Any person who, for a fee, is engaged in the business of offering any advice, counsel, opinion or service with respect to the benefits, advantages or disadvantages promised under any insurance policy that could be issued in this state, must be licensed as a consultant unless exempted by Subsection 26.1-26-10 of the North Dakota Century Code.
Public adjusters must be licensed as consultants.
Consultants cannot concurrently hold a license as an insurance producer and cannot sell, solicit or negotiate insurance in North Dakota.
In advance of rendering any service as a consultant, the written agreement (on the form that has been approved by the Commissioner) shall be signed by both the consultant and the client. The consultant shall retain a copy of the agreement and make it available to the Department upon request. See N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-35. A sample/model agreement form is available near the bottom of this page. The form must be approved by the Commissioner prior to its use in North Dakota.
To apply for the license:
Use the NAIC uniform paper application forms to apply for a North Dakota consultant license. Write on top of the form that you wish to apply for a consultant license. The initial license fee is $100.
Non-resident individuals must hold a similar license in their resident state. If the resident license cannot be verified on the National Insurance Producer Registry Producer DataBase (PDB), applicants must provide evidence of an active license in their home state.
Resident applicants must qualify by exam for the lines of authority they want on their North Dakota consultant license.
Business entities must have at least one designated responsible individual licensed as a consultant in North Dakota.
The business entity should also contact the North Dakota Secretary of State (701.328.4284) to ensure compliance with North Dakota corporate law.
IMPORTANT: Make sure you answer all questions completely and disclose all information requested. You must disclose all criminal convictions and pending criminal charges. Question number one allows you to exclude misdemeanor traffic citations or convictions involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving or driving with a suspended or revoked license and juvenile offenses. You must disclose all other criminal convictions and pending charges including, but not limited to, NSF checks and Minor in Possession. All criminal convictions must be disclosed regardless of when they occurred. If you have any questions about what needs to be disclosed, contact the Department before submitting your application.
The consultant agreement that the consultant intends to use in North Dakota must be attached to the application form. The agreement shall substantially comply with the model form available from the Department.
A sample/model agreement form is available near the bottom of this page. The form must be approved by the Commissioner prior to its use in North Dakota.
Consultant license renewals
All licenses must be renewed by April 30 of each year. The renewal fee is $25.
Licenses that are not renewed by April 30 will be canceled. There is no grace period.
Please submit the renewal application electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Go to nipr.com and on the left side of the page choose renewals under either Resident or Non-resident depending on what type of North Dakota license you hold. The renewal fee is $25 and the transaction fee is $5.
Hints for completing the electronic renewal
After your application has been approved, you can confirm your new license expiration date by using the agent/agency search.
Individuals do not need to complete the section asking about agency or business entity affiliations. This is not required for North Dakota.
Your addresses cannot be updated by making changes on the renewal application. If the addresses are wrong or incomplete, file a separate address change request. File an electronic address change (no charge), or print out the paper address change form and mail or fax to the Department.
If you are unable to submit your renewal application electronically, print the NAIC uniform application form. Complete, sign and date the form and mail it with the renewal fee of $25. If submitting a paper application, allow additional processing time. The form must contain an original signature. Send by mail to:
North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Electronic renewal application for individuals or business entities
Paper NAIC Uniform Application for Business Entity Insurance License Renewal/Continuation
Paper NAIC Uniform Individual Producer License Renewal/Continuation
North Dakota law and rules regarding consultants:
The following sections of the North Dakota Century Code apply to consultants:
The following sections of the North Dakota Administrative Code apply to consultants:
Use the links below to access the North Dakota Century Code and the North Dakota Administrative Code.
State Capitol, fifth floor
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
800.247.0560 toll free
800.366.6888 TTY line
|Paper business entity renewal application form
|Paper individual renewal application form
|Sample: Insurance consultant agreement
|Sample: Public adjuster consultant agreement