nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
   
 
North Dakota Insurance Department
Adam Hamm, Commissioner
TwitterFlickrYouTubeRSS
communications prescription shic healthcare enforcement compliance forms special
consumers producers companies
Definition of administrator: An administrator is any person who directly or indirectly underwrites, collects charges or premiums from, or adjusts or settles claims on, residents of this state in connection with life, annuity or health coverage, including coverage provided by a self-funded plan.

Certificate of Authority/license required

N.D.C.C. § 26.1-27-03 prohibits a person from acting as an administrator without first obtaining a Certificate of Authority from the North Dakota Insurance Department.

Pharmacy benefits managers must also hold a certificate of authority/license as an administrator.

To apply for Certificate of Authority from the Insurance Department
  • Complete the Uniform Application for a Third Party Administrator License/Registration and file with the North Dakota Insurance Department with a $100 filing fee. Note: For resident applications, attachments listed in question 25 are not required. All attachments from question 24 are required but a Certificate of Authority from the North Dakota Secretary of State is acceptable in lieu of attachments #1 and #2.
  • The Department must have proof of the resident TPA license. If that information is not available on the National Insurance Producer Registry Producer DataBase (PDB), attach proof of resident license.
  • The applicant should also contact the North Dakota Secretary of State (701.328.4284) to ensure compliance with North Dakota corporate law.
Bond or insurance requirement:

Administrators of self-insured plans must maintain a surety bond or proof of insurance satisfactory to the commissioner. The bond must be the greater of $100,000 or 10% of the aggregate total amount of administered coverages under the plans handled in North Dakota.

Records that MUST be retained by administrators:

Records for all transactions between the administrator, insurers and insured persons must be retained for five years following the end of the contractual relationship.

Renewal of certificate of authority/license:

All third-party administrator licensees must renew by April 30 each year. The renewal fee is $50. If the renewal is not completed by April 30, the license will be canceled. There is no grace period. Certificates of Authority issued after January 1 will not be required to renew until April 30 of the following calendar year.

Please submit the renewal application electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) www.nipr.com. The renewal fee is $50 and the transaction fee is $5.

The uniform application form asks for an individual designated/responsible licensed producer. You do not need this to renew your TPA license. Please leave this section blank.

If you are unable to submit your renewal application electronically, print the NAIC uniform application form. Complete, sign and date the form and mail it with the renewal fee of $50. If submitting a paper application, allow additional processing time. The form must contain an original signature. Send by mail to:

North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320

Electronic application

Electronic renewal application

Paper NAIC Uniform Application for Business Entity Insurance License Renewal/Continuation

After your application has been approved, you can confirm your new license expiration date by using the agent/agency search.

You will be allowed to print your license one time free of charge. Access SBS Connect. North Dakota no longer mails paper licenses.

For more information, contact:

North Dakota Insurance Department
ndlicensing@nd.gov
State Capitol, fifth floor
Dept. 401
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320

701.328.2440
701.328.4880 fax
800.247.0560 toll free
800.366.6888 TTY line



For electronic renewals:
Electronic renewal application

For paper renewals:
Paper NAIC business entity renewal application form

For initial applications:
Uniform Application for Third Party Administrator License/Registration

North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Phone 701.328.2440
Toll free 800.247.0560
Fax 701.328.4880

Copyright © 2014 North Dakota Insurance Department
Contact us
About us
RSS feeds
Site map
Privacy policy
Security policy
Disclaimer
InsureU