nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
   
 
North Dakota Insurance Department
Adam Hamm, Commissioner
TwitterFlickrYouTubeRSS
communications prescription shic healthcare enforcement compliance forms special
consumers producers companies
Frequently-asked questions

How many continuing education credits do I have and when they are due?
Check your continuing education at any time online. Under the CE section, click ‘Print/View Education Transcript.’
 
CE credits should be completed by the middle of their birth month on the year an agent renews because CE providers have 15 days by law to report them to the Department.
 
Why isn’t a course I took on my transcript?
First, click on the ‘Completions for prior renewal cycles’ on your education transcript to make sure the course you are referring to was not used for your prior report.

Providers have 15 days by law to file rosters; if 15 days have not passed, it may not be filed yet.
 
If it has been more than 15 days, contact the CE course provider and inform them that the course you took is not showing up on your transcript.
 
If it has been less than 15 days and your renewal deadline is near, you can ask the CE course provider to expedite the roster for you. Some providers will do that for a fee.
 
Can I fax in my course completion certificates to the Department?
No. All CE credits MUST be submitted electronically by the provider. We cannot accept CE credits sent to us by a producer.
 
My transcript says I am compliant but when I try to renew through NIPR, it is saying I am not compliant. Why won’t it let me renew?
On the right side of your education transcript is information on ‘date banked.’ That is the date the provider filed the course for you. The compliance date is based on course completion, not date banked.
 
NIPR updates their records three to four times a day, so keep trying. If your license will not expire right away, you will be able to process your renewal the next day.

If this happens on your expiration date, just keep trying to renew.
 
How many carryover credits do I have?
You can verify your carryover at any time by viewing your education transcript. It is located on the upper right just above ‘courses for the current period.’ Only courses taken within 365 days prior to your expiration date qualify for carryover. Ethics cannot be carried over and the maximum carryover allowed is 12 credits.
 
How do I get a copy of my course completion certificate for a course I took?
The Department does not collect or require course completion certificates to be filed with us. If you want or need a copy of a completion certificate, request a copy from the CE course provider.
 
I need one more ethics credit. Can I take more than one?
Yes. You can take credits in any line you choose. You can take all 24 credits in ethics if you so choose. The only specific CE credits required are the three ethics credits. Keep in mind that ethics credits DO NOT carry over.
 
I took all of my continuing education; why did my license expire?
The renewal of a producer license is a two-part process. A producer MUST be in compliance with CE and MUST complete the renewal application and pay the renewal fee prior to their expiration date or their license will expire.
 
I am exempt from continuing education; why did I get a renewal notice?
Prior to 2010, producers that had the CE exemption did not have to file anything with the Department. A law passed in 2009 requiring all producers, regardless of continuing education requirements or line of authority, to renew their license.
 
I am 62. Is there an exemption from CE once a producer reaches this age?
There was an exemption for producers who were at least 62 years of age and whose total years of consecutive years licensed plus their age equaled 85 or more. This exemption was repealed in the 2009 session, but allowed for those that already had the exemption to be grandfathered in.
 
I am exempt from continuing education; do I still need to take the annuity suitability training?
Yes. The annuity suitability is not a CE requirement but rather a training requirement; therefore, you need this training if you are actively selling annuities even if you are exempt from continuing education.
 
Am I compliant with the annuity suitability training?
View your continuing education transcript online at any time. Under the CE section for producers, choose ‘Print/View Education Transcript.’
 
Annuity suitability training is not a CE requirement; therefore, the producer may be in compliance with the training even though it is not listed on the transcript. The companies that accept annuity business are the ones that are going to require proof of this training. This is a national requirement, so if a producer takes an annuity suitability course in a different state, it satisfies the North Dakota requirement.
Producers MUST keep a copy of their course completion to show as proof of this training. For more information on annuity suitability, visit the CE section.
 
Where can I find a provider who offers the annuity suitability course?
To find the list of providers that offer this course both online and in a classroom, visit the CE section and click on the ‘Provider/Course Lookup.’ Select “Annuity product training” under the course category.
 
I am exempt from continuing education; do I still need to take the long-term care partnership training?
Yes. The Long-Term Care Partnership is not a CE requirement but rather a training requirement; therefore, you need to have this training if you are actively selling partnership policies even if you are exempt from continuing education.
 
Am I compliant with the long-term care partnership training requirement?
View your continuing education transcript at any time online. Under the CE section, choose ‘Print/View Education Transcript.’
 
The long-term care partnership training is not a CE requirement; therefore, the producer may be in compliance with the training even though it is not listed on the transcript. The companies that accept LTC partnership business are the ones that are going to require proof of this training. This is a national requirement, so if a producer takes an LTC partnership course in a different state, it satisfies the North Dakota requirement. Producers MUST keep a copy of their course completion to show as proof of this training. For more information on LTC partnership, visit the .
 
Where can I find a provider who offers long-term care partnership training?
To find the list of providers that offer this course both online and in a classroom, visit the CE section and click on the ‘Provider/Course Lookup.’ Select “LTC” under the course category.
 
What are the requirements for selling LTC partnership policies?
Producers are required to take an initial eight-hour course and complete ongoing training (refresher) of four hours every 24 months thereafter. This is for partnership policies only.
 
I have a resident North Dakota license and a nonresident license in another state. Do I need to file CE in my nonresident states?
All states should be reciprocal, meaning they do not require nonresident producers to complete any other CE besides the producer’s resident requirement. Contact your nonresident state’s insurance department to verify any additional training requirements.
 
Is this course or provider approved in North Dakota?
Producers can confirm if a provider or course is approved in North Dakota online. Under the CE section, click on ‘Provider/Course Lookup.’
 
I took a course in Minnesota but it is not showing on my transcript. How can I get credit for it?
Only courses that are filed and approved in North Dakota are allowed for CE credit. You can speak to the provider and try to persuade them to file it in North Dakota, but if you are not successful, no credit can be given.

North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Phone 701.328.2440
Toll free 800.247.0560
Fax 701.328.4880

Copyright © 2014 North Dakota Insurance Department
Contact us
About us
RSS feeds
Site map
Privacy policy
Security policy
Disclaimer
InsureU