legislature to allow up to 50% of the taxes
collected and deposited in the trust fund during a biennium
to be appropriated by the legislature for lignite research,
development and marketing.

1991 Session. The legislature provided for 50% of

the taxes collected and deposited in the trust fund to

be appropriated by the legislature for lignite research,
development and marketing, in accordance with the 1990
constitutional amendment.

1993 Session. The legislature limited the amount of coal
production on which a coal producing county has to share
its severance tax with a nearby nonproducing county.
Loans for school construction was added to uses of the
trust fund. Coal which is shipped out of state after June
30, 1995 and before July 1, 2000 was made exempt from
the state’s 50% portion; counties may grant a partial or
complete exemption from the county’s 35% portion.

1994 Constitutional Amendment. Voters in the Primary
Election approved a constitutional amendment placed

on the ballot by the legislature to allow appropriations
from the trust fund for clean coal demonstration projects
approved by the North Dakota Industrial Commission and
the United States Department of Energy. [The Department
of Energy did not approve a clean coal demonstration
project in North Dakota.]

1995 Session. The legislature increased, from 50% to
70%, the amount of the taxes collected and deposited
in the trust fund during a biennium to be appropriated
by the legislature for lignite research, development and
marketing.

1997 Session. Effective July 1, 1999, the legislature
exempted coal burned in coal-fired boilers within North
Dakota or adjacent states in which the generation station
has a total capacity of not more than 210 megawatts from
50% of the 75-cent coal severance tax. A city, school
district, or the county commissioners of the county in
which the coal is mined may grant a partial or complete
exemption from their share of severance tax revenues. A
political subdivision that has granted an exemption from
all or part of its share of severance tax revenues must be
omitted from the allocation or have its allocation adjusted
to reflect the reduction it has granted.

1999 Session. The legislature repealed the exemption for
coal burned in small boilers, effective July 1, 2003.

2001 Session. The legislature reduced the 75-cent tax to
37.5 cents per ton and repealed the exemption for coal
burned in small boilers effective July 1, 2001. Distribution
of the 37.5-cent tax was changed to allocate 30 percent

to the coal development trust fund and 70 percent to the
counties. A county may grant a full or partial exemption
from its 70 percent share for coal shipped out of state.
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TAXATION OF COAL IN NEIGHBORING STATES

Montana

Montana levies the following taxes on surface mined coal:

¢ Coal Gross Proceeds Tax

A statewide 5% yearly flat tax is imposed on coal gross
proceeds. The gross proceeds of coal is determined by
multiplying the number of tons produced by the contract
sales price. One-half of the contract sales price of coal
sold by a coal producer who extracts less than 50,000
tons of coal in a calendar year is exempt from taxation.
This tax is collected at the county level.

¢ (Coal Severance Tax

Imposed on all coal mined in the state. Producers

of over 50,000 tons of coal per year pay a quarterly
severance tax on all production in excess of 20,000 tons.
Producers of under 50,000 tons per year are exempt
from the tax.

Tax rates depend on the heat content (BTU's per pound) of
the coal and the method of extraction. The value of coal
to which the severance tax is applied is the contract sales
price. Current tax rates:

Surface Mined Coal

Under 7,000 BTU's  10% of value
7,000 BTU's and over 15% of value

Incentives. Persons producing less than 50,000 tons of
coal in a year are exempt from severance tax. Persons
producing more than 50,000 tons of coal in a year are
exempt from severance tax on the first 20,000 tons
produced. One-half of the contract sales price of coal sold
by a coal producer who extracts less than 50,000 tons of
coal in a calendar year is exempt from taxation under the
gross proceeds tax.

Wyoming

Wyoming levies the following taxes on surface mined

coal:

* A severance tax of 7% of the mine mouth value to a
maximum of $.60 per ton. This is a lower base than is
used in Montana because Wyoming allows deductions
for costs, such as crushing and transportation to
market, that occur after the coal has been brought to the
mouth of the mine.

* A “gross products tax.” It is based on the same taxable
value as that used for severance tax purposes but is
collected by the counties and based on applicable local
mill rates. Average county mill rates for tax year 2005
range from 59.163 mills to 74.458 mills.

Incentives. A maximum severance tax rate of 60 cents per
ton applies on qualifying coal sales agreements. The cap
on coal severance tax only applies to a few coal contracts,
because most producers pay less than 60 cents at surface
coal mines.
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Coal Severance Tax Collections and Distribution

S—

Total State Land Board Lignite
Fiscal Year Collections General Fund Trust Fund Counties Research
1996 22,854,955 11,129,554 3,338,866 7,790,688 595,847
1997 22,915,612 11,160,152 3,348,046 7,812,107 595,307
1998 22,725,858 11,865,647 3,320,946 7,748,874 590,390
1999 23,582,059 11,482,232 3,446,153 8,041,024 612,649
2000 23,572,353 11,206,459 3,521,932 8,217,841 626,121
2001 23,095,487 10,967,395 3,454,203 8,059,808 614,081
2002 12,850,893 775,794 3,439,110 8,024,591 611,397
2003 12,202,063 0 3,475,271 8,108,966 617,826
2004 12,450,642 0 3,546,069 8,274,161 630,412
2005 11,458,156 0 3,263,399 7,614,597 580,160
2006 12,014,618 0 3,421,885 7,984,398 608,335
2007 est. 12,000,000 0 3,418,000 7,974,000 608,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner and State Treasurer's Office

County Breakdown - Coal Severance Tax Revenue
Fiscal Years 1995 and 2005
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R Bowman
6.9% Oliver
20.0%
McLean MecLean
Mercer 23.1% Mercoer 25.7%
53.9% 54.0%
Adams
and Williams Bowman
0.1% and Williams
0.3%
Vilion North Dakota Taxable Coal Production ]
1
35

31.65
2079 2977 2955 3093 3L16 3050 3055 3089 3Ll 59

30

25

20

E NN

1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005

Fiscal Years

_ 64 _ November 2006

North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner



Coal Conversion Tax

CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rate and Administration

The coal conversion facilities privilege tax is imposed on
the operator of a coal conversion facility for the privilege
of producing electricity or other products from coal
conversion plants. A coal conversion facility is defined as
(1) an electrical generating plant which has at least one
unit with a generating capacity of 10,000 kilowatts or more
of electricity, (2) a plant other than an electrical generating
plant which processes or converts coal and uses or is
designed to use over 500,000 tons of coal per year, or (3) a
coal beneficiation plant.

The coal conversion tax is in lieu of property taxes on the
plant itself, while the land on which the plant is located
remains subject to property tax. The tax is paid monthly.

Electrical Generating Plants. Electrical generating
plants, as defined above, are subject to two separate levies.

One levy is .65 mill times 60% of installed capacity
times the number of hours in the taxable period and the
other levy is .25 mill per kwh of electricity produced for
sale. Installed capacity means the rating shown on the
nameplate assigned to the turbine of the power unit.

Other Coal Conversion Plants. A coal gasification plant
is subject to a monthly tax measured by 13.5 cents per
thousand cubic feet of gas produced for sale or 4.1% of
gross receipts, whichever is greater. Plants converting
coal to products other than gas are taxed at 4.1% of gross
receipts. The tax rate for a coal beneficiation plant is 20
cents per ton of beneficiated coal produced for sale or
1Y% of gross receipts, whichever is greater.

Exemptions

Exemptions to the coal conversion tax are as follows:

* Synthetic natural gas produced in excess of 110 million
cubic feet per day.

* Income from byproducts of a coal gasification plant to a
maximum of 20% of gross receipts.

* Revenue derived from the sale and transportation of
carbon dioxide for use in the enhanced recovery of oil
or natural gas.

» Beneficiated coal produced in excess of 80% of plant
design capacity.

* A new coal-burning electrical generating plant is
exempt from the State General Fund portion of
both levies for five years. The county may grant an
exemption for up to five years from the county’s 15%
share of the levy on installed capacity.

* All new coal conversion plants other than electrical
generating plants are exempt from the State General
Fund portion (85%) of the tax for five years. The county
may grant a partial or complete exemption from the
county’s 15% share for up to five years.

Distribution of Revenue

Electrical Generating Plants. The revenue from the .25
mill levy on production is deposited in the State General
Fund. The revenue from the .65 mill levy on installed
capacity is distributed as follows:

* 85% to the State General Fund.

* 15% to the county in which the plant is located. The
amount distributed to each county is apportioned as
follows: 40% is deposited in the county general fund;
30% is divided among all incorporated cities in the
county according to population; and 30% is divided
among all school districts in the county on the basis of
average daily membership.

Other Coal Conversion Plants. Through December

31, 2009, the first $41,666.67 of revenue each month

is deposited in the State General Fund. The remaining

revenue is distributed as follows:

* 85% to the State General Fund.

* 15% to the county in which the plant is located. The
amount distributed to each county is apportioned as
follows: 40% is deposited in the county general fund;
30% is divided among all incorporated cities in the
county according to population; and 30% is divided
among all school districts in the county on the basis of
average daily membership.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1975 Session. The legislature enacted the privilege tax on
coal conversion facilities. The conversion tax on electrical
generating plants was levied at ¥ mill per kwh produced
for sale. The tax on all other coal conversion facilities
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was levied at 22% of gross receipts or 10 cents per mcf,
whichever was greater. The formula for allocation of
conversion tax revenue was dependent on the amount of
revenue generated from each county. As revenue from a
county increased, the percentage distributed to the State
General Fund increased and the percentage distributed to
the county decreased. The county share was apportioned
as follows: 40% to the county, 15% to cities, and 45% to
school districts.

1977 Session. The revenue distribution formula was
changed to 65% to the State General Fund and 35% to the
county. The allocation of the county share was changed
to 40% to the county, 30% to cities, and 30% to school
districts.

1983 Session. An additional % mill per kwh tax rate for
electrical plants was enacted. This change brought the
tax on electrical generating plants to %2 mill per kwh. The
revenue from the 4 mill increase was dedicated entirely
to the State General Fund. In addition, the legislature
changed filing requirements to a monthly rather than
quarterly basis.

1985 Session. The tax rate on coal gasification plants
constructed before July 1, 1985 was changed from 10 cents
to 15 cents per thousand cubic feet of gas produced for
sale, or 2}4% of gross receipts, whichever is greater. The
definition of gross receipts was changed to exclude any
financial assistance from the federal government. A five-
year exemption from part or all of the tax was added for
coal conversion facilities, other than electrical generating
plants, if the facility was constructed after July 1, 1985.

1987 Session. The tax rate on electrical generating plants
was changed from two separate %4 mill levies based on
production to one Y mill levy on 60% of installed capacity
times the number of hours in the taxable period and

one % mill levy on production. The tax rate on all coal
gasification plants was reduced to 7 cents per thousand
cubic feet of gas produced for sale, or 2%42% of gross
receipts, whichever is greater. Exemptions were enacted
for synthetic natural gas produced in excess of 110 million
cubic feet per day and for receipts from byproducts of

a coal gasification plant to a maximum of 20% of gross
receipts. Also, the five-year exemption for coal conversion
facilities other than electrical generating plants was made
effective from the date of first taxable production and the
reference to date of construction was eliminated.

1989 Session. A coal beneficiation plant was defined as a
coal conversion plant and subject to a tax of 20 cents per
ton or 1%% of gross receipts, whichever is greater. An
exemption was made for beneficiated coal produced in
excess of 80% of plant design capacity.

1991 Session. A five-year exemption from part or all
of the tax was created for new coal-burning, electrical
generating plants.

1997 Session. The legislature increased the exemption for
income from by-products of a coal gasification plant from
20% to 35% from January 1, 1997, through December

31, 2000. The exemption reverts to 20% after December
31, 2000. The legislature exempted revenue derived from
the sale and transportation of carbon dioxide for use in

the enhanced recovery of oil or natural gas, retroactive to
January 1, 1997.

2001 Session. The legislature amended the definition of a
coal conversion facility to include an electrical generating
plant that has at least one single unit with a capacity

of 10,000 kilowatts or more. The tax rate on installed
capacity increased to .65 mill times 60 percent of installed
capacity times the number of hours in the taxable period.
Distribution of the tax on installed capacity changed to
allocate 85 percent to the State General Fund and 15
percent to the county in which the plant is located. The tax
rate on synthetic natural gas increased to $.135 per 1,000
cubic feet. The tax rate on gross receipts changed from 2.5
percent to 4.1 percent. The first $41,666.67 each month
from a coal conversion facility other than an electrical
generating plant is deposited in the State General Fund.
The remainder is allocated 85 percent to the State General
Fund and 15 percent to the county in which the plant is
located. The legislature provided that the allocation of
coal conversion tax to each county may not be less in each
calendar year than it was in the immediately preceding
calendar year.

Any county which has a coal conversion facility that was
not a coal conversion facility before January 1, 2002, had
to receive for calendar year 2002 at least as much as that
facility paid in property taxes for taxable year 2001. For
subsequent years, that county must receive no less than

it received in the preceding calendar year. All amounts
received from that facility must be allocated in the same
manner property taxes for the facility were allocated for
taxable year 2001.

2005 Session. The legislature enacted the Coal
Conversion Facility Tax Reduction Act that provided a
five-year exemption for electrical generating plants that
complete repowering. "Repowering" was defined as an
investment of more than $200 million or $1 million per
megawatt of installed nameplate capacity, whichever is
less, in an existing power plant that modifies or replaces
the process used for converting lignite coal from its natural
form into electric power. In February 2006 the South
Central Judicial District Court found the Coal Conversion
Facility Tax Reduction Act unconstitutional.
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|Coa| Conversion Tax Collections and Distribution'

Distributed to State

Fiscal Year
1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006
2007 est.

Total

Collections

15,053,253
14,726,047
14,531,835
14,692,468
15,387,068
16,443,620
25,349,890
27,246,539
28,106,144
26,264,860
27,784,633
28,292,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner

12,170,245
11,894,536
11,790,623
11,996,168
12,490,737
13,181,432
22,552,708
24,342,549
24,432,816
22,764,015
24,042,047
24,480,000

General Fund

Distributed to

Counties
2,883,008
2,831,511
2,741,212
2,696,300
2,896,331
3,262,188
2,797,183
2,903,990
3,673,328
3,500,845
3,742,586
3,812,000

County Breakdown - Kilowatt Hours Produced

Fiscal Years

Subject to Coal Conversion Tax

McLean
29.2%

T

Morton
2.1%

Kilowatt Hours (KWH) Produced Subject to Coal Conversion Tax

Billion KWH

36
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28.24

28.76

29.47

29.61

29.19

30
26.25

24+

18

12+

1995

26.89

1996

26.44

1997

26.73

1998

28.02

1999

2000

2001

Fiscal Years

2002

2003

2004

2005
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PROPERTY TAXES

CURRENT LAW

LOCALLY ASSESSED PROPERTY

Imposition, Administration and Distribution of
Revenue

All real property, unless specifically exempted, is subject
to a property tax. A mobile home used as a residence or
business is subject to the tax if it is 27 or more feet long or
is attached to utility services.

The property tax is determined by multiplying the mill rate
times the taxable value of real property.

The county determines and collects the tax and distributes
the revenue to the county, cities, townships, school
districts, and other taxing districts. The tax is due January
1 of each year following the year of assessment and is
payable without penalty until March 1. A 5% discount is
allowed for taxes paid in full before February 15.

Mill Rates

Local mill rates are established to meet the revenue

needs of the taxing district. Each taxing district prepares

a proposed budget to determine the money needed to
provide services. After public hearings, the elected govern-
ing bodies adopt final budgets and certify tax levies (total
property taxes) to the county auditor. The tax levy may not
exceed the legal maximum. The only increases allowed
without voter or legislative approval are for property added
to the tax rolls. To determine the mill rate, the county
auditor divides the total property taxes to be collected for
each taxing district by the district’s total taxable value.

Taxable Value

Residential. The determination of taxable value begins
with the true and full value or market value of the property.
The true and full value of residential property is usually
established by the local assessor. The assessed value is
50% of the true and full value and the taxable value is 9%
of the assessed value.

Commercial. The true and full value of most commercial
property is established by the local assessor. The true and
full value of railroad, public utility, and airline property

is centrally determined by the State Board of Equaliza-
tion (see Centrally Assessed Property on page 71). The
assessed value is 50% of the true and full value and the
taxable value is 10% of the assessed value.

Agricultural. The true and full value of agricultural
property is based on productivity as established through
computations made by North Dakota State University

of the capitalized average annual gross return of the

land. This information is forwarded to the State Tax
Commissioner who certifies to the county directors

of tax equalization the estimated average true and full
agricultural value of farm and grazing land in each county.

The county tax directors use the certified estimates of

the county average agricultural values to determine

the average value of agricultural lands within each
assessment district in the county. This estimate is based
on the relative value of lands for each assessment district
compared to the county average. In determining the
relative value, the county tax directors are to use soil type
and soil classification data, wherever possible. In turn,
the average agricultural value of agricultural lands within
each assessment district is used by each local assessor to
determine the agricultural value of each assessment parcel
within the local district’s jurisdiction.

The assessed value of agricultural land is 50% of the true
and full value and the taxable value is 10% of the assessed
value.

Equalization Process. Equalization is a method required
by law to adjust assessments so that they are consistent
with market value or, in the case of agricultural land, the
value of agricultural productivity. Local assessments are
reviewed and equalized by either the Township Board of
Equalization on the second Monday in April or the City
Board of Equalization on the second Tuesday in April.

The Board of County Commissioners meets within the first
ten days of June to equalize among assessment districts
within the county. The State Board of Equalization has
the responsibility to equalize among counties and assess-
ment districts in a county and meets the second Tuesday in
August.
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Exemptions and Credits

Property tax exemptions and credits are listed below
according to type of property.

Residential Property:

* Personal property is exempt.

* A property tax exemption of up to five years is available
for the value added by rehabilitation or remodeling to
property which is 25 years old or older if the city or
county approves the exemption.

* Homes owned and occupied by persons who are blind
or disabled may be eligible for exemption or partial
exemption from property taxes, subject to annual
review.

* A geothermal, solar or wind energy system may qualify
for a five-year exemption.

* Qualifying new single-family residences and
condominiums may be exempt for two years, provided
the exemption is approved by the city or county. The
exemption is limited to a maximum of $75,000 of the
structure’s value.

* A single-family residence located in a Renaissance
Zone may be exempt for five years provided the city
approves the exemption.

* Homeowners who are 65 years of age or older or
who are certified as permanently and totally disabled
regardless of age may be entitled to certain property
tax credits under the homestead property tax credit
program. Qualifications include an annual income
of $14,500 or less (including Social Security and
pensions) and assets of $50,000 or less (excluding the
first $100,000 value of the homestead). A qualifying
homeowner may receive a credit to reduce the
property’s taxable value by up to $3,038. Applications
are filed with the local assessor.

* In addition, these homeowners may qualify for a
special assessment credit which becomes a lien
on the real property and must be repaid when the
property is transferred.

* Renters who are 65 years of age or older or who are
certified as permanently and totally disabled regardless
of age and who have an annual income from all sources
of $14,500 or less may be entitled to rent refunds under
the homestead property tax credit program. Those
who qualify may receive rent refunds of up to $240 if
20% of the rent they pay exceeds 4% of their income.
Renters apply to the Office of State Tax Commissioner
for this refund.

Commercial Property:
* A property tax exemption of up to five years and in

certain cases up to ten years is available to a qualifying
new or expanding business (see page 70, New Business
Exemption).

+ Personal property is exempt.

* An exemption of up to five years is available for the
value added to property by rehabilitation or remodeling
if the city or county approves the exemption.

* The portion of a building used primarily for licensed
day care is exempt if the city or county approves the
exemption.

 Fixtures, buildings, and improvements used primarily
as an adult care center are exempt upon approval by the
city or county.

» A geothermal, solar or wind energy system may qualify
for a five-year exemption.

* A cooperative or nonprofit organization that provides
water to its members and customers may be eligible for
an exemption for its buildings and structures.

* A public parking structure is eligible for an exemption.

* A pollution control improvement is exempt if the city or
county approves the exemption.

* A commercial building located in a Renaissance Zone
may be exempt for five years provided the city approves
the exemption.

Agricultural Property:
» Personal property is exempt.

» Farm structures are exempt if located on agricultural
land and used in operations normally associated with
farming and ranching. Farm residences are exempt
if located on 10 acres or more of agricultural land, if
occupied or used by a farmer who normally devotes the
major portion of time to farming operations, and if the
farmer receives not less than 50% of annual net income
from these operations in any one of the preceding three
years. The residence is not eligible if the farmer has
received more than $40,000 of non-farm income in each
of the three preceding years. The income requirements
apply to the combined income of the farmer and spouse.

* A qualifying wetland is exempt if the owner signs
an agreement to keep the property as wetland. If the
land is removed from wetland status, the landowner
must repay up to ten years of the taxes forgiven. This
exemption is available if funds are available for the
state to reimburse the political subdivisions for all
revenue losses.

» State-owned land leased for grazing or pasture purposes
is exempt. State-owned land leased for growing crops
is exempt if payments in lieu of property taxes are made
by the state.
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Other Property:

Property owned by a governmental unit is exempt.
Property owned and used exclusively for religious or
charitable purposes is exempt. Property owned by a
religious organization may retain its exemption if the
property is rented to a tax-exempt organization and no
profit is realized from the rent.

Property owned by a lodge, club, association or like
organization is exempt if the organization is nonprofit,
if the property is used for meeting and for conducting
business or ceremony, and if food or alcoholic
beverages are not sold for profit on the premises. This
property, however, is subject to taxation by cities for the
cost of fire protection services.

All property belonging to an educational institution and
not used for profit is exempt.

Property owned by a nonprofit corporation and used
for promoting athletic and educational needs at a state
educational institution is exempt.

All land used exclusively for burying grounds or
cemeteries is exempt.

Land belonging to a military organization and used as

a public park or monument ground and not for gain is
exempt.

Minerals in place in the earth are exempt if, at the time
of extraction, they are subject to either the oil and gas
gross production tax or the coal severance tax.

Property of Native Americans, where the title cannot be
transferred without the consent of the U.S. Secretary of
the Interior, is exempt.

Forested land may be eligible for a reduced property tax
rate of 50 cents per acre.

All property, including any possessory interest therein,
relating to waterworks, mains, water distribution
systems, sewage systems, and facilities for the
collection, treatment, purification and disposal in a
sanitary manner of sewage, leased to the state or any
agency or institution of the state, or to a private entity,
which property is operated by, or providing services to,
a municipality or other political subdivision is exempt.
All property, including any possessory interest therein,
belonging to the state or an agency or institution

of the state leased to a private entity pursuant to
N.D.C.C. § 54-01-02, which property is operated by, or
providing services to, the state or its citizens is exempt.
Property owned by the state and held under a lease

and any structure, fixture, or improvement located on
that property is not taxable to the leaseholder if the
structure, fixture, or improvement is used primarily for
athletic and educational purposes at any state institution
of higher education.

New Business Exemption

Parameters. Any new or expanding business project may
be granted a property tax exemption for up to five years.
Two extensions are available:

» Agricultural processors may be granted a partial or full
exemption for up to five additional years.

» A project which is located in property leased from a
governmental entity qualifies for an exemption for up
to five additional years upon annual application by the
project operator.

In addition to or instead of an exemption, local
governments and any project operator may negotiate
payments in lieu of property tax for a period of up to
20 years from the date project operations begin.

Qualifications. A qualifying “project” is any new or
expanded revenue-producing enterprise. All buildings,
structures or improvements used in or necessary to the
operation of the project qualify. The structure may be the
project’s building or the project’s quarters within a larger
building. An exemption may not be granted for land.

A project is not eligible for an exemption if the project
received a tax exemption under tax increment financing
or if the governing body determines the exemption fosters
unfair competition or endangers existing business.

Application Procedures. The project operator applies
to the city governing body if the project is located within

city boundaries. If the project is located outside city

boundaries, application is made to the county commission.

» The application must be made and approved before
construction of a new structure begins. If the project
will occupy an existing structure, application must be
made and approved before the structure is occupied.

» If the city or county governing body determines there
are local competitors, the project operator must publish
two notices in the official newspaper of the city or
county at least one week apart, and the last notice must
be published at least 15 days, but not more than 30
days, before the city or county considers the application.
For example, notices published one week apart on May
1 and May 8 are appropriate for a hearing scheduled
anytime between May 23 and June 7.

* The city or county governing body holds a public hear-
ing on the application.

» After the public hearing, the city or county governing
body acts on the application.
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CENTRALLY ASSESSED PROPERTY

Assessment Procedures

Assessments for property tax purposes of railroads,
investor-owned public utilities, and airlines are determined
by the State Board of Equalization. The assessed value

of centrally assessed property is 50% of the true and full
value and the taxable value is 10% of the assessed value
for all centrally assessed property except wind turbine
electric generation units with a nameplate generation
capacity of 100 kilowatts or more. Taxable value is 1.5
percent for units for which a purchased power agreement
was executed between April 30, 2005 and January 1, 2006,
and construction was begun between April 30, 2005, and
July 1, 2006. Taxable value is 3 percent for all other units
on which construction is completed before January 1,
2011. The taxable value of centrally assessed property is
subject to property taxes as discussed below for each type
of property.

Steps in the assessment process are as follows:

1. The company must file an annual report with the State
Tax Commissioner by May 1.

2. The State Tax Commissioner prepares a tentative
assessment by July 15.

3. Notice of tentative assessment is sent to the company
ten days prior to the State Board of Equalization
meeting.

4. The State Board of Equalization meets the first Tuesday
in August at the Office of State Tax Commissioner to
receive testimony on the value of centrally assessed
property and to make the assessments.

5. Following the action of the State Board of Equalization,
the State Tax Commissioner certifies the assessments to
the counties.

Airlines

A regularly scheduled airline serving North Dakota cities
pays a property tax computed by applying the average of
all mill levies in the municipalities served by regularly
scheduled airlines against the taxable valuation of an
airline’s operating real property located in North Dakota.

The Tax Commissioner collects the tax and the State
Treasurer distributes the revenue to the municipalities
in which the airline operates. The revenue is used
exclusively for airport purposes.

Public Utilities

Centrally assessed public utilities are investor-owned
power, gas and pipeline companies. The tax for
telecommunications carriers is discussed below. The
taxable value of a utility’s North Dakota real and personal
operating property is subject to the mill levies of the taxing
districts in which the property is located.

The tax is collected by the county and distributed to the
taxing districts within the county.

A 10-year exemption is allowed for pipelines carrying
CO, for use in enhanced recovery of oil or natural gas.
The state reimburses political subdivisions for the lost tax
revenue.

A transmission line of 230 kilovolts or larger, and its
associated transmission substations, initially placed in
service or substantially expanded on or after October 1,
2002, is exempt from property taxes for the first taxable
year. Subsequent years' taxes must be reduced by 75
percent for the second year, 50 percent for the third year,
and 25 percent for the fourth year. After the fourth year,
the transmission line and substations are exempt from
property taxes and are subject to a tax of $300 per mile.

Railroads

Railroad operating real property is taxed at the mill rates of
the taxing districts in which the property of the railroad is
located. The tax is collected by the county and distributed
to the various taxing districts within the county.

TAXES PAID IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES
Telecommunications Carriers

Telecommunications carriers are assessed a tax of 22%
of their adjusted gross receipts by the State Board of
Equalization. The gross receipts tax is paid annually to
the Tax Commissioner. The state allocates $8.4 million
annually to the counties for distribution to political
subdivisions. Revenue in excess of $8.4 million is
deposited in the state general fund.
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Rural Electric Cooperatives

Rural electric generation, transmission and distribution
cooperatives pay a gross receipts tax instead of a property
tax on all property except land, which is assessed locally.
The gross receipts tax is 1% during the first five years of
business and 2% thereafter. The tax is paid annually to
the county. The revenue is apportioned to each county
according to the miles of lines the cooperative has in the
county compared to its total miles of line and is distributed
to the taxing districts within the county.

Rural electric cooperatives which have at least one

unit with a generating capacity of 100,000 kilowatts or
more pay a transmission line tax of $225 per mile on
transmission lines of 230 kilovolts or more. This tax is
collected annually and the revenue is apportioned among
the counties in which the lines are located according to

the number of miles in each county. The revenue goes to
the county general fund. The tax on a transmission line

of 230 kilovolts or larger initially placed in service or
substantially expanded on or after October 1, 2002, is $300
per mile. The tax does not apply for the first taxable year.
The second year's taxes must be reduced by 75 percent, the
third year's taxes by 50 percent, and the fourth year's taxes
by 25 percent.

Coal Conversion Facilities

The coal conversion tax is in lieu of property taxes on
investor-owned or cooperative electrical generating plants
which have at least one unit with a generating capacity

of 10,000 kilowatts or more of electricity, other coal
conversion facilities consuming 500,000 tons or more of
coal per year, or coal beneficiation plants. (See page 65.)

Tourism or Concession License Fee

A license fee in lieu of property taxes is payable for state-
owned property leased from the Superintendent of the
State Historical Board or the Director of State Parks and
Recreation and used for tourism or concession purposes.
The fee is set by the superintendent or by the director and
is at least $1, but not more than 1% of the tenant’s gross
receipts. The tenant pays the license fee to the county
treasurer, who deposits the payment into the county
general fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

Before 1981. Prior to the 1981 Legislative Session, the
standard of value was market value, but property was
assessed at a fraction of its market value. By law, all real
property was in one class, but a de facto classification
system existed. Limitations were imposed on the number
of mills which could be levied.

1981 Session. The legislature changed the procedures
for determining the value of property for tax purposes to
include methods of establishing the true and full value,
assessed value, and taxable value of property, according
to a new classification system. Limits were placed on
the dollar amount of change in the levy rather than on
the number of mills which could be levied. The new
law allowed up to a 7% increase in the amount of dollars
levied. Also, the maximum income to qualify for the
homestead credit was increased from $9,000 to $10,000.

1983 Session. The legislature allowed for a 4% increase
in the amount of dollars levied. Cities and counties

were authorized to give two-year exemptions for new
single family or town house property. The new business
exemption’s cost and sales limitations were increased from
$100 million to $150 million.

1985 Session. The legislature allowed for a 3% increase in
the amount of dollars levied. An exemption for qualifying
wetlands was enacted, effective for tax years beginning
after December 31, 1986. The maximum income to
qualify for the homestead credit was increased from
$10,000 to $12,000.

1987 Session. The legislature allowed for a 5% increase
in the amount of dollars levied. The legislature removed
limitations on the type of business qualifying for the

new business exemption. Previously, the exemption was
limited to assembling, fabricating, manufacturing, mixing,
processing, storing, warchousing, or distributing any
agricultural, mineral or manufactured product. In effect,
qualifications were expanded to include service and retail
industries.
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1989 Session. The legislature allowed for a 5% increase
in the amount of dollars levied. An exemption was added
for day care in commercial property and the exemption
for religious organizations was extended to include
property rented to a tax-exempt organization. The income
limitation to qualify for the homestead property tax credit
program was increased from $12,000 to $13,000 per year.
Changes to the new business exemption law included the
following: removing the requirement that the State Board
of Equalization approve the property tax exemption;
excepting property in cities of 3,000 population or less
from the vacancy requirement; excluding projects exempt
under tax increment financing; and allowing the property
tax exemption to be extended up to ten years for projects
in property leased from a governmental entity.

1991 Session. The legislature allowed for a 4% increase in
the amount of dollars levied. The property tax exemption
was broadened to include expanding businesses and was
decoupled from the income tax exemption; the vacancy
requirement to use existing buildings was removed; and

a partial exemption for the sixth through tenth years was
allowed for projects which produce or manufacture a
product from agricultural commodities grown in North
Dakota. A 10-year exemption was created for pipelines
carrying CO, to an enhanced recovery project in a North
Dakota oil field. A license fee in lieu of property taxes
was adopted for certain state-owned property leased for
tourism or concession purposes. Changes to the property
tax on forested land included a 50-cent per acre rate and
several administrative changes.

1993 Session. The legislature set the maximum levy
increase at 3% for taxes payable in 1994 and 2% for 1995.
Cities and counties were permitted to exempt pollution
control improvements. An exemption was granted to
state-owned land leased for grazing or pasture purposes.
State-owned land leased for growing crops was exempted
if payments in lieu of property taxes are made by the

state. The income limitation to qualify for the homestead
property tax credit program was increased from $13,000 to
$13,500 per year beginning with the 1995 tax year.

1994 Special Session. The legislature removed project
size limitations as qualifications for the new or expanding
business tax exemption. The change allowed large projects
to qualify. The extended exemption for agricultural
processors was changed from a partial exemption to either
a partial or complete exemption. Legislators enabled a
local government and any project operator to negotiate

in lieu of property tax payments for a period of up to

20 years.

1995 Session. The legislature allowed for a levy increase
of 2% for taxes payable in 1996 and 1997. The only
increase allowed after 1998 without voter or legislative
approval is property added to the tax rolls. Railroad
personal property was exempted from property taxes.
Before a city or county grants a new business exemption or
payments in lieu of taxes, the affected school districts and
townships must be consulted.

1997 Session. The legislature allowed for a 2% increase in
the amount levied to match federal funds. The state water
commission was to make payments in lieu of taxes for
land acquired for the Devils Lake project. For agricultural
land formula used by NDSU, the legislature extended

the agricultural production data to a 10-year period for

the 2000 assessment. A 50 percent expense allowance

for agricultural revenue from irrigated cropland was

made permanent. The temporary requirement that school
districts and townships must be consulted before granting a
new business property tax incentive expired. The income
requirement for the farm residence exemption was defined
as more than 50 percent from farming activities in any one
of the preceding three years. Allowable nonfarm income
increased to $40,000 during each of the preceding three
years. Park model trailer owners were required to pay the
motor vehicle department a fee of $20 per year to qualify
for exemption from taxation as a mobile home for tax
years 1997 and 1998. The maximum general tax levy for
fire protection districts was increased from ten to thirteen
mills. The state engineer was given authority to take
remedies when man-made objects situated in, on the bed
of, or adjacent to a navigable lake are, or are imminently
likely to be, a menace to life or property or public health
or safety. The state engineer may assess costs of action
against any property of the person responsible. The
agricultural property definition for property platted after
March 30, 1981, was changed. A pipeline and associated
equipment, not including land, constructed after 1996 for
the transportation or storage of CO, for use in enhanced
recovery of oil or natural gas is tax exempt during
construction and the first ten full taxable years.

1999 Session.

* Made confidential income and expense statements
provided by commercial property owners to assessors.

» Allowed an abatement of property tax for damage to a
building, mobile home, structure, or other improvement
caused by natural disaster.

* Increased the income limitation for the homeowners'
homestead credit and renters' refund from $13,500 to
$14,000.
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* Made permanent the $20 permit fee for a park model
trailer in lieu of the mobile home tax.

* Expanded the farm building exemption to include
feedlots and buildings used primarily, rather than
exclusively, for farming purposes.

* Allowed depreciation expense as an addition to net farm
income for the farm residence exemption.

* Granted the farm residence exemption to beginning
farmers.

» Established a class of inundated agricultural property
that is assessed at ten percent of the noncropland value.

* Changed the agricultural land valuation formula to
require inclusion of a production cost factor.

* Made permanent the requirement that school districts
and townships must be included in the negotiations for
the new business exemption.

* Changed the payments in lieu of taxes for new
businesses to include existing buildings as well as new
buildings.

» Extended the time of exemption for remodeling from
three to five years and allowed an addition to an existing
building to be exempted as an eligible improvement.

* Changed the tax deed proceedings from a sale of tax
delinquent property to foreclosure of tax lien.

* Changed the county levy for social security to allow
up to five mills to be used for county automation and
telecommunications.

* Increased the levy of a tax for programs and activities
for senior citizens by a county or city from one to two
mills.

* Provided that a school district may levy up to 15
mills for removal or abatement of asbestos in school
buildings and for providing an alternative education
program.

2001 Session.

* Required that when the board of county commissioners
rejects an application for abatement, a written
explanation of the rationale for the decision must be
attached to the application and mailed to the applicant.

* Provided that the taxable value of a centrally assessed
wind turbine electric generation unit with a capacity of
100 kwh or more is 3 percent of assessed value.

* Provided that a county officer or employee will not
refund a fee or tax of less than $5.00.

* Provided that a municipality may provide partial
or complete exemption on residential property,
exclusive of land, if the property was rehabilitated by
an individual for the primary place of residence as a
renaissance zone project. Provided for exemptions
on buildings, structures, fixtures and improvements
rehabilitated as a zone project for any business or
investment purpose. A taxpayer may not be delinquent

in payment of any state or local tax to benefit from
those provisions.

Defined inundated agricultural land as agricultural
property containing a minimum of 10 contiguous

acres if the value exceeds 10 percent of the average
agricultural value of noncropland for the county.
Provided the land must have been unsuitable for
growing crops or grazing farm animals for at least two
consecutive growing seasons, and produced revenue
less than the county average revenue per acre for
noncropland.

Required a nonprofit organization to make payments in
lieu of taxes on property acquired for conservation.
Changed the rates of the coal severance and coal
conversion taxes to make North Dakota coal more
competitive with out-of-state coal and at the same time,
maintain the level of payments to counties and the state
general fund.

Provided that a township may defray expenses of
improvements by special assessment.

2003 Session.
* Provided that land acquired by tax deed must be sold to

the highest qualified bidder. Provided that a person is
unqualified to be the highest bidder for property if the
person owes delinquent taxes to any county.

Provided that any privately owned structure, fixture, or
improvement located on state-owned land is not exempt
from special assessments levied for flood control
purposes if it is used for commercial purposes, unless it
is primarily used for athletic or educational purposes at
a state institution of higher learning.

Exempted from property taxation all property

including any possessory interest therein, relating to
any waterworks, mains, and water distribution system,
or sewage systems and facilities for the collection,
treatment, purification, and disposal in a sanitary
manner of sewage, leased to the state or any agency

or institution of the state, or to a private entity, which
property is operated by, or providing services to, a
municipality or other political subdivision.

Exempted from property taxation any property,
including any possessory interest therein, belonging to
the state or an agency or institution of the state, leased
to a private entity pursuant to N.D.C.C.§ 54-01-27,
which property is operated by, or providing services to,
the state or its citizens.

Provided that property owned by the state and held
under a lease and any structure, fixture, or improvement
located on that property is not taxable to the leaseholder
if the structure, fixture, or improvement is used
primarily for athletic and educational purposes at any
state institution of higher education.
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* Provided for one year's exemption and three years of

graduated tax rates for new or substantially expanded
investor-owned and cooperative-owned transmission
lines of 230 kilovolts or larger, and associated
transmission substations, initially placed in service on
or after October 1, 2002. After the fourth year, those
lines are taxed at $300 per mile.

Provided that the rate used for capitalization of the
average annual gross return of agricultural land may not
be less than 9.5 percent.

2005 Session.
* Created the North Dakota transmission authority.

Provided that transmission facilities built under the
authority are exempt from property taxes for a period
not to exceed five years. After the initial period,
transmission lines of 230 kilovolts or larger and
associated transmission substations are subject to a per-
mile tax at the full rate and subject to the same manner
of imposition and allocation as imposed on cooperative-
owned transmission lines.

Required the county auditor to certify if there is

an unsatisfied lien for homestead credit for special
assessments against land in a document presented

for transfer. Provided that the county recorder may

not record any deed for property on which the county
auditor has determined that there is an unsatisfied lien
for homestead credit for special assessments, except for
a transfer between spouses because of the death of one
of them.

Required a recipient to enter into a business incentive
agreement with each grantor of a business incentive
granted by the state or a political subdivision. Provided
a penalty for a recipient that fails to meet goals.

* Provided that agricultural property includes land on
which a greenhouse is located if the land is used for a
nursery or other purpose associated with the operation
of the greenhouse. Provided that a greenhouse located
on agricultural land and used primarily for growing of
horticultural or nursery products is a farm building or
improvement.

» Provided that a centrally assessed wind turbine electric
generation unit with a nameplate generation capacity
of 100 kilowatts or more, for which a purchased power
agreement was executed after April 30, 2005, and before
July 1, 2006, and construction was begun after April 30,
2005, and before July 1, 2006, must be valued at 1%
percent of assessed value to determine taxable value.

* Provided that a person who is either 65 years of age
or older, or permanently and totally disabled, whose
income does not exceed $14,500 may qualify for the
homestead credit or renter's refund. Increased the
maximum amount of taxable value credit to $3,038.
Increased the unencumbered amount of homestead
valuation that may be excluded from the asset test for
homeowners to $100,000.

* Provided that the rate used for capitalization of the
average annual gross return of agricultural land may
not be less than 8.9 percent for 2005 and 8.3 percent for
subsequent years.

 Authorized housing authorities to provide housing for
persons of moderate income. Provided that property
of an authority used for moderate income housing is
exempt from all taxes except special assessments unless
specifically exempted from a special assessment by the
political subdivision.

* Provided that in lieu of exemption of a park model

trailer located in a trailer park or campground, the
department of transportation shall register the trailer as a
travel trailer for a registration fee of $20 per year.
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Ad Valorem and Special Property Taxes Levied
Payable in 2002-2006

Millions [ Ad Valorem Taxes [ Special Taxes Il Special Assessments
700
e ] B - I
Ny | - | |
400
300
200
100

0
2002 2003 2004 2005 2006
Ad Valorem Property Taxes Special Property Taxes
Year Total Taxes and Special Special
Payable Special Assessments Real Estate ® Utilities ® Taxes® Assessments

2002 591,580,893 504,170,558 28,459,117 8,999,429 49,951,786
2003 623,370,222 532,221,864 28,530,045 9,215,033 53,403,280
2004 652,667,321 555,928,867 30,483,151 9,253,881 57,001,422
2005 688,732,379 586,126,742 31,938,951 9,638,152 61,028,534
2006 733,392,572 627,445,014 32,344,362 10,269,176 63,334,020

M Includes tax increments.

@ TIncludes taxes on railroad property; electric, gas and heating property (except cooperative and coal conversion); and pipeline
property.

® Includes taxes from mobile homes, rural electric cooperatives, banks and building and loan associations, woodlands, and game
management areas.

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report."
Transmission line taxes are collected by the State Tax Commissioner and are not included above.
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Total
Proposed Local
Budget

plus or minus

North Dakota Property Tax System

S—

Adjustments to the
Proposed Budget
After Input From

Public Hearings

minus

All Non-Property
Tax Revenue
+ State Aid
* Unobligated Cash
* Fees, etc.

equals

Property Tax
Revenue Needed
(Levy in Dollars)

Your Property’s
Taxable Value

times

divided by

equals

Mill Rate

Mill
Rate

equals

True and Full Value
(Agricultural Value)
(Market Value)

times

50%

equals

Assessed Value

times

9% Residential
10% Commercial
10% Agricultural
10% Centrally Assessed
3% Wind Generator
or
1.5% Wind Generator

equals

Total Taxable Value
of All Property
in the Taxing District

Your Property
Tax Due

All property in North Dakota is subject to property tax unless it is specifically exempted. Except for a one-mill levy for the
State Medical Center, property taxes are administered, levied, collected and expended at the local level for the support of
schools, counties, cities, townships and other local units of government. The State does not levy a property tax for general

government operations.

The property tax is an "ad valorem" tax, that is, it is based on the value of the property subject to tax. The other element of
the property tax is the amount of revenue that needs to be raised.
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General and Special Property Taxes by Taxing Districts
Payable in 1996 - 2006

Millions of Dollars

400
.,-'-""-F*
320 /
280
ol e ET
240 Se
—
200
160 _ B a2
Cities %
Counties
80
40 State & MIisc. R - R P i F
0
Year Payable 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006
Schools 230 242 255 262 274 288 301 317 331 349 372
Cities 101 106 110 114 121 128 137 144 153 171 172
Counties 104 108 113 115 119 123 129 137 142 149 159
State & Misc. 20 21 22 23 24 24 25 27 27 28 29

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report.”

Percent of Property Taxes
by Taxing District
Levied in 2005 - Payable in 2006

GRAND TOTAL - $733,392,572

(" Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, rural fire protection
districts, hospital district, soil conservation districts, rural ambulance
districts, recreation service districts, Southwest Water Authority and
all special assessments for rural districts.

@ Including city park districts, special assessments, and tax
increments.

® Including county park districts, county library, county airport, water
management districts, vector control, unorganized townships and
board of county parks.

@ Constitutional one mill levy for medical center at the University of
North Dakota.

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Property
Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report."

1.6% - Townships
$12,038,404

50.8%
Schools

$372,430,278

2.1% - Miscellaneous Districts®
$15,179,509

23.6%
Cities®
$173,172,195

21.7%
Counties®
$158,899,366

0.2% - State of North Dakota®
$1,672,820
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General Property Taxes by County - payable in 2002-2006

S—

2002 Total 2003 Total 2004 Total 2005 Total 2006 Total
Ad Valorem Percent Ad Valorem Percent Ad Valorem Percent Ad Valorem  Percent Ad Valorem Percent
County Property Taxes Change | Property Taxes Change | Property Taxes Change | Property Taxes Change | Property Taxes Change
Adams 2,453,990 52 2,563,241 4.5 2,593,335 1.2 2,734,585 5.4 2,849,899 4.2
Barnes 10,400,945 54 10,889,865 4.7 11,804,754 8.4 12,136,002 2.8 13,006,449 7.2
Benson 3,860,334 2.9 3,958,608 2.5 3,998,165 1.0 4,037,188 1.0 4,207,168 4.2
Billings 608,510 1.5 619,371 1.8 672,161 8.5 695,602 3.5 708,361 1.8
Bottineau 6,569,116 7.0 6,651,789 1.3 6,998,204 5.2 7,314,910 4.5 7,733,987 5.7
Bowman 2,221,035 -3.4 2,354,669 6.0 2,055,826 -12.7 2,262,577 10.0 2,410,615 5.6
Burke 2,162,284 -4.5 2,225,234 2.9 2,437,398 9.5 2,469,023 1.3 2,543,429 3.0
Burleigh 60,121,827 52 63,347,116 54 66,114,984 4.4 70,397,362 6.5 75,189,184 6.8
Cass 117,148,172 7.3 125,720,940 7.3 134,352,710 6.9 146,680,991 9.2 160,111,503 9.2
Cavalier 5,810,054 0.2 5,968,462 2.7 6,134,509 2.8 6,267,022 2.2 6,295,726 4.6
Dickey 5,306,110 7.5 5,541,540 4.4 5,672,799 24 5,562,646 -1.9 6,035,845 8.5
Divide 2,696,072 1.0 2,675,771 -0.8 2,798,728 4.6 2,821,071 0.8 2,869,787 1.7
Dunn 3,575,264 532 3,782,078 5.8 3,887,738 2.8 4,059,219 4.4 4,163,603 2.6
Eddy 2,275,507 4.7 2,337,157 2.7 2,493,299 6.7 2,568,714 3.0 2,675,769 4.2
Emmons 3,734,118 0.6 3.779,594 1.2 3,964,980 4.9 4,060,378 24 4,278,121 54
Foster 3,820,256 8.2 3,947,577 33 3,936,415 -0.3 4,057,362 3.1 4,023,851 -0.8
Golden Valley 1,684,130 -3.0 1,733,145 2.9 1,666,695 -3.8 1,705,977 2.4 1,740,429 2.0
Grand Forks 54,152,356 4.4 56,806,768 4.9 59,810,282 53 63,722,135 6.5 67,910,543 6.2
Grant 2,688,003 3.9 2,721,576 1.2 2,684,087 -1.4 2,757,056 2.7 2,839,060 3.0
Griggs 3,152,252 4.1 3,399,455 7.8 3,349,623 -1.5 3,368,117 0.6 3,481,082 34
Hettinger 2,561,517 0.5 2,690,864 5.0 2,755,938 24 2,944,898 6.9 3,045,246 34
Kidder 2,557,716 -1.9 2,715,575 6.2 2,946,209 8.5 3,133,865 6.4 3,246,844 3.6
LaMoure 4,306,714 3.1 4,406,069 2.3 4,687,088 6.4 5,178,623 10.5 5,459,978 5.4
Logan 2,013,618 1.6 2,021,229 0.4 2,062,281 2.0 2,039,302 -1.1 2,087,612 2.4
McHenry 4.790,731 5.9 4,911,928 2.5 5,204,674 6.0 5,504,780 5.8 5,875,339 6.7
Mclntosh 2,854,796 32 2,911,283 2.0 3,016,185 3.6 3,094,297 2.6 3,225,455 42
McKenzie 3,386,094 52 3,434,259 1.4 3,555,472 3.5 3,663,983 3.1 3,750,757 2.4
McLean 5,606,337 3.9 5,918,002 5.6 6,464,448 9.2 6,733,947 4.2 7,012,645 4.1
Mercer 5,791,283 8.2 5,882,102 1.6 6,088,203 3.5 6,179,492 1.5 6,556,798 6.1
Morton 20,618,197 2.2 21,162,122 2.6 22,778,415 7.6 24,265,120 6.5 27,069,645 11.6
Mountrail 4,977,119 0.8 5,156,009 3.6 5,133,848 -0.4 5,169,726 0.7 5,477,741 6.0
Nelson 4,120,380 2.7 4,178,608 1.4 4,235,371 1.4 4,264,052 0.7 4,364,556 2.4
Oliver 1,389,447 4.6 1,468,364 5.7 1,490,833 1.5 1,533,527 2.9 1,670,890 9.0
Pembina 9,533,512 4.4 9,909,310 39 9,824,330 -0.9 9,903,240 0.8 10,212,016 3.1
Pierce 4.514.481 8.0 4,579,146 1.4 4,758,652 39 4.824,718 14 4,902,987 1.6
Ramsey 9,080,513 1.0 9,359,497 3.1 9,637,229 3.0 10,338,870 7.3 10,893,268 5.4
Ransom 5,262,086 2.6 5,994,226 13.9 6,206,508 3.5 6,341,653 2.2 6,607,588 4.2
Renville 2,537,717 0.6 2,789,326 9.9 2,903,250 4.1 3,052,269 5.1 2,970,044 -2.7
Richland 17,268,938 53 18,322,931 6.1 18,802,477 2.6 19,368,866 3.0 19,969,815 3.1
Rolette 3,287,336 1.5 3,516,572 7.0 3,491,704 -0.7 3,577,888 2.5 3,728,001 4.2
Sargent 4,823,344 1.4 5,207,653 8.0 5,455,585 4.8 5,620,577 3.0 6,040,508 7.5
Sheridan 1,742,163 1.3 1,801,927 34 1,882,775 4.5 1,968,628 4.6 2,056,936 4.5
Sioux 712,418 -1.9 662,661 -7.0 734,520 10.8 765,886 4.3 678,900 -11.4
Slope 961,171 2.6 1,012,795 54 1,067,638 54 1,095,729 2.6 1,123,248 2.5
Stark 13,714,552 2.7 14,313,263 4.4 15,085,650 54 16,242,993 7.7 17,207.491 5.9
Steele 3,452,107 39 3,559,676 3.1 3,588,789 0.8 3,595,623 0.2 3,814,357 6.1
Stutsman 17,031,436 5.1 18,669,264 9.6 19,396,865 39 20,090,708 3.6 21,283,299 5.9
Towner 3,509,885 43 3,608,000 2.8 3,812,907 5.7 3,728,715 2.2 3,719,070 -0.3
Traill 8,100,655 4.8 8,536,646 5.4 8,804,445 3.1 9,125,117 3.6 9,977,250 9.3
Walsh 11,631,393 3.8 12,091,520 4.0 12,189,558 0.8 12,099,288 -0.7 12,382,781 2.3
Ward 36,428,105 4.8 38,714,503 6.3 39,888,318 3.0 41,693,206 4.5 46,080,122 10.5
Wells 5,003,443 43 5,372,409 7.4 5,767,738 7.4 5,629,904 -2.4 5,762,976 24
Williams 14,620,140 0.8 14,850,214 1.6 15,267,423 2.8 15,618,268 2.3 16,460,801 5.4
Total 532,629,677 4.6 560,751,909 53 586,412,017 4.6 618,065,693 5.4 659,789,374 6.8
SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner. Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report."
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Statewide Average Mill Rates - For Taxes Payable in 1996-2006

Mill Rate
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1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006

Year Average
Payable Mill Rate
1996 394.73
1997 386.04
1998 389.32
1999 390.74
2000 394.10
2001 392.07
2002 390.33
2003 392.78
2004 399.24
2005 402.70
2006 401.66

Statewide Property Taxable Valuations - For Taxes Payable in 1996-2006

Millions of Dollars
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Year Taxable
— Payable Value

/ 1996 1,034,523,718
/ 1997 1,107,855,644
1998 1,149,656,119
/ 1999 1,190,563.319
2000 1,233,682,014
2001 1,298,333,166
2002 1,364,577,713
2003 1,427,642,584
2004 1,468,874,722
2005 1,534,816,263
2006 1,642,672,714

1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006

Ad Valorem Property Taxes Levied - For Taxes Payable in 1996-2006

Millions of Dollars
Year
Payable Taxes
600 / y
P 1996 408,353,215
500 o 1997 427,677,147
/ 1998 447,582,274
400 1999 465,203,396
2000 486,194,264
300 2001 509,032,721
2002 532,629,675
200
2003 560,751,909
100 2004 586,412,017
2005 618,065,693
0 2006 659,789,374

1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006
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True and Full Value by Classification
For Taxes Payable in 1996 - 2006

Billions of Dollars
16
Residential
14 /
12
Agricultural
. M
8
l/ Commercial
6
4
Year Payable 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006
Agricultural 7.983 8.729 8.998 9.324 9.329 9.860 9.890 10.364 10.178 10.103 10.523
Residential 7.610 8.175 8.645 9.223 9.840 10.069 10.728 11.273 12.099 13.221 14.631
Commercial 4.602 4,768 4.928 5.225 5.483 5.569 5.973 6.1850 6.470 6.784 7.235

Explanation of Terms and Trends

True and full value. For residential and commercial property "true
and full value" is the local assessor's estimate of the market value of
the property. For agricultural property, true and full value is based on
agricultural production and is typically less than its market value or
selling price.

Effective Rates. An annual sales ratio study measures how close "true
and full values" are to actual selling prices for property. The results
may be used to calculate an effective tax rate for each classification.
The effective rate is the total tax divided by the total indicated selling
price (see table on page 82).

Trends. During the first eight years of the past 11 years, mill rates were
fluctuating and total taxable valuations were increasing (see preceding
page). More recently, the statewide average mill rate is increasing while
values are increasing. The table above shows how the total true and

full value for each classification has been increasing at an accelerating
pace. Agriculture values tend to go up when production and commodity
prices are increasing. Other property values tend to go up when
employment is high. Another factor is that total values of residential
and commercial property include a rising number of properties. The
number of acres classified as agricultural land is down slightly, but

for taxes payable in 2006 the minimum statutory capitalization rate
decreased, resulting in higher values for agricultural land.

Charts in this section show statewide data. Please note that values

and taxes for individual properties will depend on local economic
conditions and other factors. The table above includes values for taxes
payable in 2006.
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Payable in 1996- 2006

Ad Valorem Property Taxes by Classification

Millions of Dollars
300 /
280 /
260
Residential
240
220 /
180
Agricultural
160
140
Commercial
120 M
100
80
60
40
Centrally Asseszed’_.___._.——-.———.——.
20 8 Sl
0
Year Payable 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006
Residential 152.2 160.9 170.7 183.1 196.9 205.3 215.1 229.6 240.4 266.5 292.0
Agricultural 128.7 136.2 141.7 145.9 146.6 149.0 151.9 158.9 168.1 162.0 168.5
Commercial 102.5 104.8 109.1 116.6 122.1 130.1 137.2 143.7 147.5 153.5 167.0
Central 24.9 25.8 26.1 19.6 20.6 24.6 28.5 28.5 30.4 31.9 32.3
Total 408.4 427.7 447.6 465.2 486.2 509.0 532.6 560.7 586.4 613.9 659.8

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report.”

Ad Valorem Property Taxes

Percent of Total by Classification
Payable in 2004, 2005 and 2006

Effective Rates
by Classification

Payable in 2004, 2005 and 2006

2004 2005 2006 Property Effective Rate
Residential 41.0% 43.1% 44.3% Classification 2004 2005 2006
Agricultural 28.7% 26.2% 25.5% Residential 1.83% 1.83% 1.81%
Commercial 25.2% 25.5% 25.3% Aorioultural 0% 0.92% 0.94%
Centrally Assessed 5.1% 5.2% 4.9% grenun o0 oD —
Commercial 2.21% 2.18% 2.17%
Centrally Assessed 1.66% 1.64% 1.64%
Total 1.57% 1.50% 1.51%
_ 8 2 _ November 2006

North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner




STATE COMPARISONS

North Dakota's property taxes are relatively moderate
compared to those in other states, whether measured per
capita or per $1,000 of personal income. In recent years,
property values have increased significantly resulting in

a corresponding increase in property tax assessments. In
response, many states have implemented various property
tax relief initiatives in an effort to reduce the property tax
burden. The tables compare the property taxes on equally
valued homes in similar size North Dakota cities as well
as from neighboring states. Neighboring states' property
taxes on similarly valued residences appear less than
North Dakota's because those states provide a homestead

credit for all owner-occupied residential property. North
Dakota's homestead credit is available only to elderly and
disabled persons with limited income.

Rankings (as shown on the following page) based on
collections offer insight into overall tax levels. However,
further analysis is needed to see the details of how state
tax systems differ. Property taxes may vary by property
classification and different types of property may be taxed
or excluded. Some states, such as Wyoming, use the
property tax to tax mineral wealth while states like North
Dakota levy separate severance taxes. In Alaska, because
of'its oil reserves fund, residents receive annual payments
of about $1,000 per person.

Property Taxes on an
Owner Occupied Home in North Dakota
Payable in 2006

$70,000 Home
City Tax Amount*
Bowman $1,010
Carrington $1,269
Grafton $1,534
Kenmare $1,254
Lisbon $1,487
Rugby $1,395
Washburn $944

$100,000 Home
City Tax Amount*
Bismarck $1,956
Devils Lake $2,260
Dickinson $2,001
Fargo $2,055
Grand Forks $2.103
Jamestown $2.237
Mandan $2,286
Minot $1,918
Valley City $2,100
Wahpeton $2,146
West Fargo $1,946
Williston $2,200

* Calculations assume taxes are paid by February 15, allowing the taxpayer a 5% discount.

SOURCE: Survey by North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, July 2006.

Property Taxes on a $100,000 Owner

Occupied Home in Neighboring States
Payable in 2006

SOUTH DAKOTA! MONTANA? MINNESOTA?
Tax Tax Tax
City Amount City Amount City Amount
Aberdeen | $§ 1,732 | Miles City | § 1,883 Bemidji $ 1,131
Rapid City 1,379 | Great Falls 1,190 St. Cloud 758
Sioux Falls 1,438 Billings 1,332 Minneapolis 987

M Owner-occupied residences receive a 30% tax reduction.
@ 32% homestead credit for all residential property

& After $282 homestead credit.

SOURCE: Survey by North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division
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Per Capita Per $1,000 of Personal Income

State & Local Property Taxes State & Local Property Taxes
2004 2004
Rank State Amount Rank State Amount
1 New Jersey $2,099 1 Maine $53.00
2 Connecticut 1,944 2 New Hampshire 53.00
3 New Hampshire 1,940 3 New Jersey 50.00
4 District of Columbia 1,856 4 Vermont 48.00
5 New York 1,677 5 Rhode Island 48.00
6 Rhode Island 1,629 6 New York 44.00
7 Maine 1,596 7 Connecticut 43.00
8 Massachusetts 1,532 8 Wisconsin 42.00
9 Vermont 1,531 9 Texas 41.00
10 Illinois 1,407 10 Illinois 41.00
11 Wyoming 1,352 11 Wyoming 39.00
12 Wisconsin 1,350 12 Alaska 38.00
13 Alaska 1,306 13 Kansas 38.00
14 Texas 1,254 14 Montana 37.00
15 Kansas 1,187 15 Michigan 37.00
16 Michigan 1,186 16 Massachusetts 36.00
17 Nebraska 1,148 17 District of Columbia 36.00
18 Maryland 1,082 18 Nebraska 36.00
19 lowa 1,080 19 Towa 35.00
20 Florida 1,064 20 Florida 34.00
21 Montana 1,034 21 South Carolina 32.00
22 Virginia 1,031 22 Indiana 32.00
23 Washington 1,029 23 Oregon 32.00
24 Colorado 1,026 24 Ohio 31.00
25 Pennsylvania 1,010 25 NORTH DAKOTA 31.00
26 Ohio 981 26 Pennsylvania 30.00
27 Indiana 975 27 South Dakota 30.00
28 Minnesota 965 28 Arizona 30.00
29 Oregon 963 29 Georgia 30.00
30 California 963 30 Washington 29.00
31 Nevada 920 31 Idaho 29.00
32 NORTH DAKOTA 919 32 Virginia 29.00
33 South Dakota 915 33 Colorado 28.00
34 South Carolina 882 34 California 27.00
35 Georgia 880 35 Maryland 27.00
36 Arizona 848 36 Nevada 27.00
37 Idaho 777 37 Minnesota 27.00
38 Missouri 747 38 Mississippi 26.00
39 North Carolina 713 39 Utah 26.00
40 Utah 689 40 Missouri 25.00
41 Mississippi 641 41 North Carolina 24.00
42 Tennessee 608 42 West Virginia 21.00
43 Hawaii 571 43 Tennessee 20.00
44 Delaware 546 44 Kentucky 19.00
45 West Virginia 540 45 Louisiana 18.00
46 Kentucky 516 46 Hawaii 18.00
47 Louisiana 502 47 New Mexico 17.00
48 Oklahoma 465 48 Oklahoma 17.00
49 New Mexico 441 49 Arkansas 16.00
50 Arkansas 400 50 Delaware 15.00
51 Alabama 367 51 Alabama 13.00
Us $1,084 US $33.00
SOURCE: US Census Bureau - State & Local Government SOURCE: US Census Bureau - State & Local Government
Finances by Level of Government and by State 2003-2004, as of Finances by level of Government & by State 2003-04, July 19, 2006,
July 19, 2006, www.census.gov/govs/www/estimate04.html Wwww.census.gov/govs/www/estimate04.html
Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Annual Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Annual
State Personal Income, March 2006, www.bea.gov/bea/regional/spi/ State Personal Income, March 2006,www.bea.gov/bea/regional/spi/
default.cfm?satable=summary default.cfm?satable=summary
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FUEL TAXES

CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rates and Administration

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax (Gasoline and Gasohol). A

motor vehicle fuel tax of 23 cents per gallon is imposed on
motor vehicle fuel (gasoline and gasohol) sold to retailers
and consumers. Consumers who paid the tax but used the
fuel in nonlicensed equipment for agricultural or industrial
purposes may obtain a partial refund.

Eight cents per gallon is withheld from farmers’ refunds.
Two cents is deposited into the Agricultural Fuel Tax
Fund to promote the use of agricultural products, one cent
is deposited into the Ethanol Production Fund for North
Dakota ethanol plant incentives, four cents is deposited
into an Agricultural Research Fund, and one cent is
retained in the Township Highway Aid Fund.

One and one-half cents per gallon is withheld from
industrial users’ refunds. One-half cent is deposited into
the Agricultural Fuel Tax Fund and one cent is retained in
the Township Highway Aid Fund.

The state and political subdivisions may obtain a refund

of 22 cents per gallon on all motor vehicle fuel used for
construction, reconstruction, and maintenance of roads and
highways. In this case, one cent is retained in the Township
Highway Aid Fund.

Special Fuels Taxes. Special fuels include diesel,
kerosene, heating fuel, compressed natural gas (CNG),
and liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) known as propane.

A special fuels tax of 23 cents per gallon is imposed on
all undyed (not red) diesel fuels. The tax also applies to
kerosene, CNG, and LPG sold for use in licensed vehicles.

A 2% special fuels excise tax is imposed on dyed (red)
diesel fuels and heating fuels, and on kerosene and LPG
sold for uses other than in a licensed motor vehicle.

The 23 cents per gallon and the 2% special fuels excise tax
are not refundable. Consumers are urged to purchase dyed
(red) diesel fuel subject to the 2% special fuels excise tax
in lieu of the 23 cents per gallon tax.

Aviation Fuel Tax. The aviation fuel tax is imposed on the
sale of aviation gasoline and jet fuels at a rate of 8 cents
per gallon. Consumers qualify for a refund of the 8 cents

per gallon tax. If a refund is granted, the fuel becomes
subject to a 4% excise tax on the purchase price of the
fuel. The 4% excise tax is deducted from the refund claim
at the time of refund.

Tribal Tax. The Spirit Lake Tribe and the North Dakota
portion of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe passed
ordinances imposing Tribal motor vehicle fuel and special
fuel taxes. The ordinances are consistent with North
Dakota's state fuel tax laws. The initial implementation
date for the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe was January

1, 1999, and for the Spirit Lake Tribe that date was
November 1, 2006. The amount to be distributed to

the Tribe and to the state is based on the population
demographics of the last United States census.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1977 Session. The motor vehicle fuel tax and the special
fuels tax rates increased from 7 cents to 8 cents per gallon.

1979 Session. The legislature enacted a 4 cents per gallon
tax rate for alcohol blended fuel.

1983 Session. The motor vehicle fuel tax and the special
fuels tax rates increased from 8 cents to 13 cents per
gallon. These rates were reduced for alcohol blended fuel
by 4 cents per gallon through December 31, 1983; 5 cents
per gallon for calendar year 1984; 6 cents per gallon for
calendar year 1985; and 4 cents per gallon from January 1,
1986 through June 30, 1992.

1985 Session. The reduction for alcohol blended fuel was
amended to 8 cents per gallon for July 1, 1985 through
June 30, 1987 and 4 cents per gallon for July 1, 1987
through December 31, 1992.

1987 Session. The motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels
tax rates increased from 13 cents to 17 cents per gallon.

1989 Session. The motor vehicle fuel tax rate increased
from 17 cents to 20 cents per gallon and the special fuels
tax rate increased from 17 cents to 19 cents per gallon.
The rate reduction for alcohol blended fuel was suspended
for July 1, 1989 through June 30, 1991 and replaced

with an ethanol production subsidy. An additional 172
cents was withheld from farmers' refunds and deposited

November 2006
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in the Agricultural Fuel Tax Fund. Enabling legislation
was passed to allow the director of the new Department
of Transportation to enter the International Fuel Tax
Agreement (IFTA) for base state fuel tax licensing and
reporting. The State Tax Commissioner retained non-IFTA
importer for use tax administration.

1989 Referral Election. The tax rate increases passed by
the 1989 Legislature were rejected in a Special Election.
The tax rates for the motor vehicle fuel tax and the special
fuels tax remained 17 cents per gallon.

1991 Session. An additional 2 cents per gallon was
withheld from farmers' refunds and deposited in the
Highway Tax Distribution Fund for incentives to North
Dakota ethanol plants. The rate reduction for alcohol
blended fuel was eliminated.

1993 Session. The legislature provided for a "triggered"
increase in the motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax
depending on the availability of federal highway matching
funds. Under this provision the rate increased from 17
cents to 18 cents per gallon for the period December 1,
1993 through December 31, 1995.

1995 Session. The legislature continued to "trigger"
changes in the motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels
tax rates depending on the availability of additional
federal highway matching funds. The rate increased to 20
cents per gallon for the period January 1, 1996 through
December 31, 1997.

1997 Session. The legislature provided for a permanent 20
cents per gallon motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels
tax through December 31, 1999 and added a provision

to the special fuels tax chapter allowing the 2% special
fuels excise tax to be charged on fuel dyed for federal
motor fuel tax exemption purposes. The legislature also
revised refund requirements to allow refunds of motor
vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax to industrial fuel
users when the fuel was used in nonlicensed equipment on
publicly funded projects. An additional 4 cents per gallon
is withheld from agricultural consumer refund claims for
deposit into an agricultural research fund, and the amount
withheld for ethanol production incentives was lowered
from 2 cents per gallon to 1 cent per gallon.

1999 Session. The legislature reenacted the motor vehicle
fuel and special fuels tax statutes and increased the taxes
to 21 cents per gallon. The legislature also repealed the
refund provisions for special fuel taxes and enacted a
dyed fuel enforcement program. Dyed diesel fuel may not
be used in licensed motor vehicles, and in the event of a
violation, administrative fees may be assessed.

2001 Session. The legislature enacted a decrease in special
fuels taxes on diesel fuel containing at least 2% biodiesel
fuel by weight. The decrease is contingent upon the
opening of a biodiesel refining facility in this state with a
production capacity of at least 10 million gallons biodiesel
per year. If triggered, the tax on undyed diesel fuel
containing biodiesel is reduced by one and five-hundreths
cents per gallon, and the tax on dyed diesel fuel containing
biodiesel is reduced to one and nine-tenths percent.

2005 Session. The legislature provided for an increase

in the tax rates for both motor vehicle fuel and special
fuels from 21 cents per gallon to 23 cents per gallon.

E85 was defined and a reduced rate of 1 cent per gallon
was imposed on all E85 sold in the state until a total of
1.2 million gallons were sold, at which time the tax rate
reverted to the 23 cents motor fuel tax rate. A special fuels
tax exemption was provided through June 30, 2010, for
the sale of hydrogen used to fuel an internal combustion
engine or fuel cell. Provided for motor vehicle and special
fuel tax refunds to Native Americans and established a
refund reserve fund for this purpose.

Distribution of Revenue

S—

Tax Types

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax (23¢ per gallon):
22¢  Highway Tax Distribution Fund
1¢  Township Highway Aid Fund
Withheld from farmers’ refunds (8¢ per gallon):
1¢  Township Highway Aid Fund
2¢  Agricultural Fuel Tax Fund
1¢  Ethanol Production Fund
4¢  Agricultural Research Fund
Withheld from Industrial users’ refunds
(1'4¢ per gallon):
1¢  Township Highway Aid Fund
Ya¢  Agricultural Fuel Tax Fund

Special Fuels Tax (23¢ per gallon):
22¢  Highway Tax Distribution Fund
1¢  Township Highway Aid Fund

Special Fuels Excise Tax (2% of sales price):
100% Highway Tax Distribution Fund

Aviation Fuel Tax (8¢ per gallon):

8¢  Aeronautics Commission Special Fund
Withheld from refunds:

4% Aviation fuel excise tax

Aviation Fuel Excise Tax (4% of sales price):
100% Aeronautics Commission Special Fund

Highway Tax Distribution Fund

* 63% allocated to state highway purposes
* 37% allocated to the counties and cities

- 86 -
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Fiscal
Year
1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006

Fuel Taxes and

Fees Disbursements ]

Motor Vehicle Fuels - Gallons Taxed ]

Fiscal
Total Gallons Refund Net Gallons
364,861,501 18,270,126 346,591,375
366,144,221 16,171,990 349,972,231
365,493,671 20,189,232 345,304,439
365,389,457 18,854,167 346,535,290
364,472,028 17,610,696 346,861,332
362,611,882 16,117,349 346,494,533
359,176,664 14,965,893 344,210,771
368,973,065 13,418,634 355,554,431
370,923,822 12,338,689 358,585,133
366,130,282 11,182,318 354,947,964
350,779,757 10,510,356 340,269,401

SOURCE: Office of State Tax Commissioner.

Highway Township Agricultural Petroleum Refund Standing
Total Distribution Highway Aid Agricultural Research Aeronautics State Cleanup Reserve & Rock

Disbursement Fund Fund Fuel Tax Fund Fund Commission General Fund Fund Cash Bonds Sioux Tribe
$101,399,651 $90,701,935 $5,116,927 $453,723 $671,339 $753,321 $2,291 $3,700,115

110,151,220 98,959,035 5,194,170 388,576 418,576 756,197 0 4,434,327

112,566,368 98,871,799 5,337,068 380,824 $606,790 617,768 759,724 0 5,992,395

110,664,269 96,651,826 5,270,153 359,554 714,787 403,793 756,137 0 6,407,500 $100,519

114,861,740 103,873,179 5,193,618 335,040 666,253 752,894 877,782 0 2,884,500 278,474

115,907,986 104,822,117 5,119,576 308,263 612,415 665,638 876,844 0 3,175,500 327,633

114,131,923 103,789,792 5,092,540 286,162 568,231 738,856 864,879 0 2,448,000 343,463

117,605,841 107,425,949 5,229,933 254,788 505,763 693,293 863,943 0 2,310,000 322,172

121,466,700 111,644,818 5,393,334 236,786 470,999 769,785 889,130 0 1,757,500 304,349

124,242,338 113,931,319 5,424,854 217,782 431,112 941,680 903,721 0 2,097,000 294,870

135,038,662 124,741,234 5,311,819 196,400 389,528 1,130,261 881,277 0 2,115,000 273,142

Special Fuels - Gallons Taxed - Per Gallon Tax Rate

S

Fiscal

Year Total Refund Net
1996 155,685,538 6,890,871 148,794,667
1997 162,359,948 8,002,315 154,357,633
1998 169,591,976 12,449,849 157,142,127
1999 168,218,146 11,715,815 156,502,331
2000 162,411,793 4,658,342 157,753,451
2001 159,884,499 341,613 159,542,886
2002 159,899,715 0 159,899,715
2003 166,462,335 0 166,462,335
2004 177,164,572 0 177,164,572
2005 181,293,961 0 181,293,961
2006 165,456,167 17,221 165,438,946

Special Fuels - Gallons Taxed - 2% Excise Tax Rate

Fiscal

Year Total
1996 345,454,406
1997 345,955,287
1998 334,633,528
1999 314,146,274
2000 294,285,846
2001 317,956,120
2002 326,123,925
2003 314,124,119
2004 322,361,843
2005 333,386,326
2006 303,656,667



State Motor Fuel Tax Rates
January 1, 2006
GASOLINE DIESEL FUEL GASOHOL
Excise Fee/Tax Total Excise Fee/Tax Total Excise Fee/Tax Total Notes
Alabama® 16.0 2.0 18.0 | 19.0 19.0 | 16.0 2.0 18.0 | Inspection fee
Alaska 8.0 8.0 8.0 8.0 0.0 0.0
Arizona 18.0 18.0 | 18.0 18.0 | 18.0 18.0 | @
Arkansas 21.5 21.5 22.5 22.5 21.5 21.5
California 18.0 18.0 | 18.0 18.0 18.0 18.0 | Sales tax applicable
Colorado 22.0 22.0 | 20.5 20.5 | 22.0 22.0
Connecticut 25.0 25.0 | 26.0 26.0 | 25.0 25.0
Delaware 23.0 23.0 | 22.0 22.0 | 23.0 23.0 | Plus 0.5% GRT ©
Florida @ 4.0 10.9 149 | 16.8 10.9 27.7 4.0 10.9 14.9 | Sales tax added to excise @
Georgia 7.5 7.8 15.3 7.5 9.0 16.5 7.5 7.8 15.3 | Sales tax added to excise
Hawaii @ 16.0 16.0 | 16.0 16.0 | 16.0 16.0 | Sales tax applicable
Idaho 25.0 1 26.0 | 25.0 1 26.0 | 22.5 1 23.5 | Clean water tax
Illinois @ 19.0 1.1 20.1 21.5 1.1 22.6 19.0 1.1 20.1 | Sales tax add., env. & LUST fee @
Indiana 18.0 18.0 | 16.0 16.0 | 18.0 18.0 | Sales tax applicable @
Towa 20.7 20.7 | 22.5 22.5 | 19.0 19.0
Kansas 24.0 24.0 | 26.0 26.0 | 24.0 24.0
Kentucky 17.1 1.4 185 ] 14.1 1.4 155 | 17.1 1.4 18.5 | Environmental fee ®®
Louisiana 20.0 20.0 | 20.0 20.0 | 20.0 20.0
Maine 25.9 259 | 27.0 27.0 | 259 259 | ©®
Maryland 23.5 23.5 | 24.25 24.25 | 23.5 23.5
Massachusetts 21.0 21.0 | 21.0 21.0 | 21.0 21.0
Michigan 19.0 19.0 | 15.0 15.0 19.0 19.0 | Sales tax applicable
Minnesota 20.0 20.0 | 20.0 20.0 | 20.0 20.0
Mississippi 18.0 0.4 18.4 1 18.0 0.4 184 | 18.0 0.4 18.4 | Environmental fee
Missouri 17.0 0.55 17.55 17.0 0.55 17.55 17.0 0.55 17.55 | Inspection fee
Montana 27.0 27.0 | 27.75 27.75 | 27.0 27.0
Nebraska 26.1 0.9 27.0 | 26.1 0.9 27.0 | 26.1 0.9 27.0 | Petroleum fee ©
Nevada @ 24.0 0.805  24.805 | 27.0 0.75 27.8 | 24.0 0.805 24.805 | Inspection & cleanup fee
New Hampshire 18.0 1.625 19.625 | 18.0 1.625  19.625 | 18.0 1.625  19.625 | Oil discharge cleanup fee
New Jersey 10.5 4.0 14.50 13.5 4.0 17.50 10.5 4.0 14.50 | Petroleum fee
New Mexico 17.0 1.9 189 | 21.0 1.9 22.9 17.0 1.9 18.9 | Petroleum loading fee
New York 8.0 15.9 23.9 8.0 14.15 22.15 8.0 15.9 23.9 | Petro. Tax & Sales tax applicable
North Carolina 29.9 0.25 30.15 | 29.9 0.25 30.15 | 29.9 0.25 30.15 | @ Inspection tax
NORTH DAKOTA 23.0 23.0 | 23.0 23.0 | 23.0 23.0
Ohio 28.0 28.0 | 28.0 28.0 | 28.0 28.0 | Plus 3 cents commercial
Oklahoma 16.0 1.0 17.0 13.0 1.0 14.0 16.0 1.0 17.0 | Environmental fee
Oregon 24.0 24.0 24.0 24.0 24.0 24.0
Pennsylvania 12.0 19.2 31.2 12.0 26.1 38.1 12.0 19.2 31.2 | Oil franchise tax
Rhode Island 30.0 1 31.0 | 30.0 1 31.0 | 30.0 1 31.0 | LUST tax
South Carolina 16.0 16.0 | 16.0 16.0 | 16.0 16.0
South Dakota 22.0 220 | 22.0 22.0 | 20.0 20.0
Tennessee 20.0 1.4 214 | 17.0 1.4 184 | 20.0 1.4 21.4 | Petroleum Tax & Envir. fee
Texas 20.0 20.0 | 20.0 20.0 | 20.0 20.0
Utah 24.5 24.5 24.5 24.5 24.5 24.5
Vermont 19.0 1.0 20.0 | 25.0 1.0 26.0 19.0 1.0 20.0 | Petroleum cleanup fee
Virginia 17.5 1751 16.0 16.0 | 17.5 175 1©
Washington ® 31.0 31.0 | 31.0 31.0 | 31.0 31.0 | 0.5% privilege tax
West Virginia 20.5 6.50 27.00 | 20.5 6.50 27.00 | 20.5 6.50 27.00 | Sales tax added to excise
Wisconsin © 29.9 3.0 3291 299 3.0 329 | 299 3.0 32.9 | ®Petroleum Insp. Fee
Wyoming 13.0 1 14.0 13.0 1 14.0 13.0 1 14.0 | License tax
Dist. of Columbia 22.5 22.5 22.5 22.5 22.5 22.5
Federal 18.3 0.1 18.4 24.3 0.1 24.4 13.0 0.1 13.1 | @ LUST tax

SOURCE: Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

()" Tax rates do not include local option taxes. In AL, 1-3 cents; HI, 8 to 11.5 cents; IL, 5 cents in Chicago and 6 cents in Cook county (gasoline only);
NV, 4 to 9 cents; OR, 1 to 3 cents; SD and TN, 1 cent; and VA 2%.

@ Local taxes for gasoline and gasohol vary from 5.5 cents to 17 cents (average is 13.4 cents). Plus a 2.07 cent per gallon pollution tax.

®  Carriers pay an additional surcharge equal to AZ-8 cents, IL-6.3 cents (g) 6.0 cents (d), IN-11 cents, KY-2%(g) 4.7% (d).

@ Tax rate is based on the average wholesale price and is adjusted quarterly. The actual rates are: K, 9%; and NC, 17.5 cents + 7%.

© Portion of the rate is adjustable based on maintenance costs, sales volume, or cost of fuel to state government.

©  Large trucks pay an additional 3.5 cents.

(™ Tax rate is reduced by the percentage of ethanol used in blending (reported rate assumes the maximum 10% ethanol).

®  Tax rate is scheduled to increase to 34 cents per gallon on July 1, 2006.
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CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO TAXES

CURRENT LAW

Cigarette Tax

Imposition and Rates

The cigarette tax is levied at two different tax rates.
Cigarettes weighing less than three pounds per thousand
are taxed at 22 mills per cigarette or 44¢ for a common
package of 20, and 55¢ for a package of 25. Cigarettes
weighing more than three pounds per thousand are taxed
at 22', mills per cigarette. Gray market or repatriated
cigarettes may not be sold or possessed in North Dakota.
"Gray market" or "repatriated" cigarettes are those
cigarettes manufactured and packaged in the U.S. for the
specific purpose of being exported with intent to be sold
outside the U.S., and are brought back illegally into the
country and sold. All cigarettes sold must be in packages
of 20 or more cigarettes.

Roll-your-own cigarette tobacco is taxed at the cigarette
rate. One cigarette equals .09 ounces of roll-your-own
tobacco. Sales of bulk roll your own cigarette tobacco are
converted to taxable cigarettes. Only tobacco advertised
as roll your own is taxed at the cigarette rate.

Both wholesalers and dealers must be licensed by

the Attorney General. Wholesalers pay the tax with
monthly reports filed with the Tax Commissioner. For
administrative compensation, wholesalers who file and pay
on time may deduct 1'4% of the tax due, up to a maximum
of $100 per month.

Distribution of Revenue

Three cents of the 44¢ per package are distributed to the
cities based on population and the remainder goes to the
State General Fund. Of the 55¢ on the larger packages,
3%¢ goes to the cities with the remainder to the State
General Fund.

Tobacco Products Tax

Imposition and Rates

All tobacco products other than cigarettes and specific roll-
your-own tobacco, such as pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco,

snuff and cigars are subject to a tobacco products tax.

Pipe tobacco and cigars are taxed at 28% of the wholesale
purchase price. Snuff is taxed at 60 cents per ounce and
chewing tobacco taxed at 16 cents per ounce. The tobacco
products tax is administered in a manner similar to the
cigarette tax.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the tobacco products tax is placed in the
State General Fund.

Tribal Cigarette And Tobacco Tax

The Standing Rock Sioux Tribe levies a cigarette and
tobacco tax on all Native American retailers operating

on the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation. The tax rates
are identical to the state tax rates. The Tax Commissioner
acts as the agent of the tribe to collect the tax. Seventy-
five percent of collections, less a 3% administrative fee,
is returned to the tribe. Twenty-five percent plus the
administrative fee is deposited in the State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1983 Session. The cigarette tax was increased from 6 mills
to 9 mills per cigarette. This increased the cigarette tax
from 12¢ to 18¢ per package of 20.

1987 Session. The cigarette tax was increased from 9 to
13%, mills per cigarette, or from 18¢ to 27¢ per package of
20. The tobacco products tax was increased from 11% to
20% of the wholesale purchase price.

1989 Session. The cigarette tax was increased from 13%: to
15 mills per cigarette, or from 27¢ to 30¢ per package of
20. The tobacco products tax was increased from 20% to
25% of the wholesale purchase price.

1991 Session. The cigarette tax was decreased from

15 mills to 142 mills per cigarette, or from 30¢ to 29¢ per
package of 20. The tobacco products tax was decreased
from 25% to 22% of the wholesale purchase price.
Cigarette stamp requirements were repealed and replaced
with monthly reports and payments.
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1993 Session. The cigarette tax was increased from 14% to
22 mills per cigarette, or from 29¢ to 44¢ per package of
20. The tobacco products tax was increased from 22% to
28% of the wholesale purchase price.

1993 Agreement. The Tax Commissioner and the
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe signed an agreement to allow
the commissioner to act as an agent of the tribe for the
collection of a tribal cigarette and tobacco tax.

1999 Session. The sale of gray market cigarettes was
prohibited, taxation of roll-your-own tobacco was moved
from Other Tobacco Products to taxation as a cigarette

and a minimum package size was established at 20
cigarettes per package. N.D.C.C. § 51-25 was enacted and
requires the Tax Commissioner to accumulate information
on purchases of cigarettes from non-participating
manufacturers in the cigarette Master Settlement
Agreement.

2001 Session. The method of taxing snuff and chewing
tobacco was changed from a percentage of the wholesale
price to a weight based value. Snuff is taxed at 60 cents
per ounce and chewing tobacco is taxed at 16 cents per
ounce. A change in the definition of Other Tobacco
Products removed cigarette papers from the tobacco
products tax. Cigars and pipe tobacco remain taxable at
28% of the whole purchase price.

2003 Session. The sale of "beedie" cigarettes was banned.
Beedies are a product containing tobacco wrapped in

a temburni leaf. Legislation prohibiting any dealer or
distributor from knowingly selling or distributing any
product not in compliance with N.D.C.C. § 51-25-02 was
enacted.

2005 Session. New legislation requires vendors

selling cigarettes over the Internet to register with the
Tax Commissioner and provide sales and customer
information. Internet vendors are also required to verify
the age of cigarette customers.

-90 -
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January 1, 2006

Comparison of State Tobacco Products Taxes '|

State Tax Rate/Base ¥ State Tax Rate/Base ®
Alabama Michigan 32% Wholesale Price
Cigars ¥ 4.0¢-40.5¢/10 cigars Minnesota 70% Wholesale Price
Tobacco/Snuff 0.6¢-5.25¢/ounce Mississippi 15% Manufactures Price
Alaska 75% Wholesale Price Missouri 10% Manufactures Price
Arizona Montana 50% Wholesale Price
Cigars @ 26.3¢-$2.60/20 cigars Nebraska 20% Wholesale Price
Tobacco/Snuff 13.3¢/ounce Nevada 30% Wholesale Price
Arkansas 32% Manufactures Price New Hampshire 19% Wholesale Price
California @ 46.76% Wholesale Price New Jersey 30% Wholesale Price
Colorado 40% Manufactures Price New Mexico 25% Product Value
Connecticut ¥ 20% Wholesale Price New York 37% Wholesale Price
Delaware 15% Wholesale Price North Carolina 3% Wholesale Price
Florida NORTH DAKOTA
Tobacco/Snuff 25% Wholesale Price Cigars & Pipe Tobacco 28% Wholesale Price
Georgia Chew Tobacco/Snuff 16¢-60¢/ounce
Little Cigars 2.5¢/10 cigars Ohio 17% Wholesale Price
Other Cigars 23% Wholesale Price Oklahoma
Tobacco 10% Wholesale Price Cigars @ 27¢-90¢/10 cigars
Hawaii 40% Wholesale Price Tobacco/Snuff 30%-40% factory list price
Idaho 40% Wholesale Price Oregon 65% Wholesale Price
Illinois 18% Wholesale Price Rhode Island 40% Wholesale Price
Indiana 18% Wholesale Price South Carolina 5% Manufactures Price
Towa 22% Wholesale Price South Dakota 10% Wholesale Price
Kansas 10% Wholesale Price Tennessee 6.6% Wholesale Price
Kentucky 7.5% Wholesale Price Texas
Louisiana Cigars @ 1¢-15¢/10 cigars
Cigars 8%-20% Manufacture Price Tobacco/Snuff 35.213% Manufactures Price
Tobacco/Snuff 33% Manufactures Price Utah 35% Manufactures Price
Maine Virginia 10% Wholesale Price
Chewing Tob./Snuff 78% Wholesale Price Vermont 41% Manufactures Price
Smoking Tob./Cigars 20% Wholesale Price Washington 75% Wholesale Price
Maryland 15% Wholesale Price West Virginia 7% Wholesale Price
Massachusettes Wisconsin 25% Wholesale Price
Smokeless Tob. 90% Wholesale Price Wyoming @ 20% Wholesale Price
Smoking Tob./Cigars 30% Wholesale Price

SOURCE: Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

M The volume based tax rates were converted to cents per 10 cigars or per ounce for consistency.

@ Tax rate on cigars varies, based on the selling price.
©®  Tax rate is adjusted annually by the state, effective July 1st of each year

@ or 10% of the retail price.

©®  Snuff tobacco taxed at 40 cents per ounce.
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Cigarette Tax and Tobacco Tax Collections

S—

Total
Fiscal Year Collections
1996 24,403,150
1997 23,872,859
1998 24,293,434
1999 23,026,300
2000 22,825,622
2001 21,777,568
2002 21,541,087
2003 20,432,947
2004 21,134,603
2005 21,036,995
2006 23,457,650
2007 est. 24,761,000

Tobacco Tax Cigarette Tax
(General Fund) (General Fund)
1,634,213 21,149,970
1,746,105 20,554,980
1,847,905 20,846,708
1,891,262 19,619,122
1,983,222 19,359,086
2,040,283 18,299,504
2,233,271 17,913,354
2,276,308 16,873,241
2,297,901 17,477,510
2,452,912 17,248,389
2,707,489 19,278,592
2,821,000 20,384,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner

Cigarette and

January 1, 2006

State Excise Tax Rates on Cigarettes ]

Cents
State Per Pack
Rhode Island 246
New Jersey 240
Washington 202.5
Maine 200
Michigan 200
Montana 170
Alaska 160
Connecticut 151
Massachusetts 151
New York 150
Hawaii 140
Pennsylvania 135
Ohio 125
Minnesota ¥ 123
Vermont 119
Arizona 118
Oregon 118

State

Oklahoma
Maryland
DC

Illinois

New Mexico
California
Colorado
Nevada
New Hampshire
Kansas
Wisconsin
Utah
Nebraska
Wyoming
Arkansas
Idaho
Indiana

Cents
Per Pack

103
100
100
98
91
87
84
80
80
79
77
69.5
64
60
59
57
55.5

SOURCE: Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.
M Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of cigarettes in AL, 1¢ to 6¢; IL, 10¢ to 15¢; MO, 4¢ to 7¢; NYC, 1.50¢;

TN, 1¢; and VA, 2¢ to 15¢.

Cigarette Tax Tobacco Tax
(Cities) (Tribal)
1,545,546 73,421
1,502,113 69,661
1,523,488 75,534
1,440,232 75,684
1,414,712 68,602
1,339,190 98,591
1,313,836 80,626
1,220,881 62,517
1,284,013 75,179
1,260,003 75,691
1,407,166 64,403
1,492,000 64,000
Cents
State Per Pack
Delaware 55
West Virginia 55
South Dakota 53
NORTH DAKOTA 44
Alabama 42.5
Texas 41
Georgia 37
Towa 36
Louisiana 36
Florida 33.9
Kentucky @ 30
North Carolina ©® 30
Virginia 30
Tennessee (N 20
Mississippi 18
Missouri 17
South Carolina 7
U.S. (median) 80.0

@ Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of 0.1¢ per pack in KY and 0.05¢ in TN. In AR, a $1.25/1,000

cigarette fee is imposed.

©® Tax Rate is scheduled to increase to 35 cents per pack on July 1, 2006.
@ Plus an additional 25.5 cent sales tax is added to the wholesale price of a tax stamp (total $1.485).
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ESTATE TAX

CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Rate

The estate tax is a tax on the value of an estate transferred
at death.

North Dakota’s estate tax is perpetually “federalized”.
North Dakota’s definition of a deceased person’s “taxable
estate” is identical to the federal definition and North
Dakota recognizes all federal exemptions and deductions.

North Dakota’s estate tax is equivalent to the credit for
state death taxes allowed on the federal estate tax return
(or a percentage of that credit equal to the percentage of
property located in North Dakota). On the federal return,
the credit for state death taxes is allowed as a credit
against the federal tax liability. The estate pays the amount
of this credit to the state. This method of determining
state estate taxes ensures that estates pay no more in total
estate taxes than the estate’s federal tax liability. The tax
is payable without interest for 15 months from the date of
death.

The estate tax is administered and collected by the Tax
Commissioner.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the tax is distributed on a quarterly basis by
the state to the counties and cities in which the property of
the estate is located.

Federal Legislation
As a result of federal estate tax law changes, the North

Dakota estate tax that is based on the state death tax
credit allowable on the federal return has been phased
out for estates of decedents whose death occurs after
December 31, 2004. Future changes to the state or
federal estate tax laws will determine whether North
Dakota estate tax is due.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1975 Session. The definition of taxable estate is based on
the federal definition. The estate tax was determined by
subtracting the federal tax paid from the federal taxable
estate, then computing a tax using a tax table established
in the new law.

1977 Session. The legislature allowed the following state
exemptions and deductions to the value of the federal
taxable estate: an exemption of $200,000, a deduction

for federal estate taxes paid, and an exemption for certain
gifted property. The legislature also provided that the tax
was either the amount of tax credit for state death taxes on
the federal return, or a tax computed by use of a tax table,
whichever was greater.

1979 Session. The rate table was repealed and the law was
amended so that the state estate tax is equal to the credit
for state death taxes on the federal estate tax return.

1991 Session. The automatic estate tax lien was repealed.

1997 Session. The requirement for depositories to file an
inventory of the contents of a safe deposit box and for the
filing of a notice of transfer of the decedent's assets was
repealed.

1999 Session. The requirement for the register of deeds
to forward copies of death certificates and property
descriptions was repealed.

Estate Tax Collections

S—

Calendar Year Total Collections
1997 $4,807,731
1998 4,718,269
1999 7,420,920
2000 6,079,686
2001 5,237,136
2002 5,407,080
2003 7,389,834
2004 3,173,650
2005 2,109,496
2006 1,086,192

SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
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FINANCIAL INSTITUTION TAX

CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Rates

The financial institution tax is imposed on banks, trust
companies, building and loan associations, bank holding
companies, production credit associations, leasing companies,
and other financial institutions.

The financial institution tax is imposed on every financial
institution for the privilege of transacting, or the actual
transacting of, business in North Dakota and is based upon
and measured by the financial institution's taxable income.

If a financial institution conducts business both within and
without North Dakota, the financial institution must apportion
its business income to North Dakota according to the
apportionment provisions.

The tax liability is determined by multiplying North Dakota
taxable income by seven percent (7%), with a minimum tax
of fifty dollars ($50.00). This amount, less credits allowed
is divided between the State General Fund and the financial
institution tax distribution fund. The net tax payable to the
State General Fund must be paid on or before April 15 of
the year following the end of the taxable year. The net tax
payable to the financial institution distribution fund must be
paid on or before January 15 of the second year following the
end of the taxable year. Both payments must be made to the
Office of State Tax Commissioner.

If a financial institution elects and is granted Subchapter
S corporation status for federal income tax purposes,

the Subchapter S status is not recognized for financial
institution tax purposes and the corporation must file a
financial institution tax return and pay the tax. In this
case, a shareholder—Iimited to an individual, estate or
trust—is allowed an adjustment to income in computing
the shareholder's North Dakota income tax liability. The
adjustment, which is equal to the portion of the income
passed through to the shareholder and subject to North
Dakota income tax, prevents the financial institution's income
from being taxed at the financial institution level and the
individual, estate or trust level.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1979 Session. The 1% business privilege tax paid by
individuals, estates, trusts, partnerships and corporations
doing business in the state was repealed.

1991 Session. A state net operating loss was allowed to be
carried forward. Out-of-state banks were allowed to acquire
a North Dakota bank if the acquiring company was in a
reciprocating state and the Tax Commissioner was authorized
to determine a fair method of reporting income to North
Dakota. Privilege taxes were authorized on North Dakota
branches if the U.S. Congress authorized interstate branch
banking.

1995 Session. Interstate banking, in-state branching, and
interstate branching were authorized. A trust company was
allowed to establish for itself and its subsidiaries places of
business within or outside North Dakota.

1997 Session. Taxation of banks, trust companies and
building or savings and loan associations was repealed and
replaced with a financial institution tax.

1999 Session. Cities were provided authority to create
"renaissance zones," which allowed opportunities for various
income exemptions and tax credits for investments in
approved renaissance zones.

2001 Session. An exemption was provided for income from
property located in a renaissance zone and owned or leased
for either a business or investment purpose. This exemption
also extended to qualifying rehabilitations of residential or
commercial property. The tax credit for investing in the
preservation or renovation of historic property was changed
to 25% of the investment, not to exceed $250,000. The
credit must be claimed in the year the work is completed. A
December 31, 2004 sunset date for the credit was removed.

2003 Session. Financial institutions tax changed to maintain
the deduction for federal income taxes paid. The deduction
had previously been allowed by reference to the income tax
law. The change was necessary because the deduction was
repealed for income tax. For tax years after December 31,
1999, the exclusion for the North Dakota domestic dividend
was repealed based on a North Dakota Supreme Court ruling.
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2005 Session. A new financial institution tax credit Financial institutions that are members of a unitary group,
was created for making a contribution to fund a tuition and conduct 100% of their business in North Dakota are
scholarship for participation in the Rural Leadership North ~ now required to file a combined report.

Dakota program conducted through the North Dakota State

University Extension Service.

| Financial Institution Tax* ||

Tax To To General
Year Total Counties Fund
1997 $9,497,300 $6,895,541 $2,601,756
1998 9,949,737 7,132,518 2,817,219
1999 10,521,920 7,515,657 3,006,263
2000 10,800,647 7,714,748 3,085,899
2001 10,195,583 6,152,158 4,043,425
2002 10,627,138 6,808,992 3,818,146
2003 10,241,423 7,135,229 3,106,194
2004 9,690,881 6,830,163 2,860,718

* The tax year 2005 collections are not final at the time of printing this publication.

In general, the tax liability of the financial institution is determined by multiplying North Dakota taxable income by
7%. This amount, which may not be less than $50.00, is divided between the state general fund and the financial
institution tax distribution fund. The general fund receives 2/7 of the tax, while the financial institution tax
distribution fund receives 5/7 of the tax.

The tax collected in the financial institution tax distribution fund is distributed to the counties on or before March 1

each year.
Distribution of Financial Institution Tax* ]
County Percentage County Percentage
Adams 0.2968% McKenzie 1.1826%
Barnes 2.2119% McLean 1.3533%
Benson 0.3919% Mercer 1.3538%
Billings 0.0310% Morton 2.1364%
Bottineau 1.8718% Mountrail 1.7976%
Bowman 1.1325% Nelson 1.0597%
Burke 0.4819% Oliver 0.1855%
Burleigh 6.0739% Pembina 2.1623%
Cass 19.2636% Pierce 1.0727%
Cavalier 1.6172% Ramsey 2.5621%
Dickey 0.9295% Ransom 1.3457%
Divide 0.8446% Renville 0.3585%
Dunn 0.4347% Richland 2.7733%
Eddy 0.1709% Rolette 1.0018%
Emmons 1.2017% Sargent 1.3122%
Foster 0.9723% Sheridan 0.2813%
Golden Valley 0.5355% Sioux 0.0054%
Grand Forks 8.6988% Stark 4.2348%
Grant 0.3913% Steele 0.5824%
Griggs 0.9247% Stutsman 3.4793%
Hettinger 0.5873% Towner 0.5375%
Kidder 0.4219% Traill 0.9871%
LaMoure 0.7904% Walsh 2.5128%
Logan 0.7964% Ward 7.5118%
McHenry 0.5434% Wells 1.3501%
McIntosh 1.1903% Williams 4.0541%

* Money in the Financial Institution Tax Distribution Fund is divided among the counties based on these percentages.
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INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX

CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rates and Administration

Every insurance company licensed to do business in North
Dakota is subject to a premium tax on the gross amount
of its annual premiums, membership fees, and policy fees
received from North Dakota policyholders. The premium
tax rate is 2% for life insurance, and 134% for accident,
health, property, casualty and surplus lines of insurance.

A company domiciled in another state may be charged
retaliatory tax--the tax rate of the home state--if the rate

in the home state is higher than North Dakota’s applicable
premium tax rate.

A minimum $200 annual filing fee is required provided
the total tax liability of an entity required to pay tax is less
than $200.

The insurance premium tax is administered by the State
Insurance Commissioner and is collected quarterly.

Exemptions and Credits

Gross receipts from annuities and from policies of benevo-
lent and fraternal benefit companies are exempt. Credits
against tax due are provided to insurers for the following
situations:

* Assessment paid as a member of a comprehensive
health association.

» Examination fees paid to the North Dakota Insurance
Department.

e Ad valorem taxes on the premises occupied as the
principal office in the state for over 50% of the year for
which tax is paid.

* Investments in securities offered by a small business
investment company created by the Myron G. Nelson
Fund, Inc.

* Assessment paid to the Life and Health Insurance
Guaranty Association.

» Insurers making or participating in incentive fund to
make loans to low-risk businesses for primary sector
business projects (N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-50).

Distribution of Revenue

Collections are deposited in the State General Fund.
The legislature may appropriate insurance premium tax
revenue to the Insurance Tax Distribution Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

Before 1983. Out-of-state insurance companies were
subject to a 2}42% premium tax. North Dakota insurance
companies were subject to corporation income tax, rather
than insurance premium tax.

1983 Session. Insurance companies doing business in the
state, whether incorporated in North Dakota or any other
state, became subject to the insurance premium tax and
exempt from the corporation income tax. The legislature
provided for a 2% rate for life insurance, 2% for accident
and health insurance, and 1% for property, casualty and
other types of insurance.

1987 Session. The legislature increased the insurance
premium tax rate from 2% to 1% for accident and
health insurance and from 1% to 1Y% for property,
casualty and other insurance. A credit was created for
investments in the Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc.

1989 Session. The legislature increased the insurance
premium tax rate from 1%% to 1%4% for accident, health,
property, casualty and other types of insurance.

1991 Session. The legislature adopted a $200 annual filing
fee for all insurance companies.

1997 Session. A credit was created for any insurance
company making or participating in a loan under the
North Dakota Low-Risk Incentive Fund (see N.D.C.C.
ch. 26.1-50-05.)

1999 Session. The method for calculating a penalty for
failure to pay tax was changed.
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Insurance Premium Tax
Collections and Disbursements

Insurance
Fiscal Total General Distribution
Year Collections Fund Fund
1994 20,754,641 18,124,492 2,630,149
1995 16,690,729 13,995,743 2,694,986
1996 19,578,122 16,978,122 2,600,000
1997 20,796,911 18,196,911 2,600,000
1998 19,957,574 17,357,574 2,600,000
1999 20,975,742 18,375,742 2,600,000
2000 21,893,086 19,293,086 2,600,000
2001 22,419,513 19,819,513 2,600,000
2002 25,999,204 23,347,204 2,652,000
2003 28,294,823 25,642,823 2,652,000
2004 30,928,373 28,276,373 2,652,000
2005 30,671,102 28,019,102 2,652,000

SOURCE: North Dakota Insurance Department

Fiscal Year

Insurance Premium Tax
Collections Per Capita -

2005
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11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50

State

Nevada
Kentucky
Vermont
Delaware
Louisiana
Alaska

South Dakota
Hawaii
Connecticut
Arizona
Montana
Massachusetts
West Virginia
California
Maine

New Hampshire
Idaho
Minnesota
Tennessee
Alabama
Washington
Mississippi
Pennsylvania
New Jersey
New York
Texas

North Carolina
Rhode Island
Missouri
New Mexico
Virginia
Oklahoma
Utah

North Dakota
Maryland
Arkansas
Kansas

Towa

Florida
Colorado
Wyoming
Ohio
Georgia
South Carolina
Indiana
Illinois
Wisconsin
Michigan
Nebraska
Oregon

US Average

Per Capita Insurance
Premium Taxes

$89
$86
$84
$82
$80
$80
$74
$68
$68
$67
$65
$63
$62
$62
$61
$61
$61
$61
$60
$60
$57
$56
$54
$52
$51
$51
$51
$50
$50
$50
$49
$49
$48
$48
$48
$45
$44
$44
$43
$41
$39
$38
$37
$30
$30
$29
$26
$25
$22
$15
$50

SOURCE: US Dept. of Commerce, Census Bureau

Department.
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LIQUOR AND BEER TAXES

CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Administration

The tax on liquor and beer is a privilege tax imposed

on all alcoholic beverage wholesalers doing business in
North Dakota. In addition, microbrew pubs and domestic
wineries pay the taxes on alcoholic beverages made by
those facilities and sold directly to consumers. The pub
or wineries may not engage in any wholesaling activities.
The State Tax Commissioner administers the tax and
licenses wholesalers, microbrew pubs, and domestic
wineries. The tax is collected on a monthly basis.

Exemptions

If the alcohol is used for non-beverage purposes, it is

exempt from the tax. These exemptions include:

* Denatured alcohol

» Patent, proprietary, medical, pharmaceutical, antiseptic
and toilet preparations

* Flavoring extracts

e Syrups and food products

* Scientific chemical and industrial products

*  Wines delivered to priests, rabbis and ministers for
sacramental use

Rates

The amount of the tax is determined by the type of
beverage and the gallonage sold by a wholesaler. The tax
rate schedule is as follows:

Per Wine Gallon
Beer in bulk containers $ .08
Beer in bottles and cans $ .16
Wine (less than 17% alcohol) $ .50
Wine (17% to 24% alcohol) $ .60
Sparkling wine $ 1.00
Distilled Spirits $ 2.50
Alcohol $ 4.05

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the liquor and beer tax is deposited in the
State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1967 Session. The alcoholic beverage tax law was
rewritten and the tax rates were restructured.

1991 Session. Microbrew pubs became subject to the
liquor and beer tax.

1995 Session. Bonding repealed.

1995 Session. Microbrew pubs became subject to new
licensing requirements.

1999 Session. Establish penalties for the shipping of out-
of-state sales of alcoholic beverages from an out-of-state

location directly to a person in North Dakota who is not a
wholesaler.

2001 Session. The wholesale alcoholic beverage
administration was transferred from the state treasurer

to the state tax commissioner effective July 1, 2001.
Effective August 1, 2001, direct shippers of alcoholic
beverages and farm wineries are required to obtain annual
licenses and pay the wholesaler and applicable retailer
taxes to the state tax commissioner.

2003 Session. The alcoholic beverages law was amended
to replace "farm winery" with "domestic winery."

2005 Session. Suppliers became subject to new licensing
requirements. Brand registration requirements were repealed.
Thresholds for point-of-sale and dispensing equipment
provided by wholesalers to retailers were increased. The
percentage volume of North Dakota produced ingredients
that must be included in wine produced by a domestic winery
was defined.

Liquor and Beer Taxes

Collections

Fiscal Year Total Collections Beer Liquor
1996 5,175,220 2,420,748 2,754,401
1997 5,162,187 2,433,513 2,728,674
1998 5,269,318 2,497,087 2,772,231
1999 5,267,588 2,527,312 2,740,276
2000 5,420,486 2,578,923 2,841,563
2001 5,455,921 2,568,513 2,887,408
2002 5,493,783 2,603,197 2,890,586
2003 5,662,052 2,640,908 3,021,144
2004 5,910,349 2,727,660 3,182,689
2005 5,979,513 2,638,956 3,340,557
2006 6,340,589 2,727,263 3,613,326
2007 est. 6,245,000 2,650,000 3,595,000

SOURCE: Office of State Tax Commissioner.
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Comparison of State Tax Rates - Beer
January 1, 2006

State Rate
on Beer Sales Taxes
State ($ per gallon) Applied Other Taxes
Alabama $0.53 Yes $0.52/gallon local tax
Alaska 1.07 n.a.
Arizona 0.16 Yes
Arkansas 0.23 Yes under 3.2% - $0.16/gallon; $0.008/gallon and 3% off- and 10% on-premise tax
California 0.20 Yes
Colorado 0.08 Yes
Connecticut 0.19 Yes
Delaware 0.16 n.a.
Florida 0.48 Yes $2.67¢/12 ounces on-premise retail tax
Georgia 0.32 Yes $0.53/gallon local tax
Hawaii 0.93 Yes $0.54/gallon draft beer
Idaho 0.15 Yes over 4% - $0.45/gallon
Illinois 0.185 Yes $0.16/gallon in Chicago and $0.06/gallon in Cook County
Indiana 0.115 Yes
lowa 0.19 Yes
Kansas 0.18 - over 3.2% - (8% off- and 10% on-premise), under 3.2% - 4.25% sales tax
Kentucky 0.08 Yes * 11% wholesale tax
Louisiana 0.32 Yes $0.048/gallon local tax
Maine 0.35 Yes additional 5% on-premise tax
Maryland 0.09 Yes $0.2333/gallon in Garrett County
Massachusetts 0.11 Yes *0.57% on private club sales
Michigan 0.20 Yes
Minnesota 0.15 -- under 3.2% - $0.077/gallon. 9% sales tax
Mississippi 0.4268 Yes
Missouri 0.06 Yes
Montana 0.14 n.a.
Nebraska 0.31 Yes
Nevada 0.16 Yes
New Hampshire 0.30 n.a.
New Jersey 0.12 Yes
New Mexico 0.41 Yes
New York 0.11 Yes $0.12/gallon in New York City
North Carolina 0.53 Yes $0.48/gallon bulk beer
NORTH DAKOTA 0.16 -- 7% state sales tax, bulk beer $0.08/gallon
Ohio 0.18 Yes
Oklahoma 0.40 Yes under 3.2% - $0.36/gallon; $1.00/case on-premise and 13.5% on-premise
Oregon 0.08 n.a.
Pennsylvania 0.08 Yes
Rhode Island 0.10 Yes $0.04/case wholesale tax
South Carolina 0.77 Yes
South Dakota 0.27 Yes
Tennessee 0.14 Yes 17% wholesale tax
Texas 0.19 Yes over 4% - $0.198/gallon, 14% on-premise and $0.05/drink on airline sales
Utah 0.41 Yes over 3.2% - sold through state store
Vermont 0.265 No 6% to 8% alcohol - $0.55; 10% on-premise sales tax
Virginia 0.26 Yes
Washington 0.261 Yes
West Virginia 0.18 Yes
Wisconsin 0.06 Yes
Wyoming 0.02 Yes
District of Columbia 0.09 Yes 8% off- and 9% on-premise sales tax
U.S. (median) $0.188

* Sales tax is applied to on-premise sales only.

SOURCE:  Federation of Tax Administrators, February 2006.
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Comparison of State Tax Rates - Wine
January 1, 2006

State Rate
on Wine Sales Taxes
State ($ per gallon) Applied Other Taxes
Alabama $1.70 Yes Over 14% - sold through state store
Alaska 2.50 n.a
Arizona 0.84 Yes
Arkansas 0.75 Yes under 5% - $0.25/gallon; $0.05/case; and 3% off- and 10% on-premise
California 0.20 Yes sparkling wine - $0.30/gallon
Colorado 0.32 Yes
Connecticut 0.60 Yes over 21% and sparkling wine - $1.50/gallon
Delaware 0.97 n.a.
Florida 225 Yes over 17.259% - $3.00/gallon, sparkling wine $3.50/gallon
$6.67¢/4 ounces on-premise retail tax
Georgia 1.51 Yes over 14% - $2.54/gallon; $0.83/gallon local tax
Hawaii 1.38 Yes Sparkling wine - $2.12/gallon and wine coolers - $0.85/gallon
Idaho 0.45 Yes
Tllinois 0.73 Yes over 20% - $4.50/gallon;
$0.246/gallon in Chicago and ($0.16-$0.30)/gallon in Cook County
Indiana 0.47 Yes over 21% - $2.68/gallon
Towa 1.75 Yes under 5% - $0.19/gallon
Kansas 0.30 No over 14% - $0.75/gallon; 8% off- and 10% on-premise
Kentucky 0.50 Yes * 11% wholesale
Louisiana 0.11 Yes 14% to 24% - $0.23/gallon, over 24% and sparkling wine - $1.59/gallon
Maine 0.60 Yes over 15.5%-sold through state stores, sparkling wine - $1.25/gallon
additional 5% on-premise sales tax
Maryland 0.40 Yes
Massachusetts 0.55 Yes * sparkling wine - $0.70/gallon
Michigan 0.51 Yes over 16% - $0.76/gallon
Minnesota 0.30 -- 14% to 21% - $0.95/gallon, under 24% and sparkling wine $1.82/gallon;
$0.01/bottle (except miniatures) and 9% sales tax
Mississippi 0.35 Yes over 14% and sparkling wine - sold through the state
Missouri 0.30 Yes
Montana 1.06 n.a. over 16% - sold through state stores; 7% surtax
Nebraska 0.95 Yes
Nevada 0.70 Yes 14% to 22% - $1.30/gallon, over 22% - $3.60/gallon
New Hampshire see footnote n.a.
New Jersey 0.70 Yes
New Mexico 1.70 Yes over 14% - $5.68/gallon
New York 0.19 Yes
North Carolina 0.79 Yes over 17% - $0.91/gallon
NORTH DAKOTA 0.50 -- over 17% - $0.60/gallon, sparkling wine - $1.00/gallon; 7% state sales tax
Ohio 0.30 Yes over 14% - $0.98/gallon, vermouth - $1.08/gallon and sparkling wine - $1.48/gallon
Oklahoma 0.72 Yes over 14% - $1.40/gallon, sparkling wine - $2.08/gallon;
$1.00/bottle on-premise and 13.5% on-premise
Oregon 0.67 n.a. over 14% - $0.77/gallon
Pennsylvania see footnote Yes
Rhode Island 0.60 Yes sparkling wine - $0.75/gallon
South Carolina 0.90 Yes $0.18/gallon additional tax
South Dakota 0.93 Yes 14% to 20% - $1.45/gallon; over 21% and sparkling wine - $2.07/gallon; 2% wholesale tax
Tennessee 1.21 Yes $0.15/case and 15% on-premise
Texas 0.20 Yes over 14% - $0.408/gallon and sparkling wine - $0.516/gallon
14% on-premise and $0.05/drink on airline sales
Utah see footnote Yes
Vermont 0.55 Yes over 16% - sold through state store, 10% on-premise sales tax
Virginia 1.51 Yes under 4% - $0.2565/gallon and over 14% - sold through state store
‘Washington 0.87 Yes over 14% - $1.72/gallon;
West Virginia 1.00 Yes 5% local tax
Wisconsin 0.25 Yes over 14% - $0.45/gallon
Wyoming see footnote V) Yes
District of Columbia 0.30 Yes 8% off- and 9% on-premise sales tax, over 14% - $0.40/gallon and sparkling - $0.45/gallon
U.S. (median) 0.69

M All wine sales are through state stores. Revenue in these states is generated from various taxes, fees and net profits.
* Sales tax is applied to on-premise sales only.

SOURCE: Federation of Tax Administrators, February 2006.
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Comparison of State Tax Rates - Distilled Spirits
January 1, 2006

State Rate
on Spirits Sales Taxes
State ($ per gallon) Applied Other Taxes

Alabama see footnote Yes

Alaska $12.50 n.a. under 21% - $0.85/gallon

Arizona 3.00 Yes

Arkansas 2.50 Yes under 5% - $0.50/gallon, under 21% - $1.00/gallon; $0.20/case and 3% off-
14% on-premise retail taxes

California 3.30 Yes over 50% - $6.60/gallon

Colorado 2.28 Yes

Connecticut 4.50 Yes under 7% - $2.05/gallon

Delaware 5.46 n.a. under 25% - $3.64/gallon

Florida 6.50 Yes under 17.259% - $2.25/gallon, over 55.780% - $9.53/gallon
$6.67¢/ounce on-premise retail tax

Georgia 3.79 Yes $0.83/gallon local tax

Hawaii 5.98 Yes

Idaho see footnote Yes

Illinois 4.50 Yes under 20% - $0.73/gallon;
$1.845/gallon in Chicago and $2.00/gallon in Cook County

Indiana 2.68 Yes under 15% - $0.47/gallon

Towa see footnote Yes

Kansas 2.50 No 8% off- and 10% on-premise retail tax

Kentucky 1.92 Yes * under 6% - $0.25/gallon; $0.05/case and 11% wholesale tax

Louisiana 2.50 Yes under 6% - $0.32/gallon

Maine see footnote Yes

Maryland 1.50 Yes

Massachusetts 4.05 Yes * under 15% - $1.10/gallon; over 50% alcohol - $4.05/proof gallon;
0.57% on private club sales

Michigan see footnote Yes

Minnesota 5.03 -- $0.01/bottle (except miniatures) and 9% sales tax

Mississippi see footnote Yes

Missouri 2.00 Yes

Montana see footnote n.a.

Nebraska 3.75 Yes

Nevada 3.60 Yes under 14% - $0.70/gallon and under 21% - $1.30/gallon

New Hampshire see footnote n.a.

New Jersey 4.40 Yes

New Mexico 6.06 Yes

New York 6.44 Yes under 24% - $2.54/gallon; $1.00/gallon in New York City

North Carolina see footnote Yes *

NORTH DAKOTA 2.50 -- 7% state sales tax

Ohio see footnote ) Yes

Oklahoma 5.56 Yes $1.00/bottle on-premise and 13.5% on-premise

Oregon see footnote n.a.

Pennsylvania see footnote Yes

Rhode Island 3.75 Yes

South Carolina 2.72 Yes $5.36/case and 9% surtax

South Dakota 3.93 Yes under 14% - $0.93/gallon, 2% wholesale tax

Tennessee 4.40 Yes $0.15/case and 15% on-premise; under 7% - $1.21/gallon

Texas 2.40 Yes 14% on-premise and $0.05/drink on airline sales

Utah see footnote Yes

Vermont see footnote No 10% on-premise sales tax

Virginia see footnote Yes

Washington see footnote (¥ Yes *

West Virginia see footnote Yes

Wisconsin 3.25 Yes

Wyoming see footnote Yes

District of Columbia 1.50 Yes 8% off- and 9% on-premise sales tax

U.S. (median) $3.75

(M In 18 states, the government directly controls the sales of distilled spirits. Revenue in these states is generated from various taxes, fees, and net liquor profits.
*  Sales tax is applied to on-premise sales only.

SOURCE: Federation of Tax Administrators, February 2006.
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GAMING TAXES

CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Rates

Gaming Taxes. A gaming tax is levied each quarter on
the total adjusted gross proceeds from games of chance
conducted by licensed organizations. “Adjusted gross
proceeds” is gross proceeds less prizes, North Dakota
excise tax, federal excise tax, and bingo sales tax. The
gaming tax rates are:

Adjusted Gross Proceeds Rate
Up t0 $200,000 ..ocoovvevieieeeeeeee 5%
$ 200,000 to $ 400,000 ......cccecueee. 10%
$ 400,000 to $ 600,000 .........eeeuvennnnne 15%
Over $ 600,000 ........ccvvvvevveeiieeieenn. 20%

In addition, a 4.5% excise tax is imposed on gross
proceeds from pull tabs. The Attorney General administers
the taxes.

Pari-mutuel Taxes. On the first $11 million wagered a

pari-mutuel tax is levied upon total wagers placed at live

and simulcast (off-track betting) race performances as

follows:

* 2% of total wagers in the pari-mutuel pools for win,
place and show.

* 2.5% of total wagers in the pari-mutuel pool for other
wagers combining two or more horses.

In addition, 1.0% of all wagers is deducted for deposit in
each of two special funds, and 1.5% of wagers combining
two or more horses is deducted for deposit in three special
funds.

Pari-mutuel Taxes on wagering handle in excess of

$11 million in each biennium, one-sixteenth of one
percent must be paid to the commission to be deposited

in the purse fund; one-sixteenth of one percent must be
paid to the commission to be deposited in the promotion
fund; one-sixteenth of one percent must be paid to the
commission to be deposited in the breeders' fund; and one-
sixteenth of one percent must be paid to the state treasurer
to be deposited in the general fund.

Pari-mutuel taxes and special funds are administered by
the North Dakota Racing Commission.

Gaming Regulation

Certain organizations which conduct only limited sports

pools, raffles, bingo, paddlewheels, twenty-one, or poker
may be issued a local permit or charity local permit by a
city or county.

In other instances, organizations must receive a license
from the Attorney General to conduct games. The
maximum number of sites an organization may operate is
25. The Attorney General conducts criminal history record
checks of all potential new employees. Persons who have
committed any felony or certain misdemeanor offenses are
prohibited from being an employee in the gaming industry.

All net proceeds from games must be disbursed to
educational, charitable, patriotic, fraternal, religious or
public-spirited uses. “Net proceeds” is adjusted gross
proceeds less allowable expenses and gaming tax.
"Allowable expenses" per quarter are generally limited
to 51% of the first $200,000 of adjusted gross proceeds
and 45% of adjusted gross proceeds over $200,000, plus
2.5% of gross proceeds of pull tabs and cost of video
surveillance equipment.

Organizations may conduct games of poker, twenty-
one, punchboards, pull tabs, bingo, raffles, calcuttas,
paddlewheels, and sports pools. Video surveillance
systems are required at sites where twenty-one wagers
exceed $2 and gross proceeds from twenty-one activity
exceed $10,000 per quarter. Organizations may use
dispensing devises to conduct pull tabs and have bar
employees redeem players' winning pull tabs.

Distribution of Revenue

Gaming Taxes. Revenue from the gaming and excise taxes
is deposited in the State General Fund. For the 2003-05
biennium, the legislature appropriated up to $617,000 of
these taxes for cities and counties for gaming enforcement.
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Pari-mutuel Taxes. Revenue from the pari-mutuel tax

is distributed to the State General Fund. Revenues from
the deductions are deposited in special funds used for
promotion of the racing industry in North Dakota. These
funds are the Purse Fund, the Breeders' Fund and the
Race Promotion Fund. Unclaimed tickets and breakage
are retained in the Race Promotion Fund. For wagering
handle in excess of $11 million in each biennium, breakage
must be divided, one-third to the North Dakota racing
commission to be deposited in the promotion fund, one-
third to the charity operating the site where the wagers are
placed, and one-third to the service provider.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1977 Session. Bingo, raffles, pull tabs, punchboards
and sports pools were legalized. The gaming tax was
established at 3% of adjusted gross proceeds.

1979 Session. The gaming tax rate was increased from 3%
to 5% of adjusted gross proceeds.

1981 Session. The game of twenty-one with a $2
maximum wager was legalized.

1983 Session. The tax rate was changed from 5% of
adjusted gross proceeds to 5% on the first $600,000
of adjusted gross proceeds and 20% on adjusted gross
proceeds over $600,000 per quarter.

1987 Session. The legislature legalized games of poker
and on-track pari-mutuel wagering.

1989 Session. The game of calcuttas for certain North
Dakota sporting events was legalized. The maximum
wager for the game of twenty-one was increased from

$2 to $5. Off-track simulcast pari-mutuel betting was
legalized. The legislature changed the gaming tax rates on
adjusted gross proceeds. A 2% excise tax was imposed on
pull tab gross proceeds.

1991 Session. The game of paddlewheels was legalized
with a $2 maximum wager. Employees of bars were
authorized to assist organizations that conduct pull tabs
using dispensing devices. The State Gaming Commission
was created.

1993 Session. The excise tax on pull tab gross proceeds
was increased from 2% to 4.5%. Organizations were
required to install a video surveillance system at certain
sites for the game of twenty-one.

1995 Session. The work permit system was replaced

by a law that enables the Attorney General's Office to
conduct criminal history record checks of all potential new
employees of organizations and distributors. Two and one-
half percent of gross proceeds of pull tabs was added to the
allowable expense limit for organizations.

1997 Session. For the game paddlewheels, in which
prizes are a variable multiple of the players' wagers, chips
rather than paper tickets were authorized to be used. The
organizations' allowable expense limit was increased for
capital expenditures for security or video surveillance
equipment. The license fee for manufacturers' of pull
tabs, paper bingo cards, and or dispensing devices was
increased to $4,000. The Department of Human Services
received an appropriation of $150,000 to outsource
contract for compulsive gambling prevention, awareness,
crises intervention, rehabilitation, and treatment services.

1999 Session. The maximum monthly rent that an
organization may pay a bar owner for conducting pull
tabs or operating a dispensing device on a site increased.
The attorney general was authorized to require certain
organizations to make estimated gaming and excise tax
payments.

2001 Session. Bingo halls and on-site food concessions
were restricted from operating between the hours of

12 midnight Saturday through 12 noon on Sunday.
Employees of bars were authorized to sell raffle tickets
for organizations that are authorized to conduct games at
those bars. Manufacturers of paper bingo cards and pull
tabs were generally required to sell their products to all
licensed distributors.

2003 Session. Authority was granted to the Attorney
General's Office to allow an organization to pay delinquent
tax, interest, and penalty on an installment plan. The
license fee for manufacturers of pull tab dispensing
devices only was reduced from $4,000 to $1,000.
Employees of bars were authorized to provide limited
assistance to organizations in the conduct of sports pools.

2005 Session. For a raffle, on not more thane one occasion
per year a licensed organization may, at the request of a
winning player, exchange a merchandise prize valued at
not more than $25,000 for a cash prize.
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Percentage Breakdown By Game Excise Tax Collections

Total "Gaming" Tax Revenue Levied on Gross Proceeds of Pull Tabs
Fiscal Year 2005 T

T State
Fiscal Year General Fund
1996 8,280,000
1997 8,061,000
1998 8,201,000
Twenty-One
20% 1999 7,473,000
Pull Tab
11560/: s Raffles, 2000 7,291,000
Punchboards, 2001 7,041,000
—Poxer Sports 2002 6,774,000
ools, and
Calcuttas 2003 6,715,000
0% 2004 6,483,000
2005 6,361,000
2006 (estimate) 6,250,000
SOURCE: Attorney General's Office, Gaming Division.
Pari-mutuel Racing
Tax Collections*
Levied on On- and Off-Track Horse Racing
1
State
Fiscal Year General Fund
) _G;a m ; ntgI Ig_x t(:E;IGIectl'(,)ns ; 1995 107,000
\"/ | n I r
, evied o ota juste 0SS oceeds 1996 121,000
Total 1997 99,000
Fiscal Year Collections 1998 143,000
1999 245,000
1996 3,343,000 2000 2,971,000
1997 3,124,000 2001 3,875,000
1998 3,345,000 2002 3,606,000
1999 3,056,000 2003 4,461,000
2000 3,178,000 2004 111,964
2001 2,965,000 2005 253,268
2002 3,520,000
2003 3,537,000
2004 3,432,000 * Horse racing taxes are deposited in the General Fund.
Several other portions of wagers are distributed to other
2005 3,361,000 racing-related funds and are not included in the table.
2006 (estimate) 3,200,000
SOURCE: Attorney General's Office, Gaming Division; and
North Dakota Racing Commission. [NOTE: The
tax collections exclude the effect of refunds which
are immaterial. |
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NORTH DAKOTA LOTTERY

CURRENT LAW

On November 5, 2002, North Dakota citizens approved
a constitutional amendment that enabled the state to
participate in multi-state lottery games. The 2003
Legislative Assembly passed House Bill No. 1243 that
became law on April 4, 2003. This law, Chapter 53-12.1
(Lottery) of the North Dakota Century Code, created
the North Dakota Lottery as a division within the Office
of Attorney General. The law restricts the Lottery to
multi-state online games. The administrative rules,
Chapter 10-16 (Multi-State Lottery) of the North Dakota
Administrative Code, address general rules, retailer,
conduct and play, and game rules.

The mission of the Lottery is to maximize net proceeds for
the benefit of the state by promoting entertaining games,
providing quality customer service to retailers and players,
achieving the highest standards of integrity, security, and
accountability, and maintaining public trust.

Scope of Operation

The North Dakota Lottery manages, regulates, enforces,
and promotes the state-owned business enterprise and
provides full financial accountability of its operation.

Lottery Advisory Commission

The Attorney General and Chairman of the Legislative
Council appointed a five-member Lottery Advisory
Commission. The Commission serves as a policy advisory
to the Attorney General and director of the Lottery

and serves as the Audit Committee of the Lottery. The
Commission oversees the general operation of the Lottery
and is consulted on all substantive Lottery policies,

plans, issues, contracts, timelines, and activities. The
Commission meets at least on a quarterly basis.

Product Mix

The North Dakota Lottery conducts the games of
Powerball®, Hot Lotto®, Wild Card 2®, and 2by2®.
Powerball was launched on March 25, 2004. Hot Lotto

was launched on June 24, 2004. Wild Card 2 was
launched on September 23, 2004. 2by2 was launched on
February 2, 2006. These games have a range of minimum
jackpots of $20,000 to $15 million, and a range of odds of
winning on a $1 play of 1:3.59 to 1:36.6.

The Lottery launched a Give-A-Gift Certificate service on
December 1, 2004, to provide players an opportunity to
purchase lottery gift certificates in values of $1, $5, $10,
and $20 to give as gifts to family members and friends for
special occasions. The certificates are printed on lottery
terminals, have no expiration date, and may be redeemed
for lottery tickets at any Lottery retailer.

The Lottery launched a Subscription service on
November 1, 2005, to provide players an opportunity to
prepay and be automatically entered into draws for 13, 26,
or 52 weeks. Subscriptions are available for all the games
and can be applied for directly online through the Internet.
Subscriptions are a convenience for players who cannot
always get to a Lottery retailer before every drawing or
who travel to another state on vacation during winter
months or as gifts.

Retailers

As of June 30, 2006, the Lottery had 400 licensed lottery
retailers located in 127 towns and cities throughout all
53 counties. There is about one lottery terminal for each
1,586 residents.

A volunteer informal 12-member Retailer Advisory Board
serves as a front line retailer/player advisor to the Lottery.
The Board provides the Lottery with retailers' perspectives
on various items, including policy, point-of-sale items,
Lottery web site, proposed rules and games, and marketing
promotions. The Board meets periodically.

Debt Setoff

The Lottery has established a debt setoff program in
which a lottery prize of $600 or more is used to setoff
a delinquent debt owed to any state agency or collected
through a state agency on behalf of a third party.
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| Financial DataI

FYE June 30, 2004 FYE June 30, 2005 | FYE June 30, 2006

(3 months activity) (unaudited)
Ticket Sales $ 5,768,602 $ 19,127,290 $ 22,329,157
Total Prizes $ 2,790,398 $ 9,085,551 $ 11,021,728
Retailer Commissions $ 288,430 $ 956,365 $ 1,116,458
Retailer Bonuses N/A N/A $ 41,250

Transfers 2003-05 Biennium | 2005-07 Biennium
Compulsive Gambling Fund $ 400,000 $ 400,000
State General Fund $ 7,269,005 $12,000,000 (estimate)

| Percent Allocation of Lottery Ticket Sales I

MUSL
Prize Reserve Pools
2%

Advertising & Marketing
2%
Admin. & Operating
4%
Contractual Services
10%

Retailer Commissions
5%

SOURCE: North Dakota Lottery

Prizes
48%

Compulsive Gambling Fund

1%
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

CURRENT LAW

Imposition

Employers are subject to the North Dakota Unemployment
Compensation Law if they are subject to the Federal
Unemployment Tax Act. A firm in the private sector

is subject to the Unemployment Compensation Law if

it employs one or more workers in each of 20 different
weeks in a calendar year or has a quarterly payroll of
$1,500 or more.

The requirements also apply to an employer paying $1,000
or more in wages for domestic services and an employer
of agricultural labor employing 10 or more workers

in 20 different weeks within a calendar year or paying
cash wages of $20,000 or more in any calendar quarter.

A nonprofit organization having a 501-C-3 exemption

(a federal income tax exemption covering charitable,
religious and educational institutions) is subject to the tax
if it employs four or more workers in each of 20 different
weeks in a calendar year.

Excluded from unemployment compensation coverage are:
services performed by insurance or real estate salespersons
paid entirely by commissions, services performed for a
parent by a child under the age of 18, services performed
by the parents of the employer, and services performed by
the wife or husband of the employer. Corporate officers
and certain limited liability company managers with a 25%
ownership may be excluded by written application.

Employers not otherwise liable under the law may request
unemployment compensation coverage which, if approved,
is effective for a minimum of two years.

Taxes

Wage Base. For federal tax purposes, the taxable wage
base is the first $7,000 of each employee’s wages. For
state tax purposes, the taxable wage base is 70% of the
statewide average annual wage. For 2006, the taxable

wage base used for the North Dakota tax is $20,300.

Rate. The employer pays the entire tax for both federal
and state unemployment compensation taxes.

A newly liable employer is assigned the tax rate of 1.87%
for 2006 (150% of the maximum rate in the positive
account schedule) unless the employer is classified in a
construction industry. The tax rate for new construction
employers is 9.44% for 2006 (the maximum rate in the
negative account schedule).

For other than newly liable employers, the employer’s
tax rate is determined by an experience-rating system,
which establishes the rate on the basis of the employer's
experience with the unemployment insurance program.

There are two tax rate schedules, Positive Balance and
Negative Balance. The employer's lifetime reserve
(contributions paid less benefits charged) determines
which schedule applies. The rate an employer is assigned
within the respective schedule is determined on the basis
of the relationship between the employer's last 6-year
reserve balance (contributions paid less benefits charged)
and his or her 3-year average taxable payroll.

Employers with a positive reserve - those having paid
more in contributions than their former employees have
collected in benefits - are assigned a rate in the Positive
Balance Schedule. For 2006, rates for these employers
range from 0.40% to 1.25%.

Employers with a negative reserve - those whose former
employees have collected more in benefits than the
employer has paid in contributions - are assigned a rate in
the Negative Balance Schedule. For 2006, rates for these
employers range from 6.05% to 9.44%.

Unemployment Insurance Tax Rates are recalculated each
year and are effective on January 1 of the following year.

Payments. Taxes are paid quarterly to Job Service North
Dakota. Certain nonprofit organizations, government
agencies, and tribal entities may choose a reimbursement
method of financing under which they repay Job Service
only for unemployment benefits the state paid out to the
organization’s former employees.

Reports may be filed electronically via UI EASY
accessible at Job Service North Dakota's web site:
jobsnd.com.
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Benefits

An unemployed worker may file a claim for benefits by
either internet or telephone. If the claimant has sufficient
wage credits in a base period, the claimant’s most recent
employer and all base period employers are notified that

a valid claim for benefits has been filed. Employers

and claimants have the right to appeal all decisions by

Job Service. Claimants must meet all other eligibility
requirement during each week for which they wish to draw
benefits.

The minimum weekly benefit paid to a claimant is $43 per
week. If the claim computes to be less than that minimum,
no benefits are allowed.

The maximum weekly benefit cannot exceed 65% of the
average statewide weekly wage of all covered workers.
The maximum weekly benefit is computed annually and
takes effect on all claims filed with an effective date on
or after July 1 of each year. For the period July 2, 2006
through June 30, 2007, the maximum weekly benefit
amount is $351.

Unemployed workers filing claims may be disqualified for
unemployment compensation benefits if they voluntarily
quit their last employment without good cause attributable
to the employer; were discharged for misconduct
connected with their last work; failed to apply for or
accept suitable work; lost employment due to participation
in a labor dispute; or failed to disclose work and earnings
during a period of claim filing.

Administration

Job Service North Dakota administers the state’s
unemployment insurance programs.

For more information on North Dakota’s Unemployment
Compensation Law, contact Job Service North Dakota

at: PO Box 5507, Bismarck, ND 58506-5507 or e-mail

at jsuits@nd.gov or call toll-free 1-800-472-2952 or
702-328-2814 or check the web site at jobsnd.com.
Persons who wish to file claims may call 701-328-4995 or
go to jobsnd.com and use the UI ICE system.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

2001 Session.

Established that a manager of a Limited Liability
Company (LLC) is an employee only if the LLC treats
itself as a corporation for purposes of federal income
taxation or the manager is not a member.

Established that the application to exclude from
employment the services of certain corporate officers
or LLC managers with 25% or more ownership interest
may now be filed within 60 day of formation of the
corporation or LLC.

Changed the Incremental Bonding provision to the
Construction Risk Protection provision. This provision
indicates a general or prime contractor, or the owner in
those situations in which there is no general or prime
contractor, of a large construction project shall pay

the total amount of unemployment insurance benefits
paid to the employees of all employing units working
on the project which exceeded the total amount of
contributions collected from the employing units. In
addition, a surety bond or an irrevocable letter of credit
must be posted to insure payment.

Established that an individual would not be disqualified
from receiving unemployment insurance benefits if
they voluntarily quit a job to return to an employer with
whom they have a demonstrated job attachment.
Changed how the "risk adjustment" tax rate assignment
is determined when an employer's reported taxable
payroll for a quarter is three times that employer's
average taxable payroll. The rate will depend on

the positive balance or negative balance status of

the employer's account. Also clarifies that the rate
adjustment will trigger if an account has a zero average
taxable payroll.

To insure compliance with the Federal Unemployment
Tax Act (FUTA) state law established that with some
exceptions, Indian Tribes are now treated similarly to
State and local governments.

Identified the exceptions to the rate limitation provision
enacted in the tax rate determination legislation in the
1999 session.
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2003 Session. Provided that the 10.99% "delinquent" rate
be assigned to delinquent employers, EXCEPT:

1. Experience rated positive employers; and

2. New positive non-construction employers, be assigned
the negative employer minimum rate (presently 6.49%
of taxable wages).

Prohibited collateral attacks on UI decisions which have
become final (by virtue of failure to appeal or following an

appeal).

Provided that JSND is not required, at a hearing in which a
base period employer is challenging being charged, to call
or subpoena either the claimant or the claimant's last or
most recent employer.

Provided that "supplemental unemployment
compensation" payments provided by an employer can be
considered nontaxable for Ul tax purposes, AND are not
considered wages for Ul benefits qualifications purposes,
if the payments are made pursuant to a plan that meets the
statutorily defined eight requirements.

Required employing units to keep certain records, and
authorized inspection "by employees of job service North
Dakota" assigned responsibility to inspect and report

on the information in the records for the purpose of
determining the amounts of wages paid, the number of
employees, wage expenditures, and such other information
as may be necessary to carry out the Ul law. Records are
defined to include electronic records. Refusal to submit
records to inspection is subject to a civil penalty of "five
hundred dollars for each offense."

Allows noncharging of base period employers' accounts
when, during the base period, the claimant voluntarily
quit or was discharged for misconduct by the base period
employer.

Allows base period employers who are currently
employing a claimant part-time, and who have not changed
the claimant's hiring agreement, not to have their accounts
charged with benefits paid to the claimant.

Changed the deadline for sending out tax rate notices from
December 1 to the end of the first full week in December,
but no later than December 10.

An owner/claimant will be considered to have "ceded" his
business. A business will be considered "ceded" for the
purpose of determining the claimant's monetary eligibility
in four circumstances cited in the statute.

2005 Session.

* Continued the Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax
calculation based on moving toward an annually
calculated solvency target for the UI Trust Fund. When
the target is calculated, the tax rate must be set so that
one-fifth of the difference between the Trust Fund
balance and the target is made up during that tax year.
Additionally, the bill requires that the amount required
to reach required solvency is calculated so that the
underlying rates necessary to raise the revenue to pay
benefits during that tax year be multiplied by a ratio to
reach the necessary amount to hit the solvency target,
whether positive or negative. Thus, if the target is
higher than the Trust Fund balance, the negative balance
employers will pay more of the amount necessary to
move towards solvency than will the positive balance
employers.

* Created an 8-member Unemployment Insurance
Advisory Council appointed by the Governor.

» Amended three current sections of Chapter 52-04 (UI
tax code—Sections 52-04-10; 52-04-11.1[3]; and 52-
04-17) to provide that an employer cannot demand a
hearing before JSND has rendered a decision..

» Exempted aliens in the country under Section 101(a))
15)(H)(i1)(A) of the Immigration and Nationality Act
(H2A aliens) from coverage as employees. In other
words, farmer-employers will not have to report or pay
UI taxes on H2A aliens working for them.

» Provided that Job Service is to receive notice of
school district dissolution and reorganization; and that
reorganizing or dissolving districts are to set aside funds
with the county auditor or the North Dakota School
Boards Association to cover the amount calculated by
JSND as potential liability for claims of the terminating
school district.

» Amended statute to prevent SUTA (State
Unemployment Tax Act) dumping which is the practice
by which an employer takes steps to manipulate the
situation so that the employer pays UI taxes, directly
or indirectly, at a tax rate lower than the employer’s
assigned experience rate. All employers which have
North Dakota Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax
accounts, including employers which are Professional
Employer Organizations (PEOs).

The general provisions applicable to all employers are:

1. If an employer acquires all or part of the business
or workforce of another employer, and continues
the same business as the transferring employer, the
receiving employer may request the predecessor’s Ul
experience rate, unless Job Service (JSND) finds that
the transaction was “solely or primarily” for SUTA
dumping.
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2. If an employer acquires all or part of the business
or workforce of another employer, and, at the time
of the acquisition, there was common ownership,
management or control, JSND must transfer the
predecessor’s Ul experience to the successor. If,
following a transfer such as described in this
subparagraph JSND discovers that a “substantial
purpose” of the transfer was to SUTA dump, then the
two employers’ experience rates are to be combined
into a single account, and a single UI tax rate is to be
assigned to that account.

3. If a person who is not an employer acquires
the business or workforce of an employer, the
experience rate of the acquired business may not be
transferred to the receiving person if JSND finds that
the transfer occurred “solely or primarily” for the
purpose of SUTA dumping.

4. If a person knowingly SUTA dumps, in the
manner listed in 1-3 above, that person is subject
to assignment of a penalty Ul tax rate at least
2% higher than the currently assigned rate for
the remainder of the current rate year and for 3
following rate years. If a person advises a business
to SUTA dump that person is subject to a civil
penalty of up to $25,000.

5. In addition to the civil penalties, a person who
knowingly violates, or attempts to violate, the
section containing the federally-required SUTA
dumping prohibitions will be guilty of a Class C
Felony.

Provisions applicable to PEOs:

PEOs must furnish the Unemployment Insurance program
a copy of their contracts with clients within 15 days after
execution, and must report and pay Ul taxes at their
clients’ rates unless:

1. The client’s UI tax rate at the time of contracting was
equal to or lower than the PEO’s rate; or

2. The client’s rate at the time of contracting was
higher and the PEO contract requires the client to
make a voluntary contribution to buy the rate down
to the PEO rate, and the client actually makes that
voluntary contribution; or

3. The client’s rate is higher but the differential
between rates will have a negative quarterly impact
on the fund of $500 or less.

Finally, the Bill proposed a Legislative Council study of
licensure or registration of PEOs.

Directed a Legislative Council study of the possibility
of limiting the number of job-attached Ul claimants, and
funding the costs of that action. JSND is to participate
in the study.

Ended the requirement to deduct a portion of Social
Security retirement benefits from Unemployment
Insurance weekly benefits, effective August 1, 2005.
Appropriated $254,925 in Reed Act funds for the
WorkFirst reemployment demonstration project

and authorized the Agency to operate the WorkFirst
demonstration project and to select a random sample
of UI claimants to take part in the project, and to

run the project at fewer than all of its local office

sites. Appropriated $535,000 in Reed Act funds for
UI computer system modernization procurement
planning and authorized JSND to determine UI system
modernization requirements, issue an RFP based on
those requirements, and to make an appropriation
request to the Sixtieth Legislative Assembly for the
funds necessary to build the new system.
Appropriated $20,000 from the General Fund, plus
another $20,000 in private matching funds to JSND to
run a “shared work” pilot project from January 1, 2006
through June 30, 2007.

Ended the statutory requirement that Job Service be
subject to a biennial performance audit.

Allowed Job Service to share Ul claimant information
with the Drivers’ License Division of the Department of
Transportation.

Repealed the provision requiring Job Service to
republish the UI statutes after each legislative session.
Amended current law to provide that base period
employers’ Unemployment Insurance accounts

would not be charged if the claimant had quit or been
discharged by that employer either during or after the
base period.

Amended subsection 1 of section 52-06-02 to provide
that if a claimant left employment due to illness or
injury and pursuant to a doctor’s orders, with certain
other prerequisites, the account of the separating
employer is not to be charged with the benefits paid

in that circumstance, UNLESS that employer is a
reimbursing employer.

Amended subsection 6 of section 52-06-02, which
currently describes the disqualification from benefits
that is imposed on a student who is “registered for full
attendance at and is regularly attending” school.
Removed services performed as a member of
Americorps from the definition of employment, thus
exempting “wages” paid to those “volunteers” from Ul
taxation.
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Unemployment Insurance Benefit Payments

For year ending September 30

$ Millions

Fiscal
Year
1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005

2006 (estimate)

Benefit

Payments
31.6

36.9
31.7
39.1
37.5
41.4
45.1
45.1
44.6
38.5
423

SOURCE: Job Service North Dakota

Average North Dakota Employer Tax Rate and
Unemployment Insurance Tax Revenue

Average Employer Tax Rates

Calendar Percent of Percent of Tax
Year Total Wages Taxable Wages Revenue
1996 0.48% 0.86% 20,709,398
1997 0.48% 0.87% 22,006,387
1998 0.60% 1.10% 29,699,094
1999 0.62% 1.12% 32,313,656
2000 0.69% 1.26% 38,043,573
2001 0.71% 1.28% 40,413,437
2002 0.72% 1.31% 41,809,970
2003 0.87% 1.60% 53,118,506
2004 0.87% 1.60% 55,661,000
2005 0.82% 1.51% 57,096,849

2006 (est.) 0.73% 1.35% 53,123,000

SOURCE: Job Service North Dakota
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WORKERS COMPENSATION

CURRENT LAW
Imposition

The intent of the workers' compensation program is to
take care of injured workers’ medical bills; provide wage-
loss, impairment and rehabilitation payments; and in the
case of death, provide monthly payments to spouses and
dependents. A properly insured employer is immune from
lawsuits for on-the-job injury of an employee.

Employers must include all employees, except those
specifically exempted by law, in the workers’
compensation insurance program. Exclusions include
farm and ranch workers, domestic workers, clergy,
federal employees, railroad employees, newspaper
delivery people, and real estate brokers and salespeople
who operate under a signed contract as an independent
contractor. Coverage is optional for employers, resident
family members under the age of 22, the spouse of an
employer, and self-employed individuals.

Premiums

In North Dakota, workers’ compensation insurance is
financed through premiums paid by employers. These
premiums are among the lowest in the nation. Premiums
for each employer are calculated using payrolls, industry-
based premium rates, and loss history.

Employers report their payroll to Workforce Safety &
Insurance (WSI) on an annual basis, according to the
effective date on the employer's account. The amount of
payroll used to calculate the premium for each worker is
limited to 70% of the state's average annual wage. This
"wage cap" was $20,300.00 as of July 1, 2006. Premium
rates are set for 140 industry classifications based on
industry loss experience. Premium costs up to the cap
per employee range from 27 cents per $100 of payroll
for bank employees to $28.52 per $100 of payroll for
specialized aircraft operations (crop sprayers), which is
one of the highest classifications. In 2005, WSI created a
performance-based program (RMP+) that gives employers
the opportunity to receive a premium discount if they
meet specific claim frequency and severity rates or
remain loss free during the reporting period. Employers
are automatically enrolled in the RMP+ (excluding

retrospective rates accounts, deductible accounts and
minimum premium accounts). Employers are then eligible
for discounts of up to 15% based upon each employer's
reductions in the frequency (total number of claims) and
the severity (total number of days lost from work directly
related to an injury) of their claims from the previous year
(baseline).

The 15% discount is achieved by:

1. 5% for reducing the claim frequency rate by 10%;
2. 5% for reducing the claim severity rate by 10%; and
3. an additional "bonus" of 5% for reducing both rates.

Benefits

An injured worker is responsible for filing a claim. They
must do so within one year of the date of the injury to be
eligible to receive disability benefits for the time they are
unable to work because of the injury and medical benefits
for the life of the injury. Any injury/disability must be
substantiated by medical evidence.

An injured worker's medical treatment is monitored
through a managed care program and is subject to a
medical fee schedule. WSI reimburses the injured worker
for "reasonable and necessary" medical treatment. Wage-
loss benefits for a worker disabled for at least five days
are based on 66 2/3% of the worker’s gross weekly wage,
not to exceed 110% of the state’s average weekly wage.
On July 1, 2006 the state’s maximum weekly benefit was
$624. Additional weekly allowances of $10 are paid on
each child under age 18 or incapable of self-support, or
age 18 to 22 if a full-time student. Workers with medical
restrictions are evaluated through a workability assessment
to determine ability to return to work and eligibility for
rehabilitation benefits, which may include formalized
training. Workers who suffer permanent loss of use of a
body part may qualify for a lump sum "permanent partial
impairment" payment.

WSI pays death benefits to the survivors of workers killed
in work-related accidents. Benefits are paid to the eligible
spouse of the dependents of the deceased worker at a rate
of two-thirds of a deceased worker's gross weekly wage,
up to 110% of the state's average weekly wage. They

will also be paid $10 per week for each dependent child.
Additionally, the surviving spouse receives a one-time
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death benefit of $1,200, plus $400 for each dependent
child. There are also scholarships available for dependents
and spouses. WSI pays all medical bills related to the
compensable injury and death of a worker, including up
to $6,500 for funeral expenses. Total benefits may not
exceed $250,000 over the lifetime of a claim.

Dispute Resolution

The Office of Independent Review helps workers and
employers on claims issues and serves as a litigation
alternative. Injured workers may appeal WSI decisions

of benefit claims by requesting an administrative hearing.
Subsequent appeals may be made to District Court and
then on to the Supreme Court. WSI pays the injured
worker's attorney fees only if the worker wins the appeal
and only if the worker sought assistance from the Office of
Independent Review before appealing. Attorney fees may
not exceed 20% of the amount in dispute.

Fraud

A Special Investigations Unit within WSI investigates
workers, employers, and medical providers suspected

of committing fraud. Anonymous tips about suspected
fraud can be made through a toll-free telephone number,
1-800-243-3331 or by completing a form through the WSI
website at www. WorkforceSafety.com.

Administration

WSI administers the state’s workers compensation
program. For more information on Workforce Safety &
Insurance, write to Workforce Safety & Insurance, 1600
East Century Avenue, Suite 1, Bismarck, ND 58503-0649,
call (701)328-3800, or call the HelpLine 1-800-777-5033.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1991 Session. The legislature created binding arbitration
as an alternative dispute resolution process, mandated

a managed care program and use of a third party
administrator to monitor injured workers' medical care,
and mandated that North Dakota Workers' Compensation
(NDWC) adopt a hospital and medical fee schedule.
Employers were required to reimburse NDWC up to the
first $250 of medical expenses for each claim. The wage
base for computing the premium was changed from $3,600
to 70% of the state’s average annual wage.

1993 Session. The legislature created a system of binding

dispute resolution for disputes arising out of NDWC's
managed care program. The legislature approved a

risk management program which allowed employers

a 5% discount on annual premiums if they designed

and implemented a NDWC approved safety program.
Suspension of benefits was allowed if an employee applied
for benefits in another state for the same injury. An “other
states” coverage program was established regarding
payments of benefits to North Dakota-covered workers
whose injury, disease, or death occurred in another state.

1995 Session. Workers were required to report injuries

to their employers within seven days. NDWC was
allowed to use failure to report an injury as a factor in
determining claims. Employers with approved risk
management programs were allowed to choose medical
providers. If a worker wants to choose the provider, the
worker must notify the employer in writing before an
injury occurs. The legislature revoked wage-loss and
rehabilitation benefits for workers who do not comply
with rehabilitation plans. Wage-loss benefits were stopped
when injured workers become eligible for Social Security
Retirement benefits. Permanent Partial Impairment (PPI)
compensation was limited to workers with over 15%
whole body impairments. A workers' adviser program was
set up to serve as a litigation alternative and to help injured
workers' compensation process. NDWC was authorized to
set up a special fraud unit. Fraud involving over $500 was
changed from a class A misdemeanor to a class C felony.
Attorney fees may no longer exceed 20% of the amount a
claimant receives nor may they be paid by NDWC if the
claimant loses.

1996 Referred and Initiated Measures. Voters in the
June 1996 primary election upheld the changes made by
the 1995 legislature.

1997 Session. The 1997 legislature changed the law to
increase certain benefits, streamline claims processes,
enhance system efficiency, further restrict the potential
for fraud, reduce litigation and adjust earlier reforms.
The legislature also placed NDWC within the oversight
of a board of directors made up of NDWC constituents
appointed by the Governor. NDWC continues to be
managed by an executive director who reports directly
to the board. This law also mandated that independent,
qualitative performance audits be conducted by workers'
compensation industry experts every two years with the
results being presented to the legislature.

November 2006
North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner

-113-



1999 Session. The 1999 legislature substantially increased
cash benefits for the severly impaired, increased the
maximum disability benefit (making North Dakota's
maximum benefit rate one of the highest in the country),
shortened the eligibility period for supplemental benefits,
and increased the size of scholarships available to
dependents of workplace fatality victims. Another major
piece of 1999 legislation provides authority for NDWC

to issue grants to high risk industries for prevention of
workplace accidents. Additionally, the bill allows NDWC
to offer dividends, deductibles, group insurance and other
products that give employers direct financial incentives for
protecting the safety of their workers.

2001 Session. Authorized the construction of a new
building in north Bismarck to house NDWC and required
NDWTC to include rental space for other state agencies.
Provided incentives for employers to hire previously
injured workers in positions that will accommodate the
worker's restrictions resulting from a work injury (the
program was subsequently named, "The Preferred Worker
Program). 2001 legislation also prohibited an employer
from requiring an employee to use accrued personal leave
for time off work for a work-related disability. Increased
awards for certain impairment. Provided that an employee
may be found guilty of fraud for making false statements
to get a claim or benefit paid. And repealed the sunset
clause on the scholarship fund for children of workers
killed on the job.

2003 Session. Legislation changed the organization's
name to Workforce Safety & Insurance (WSI). Increased
lifetime death benefits from $197,000 to $250,000. Allows
for the limited release of information on the status of an
employer's account. Changed the make-up of the WSI
Board of Directors, shortened the terms from 6 to 4 years
and made the medical member a voting member and added
an at-large member. Removed the re-marriage penalty

fpr death benefit recipients. Increased the amount of
money to $50,000 for WSI to spend on home and vehicle
modifications for the catastrophically injured.

2005 Session. Legislation provided additional safety
incentives and established continuing appropriation
authority to fund safety education, grant and incentive
programs from the fund's surplus. Provided employers an
incentive for early claim filing by waiving the first $250
of medical costs if the claim is filed by midnight on the
following WSI business day. Dedicated $15 million of
WSI's fund surplus to establish an educational revolving
loan fund to help injured workers take out college loans
for an approved education plan when they don't qualify
for a WSI vocational retraining program. Increased the
amount of the non-dependency death benefit from $2,000
to 5% of the cap on death benefits ($12,500), the cap is
currently $250,000. Provides the option for an injured
worker to choose to pursue a retraining program or opt for
up to five years of partial disability benefits. Changed the
definition of what constitutes when a worker is declared
to be Permanently and Totally Disabled, thus, moving
from a subjective definition to an objective standard in the
law. Increased the maximum dollar amount for Guardian
Scholarships from $3,000 to $4,000 per year for up to 5
years for spouses and dependent children of a worker who
died as a result of a compensable work-related injury, and
increased the maximum amount of scholarships that can be
awarded annually from $150,000 to $300,000.
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Premium Income

North Dakota Workers Compensation

Millions
of Dollars

150

125

100

75

50

25

112.4
A

96.8

103.7

88.6
P

1999

2000

2001 2002
Fiscal Years

2003

SOURCE: Workforce Safety & Insurance

$500 $469.2
$403.7 I
-
3400 $332.9 $332.6 $341.1 $337.4
$300
$206.3
$200
$100
$0
FY 1999 FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005
$206.3 $332.9 $332.6 $341.1 $337.4 $403.7 $469.2

SOURCE: Workforce Safety & Insurance

2004

2005

North Dakota Workers
Compensation Premiums
Example of Low (Clerical) and

High (Iron or Steel Construction)

Maximum Per Employee Charge

Year
1994
1995
1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005

Iron or Steel

Clerical Construction
50.70 4,082.00
52.26 4,207.60
52.82 4,235.33
49.70 4,037.06
48.84 3,842.08
49.92 3,948.36
54.74 4,066.86
52.70 3,420.40
53.94 3,500.88
55.80 3,621.60
62.90 3,984.90
75.66 4,386.34

SOURCE: Workforce Safety & Insurance

Workforce Safety & Insurance Fund Surplus ]
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Workers' Compensation Premium Rate
Per $100 of Payroll

Rank State Index Rate
1 California 6.08
2 Alaska 4.39
3 Florida 4.20
4 Hawaii 3.73
5 Ohio 3.59
6 Kentucky 3.48
7 Delaware 3.44
8 Montana 3.41
9 Louisiana 3.37

10 District of Columbia 3.26
11 Connecticut 3.23
12 New Hampshire 3.19
13 Maine 3.08
14 Texas 3.08
15 Oklahoma 3.07
16 Rhode Island 3.01
17 Vermont 2.99
18 New York 2.97
19 Alabama 2.88
20 Pennsylvania 2.82
21 Minnesota 2.74
22 Missouri 2.67
23 Illinois 2.65
24 West Virginia 2.64
25 Tennessee 2.62
26 Nevada 2.58
27 New Mexico 2.56
28 Wyoming 2.43
29 New Jersey 2.38
30 Michigan 2.34
31 Colorado 2.33
32 North Carolina 2.32
33 Wisconsin 2.27
34 Idaho 2.25
35 Washington 2.20
36 Mississippi 2.19
37 Georgia 2.14
38 Nebraska 2.10
39 South Carolina 2.08
40 Maryland 2.06
41 South Dakota 2.05
42 Oregon 2.05
43 Towa 1.91
44 Kansas 1.81
45 Massachusetts 1.70
46 Utah 1.63
47 Virginia 1.57
48 Arkansas 1.57
49 Arizona 1.49
50 Indiana 1.24
51 NORTH DAKOTA 1.06

Rates vary by classification and insurer in each state. Actual cost to an employer can be adjusted by the employer's
experience rating, premium discounts and dividends.

SOURCE: Research and Analysis Section, Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services 2005.
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