nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
Education Standards and Practices Board logo and title

Education Standards and Practices Board

Assuring highly qualified professional educators for North Dakota students
skip to content
Home
·
Contact Us
·
» Print Friendly Version
About ESPB
What's New
Frequently Asked Questions
Licensure
Professional Practices
Program Approval
Professional Development
Teacher Support System
Links
Forms
 
2718 Gateway Avenue
Suite 303
Bismarck, ND 58503-0585
(701) 328-9641 - Phone
(701) 328-9647 - Fax
espbinfo@nd.gov

ESPB Map

ESPB square logo Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How do I apply for an Interim Substitute Educator’s License?

A:  You can apply online at www.nd.gov/espb.  Click on the ND Teach icon in the upper right corner.  Click on the Register Now! Link, register for the first time.  Log back in to begin your application information.

Or

You can use the regular paper process. All licensure forms and fingerprint instructions on our website at http://www.nd.gov/espb/licensure/forms.html.

Interim Substitute Educator’s Professional License

  1. Completed and signed application form;
  2. Official transcript(s) with a posted bachelor’s degree;
  3. All proper fees;
  4. A letter from your administrator requesting an interim substitute license for you since they have a shortage of regularly licensed substitute teachers; and
  5. Fingerprint card(s), Personal Authorization for Criminal Record Inquiry form, and a separate $44.50 money order made payable to ESPB (your background results are kept on file at ESPB for eighteen months).

If any of the information is not complete or if we need additional information, we will notify you via email and/or letter.

Never go into a classroom to teach without a North Dakota license. You are responsible to pay a fine of $50 a day if you teach without a license.

 

W3C AA
·
W3C CSS
·
W3C XHTML
Disclaimer
·
Privacy Policy
·
Security Policy