nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
Picture of ND State Capitol Building Facility Management Division
ND Office of Management and Budget
OMB logo

North Dakota State Holidays

North Dakota has ten statutory holidays on which state offices are closed:

January 1, New Year's Day
The 3rd Monday of January, Martin Luther King Jr. Day
The 3rd Monday of February, recognition of the birthday of George Washington
The Friday preceding Easter Sunday, Good Friday
The last Monday in May, Memorial Day
Independence Day. July 4th.
The first Monday of September, Labor Day
November 11th, Veteran's Day
The 4th Thursday of November, Thanksgiving Day
December 25, Christmas Day

If a holiday falls on Saturday or Sunday, the preceding Friday or following Monday, respectively, is considered the holiday. State offices also close at noon on December 24, if it falls on a Monday through Thursday. This is an office closure, not a holiday. Noon closure applies on December 24 only, and is not moved to the preceding Friday or following Monday as referenced above for holidays.