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How to report a Critical Incident for Qualified Service Providers 
 

 
Qualified Service Providers (QSPs) are required by federal law to report all critical incidents 
involving people they care for.  
 
A critical incident is “any actual or alleged event or situation that creates a significant risk of 
substantial or serious harm to the physical or mental health, safety or well-being of a waiver 
participant.1” 
 
Incidents that need to be reported are: 

• Abuse (physical, emotional, sexual), neglect, or exploitation; 
• Rights violations through omission or commission, the failure to comply with the rights 

to which an individual is entitled as established by law, rule, regulation, or policy; 
• Serious injury or medical emergency, which would not be routinely provided by a 

primary care provider;  
• Wandering or elopement; 
• Restraint violations; 
• Death of client and cause (including death by suicide); 
• Report of all medication errors or omissions; and 
• Any event that could harm client’s health, safety or security if not corrected. 

 
 If an incident involves abuse, neglect or exploitation, a provider must report to Vulnerable 

Adult Protective Services (VAPS).  To file a report, there are two options: 
• Option 1:   

o Use the online reporting system.   
o Using Internet Explorer, visit: https://fw2.harmonyis.net/NDLiveIntake/  
o To add the client, scroll down to the bottom of report and choose “Add.”  

• Option 2: 
o Fill out SFN 1607 (Report of Vulnerable Adult, Abuse, Neglect, or Exploitation), 

online at www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn01607.pdf  
o A copy of the form is included (Attachment 1). 

 
 Critical Incident Reporting Requirements: 

• Any QSP who is with a client and is involved, witnessed or responded to an event 
that is a reportable incident, is required to report it. 

• When a provider finds out about a critical incident, follow these steps: 
o Step 1   

• Report it to the Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) case 
manager and 

o Step 2   
• Fill out an incident report (SFN 53601 – Risk Management Medical Services 

Incident Report) from the HCBS case manager or online at 
https://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn53601.pdf. 

                                                           
1 In accordance with the North Dakota Medicaid Waiver for Home and Community Based Services under the 
authority of §1915(c) of the Social Security Act, ND Century Code 50-25.2-03(4) 
 

https://fw2.harmonyis.net/NDLiveIntake/
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn01607.pdf
https://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn53601.pdf


o A copy of the form is included (Attachment 2). 
• Contact the HCBS case manager if you need help filling out the form. 
• The completed SFN 53601 needs to be sent to the HCBS case manager 

within 24 hours of the incident. 
• The HCBS case manager will forward it to the North Dakota Department of 

Human Services Aging Services Division. 
• If the HCBS case manager has first-hand knowledge of a critical incident, he 

or she will forward the completed SFN 53601 to the Aging Services Division 
within 24 hours. 

 
 

• Example 1 
o If a client falls while a provider is in the room, but the client didn’t have an injury or 

need medical attention, a critical incident report is not required.  
 

• Example 2 
o If a family member tells the HCBS case manager that a client is in the hospital due 

to a stroke, a critical incident report is not required because neither the HCBS case 
manager or provider saw or responded to the event. 

 
• Example 3 

o If a provider comes to a client’s home and the client is on the floor and 911 is called 
for medical attention, a critical incident report is required because the client required 
medical attention AND the provider responded to the event (fall).  
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