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RENT INCOME 
 

POLICY:   It is the policy of the North Dakota Veterans Home to charge rent to residents in 

accordance with the North Dakota Veterans Home Governing Board and the State of North 

Dakota laws and regulations. The North Dakota Veterans Home shall have procedures in 

place to calculate and administer rents. 

 

PROCEDURES: 

 

WHEN RENT IS CALCULATED – BASIC CARE 

1. The rent will be calculated upon admission for new residents. 

2. For resident workers the rent calculation will be calculated monthly. 

3. Resident rents will be recalculated every January and any changes will be effective 

February 1 of each year. 

4. Any change in a resident’s income must be reported to the accounting department so 

that rents can be adjusted accordingly. 

5. The rents will be on a form as devised by the Veterans Home and will include the 

signature of the resident or their representative. 

6. When accurate information has not been furnished to determine the appropriate rent, 

the facility shall charge the maximum rent until such time that correct information is 

provided. Rent charges will be recalculated once accurate information is received. 

The Administrator will have the authority to adjust prior rent charges.  

 

HOW RENT IS CALCULATED-BASIC CARE 

1. The rent will be calculated using prospective income when available as well as past 

income (interest, land rent, etc.) unless this income is no longer available. 

2. Verification of income is required. 

3. The income will be annualized using all allowable sources of income.  This total will 

be reduced by paid allowable medical expenses and other expenses as required by the 

courts i.e., child support or alimony.  

4. Rent charges will be 25% of a residents first $1200 of annual rent eligible income and 

50% of additional rent eligible income. Annual rent will be divided by 12 to 

determine monthly rent. 

5. Additional rent charges will be billed for residents that have a private room. Charges 

for a single private room will be $1.00 per day and $1.50 per day for a double private 

room.   The additional charge for a private room may be waived in the case of a 

medical necessity.  The waiver must be requested by the Director of Nursing Services 

and approved by the Administrator. 

6. Maximum rent charges will increase three percent (3%) each February 1
st
. Rent 

charges will be rounded to the nearest dollar.  
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HOW RENT IS CALCUATED –SKILLED CARE 

1. Rent calculations are not applicable to Skilled Care residents as they are charged a 

daily rate as developed by the State of North Dakota Human Services Case Mix 

System.  

 

SKILLED & BASIC CARE RENT FOR ABSENCE DAYS 

1. Rent will be charged for all days, including leaves of absence.  

 

COLLECTIONS  

1. Statements will be printed and mailed on the 1
st
 business day of each month.  And 

must be paid by the 10
th
 of the month to avoid late charges. 

2. Residents will be pre-billed for the next month’s rent. All rents are due and payable in 

full upon voluntary or involuntary discharge from the North Dakota Veterans Home. 

The rent will be prorated up to the day of discharge. 

3. Any rents outstanding will be collected using internal sources or collection agencies if 

necessary. 

4. A finance charge on outstanding amounts due the Veterans Home will be charged at 

1% per month, not to exceed $25.00 per month.   

5. Finance charges will not be assessed on outstanding accounts if reasonable payments 

are received each month.  Finance charges will be assessed for any month a payment 

is not received. 

6. Residents that have an outstanding balance due and are 30 days past due may be 

discharged. 

7. Exceptions must be approved by the administrator. 

 

Any changes to this policy must be approved by the North Dakota Veterans Home Governing 

Board. 

 

 

Effective:  10/15/2004 
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