nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
NDDHS logo MMIS logo
 arrow iconDHS Home arrow iconContact DHS arrow iconSkip Navigation Space

ND Health Enterprise Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS)

Taxonomy Codes

Taxonomy codes identify a health care provider by the service they provide and area of specialty.

Providers are required to submit taxonomy codes when submitting paper or electronic claims to ND Medicaid. This excludes Qualified Service Providers (HCBS claims), transportation claims, and claims submitted by other atypical provider types.

View a searchable list of:
Enrolled Individual Provider Taxonomy Codes. (Search instructions).
Enrolled Group Provider Taxonomy Codes. (Search instructions).

Provider Type Codes and Provider Specialty Codes

ND Medicaid Valid Values for Individual and Group Providers

Instructions to validate your taxonomy code(s) in Enterprise MMIS

Taxonomy codes are:

  • Maintained on the provider's record and will be verified based on licenses and certifications
  • Submitted to North Dakota on claims and other items such as Service Authorizations
  • Used during adjudication
  • Required on paper and electronic claims. Claims without the required taxonomy code will be denied.

Taxonomy codes listed on a claim MUST match the taxonomy codes on a provider's record or the claims will be denied.

Questions about taxonomy codes, changing taxonomy codes or other enrollment information - email dhsenrollment@nd.gov.


N.D. Department of Human Services
Medical Services
600 East Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 325
Bismarck, N.D. 58505-0250
Phone: (800) 755-2604


Return to the top of the page Top of page   Go back to the previous page Back to previous page


 Get Adobe Acrobat Reader Tested for W3C WAI AA Accessibility Tested for W3C Well-Formed XHTML Code Tested for W3C Well Formed Cascading Style Sheet Code