nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
   
 
North Dakota Insurance Department
Adam Hamm, Commissioner
TwitterFlickrYouTubeRSS
communications prescription shic healthcare enforcement compliance forms special
consumers producers companies
Home > Companies > Company licensing > Schedule of company fees, taxes and deposits
Schedule of company fees, taxes and deposits
Life, health, annuity, and property and casualty companies

Section I - Fees

Fees applicable to Section I should be accompanied by a note specifying the company name, NAIC number and/or FEIN and a description of the fee.

Application Fees for Admission (Retaliatory)
  • Non-Refundable Application fee - due at time of application: $500
Admission Fee Upon Approval of Application (Retaliatory)
  • Annual Statement Filing fee (billed by state): $25
  • Filing of Charter Documents (billed by state): $25
  • Filing Bylaws (billed by state): $10
  • Certificate of Authority issuance fee (billed by state): $100
  • Filing Certificate of Compliance (billed by state): $10
  • Filing Certificate of Deposit (billed by state): $10
  • Filing Agent for Service of Process form (billed by state): $10
Annual Fees (Retaliatory)
  • Certificate of Authority Renewal (due with renewal statement): $50
  • Annual Statement Filing Fee (due with renewal statement): $25
  • Filing Certificate of Compliance (due with renewal statement): $10
  • Certificate of Deposit (due with renewal statement): $10
  • Filing Abstract of Statement (due with renewal statement): $30
  • Penalty for late Filing (billed by state): $100 per day
Other fees (Retaliatory)
  • Filing of Articles of Incorporation (due with amended document): $25
  • Filing of Bylaws (due with amended document): $10
  • Name change includes (due at time of request):
    • Amended Certificate of Authority: $50
    • Amended Articles of Incorporation: $25
    • Service of Process: $10
  • Redomestication of Foreign Insurer to another State includes (due at time of request):
    • Amended Certificate of Authority: $50
    • Amended Articles of Incorporation: $25
    • Service of Process: $10
  • Addition/Deletion of Line of Business (due at time of request): $50
  • Certificate of Deposit (due at time of request): $10
  • Certificate of Compliance (due at time of request): $10
  • Certificate of Valuation (due at time of request): $10
  • Service of Process (due at time of submission): $10
  • Filing of Merger Agreement: $30
  • Certification of Miscellaneous Documents: $10
Section II - Taxes

Premium taxes (retaliatory)
  • Tax on Direct Premium Written (due on or before March 1) Life: 2%
  • All other: 1¾%
The tax is levied on gross premiums received in the state, less any amount paid for premiums upon policies not accepted, premiums returned on cancelled policies, and any refund made to the policyholder other than for losses. North Dakota does not tax annuity premiums, however, all premium taxes are on a retaliatory state basis.

Quarterly Tax Payments - estimated premium tax forms must be filed on or before May 30, Aug. 29, and Nov. 29. Premium taxes are payable quarterly with the final reconciled payment due March 1 of the following year. Failure to file any required tax form will be subject to penalty.

Section III - Deposits

Domestic life insurance companies must physically deposit securities of a value equal to net value of all in force policies or, in lieu of a physical deposit, file an annual verified statement detailing such securities, which must be held separate and distinct from other securities as a deposit for policyholders. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-05-23
  • Domestic property and casualty insurance companies: NA
  • Foreign life and property and casualty insurance companies: NA
  • Nonprofit health service corporations: NA
  • Health maintenance organizations: See N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-18.1-12(2) and 26.1-18.1-13
  • Limited health service organizations: See N.D.C.C. § 26.1-17.1-17
If you have questions or need assistance, please contact:

Yvonne Keniston
ytkeniston@nd.gov
ND Insurance Department
State Capitol, fifth floor
Dept. 401
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
701.328.2440
701.328.4880 fax

North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Phone 701.328.2440
Toll free 800.247.0560
Fax 701.328.4880

Copyright © 2014 North Dakota Insurance Department
Contact us
About us
RSS feeds
Site map
Privacy policy
Security policy
Disclaimer
InsureU