Registration and Licenses
Aircraft/Ultralight Registration in North Dakota
- »Aircraft Registration
- The State of North Dakota has an aircraft registration law - NDCC 2-05-11. You may register your aircraft by completing the
North Dakota Aircraft Registration form SFN 11627 (167kb
pdf). Return it to the ND Aeronautics Commission along with the registration fee.
Fees are paid in relation to year of aircraft and the maximum gross weight. Fees are due January 1 of each year. Penalty is applied to registration fees after May 15th.
Aircraft must be registered within 30 days after being brought into North Dakota. Excise tax is paid at a 5% rate on the purchase price for all non-ag aircraft and a 3% rate on the purchase price on all agricultural aircraft. The taxes should be paid along with the aircraft registration.
- »Unairworthy Aircraft
- If the aircraft is unairworthy, the fees do not apply. However, you are required to notify our office of the unairworthy status. If the aircraft becomes airworthy after July 1st, a one-half year fee can be paid. If the aircraft becomes airworthy after October 1st, a one-fourth year fee can be paid.
- »Antique, Classic, or Warbird Aircraft
- Antique, Classic, or Warbird Aircraft may be permanently registered with the North Dakota Aeronautics Commission. An aircraft that qualifies for permanent registration may be used only for display, airshow demonstration, testing and maintenance, and preparation flights necessary to maintain flight safety of operations. These aircraft cannot be used for conducting commercial or private aviation businesses. Permanent registration may be transferred to a new owner. The one-time permanent fee for an antique, classic or warbird aircraft is $ 85.00.
- »Aircraft Sold or Destroyed
- If your aircraft is destroyed or sold, please email the ND Aeronautics Commission and advise of this status.