nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
Education Standards and Practices Board logo and title

Education Standards and Practices Board

Assuring highly qualified professional educators for North Dakota students
skip to content
Home
·
Contact Us
·
» Print Friendly Version
About ESPB
What's New
Frequently Asked Questions
Licensure
Professional Practices
Program Approval
Professional Development
» Portfolio
» Re-Education Requirements
» Courses
» Approved Online Professional Education Programs
Teacher Support System
Links
Forms
 
2718 Gateway Avenue
Suite 303
Bismarck, ND 58503-0585
(701) 328-9641 - Phone
(701) 328-9647 - Fax
espbinfo@nd.gov

ESPB Map

ESPB square logo Professional Development

Re-Education Requirements

General Re-education Requirements: Re-entry: 67.1-02-02-09

An applicant who has been out of teaching for a period of more than five years must earn a total of eight semester hours or twelve quarter hours of college or university credit in the area in which the teacher wishes to renew certification during the first two years of reentry contracted service. One-half of the required credit hours must be earned before entering the second year of employment. Substitute teachers are exempt from the eight semester hour requirement until the individual accepts a contracted position. The fee for the two-year re-entry certificate is $70.

History: Effective July 1, 1995; amended effective October 1, 1998.
General Authority: NDCC 15-36-01, 28-32-02
Law Implemented: NDCC 15-36-01

 

As of August 01, 2007, fingerprints will be required for a Re-Entry License. A Re-Entry License is issued to an applicant who has not held a North Dakota Educator's Professional License for the past 5 years.

W3C AA
·
W3C CSS
·
W3C XHTML
Disclaimer
·
Privacy Policy
·
Security Policy