nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
Education Standards and Practices Board logo and title

Education Standards and Practices Board

Assuring highly qualified professional educators for North Dakota students
skip to content
Home
·
Contact Us
·
» Print Friendly Version
About ESPB
What's New
Frequently Asked Questions
Licensure
Professional Practices
Program Approval
Professional Development
Teacher Support System
Links
Forms
 
2718 Gateway Avenue
Suite 303
Bismarck, ND 58503-0585
(701) 328-9641 - Phone
(701) 328-9647 - Fax
espbinfo@nd.gov

ESPB Map

ESPB square logo Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How do I apply for an Alternate Access Educator’s License?

A:  You can apply online at www.nd.gov/espb.  Click on the ND Teach icon in the upper right corner.  Click on the Register Now! Link, register for the first time.  Log back in to begin your application information.

Or

You can use the regular paper process. All licensure forms and fingerprint instructions on our website at http://www.nd.gov/espb/licensure/forms.html.

Directions for the Alternate Access License.

  1. Complete the application form part 1-5.  Attach official transcripts from each college attended.
  2. Complete all forms and directions for the fingerprinting.
  3. Submit a letter from the administrator from the school requesting an alternate access license.  This letter must document that the school has received no applications from regularly prepared teachers.
  4. Submit a letter indicating your willingness to accept the position, if offered.
  5. Visit a state approved teacher education program to complete a program of study.  Return the Program of Study form to ESPB as soon as possible.
  6. You will need to complete one-third of the courses listed each year to maintain your Alternate Access license.

If you have a job pending, you may be eligible for the 40-day provisional license.

Directions for the 40-Day Provisional License.

  1. Submit the completed application form, transcripts from the college where you received your degree, and all applicable fees in order to be eligible for the 40-day provisional license.
  2. While your background check is being completed and/or pending the receipt of official transcripts or other original documents:
    1. With the completed application form, attach a letter from your administrator indicating they are willing to hire you without your fingerprint/criminal background check being complete.
    2. Attach your letter indicating you have been convicted of no crimes (if it is a true statement), as well as your intent to accept the position.
    3. Fax completed application form, transcripts, and all supporting documents to ESPB prior to receiving your regular license.
    4. Sub additional $25.00 fee for the 40-day provisional license, as well as all other applicable licensure fees.

The 40-day provisional license cannot be issued until all appropriate paperwork and fees have been received by ESPB. 

Never go into a classroom to teach without your North Dakota educator’s license.  There is a fine of $50.00. 

 

W3C AA
·
W3C CSS
·
W3C XHTML
Disclaimer
·
Privacy Policy
·
Security Policy