I passed the state’s required tests. How do I obtain my license?
You can apply at www.nipr.com. Select ‘Resident’ and then ‘Initial License’ on the left-hand side of the screen. One the next page, scroll all the way down and click ‘Begin.’ Follow through with the questions and hit ‘next’ on every page completed. It will request payment at the end of the submission. The fee is $100.
If I live in Moorhead, Minn. and my producing office is in North Dakota, do I need to license myself through Minnesota initially or can I get licensed in North Dakota then add Minnesota later?
According to N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-19, an applicant may qualify as a resident if the applicant resides in this state or maintains the applicant’s principal place of business in this state.
Therefore, North Dakota law allows you to take prequalifying exams in North Dakota and apply for a North Dakota resident license. Once you obtain a North Dakota resident license, you can apply for a Minnesota non-resident license. The other option is to obtain your Minnesota resident license and then obtain a North Dakota non-resident license. You may apply at www.nipr.com.
What is the process to change from a resident license to a nonresident license?
Request a letter of clearance from the North Dakota Insurance Department by submitting a written request by email, fax or regular mail. There is no form for this purpose. If a producer wants to cancel his or her North Dakota resident license, the Department needs a current mailing address to which the letter of clearance will be sent.
If a producer wants to switch their North Dakota resident license to a non-resident license, the producer should request a non-resident license in the written request for a letter of clearance. There is no fee to switch a resident license to a non-resident license. The Department needs the agent’s physical residence, physical business and preferred mailing addresses in the agent’s new resident state with current telephone numbers and an email address.
Will I receive a renewal license in the mail?
Licenses are not mailed following renewals. Print a copy of your license online.
Do you email or mail the renewal notice? If you mail it, which address do you send it to (mailing, business or resident)?
Renewal notices are mailed to the mailing address on record. Make change to your address online.
I took all of my continuing education; why did my license expire?
Renewing a producer license is a two-part process. A producer MUST be in compliance with CE and MUST complete the renewal application and pay the renewal fee prior to their expiration date.
How is my expiration date determined?
The expiration date is the last day of the producer’s birth month. The license is renewed biennially.
Is a license number assigned to agents, or is the SSN or NPN used?
The NPN is used as the license number in North Dakota.
Do you mail an initial or first time license?
The Department does not mail licenses. Print a copy of your license online.
Does North Dakota require a background check and fingerprints to become licensed?
Senate Bill 2304 was passed in 2013, requiring all initial resident license applicants to be fingerprinted and became effective Sept. 1, 2013. This requirement does not apply to individuals renewing a license or individuals who apply for a license within 12 months after their license was cancelled or expired, unless the license was suspended or revoked.
How long before an insurance license expires can I renew it? Some states allow renewal up to 45 days before the license expires.
Producers have a 90-day window in which to renew their license prior to expiration.
How do I print my license?
Print your license here. You are allowed one free print of your license initially, upon renewal, or adding or deleting lines of authority. If you require another due to loss or other reason, there will be a fee.
I am in the process of getting my life and health/property and casualty license. Do I need to take any pre licensing courses?
North Dakota law no longer requires an individual to take prelicensing courses. You can prepare for the exam however you wish. Here is a list of prelicensing educators.
Here is a link to the North Dakota Century Code 26.1 Insurance Law.
How do I reinstate a canceled license?
You can simply re-apply. Go to www.nipr.com. Select ‘resident’ and then ‘initial license’ on the left-hand side and follow through with the application process. It will request credit card information at the end of the program. The initial license fee is $100.
How do I contact the licensing division in North Dakota?
Contact the Department at 701-328-2440, 1-800-247-056o or firstname.lastname@example.org.
How do I renew my license?
Visit the resident insurance producer renewal web page.