nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
North Dakota
Retirement and Investment Office Skip navigation
  About Us ] Contact Us ] News ] SIB ] SIB Securities Litigation ] SIB Audit ] TFFR ] Search ] Site Map ]  




SIB Audit Committee Board

The SIB Audit Committee is comprised of five members. Three members represent the three groups represented on the State Investment Board (SIB) which include the Teachers' Fund for Retirement (TFFR), Public Employees Retirement System (PERS), and elected and appointed officials. Two members are selected from outside the SIB and are auditors with at least a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) or Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) designation. Members of the SIB Audit Committee serve one year terms with no term limitations and are re-appointed each year by the SIB.

Photo of Rebecca Dowart


Rebecca Dowart, Chair

Rebecca Dowart is the Human Resource Project Manager at MDU Resources Group, Inc. where she is responsible for analysis of executive and board member total compensation, tracking multi-employer plan status, working with outside consultants on pension and post-retirement valuations, leading the preparation of compensation related sections of the proxy statement and providing audit resolution assistance to business units on human resources related control deficiencies. Rebecca is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and a Certified Internal Auditor (CIA).



Vacant, TFFR Representative


Photo of Yvonne Smith


Yvonne Smith, Vice Chair

Yvonne Smith was elected to the PERS Board of Trustees in 2014, representing retired state employees. Yvonne represents the PERS Board on the SIB and the SIB Audit Committee. Ms. Smith was a state employee for over thirty years, working for the Department of Human Services until her retirement in 2007.

Photo of Joshua Wiens


Joshua Wiens

Joshua Wiens currently serves as Chief Financial Officer of McDonalds of Bismarck-Mandan where he is responsible for all accounting and payroll related functions. Joshua concurrently acts as the Chief Financial Officer of Shiloh Christian School where he is responsible for managing the business side of a private school. Prior to serving as CFO for his two current employers, Joshua was a Senior Audit Manager for Eide Bailly, LLP in Bismarck. Joshua is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA).

Photo of Cindy Ternes


Cindy Ternes, Elected and Appointed Officials Representative

Cindy Ternes represents elected and appointed officials on the SIB and SIB Audit Committee. Cindy is the Workforce Safety & Insurance CEO designee and is the Director of Finance for Workforce Safety & Insurance. Cindy is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA).

    [ Back ]   [ Forward ]    


  Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Level Double-A conformance icon, W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0