North Dakota has officers specifically trained to supervise sex offenders. There are eight Sex Offender Specialists and seven Sex Offender Specialist Liaisons supervising sex offenders in North Dakota. A sex offender is one whose current offense is a sex offense, one whose offense is sex offense-related, and/or is required to register as a sex offender. Officers complete a number of assessment tools to determine the risk level of each sex offender supervised. The MnSOST-R (Minnesota Sex Offender Screening Tool--Revised), Static 99-R, Stable, and Acute are completed on all offenders falling within ND DOCR, Parole & Probationís definition of a sex offender.
The North Dakota Attorney Generalís SORAC (Sex Offender Risk Assessment Committee) meets monthly to determine and review risk levels of those sex offenders required to register. North Dakota has three levels of risk: Low registers for 15 years, Moderate registers for 25 years, and High and /or those with multiple sex offenses register for their lifetime.
Risk level determines the manner in which the offenderís case is managed. Sex offenders are only allowed to live in residences that have been approved by their supervising officer; offenders are not allowed to live close to schools, daycares, playgrounds, parks, or where minors congregate. GPS is a tool used to track a sex offenderís whereabouts and to alert officers when the offender enters an exclusionary zone such as the area where the victim lives, schools, daycares, bars, and other prohibited areas. Surveillance officers assist the supervising officer in making home and/or compliance checks. Drug testing and alcohol screening is randomly administered.
Sex offender treatment is an important component of risk reduction. Sex offenders are required to participate in and complete sex offender programming while on supervision. Treatment for low and moderate risk offenders with minor victims is provided through most regional Human Service Centers (Grand Forks, Fargo, Bismarck, Dickinson, and Minot). High risk sex offenders and/or those with adult victims are required to attend and participate in treatment provided through RULE-CPC. Treatment through RULE-CPC is offered in Grand Forks, Fargo, Jamestown, Bismarck, and Minot. If an offender lives in an outlying area and is unable to participate in sex offender treatment as scheduled, that offender will be required to move to a town where treatment is available.
North Dakota has a law regarding the civil commitment of Sexually Dangerous Individuals (SDI). Individuals that meet criteria as an SDI are housed at the North Dakota State Hospital. Annual reviews determine if the committed individual will continue their placement at NDSH or if they will be released to a community civil commitment status. Violations of community civil commitment conditions are considered to be a Class C Felony and punishable for up to five years in prison.
Community safety is North Dakotaís number one objective for supervision of sex offenders in North Dakota.