nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

graphical spacer

Navigation BulletAbout the Department
Navigation BulletField Seed Program
Navigation Spacer- Seed Certification
Navigation Spacer- Eligibility
Navigation SpacerRequirements

Navigation Spacer- Standards
Navigation Spacer- Field Inspection
Navigation Spacer- Final Certification
Navigation Spacer- On-Line Bulk Certs
Navigation Spacer- Certification of
Navigation SpacerBlends & Mixtures

Navigation Spacer- Handling Bulk
Navigation SpacerCertified Seed

Navigation Spacer- Custom Programs
Navigation Spacer- Quality Assurance
Navigation SpacerProgram

Navigation Spacer- Quality Assurance
Navigation SpacerGuidelines

Navigation Spacer- Identity Preserved
Navigation SpacerPrograms

Navigation Spacer- Pre-Variety
Navigation SpacerGermaplasm
Navigation SpacerCertification

Navigation Spacer- Approved Conditioners
Navigation Spacer- Conditioning
Navigation SpacerCertified Seed

Navigation Spacer- Certified Seed
Navigation SpacerConditioning
Navigation SpacerRequirements

Navigation Spacer- Bulk Retail Facilities
Navigation Spacer- Bulk Seed Sales
Navigation Spacer- Certified Bulk
Navigation SpacerSeed Requirements
Navigation Spacer- Fees
Navigation Spacer- Certification Fees
Navigation Spacer- Research Fees
Navigation Spacer- Field Seed Links
Navigation BulletPotato Program
Navigation BulletRegulatory Program
Navigation BulletDiagnostic Lab
Navigation BulletSeed Lab
Navigation BulletFees
Navigation BulletDeadlines
Navigation BulletNews
Navigation BulletContacts

Bottom Navigation Curve
Field Seed Photos: Wheat, Seedling, Inspection, HarvestingGraphical Spacer

Certification Eligibility Requirements

The Federal Seed Act Regulations prescribe the requirements for seed certification in the United States. Because the FSA is a federal law, it supersedes any AOSCA certification requirements or standards. AOSCA and its member agencies may adopt more restrictive standards if warranted. State certification agencies must enforce standards and procedures that meet or exceed the standards and procedures specified in the Federal Seed Act Regulations.

Seed producers must understand the eligibility requirements to be successful in certification of crop cultivars. As specified by the Federal Seed Act eligibility requirements include:
Eligibility of Growers
Any person is eligible to produce Registered or Certified class seed providing such seed is produced, handled, and distributed in accordance with applicable Noth Dakota certification rules and seed laws. The State Seed Commissioner reserves the right to reject any application of certification or refuse certification on any lot of seed if essential evidence in incomplete, if information given is incorrect, or if circumstances indicate that it would be advisable for the good of the certified seed industry.

Eligibility of Crop Varieties
The Federal Seed Act requires that the following information must be made available by the originator, developer, owner, or agent when eligibility for certification is requested by the applicant.

Only those varieties that are accepted by the North Dakota State Seed Department as meriting certification in accordance with the criteria established by the Federal Seed Act and the Association of Official Seed Certifying Agencies shall be eligible for certification. A variety will normally be considered eligible for certification if it has received favorable action by one or more of the following:

Eligible classes (generations) and sources of certified seed
There are four recognized classes (generations) of seed: Limitations of Generations
The number of generations which a variety may be multiplied shall be limited to that specified by the originating breeder or owner of a variety, but shall not exceed two generations beyond Foundation seed.

The following exceptions are permitted:

Unlimited recertification of the Certified class may be permitted when Foundation seed is not being maintained. The production of an additional generation of the Certified class may be permitted on a one-year basis when: Eligibility of Seedstocks
Eligible seedstocks have met the requirements for Foundation, Registered or, in special cases, approved lots of the Certified class. Eligible seed obtained from another person must be accompanied by the official tag or bulk certificate issued by an approved certifying agency. Proof of eligibility will be required with the application for field inspection.

Certified seed growers may plant seed from their own fields which passed field inspection in previous years if the class of seed (generation) is eligible to be certified. Carryover reports must be filed annually on unconditioned seed produced prior to the previous crop year. Certified seed growers may not plant seed from their own fields that failed field inspection due to genetic purity factors in previous years.

Growers should check with the State Seed Department regarding approved lots of the Certified class eligible for recertification.

Field Eligibility
A crop will not be eligible for the production of Foundation, Registered, or Certified class seed if planted on land on which the same kind of crop was grown previously for the number of years as stated in the specific crop standards. Exceptions will be made if the previous crop was the same variety and passed field inspection for certification.

A grower may establish field eligibility history for the upcoming year by planting certified seed on the field, requesting field inspection, and having the field declared eligible in the ensuing year for production of seed of the same variety.

Privacy Policy | Security Policy