nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
NDDHS logo Mother and daughter graphic
 arrowDHS Home arrowContact DHS arrowSkip Navigation

Northwest Human Service Center: Region I

Northwest Human Service Center: Region I

Northwest Human Service Center is one of eight regional human service centers within the North Dakota Department of Human Services. The center provides help to individuals and families with concerns including personal and emotional problems, family and relationship issues, addiction, disabilities.

The center serves a three-county catchment area that includes Divide, McKenzie, and Williams counties, the Trenton Indian Service Area and part of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation. This 6,100 square mile area is home to about 50,570 people. In State Fiscal Year 2016, the center served 1,493 individuals.

Who we serve:

  • The center prioritizes serving youth and adults with severe and persistent mental illnesses and substance use disorders that other providers do not typically serve.
  • No one is denied access to services due to inability to pay, and there is a discounted/sliding fee available.

Open Access to Services:

  • Walk-in mental health and substance use assessments are available on designated days and times without an appointment
    • Open Access Hours:
      Tuesday - Thursday: 8 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.
  • A triage specialist meets with individuals to assess their unique situations.
  • Depending on individual needs, a person may be assessed and served or referred to a private behavioral health provider.

Staff: The staff includes professionals trained in the following specialties: psychiatry, psychology, licensed addiction counseling, social work, counseling, case management, nursing, vocational rehabilitation, and administration and support. Some services may be provided through contracts.

History: The Northwest Human Service Center was established in 1971 as a demonstration project. It operated under a local board of directors until 1982, when it was placed under state control. The center provides services that were previously handled by four separate agencies: the Area Social Service Center, Tri-County Mental Health and Retardation Service Unit, Vocational Rehabilitation, and the Williams County Alcohol/Drug Information, Counseling and Referral Center.

Regional Advisory Group: Northwest Human Service Center has a Regional Advisory Council which is comprised of representatives from each of the three counties.

Contact Information: Northwest Human Service Center


Monday - Thursday: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Regional Director: Laurie Gotvaslee

Northwest Human Service Center
P.O. Box 1266
316 2nd Avenue West
Williston, ND 58802

Phone: (701) 774-4600
Toll Free: (800) 231-7724
Crisis Line: (701) 572-9111
Toll Free Crisis Line: 1-800-231-7724
TTY: (701) 774-4692
Fax: (701) 774-4620

Vocational Rehabilitation Office:
Phone: (701) 774-4600

Crosby Outreach Office
By appointment
Phone: (701) 774-4600

Watford City Outreach Office
By appointment
Phone: (701) 774-4600

NHSC Site Web Badge


Return to the top of the page Top of page   Go back to the previous page Back to previous page

 Get Adobe Acrobat Reader Tested for W3C WAI AA Accessibility Tested for W3C Well-Formed XHTML Code Tested for W3C Well Formed Cascading Style Sheet Code