nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
NDDHS logo Mother and daughter graphic
 arrowDHS Home arrowContact DHS arrowSkip Navigation

Northwest Human Service Center: Region I

Northwest Human Service Center: Region I

Northwest Human Service Center is one of eight regional human service centers within the North Dakota Department of Human Services. Northwest Human Service Center provides help to individuals and families with concerns including personal and emotional problems, family and relationship issues, addiction, disabilities, and serves a three-county catchment area that includes Divide, McKenzie, and Williams counties, the Trenton Indian Service Area and part of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation. This 6,100 square mile area is home to about 29,000 people..

Mission: To provide quality, efficient, and effective human services, which improve the lives of people.

Staff: The staff may include professionals trained in the following specialties: psychiatry, psychology, addiction counseling, social work, counseling, case management, nursing, and vocational rehabilitation. Some services may be provided through contracts.

History: The Northwest Human Service Center was established in 1971 as a demonstration project. It operated under a local board of directors until 1982, when it was placed under state control. The center provides services that were previously handled by four separate agencies: the Area Social Service Center, Tri-County Mental Health and Retardation Service Unit, Vocational Rehabilitation, and the Williams County Alcohol/Drug Information, Counseling and Referral Center.

Staff: Staff specialties include: psychology, psychiatry, social work, nursing, vocational rehabilitation, counseling, and administration and support. (NOTE: Addiction treatment services are provided through a contract with Mercy Recovery Center.)

Regional Advisory Council: Northwest Human Service Center has a Regional Advisory Council which is comprised of representatives from each of the three counties. The Trenton Indian Service Area (TISA) also is represented. County representatives are appointed by their respective county commissions.

Contact Information: Northwest Human Service Center


Monday: 8 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Tuesday - Thursday: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Regional Director: Marilyn Rudolph

Northwest Human Service Center
P.O. Box 1266
316 2nd Avenue West
Williston, ND 58802

Outreach Offices are located in Crosby, Tioga and Watford City.

Phone: (701) 774-4600
Toll Free: (800) 231-7724
Crisis Line: (701) 572-9111
TTY: (701) 774-4692
Fax: (701) 774-4620

For Rehabilitation Consulting and Services (vocational rehabilitation), call:

Phone: (701) 774-4600


Return to the top of the page Top of page   Go back to the previous page Back to previous page

 Get Adobe Acrobat Reader Tested for W3C WAI AA Accessibility Tested for W3C Well-Formed XHTML Code Tested for W3C Well Formed Cascading Style Sheet Code