North Dakota requires all providers be registered.
If you are a new provider, you will need to complete a provider application. All submissions will be processed at this site.
Continuing education courses shall promote educational activities that advance professional expertise and keep the producer abreast of the insurance industry. Approved courses shall impart substantive and procedural knowledge related to the industry and shall be designed to improve the professional skills and knowledge of participants and upgrade the standard of all licensees to better serve the public.
See N.D.C.C. 26.1-26-31.1 through 26.1-26-31.8 and N.D. Admin. Code ch. 45-02-04.
Course content may include but is not necessarily limited to: insurance fundamentals, policies, laws, risk management and other material. Routine meetings, luncheons, and gatherings not advertised and developed as continuing education events will not qualify for continuing education credit. Other material not acceptable for credit: Pre-license Training, Prospecting, Recruiting, Sales Skills and Promotions, Motivation, Psychology, Communication Skills, Supportive Office and Machine Skills, Personnel Management. The above does not limit the Commissioner's authority to disapprove any application which fails to meet the standards for course approval.
Course format may be classroom/seminar or self-study/internet. Providers requesting approval of self-study courses must attach outline with word count.
To file a course for approval:
At least 15 days before the initial course offering, submit the course electronically.
If the provider is domiciled in a nonresident state and the course has been approved in that home state, attach the Uniform CER Course Filing Form along with a copy of the home state approval, brief outline and $50 fee.
Course renewal process
There is no fee for the renewal of courses. However, a list of all active courses will be displayed Jan. 1 of each year on the Online CE Providers site. Each provider needs to mark for renewal those courses they wish to keep active. Failure to mark the records by March 31 will result in the cancellation of all courses.
Other filing requirements:
Course providers are required to file a list of participants that complete an approved course using the following method:
Within 15 days following the completion of an education program, submit the roster using Online CE for Providers. The fee to submit a roster is $1 per credit per participant.
Note: Even though the providers are required to file a roster, each individual producer is still responsible for keeping track of all course hours taken. Additionally, providers must give each individual who has completed the course a course completion certificate.
Each provider is required to submit a roster for all courses offered.
Course Offering Maintenance allows education providers to submit detailed course offering information (start date, end date, start time, end time, location name and location address, free-form text comments, include an attachment and a registration link) for each course offering.
This information will then be displayed to licensees via our new lookup tool "Course Lookup with Offerings." To access Course Offering Maintenance, log into SBS.
Substantial changes to a previously approved course outline require re-filing as a new course, including the filing fee.
If you have questions or need more information, please contact:
North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
800.247.0560 toll free
800.366.6888 TTY line
|Course Completion Certificate SFN 10923
|Provider online services and filings