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10.
11.

. Abuse means the willful act or omission of a caregiver or any other

person that results in physical injury, mental anguish, unreasonable
confinement, sexual abuse or exploitation, to or of a resident.

. Agency means an organization which monitors the facility.
. Applicant means the individual or individuals completing and

submitting to the Department an application to be licensed to provide
care.

. Care means foster care for adults as defined by N.D.C.C. Section 50-

11-00.1 (5) and includes the provision of personal non-medical service
provided to assist a resident with tasks of a personal nature that are
performed daily and which involve such activities as bathing, dressing,
toileting, transferring from bed or chair, continence, eating or feeding,
and mobility inside the facility.

. Caregiver means a qualified individual who provides care to an adult

residing in an Adult Foster Facility.

. County Social Service Agency means the county social service board in

the county where the Adult Foster facility is located and monitored.
Department means the North Dakota Department of Human Services.

. Exploitation means the act or process of a provider using the income,

assets, or person of a resident for monetary or personal benefit, profit,
gain, entertainment, or gratification.

. Adult Foster Care (AFC) means the provision of food, shelter, security

and safety, guidance, and comfort on a twenty-four-hour per day
basis, in the home of the caregiver, to a person age eighteen or older,
who is unable, neglects, or refuses to provide for the person's own
care.

Facility means a foster care home for adults.

Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Adult Foster Care (AFC)
setting experience interview means an instrument used to record
information about a resident’s experiences in the facility.

North Dakota Department of Human Services


file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Archive%20Documents/archives.htm%23660_05_05

ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

Division 20 Service 660
Program 610 Chapter 05

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

Legal Representative means someone who has been given power by
law to represent another person.

License means a document issued by the Department authorizing an
applicant to operate a facility.

Licensed Capacity means maximum number of residents for which the
Foster Home for Adults is licensed.

Mental Anguish means psychological or emotional damage that
requires medical treatment or medical care, or is characterized by
behavioral changes, or physical symptoms.

Monitoring means overseeing the care provided to a resident by a
provider and verifying compliance with laws, rules, and standards
pertaining to Adult Foster care and resident's rights related to the
facility.

Neglect means the failure of the provider to provide the goods or
services necessary to avoid physical harm, mental anguish, or mental
illness.

Person-centered service plan means a plan that describes recipient
resident’s assessed needs, outcomes, and goals and how the services
and natural supports provided will assist the resident in achieving their
outcomes and live safely and successfully in the community.

Physical Injury means damage to bodily tissue caused by nondramatic
conduct, which includes fractures, bruises, lacerations, internal
injuries, dislocations, physical pain, illness, or impairment of physical
function.

Provider means the primary caregiver in active charge of an Adult
Foster Facility who has documented qualifications in providing care and
is enrolled as a qualified service provider.

Qualified Service Provider (QSP) means an individual who has met all
standards and requirements for that status established under Chapter
75-03-23.

Related by Blood or Marriage includes the spouse or one of the
following relatives: parent, grandparent, child, adult sibling, aunt,
uncle, adult niece, or adult nephew.

Resident means any adult who is receiving care, in an Adult Foster
Facility for Adults for compensation on a 24-hour basis, but does not
mean any other individual who lives or stays in the facility.

Respite Care means care provided by a respite care provider or a
substitute caregiver to an adult foster care resident for the purposes of
providing temporary relief to the provider from the stresses and
demands associated with daily care or emergencies.
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25. Respite Care Provider means an individual enrolled as a qualified

26.

27.

service provider who provides respite care to residents, whose care is
funded by the county or state, in the absence of the provider.
Sexual Abuse means conduct directed against a resident which

constitutes any of those sex offenses defined in North Dakota Century
Code. Sections 12.1-20-02, 12.1-20-03, 12.1-20-03.1, 12.1-20-04,
12.1-20-05, 12.1-20-06, 12-20-06.1, 12.1-20-07, 12.1-20-11, 12.1-
20-12.1 and 12.1-20-12.2 and North Dakota Century Code Chapter
12.1-41.

Substitute Caregiver means an individual who meets qualified service

provider standards and provides respite care to private pay residents
in the absence of the provider.
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Legal Reference/Authority - Foster Care Homes for Adults
660-05-10

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The legal reference/authority for the Adult Foster Care Program is North
Dakota Century Code 50-11, and North Dakota Administrative Code 75-03-
14, Licensing for Foster Care Homes, and North Dakota Administrative
Code 75-03-21, Licensing for Foster Homes for Adults.
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Purpose 660-05-15
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The purpose of Adult Foster Care is to offer a choice within a continuum of
care to adults who could benefit from living in a home environment, as well
as to promote independent functioning to the limit of a person's ability and
provide for a safe and secure environment.

These policies establish procedures for the licensing of Adult Foster Care
Facilities that are in compliance with state statute and administrative code.
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Licensing 660-05-20
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

A person may not provide Adult Foster Care to more than one adult, or to
more than two adults who are related to each other by blood or marriage,
without first procuring a license to do so from the Aging Services Division.
At no time shall the number of persons receiving care exceed four.

Public funds can only be used to purchase Adult Foster Care from licensed
providers. No person acting on behalf of any state, county, or local
governmental entity may arrange for or promote care provided in a facility
that does not have a valid license issued by the Aging Services Division.
This does not apply to any home or institution under the management and
control of the state.

1. A license to operate a facility indicates compliance with the required
standards, rules and laws at the time of issuance.

2. A license shall be issued to the owner or lessee of the facility.

3. A license is not valid for a person other than whose name or names
appears on the license. A license may not be transferred to another
person.

4. A license is not valid for a residence other than the one located at the
address that appears on the license.

5. An initial license is valid for no longer than twelve months from the
date of issuance.

6. A license that is issued after the initial licensing period has expired is
valid for no longer than 24 months from the date of issuance or the
date or expiration of the provider’s status as a qualified service
provider, whichever comes first.
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Dual Licenses 660-05-20-05
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Dual licensure is an option available only to facilities that are caring for a
foster child who is receiving Developmental Disability services and the child
is transitioning to the adult foster care program where his/her needs can
be more adequately met utilizing Developmental Disability services. This
will allow the former foster child to remain in the facility and continue to
receive reimbursement for his/her cost of care, as well as supportive
services, through the adult foster care system. The adult foster care license
will be child specific and not available for other placements through the
Department.

The provider will need to ensure that they are able to comply with the laws
and regulations governing both the provision of foster care to adults and
children. If dual licensure is being considered, both foster care programs
and the custodian must coordinate services to ensure the safety of the
individuals receiving the care. Responsibilities of each agency must be
clearly outlined during the planning process. Agency efforts must be made
to streamline licensing and case supervision to ensure the least disruption
to the provider; i.e. family foster care and adult foster care licensing cycle
during the same time period.

Any request for dual licensure must be discussed and approved through the
Child and Family Team meeting which will include the regional supervisor
and the regional Developmental Disability supervisor and custodian.

Upon request, the provider must make the license available for review.

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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Affidavit of Compliance with Licensing Requirements
660-05-20-10

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

Adult Foster Care that is provided on Federal Reservations such as an
Indian Reservation or Military base may be approved, if requests for such
approvals are made by the appropriate authority (i.e., Military Base
Commander or Tribal Council) to the Department and all the licensing
standards of the Department have been met.

SFN 915, “Adult Foster Care Home Affidavit of Standard of Compliance in
Lieu of License,” is completed for the reservation or military base home
and must be approved by the Division. An affidavit may be denied,
revoked, or correction orders issued, should the Division become aware of
noncompliance with established standards.

Representatives of the Department of Human Services and County Social
Service Agency do not have the authority to conduct licensing studies on
Indian Reservations or Military Bases unless it is requested. Persons that
are enrolled Tribal members are subject to the jurisdiction of the Tribe and
non-enrolled persons are subject to the laws and Administrative rules of
the state of North Dakota. In order for an enrolled Tribal member to be
licensed by the Department, the enrolled person would need to request
permission from the Tribal Council to submit to civil jurisdiction for the
specific purpose of becoming licensed for Adult Foster Care by the
Department. Persons residing on a Military Base are also subject to the
laws and rules of the Federal Government and must seek permission to
submit to civil jurisdiction for the purpose of becoming licensed for Adult
Foster Care.
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Application for License 660-05-20-15
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

An application for licensure must be made to the County Social Service
Agency in the county where the applicant proposes to provide adult foster
care.

A non-refundable fee of fifty dollars must accompany the application for an
initial license to operate a facility. A fee of twenty-five dollars must
accompany the application to renew a license to operate a facility. The fees
will be retained by the County Social Service Agency and used for training
and education of the county agency staff who perform the licensing
responsibilities.

The applicant may withdraw an application at anytime during the licensing
process by notifying the Aging Services Division or the County Social
Service Agency.

An application is not complete until all required information and
verifications are submitted to the County Social Service Agency,
Department and Aging Services Division. This includes:

1. Evidence that all applicants have requested qualified service provider
status and the completed forms listed below have been approved by
the Medical Services Division.

a. SFN 1605, “Individual Request to be a Qualified Service
Provider/AFC Provider”

b. SFN 750, "Documentation of Competency,” or applicable license,
certification, or accreditation

c. SFN 615 “Medicaid Program Provider Agreement”.

d. SFN 1168 “"Ownership Controlling Interest and Conviction
Information”.

e. SFN 433 “Child Abuse and Neglect Background Inquiry”.

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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10.
11.
12.
13.

14.

f. W 9 “"Request for Taxpayer Identification Number &
Certification”.

g. A copy of a form of ID, ex: driver’s license or social security
card.

Evidence that all applicants and individuals age 18 or over living in the
potential facility have completed:

a. SFN 467, “Personal Authorization for Criminal Record Inquiry”
b. SFEN 466, “"Background Check Address Disclosure”
c. Two fingerprinting cards, if required

. A sighed SFEN 800, “Fire Safety Self Declaration,” form relating to fire

safety of the home

Documentation of applicant’s completion of a Department approved
Fire Prevention and Safety Course

Proof of auto insurance (Section 600-05-30-40)

. A report of professional inspection of the heating and electrical system

for operability and safety. (Section 600-05-30-30 (2)).

. A copy of the applicant’s home floor plan indicating escape routes

(Section 600-05-30-30 (11))

. A copy of the provider’s Service and Rental Agreement including

landlord tenant and eviction and appeals process, and all items listed
in (Section 600-05-30-45). Service and rental agreement must be
signed by the provider and the resident or resident’s legal
representative.

Examples of service logs that will be used to account for service time
and tasks performed (Section 660-05-65-95).

Examples of daily menu plans

Three reference letters (Section 600-05-65-25 for examples)

If applicable, proof of current pet vaccinations

Additional information and verifications as requested by the
Department (Section 600-05-20-15-05)

Complete a SFN 823, "Family Evacuation Disaster Plan" (Section 05-
65-90)

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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Additional Information/Verifications - Application
Process 660-05-20-15-05

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

When requested by the County Social Service Agency, or the Department,
any of the following information and verifications must also be provided:

Fire inspections by the state fire marshal or local fire inspector
Physicians examination

Psychological examinations

Proof of age and relationship of applicant and/or individuals residing in
the home

Sanitation and safety inspection reports

Drug and alcohol evaluation report

b ol

ow
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Renewal of an Adult Foster Care License 660-05-20-20
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

An application to renew an AFC license is not complete until all required
information and verifications are submitted to the County Social Service
Agency, and the Aging Services Division. This includes:

Must be present in file from initial license:

1. SFN 1013, “Application to Provide Adult Foster Care” .
2.
3. Examples of service logs to account for service time and tasks

Floor plan indicating escape routes

performed

4. Examples of daily menu plans
5.
6. SEN 823, "Evacuation Disaster Plan - Adult Foster Care".

Three reference letters

Required for license renewal:

1.
2.

A completed SEN 1031, “Relicensing Study - Adult Foster Care”.
Evidence that all caregivers have requested renewal of qualified
service provider status and the completed forms listed below have
been approved by the Medical Services Division.

a. SFN 1605, “Individual Request to be a Qualified Service
Provider/AFC Provider”.

b. SFN 750, "Documentation of Competency,” or applicable license,
certification, or accreditation.

c. SFN 615 “Medicaid Program Provider Agreement”.

d. SEN 1168 “Ownership Controlling Interest and Conviction
Information”.

e. SFN 433 “Child Abuse and Neglect Background Inquiry”.

f. W 9 “"Request for Taxpayer Identification Number &
Certification”.

g. A copy of a form of ID, ex: driver’s license or social security
card.

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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3. If a background check was not completed previously or a break in

Uk

NOo

10.
11.

licensure has occurred, or if the provider has not been continuously
licensed since August 1, 1999, provide evidence that all AFC applicants
and individuals age 18 or over living in the AFC home have completed:

a. SFN 467, “Personal Authorization for Criminal Record Inquiry”.
b. SFN 466, “"Background Check Address Disclosure”.
c. Two fingerprinting cards, if required.

. A new SFN 800, “Fire Safety Self Declaration,” form.

Documentation of applicant’s current completion of the Department
approved Fire Prevention and Safety Course.

Current proof of auto insurance.

Review the copy of the provider’s Service and Rental Agreement
including landlord tenant and eviction and appeals process and all
items listed in (Section 600-05-30-45). The Service and Rental
Agreement must be signed by the provider and the resident or
resident’s legal representative on admission.

. Copies of the Home and Community Based Services Adult Foster Care

Setting Experience Interviews (SFN 636) completed annually with all
residents both public and private paying living in the facility.

. A report of a professional inspection of all heating units, to include

furnace, water heater, and alternate heating devices, is required upon
license renewal. (Section 600-05-30-30 (2)).

If applicable, proof of up to date pet vaccinations.

Additional information and verifications as requested by the
Department (Section 05-20-15-05).

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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Provisional License 660-05-20-25
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The Aging Services Division, may issue a provisional license for up to (6)
six months beyond the expiration date of the current or initial license under
the following conditions:

1. The provider has previously been licensed for at least (12) twelve
months continuously.

2. The licensed provider is waiting receipt of materials and information
requested by the Department which includes but is not limited to
health screening reports, fire and sanitation report, psychological
evaluation, proof of age or relationship, documentation of competency
in providing personal care, drug and alcohol evaluation, or the
completion of a specific counseling/treatment program.

3. The home requires structural changes or modification.

A provisional license shall be issued only to an applicant who has in writing
waived:

1. The right to a written statement of changes as to the reasons for
denial of an unrestricted license; (Section 600-05-65-65) and

2. The right to an administrative hearing, in the manner provided in
North Dakota Century Code chapter 28-32, concerning the non-
issuance of an unrestricted license.

Any provisional license issued shall be accompanied by a written statement
of violations signed by the Aging Services Division and acknowledged by
the provider/applicant in writing.

The provider/applicant shall comply with policies, rules, and statutes
governing Adult Foster Care within the period of time a provisional license
is in effect.

A provisional license shall:

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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1. State all applicable AFC provider standards and regulations that are
out of compliance with the Aging Services Division.

2. State that items of noncompliance are set forth in a document made
available to the provider upon request.

3. Expire at a set date not to exceed six months from the date of
issuance.

4. Upon demonstrating compliance with all applicable standards and
regulations, the provisional license will be replaced by an unrestricted
license. The unrestricted license shall bear the same start date as the
provisional license.
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Licensing of Agency Staff 660-05-20-30
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Issuance of a license to an employee of a County Social Service Agency,
Human Service Center, Department of Human Services or an agency that
arranges placements and monitors the placement in an Adult Foster Care
facility is not prohibited provided all established standards are met. The
decision to license should involve evaluating and taking into consideration
conflicts of interest that might arise.
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Application for Respite Provider and Substitute Caregiver
for Respite Services 660-05-20-35

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Individuals who provide respite care/substitute caregiver services to AFC
residents are required, prior to providing services, to meet the standards of
a Qualified Service Provider for Respite Care in an AFC home.

In order to meet these standards, applicants/providers are required to
complete:

1.

2.

NousWw

SRR

SFN 1605, “Individual Request to be a Qualified Service Provider/AFFC
Respite Provider”

SFN 750, “"Documentation of Competency,” or applicable license,
certification, or accreditation

SFN 467, “Personal Authorization for Criminal Record Inquiry”
SFN 466, “"Background Check Address Disclosure”

Two fingerprinting cards, if required

SFN 615 “Medicaid Program Provider Agreement”.

SFN 1168 “"Ownership Controlling Interest and Conviction
Information”.

SFN 433 “Child Abuse and Neglect Background Inquiry”.

W 9 “Request for Taxpayer Identification Number & Certification”.

. A copy of a form of ID, ex: driver’s license or social security card.

All completed forms should be mailed to: Medical Services Division, 600 E.
Boulevard Ave, Bismarck, ND 58505.
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660-05-20-40

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
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All AFC applicants/providers and anyone age 18 or over living in the AFC
facility, other than foster care recipients, are subject to mandatory state
and nationwide background checks.

Criminal history record investigations will be conducted by the North
Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI). BCI shall request
nationwide background checks from the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
The Department will cover the cost of the background check, except the
fingerprinting fee.

For new applicants, the County Social Service Agency provide the following
documents to applicants/provider:

1. SFN 467, “Personal Authorization for Criminal Record Inquiry”
2. SFN 466, “"Background Check Address Disclosure”
3. Two fingerprinting cards, if required.

The County Social Service Agency will provide the documents to the
applicant/provider. A separate authorization form, address disclosure form,
and if required, two fingerprinting cards must be completed for each adult
living in the facility that is not receiving care. AFC applicants/providers are
responsible for the completion of two fingerprinting cards.

Fingerprint cards can be completed at their local Police or Sheriff’s office or
local Human Service Center. There is a small fee for fingerprinting services.
The fee for fingerprinting is the responsibility of the applicant/provider. The
County Social Service Agency representative is to emphasize the need for
completion of all information on the form. Incomplete forms will be
returned.

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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Fingerprints need not be taken, and a nationwide background check need
not be made if an individual:

1. Has resided continuously in this state for eleven years or since
reaching age 18, whichever is less;

2. Is on active United States military duty or has resided continuously in
this state since receiving an honorable discharge; or

3. Is excused from providing fingerprints under rules adopted by the
Department.

AFC providers licensed prior to August 1, 1999, are not required to have a
background check and will not routinely require a background check as
long as they are continuously licensed. If there is a break in the licensure
of more than thirty (30) days, and later they reapply for an AFC license, a
background check is required. If another adult joins the facility, that
individual is subject to the background check requirement.

Completed forms should be forwarded to: Aging Services Division,
ATTENTION: AFC Program Administrator, 1237 West Divide Ave, Suite 6,
Bismarck, ND 58501. Aging Services Division will review for completeness
and forward to BCI for processing.

BCI will conduct the criminal history record and forward the report to the
Division. Statewide Criminal Record Investigation Reports from BCI are
usually received within a three-week time frame. Federal Criminal Record
Investigation Reports can take up to eight weeks to complete. The Division
will inform the County Social Service Agency and the Medical Services staff
(responsible for QSP enrollment) of the results of the background check.

If the background check results indicate that the individual has offenses
that may affect his/her ability to be an adult foster care provider, that
information will be noted. A license to provide AFC cannot be issued until
the background check has been completed.

The individual who is the subject of the background check has the right to
receive a copy of the report, challenge the report, or correct the report.
The individual must contact BCI at 701-328-5500 and follow their record
request procedures.
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Background Checks for Respite Care Providers and
Substitute Caregivers 660-05-20-40-05

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Individuals who provide respite care or act as a substitute caregiver in an
AFC home are subject to the mandatory state and nationwide background
check requirements.

The County-Social Service Agency is responsible for forwarding AFC
background check documents to these individuals. See Section 600-05-20-
40 for required background check forms. The Department will cover the
cost of the background check, except the fingerprinting fee.

County-Social Service Agency representatives are to emphasize the need
for completion of all information on the form. Incomplete forms will be
returned. Completion of two fingerprinting cards, if required, is the
responsibility of the respite care provider or the substitute caregiver. See
Section 600-05-20-40 for fingerprint requirements. Fingerprint cards can
be completed at their local Police or Sheriff’s office or Human Service
Center. Payment for fingerprinting is the responsibility of the applicant.

Completed forms should be forwarded to: Aging Services Division,
ATTENTION: AFC Program Administrator, 1237 West Divide Avenue, Suite
6, Bismarck, ND 58501. The Aging Services Division will review for
completeness and forward to BCI for processing. The Aging Services
Division will notify the County Social Service Agency, and the Medical
Services Division (responsible for QSP enrollment) that the background
check is complete.

If there is a lapse in the qualified services provider enrollment for more
than thirty (30) days, the respite care provider and/or substitute caregiver
must repeat the background check requirement should they apply for
qualified service provider re-enrollment.
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If the background check results indicate that the individual has offenses
that may affect his/her ability to provide care in an adult foster care
facility, that information will be noted. After December 31, 2001, respite
care shall not be provided in an AFC home until a background check has
been completed on the individual providing care.

The individual who is the subject of the background check has the right to
receive a copy of the report, challenge the report, or correct the report.
The individual must contact BCI at 701-328-5500 and follow their record
request procedures.
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This section outlines the responsibilities of the individual applicants, County
Social Service Agency, Services Division and the Medical Services Division
with the application and license renewal process.
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Adult Foster Care Applicant/Provider Responsibilities
660-05-25-05

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

It is the responsibility of a new applicant to complete or arrange for the
completion of the licensing application paperwork. (Section 600-05-20-15)

All forms, along with the licensing fee, must be submitted to the County
Social Service Agency completing the licensing procedure within a sixty-
(60) day time period from the date of the request for license application.

The applicant is expected to cooperate and participate in the licensing
process until such time that an application is withdrawn. This includes
providing all required information and verification as indicated in Section
600-05-20-15-05.

For renewal of an adult foster care facility license, the Medical Services
Division will notify the provider in writing ninety (90) days prior to the
expiration date. The provider must contact the County Social Service
Agency to obtain required forms and arrange for assistance with
completion of the license renewal. Completed documentation must be
submitted to the County Social Service Agency and the Medical Services
Division thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date.

Requests for changes in the number of individuals to receive care in the
home as indicated on the AFC license must be made to the Local County
Social Services Agency.
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County Social Service Agency Responsibilities
660-05-25-10
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The County Social Service Agency is responsible to:

1. Upon request of a license application, provide the following to potential
Adult Foster Care providers:

North Dakota Century Code Chapter 50-11
North Dakota Administrative Code Chapter 75-03-21
Qualified Service Provider/Adult Foster Care Provider Handbook
The Following Sections of the North Dakota Department of
Human Service Chapter 660-05:

e Section 600-05-20 Licensing

e Section 600-05-20-15 Application for License

e Section 600-05-20-15-05 Additional
Information/Verifications
Section 600-05-20-20 Renewal of an AFC License
Section 600-05-25-05 Applicant Responsibilities
Section 600-05-30-05 Standards for Providers
Section 600-05-30-05-05 General Practices — AFC
Providers
e Section 600-05-30-10 Standards for Respite Care

Providers and Substitute Caregivers
e Section 600-05-30-10-05 General Practices for Respite
Care Providers and Substitute Caregivers

e Section 600-05-30-15 Standards for Service
Delivery/Allowable Tasks
Section 600-05-30-20 Standards for the Licensed Home
Section 600-05-30-25 Standards for Sanitation
Section 600-05-30-30 Standards for Safety
Section 600-05-30-35 Standards for Meals and Nutrition
Section 600-05-30-40 Standards for Insurance
Section 600-05-30-45 Standards for Preadmission
Information and House Rules
e Section 600-05-30-50 Standards for Record Keeping

OnNn oW
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e Section 600-05-30-55 Standards for Provider Termination
of Care

e Section 600-05-30-60 Standards for Voluntary Termination
of License

e Section 600-05-35 Complaints

e Section 600-05-60 Allowable Tasks/Activities

e Section 600-05-60-05 Resident out-of-Home with Foster
Care Provider

e Section 600-05-60-10 Employment Outside of the Home

SFN 1013, “Application to Provide Adult Foster Care”
SEN 800, “Fire Safety Self Declaration”
SFN 823, "Evacuation Disaster Plan"
Adult Foster Care Background Check Documents including:
e Information Sheet
e SFN 467, “Personal Authorization for Criminal Record
Inquiry”
e SFN 466, "Background Check Address Disclosure”
e Two fingerprinting cards, if required

SQ - 0

2. Conduct a licensing assessment with the applicant. Completing SEN
669, “Initial Licensing Study-Adult Foster Care,” to determine
compliance with policies, rules, and state laws relating to adult foster
care.

3. Request letters of reference (see Forms Appendix for example) from
individuals identified on the application form, or interview individuals
and document substance of the interview. Three letters of reference
(or documented interviews) are required for initial licensure. Individual
references must be non-relatives and have knowledge of the
applicant’s ability to provide care to older individuals and/or individuals
with disabilities. If the applicant currently holds an Adult Foster Care
license, letters of reference must be included in the provider’s record.

4. Review all information pertaining to the application for a license for
accuracy and completeness and forward to the Aging Services Division
responsible for licensure. Requirements are listed in (Section 600-05-
20-15). Include a recommendation as to whether a license should be
issued and, if a license is not recommended, provide justification.
Indicate the number of individuals the provider will be licensed to care
for, not to exceed four individuals. Qualified service provider
application and background check paperwork will be sent to the
Medical Services Division Office for processing.
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5. If an applicant or current provider resides on an Indian reservation or

10.

military base, facilitate completion of SEN 915, “Adult Foster Care
Affidavit of Standard of Compliance in Lieu of License” (Section 600-
05-20-10).

For license renewal, contact the provider to discuss license renewal
and provide the required renewal paperwork. Assist provider in
completion of paperwork if warranted. Complete SFN 1031, “Re-
Licensing Study - Adult Foster Care." Along with requirements listed
for renewal (Section 600-05-20-20). Review all renewal
documentation for accuracy and completeness. Forward completed
paperwork to the Aging Services Division responsible for licensure.
Provide justification if license renewal is not recommended. Indicate
the number of individuals the provider will be licensed to care for, not
to exceed four individuals. Qualified service provider enrollment
renewal paperwork will be sent to the Medical Services Division Office
for processing. Forward completed paperwork at least thirty (30) days
prior to the expiration of the current license.

Report immediately to the Aging Services Division any changes that
affect the ability of the provider to provide service.

. Upon receipt of a request to change the number of individuals listed on

the AFC license, notify the Aging Services Division responsible for
licensing. If there is a request to increase the number of individuals
listed on the license, complete a home inspection to insure the facility
meets the standards for an increase. Make recommendation to the
Aging Services Division for the increase and to issue a corrected
license to the provider.

Evaluate compliance with policies, rules, and state law through on-site
inspections, review of records, and interviews with the resident(s),
providers. Complete the (SFN 636) Home and Community Based
Services (HCBS) Adult Foster Care (AFC) Setting Experience Interview
annually with all public and private pay resident(s)in the home or with
their legal representatives. Send copies of the SFN 636 to the Aging
Services Division annually.

Receive complaints and consult with the Aging Services Division
regarding investigation. (Section 600-05-35)
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Aging Services Division Responsibilities 660-05-25-15
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The Aging Services Division must review for accuracy and completeness, all
information submitted by the County Social Service Agency to determine
whether the application for an AFC license should be approved, denied, or
if a provisional license should be issued. In making the determination, the
Aging Services Division may make an on-site inspection, interview the
applicant, and request additional information and verifications (Section
600-05-20-15-05).

For initial licensing:

1. Notification is received from Medical Service Division that applicants
who have applied for adult foster care have been approved for
qualified service provider status. Within sixty (60) calendar days of
receipt of application materials, issue SFN 1020, “License to Provide
Adult Foster Care." An initial license is effective for no more than 12
months. A license for less than 12 months can be considered if
qualified service status is to be renewed in less than 12 months. Send
copy of license to County Social Service Agency.

2. If a license is not recommended, issue a letter of denial including
notification of rights. Upon request, assist the applicant in the
completion of SEN 747, "Adult Foster Care Appeal".

3. Notify the applicant if an additional forty-five (45) days are needed in
order to determine whether a license will be granted or denied.

For providers holding a current license:

1. Once the Aging Services Division has provided notification of the
license expiration date and all of the renewal documentation has been
received from the County-Social Service Agency, issue a new license
(SFN 1020) to the provider for no more than (24) twenty-four months.
Send a copy of license to the County Social Service Agency.

2. If a provisional license is required, the Aging Services Division will
issue the license (SFN 1020) to the provider (Section 600-05-20-25).
Send copy of license to the County Social Service Agency.

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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3. If a denial of license is warranted, consult with the County Social
Service Agency. The Aging Services Division will issue a letter of denial
including notification of rights. Upon request, assist the provider in the
completion of SEN 747, “Appeal.” Send a copy of the forms to the
County Social Service Agency.

4. Report immediately to the County Social Services Agency any changes
in provider status that affects the provider's ability to provide service.

5. Receive requests from the County Social Service Agency for an
increase or decrease in the number of individuals listed on the license.
If an increase has been requested, consult with the County Social
Service Agency to insure the standards have been met. Issue a new
license that reflects the changes to the individual, and County Social
Service Agency.

6. Receive complaints and assist in investigations, (Section 600- 05-35).
Follow the Department Complaint Policies.

7. Review all complaints and investigation findings. Consult with the
County Social Service Agency and other applicable parties within the
Department. If warranted, the Aging Services Division will issue a
correction order (Section 600-05-40). A copy of the Correction Order is
sent to legal for review before being sent to the provider and County
Social Service Agency.

8. If revocation of a license is warranted, consult with the County Social
Service Agency. Issue a letter of revocation (Section 600-05-45) to the
provider. Upon request, assist the provider in the completion of SFN
747, “Adult Foster Care Appeal Form.” Send copies of the forms to the
County Social Service Agency.

North Dakota Department of Human Services


http://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn00747.pdf

ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Division 20 Service 660
Program 610 Chapter 05

Medical Services Division Responsibilities 660-05-25-20
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

1. Review the qualified service provider (QSP) application for all adult
foster care applicants/providers, respite care providers and substitute
caregivers which includes:

a. SFN 1605, “Individual Request to be a Qualified Service
Provider/AFC Provider”

b. SFN 750, "Documentation of Competency,” or applicable license,

certification, or accreditation

SFN 615 “Medicaid Program Provider Agreement”.

. SFN 1168 “Ownership Controlling Interest and Conviction

Information”.

e. SFN 433 “Child Abuse and Neglect Background Inquiry”.

W 9 “Request for Taxpayer Identification Number &

Certification”.

g. A copy of a form of ID, ex: driver’s license or social security
card.

o N

._h

2. Return application forms if not complete. Notify, County Social Service
Agency and Aging Services Division of status of QSP application.

3. Review background check forms for completion and forward to Aging
Services Division to complete the check for adult foster care
applicants/providers, relatives in the home, substitute caregivers, and
respite care providers which includes:

a. SFN 467 “Personal Authorization for Criminal Record Inquiry”
b. SFN 466 “Background Check Address Disclosure”
c. Two finger print cards, if required
4. Determine expiration date of adult foster care license based on
background check results and expiration of QSP status. Notify County
Social Service and Aging Services Division responsible for licensing of
the expiration date.
5. For license renewal, notify the provider, the County Social Service
Agency and the Aging Services Division in writing 90 days prior to the
expiration date.
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6. Refer all complaints and investigation findings to Aging Services
Division.

7. If revocation of a license is warranted, the Aging Services Division will
issue a revocation letter (Section 600-05-45) to the provider. Upon
request, assist the provider in the completion of SFN 747,” Adult
Foster Care Appeal Form.” Send copies of the forms to the Aging
Services Division and the County Social Service Agency.
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(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
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This section outlines standards and general practices for AFC providers,
respite care providers, and substitute caregivers, standards for service
delivery and allowable tasks/activities, standards for the licensed facility,
sanitation, safety, meals and nutrition, insurance, preadmission
information and house rules, record keeping, provider termination of care,
and voluntary termination of a license.
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Standards for Providers 660-05-30-05
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View Archives

A provider of Adult Foster Care must:

Be twenty-one (21) years of age or older

Be the owner or lessee of the licensed facility. If the facility is leased
the provider must be free of influence, control, and direction in the
operation of the facility by the landlord

Live continuously in the licensed facility

Be in good physical health, emotionally stable, and not abusing drugs
or alcohol

Not be related by blood or marriage to a resident receiving care in the
licensed facility

Must be enrolled as a Qualified Service Provider of Adult Foster Care.
Competency requirements are outlined in the “Qualified Service
Provider Handbook/Adult Foster Care Provider.” Copies of the
handbook are available on the DHS publications website. Potential
providers may obtain a copy from the County Social Service Agency.

. A provider may meet developmentally disabled competency standards

for facilities in which the responsible provider is licensed according to
chapter 75-04-01 and services are provided according to chapter 75-
04-07 in lieu of the QSP enrollment requirement. Documentation of
completion of the competency standards must be submitted with the
QSP application.
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General Practices - AFC Providers 660-05-30-05-05
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The provider shall adhere to sound care practices that include the
following:

1.

Permit a representative of the County Social Service Agency, Aging
Services, Division or other agency serving a resident entry into facility
without prior notice.

Provide information about the resident to the County Social Service
Agency and family member (if appropriate), legal representative or
other agency serving the resident with reasonable promptness.
Report iliness, hospitalization, or unusual behavior of a resident to the
County Social Service Agency and to the resident's family, or legal
representative.

Not permit a person, except for a resident, to reside in the facility or
act as a caregiver in the facility, if that person has been convicted of
an offense, unless:

a. The Department determines the person has been sufficiently
rehabilitated; and the person has not been convicted of an
offense that has a direct bearing upon the health, morality, and
well-being of persons cared for in the facility or a person's ability
to serve the public as a caregiver in a facility.

b. Sufficient evidence of rehabilitation exists with the completion of
probation or parole, or of a period of three years after final
discharge or release from any term of imprisonment, without
subsequent conviction.

. Assure that information related to the resident shall be kept

confidential, except as may be necessary in the planning or provision
of care or medical treatment, related to an investigation or license
review or as authorized by the resident.

Not practice, condone, facilitate, or collaborate with any form of
discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, sexual orientation, age,

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

religion, national origin, marital status, political belief, or mental or
physical handicap.

Shall accept direction, advice, and suggestions concerning the care of
residents from the County Social Service Agency, Aging Services
Division or other agency representative serving a resident.

. Assure that residents receiving care in the facility are not subjected to

physical abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, or exploitation.

Undergo a medical examination, psychological evaluation, or drug and
alcohol evaluation when requested by the County Social Service
Agency, or Aging Services Division when there is reason to believe that
such an examination or evaluation is reasonably necessary.

Authorize the release of a report of any examination, evaluation, or
inspection required by Department policies, administrative rules, or
state statute to the County Social Service Agency, or Aging Services
Division.

Immediately report to the County Social Services Agency changes in
the identity or number of individuals living in the facility.

Immediately report to the County Social Service Agency the inability to
provide care to a resident.

Allow a representative of the County-Social Service Agency or Aging
Services Division to enter the premises, examine the facility and
records maintained with respect to the residents, and interview the
resident(s), provider, and caregivers in order to evaluate compliance
with policies, administrative rules and state statutes.

Cooperate with the County Social Service Agency, or Aging Services
Division in inspections, complaint investigations, planning for the care
of a resident, application procedures and other necessary activities,
and allow access of the County Social Service Agency, Ombudsman, or
other authorized individuals to the facility and its residents.

Not retaliate against any resident, who has filed a complaint with the
County Social Service Agency or Aging Services Division, by taking
away rights or privileges; threatening to take away rights or
privileges; or by abusing or threatening to abuse a resident in any
manner.

The provider shall make reasonable efforts to make residents
comfortable in the facility. During times of extremes in outdoor
temperature the provider will need to adjust the temperature of the
facility's heating and cooling system, provide additional bedding, use
available ventilation and fans, and encourage residents to wear
clothing appropriate for the season or temperature.
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17. Report destructive and abusive behavior by a resident towards the

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27.

provider or other residents to the County Social Service Agency, the
agency that is responsible for placement of the destructive or abusive
resident, and the personal representative of the destructive or abusive
resident for the purpose of transfer, referral or continuation of care in
relation to the needs of the provider and other residents.

Arrange for service delivery when out of the facility through respite
care, see Service Chapter 815-01, or through a substitute caregiver,
Section 600-05-30-10-05.

Employing individuals other than those who meet the definition of
substitute caregiver or respite care provider to provide services to
adult foster care recipients is prohibited.

Employing respite care providers or substitute caregivers to assist in
the daily operation of the adult foster care facility is also prohibited.
Respite care and substitute caregivers may provide care only in the
absence of the provider.

Use of a respite care provider or substitute caregiver is required in
absence of the provider if the resident cannot safely be left alone as
documented and justified in the person-centered service plan or
service and rental agreement. Resident or the resident’s legal
representative shall be allowed to choose their respite care provider.
Must be free of influence, control, and direction in the operation of the
facility by the landlord if the private residence is rented.

May not use a transfer of ownership of a resident’s possessions or
property as payments.

May not purchase property or possessions from a resident without
providing documented proof to the Aging Service Division that the item
or property was purchased at fair market value.

May not accept or solicit personal property or a purchased item with a
fair market value of at least twenty-five dollars that the resident’s
family, or both, choose to give the licensed provider.

May not accept or solicit personal property or a purchased item with a
fair market value of twenty-five dollars or less that the resident,
resident’s family or both choose to give to the licensed provider
exceeding more than two times in a calendar year.

Shall notify the County Social Service Agency if the provider holds or
will be accepting appointment as a power of attorney agent for a
resident. The Aging Service Division may revoke the license of a
provider who holds or will be accepting appointment as power of
attorney agent for a resident if the Aging Service Division considers it
to be a conflict of interest or a result of undue influence.
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28. Shall notify the resident or resident’s legal representative of their right

29.

30.

31.

to manage the resident’s finances. The provider shall notify the County
Social Service Agency in writing if the resident or resident’s legal
representative requests the provider to act as the representative
payee.

Shall provide the County Social Service Agency upon request an
accounting of the resident’s expenses including receipts for all deposits
and expenditures if the provider is assisting a resident with
management of personal Funds.

Shall provide twenty-four-hour (24) care and supervision of all
residents residing in the facility, unless otherwise documents and
justified in the person-centered service plan or service and rental
agreement.

Meet criteria established by the Department for employment outside of
the facility.
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Standards for Respite Care Provider and Substitute
Caregiver 660-05-30-10

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

A respite care provider and/or substitute caregiver must:

1. Not be a recipient of Adult Foster Care.
2. Meet the enrollment standards of a Qualified Service Provider for

Respite Care Provider and/or Substitute Caregiver providing care in an
AFC facility and:

Be eighteen years of age or older;

Have the basic ability to communicate;

Be free of communicable diseases;

Be in good physical health, emotionally and functionally stable,
and not abusing drugs or alcohol.

O n o
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General Practices - Respite Care Providers and Substitute
Caregivers 660-05-30-10-05

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The following general practices must be adhered to:

1.

The provider is responsible for the care of the residents at all times,
even though the duties or tasks of providing resident care have been
delegated to a substitute caregiver and/or respite care provider.

For residents who are either private pay or funded by the Department,
the provider must arrange for a respite care provider or substitute
caregiver who meets standards of competency of a Qualified Service
Provider of respite care/substitute caregiver in an AFC facility. (Section
05-30-10)

. A substitute caregiver or respite care provider who is providing care to

private pay residents may not be left in charge of the facility for more
than one hundred-ninety-two (192) calendar days during the twenty-
four (24) month period immediately following the date of issuance of
the license or for more than ninety-six (96) days of the issuance of the
initial license.

. Whenever a substitute caregiver or respite care provider is left in

charge of the facility for more than eight (8) hours during a calendar
day, unless subdivision six (6) (listed below) applies, a calendar day
will be counted towards the ninety-six (96( or one hundred-ninety-two
(192) calendar day limit a substitute caregiver or respite care provider
may be in charge of the facility.

. In a private pay situation, the service rate is the amount negotiated

between the recipient or their representative and the licensed Adult
Foster Care Provider.

. A calendar day will not be counted toward the sixty (60) calendar day

limit if the provider is away from the facility in the performance of
duties on behalf of the Adult Foster Care residents or the Adult Foster
Care home.

. All respite care providers/substitute caregivers must complete the

required qualified service provider application paperwork (Section 600-
05-20-35) and be enrolled as a Qualified Service Provider.
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8. All respite care providers/substitute caregivers must have completed a
required background check (Section 600-05-20-40-05).

9. Employing individuals other than those who meet the definition of
substitute caregiver or respite care provider to provide services to
adult foster care recipients is prohibited.

North Dakota Department of Human Services
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Standards for Service Delivery and Allowable
Tasks/Activities 660-05-30-15

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Standards for service delivery and allowable tasks/activities for AFC
providers, respite care providers and substitute caregivers are contained in
the “Qualified Service Provider Handbook/Adult Foster Care Provider
Handbook." Copies of the handbook are available at on the DHS
publications website. Potential providers may obtain a copy from the
County Social Service Agency.

As identified in the Handbook, standards 5-25 require verification of
demonstrated competence by a physician, Registered Nurse, Occupational
Therapist, Physical Therapist, or other professional degree of expertise in
the specialized area(s) of in-home care.
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Endorsements 660-05-30-15-05
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Endorsements, as outlined in the “Qualified Service Provider/ Adult Foster
Care Provider Handbook,” are considered separately because very few
clients’ need the specific care addressed by them. Demonstrated
competence must be verified before a provider can perform the care
identified by the respective endorsement.

AFC Providers, respite care providers and substitute caregivers must
meet all standards for service delivery for Adult Foster Care
(Standards 5 - 25 in the Handbook) before consideration will be
given for approval of endorsements.
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Standards for the Licensed Facility 660-05-30-20
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Standards addressing the physical structure are divided into two sections,
the facility and specific rooms.

1. Standards for the Facility:
a. The facility must be:

i. Free of warped or damaged floors, loose or unsecured floor
coverings, loose tiles, broken or damaged windows, loose
or broken handrails, broken light bulbs, and other hazards
that would affect the safety of an adult residing in the
facility;

ii. Maintained free of offensive odors, vermin, and dampness;

iii. Maintained by a central heating system at a temperature
of at least sixty-eight (68) degrees Fahrenheit unless an
adjustment to a higher temperature is necessary for
health reasons;

iv. Maintained so as to prevent crawling and flying pests from
entering the home through windows; and

v. Equipped with handrails on all stairways.

b. The facility must have a telecommunication device on the main
floor of the home available for use by residents.
c. Mobile home units used as a facility must:

i. Have been constructed since 1976;

ii. Have been designed for use as a dwelling, rather than as a
travel trailer;

iii. Meet the flame spread rate requirements; and

iv. Have a manufacturer's label permanently affixed stating
the mobile home meets the requirements of the
Department of Housing and Urban Development or the
American National Standards Institute.
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d. The facility furnishings and grounds shall be clean and well
maintained.

e. Food and cooking utensils shall be stored to protect from dust,
leakage from pipes, or other contamination.

f. All occupied and utilized areas of the facility shall be well lighted,
adequately heated and ventilated.

g. Be in compliance with the fire and safety survey points listed on
the SEN 800, “Fire Safety Self Declaration,” form.

2. Standards for Specific Rooms:

a. Bedrooms:

i. Bedrooms for all residents must have been constructed as
a bedroom with walls or partitions of standard
construction that extend from floor to ceiling and must
provide privacy for the resident.

ii. Bedrooms occupied by one resident must have no less
than seventy (70) square feet of useable floor space and
provide privacy in the sleeping area.

iii. Bedrooms occupied by two residents must have no less
than one hundred twenty (120) square feet of usable floor
space.

iv. Bedroom ceilings must be at least six (6) feet and eight
(8) inches above the finished floor surface at the ceiling's
lowest point.

v. No more than two residents may be assigned to one
bedroom.

vi. Residents of the opposite sex shall not occupy the same
bedroom unless they are husband and wife.

vii. Bedrooms shall have a hinged door which opens directly to
a hallway or common use room without passage through
another bedroom or common bathroom.

viii. Bedrooms occupied by residents may not be located in a
level of the home below grade level unless there are two
means of egress, one of which leads to the outside of the
home.

iX. Providers, provider’'s members, relatives, or a providers
personal guests to the facility shall not sleep in living
areas nor share bedrooms with residents.
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x. Bedrooms must be lockable by the resident for privacy,
with only the resident and appropriate staff having keys to
the door. Any restriction on having a lockable door must
be documented and justified in the person-centered
service plan or service rental agreement.

Xi. Minimum bedroom furnishings:

a. Each resident shall have a separate bed that is clean
and comfortable;

b. Beds shall be at least thirty six (36) inches wide and
seventy-two (72) inches long;

c. Water beds are acceptable but cots, folding beds,
studio couches, and stacked bunk beds are
prohibited;

d. Each bed shall have clean bedding in good condition
that is appropriate for the season and a resident's
needs;

e. Each bedroom shall contain closet space and a
dresser or private drawer space sufficient for clothing
and personal effects; and

f. Provision shall be made for a resident's personal
items.

b. Bathroom:

i. At least one full bathroom must be available on the same
floor as any bedroom occupied by residents of the facility

ii. Bathroom doors must be lockable by the resident for
privacy with only the resident and appropriate staff having
keys to the door. Any restrictions on having a lockable
door must be documented and justified in the person-
centered service plan or service and rental agreement.

iii. Bathrooms shall:

a. Provide individual privacy;

b. Have adequate supplies of toilet paper and soap for
each resident;

c. Have hot and cold water at each tub, sink, and
shower, in sufficient supply to meet the needs of the
residents of the facility;

North Dakota Department of Human Services



ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Division 20 Service 660
Program 610 Chapter 05

d. Be equipped with non-porous surfaces for shower
enclosures;

e. Be equipped with safety mats or slip-preventing
materials on the bottom of tubs and floors of
showers; and

f. Be vented or have an outside window.

iv. Residents will be provided with individual towels and
washcloths that are laundered regularly.

v. Residents will be provided with racks or hooks for drying
bath towels and washcloths.

North Dakota Department of Human Services



ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

Division 20 Service 660
Program 610 Chapter 05

Standards for Sanitation 660-05-30-25
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View Archives

Minimum standards for sanitation are as follows:

1. All sewage disposal systems shall comply with North Dakota

nalh o

o o

Administrative Code 62-03-16. Inspection of sewage disposal systems
can be requested of the North Dakota Department of Health and
Consolidated Laboratories.

a. All domestic sewage shall be disposed of by an approved method
of collection, treatment, and effluent discharge. Domestic
sewage or sewage effluent shall not be disposed of in any
manner that will cause pollution of the ground surface, ground
water, bathing area, lake, pond, watercourse, or create a
nuisance. It shall not be discharged into any abandoned or
unused well, or into any crevice, sink hole, or other opening
either natural or artificial in a rock formation.

b. Water carried sewage from bathrooms, kitchens, laundry
fixtures, and other household plumbing shall pass through a
septic or other approved sedimentation tank prior to its
discharge into the soil or into a sand filter.

Rubbish, garbage, and other refuse must be stored in readily cleanable
containers and removed from the facility at least every second day.
Rubbish, garbage, and other refuse kept outside of the facility must
be stored in readily cleanable, rodent proof containers and disposed of
weekly.

The facility must be reasonably free of animal feces, urine, and hair.
Drinking water must be obtained from an approved community water
system or from a source tested and approved by the State
Department of Health and Consolidated Laboratories. A copy of the
report approving the water source must be submitted to the
Department or its designee every two years.

Milk must be obtained from an approved commercial source.

. Soiled and dirty linens and clothing shall be stored in containers in an

area separate from food storage, kitchen, or dining areas.
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Standards for Safety 660-05-30-30
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Minimum safety standards are as follows:

1. The facility must be located where a community or rural fire
department is available.

2. Upon an initial license, the Department requires that the facility
undergo a fire inspection, inspection of the heating system, the
electrical system and any other type of inspection that the
Department determines necessary.

a. Deficiencies noted during an inspection must be corrected within
sixty (60) days after the issuance of the inspection report.

b. Any fees for inspections required by the Department or costs
associated with correcting deficiencies noted during an
inspection shall be the responsibility of the applicant or provider.

3. The heating system must be inspected for operability and safety at the
time of the initial licensing application and upon license renewal as
required by the Department.

4. Within twenty-four (24) hours of arrival a new resident shall be shown
how to exit from the facility in an emergency. The provider may want
to ask a resident to sign a document verifying that the new resident
was shown how to exit the facility in an emergency.

5. Firearms must be stored, unloaded, in a locked cabinet. A firearms
cabinet must be located in an area of the facility that is not readily
accessible to residents.

6. Food preparation areas, equipment, and food storage areas must be
clean, free of offensive odors, and in sound working condition.

7. All dangerous household products, flammable liquids and chemicals
shall be stored in a safe area. Questions relating to "safe areas" may
be referred to the local fire department.

8. Pets must not present a danger to the resident or the resident's
guests. Pet vaccinations must be current; supporting documentation
must be submitted to the county upon an initial license and upon each
license renewal.
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9. Smoke detectors must be provided for all sleeping areas and each floor
level.
10. Interior doors with a locking mechanism must be provided with a
means to unlock the door from either side.
11. A written fire escape plan must be formulated and available.
12. Fire drills must be conducted quarterly and within the first week a
resident enters the facility.
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Standards for Meals and Nutrition 660-05-30-35
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Minimum standards for the provision of meals and nutrition are as follows:

1. Three meals must be served daily.

2. Residents must be allowed access to food at any time and meal
choices must be provided. Any restrictions on access to or choice of
food because of health and safety concerns must be documented and
justified in the person-centered service plan or service and rental
agreement.

3. There may be no more than fourteen hours between the conclusion of
the evening meal and service of breakfast.

4. Each meal must be nutritious and well balanced in accordance with the
recommended dietary allowances of the Food and Nutrition Board of
the National Research Council, National Academy of Sciences.

5. Adequate amounts of food must be available at all meals.

6. The special dietary needs of the residents must be considered in all
menu planning, food selection, and meal preparation.

7. Consideration must be given to residents' cultural, ethnic, and religious
backgrounds in food preparation.

8. Meals must be regularly and routinely prepared in the facility where
the residents live.

9. Charges imposed for resident meals provided by persons or facilities
other than the provider must be paid by the provider unless the
provider made a meal available at the facility.
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Standards for Insurance 660-05-30-40
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The provider must provide documentation of insurance coverage for an
initial license and upon license renewal. Minimum standards for insurance
are as follows:

1. The provider must maintain adequate liability insurance, uninsured
motorist coverage, and underinsured motorist coverage on all
vehicles, operated by the provider or members of the provider's
household, in which residents may be a passenger.

a. The provider shall maintain liability coverage at least twenty five
thousand dollars for bodily injury or death to one person in any
one accident and fifty thousand dollars for bodily injury to or
death of two or more persons in any one accident and twenty
five thousand dollars for injury to or destruction of property of
others in any one accident.

b. The provider shall maintain uninsured motorist coverage and
underinsured motorist coverage of at least twenty five thousand
dollars for bodily injury or death to one person in any one
accident and fifty thousand dollars for bodily injury to or death
of two or more persons in any one accident.
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Standards for Service and Rental Agreement
660-05-30-45

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

Standards for Service and Rental Agreement are as follows:

1. The provider shall furnish each prospective resident, or the resident's
legal representative and the County Social Service Agency with a
signed copy of the provider’s Service and Rental Agreement prior to
the resident entering the facility. A copy signed by the resident or
resident’s legal representative and the provider must be kept in the
resident’s record. A copy is to be sent to the Aging Services Division.
The following is to be addressed in the Service and Rental Agreement.

a. Landlord tenant eviction and appeals process.

b. Resident’s rights to unrestricted telephone access, unless
otherwise documented and justified in the person-centered care
plan.

c. Sample menus of meals served and plan for access to food
available at any time, unless otherwise documented and justified
in the person-centered care plan.

d. Procedure concerning the use and management of resident
funds.

e. Any relevant expectations with which the resident is expected to
comply, including restrictions on the use of alcohol or tobacco in
the facility.

f. Procedure used for billing, collecting, and reimbursing the charge
for board, room, and care.

g. Plan for furnishing of non-emergency resident transportation by
the provider.

h. Resident’s right to furnish and decorate their bedroom as
desires, unless otherwise documented and justified in the
person-centered care plan.

i. Resident’s right to control their own schedules and activities,
unless otherwise documented and justified in the person-
centered care plan.
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j. Resident’s right to have visitors of their choosing at any time,
unless otherwise documented and justified in the person-
centered care plan.

k. Accurate and complete information regarding the extent and
nature of the care available from the provider including whether
or not the client requires twenty-four (24) hour supervision or
the appropriate length of time the resident may be safely left
alone.

|. Procedure for the distribution of mail and for sending mail.

m. Resident’s right to be free from coercion and restraint.

2. All agreement modifications must be supported by a specific assessed
need of the resident and documented and justified in the person-
centered care plan or service and rental agreement. The Service and
Rental Agreement must be reviewed by the provider and County Social
Service Agency at license renewal.

3. All agreement modifications made after the date the initial agreement
was signed must be in writing and signed by the resident or resident’s
legal representative and the provider. The provider shall furnish the
resident, or the resident’s legal representative, the County Social
Service Agency, and the Aging Services Division with a signed copy of
the modifications. A copy of the modifications must be kept in the
resident’s records.
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Standards for Record Keeping 660-05-30-50
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

An individualized file shall be maintained for each resident in the facility.
At a minimum, the file must contain:

1. The resident's full name and birth date.

The name, address, and telephone number of the resident's legal
representative when one exists and an emergency contact.

3. Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of persons who can assume
responsibility for the resident if the legal representative cannot be
reached immediately in an emergency.

4. The daily personal care that is needed and provided to the resident and
the name of the individual or individuals who provided the personal
care.

5. A single daily entry that itemizes all “routine tasks” completed on a
daily basis for a calendar month meets documentation requirements
for Adult Foster Care unless there was a disruption in the routine care
i.e. use of respite care, client hospitalization, etc.

6. A record of any Critical Incident’s as required to be reported to the
Department.

e Abuse (physical, emotional, sexual), neglect, or exploitation;

e Rights violations through omission or commission, the failure to
comply with the rights to which an individual is entitled as
established by law, rule, regulation, or policy;

e Serious injury or medical emergency, which would not be

routinely provided by a primary care provider;

Wandering or elopement;

Restraint violations;

Death of a resident and cause (including death by suicide);

Report of all medication errors or omissions; and

Any event that has the potential to jeopardize the resident’s

health, safety or security if not corrected.

North Dakota Department of Human Services


file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Archive%20Documents/archives.htm%23660_05_30_50

ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Division 20 Service 660
Program 610 Chapter 05

7. An accounting of any real or personal property the resident or
resident’s family gives, sells, or otherwise transfers to the provider or
provider’s family.
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Standards for Provider Termination of Care 660-05-30-55
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Providers must follow these standards for termination of care:

1. The provider shall terminate care of a resident when such care is no
longer required or no longer meets the needs and the best interests of
the resident.

2. The provider shall terminate care of a resident when the provider is no
longer qualified to provide the personal care needed by the resident
receiving care.

3. The provider who anticipates the termination of care to a resident shall
provide the resident, and the resident's representative, if any, with at
least thirty (30) days written notice of the termination. The provider
shall refer or transfer the resident to a setting more appropriate to the
resident's needs. The provider can seek the assistance of the County
Social Service Agency or Aging Services Division for termination
planning for a resident. The provider shall comply with the provider’s
service and rental agreement and ND landlord tenant eviction laws.

4. If an emergency placement outside of the facility is needed or a
resident is hospitalized and the resident’s condition has changed to
the extent that the provider is no longer able to provide the resident’s
care, consideration will be given to waiving the thirty-day written
notice required under subsection 2 provided keeping the resident or
returning the resident to the facility would negatively impact the
health and well-being of the resident, other residents living in the
facility, or the provider. The Aging Services Division must be
contacted by the County Social Service Agency prior to making the
decision to waive the thirty-day (30) requirement.
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Standards for Voluntary Termination of a License
660-05-30-60

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

Standards for voluntary termination of a license are as follows:

1. Providers that voluntarily close or surrender their Adult Foster Care
License should notify the County Social Service Agency or the agency
that completed the licensing study, residents, and the resident's
legalLrepresentative, if any, in writing at least thirty (30) days prior to
the termination date.

2. The County Social Service Agency that completed the licensing study
shall immediately notify the Aging Services Division of the providers’
intent to voluntarily terminate their license.

North Dakota Department of Human Services


file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Archive%20Documents/archives.htm%23660_05_30_60

ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Division 20 Service 660
Program 610 Chapter 05

Complaints 660-05-35
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Any person who believes that the policies, rules, or statutes governing
Adult Foster Care have been violated may file a complaint with the County
Social Service Agency, or Aging Services Division.

The Department has developed a Qualified Service Provider Complaint
Protocol. As stated in the protocol, the County Social Service Agency must
be contacted for all Adult Foster Care complaints. The case manager will
report the compliant to the appropriate Aging Services Division staff. The
county will assist with all complaints by providing follow-up reports and
prompt unannounced visits to the Adult Foster Care Facility upon request.

The Aging Services Division staff shall investigate all complaints. Findings
must be reported to the County Social Services Agency.

The Aging Services Division following consultation with the Department,
County Social Service Agency shall notify the provider and the County
Social Service Agency of the results of the investigation and any proposed
action. The Aging Services Division shall review all documentation prior to
being sent to the provider.
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Correction Orders 660-05-40
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Whenever Aging Services Division, in consultation with the County Social
Service Agency, determines that a provider holding an unrestricted and
current license for Adult Foster Care is not in compliance with state statute,
rules, or policies, a notice of denial or revocation, or a correction order
must be issued.

The Correction Order will be sent to the provider by the Aging Services
Division after review and consultation with legal advisory unit. A copy of
the Correction Order will be sent to the County Social Service Agency.
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Content of a Correction Order 660-05-40-05
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

1. A Correction Order must:

a. Cite the statute, rule, or policy violated.

b. State the factual basis of the violation.

c. Specify the time allowed for correction.

d. Specify the amount of any fiscal sanction to be assessed if the
Correction Order is not complied with in a timely manner.

2. A Correction Order may also state a suggested method of correction or
require the submission of a corrective action plan.

If a corrective action plan is required from the provider, it must
specify a date by which the corrective action plan must be submitted.

If a corrective action plan is required from the provider, the provider
will be instructed to send their plan to the County Social Service
Agency. The corrective action plan and resolution of the Correction
Order will be reviewed and discussed with the Aging Services
Division.
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Time Period for Corrections 660-05-40-10
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The following time periods are established for correction of deficiencies
identified in the correction order:

1.

For a deficiency requiring a provider or substitute caregiver to provide
written documentation of qualification to provide Adult Foster Care, a
period of up to thirty (30) days must be allowed to correct the
deficiency.

. For a deficiency that requires an inspection for compliance with fire,

safety, and sanitation a period of up to thirty days must be allowed to
correct the deficiency.

For a deficiency that requires obtaining and providing the results of a
drug and alcohol evaluation, psychological evaluation, or a physical
examination a period of up to sixty (60) days must be allowed to
correct the deficiency.

For deficiencies which require building remodeling, renovation, or
change a period of sixty (60) days must be allowed to correct the
deficiency.

For all other deficiencies a period of up to thirty (30) days must be
allowed to correct the deficiency.

All time periods must commence with the date the correction order is
received by the provider.

The Department may grant extensions for a period of one half the original
allowable time to correct a deficiency upon demonstration by the provider
that the need for an extension exists.
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Reinspection 660-05-40-15
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3118)
View Archives

The licensed Adult Foster Home must be inspected at the end of the period
allowed for correction by the County Social Service Agency staff. Results of
the inspection shall be reviewed with the and the Aging Services Division.

If, upon inspection, it is determined that the provider has not corrected a
deficiency identified in the correction order, the Aging Services Division
must send a notice of noncompliance with the correction order to the
licensed provider. The notice must specify the uncorrected violations and
the penalties assessed.
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Fiscal Sanctions 660-05-40-20
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

A licensed provider, if issued a notice of honcompliance with a correction
order, must be assessed fiscal sanctions in the following manner:

1. The following deficiencies will result in a twenty-five (25) dollar per
day fiscal sanction:

a. Warped or damaged floors, lose or unsecured floor coverings,
loose tiles, broken or damaged windows, loose or broken
handrails, broken light bulbs, and other such hazards that would
affect the safety of an adult residing in the facility.

b. Offensive odors, vermin, dampness.

c. The facility is not maintained so as to prevent crawling and flying
pests from entering the facility through the windows.

d. Stairways are not equipped with handrails.

e. Shower enclosures are not equipped with nonporous surfaces
and the bottom of bathtubs and floor of showers are not
equipped with safety mats or slip preventing materials.

f. Rubbish, garbage, and other refuse is not stored in readily
cleanable containers and removed from the facility at least every
second day. Rubbish, garbage, and other refuse kept outside of
the facility is not stored in readily cleanable, rodent proof
containers and disposed of weekly.

g. The facility is not kept reasonably free of animal feces, urine,
and hair.

h. Firearms are not stored, unloaded, in a locked cabinet and the
firearms cabinet is not located in an area of the facility that is
not readily accessible to residents.

i. Interior doors with locking mechanisms cannot be unlocked from
either side.

j. The heating and electrical system has not been inspected
periodically as requested by the Department.

k. Food preparation areas, equipment, and food storage areas are
not clean, free of offensive odors, and in sound working
condition.
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|. Meals are not nutritious and well balanced in accordance with the
recommended dietary allowances of the Food and Nutrition
Board of the National Research Council, National Academy of
Sciences.

m. Restricted access to food at any time and adequate amounts of
food or choices are not available at all meals.

n. The provider has not terminated care of a resident when such
care is no longer required or when the provider is no longer
qualified to provide the care needed by the resident receiving
Adult Foster Care.

0. Bedrooms occupied by one resident have less than seventy (70)
square feet of usable floor space or bedrooms occupied by two
residents have less than one hundred-twenty (120) feet of
usable floor space.

p. Bedroom ceilings are not at least six (6) feet and eight (8)
inches above the finished floor surface at the ceiling’s lowest
point.

g. Bedrooms occupied by residents that are located below grade
level do not have two means of egress, one which leads to the
outside of the facility.

r. The facility does not have a telecommunication devise on the
main floor that is available for use by the residents.

s. Septic tanks or other non-municipal sewage disposal systems do
not meet the plumbing code.

t. Drinking water is not obtained from an approved community
water system or from a source tested by a certified laboratory
and approved by the State Department of Health.

Milk is not obtained from an approved commercial source.

Information related to the resident was not kept confidential.

. The providers respite providers or substitute caregivers do not

meet the required qualifications.

X. The facility is not maintained by a central heating system set at
a temperature of at least sixty-eight (68) degrees.

T <c

2. The following deficiencies will result in a fifteen-dollar (15) per day
fiscal sanction:

a. More than two residents have been assigned to one bedroom.

b. The provider is refusing to cooperate with the County Social
Service Agency Department or Aging Services Division in
inspections, complaint investigations, planning for the care of a
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resident, application procedures, and other necessary activities
that relate to the well being of a resident.

c. The provider does not have available a signed copy of the
Service and Rental Agreement on file for each resident.

d. A toilet or bathing facility is not available on the same floor as
any bedroom occupied by a resident.

3. All other deficiencies will be assessed a five-dollar (15) per day fiscal
sanction.

Fiscal sanctions must be assessed for each day the Adult Foster Care
facility remains out of compliance after the allowable time for the
correction of deficiencies ends and must continue until a notice of
correction is received by the Aging Services Division. Fiscal sanctions must
be received by the Aging Services Division every fifteen (15) days after
receipt of the notice of noncompliance and at fifteen-day (15) intervals
thereafter, as the fiscal sanctions accrue.

Recovery of an assessed fiscal sanction must be stayed if the provider
makes written request to the Aging Services Division for an administrative
hearing within ten (10) days after mailing or delivery of the notice of
noncompliance.

Any fiscal sanction collected for any violation of the Adult Foster Care state
statute, rule, or policy must be paid into the state treasury for the general
fund after the costs of recovering the fiscal sanction are deducted.
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Revocation or Denial 660-05-45
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The denial of an application or the revocation of an Adult Foster Care
license applies to all individuals who applied to be licensed at the facility or
who are listed as providers on the license.

A license for Adult Foster Care may be denied or revoked for reasons listed
below. See Sections 600-05-65-35, 600-05-65-40, and 600-05-65-45 for
forms to be completed.

An applicant or provider has the right to a hearing as outlined in the letter
of denial/revocation. At the hearing for denial or revocation, the evidence
submitted by the Aging Services Division in support of its denial or
revocation of the applicant's or provider's license must be limited to
supporting only those reasons, which were given by the Aging Services
Division in its original notice of denial or revocation. Therefore, it is
imperative that all applicable reasons for denial or revocation be listed in
the original notice.

It is the responsibility of Aging Services Division to provide the applicant or
provider with instructions, forms, and assistance in filing an appeal.

Reasons for denying or revoking a license include:

1. The premises of the facility are not in fit sanitary condition and
properly equipped to provide good care.

2. The provider or substitute provider is not qualified.

3. The provider is not providing care with due regard for the health and
well being of the residents.

4. The facility is not maintained according to standards prescribed by
rules and regulation of the Department.

5. The license application or supporting documents contain fraudulent or
misleading material information or the applicant intentionally withheld
material information.
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6. The provider, substitute caregiver, respite care provider, or agent of
the facility is not in compliance with the rules, policies, and state
statutes governing Adult Foster Care.

The provider fails or refuses to comply with a Correction Order.

The license was issued upon false, misleading, or intentionally withheld

material information.

9. An applicant, licensee, caregiver, employee, or agent of the facility has
been convicted of an offense determined by the Aging Services
Division to have a direct bearing upon the individual’s ability to serve
the public or residents of the facility. Or, the Department determines,
following conviction of any other offense, the individual is not
sufficiently rehabilitated under NDCC section 12.133-02.1.

® N
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Continued Operation Pending Revocation 660-05-45-05
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

A provider who receives a notice of revocation, and who makes a timely
appeal of that notice, may continue to operate the facility pending a final
administrative appeal decision, unless the revocation is based upon
reasons which present an imminent danger to the health, welfare, or safety
of residents receiving care in the facility or unless the license expires.
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Distribution of Notice of Denial or Revocation
660-05-45-10

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

A copy of the notice of revocation or a notice of denial of a license
application may be provided to any resident, any person who resides in a
place under circumstances which may require that place to be licensed as a
facility for care of that person, to any guardian, conservator, placement
agency, or person making placement of such a resident or person, and to
any placement agency which has placed residents for care in the facility or
in other licensed facilities in the region.

The applicant for a license to operate an Adult Foster Home and a person
holding such a license may appeal to the district court any decision of the
Department of Human Services denying an application or revoking a
license.
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Reapplication After Denial or Revocation 660-05-45-15
(Revised 1/1/08 ML 3118)
View Archives

A provider or proposed provider whose license has been revoked or whose
application has been denied may not reapply without the written
permission of the Department:

1. Until a final, unappealable determination has been made with respect
to the denial or revocation; and

2. For two years after the date of an unappealable denial of a license
application or an unappealable revocation of a license, or the date of a
final, unappealable decision affirming the appealed denial of a license

application or appealed revocation of a license, whichever occurs
latest.
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Injunctive Relief 660-05-50
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Effective August 1, 2001, the Department has the authority to petition the
district court for an injunction to stop or prevent a violation of this Chapter
or of Administrative Rules. Contact the Program Administrator at the Aging
Services Division prior to pursuing this action.
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Funding Sources 660-05-55
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

In a private pay situation, the recipient of Adult Foster Care Service, or
other person paying on behalf of the recipient is the funding source. The
service rate is the amount negotiated between the recipient or their
representative, and the licensed Adult Foster Care provider.

Respite care providers who are caring for residents whose services are
funded by the county or state are limited to the respite care service-
funding cap. AFC residents whose care is being paid for by the county or
state can only receive respite care from an individual who is enrolled as a
qualified service provider of respite care by the Department. Respite care
providers must bill the department for time spent caring for residents
whose care is being paid for by a country or state agency.
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Allowable Tasks/Activities - Adult Family Foster Care
Service 660-05-60

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Under the provisions of this service chapter, only tasks and service
activities outlined in the “Individual Qualified Service Provider/Adult Foster
Care Handbook” may be provided to recipients of Adult Foster Care.

Copies of the Handbook are available at the on the Department of Human
Services manual website.
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Resident Out-of-Facility with Foster Care Provider
660-05-60-05

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

A provider may claim payment for care of the resident when the resident
vacations with the foster care provider if the resident has continuously
lived with the foster family for a substantial period of time and the resident
made an independent choice to vacation with the family. The provider must
report the following to the County Social Service Agency prior to departure:

1. The dates the resident will be vacationing with the foster family;

2. The telephone number(s) where they can be reached;

3. The names and addresses of individuals who they will be visiting, if
applicable; and

4. A travel itinerary, if applicable.

The resident must remain in the care of the foster care provider. Care of
the client cannot be transferred to other family, friends, or anyone else
during that time.
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Employment Outside of the Facility 660-05-60-10
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Adult Foster Care is an inclusive 24-hour service. Therefore, employment
outside of the home is generally not allowable. An adult foster care
provider may be employed outside the home if the license to provide adult
foster care was issued to more than one individual and at least one of the
licensed individuals remains in the facility to provide the care.

If an AFC resident is enrolled in a day-program (documented in the
resident's plan of care) and is out of the facility, outside employment by
the AFC provider may be considered during the hours the resident is away.
However, resident care cannot be compromised.

Employing individuals other than those who meet the definition of a respite
provider or substitute caregiver is not permitted. Employing respite care
providers or substitute caregivers to assist in the daily operation of the
adult foster care is also prohibited. Respite care and substitute caregivers
may provide care only in the absence of the provider.

The County Social Service Agency must be informed of outside
employment to evaluate whether resident care would be negatively
impacted.
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Application to Provide Adult Foster Care, SFN 1013
660-05-65-05

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

This is the initial application for an Adult Foster Care license. The applicant
is responsible to complete this form. The application must be submitted to
the County Social Service Agency. A copy of the application must be sent
to the Aging Services Division.

An electronic copy of this form may be obtained at
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/.
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Initial Licensing Study/Adult Foster Care, SFN 669
660-05-65-10

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

This form is required for an initial Adult Foster Care application. It is the
responsibility of the County Social Service Agency to complete this form
with the applicant. A copy of this application must be submitted by the
County Social Service Agency to the Aging Services Division.

An electronic copy of this form may be obtained at
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/.
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Relicensing Study - Adult Foster Care, SFN 1031
660-05-65-15

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

The form is required to renew an Adult Foster Care license.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to complete this form and return it
to the County Social Service Agency 30 days prior to the expiration of the
license. A copy of the application must be sent to the Aging Services
Division.

An electronic copy of this form may be obtained at
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/.
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Fire Safety Self Declaration, SFN 800 660-05-65-20
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

This form is required for both an initial license and to renew a license.

It is the responsibility of the applicant or provider to complete this form
and submit it to the County Social Service Agency. A copy of this form
must be sent to the Aging Services Division.

An electronic copy of this form may be obtained at
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/.
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Reference Letter for Applicant Family 660-05-65-25
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

A request may be made for a sample of a reference letter for use upon the
initial application for a license from the Aging Services Division.

It is the applicant’s responsibility to obtain three letters of reference.

The letters of reference are required for the initial application and must be
sent to the County Social Service Agency. A copy of each reference letter
must be sent to the Aging Services Division.
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License to Provide Adult Foster Care, SFN 1020
660-05-65-30

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

This license authorizes an individual to be an Adult Foster Care provider.

The Aging Services Division issues this license, SFN 1020, upon completion
of the initial application process and the license renewal application
process.

The original goes to the applicant/provider with a copy to the County Social
Service Agency.

This form is in a pdf format through the Aging Services Division.
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Denial Notice and Notification of Rights 660-05-65-35
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

To deny an application for a license, a letter must be written by the Aging

Services Division and sent to the applicant along with the documents listed
below.

1. The Aging Services Division shall notify the applicant of the intent to
deny an application by certified mail, return requested.

2. A copy of the statutes and Department rules authorizing denial must be
given to the applicant.

3. Specific reasons for denial must be cited in writing. List each reason in

the letter to the provider. A copy of applicable statutes and Department
rules must be given to the applicant.

4. The applicant must be given notice in writing of their rights. The letter
must address all requirements of the law (N.D.C.C. Section 50-11-08)
regarding the applicant's rights.

The Aging Services Division must retain a copy of the letter.

Copies of this letter can be obtained from the Aging Services Division.

North Dakota Department of Human Services


file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Archive%20Documents/archives.htm%23660_05_65_35

ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Division 20 Service 660
Program 610 Chapter 05

Revocation Notice and Notification of Rights
660-05-65-40

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

Before any revocation of a license takes place, a revocation notice must be
sent to the provider along with the documents listed below by the Aging
Services Division.

1. The Aging Services Division shall notify the provider of the intent to
revoke a license by certified mail, return requested. (The return
requested is essential to validate twenty calendar day time period.)*

2. A copy of the statutes and Department rules authorizing revocation
must be given to the provider.

3. Specific reasons must be cited in writing. List each reason in the letter
to the provider. A copy of applicable statutes and Department rules
must be given to the provider.

4. The provider must be given notice in writing of their rights. The letter
must address all requirements of the law (N.D.C.C. Section 50-11-08)
regarding the provider's rights.

The Aging Services Division must retain a copy of this letter.

Copies of this letter can be obtained from the Aging Services Division.

* In computing the twenty-day time period, the day the intended
revocation issued is not included. The last day of the period is included,
unless it is a Saturday, a Sunday, or a legal holiday; then it is the next
working day.

Reference: Administrative Code Chapter 75-01-03-06.1 (Appeals and
Hearings) Computation of time.
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Appeal Form, SFN 747 600-05-65-45
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The purpose of this form is for the provider to request an appeal in the
event of a license denial or revocation.

It is the responsibility of the provider to complete this form with the
assistance of the County Social Service Agency or the Department.

A copy of this form must be sent to the Aging Services Division.

Copies of this form can be obtained at http://www.nd.gov/eforms/.
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Adult Foster Care Affidavit of Standard of Compliance-In
Lieu of License, SFN 915 660-05-65-50

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

Adult Foster Care that is provided on Federal Reservations such as an
Indian Reservation or Military base may be approved, if requests for such
approvals are made by the appropriate reservation authority (i.e. Military
Base Commander or Tribal Council) to the North Dakota Department of
Human Services and all the licensing standards of the Department have
been met.

A copy of this form must be sent to the Department and the Aging Services
Division.

An electronic copy of this form may be obtained at
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/.
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Correction Order (Sample Letter) 660-05-65-55
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The Aging Services Division issues a Correction Order when there has been
a violation. The Aging Services Division completes the Correction Order.
The order is sent to the provider with copies to the County Social Service
Agency.
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Cover Letter for Provisional License (Sample Letter)
660-05-65-60

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

The Aging Services Division may issue a provisional license for up to six
months for an initial applicant or renewal of a license. A copy of the
provisional license must be sent to the County Social Service Agency.

This letter may be duplicated.
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Provisional License Agreement (Sample Form or SFN
1020 pdf format) 660-05-65-65

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

A provisional license shall be issued only to an applicant who has in writing
waived:

1. The right to a written statement of changes as to the reasons for the
denial of an unrestricted license; and

2. Waived the right to an administrative hearing, in the manner provided
in the North Dakota Century Code chapter 28-32, concerning non-
issuance of an unrestricted license.

Any provisional license issued shall be accompanied by a written statement
of the violations sighed by the Aging Services Division or their designee
and, in writing acknowledged by the applicant/provider.

Copies of the provisional license must be sent to the County Social Service
Agency.

SEN 1020 pdf format is available through Aging Services Division.

North Dakota Department of Human Services


file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Archive%20Documents/archives.htm%23660_05_65_65
file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Attachments/SC%20660-05-65-65%20Provisional%20License%20Agreement%20Sample%20Form%201-1-08.doc
file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Attachments/SFN%201020%20AFFC%20license%20pdf.pdf

ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Division 20 Service 660

Program 610 Chapter 05

Fire Prevention and Safety Course (Sample Form)
660-05-65-70

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

An applicant must complete a Department approved “Fire Prevention and
Safety Course.” Completion of the course is also required for renewal of a
license.

Information is available about the course from the County Social Service
Agency.

A copy of the form verifying completion of the course must be sent to the
Aging Services Division.

This form may be duplicated.
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Background Check Address Disclosure, SFN 466
660-05-65-75

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)

View Archives

All applicants/providers and anyone age 18 or over living in the foster
facility, other than foster care recipients, are subject to mandatory state
and nationwide background checks. Individuals who provide respite care in
the facility of a provider or those acting as substitute caregivers are also
subject to the state and nationwide background check requirement.

Applicants are required to complete the form and return to the County
Social Service Agency. The County Social Service Agency will review for
completion and send the form to the Aging Services Division for
processing.

An electronic copy of this form may be obtained at
http://www.nd.gov/eforms.
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Personal Authorization for Criminal Record Inquiry, SFN
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(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
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All applicants/providers and anyone age 18 or over living in the foster
facility, other than foster care recipients, are subject to mandatory state
and nationwide background checks. Individuals who provide respite care in
the facility of a provider or those acting as substitute caregivers are also
subject to the state and nationwide background check requirement.

The applicant is responsible to complete the form and return to the County
Social Service Agency. The form is reviewed for completion and is sent to
the Aging Services Division for processing.

An electronic copy of this form may be obtained at
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/.
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ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Division 20 Service 660
Program 610 Chapter 05

Fingerprint Requirement for Background Check, FD-258
660-05-65-85

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
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All applicants/providers and anyone the age of 18 or over living in the
foster facility, other than foster care recipients, are subject to mandatory
state and nationwide background checks. Individuals who provide respite
care in the facility of a provider or those acting substitute caregivers are
also subject to the state and nationwide background check requirement.

Fingerprints need not be taken and a nationwide background check need
not be made if an individual:

e Has resided continuously in this state for eleven years or since reaching
age 18, whichever is less;

e Is on active United States military duty or has resided continuously in
this state since receiving an honorable discharge; or

e Is excused from providing fingerprints under rules adopted by the
Department.

The fee for fingerprinting is the responsibility of the individual. The
individual is responsible to complete the fingerprint cards, in addition to
SFN 466 and SEN 467, and return all three forms to the County Social
Service Office. The forms are reviewed for completion and are sent to the
Aging Service Division for processing.

Fingerprint cards can be completed at their local Police or Sheriff’s office or
local Human Service Center. There is a small fee for fingerprinting services.
The fee for fingerprinting is the responsibility of the applicant/provider.

Copies of this form can be obtained from the Aging Services Division Office
by contacting the AFC Program Administrator.

North Dakota Department of Human Services


file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Archive%20Documents/archives.htm%23660_05_65_85
file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Attachments/SFN%20466.tif
file:///C:/eManual/66005%20v1%207-9-13/Content/Attachments/SFN%20467.tif

ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Division 20 Service 660
Program 610 Chapter 05

Evacuation Disaster Plan-Adult Foster Care, SFN 823
660-05-65-90

(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
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This form is completed by the applicant/provider as part of the application
process for an initial license or if moving to a new facility.

An electronic copy of this form may be obtained at
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/.
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ADULT FOSTER CARE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
Division 20 Service 660
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Provider Service Logs (Sample Forms) 660-05-65-95
(Revised 5/1/19 ML 3549)
View Archives

As a part of the Adult Foster Care licensing process, applicants are required
to provide examples of service logs that will be used to account for service
time and tasks performed.

A provider may create their own service log provided it meets the
standards for accounting of services provided.

An example service log must be completed by the applicant and kept in the
provider’s file. A copy must be sent to the Aging Services Division for their
records.

For AFC providers caring for individuals on public pay programs, specific
information will be required on the provider service log. Providers will
receive provider service logs from Medical Services/Home and Community
Based Services.

These forms may be duplicated.
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