Cooperative Association Annual Report
Statutory authority: NDCC, Section 10-15-36
A cooperative association must file an annual report with the Secretary of State:
- On or before March 31st of each year. The first annual report is due in the year following that in which the cooperative was initially chartered or authorized to transact business by the Secretary of State.
- On the form prescribed by the Secretary of State. If the cooperative did not receive an annual report form, contact the Secretary of State’s office for another form since the form has not yet been published to this website.
An annual report may be filed with the Secretary of State by mailing a signed report to:
Annual Report Processing Center
Secretary of State
State of North Dakota
PO Box 5513
Bismarck ND 58506-5513
If a cooperative chooses not to file an annual report by the required date, or file a voluntary dissolution or withdrawal of their charter or authority, state law requires the Secretary of State to revoke the cooperative’s charter or authority one year after the report is due.
The annual report must disclose the following:
- Cooperative name
- Name and address of the registered agent in North Dakota
- State of origin
- Federal ID number to help maintain accurate cooperative records
- Telephone number of the principal place of business
- Address of the principal place of business
- Description of the business activities
- Names and addresses of all officers and directors
- A statement of the aggregate number of shares the cooperative has authority to issue, itemized by classes, par value of shares, shares without par value
- A statement of the aggregate number of issued shares, itemized by classes, par value of shares, shares without par value
- Name, e-mail address and day-time telephone number of a contact person; and
- Signature of person authorized to submit the annual report.
Annual report fees:
- $20 if the annual report mailer is postmarked on or before March 31st.
- $25 if the annual report mailer is postmarked on or before May 1st.
- $35 if the annual report mailer is postmarked thereafter.
- Checks for payment must be made payable to the Secretary of State and must be negotiable United States funds.
- Credit card payment is acceptable via VISA, MasterCard, or Discover.
- Late filing penalty fees will apply if an annual report is initially received in the office of the Secretary of State after the required date and the envelope or mailer does not bear a legible postmark date prior to March 31. Late filing penalty fees will also apply if the Secretary of State returns an annual report to the filer for corrections, additional information, or payment and the filer fails to correctly respond within 30 days after the initial correction notice.
Reinstatement after involuntary revocation:
- May occur within one year after the revocation date.
- Achievable by filing the past-due annual report and paying a reinstatement fee of $50
The Secretary of State shall delete or obscure any of the following before releasing a copy of an annual report to the public:
- Any social security number; and
- Federal tax identification number,