nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Top Navigation - Left

DRIVING WITHOUT LIABILITY INSURANCE LAW CHANGES

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: JULY 18, 2013

BISMARCK, N.D. – The North Dakota Highway Patrol reminds citizens that it’s against the law to drive without liability insurance and motorists must carry proof of insurance in their vehicles.

The 63rd Legislative Assembly changed the law regarding driving without liability insurance. Currently, a driver stopped for a violation has 20 days to provide proof of insurance if they are unable to locate proof in their vehicle.

Starting August 1, drivers must show proof of insurance in written or electronic format. There will no longer be a 20-day period to provide proof of insurance. Instead, the driver will be cited with driving without liability insurance. Proof of insurance can be provided to the applicable office of the court and that person would not be convicted or assessed any administration fee.

For More Information

Contact: Sergeant Tom Iverson, NDHP
North Dakota Highway Patrol
701-328-2455