The North Dakota Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Fund was established by the 1989 North Dakota State Legislature to financially assist tank owners for cleanup costs and third party liability caused by petroleum contamination.
All owners or operators of aboveground or underground petroleum storage tanks in North Dakota are required to register their tanks with the Fund and pay an annual registration fee of $100 for each aboveground tank and $100 for each underground tank. Violation of this law is a class B misdemeanor.
If a petroleum release occurs or petroleum contamination is discovered, an eligible tank owner is reimbursed 90 percent of necessary and reasonable costs between $5,000 and $155,000 for cleanup of contamination or third-party liability. The Fund reimburses 100% of costs between $155,000 and $1,000,000.
Click here for the 2012 renewal packet.
For more information, contact: