North Dakota law does not require classroom instruction for an applicant preparing for the examinations. Preparation can be done by classroom instruction or self-study and applicants will not have to provide verification of study to the Department or the testing center.
Study material and classroom schedules can be obtained from a number of prelicensing providers. North Dakota does not require prelicense instruction; therefore, the information and materials given by prelicense providers is not approved or regulated. The Department cannot recommend one provider over another.
View a list of education resources for classroom and self-study materials.
Taking the exams
The applicant must pass the appropriate exams for the lines of authority for which they are seeking to qualify. Exam scores are valid for one year after the date of the exam. The application for licensure must be received by the Department within that year.
Exams are administered by PSI. For additional exam information or to schedule an exam online, go to PSI's website. The website provides:
To schedule an exam by phone, call PSI at 800-733-9267.
- Licensing Information Bulletin
- Exam content outlines
- Information on exam reservations
For major lines of authority (life and annuities, accident and health, property, casualty) you must pass both parts of the appropriate exams--one part on general product knowledge and one part specific to North Dakota state law. The Candidate Handbook on the PSI website lists the exams you need for each line of authority.
Anyone applying to become a North Dakota resident insurance producer must undergo a criminal background check, which includes fingerprinting. This requirement does not apply to individuals renewing their license, individuals who apply for a license within 12 months after their license was cancelled or expired, unless the license was suspended or revoked, or individual resident producers who are adding a line of authority to an existing license. Fingerprints are collected at the test site following passage of the licensing exam.
Fingerprint procedure - Fee change effective September 23, 2016
An applicant must make arrangements with the test vendor (www.psiexams.comor 800-733-9267) to schedule an exam and to be fingerprinted.
Applicants must provide the test vendor with a check or money order in the amount of $40; checks must be payable to the North Dakota Attorney General. CREDIT CARDS ARE NOT ACCEPTED. A fee of $28.00 is due to the vendor, which can be paid by credit card, check or money order.
- Applicants need to pass both sections of the test before they are fingerprinted.
- If an applicant fails one portion of the exam, they need to reschedule with the vendor another time to take the portion of the test they did not pass. If they pass, the applicant is fingerprinted at that time.
- Applicants must fill out and sign the Criminal History Record Check Request for North Dakota Insurance Department (SFN 60405) , prior to being fingerprinted. The form is provided at the test center.
Applicants must go to the nearest PSI exam center to be fingerprinted. No exam is required.
Applicants must go to the nearest PSI exam center to be fingerprinted.
An applicant applying for a resident license for title insurance is exempt from any examination requirement but must meet the following qualifications:
a. The applicant must be a licensed abstracter or attorney; or
b. The applicant must have a minimum of 80 hours of training provided by an insurer licensed in the line of title insurance. A certification by an insurer that the training has been completed must accompany the application.
Test center locations
PSI - Fargo/Moorhead
819 30th Ave S, Ste 108
Moorhead, MN 56560
Hours: Tuesdays 10 a.m.-2 p.m., 2:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m., Wednesdays 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m., Thursdays 10 a.m.-2 p.m., 2:30 p.m-6:30 p.m. and Saturdays 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
PSI - Bismarck
120 3rd Street, Ste. 75
Bismarck, ND 58501
Hours: Wednesdays 9:30 a.m. -noon, 12:30 p.m.-3 p.m. and Fridays 9:30 a.m.-noon, 12:30 p.m.-3 p.m.
PSI - Minot
Minot State University
500 University Ave W
Center for Extended Learning - Admin Bldg, Rm 366B
Minot, ND 58707
Hours: Tuesdays 1 p.m.-4 p.m., Wednesdays 9 a.m.-noon., Thursdays 1 p.m.-4 p.m. and Fridays 9 a.m.-noon, 1 p.m.-4:30 p.m.
You must have an appointment to take an exam.
Applying for the license
The fee for an initial application for an insurance producer license is $100.
You can submit your application for an insurance producer license electronically. To submit a paper application, use the link at the bottom of this page to print the Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License. Complete the application form, sign and date it, and attach a check or money order for $100. Send to:
North Dakota Insurance Department
Agent Licensing Division
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
IMPORTANT: Make sure you answer all questions completely and disclose all information requested. You must disclose all criminal convictions and pending criminal charges. Question number one allows you to exclude misdemeanor traffic citations or convictions involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving or driving with a suspended or revoked license and juvenile offenses. You must disclose all other criminal convictions and pending charges including, but not limited to, NSF checks and Minor in Possession. These criminal convictions must be disclosed regardless of when they occurred. Please read Bulletin 2009-2 for more information. If you have any questions about what needs to be disclosed, contact the Department before submitting your application.
N.D.C.C. § 26.1-02.1-02.1 prohibits a person convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust from participating in the business of insurance. A license cannot be issued to anyone with this type of conviction.
Failure to make full disclosure may result in denial of your application.
VARIABLE LIFE AND ANNUITIES: An applicant for the line of variable life and annuities, must first be licensed as a securities salesperson with the North Dakota Securities Commissioner (701.328.2910); see N.D. Admin. Code § 45-02-02-11.
|Application for Resident Insurance Producer License electronic application
|Application for Resident Insurance Producer License paper application