nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
   
 
North Dakota Insurance Department
Adam Hamm, Commissioner
TwitterFlickrYouTubeRSS
communications prescription shic healthcare enforcement compliance forms special
consumers producers companies
Resident business entities: corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships

Every business entity must designate at least one individual principal insurance producer who holds a North Dakota insurance producer license and who will be responsible for the business entity's compliance with the insurance laws, rules and regulations in this state. The designated responsible insurance producer(s) must hold the lines of authority requested by the business entity.

The business entity should also contact the North Dakota Secretary of State (701.328.4284) to ensure compliance with North Dakota corporate law.

When issued, North Dakota resident business entity insurance producer licenses are perpetual without any renewal or continuation as long as the entity has at least one designated responsible individual producer who holds an active North Dakota insurance producer license for the lines of authority on the business entity license, and notifies the commissioner of any address change within 30 days in accordance with N.D.C.C. § 26.1.26.33.

The fee for an initial application for an insurance producer license is $100.

Submit your application for an insurance producer license electronically. To submit a paper application, use the link at the bottom of this page to print the Uniform Application for Business Entity Insurance License/Registration. Send the completed, signed and dated application form along with the $100 fee to:

North Dakota Insurance Department
Agent Licensing Division
ndlicensing@nd.gov
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320

701.328.2440
701.328.4880 fax
800.247.0560 toll free
800.366.6888 TTY line


 
Nonresident business entities: corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships

At least one individual who is affiliated with the business entity must hold a North Dakota license for the lines of authority requested.

The business entity should also contact the North Dakota Secretary of State (701.328.4284) to ensure compliance with North Dakota corporate law.

When issued, North Dakota non-resident business entity insurance producer licenses are perpetual without any renewal or continuation as long as the entity: 1) has at least one designated responsible individual producer who holds an active North Dakota insurance producer license for the lines of authority on the business entity license and 2) maintains its resident insurance producer license (if its home state issues insurance producer licenses to business entities) and 3) notifies the commissioner of any change of address regarding the business entity. (N.D.C.C. § 26.1.26.33 requires that within 30 days of address change the commissioner is to be notified).

Applicants for a business entity North Dakota non-resident insurance producer license should apply electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).

 
Uniform Application for Business Entity Insurance License/Registration
http://www.nipr.com/resident_paper_licensing.htm


North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Phone 701.328.2440
Toll free 800.247.0560
Fax 701.328.4880

Copyright © 2014 North Dakota Insurance Department
Contact us
About us
RSS feeds
Site map
Privacy policy
Security policy
Disclaimer
InsureU