nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
   
 
North Dakota Insurance Department
Adam Hamm, Commissioner
TwitterFlickrYouTubeRSS
communications prescription shic healthcare enforcement compliance forms special
consumers producers companies
Home > Consumers > Boats & recreational
Boats & recreational

Motorcycle
 
What is the definition of a motorcycle?
A motorcycle is defined in N.D.C.C. §§ 39-01-01 (47) as and means every motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, but excluding implements of husbandry.
 
What insurance is required on a motorcycle?
The coverage and minimum limits mandated by law are:

  • Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person (the maximum amount payable to one person) $50,000 per accident (the maximum amount payable to all people injured in one accident). Bodily injury liability provides coverage for claims brought against you for bodily injury caused to another person through the operation of your vehicle.

  • Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident. Property damage liability provides coverage for claims brought against you for damage caused to someone else's property through the operation of your vehicle.

  • Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person $50,000 per accident. Uninsured motorist provides you coverage for a bodily injury claim you would have against another driver who does not have insurance. This coverage does not pay for physical damage to your vehicle.

  • Underinsured motorist coverage: Underinsured motorist coverage must be equal to the uninsured motorist coverage. Underinsured motorist provides you coverage for a bodily injury claim you would have against another driver whose liability coverage is less than your underinsured coverage.

 
Although this is the same coverage as an automobile, no-fault insurance coverage is not required for a motorcycle.
 
What coverage over the minimum limits can I buy?
Insurance companies do offer higher liability, uninsured and underinsured limits as an option. You can also purchase the following non-mandatory coverage:

  • Collision coverage provides coverage for physical damage to your vehicle that is caused by colliding with some other vehicle or object, or an overturning of the vehicle. It pays regardless of who causes the accident.

  • Comprehensive coverage provides coverage for physical damage to your vehicle caused by items other than collision such as theft, fire, vandalism, hail, falling objects or hitting an animal.

  • Towing coverage provides coverage to reimburse you for towing expenses involved in an emergency situation.

  • Guaranteed Asset Protection (GAP) coverage provides payment to your lender for the difference between the amount of your auto loan and the actual cash value payment, if your vehicle is either stolen or a total loss.

  • Medical expenses cover you, the driver or any passengers for medical payments because of an accident.

  • Equipment coverage: Some companies offer coverage for saddle bags, helmets or other motorcycle related equipment when used with a motorcycle. Some companies require collision and/or comprehensive coverage in conjunction with equipment coverage.

 
What happens if my passenger is injured?
Depending on the policy language the passenger may be covered for medical payment under the optional coverage of medical expenses. There may also be coverage for a passenger under bodily injury liability. Read the policy language or contact an insurance agent for specifics.
 
If I let friends drive my motorcycle, are they covered if they cause an accident?
Yes. The insurance owned by you, the motorcycle owner, is the primary insurance. If your friend also has motorcycle insurance it would be secondary and provide coverage for damage only in excess of your motorcycle coverage.
 
Is there a discount for motorcycle safety courses?
Most companies do offer a discount for a motorcycle safety course. It is important to check with the company or your agent to see what safety courses would be applicable.
 
Do I need a special policy if I am traveling to Canada or Mexico?
Most motorcycle policies limit coverage to the United States, its territories or possessions, Puerto Rico and Canada. If you are planning to drive into Mexico, check with your agent in advance. It may be necessary for you to buy Mexican insurance.
 
Can I be insured with just a motorcycle permit or insured without a motorcycle license?
Yes, depending on the company. Some companies will allow a driver with only a permit to buy a policy.
           
I can’t drive my motorcycle in the winter what should I do with the insurance?
Most motorcycle policies are on an annual term, meaning coverage is offered one year at a time. However, companies realize that people in North Dakota don’t normally ride their motorcycles in December or January. When companies set insurance premium rates for motorcycles each month is weighted. For example, months such as August or July could be weighted to equal 16 percent of the premium, but months such as December or January only account for two percent of the premium.  In other words, if you are looking to save money by cancelling your policy for three months out of 12, it might not be equal to 3/12 of the premium.   
 
Does motorcycle insurance cover a replacement motorcycle if mine is totaled out?
Most of the time, a motorcycle policy is based upon the actual cash value (ACV) of the motorcycle. ACV is the replacement cost less depreciation, which most often is the current market value at the time of loss. Some companies do offer replacement cost for newer motorcycles. It is important to read your policy as companies will offer different types of coverage for different circumstances. Also, collision and/or comprehensive coverage may be required for replacement cost coverage to apply.
 
Does my auto policy cover a motorcycle that I rent?
No. N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-40-17.1 states that motor vehicle liability will cover rental vehicles, but motorhomes, motorcycles and trucks other than pickups are excluded from this statute.
 
Does my motorcycle policy cover a motorcycle that I rent?
You must read your policy. Some companies will offer coverage under a motorcycle policy, but only if the motorcycle policy has collision or comprehensive coverage. Some will not cover a rented motorcycle at all.
 
Recreational Vehicle
 
What is the definition of a recreational vehicle?
Recreational vehicles come in many shapes and sizes and there is not one definition of a recreation vehicle. Examples of recreational vehicles included all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), snowmobiles, golf carts, go carts, motocross bikes, etc. If you have questions about a particular vehicle please contact your agent.
 
What insurance is required on a recreational vehicle?
Insurance may be required depending on where the recreational vehicle is being used. Please ask your agent to see if your recreational vehicle needs insurance.
 
If insurance is required for a recreational vehicle, what coverage is required?
If insurance is required the coverage and minimum limits mandated by law are:

  • Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person (the maximum amount payable to one person) $50,000 per accident (the maximum amount payable to all people injured in one accident). Bodily injury liability provides coverage for claims brought against you for bodily injury caused to another person through the operation of your recreational vehicle.

  • Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident. Property damage liability provides coverage for claims brought against you for damage caused to someone else's property through the operation of your recreational vehicle.

  • Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person $50,000 per accident. Uninsured motorist provides you coverage for a bodily injury claim you would have against another driver who does not have insurance. This coverage does not pay for physical damage to your vehicle.

  • Underinsured motorist coverage: Underinsured motorist coverage must be equal to the uninsured motorist coverage. Underinsured motorist provides you coverage for a bodily injury claim you would have against another driver whose liability coverage is less than your underinsured coverage.

  • Basic no-fault (this coverage may or may not be required depending on the vehicle): $30,000 per person. Basic no-fault provides you coverage for economic loss (such as medical expenses and work loss) as a result of an accidental injury in your recreational vehicle without regard to fault. No-fault is also known as Personal Injury Protection or PIP.

 
What coverage over the minimum limits can I buy?
Insurance companies do offer higher liability, uninsured and underinsured limits as an option. You can also purchase the following non-mandatory coverage:

  • Collision coverage provides coverage for physical damage to your recreational vehicle that is caused by colliding with some other vehicle or object, or an overturning of the recreational vehicle. It pays regardless of who causes the accident.

  • Comprehensive coverage provides coverage for physical damage to your recreational vehicle caused by items other than collision such as theft, fire, vandalism, hail, falling objects or hitting an animal.

  • Towing coverage provides coverage to reimburse you for towing expenses involved in an emergency situation.

  • Guaranteed Asset Protection (GAP) coverage provides payment to your lender for the difference between the amount of your recreational vehicle loan and the actual cash value payment, if your vehicle is either stolen or a total loss.

  • Medical expenses cover you, the driver or any passengers for medical payments because of an accident.

  • Equipment coverage: Some companies offer coverage for saddle bags, a helmet or recreational vehicle related equipment when used with your recreational vehicle. Some companies require collision and/or comprehensive coverage in conjunction with equipment coverage.

 
What happens if my passenger is injured?
Depending on the policy language the passenger may be covered for medical payments under the optional coverage of medical expenses or if required no-fault coverage. There may also be coverage for a passenger under bodily injury liability. Read the policy language or contact your agent for more information.
 
If I let friends ride my recreational vehicle, are they covered if they cause an accident?
Yes, the insurance owned by you, the recreational vehicle owner, is the primary insurance
 
Will my homeowner policy cover my recreational vehicle?
Depending on the vehicle and/or policy there may be limited liability coverage. For example, if a recreational vehicle is not required to be registered and not used on a public road then there may be coverage under a homeowner policy. Most commonly, golf carts or toy vehicles will be covered under the homeowner policy. 
 
I have a travel trailer. Is insurance required?
The state does not require coverage on pull behind, fifth wheel or travel trailers.
 
Does my auto policy cover a recreational vehicle that I rent?
No. N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-40-17.1 states coverage on your auto only includes noncommercial private passenger motor vehicles.
 
Does my recreational vehicle policy cover a recreational vehicle that I rent?
You must read your policy. Some companies will offer coverage under a recreational vehicle policy, but only if the recreational vehicle policy has collision or comprehensive coverage. Some will not cover a rented recreational vehicle at all.
 
Boat or Watercraft
 
What is defined as a boat or watercraft?
Most policies define boat or watercraft as a craft principally designed to be propelled on or in water by wind, engine power or electric power.
 
What insurance is required on a boat?
The state does not require liability or property insurance for boats when used on public waters.
 
What coverage can I buy?

  • Boat liability (Includes bodily injury liability and property damage liability): Bodily injury liability provides coverage for claims brought against you for bodily injury caused to another person through the operation of your boat. Property damage liability provides coverage for claims brought against you for damage caused to someone else's property through the operation of your boat.

  • Boat Medical Expenses: Most of the time medical expenses are included within the boat liability. Medical expenses cover you, the operator or any passengers for medical payments because of an accident.

  • Physical damage: Most policies will coverage damage to the boat, trailer and motor if it is not done intentionally. Read the policy language or contact your agent for more information.

  • Reasonable repairs covers repairs incurred to protect covered property from further damage.

  • Emergency service pays for reasonable costs that you incur resulting from specified emergency service to your boat, motor or boat trailer.

  • Wreck removal pays the reasonable expenses you incur for any attempted or actual raising, removal or destruction of the wreck of your boat when damage is caused by an insured loss and removal or destruction is required by law.

 
I have a jet ski or personal watercraft. Is that the same as any other boat?
With regards to insurance, yes, but read the policy language or contact an insurance agent for more information
 
Will my homeowner policy cover my boat?
Probably not because there is limited coverage for certain types of boats under a homeowner policy. Typically it is for smaller boats or boats without motors. Read the policy language or contact an insurance agent for more information.
 
What happens if my passenger is injured while on my boat?
Boat medical expenses pays medical expenses up to the limits in the policy for you, your resident relatives, and other occupants of the boat injured by an accident arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of the watercraft.
 
If I let friends drive my boat, are they covered if they cause an accident?
Yes. Boat insurance is similar to auto insurance in that the policy will cover your friend as long as you give them permission to drive the boat.
 
Do I need a license to drive a boat or does my boat need to be licensed?
Please contact the North Dakota Game and Fish Department for more information.
 
Can I get a replacement boat if mine is totaled out?
Some companies do offer replacement boat coverage. Read the policy language or contact an insurance agent for more information.
 
Does my homeowner policy cover a boat I rent?
Yes, but there are limitations on sizes and types of boats that would be covered. Read the policy language or contact an insurance agent for more information.
 
Does my boat policy cover a boat that I rent?
In most cases, yes but each policy is different. Some policies may not offer coverage; some may offer coverage; and others may have restrictions on a rented boat. Read the policy language or contact an insurance agent for information.
 

 
 

North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Phone 701.328.2440
Toll free 800.247.0560
Fax 701.328.4880

Copyright © 2014 North Dakota Insurance Department
Contact us
About us
RSS feeds
Site map
Privacy policy
Security policy
Disclaimer
InsureU