STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

In the Matter of

Karen Marie Andrews, ORDER REVOKING LICENSE

)

)

NPN 16223823, )
)

)

)

DOB 2/15/83, CASE NO. AG-12-351

Respondent.

Insurance Commissioner Adam Hamm (hereinafter “Commissioner”) has
determined as follows:

The Commissioner has authority in this matter pursuant to N.D.C.C. §
26.1-26-15, which states:

License requirement - Character. An applicant for
any license under this chapter must be deemed by the
commissioner to be competent, trustworthy, financially
responsible, and of good personal and business reputation.

2 Karen Marie Andrews, NPN 16223823, DOB 2/15/83 (hereinafter
“Respondent”), holds a North Dakota resident insurance producer license issued under
N.D.C.C. chapters 26.1-26 and 26.1-26.6. Respondent is licensed as a bail bond agent.

%! Respondent applied for a North Dakota resident insurance producer
license in March 2011. Respondent's application states, “1. Have you ever been
convicted of, or are you currently charged with, committing a crime, whether or not
adjudication was withheld? [Answer] No.” The “no” answer was untruthful. A check of

North Dakota court records revealed that Respondent had been convicted of Issuing a

Bank Check with Insufficient Funds in 2004 and 2008. The application requires
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reporting of all convictions or charges, with some exceptions. The Insufficient Funds

convictions were Class B misdemeanor crimes. Respondent’s convictions were not

excluded from the reporting requirement. Prelicensure investigation also disclosed six

outstanding judgments against Respondent that totaled approximately $8,081.94.

4. Based on the totality of Respondent’s application, the Commissioner

determined that Respondent would be offered the opportunity to agree to a conditional

license. On April 27, 2011, the Deputy Commissioner wrote to Respondent (“License

Agreement”) stating in part:

Notwithstanding the criminal convictions and your financial
history, the Department will agree to offer you a conditional
license. In consideration of your execution of this agreement
and in consideration of the Department agreeing not to deny
a license to you, the Department will issue a resident
individual insurance producer license with the following

conditions:

1.
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A conditional license will be issued with a
probationary period to run 36 months from the
date of issuance of the license. ...

You must during the time of this probation and
at all times after that fully comply with all the
laws of the state and lawful orders of the
Insurance Commissioner. ...

The Department can revoke, suspend, or take
such further action against the license as may
be deemed necessary in the Commissioner’s
discretion without notice of hearing or issuance
of a complaint, if ... the Department receives a
complaint from any source against you and
after investigation of the merits of the ...
complaint and after you have been afforded the
opportunity to respond in writing, and after
review of other factual information necessary,
the Commissioner concludes that you violated
the laws of the State of North Dakota or used
fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices or



are incompetent, untrustworthy, or financially
irresponsible.

5. You may not handle funds in any insurance-
related employment. ...

If you are in agreement with the conditions described above,

please sign below, have your signature notarized, and return

the agreement to the Department. After receipt of this

signed and notarized agreement, the Department will then

issue a conditional license.
Respondent returned the letter with her notarized signature agreeing to the conditions
set out in the License Agreement on or about May 11, 2011. The Commissioner issued
a license to Respondent on May 11, 2011. A copy of the signed agreement is attached
to this Order as Exhibit 1.

5. On or about February 7, 2012, the North Dakota Insurance Department
(‘Department”) received a complaint from Robert Boysen (“Boysen”) on behalf of Alex
Ahyai (“Ahyai’) alleging Respondent and AAA Best Bail Bonds Inc. had written a bail
bond for Ahyai, had accepted money sent by wire as part of the bond transaction, and
had failed to refund money owed after Ahyai appeared in court. The Department wrote
to Respondent on February 10, 2012, February 27,2012, and March 29, 2012,
informing her about the complaint and affording her the opportunity to respond in
writing.

6. Subsequent investigation disclosed that on October 22. 2011, Respondent

wrote a bail bond for Ahyai in the face amount of $1,000 securing Ahyai's appearance in

court on November 2, 2011. Also on that date, Respondent accepted $650 from Boysen
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by a Moneygram. The Commissioner has determined $500 of the $650 payment is cash
collateral held by Respondent.

7 Ahyai appeared in McHenry County District Court on November 2,2011,
as required by the court. The bond was exonerated on that date, which terminated
Respondent’s liability on the bond. A bail bond agent must return collateral “immediately
upon final termination of liability on the bond.” N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26.6-05(1)(f).
Furthermore, pursuant to N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26.6-05(g), the Commissioner may revoke a
bail bond agent's license for “[w]illfully failing to return collateral security to the principal
when the principal is entitled to the security.” Respondent has not returned any cash
collateral to Boysen or Ahyai. As of the date of this Order, approximately 181 days have
elapsed since Respondent’s duty to return the collateral arose. Respondent’s failure to
return collateral is a violation of N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-26.6-05(1)(f) and (g).

8. Respondent agreed by signing the License Agreement that she “may not
handle funds in any insurance-related employment...." Respondent’s acceptance of
$650 by the Moneygram sent by Boysen constitutes handling funds within the meaning
of the License Agreement. Respondent’s acceptance of $650 by the Moneygram sent
by Boysen is a violation of the terms of the License Agreement for which the
Commissioner may revoke Respondent’s license.

9. The bail bond was issued by Respondent as attorney in fact for Bankers
Insurance Company of St. Petersburg, Florida (“Bankers”), on Power of Attorney No.
560592559. Respondent did not hold an appointment with Bankers either on October
22 2011, when the bond was written or within 30 days after, as required by N.D.C.C. §

26.1-26-13.1 which provides in part:
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1. An insurance producer may not act as an agent of an
insurer unless the insurance producer becomes an
appointed agent of that insurer. ...
2. To appoint an insurance producer as its agent, the
appointing insurer shall file a notice of appointment
within thirty days from the later of the date the agency
contract is executed or the first insurance application
is submitted.
Respondent’s issuance of the bond without an appointment is a violation of N.D.C.C. §
26.1-26-13.1.

10. N.D.C.C. §26.1-26-33 requires all licensees to notify the Commissioner
of any change in the licensee’s residential or business address within 30 days of the
change. “Business address” includes business location and mailing address. On
February 10, 2012, the Department sent a letter to Respondent’s mailing address of
record. The letter was returned to the Department as undeliverable. Respondent has
not informed the Commissioner of any change of mailing address. Respondent’s failure
to inform the Commissioner of any change of mailing address is a violation of N.D.C.C.
§ 26.1-26-33.

11.  The Department also wrote to Respondent on February 27, 2012, and
March 29, 2012, informing her about the complaint and requesting her response,
including records and documentation. Respondent has not responded in any way.
Pursuant to N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-26-42(14) and 26.1-26.6-02, the Commissioner may
revoke a bail bond agent’s license for “refusing to respond within twenty daystoa
written request by the commissioner for information regarding any potential violation”.

Respondent’s failure to respond to the Department’s requests for information is a

violation of N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-42.
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12.  Pursuant to N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-31, an insurance producer license
“continues in force in perpetuity unless . . . the licensee voluntarily consents to the
suspension, revocation, or refusal of the license....” Respondent voluntarily consented
to the revocation of her resident insurance producer license upon the occurrence of
certain clearly described events.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Respondent having agreed
to revocation of her license if the Department receives a complaint from any source
against her and after investigation of the merits of the complaint and after she had been
afforded the opportunity to respond in writing, and after review of other factual
information necessary; and the Commissioner having concluded that Respondent
violated the laws of the State of North Dakota and the terms of her License Agreement;
and in accordance with the terms of the License Agreement signed by Respondent,

Respondent’s North Dakota resident insurance producer license is hereby REVOKED.

This order is effective this 5 day of May, 2012.

ce Department
00 East Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 401
Bismarck, ND 58505
(701) 328-2440
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EXHIBIT 1
North Dakota

Insurance Department

Adam W. Hamm, Commissioner

April 27, 2011 OMAY 11201

Ms. Karen Andrews
325 Third Street NW, Suite 4
Minot, ND 58701

RE: Conditional License Agreement

Dear Ms. Andrews:

The North Dakota Insurance Department has recently concluded its evaluation of your
application received on March 7, 2011, for a resident individual insurance producer
license. In that application you answered “no” to background question one regarding
whether you have ever been convicted of a crime. A check of North Dakota court
records revealed that you were convicted of Issuing a Bank Check With Insufficient
Funds in 2003 and 2008 and convicted of Dog/Cat License Required in 2009.

It was also discovered that there are six outstanding judgments against you that total
approximately $8,081.94.

Your criminal convictions and financial history are grounds for denial of your application.
State law provides that the Commissioner may deny a license if an applicant has been
convicted of a felony or convicted of an offense determined by the Commissioner to

have a direct bearing upon a person's ability to serve the public as an insurance
producer, N.D.C.C § 26 1.26-42(1), (2), (5). In addition. an applicant for an insurance

producer Iicensé mugt be deemed by the Commissioner to be competent, trustworthy,
financially responsible, and of good personal and business reputation. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-

26-15. A violation of these laws is subject to a civil fine of up to $1,000. N.D.C.C. §
26.1-26-50.

Notwithstanding the criminal convictions and your financial history, the Department will
agree to offer you a conditional license. In consideration of your execution of this
agreement and in consideration of the Department agreeing not to deny a license to
you, the Department will issue a resident individual insurance producer license with the

following conditions:

600 E. Boulevard Ave., Bismarck, NID 538505 « (701) 328-2440 « Fax (701) 328-488() - i115llr:lﬂ(1<:('l’1;'71717{r!7.g(?\»‘
Consumer hotline: 1-800-247-0360 » Relay ND TTY 1-800-306-6888 = www.nd.gov/ndins



Ms. Karen Andrews
April 27, 2011
RE: Conditional License

p. 2

A conditional license will be issued with a probationary period to run 36
months from the date of issuance of the license. If, at the end of the
probationary period, there is no cause to terminate the license, an
unrestricted license will be issued.

You must during the time of this probation and at all times after that fully
comply with all the laws of the state and lawful orders of the Insurance
Commissioner. You will be allowed to maintain this conditional license for
36 months if you have no collection actions initiated or judgments entered
against you and no criminal charges or convictions filed during the
conditional period that at any time lead to a criminal conviction. Sixty-one
days after expiration of this probation, the license will still be conditional so
that we can check court records to determine whether you completed
probation successfully.

The Depariment can revoke, suspend, or take such further action against
the license as may be deemed necessary in the Commissioner's
discretion without notice of hearing or issuance of a complaint, if the
Department receives information that you have had a collection action
initiated against you or you have been charged with a crime or convicted
of a crime at any time which resulted from a charge that was filed during
the probationary period, or the Department receives a complaint from any
source against you and after investigation of the merits of the charge,
conviction, or complaint and after you have been afforded the opportunity
to respond in writing, and after review of other factual information
necessary, the Commissioner concludes that you violated the laws of the
State of North Dakota or used fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices
or are incompetent, untrustworthy, or financially iresponsible.

During the time of the probation, you shall report to the Department within
three business days after an action to collect money or a criminal charge
is filed, any further collection action, criminal charge, of criminal conviction

in any jurisdiction except for minor traffic offenses.

You may not handle funds in any insurance-related employment. During
the time of your probation, you must notify the Department within three
business days if you leave your current employment.

You must notify the Department within three business days of any checks
you write that are returned for insufficient funds, whether or not it results in
a criminal charge.

All judgments must be paid in full by the end of the probationary period
before an unrestricted license will be issued.



Ms. Karen Andrews
April 27, 2011

RE: Conditional License
p.3

Please be advised that the issuance of the conditional license will resultin a
report to the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) Producer Database
(PDB) as an administrative action.

if you are in agreement with the conditions described above, please sign below, have
your signature notarized, and return the agreement to the Department. After receipt of
this signed and notarized agreement, the Department will then issue a conditional
license. This offer is valid for only 20 days from the date of this letter. If we have
not received your signature within that time frame, the application will be denied.

Sinserely,

Rebecca L. Ternes
Deputy Commissioner

RLT/njb
cc:  Agent Licensing

| agree to the conditions set out in this License Agreement.

oS Ao
DATED this /)" dayof _/}] sy . 2011.
/
LUy S z/-:{g//h’/m—.-—«
Karen Andrews
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _LQ__ day of Jf\w\ 2011,

O/\\RMQ Rorguwele.

Notary @bnc O *

State of N D)
County of \;Jw,d{

My Commission Expires: §©  CHE "

) Notary Public
State of North Dakota :
Ly commission expires Apr 4, 2017 §




